Stoeger Arms X5 Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (23 reviews)
Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Alex from USA on 2011-01-05 11:56:04

Things I liked: The feeling, it's more on the heavy side. Cocking it, is a pleasure. I like the feature that the safety is engaged automatically. It is accurate, low noice. The power is excellent for target shooting or plinking.

Things I would have changed: I think that the wood work can be better. After recerving mine, I started polishing the wood with household polishers, now it looks much better.

What others should know: For the price, this rifle is a bargain.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Bryan from USA on 2014-04-06 21:05:41

Things I liked: Easy to cock, accurate, not hold sensitive, shoots the cheap Crosman pointed field pellets well. Not a magnum, but definitely powerful and accurate enough for rabbits and squirrels. Puts lead pellets clean through my wood fence.

Things I would have changed: It would be nice to have an adjustable two-stage trigger. That said, the trigger this gun comes with is nicer than the trigger on the X10/X20 series of guns, and the triggers on those are adjustable.

What others should know: Although there are more powerful options with adjustable triggers available for around the same price, this gun is still a better value than most. It is accurate, light weight, and it is not hold sensitive. The trigger is much nicer than the adjustable triggers available on a lot of breakbarrels in this price range- and I've owned or shot several of them including the Stoeger X10, Benjamin Trail, some Crosman breakbarrels, and etc. Plus it is easier to cock than any of them. If i could go back I would have still picked this one.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Arpad from USA on 2015-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Size, weight, feel, ease of cocking, accuracy, and the fantastically low price. I agree with the observations made by others, it's just one heck of a nice gun. There are a couple of things I'd change but really, for the price, you simply can't go wrong.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight is hard for old eyes to see properly, probably because of the image mottled by the green dots (I have less trouble seeing the all black rear sights of my grandson's Grizzly). Locating the trigger further back would be a nice touch, as would narrowing the forward edge of the stock a bit.

    What others should know: When I first shot it, the gun dieseled a couple of times but has since settled down. Even with old eyes and a fuzzy rear sight image achieved a perfect cloverleaf at 30+ feet almost immediately. Later mounted a Hawke 2-7X scope on it. At first it performed fantastically, but in a short while the zero started shifting badly. I had used the same scope on an IZH 60 and a QB78 successfully before. I think the X-5's spring shock was beating up the Hawke scope, hopefully it hasn't destroyed the innards, haven't checked yet. Just a caution to others. At first the trigger was awful stiff, so I sprayed some lithium lube into the area where the trigger pivots and in a short while it has settled down.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Charles from USA on 2015-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Wood stock, easy cocking and light weight

    Things I would have changed: Would like the front sight to be more easily replaced.

    What others should know: I bought this after shooting my cousins' Weihrach HW30S. For a third of the HW30S price, I think the X5 provides 95% of the qality and 100% of the fun. I highly recommend the X5 as low cost, high value air rifle. I ended up buying another X5 for my sons' birthday.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Geoffrey_K from USA on 2015-04-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I managed a 5 shot group at 25 yards that a dime would cover. that is near excellent in accuracy so 4 1/2 stars for that rating It is VERY easy to cock this rifle and perfect for all day shooting.

    Things I would have changed: a better trigger. I did a little work on mine, however it is not a trigger one can make super light without making it unsafe. it is a very firm pull to get it to fire in stock form

    What others should know: my 9 yr old nephew could cock the rifle mine likes the RWS 8.3g pellets at 25 yards the best and the RWS flat nose 7 grain just about stack at 15 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased this rifle for my wife as it was difficult for her to cock my RWS Diana 34. She has no problems with this one and it is plenty accurate.

    Things I would have changed: It has a two stage non-adjustable trigger and has a bit of travel.

    What others should know: I mounted a UTG 3-9x40 Mil-Dot,1/4 MOA 1" tube scope and had to remove the rear site for proper clearance. This isn't really a problem just a side note.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2015-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight, easy cocking, good accuracy

    Things I would have changed: I wanted this for open sight use, so I would like a stock without the raised cheek piece.

    What others should know: This is a handy little air rifle. It cock easy, is very accurate and has enough velocity for close range pest dispatch. The perfect rifle for a youngster, wife or big kid of 66 like me. I own several air rifles and it seems I always grab this one to plink and play with.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2014-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the size and weight of the rifle. I bought one and liked it so much I bought another. I like to use a scope but also fiber sights. These are so reasonable I picked up the second one. Best purchase I have made in a looong time! 25 years ago I used to shoot the RWS 75 and Feinwerkbau 300 off the bench and burn a single hole in every target. I miss doing that witha n airgun and I own a lot of springers, German, Turkish and now Chinese. There are a lot of great shooting springers at all different price points. This Stoeger x5 was a real jewel of a find. Sprigers are know to shoot off a bench rest terrible and I'll tell you that most people who give poor accuracy reviews is because they do not understand the spring piston airgun. I have not shot off the bench since the big old (recoilless) Target rifle days. Until now. This X5 shoots off the bench as the same offhand. Shooting a 10 meter range off the bench with a 4x scope and this little jem will shoot a 1/4 in hole. That's a fact!

    Things I would have changed: The metal work is as good as the German guns. The stock is well machined and has a nice design. I would prefer a rich darker Walnut color on the stock. The color on mine is very reddish almost purple. I put some paint and varnish remover on the stock and 10 minutes later, wiped it off and the finish was exactly the same.The reddish purple is here to stay. (without the option of paint)

    What others should know: I was really sceptical with the Stoeger brand because of it being made in China. I enjoy shooting this little rifle more than any other airgun I have ever owned and I have had them all at one time or another. I have 2 of the tiny x3's coming as well. One for a scope and the other with the fiber sights. There is something very satisfying when you outshoot all your buddies (with a 89.00 rifle) and they all have the Biggest and Best.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Athanasios from USA on 2014-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to Cock, very accurate ,Light weight, Quiet,nice Wood Stock , Nice 3 3/4 Ib trigger pull !

    Things I would have changed: Nothing !

    What others should know: This is my 5TH Stoeger X5 and these Rifles Beg for Peeps or Scope.That will really make it Shine !Great for Young Kids and any Air Gunner !All my X5 rifles came with Nice Crisp Triggers of 41b pull or less ! Go Stoeger !

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Papa Smurf from USA on 2014-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: ACCYRACY , ACCURACY, ACCURACY !

    Things I would have changed: Nothing ,easy to cock very light , oh and did I say its ACCURATE !

    What others should know: When I first got the rifle I got more of a pattern rather than a group . Thought about sending it back but with Pyrarmyd Air's 30 day money back warranty and most everyone saying air guns need as many as 500 or so shots for a break in , I decided t give that a try . WOW ! after about 400 it just kept getting better and better . Now at 700+ I now have a "tack driver" GREAT rifle

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Alan from USA on 2014-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is light enough and easy to cock. The kids have no problem shooting this rifle. I enjoy shooting it myself.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe eliminate some of the mass from the stock. Slim it up a bit.

    What others should know: I gave four stars for accuracy because of the fiber optic sights. They are very bright and at 20 yards they seem to hide the target somewhat. The little gun is very accurate but the glow of the FO sight impairs my ability to hit a pop can at beyond 20 yards. Also for what it is worth, the wadcutter or flat heads were most consistently accurate with this particular gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Byron from USA on 2014-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like it's weight, 5.7#, velocity 603fps with Exact RS .177 7.33gr pellets, accuracy was very good with these pellets, ease of cocking 18#, fit of stock was very good, finish was very good, good rear sight, trigger is 3.75# pull but breaks cleanly, shape of stock fits iron sights well.

    Things I would have changed: The front sight could have been better with just an iron blade instead of the rather large round fiber optic sight.

    What others should know: This is a very good low power air rifle. The CPHP 7.9gr pellets averaged 608 fps and the Hobby 7gr pellets averaged 652 fps. The noise level is a little more than an HW30 but less than a Benjamin 397 with 3 pumps. I got the best accuracy with the Exact RS round nose 7.33gr pellets. You must pay attention to your hold and follow through to get good accuracy. I bought this rifle to practice shooting at short distances with iron sights and it does this job very well. I won't be trading it anytime soon.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2014-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to cock, accurate, not hold sensitive, shoots the cheap Crosman pointed field pellets well. Not a magnum, but definitely powerful and accurate enough for rabbits and squirrels. Puts lead pellets clean through my wood fence.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to have an adjustable two-stage trigger. That said, the trigger this gun comes with is nicer than the trigger on the X10/X20 series of guns, and the triggers on those are adjustable.

    What others should know: Although there are more powerful options with adjustable triggers available for around the same price, this gun is still a better value than most. It is accurate, light weight, and it is not hold sensitive. The trigger is much nicer than the adjustable triggers available on a lot of breakbarrels in this price range- and I've owned or shot several of them including the Stoeger X10, Benjamin Trail, some Crosman breakbarrels, and etc. Plus it is easier to cock than any of them. If i could go back I would have still picked this one.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Geoffrey_K from USA on 2014-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My FIL liked the one I bought so much he asked me to get him one, so I did. Light weight, easy cocking, fairly accurate, a joy to shoot A fun plinker that puts out 6.5-7.25 FPE

    Things I would have changed: for the price, not much. anything like better wood means higher price. Wood is ok, nothing special.

    What others should know: lighter pellets shoot much faster than the heavies as the spring is not very large. trigger is not bad and WAY better than the one in my B3

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By robert from USA on 2013-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: easy to cock,fun to shoot,good price and accurate.

    Things I would have changed: cheek rest is a little high for iron sights[i filed it down]

    What others should know: this is a low powered springer good for punching paper and tin cans not hunting.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2013-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The X5 is an easy cocking all day shooter with a lot going for it. The quality of the workmanship, and the excellent fit and finish are beyond what one might expect from a sub $100 airgun. And for those who like to tinker with, or tune their guns, it is an easy gun to dis and re-assemble. The is a notch in the top of the receiver, at the rear of the dovetail for a scope stop. It's also quite accurate, and 1/4" groups from 10 yards are easily obtained. The X5 shoots well using H&N Sport (8.18 gr) pellets. My gun, which I tune lubed, averages 545 fps. A serious gun for a modest cost makes this Stoeger a best buy.

    What others should know: Lockup of the barrel is snug, and so, a forward slap of the muzzle brake may be necessary for cocking.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2013-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The X-5 is a very user friendly springer. It's very easy, and smooth to cock, and that lends itself to long shooting sessions. It's pretty quiet, and has only a slight recoil. The stock is very well done, and the finish of the metal work is excellent. It's also very accurate. It would be a fine choice for younger shooters and adults alike. Using Stoeger X-Match or H&N Sport pellets it's a tack driver.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Stock up on pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lal from India on 2012-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight, easy to cock so that my small daughter can easily shoot with this gun... fantastic....

    Things I would have changed: The rate is so less and its accuracy is fine.. I recomend the viewers to purchase this rifle without thinking.

    What others should know: safety always..

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Paul from USA on 2012-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My first air rifle. Since I have no real experience with pellet guns take this for what it's worth... It seems like a nice gun. I've put about 400 pellets various types and weights of pellets through it and I've never missed the 5"x5" targets at 30ft. It's a little loud, and has a bit of spring recoil, but not at all bad. Cocking it is easy. The trigger, as far as I can tell, is actually kinda nice. Dual stage. Soft first stage, hard second stage. Might be nice to have the second stage adjustable somewhat, but not a big deal. I really like the safety on this gun. It makes sense as I find myself engaging it after firing, automatically, without thinking about it.

    Things I would have changed: It would be worth an extra $10-20 for a nicely finished stock. A second stage trigger adjustment would also be nice.

    What others should know: I'm not sure if I like the 'fiber optic' sights, as I'm older and don't see as well as I used to. I have to take my glasses off (near sighted) to focus on the sights and let the target blur a bit. I'm also not sure of how I'm suppose to dial in the sights as there were no instructions on doing so in the manual that came with the gun. Still when I steady my aim I'm always on target and grouping within 2 inches. (Not bad for a novice with less than 20/40 vision.) I'm NOT a hunter, nor do I have any 'pests' I need to control. However, this rifle will kill small game or varmits, if that's what you need it to do. However, I think for hunting you might want something with a bit more power. This rifle seem more like a target gun than a hunting gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2011-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: The Stoeger X5 is very very accurate, easy to cock, and comfortable to shoulder. If you take the factory stain off of the wood stock you'll find a very good quality wood.

    Things I would have changed: The finish on the one I got was pretty bad. I would have returned it except for the great accuracy. So, I sanded the stock down to the bare wood and put 4 coats of stain, 3 coats of tung oil on it, and polished it to a high sheen. Now it looks super. The fiber optic sights aren't very bright. Regular iron sights would have been better. Like another reviewer, I had to adjust the rear sight all the way to the left but that really isn't an issue now that I have a nice Leapers scope on it.

    What others should know: I've shot about 1000 of the Beeman coated wadcutter pellets ($4.29 per 500 at PA) though this rifle and I'm thrilled with how consistant it is. If you add a scope you'll want to get a high scope mount otherwise the sights will blur your view. If your looking to put rounds on target and are less concerned with the finish, or don't mind refinishing the wood, the X5 is a great value at $99.99.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jim from USA on 2011-06-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am not a serious air gunner but I have owned several. I can say that for the price it would be very difficult to find a better value. Accurate, well constructed and accurate. I like the iron sights. The wood finish is not top shelf but what do you want for $100. If I wanted to put a little work into it I am certain I could make the wood look very nice.

    Things I would have changed: nothing I can think of.

    What others should know: Cocking the spring on this one is very easy. I am sure a 10-13 year old could do it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brandon from USA on 2011-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The barrel came clean out of the box. Just fired a through cleaning pellets through coated with oil and barrel cleaners. Since I didn't have a scope, I sighted the rifle in at 10 yards and then at 20 yards. I had to move the windage almost all the way to the left, but that is not a big deal. Now it drives nails. It said that it shoots 640 fps with lead, but even wadcutter pellets go through a 5/8 inch fence wood. You can safely take birds out to 40 yards with a decent shot. It stops critters dead in their tracks and makes a resounding thud apon impact. I wish I would have had the extra cash to spend on the scoped package or the X20/X50. I am happy with this purchase though.

    Things I would have changed: The first stage of the trigger is very light, but the second stage is a little heavy. Maybe add an adjustable trigger or lighten it up. I know that the adjustable trigger is available on the X20 and X50. I would also lighted the rifle itself. It is not a problem, but for its slightly small size, it has quite a heft.

  • 12 Next
Navigation