Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Thompson M1A1 Full-Metal Body AEG reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Tanya from USA on 2007-09-02 04:09:34

    Things I liked:This is one heck of an AEG. For the price. Very hard hitting. Very well made feel's like and looks like the real thing. Has some kick to it. Accuracy is great. I cant say anything bad about it. Buy it you will be glad that you did.
    Things I would have changed:Bigger Clip. But you can buy that.
    What others should know:Just buy it !!!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By DonaldC from USA on 2011-09-22 10:21:50

    Things I liked:Biggest problem was that it would not fire at all (and yes the saftey was off). Can't rate the accuracy. Battery was charged but still would not fire. Overall it had a cheap feel, the butt plate was difficult to open and hard to rotate out of the way. Returned it .. THANKS to PyramydAir for the quick refund! Ordered the King Arms military version ... MUCH, much better, total quality feeling!
    Things I would have changed:Better QA at CyberGun ...
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By dave from USA on 2009-05-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very realistic. rate of fire is great, high fps !
      Things I would have changed:i would put a bigger battery in it it only lasts like a half an hour
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By MichaelA. from USA on 2009-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING! This is an awesome gun & one of my favorite AEGs. Great power, great accuracy, all metal & wood, & just gorgeous!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!
      What others should know:I'm 43 yrs old. Not some kid. OK I'm a big kid that will never grow up! lol But my point is, I'm an older guy that has a LOT more experince than a lot of the youngsters (no offense, I was your age once too! lol), that do reviews on airsoft. I have excperience with paintball, real guns of all kinds, & now I collect air guns mostly, so I know a lot about them all, & have had my fair shar of airsoft. So when I say this is one of the BEST AEGs for the money.... You can take that to the bank! Don't think about it... BUY IT! - The Big Bore Addict -
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By perry wargnier from USA on 2009-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that it's actually a 1:1 scale gun and as for it's accuracy? Whatever you wanna shoot, just look at it and it dies. It tears soda cans in HALF and magazines it shreds em. Anything you shoot at with this baby, like the real one, is annihilated instantly plus it sounds amazing when it shoots. Very loud, very intimidating. The adjustable hopup system works brilliantly and the sliding ammo case door on the gun is a really cool feature as well! If you wanna own in battle without putting up 3grand for a minigun that can shoot for four minutes without stopping to reload, use this baby. You'll win every match you play. I have.
      Things I would have changed:The "wood" is great, its really tough plastic and i haven't had any problems with it at all but still I'd rather have real wood. But for this price? seriously, every other site I found this gun on, which wasn't many, wanted at least $300 for it. That was the cheapest until I found this place and they didn't even give you the battery or charger with it. For that price it was JUST THE GUN. Other places wanted up to $900 for it and it's a BB GUN!!! Hell, I even love the green G.I. replica sling that came with it.
      What others should know:Anything else airgunners should know? Yeah. You know you want it. Get it. You won't regret it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By MichaelA. from USA on 2009-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING! I'm 43 yrs old & have a LOT of experience with real firearms, pellet guns, AND airsoft! This is a VERY well made gun with excellent performance! Great power AND accuracy! I always recommend short burst in a fire fight, but this one puts out a straight line of BBs, so it's no spray & pray... Put it on full auto & just point the line of BBs at your target & you WILL hit it! All metal & wood! VERY little plastic at all! Buy an extra battery & the 300 round clip & your set for ANYTHING Worth EVERY penny! There's a lot of other AEGs out here costing a LOT more, but save your $$$ & get the best... THIS ONE!
      Things I would have changed:A round 500 or 1,000 round drum mag would be nice, but that's just being picky. LOL It WOULD look cool as heck though! :)
      What others should know:Just buy it! Shoot it once & it's a no brainer! - The Big Bore Addict -
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2009-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just recieved my Thompson...awsome to say the least!!!!
      Things I would have changed:Access to the battery compartment.
      What others should know:Friend of mine bought a very expensive replica of this gun and wishes now that he had seen this one first. He can't shoot his.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By KingBlake from USA on 2009-03-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The visual appeal of this gun is absolutely amazing, especially when combined with a number of metal parts and simulated wood which actually looks realistic. For the price, the gun is very well built, possesses a high velocity, along with an imposing rate of fire, and can maintain impressive accuracy over medium-long distances. The adjustable sights are a nice touch, but I usually don't change them. Also, unlike many guns which decrease in velocity as the battery drains, the Thompson maintains a relatively steady velocity throughout the entire battery life. Most importantly, it leaves penny size welts, and can shoot the crap out of my friends.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing major, but I would suggest screwing the foregrip screw tighter prior to delivery; during a battle, it became loose, and nearly fell off. Probably my fault. Again, nothing major.
      What others should know:Due to it's size and shape, the Thompson is not the most convenient weapon for CQB, though it performs exceptionally in more open combat. Also, the life of the stock battery is unacceptably short for wars lasting longer than 30 minutes, so I would suggest buying the 1600 NiMH battery. The high-capacity battery makes a noticible difference in the RPM and FPS of the gun, and all around, is much better than the stock battery. You should also consider purchasing a high-capacity clip, as the included clip is plastic, harder to load, and holds less than 50 rounds (about 5 seconds of continuous full auto). Overall, I am extremely satisfied with the Thompson; I've owned it for over a year, it has consistantly performed well, and it has held up much better than my Crosman Pulse R74 and my SRC XR8 (I didn't buy them from PyramydAir), which both broke within a week after I bought them. Bottom Line: If you are looking for a powerful and reliable AEG, buy this gun. If you have an extra fifty dollars, I would recommend buying the Aftermath Orphus, probably the best relatively low-cost gun I've seen so far. Otherwise, buy the Thompson, it's a great gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Roger from USA on 2009-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The LOOK...the power and the "IT" factor...The Thompson is just such a cool gun with so much history, whats not to like? My dad (Marines/Korea) was totally done in by it...way cool.My sister (yep, she likes airsoft too) is hypnotized by it...LOL...hard to keep from shooting her...Very cool sound and heft...everybody that holds and shoots it falls in love...with the gun doofus!
      Things I would have changed:yeah, right...it's already darn near perfect
      What others should know:don't wind the magazine too tight, if it stops shooting use the cleaning rod to check the barrel for a jam...I've had 1 in about 2K rounds, about drove me crazy...dumb*** me LOL
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By lisa from USA on 2009-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this gun is awsome the accuracy, the power this gun has stock is crazy if you want a gun that hurts this is the ine you want.
      Things I would have changed:i would have the gun come with a high cap mag.
      What others should know:aegs like this destroy on the battle ground this will beat anyone that have a cock and shoot gun such as a sniper or such. get the gun its AWSOME!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2009-01-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:awesome gun. looks really freaking real. totally awesome. i was putting BBs all around people from over 100 ft away with .12g BBs.
      Things I would have changed:give it a drum clip. the 380 BB sticks are good, but having like 1000 rounds to shoot without removing the clip would be nice.
      What others should know:get it. at an airsoft war i was at, it was the second most envied gun, the most was a paratrooper SAW model.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kingcharles94 from USA on 2008-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:full metal looks real the abs plastic stock, handle, and forestock look like real wood. the rate of fire's good and so is the velocity and it's accurate
      Things I would have changed:make a more durable strap i never used the strap but i can tell it will break easily just by carrying it and also the other reviews say the same the handle is a little creaky but it's not a big deal and it won't break
      What others should know:use only .20 or heavier bb's because .12 and .16 will jam often. the magazine capacity isn't bad at 47 (at pyramyd air they give you a 300 round magazine) except that every time you run out you got to reload it should come with two 47 round clips or just one 300 round clip. I just got this 2 hours ago and i love it! get it as soon as possible!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bad_Lieutenant from USA on 2008-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything. Heft, authentic feel and design, accuracy, rate of fire. PLENTY of fun with this bad-boy! Throws any weight BB out fast, but the 12g BBs seem to slice and hook after about 25 yards, but the 20g BBs are the best.
      Things I would have changed:For a bit more money yet shootability, add into the package a 'deluxe' combat version including an OD Green bandolier holding 4-5 extra battery packs you can keep fully charged as you go into battle - alongside the authentic looking Thompson stick magazine bandoliers. I'd buy this entire package for an additional $150 if available (for the one-stop shopping) Great for non-stop shooting (well almost non-stop) when the Huns come in waves. :-)
      What others should know:Addictive. You just want to get better and better through experimentation, so 'free time' can evaporate if you let it. Keep mama happy, ... take her to dinner at least once a week so you remember what she looks like! hahhahhaha
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By airsoft master from USA on 2008-12-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:pretty much everything. it was all full metal except some miner unimportant pieces of thte gun. this gun is insanely accurate, as long as ou use .02g bbs. if you do use .12g bbs then you will see them going all over the place at about 20-25 feet. the mag is sterty and very reliable.
      Things I would have changed: i would have gone to a little less realistic sites. they are to big and bulky. you need to get a new strap, the one that comes with it very cheap. other than that it is a great gun.
      What others should know:you need to get a hi-cap mag or else your waisting money. also get a new strap. great gun and highly recommended for people familiar with airsoft. this is definitaly not a gun for begginers.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jake from USA on 2008-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the fake wood looks real, hits hard,very accurate
      Things I would have changed:make the rate of fire a bit higher, but dont let that get in the way of buying this ...like the guy before me said, they need to make a drum for this
      What others should know:every one wants to be on my teamwhen i use this gun, i use .12 ammo, its not as accurate but when you have 300 rounds and its close quarter combat im not realy aiming, snipers especialy fear this gun, i can say this is the best airsoft gun ive ever had
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DJ Young, Scorlord from USA on 2008-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is one of the best I've seen from Cyberguns. This baby is powerful, and accurate as you can get with standard iron sights. The craftsmen ship is by far the greatest out of my armory of airsoft guns. For the price you can't beat it, and holds up to any Classic Army, and Tokyo Maru I've come across. I take this with me every time am fighting, it is a great gun.
      Things I would have changed:Make a drum for the thing and you'd make me very happy.
      What others should know:This gun looks great, and I'm not kidding. If you feel the need to paint the tip be warned nothing will make that thing look like a fake gun. I have this mounted next to my real guns and unless you see the tip, you wouldn't know the difference. So be careful, I used it for my mob costume and the local cops swore I had a real Tommy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2008-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great Power, Very Accurate, Durable, Loud
      Things I would have changed:Take Down Feature, Sturdy The Pistol Grip
      What others should know:Everyone I Play Against Fears Me, It Is Very Intimidating!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By jerry from USA on 2008-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The look and heft are superb. Its a bit louder than the MP-40, but that only adds to it for me. There's nothing soft about this softair, I'm punching through cardboard with .2 balls. This is the best looking fake wood I've seen. The clip is a tight squeeze to attach, however that is far better than the MP-40 that goes on easy and falls right off even easier. It shoots a tight enough pattern, considering it is shooting little plastic balls. They went to rifling for a reason, so don't expect this to be a super accurate gun.
      Things I would have changed:Clearer instructions would be nice, like which way to turn the spin-up adjustment, and how to fill the clip. The sighting is a bit off compared to the MP-40, but I can get it close. The M1A1 was a spray & pray anyway.
      What others should know:Like other reviewers have pointed out, the strap is for show and would break under normal use; and its not a gun to throw on the ground. But treat it nice and it should last.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jon4888 from USA on 2008-07-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Thomson M1A1 AEG Soft-Air Intense Review Can airsoft out-shoot paintball? Now it can. Specs, Feel, and Looks Priced at $120.00, this sub-machine horror delivers 429 fps (1 Joule) with 0.12 gram (yellow and green bb's). The Thomson weighs 7.04 pounds, with its clip or ammo. The actual Thomson weighs 8.4 pounds without clip and ammo. Every detail about the gun is EXACTLY the same as the real gun, except, instead of engraving 0.45mm on the side, the company writes 6mm. Even the airsoft gun's length, 2.64' is exactly the same as a real Thomson's (32 inches). Spin-Up Most airsoft spin-ups or hop-ups don't work and decrease the bullet's accuracy. The Thomson's highly, adjustable spin-up is an exception. It causes the bullets to fly straight at least 200 feet. The adjustable roller is made of plastic. Durability The upper receiver, barrel, trigger, sling loops, gears, gear box, and switches of the gun are made of metal. The lower receiver, trigger guard, and back sight are strong ABS plastic. However, the braces around the back sight are metal. Angry that the fore-grip, hand-grip, and stock are plastic? So was I until I learned that wood warps. If the gun was made of wood, you wouldn't be able to play in extreme weather, because the wood would shift and bend your gun. Also, the strong ABS plastic retains the beautiful finish longer. These plastic parts are thick but hollow, a necessary trait. The stock needs the empty space to hold the battery and has a foam block wedged inside the plastic wall for bracing. THE HANDLE CREAKS. I've had a gun that lost it's handle because it was made of cheap plastic. However, I did extensive searching online and found that of all the owners with the creaky handle, not one has broken. Sights- The problem with airsoft sights is if you use them, you can't see where your bullets are hitting because they block your view. So you typically guess fire or buy a scope. But even scopes can obstruct your view and looking into one on the field is risky. This gun comes with two adjustable sights. They can be adjusted with your fingers easily, but are sturdy enough to hold their place if bumped. One is a small hole which looks onto the nose tip on the front of the gun. Also, the bullets go straight, not down, so your able to see where your hitting. I can look into the sight while wearing JT paintball mask, but not the Scott mask. Large Clip- Unlike other packagings, this case comes with a metal clip of 47 BB's. The back chamber effectively holds 250 BB's at 4/5ths full. With a tight fit, I was able to fit 300 bullets into the back chamber (I counted every one) with still enough room for the clip to function. In general, if you put too many bullets in a clip, the gun can jam. Only the compartment latch and feed hole are made of plastic. Have you ever carried two guns, knowing when one ran out of ammo you wouldn't have time to reload it? Well, all you will need is in your hands with the Thomson. It's 47 shots last much longer than regular magazines. While your opponents are reloading , you be charging in on full auto. However, if your clip empties reloading is quick and hassle-free. Just rotate the wheel on the bottom a few times and the clip is refilled. No need to take the clip out of the gun, meaning, NO LOSE BULLETS, NO WAISTED AMMO. After five refills, the large chamber can be refilled by pouring BB's directly in to the large hole. No need to finger each BB. Accuracy Test: This is a mid-range gun. I promise not to EXAGGERATE on any of this information and only give you thoroughly tested data. Both the white 0.20g and black 0.25g shoot about the same. I recommend either. Semi-Auto Just as accurate as full-auto, though sometimes a full-auto burst causes a chain of ammo to travel straight. With 0.25g on semi, in mild-strong winds, I can hit my Scott paintball mask 3/10 times at 94 feet. (I measured every foot). With little wind and 0.25g BB's, I hit the same mask 9/10 times at 65 feet using the adjusted sights. Full-auto Shoots the same rate as the real Thomson. Fake Thomson- 650-750 rpm (11 shots a second) with 8.6 volt battery Real Thomson- 700-900 rpm 9.6 volt batteries allow the airsoft gun to shoot at 900 rpm but may wear down the gears and spring. At full battery, I set the Scott mask at exactly 94 feet on the same windy day and could hit it multiple times on first burst. At 65 feet with a light wind nearly every shot hit the mask. With cock airsoft guns you have to base your second shot on where the first bullet went. When you cock, you loose that aim and have to guess where you held your gun last and how the bullet fired. With AEG's there is no cocking so you can adjust your aim quickly and effectively without guessing. After these tests I shot at trees of all ranges and was surprised by how many shots hit. I've fired at least 15 different low-end guns and none of them could shot as far and accurate as the Thomson. The bullets stayed in the air for at least 200 feet, though I didn't measure the distance so it could be more or less. But, you'd have to be very lucky to hit someone at that far. Honestly, I've played paintball for 4 years with a Tippman 98 and found that the Thomson shoots almost twice as accurate and far. I retested my tippman with its upgraded barrel with month old tactical performance paint-balls (cheap brand) and low CO2. The weather was perfect for paintball, warm but not hot with little to no wind. Little humidity. The paint-balls went all over the place, looping around and then plummeting to the ground. I do admit that low CO2 is not the best testing condition for paintball and I have gotten much better performance out of my Tippman before, but these conditions are typical of the field.
      Things I would have changed:Some owners have complained that the bridge between the clip and fore-grip broke. This is true and I have seen it myself (not on my gun). If you respect this gun enough to treat it well then the bridge will not break. Only abuse will cause this problem and it is easily fixable. Super-Glue.
      What others should know:In any large game, kids with AEG's dominate the field. I played in a forty person game where you were out only if you gave up from pain. I realized my single shot airsoft gun was worthless against the barrage of bullets fired at me. They are hard to dodge. One leader with an m-16 unloaded a full clip on me at pointblank, he wasn't touched by my jammed gun. Being able to shoot people while they're reloading the cock guns gives you significant advantage. Only buy airsoft guns that are metal or else take really god care of the plastic ones. That night, 20 people bought brand new, plastic guns, even $80 guns, and only a couple guns came back still usable by the end of the night. Get a large clip. In a big game you won't want to reload. Make sure your gun can hit the targets you aim for. Automatics may be less accurate than sniper-rifles, but they hit many more targets and can take out whole squads because they are harder to dodge and have a larger chance of hitting the target with many bullets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tommy Gunner from USA on 2008-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, adjustable hop-up, Realism
      Things I would have changed:Include hi-cap magazine with gun
      What others should know:This thing is AWESOME!!! The FPS is way faster than the givin readings, and dominates in the battlefield. If you want and un-beatable gun this is it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By j3r3mysmith97 from USA on 2008-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything, this gun is awesome!!! I know it says 340 fps but it shoots better than my brothers gun that shoots 380! I'm not kidding! Not to mension it feels sweet!
      Things I would have changed:not much, it is a little hard to get the mag in the gun, but it's not that hard!
      What others should know:If you get this gun you MUST get a magizine the one that comes with the gun is horrible! so just get a different mag and everything else is perfect!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By brookscanrun from USA on 2008-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For its price range, this gun (out of the box) is the best out there. It is super-similar to the tokyo-mauri version and looks like the real deal. The rate of fire is pretty good (50 rds in 6.3 seconds). Power is very good.(with half a batt. charge, was chronoed at 355). Lastly, accuracy is very reliable. I hardly ever need to use full auto because I can hit most everyone before they are in range.
      Things I would have changed:The magazine is small, but its an easy fix-get a 1000 rd drum magizine (they are pretty good priced)
      What others should know:Get it and play nice!
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top