Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Stoeger Arms X20 Wood Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Bill from USA on 2013-03-16 21:09:25

    Things I liked:My review is about what I think of this rifle, based on IT'S PRICE RANGE. I bought the X20 combo, wood stock, .22 caliber. I have run 1300 rounds through it with no issues. Again, for the price, the fit and finish is very nice. The safety mechanism is as smooth as silk and in a convenient location. The weight of the rifle is perfect, not heavy, yet not a light weight. I like my rifles in the 6 1/4 to 7 pound range, and this one falls right in there. I took my scope off for the break in period. I am enjoying the open sights so well, I may not put the scope back on it. BTW: The included 3X9X40 Stoeger scope has very clear optics, and adjust quite well. With that said, I also the weight, maneuverability, and cocking ease of this airgun WITHOUT the additional scope and mount weight. That's just a personal preference though. I have been shooting it at 10 meters, consistently putting 5 shot groups, all in a 1 1/4 circle. I have also consistently been shooting the balls out of a sycamore tree at 90 meters or so.
    Things I would have changed:As other reviewers have stated, the trigger is LOUSY! Lots of creep before it breaks and fires. This issue is easily solved with a $40 trigger upgrade found online. It is very simple to install yourself. Now for the sights. The sights are fiber optic, which I am not very fond of. You just can't get a keen enough bead with them to get super tight groups. I'd like an option for other types of iron sights rather than the fiber optics. One last note. The breech seems to need a very tiny chamfer. 99% of the pellets I load seem to lack a couple of thousandths from seating flush in the breech. I can press with my finger REAL hard, and get most of them in fairly flush. They all go in shoot fine but I'm sure even a minute amount of skirt clipping will affect accuracy. This is also an easy fix with a dremel tool and a cratex bit. DON'T OVERDO in this area as it could ruin your barrel if you take too much material out. This will be my next upgrade to perform on it.
    What others should know:90% of the above airgun review was based on performance from Crosman Premier hollowpoint pellets, 14.7 grains. I also tried a Beeman assortment also at 14.7 grains. I understand through my research that the H&N pellets work very well in this rifle, and will tighten up the groups, but I haven't had a chance to try them. I'm trying to get this gun dialed in with pellets I can get locally, and the Crosmans are what I have to work with. In conclusion, if all the "things I would change" were actually changed by the manufacturer, then it would no longer be a $129 rifle! ;-) Again, IN THIS PRICE RANGE, I think you would be hard pressed to find a better rifle. Kokopellet, out.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3

    Value for money:4

    Accuracy:5

    By Donald from USA on 2013-05-06 07:42:12

    Things I liked:In this price rande the stock and blueing is quite nice.The Accuracy is excellent with caveat of master the horrid trigger.I bought mine without the scope from P.A. and added a Barska 3x9x40AO scope. Velocity is right to their specs and the cocking effeort reasonable a little heavier than other I have at this poer range but not bad.
    Things I would have changed:Get rid of that horrible tigger feels like a long vreepy crossman trigger and heavy pullvery unpredictable let off.
    What others should know:I have order a GTX-II trigger to fit this gun and from what I have read it makes it a whole different shooting experience Supposidly crisp and 2 -3 pound let off can't wait for it to arrive. This is a very nice gun with a very bad trigger but hopefully I can fix it's one defect. I took off 2 stars overall for that trigger.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2014-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have had the .22 cal.Stoeger X20 wood stock combo for close to a year and I really like it. It was well worth the two month wait for it to arrive.It is well made and nicely finished the one piece scope mount is nice and has increased gripping surface to hold the scope in place the 40mm scope is bright and the AO really really helps with making distance corrections easy. I like the Automatic safety and its location and ease of operation. The weight makes for a nice steady hold and I have no problem hitting what I aim at. I know that many people have said that they do not like the trigger and they may be right I don't know I only know that I like this rifle and to me it was is worth more than I paid
      Things I would have changed:I would like the checkering on the stock to be cut a little deeper
      What others should know:Break in was easy the safety was stiff at first and the chocking got easier
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2013-10-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish is very nice. Powerful, consistent and much more quite than expected
      Things I would have changed:Trigger pull is horrible, but easily remedied according to a brief web search
      What others should know:It's a heavy gun, wouldn't want to tote it around all day
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Golden from USA on 2013-08-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the Monte Carlo walnut wood stock and the 3-9 by 40 scope!
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:Always be careful with any kind of firearm!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Donald from USA on 2013-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:The guns weight and finish is nice for the price range. I can not speak to the scope as mine was bought without. Excellent velocity but a little hard to cock for this level of gun.
      Things I would have changed:THE TRIGGER it is unsuable heavy creepy no feeling of when it might go off..
      What others should know:I replaced the trigger with a GTXII triger ( 1 lb 8 oz trigger pull) and I am now used to it at ten yards I am getting .179 CTC groups That is super. If you spend the $40 dollars and 15 minutes to change the trigger this gun is a real shooter.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By nathan from USA on 2013-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to cock.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic front sight.
      What others should know:This is a nice easy cocking rifle. Has plenty of power for birds. Mine shoots 20gr pellets extremely well. Nice all around rifle for the money. My only complaint is the plastic front sight. My girlfriend knocked it over and the front sight on it shattered. I was able to get a replacement for 14 dollars. But I guess that's most air rifles, they have plastic sights.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Donald from USA on 2013-05-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:In this price rande the stock and blueing is quite nice.The Accuracy is excellent with caveat of master the horrid trigger.I bought mine without the scope from P.A. and added a Barska 3x9x40AO scope. Velocity is right to their specs and the cocking effeort reasonable a little heavier than other I have at this poer range but not bad.
      Things I would have changed:Get rid of that horrible tigger feels like a long vreepy crossman trigger and heavy pullvery unpredictable let off.
      What others should know:I have order a GTX-II trigger to fit this gun and from what I have read it makes it a whole different shooting experience Supposidly crisp and 2 -3 pound let off can't wait for it to arrive. This is a very nice gun with a very bad trigger but hopefully I can fix it's one defect. I took off 2 stars overall for that trigger.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2013-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My review is about what I think of this rifle, based on IT'S PRICE RANGE. I bought the X20 combo, wood stock, .22 caliber. I have run 1300 rounds through it with no issues. Again, for the price, the fit and finish is very nice. The safety mechanism is as smooth as silk and in a convenient location. The weight of the rifle is perfect, not heavy, yet not a light weight. I like my rifles in the 6 1/4 to 7 pound range, and this one falls right in there. I took my scope off for the break in period. I am enjoying the open sights so well, I may not put the scope back on it. BTW: The included 3X9X40 Stoeger scope has very clear optics, and adjust quite well. With that said, I also the weight, maneuverability, and cocking ease of this airgun WITHOUT the additional scope and mount weight. That's just a personal preference though. I have been shooting it at 10 meters, consistently putting 5 shot groups, all in a 1 1/4 circle. I have also consistently been shooting the balls out of a sycamore tree at 90 meters or so.
      Things I would have changed:As other reviewers have stated, the trigger is LOUSY! Lots of creep before it breaks and fires. This issue is easily solved with a $40 trigger upgrade found online. It is very simple to install yourself. Now for the sights. The sights are fiber optic, which I am not very fond of. You just can't get a keen enough bead with them to get super tight groups. I'd like an option for other types of iron sights rather than the fiber optics. One last note. The breech seems to need a very tiny chamfer. 99% of the pellets I load seem to lack a couple of thousandths from seating flush in the breech. I can press with my finger REAL hard, and get most of them in fairly flush. They all go in shoot fine but I'm sure even a minute amount of skirt clipping will affect accuracy. This is also an easy fix with a dremel tool and a cratex bit. DON'T OVERDO in this area as it could ruin your barrel if you take too much material out. This will be my next upgrade to perform on it.
      What others should know:90% of the above airgun review was based on performance from Crosman Premier hollowpoint pellets, 14.7 grains. I also tried a Beeman assortment also at 14.7 grains. I understand through my research that the H&N pellets work very well in this rifle, and will tighten up the groups, but I haven't had a chance to try them. I'm trying to get this gun dialed in with pellets I can get locally, and the Crosmans are what I have to work with. In conclusion, if all the "things I would change" were actually changed by the manufacturer, then it would no longer be a $129 rifle! ;-) Again, IN THIS PRICE RANGE, I think you would be hard pressed to find a better rifle. Kokopellet, out.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Alton from USA on 2013-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall quality and the premium scope is a big plus.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger pull
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the fact that the scope came mounted on the gun from Pyramyd Air. Once the scope was sighted in it shot consistent groups at thirty yards without a problem. the gun seems to have plenty of power. I got the best results with Crossman Premier Hollow Point Pellets along with Benjamen Discovery Pellets. I shot excellent groups at 50 yards with RWS Domed and Hollow Point Pellets. I believe this air rifle is one of the best buys on the website, as it combines power, accuracy and good scope at a reasonable price.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Buy one. Best air gun for the price!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By nick from USA on 2013-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great quality and accuracy. I did a fair amount of research before putting this on my Christmas list. It seemed to me you get a great gun and very nice scope for the money. The Monte Carlo stock feels great. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for quality in this price range.
      Things I would have changed:The safety was a bit sticky at first, but after having put around a 100 shots through it, it has loosened up and works great - hang in there if you experience this early on out of the box.
      What others should know:I received this gun for Christmas from my wife. I have been very pleased with the quality and performance. The scope was easy to sight-in and just this past weekend had it at an indoor range on a bench rest and could place shots in a 2" circle from 30 yds quite easily using some low cost Gamo marksman pellets. I have also enjoyed shooting this with my kids (11 and 7 yrs old). They of course can't cock it as it takes some muscle, but they have a great time plinking in the back yard with me.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2012-10-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything. Wood stock is beautiful, phenomenal muzzle velocity (1400+ fps w/alloy pellets). Super scope w/AO for parallax.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Breakbarrel takes a bit of effort. Not an airgun for youngsters; teenagers that are fairly strong in the upper body could handle it.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By lawrence from USA on 2012-01-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Stoeger X20 Air Rifle is a very good product. i like the wood grain finish and the scope is awesome, very accurate and didn't take long to set. The short carbine style barrel is also a change for the better. Its seem to be hard to cock at first but the more you cock it the easier it gets. It seems like a long distance between grip and trigger, but this is the design of all Stoeger air rifles. maybe in the future that will change.
      Things I would have changed: The push button safety is hard to push at times. But i a soon this will get easier in time.
      What others should know:Not at this time, still testing it out. as of right now, this is a great rifle.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By lawrence from USA on 2011-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a very good air rifle, great design and the scope is nice, accurate and easy to set. A little hard to cocks at first, but the more you cock it the easier it gets.The over all price and reasonable and the finish is great.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at this time still testing it out.
      What others should know:A lot of reviewers talks about the trigger, and trigger action,but i have yet to find that a problem.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By dave from cape cod from USA on 2011-11-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:precision made nice scope accurate right outta the box .full size nice wo0d stocks
      Things I would have changed:plastic trigger more power
      What others should know:nice gun wish i had got the walther talon hunter or falcon hunter
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2011-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything. Its cool rifle accurate, does not feel as heavy as other typical springer's, not as long as most , yet it weighed only 1 oz less then the other rifle i bought with it which i sent back.. Has front & rear sites so you can shoot with out a scope if you feel like it.(thats good to have that option i ORDERED A REPLACEMENT TRIGGER AND INSTALLED IT, IT WAS SO EASY NOW IT SHOOTS LIKE A DREAM look up charlie da tuna on the internet I already removed the stock and sanded it and re-stained it to what i wanted, its a cool rifle i own two rws rifles the magnum .22 and the Diana 34 .22 i wanted something not as long and that felt different this was perfect and now apart of my collection you get the 3x9 x40 scope and 1 piece mount..awesome deal scope is a keeper i like it highly recommend this package
      Things I would have changed: Some complain about the trigger area not being atomically correct, but I had no problem with it . they may be right, but I like that things are a little different, so I always adapt . the trigger was useable but, has too much travel so just get a replacement from charle da tuna everyone does "super easy to install! / most over seas air rifles the triggers suck
      What others should know:you need to learn about air rifles in general. Before even shooting a new air rifle, clean the inside of the barrel , go buy the snake bore and bore cleaning lubricant. do it right I don't recommend the cleaning kits with the bore brush rods, a lot of gun smith don.t on air rifles use a snake bore you can't damage your rifling inside Air rifles need attention , buy the proper lubes for your hinges etc clean all the gunk from the factory out of the barrel , then make sure your barrel has been lube properly then clean that excess out. I plan on tuning mine and re lubing with the correct lubes internally not that it was bad but just because I want too optimize my rifle I learned how to do it ,you should too if your mechanical inclined and want to really enjoy this awesome hobby. you can buy a German made expensive air rifle great choice / or a very good less expensive air rifle its nice to have several to have different types to make you appreciate what you own. i recommend the stoeger x20 very good quality, great deal for the money!
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Alexander from USA on 2011-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:Big step in appearance in the field of inexpensive guns. Terrible trigger - long, long creep. Accuracy - good for plinking: - hits soda can at 60-70 meters with optics. Difficult to cock.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger. Plastic - to metal sights
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By darrell from USA on 2011-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i like the shorter carbine style barrel.Mine is almost boring accurate after tune at 30 yards.it loves H&N pelletsCocks very easily and is fairly quite to shoot.Not to hold sensitive as some of my other rifles.I have the wood and synthetic stock both.Gun is fairly lite also.
      Things I would have changed:Better trigger although mine is predictable but will probably change in future.
      What others should know:lube tune it at least and itll be great!
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

         By Wendy Gerlica from USA on 2011-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      42 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight and balance of the rifle made it easy to shoot. The accuracy at 10 meters was very good.
      Things I would have changed:A little lighter cocking effort.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

         By Erika from USA on 2011-06-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      42 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked the accuracy, the smoothness of the gun. Even though it's tough to cock at first it is something that can be easily adjusted with enough practice and effort.
      Things I would have changed:The cocking effort needed to for the rifle as well as the weight. It felt more than 7 pounds with the scope.
      What others should know:I absolutely enjoyed shooting this gun! It seems like a great buy!
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

         By Sandra in Sales from USA on 2011-06-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The finish and over all quality seem pretty nice.
      Things I would have changed: Felt like distance between grip and trigger was long. I would say this would not be for a small handed person.
      What others should know:Shot nice for a springer. Trigger not bad.
    • 12 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold