Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Tanfoglio Witness 1911 CO2 BB Pistol, Brown Grips reviews - page 4

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By randal from USA on 2012-04-08 14:13:53

    Things I liked:I just started collecting replica air guns about a year ago, the 1911 was not my first purchace but having carried one in the service it was on my short list. After some research I purchased the Tanfoglio Witness because it was reviewed as the most acurate reproduction. I was set on a gun with Colt markings being the 100th anniversary but was not disapointed in the least. I find this gun almost as much fun to clean as it is to shoot. The gun fits together very well and the action is great. The blowback delivers a kick that most .22s don't have. The slide locking back after the last shot still brings a smile. Endless 1911 grips to choose from will fit with a little shaping from a Dremel tool. If you are only going to own one co2 pistol this is it.
    Things I would have changed:The only thing I feel could be improved is the magazine. When you pull back and compress the spring during loading the post that's attached to it rises up. You have to push it back into place so it feeds properly. I feel that's nit picking when I look at the hole package.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Limey from USA on 2014-03-19 19:24:04

    Things I liked:The look, the weight, the action. It truly mimics a real 1911. It is fun to shoot, and fairly accurate up to 40 ft (hit soda cans etc). I bought an extra magazine to practice reloading. It's a great drill gun, and fun to shoot.
    Things I would have changed:The bb feeding guide which is attached to the piston. It's made of plastic and will fail after about 500 bb's. This part is not replaceable, and thus makes the gun not fully functional when guide breaks.
    What others should know:As I stated, the plastic bb guide will fail. I got about 500 bb's before mine failed to feed the bb into the chamber. It begins to double stack the bb's so that the slide will not close, thus making the gun a single shot. I shot it often, and it lasted for 2.5 months, which was out of warranty for Pyramyd Air. I contacted the distributor (who warranty it for 2 months). They kindly took it back, and sent me a new one; Which I'm told by their tech guy will also break. So, buyer beware.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jerry from USA on 2012-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The trigger is very good,not as crisp as but slightly lighter in pull than my Kimber and Combat Commander.Fits all of my 1911 holsters.Good overall detailing including working grip and thumb safeties. Blowback action adds to the realism.
      Things I would have changed:Drift adjustable rear sight.Magazines should drop free a bit easier.
      What others should know:This air pistol far exceeded my expectations in all areas. The trigger is outstanding making this a great training tool for 1911 owners.Buy extra magazines, lots of BBs,and co2 because this one is hard to put down.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Micheal from USA on 2012-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is the real deal. Who cares that it has plastic grips as they are easily replaceable. The sounds of cocking the metal slide and hammer are so sweet, I could sit on my couch and listen to them make music all day long. Seems very accurate no matter how close/far I am away from the target up to 30 feet. Need to try longer distance. The blowback realistic action of this gun is what makes it so much fun. It is basically like a real 1911 minus the sound and hard hitting real bullets! Buy one, you will NOT regret it. Build quality is exceptional.
      Things I would have changed:Perhaps have some way to remove the warning labeling on the right side of the gun. Also, it would be nice to have a way to relax the hammer once it is cocked when there are BBs in the clip, without having the eject the clip first.
      What others should know:Check out the youtube vids on this gun, there is one where a kid modifies it with new grips and drills very small divots in the sites and paints them white. I may do that very modification myself soon.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Frank from USA on 2012-08-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is truly an amazing airgun, I would have given 10 stars if I could. Not only is it an exact replica of my beloved 1911s, it even field strips like the real thing. The blow back gives a decent kick, although not as much as the real thing, it adds to the experience at a fraction of the cost. Since I like carrying a 1911, it’s just the thing I was looking for to stay in practice without going broke at the range.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Buy an extra mag.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By James from USA on 2012-08-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good quality. Look,feel and weight are just like the original. I own a 1911 A1 and bought this one to keep in pratice for when I go to the range. Accuracy is quite acceptable for this guns intended purpose. I was actually very pleased with the shot groups I was getting. This seems to be a quality made co2 pistol. Just wish it could shoot pellets insted of BB's.
      Things I would have changed:Not much. Wish the manufacturer would have included instructions on how to disassemble,clean amd oil.Only instructions accompaning this gun was how to load co2,BB's and how to fire it.
      What others should know:Take down is similar to a real 1911 except you don't need to remove the barrel bushing first before removing the slide. You start by aligning the slide stop and the notch in the slide, then you remove the slide stop. After that is done the slide and the complete barrel assembly can be removed from the frame,then the barrel bushing can be removed to further disassemble the gun. This gun is a real joy to shoot and own.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very authentic feel and workings, pretty accurate for a BB shooter, solid construction, loads of fun to shoot. Works just like a 1911, shoots very well, feels good in the hand. Solid metal construction. It even field strips very much like a real 1911, as much as possible given that it's an air gun. The magazine capacity is good (18 BBs). The trigger is very nice, crisp, smooth and not heavy at all. This has to be one of the best things I've ever spent $120 on ever.
      Things I would have changed:Adjustable rear sights would be nice. The paint tends to rub off on certain friction areas very quickly, so the fit of certain parts could be better. Loading BBs into the magazine is a little awkward but not too bad once you get used to it. The manual does not show how to field strip the gun.
      What others should know:It has a tendency to orphan BBs inside the mechanism, which can lead to jams and problems with the CO2 valve getting stuck open and shooting the whole contents of the cartridge out. So you really need to pay attention to how it's loaded, and don't rack the slide with the magazine in, don't take the magazine in and out a lot when it's full of BBs, things like that. If you pull the trigger and nothing shoots out the barrel, you need to stop, eject the magazine, and find the BB that didn't shoot--it will be stuck somewhere in the gun, and if you keep shooting, it could cause problems.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gerard from USA on 2012-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The Tanfoglio Witness 1911 is a very realistic replica in weight, feel, quality, fit and finish. This semi-automatic single action pistol is based on the classic M1911 .45 ACP. Great to see a 1911 replica with the correct trigger and functioning grip safety. Note that modern M1911 variants are still seen in use by some units within the U.S. Navy and U.S. Marine Corps. A must for any gun collector.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Great quality replica at a great price. This gun can be easily field striped, cleaned, oiled, reassembled and still be a reliable shooter. Very realistic recoil and good feet per second.
      What others should know:Buy this 1911, it’s the best of it’s kind on the market, you won't regret it. And you can’t go wrong when buying from Pyramyd Air, they have a top notch crew.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By misfitsailor from USA on 2012-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look, feel, all-metal, blowback action! With little effort, wood 1911 grips can be fitted. An amazing value overall! You need extra magazines so they can warm up again between shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Offer different finishes and colors, as other makers do.
      What others should know:My pistol is good for about 3 reliable magazines worth on one cylinder of CO2. After that, it may cycle, but fail to load the next BB, or fire a BB but fail to cycle. When this happened to my gun, BBs got stuck in the blowback cylinder and required a full dismantling to free them.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gerard from USA on 2012-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Really great looking replica, nice weight and shoots well. Precise trigger pull & hammer. Easily field strips.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, except handle this airgun with care.
      What others should know:This airgun looks better in person than in photos.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2012-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This thing is really sweet. It handles very well, it's surprisingly accurate, and disassembly is pretty much spot on to it's real steal counterpart. It has great heft and and the blow back is crisp and smooth. The integration of co2 into the magazine is an great feature and using an allen screw instead of a traditional co2 screw really adds to clean look overall.
      Things I would have changed:The plastic stock grips are a little lame however you can easy swap those out for real steal grips with little to no modifications. Loading bb's into the magazine is a chore but you get used to it after a few magazines worth.
      What others should know:The finish is a little bit on the delicate side. After a half dozen magazines there is a bit of slide wear that developed on the top of the shell port. It's not a big deal as it's expected but it happened a little soon than I would have liked. Overall it's an excellent air pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Adrian from USA on 2012-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks/Appeal are awesome, the weight of it, feels so nice to pick up and grip
      Things I would have changed:not much
      What others should know:mine has had a few problems with jams, and it seems to shoot better when I rack the slide before each shot - not sure what the problem is, could the the CO2. On a fresh CO2 the blowback works well for about one magazine, then I have to start racking the slide for each shot and it shoots great.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By john from USA on 2012-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: A Must to have if you have other 45 just like my real one.
      Things I would have changed:Took to long to get.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2012-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The style, weight and realism were very identical to the real steel
      Things I would have changed:The leaking problem in the magazine. I tried pellgunoil and I exchaanged it and it didnt help.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2012-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYONE knows the reputation of this gun! It's just a very,very, nice reproduction of the 1911! I enjoy shooting,realistist feel and looks! feels great in the hand.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Just buy this gun(if you can!!) usually has a waiting list/backorder,you'll never regret it!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By ronald from USA on 2012-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great pistol just took for ever for delivery due to coming from overseas. love the full action of the pistol.
      Things I would have changed:as odthers have said on reviews the people that make this pistol should try to do something to make it easier to load bb's in magazines
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By chris from USA on 2012-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Almost everything! The feel of the gun in hand is amazing. The blowback action is exciting. The realistic function of the pistol puts it in a class of its own. The plastic grips actually feel great and not cheap like my GSG 92. This gun cycles flawlessly. No issues with bb jams. The drop out magazine is very nice and kinda resembles a real 1911 mag. Did I mention realism!
      Things I would have changed:The color of the metal on this gun is strange and ugly. It is almost grey and I have never seen a grey blued gun metal like it. The color is the only thing that I dont like about it.
      What others should know:Its nice to have an extra magazine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Brian from USA on 2012-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that it's metal. I like how accurate the replication to a real 1911 it is. The darn thing just looks awesome. It doesn't have any "for show" parts on it. Everything actually functions like on the real 1911. Even the backstrap safety. I like how all the valves & seals are in the magazine.Seems like a worse case senario of leaks you can't fix, you could just buy a new mag.
      Things I would have changed:Addition of a pivot cup on the CO2 set screw, so the powerlet doesn't turn against the seat when tightening & loosening. And a little bit more refinement to the top of the mag where the next bb awaits chambering, to prevent double bb feed jams. Now for the nit-pick item....The grips.They really should have supplied these with wood grips. 1911 grips can be had for cheap money.I bet everybody will put wood grips on theirs, because it's almost a sin that the gun is metal,accurate to the real 1911, awesome in appearance, and has plastic grips.It's like putting the Mona Lisa in a lucite frame. LOL
      What others should know:Check the 2 valves on the mag apon receipt,and make sure the're in tight. On my 3rd CO2 powerlet,mine leaked, and emptied the powerlet. I found that the valve on the backside of the mag was loose,and the o-ring had unseated and buckled in the valve seat. No damage.I removed the valve,reseated the o-ring & the tine washer under it, and reinstalled the valve securely.Problem solved. There's no pivot cup on the powerlet tightening set screw.Try to hold the powerlet from turning as you tighten & loosen the set screw, to avoid messing up the powerlet seat, and possibly loosening the powerlet seat valve. The seat valve is a LH thread (just an fyi). The Tanfoglio isn't an real accurate gun. Being an airgun,it's not made with the precision tolerances of a real firearm. So,the small amount of slop in the slide & barrel adds up to a few inches of off center in any direction, downrange. But this in no way should stop you from buying one. It's a must have for sure. I consider myself spoiled in the accuracy expectation area now,because I previously bought the 8" Dan Wesson,which can take the head off a match at 25 feet. But, like I said,it's a must have nonethess.It's such an accurate reproducion,and metal,so you just need to get one !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Frederick from USA on 2012-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Best I have seen
      Things I would have changed:Leave off some of the writting on the slide
      What others should know:If you are a collector, this is the one you want
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2012-08-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:When I opened the box and saw this pistol for the first time, it made the wait seem worth it. This pistol looks exactly like the side arm I carried in the military over 40 years ago. The weight, fit and finish, and blowback action are top notch. I only expected to get three clips from one co2 cartridge, but I was on my fifth clip before I had to quit.
      Things I would have changed:This pistol is great just the way it is.
      What others should know:This is an extremely accurate shooter for only having fixed sights.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Kelsey from Canada on 2012-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING! the realism of this pistol is off the wall! every part that is on the real 1911 functions the same on this gun. it takes down the same, loads the same, and shoots the same. the only difference is that this is 4.5mm, not .45 ACP.
      Things I would have changed:i would not have put all of the warnings on the right side of the slide, it is very attention grabbing.
      What others should know:you need to get this gun if you want the closest thing to a 1911, without it being a real 1911. you can't expect this gun to shoot too fast, but if you want that powerful blowback, you have to compromise a bit of velocity. be sure to get some wood grips. i got some that have the Colt brandings. now with the combination of that, and a bit of wear on the corners of the gun, this gun looks like an A1 that was on the beaches of guadalcanal yesterday! beautiful piece, just beautiful!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By George from USA on 2012-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very realistic. With the weight, metal construction and the detail of all working parts like the original Colt 1911, I'm afraid the police will mistake it for a real pistol. Works exactly like the 1911. And what that means is that the accuracy is a little scattered, just like the 1911. I really don't think you can make a more exact replica than this one.
      Things I would have changed:As others have said, the rear sight is fixed. A little difficult to load the BB's and hold the spring. These are very minor items for an excellent replica.
      What others should know:Shoots exactly like a real 1911, I get three full clips on the CO2 bottle, the fourth clip is noticably slower. To me that's pretty good, 56 shots before it slows down with the blowback and all. Not the most accurate pistol in the world but a 1911 isn't suppose to be accurate.
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top