Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Stoeger Arms X5 Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5 (13 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:4

    Accuracy:4

    By Alex from USA on 2011-01-05 11:56:04

    Things I liked:The feeling, it's more on the heavy side. Cocking it, is a pleasure. I like the feature that the safety is engaged automatically. It is accurate, low noice. The power is excellent for target shooting or plinking.
    Things I would have changed:I think that the wood work can be better. After recerving mine, I started polishing the wood with household polishers, now it looks much better.
    What others should know:For the price, this rifle is a bargain.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:4

    By Bryan from USA on 2014-04-06 21:05:41

    Things I liked:Easy to cock, accurate, not hold sensitive, shoots the cheap Crosman pointed field pellets well. Not a magnum, but definitely powerful and accurate enough for rabbits and squirrels. Puts lead pellets clean through my wood fence.
    Things I would have changed:It would be nice to have an adjustable two-stage trigger. That said, the trigger this gun comes with is nicer than the trigger on the X10/X20 series of guns, and the triggers on those are adjustable.
    What others should know:Although there are more powerful options with adjustable triggers available for around the same price, this gun is still a better value than most. It is accurate, light weight, and it is not hold sensitive. The trigger is much nicer than the adjustable triggers available on a lot of breakbarrels in this price range- and I've owned or shot several of them including the Stoeger X10, Benjamin Trail, some Crosman breakbarrels, and etc. Plus it is easier to cock than any of them. If i could go back I would have still picked this one.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Bryan from USA on 2014-04-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to cock, accurate, not hold sensitive, shoots the cheap Crosman pointed field pellets well. Not a magnum, but definitely powerful and accurate enough for rabbits and squirrels. Puts lead pellets clean through my wood fence.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice to have an adjustable two-stage trigger. That said, the trigger this gun comes with is nicer than the trigger on the X10/X20 series of guns, and the triggers on those are adjustable.
      What others should know:Although there are more powerful options with adjustable triggers available for around the same price, this gun is still a better value than most. It is accurate, light weight, and it is not hold sensitive. The trigger is much nicer than the adjustable triggers available on a lot of breakbarrels in this price range- and I've owned or shot several of them including the Stoeger X10, Benjamin Trail, some Crosman breakbarrels, and etc. Plus it is easier to cock than any of them. If i could go back I would have still picked this one.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Geoffrey_K from USA on 2014-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My FIL liked the one I bought so much he asked me to get him one, so I did. Light weight, easy cocking, fairly accurate, a joy to shoot A fun plinker that puts out 6.5-7.25 FPE
      Things I would have changed:for the price, not much. anything like better wood means higher price. Wood is ok, nothing special.
      What others should know:lighter pellets shoot much faster than the heavies as the spring is not very large. trigger is not bad and WAY better than the one in my B3
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2013-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:easy to cock,fun to shoot,good price and accurate.
      Things I would have changed:cheek rest is a little high for iron sights[i filed it down]
      What others should know:this is a low powered springer good for punching paper and tin cans not hunting.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Randall from USA on 2013-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The X5 is an easy cocking all day shooter with a lot going for it. The quality of the workmanship, and the excellent fit and finish are beyond what one might expect from a sub $100 airgun. And for those who like to tinker with, or tune their guns, it is an easy gun to dis and re-assemble. The is a notch in the top of the receiver, at the rear of the dovetail for a scope stop. It's also quite accurate, and 1/4" groups from 10 yards are easily obtained. The X5 shoots well using H&N Sport (8.18 gr) pellets. My gun, which I tune lubed, averages 545 fps. A serious gun for a modest cost makes this Stoeger a best buy.
      What others should know:Lockup of the barrel is snug, and so, a forward slap of the muzzle brake may be necessary for cocking.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Randall from USA on 2013-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:The X-5 is a very user friendly springer. It's very easy, and smooth to cock, and that lends itself to long shooting sessions. It's pretty quiet, and has only a slight recoil. The stock is very well done, and the finish of the metal work is excellent. It's also very accurate. It would be a fine choice for younger shooters and adults alike. Using Stoeger X-Match or H&N Sport pellets it's a tack driver.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Stock up on pellets.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By lal from India on 2012-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, easy to cock so that my small daughter can easily shoot with this gun... fantastic....
      Things I would have changed:The rate is so less and its accuracy is fine.. I recomend the viewers to purchase this rifle without thinking.
      What others should know:safety always..
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Paul from USA on 2012-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My first air rifle. Since I have no real experience with pellet guns take this for what it's worth... It seems like a nice gun. I've put about 400 pellets various types and weights of pellets through it and I've never missed the 5"x5" targets at 30ft. It's a little loud, and has a bit of spring recoil, but not at all bad. Cocking it is easy. The trigger, as far as I can tell, is actually kinda nice. Dual stage. Soft first stage, hard second stage. Might be nice to have the second stage adjustable somewhat, but not a big deal. I really like the safety on this gun. It makes sense as I find myself engaging it after firing, automatically, without thinking about it.
      Things I would have changed:It would be worth an extra $10-20 for a nicely finished stock. A second stage trigger adjustment would also be nice.
      What others should know:I'm not sure if I like the 'fiber optic' sights, as I'm older and don't see as well as I used to. I have to take my glasses off (near sighted) to focus on the sights and let the target blur a bit. I'm also not sure of how I'm suppose to dial in the sights as there were no instructions on doing so in the manual that came with the gun. Still when I steady my aim I'm always on target and grouping within 2 inches. (Not bad for a novice with less than 20/40 vision.) I'm NOT a hunter, nor do I have any 'pests' I need to control. However, this rifle will kill small game or varmits, if that's what you need it to do. However, I think for hunting you might want something with a bit more power. This rifle seem more like a target gun than a hunting gun.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By John from USA on 2011-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:The Stoeger X5 is very very accurate, easy to cock, and comfortable to shoulder. If you take the factory stain off of the wood stock you'll find a very good quality wood.
      Things I would have changed:The finish on the one I got was pretty bad. I would have returned it except for the great accuracy. So, I sanded the stock down to the bare wood and put 4 coats of stain, 3 coats of tung oil on it, and polished it to a high sheen. Now it looks super. The fiber optic sights aren't very bright. Regular iron sights would have been better. Like another reviewer, I had to adjust the rear sight all the way to the left but that really isn't an issue now that I have a nice Leapers scope on it.
      What others should know:I've shot about 1000 of the Beeman coated wadcutter pellets ($4.29 per 500 at PA) though this rifle and I'm thrilled with how consistant it is. If you add a scope you'll want to get a high scope mount otherwise the sights will blur your view. If your looking to put rounds on target and are less concerned with the finish, or don't mind refinishing the wood, the X5 is a great value at $99.99.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Jim from USA on 2011-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am not a serious air gunner but I have owned several. I can say that for the price it would be very difficult to find a better value. Accurate, well constructed and accurate. I like the iron sights. The wood finish is not top shelf but what do you want for $100. If I wanted to put a little work into it I am certain I could make the wood look very nice.
      Things I would have changed:nothing I can think of.
      What others should know:Cocking the spring on this one is very easy. I am sure a 10-13 year old could do it.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2011-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The barrel came clean out of the box. Just fired a through cleaning pellets through coated with oil and barrel cleaners. Since I didn't have a scope, I sighted the rifle in at 10 yards and then at 20 yards. I had to move the windage almost all the way to the left, but that is not a big deal. Now it drives nails. It said that it shoots 640 fps with lead, but even wadcutter pellets go through a 5/8 inch fence wood. You can safely take birds out to 40 yards with a decent shot. It stops critters dead in their tracks and makes a resounding thud apon impact. I wish I would have had the extra cash to spend on the scoped package or the X20/X50. I am happy with this purchase though.
      Things I would have changed:The first stage of the trigger is very light, but the second stage is a little heavy. Maybe add an adjustable trigger or lighten it up. I know that the adjustable trigger is available on the X20 and X50. I would also lighted the rifle itself. It is not a problem, but for its slightly small size, it has quite a heft.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Alex from USA on 2011-01-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The feeling, it's more on the heavy side. Cocking it, is a pleasure. I like the feature that the safety is engaged automatically. It is accurate, low noice. The power is excellent for target shooting or plinking.
      Things I would have changed:I think that the wood work can be better. After recerving mine, I started polishing the wood with household polishers, now it looks much better.
      What others should know:For the price, this rifle is a bargain.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Barry from USA on 2010-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this gun,feels good in your hands,you can tell a lot thought went into this gun,the fit and finish are very nice, the sights are spot on,quarter size shots all day long at fifty feet i know thats not far but for me thats impressive.The trigger is nice and light,cocking is not to bad,i have trouble with my shoulders and this dont seem to bother me to much. I saw that video on here about the artilery hold, WOW once you master that hold this gun kicks butt!!!! I highly recommend this gun for someone just starting this hobby and then step up from there but you will always come back to this one because its so sweet to shoot, Thank you
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a high gloss stock!! thats all i can think of for now everything else is perfect on this gun.
      What others should know:I found that for me the Beeman match pellets gave the best groups, i tried a few other types and brands and my shots seem to spread out more, besides i like nice clean holes that you get with match pellets, note on paper targets. Thank you
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Charles T from USA on 2010-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The overall gun it looks and feels smooth like a "high dollar" gun and shoots even better.
      Things I would have changed:I would lighten up the trigger abit. maybe polish and gloss up the stock just a bit (wooden stock)
      What others should know:You sure wont be dissatisified with this gun.. noway!!!
    Over
    ammo packs sold