Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    UTG Type 96 airsoft rifle Shadow OPS, Green reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (14 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Jake from USA on 2007-10-06 18:54:54

    Things I liked:This gun is VERY accurate. It is alot more accurate then the UTG M324. Due to this rifles high power I reccomend that you use the PHX match grade .28g bb's. That was most accurate and the range was so good that i could hit a man sized target at 230+ feet. With the .20 gram bb's it would curve up slightly after about 130 feet. That is not the range you want for a good sniper rifle like this one. Diffenetly get this gun, but I reccomend you getting the 5th Gen 3-9x50 scope off of shortyusa along with the match grade bb's. This gun is alot cheaper on this website so don't waste your money on shortyusa. I hope you thought this review was helpful and thank you for reading.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing except the sling is a little to cheap for a gun that is over10 lbs. I don't use the sling much but if you really want to use it get a different one.
    What others should know:Use the PHX .28g match grade bb's and get a scope with a magnifacation having the lowest be at 6x. Only because this rifle will reach what you see on a higher magnifacation then the standard 4x UTG scope.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By jarjar104 from USA on 2008-04-25 22:29:49

    Things I liked:Out-of-box performance is exceptional. The stock may look cheap, but I assure you that is built rock-solid. If you are used to VSR snipers you will really fall in love with the thumb hole.
    Things I would have changed:Tri-rail adaptor does wobble, but it is not a huge problem by any means.
    What others should know:Even though it is really good out of the box, the more you start using it the more you will start to realize that it is still not good enough to really "compete" on the field. You will want to upgrade it, but be warned: to get it shooting really well and actually dominating at your local field you will need to drop a large amount of money into it. Your upgrade funds will more than likely double the cost of the gun itself. It's like this gun is shooting $100 bills as ammo!
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By AG from USA on 2013-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is AMAZING!! Couldn't have asked for a better product. The bolt is just right, not to hard, not to easy, and I love shooting this gun.
      Things I would have changed:The bipod tends to come loose, and you have to retighten it.
      What others should know:If you are looking for a good sniper and want to be that one on the battlefield who gets everyone else out, this is your gun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Clifford from USA on 2011-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heavy duty feeling, acceptable FPS, decent accuracy, and ease of upgrading.
      Things I would have changed:Include the upgraded spring.
      What others should know:This rifle rocks! My son hit me from over 150FT and the BB still had enough zing to create a nice welt!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By wayne from USA on 2010-10-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smooth action, pretty good trigger, shoots very hard with spring upgrade. With upgrade ,20s not so accurate. I use .28s & .30s. These are good out to 150 ft for a head size target. They slow down the fps but make up for it with more range and accuracy
      Things I would have changed:Not really anything.
      What others should know:Make sure you use VERY high quality BBs. I use Mad Ball .30s and TSD .28s.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sam from USA on 2009-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wow, this gun is beast! I just bought this gun and I am very impressed with it. I really love the cheek pad, the thumbhole, and the false trigger.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change is the way you have to load the magazine. It is a little percurios, but you get the hang of it after a while. The accuracy is great most of the time, but sometimesthe shots are a little off. This is rare though.
      What others should know:If you are an avid sniper (like me) and you need a gun that can make hits 150ft+, this is the gun for you. I don't use the scope because I like no-scoping, but I would recommend ther scope if you are skilled with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By niriye from USA on 2009-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It has a very solid feel. The Bipod is very sturdy, I recomend this if you are an expirenced sniper. We have 2 snipers on my team and I'm one of them. Its nice to stay away from danger. But in case I run out of ammo I always have my sidearm P226 pistol.
      Things I would have changed:I wish it came with a scope. it doesn't come with the recomended size bbs but 20 gs seem to work just fine.
      What others should know:Only get this if you are in a place with lots of space. You don't want the bb coming back and hitting you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By wayne from USA on 2009-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just got this rifle... has a very solid feel. Shoots hard, is very accurate. My 9 yr old was hitting plastic army men at 25 feet after I sighted in my scope! 20g bb's seem to work just fine. Haven't had it in "the field" yet but anticipate no problems with the 20's over a long distance.
      Things I would have changed: Manuel is a bit confusing at first.
      What others should know: If you use a full face mask you will need to use high scope mounts and probably take off the adjustable cheek piece. I did this and it gave me a perfect cheek weld with my full mask on!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2009-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great fps and awesome accuracy
      Things I would have changed:NEEDS A BETTER BIPOD-come with mo bbs
      What others should know:GREAT GUN FOR THE $-I CAN HIT A TREE TRUNK-FROM OVER 100 FT AWAY 9/10 -BE WARNED-THE BIPOD SUCKS BIG TIME-MINE FELL OFF THE VERY FIRST AIRSOFT MATCH I USED IT IN (INSIDE OF 1 HR TOO) B4 IT FELL OFF IT RATTLES LIKE A DRUNK 2.DEFINETLY BUY THIS GUN FOR $100 BUX
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By glowstickmusic from USA on 2008-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this gun is the best gun that i have owned so far... by a long shot... i have always been the sniper on my teem and this would be my gun of choice it is very accurate from great distances... when my brother got an h&k gun that shot 400 with .2 it upped the level that we were laying at.... my old sniper the super nine pro (which is still a great gun for the price) wasn't not up for the task of beating my brother... so i got the sniper set the scope and started dominating... it is so powerfull that nobody wants to come closer then 30 feet in a battle... the best thing that happened with this gun was when i was up in a tree about ten feet off the ground and shot my brother in the chest from 200 feet... whenever i fight my friends ill shoot one of them or come close to one o them and i will star hearing them yelling to fall back... and even when they fall back i can still nail them because of the scope... the scope is one of the best things that this gun comes with... if you are gona buy this gun but it from hear because it comes with a scope... also this gun is silent... like not just quiet but silent.... i was in a battle and i shot some one from fifty feet away while they were running toward me and they stoped and hid behind a tree facing the wrong direction that left me with on open shot because they thought they got shot from down hill when i was to the right of where they were facing two seconds to aim and you CAN"T miss at 50 feet unless you are he most horrable shot in the world... well enough with the stories... this gun us one of the best snipers at this level if not the best... if you play in the woods get it in the green color because it is hared yo see in the woods... infact everyone only sees the orange tip instead of the gun...
      Things I would have changed:i wish it came with a bipod...
      What others should know:seting the scope is hard bet keep trying and it will be worth it... you want it to be perfect or it will be worthless so dont give up... also like the scope the hop up is harder to set but again it is worth it...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mrmike123 from USA on 2008-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:High volocity!, THE clip holds like 30 rounds a all around great gun
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:this is a great rifle but you should carry a side arm i recommend the tippmann t-200
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By killer from USA on 2008-05-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy and power.
      Things I would have changed:every now and then there will be a bb that goes way off from the rest of the group.
      What others should know:I"m writing this review to update my last one. I finally got some .43g bbs. They deffinately are the most accurate you can find. I"m getting about 1-2" groups at 25 yards with a couple 'fliers'(stray shots) I havent adjusted my hop up to compensate to these bbs yet, because I was shooting .28g's in it before, and if you go from shooting a bb weight like that to these .43g aluminum bbs, you're guna have to crank up you hop up alot. That will also increase you accuracy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jarjar104 from USA on 2008-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Out-of-box performance is exceptional. The stock may look cheap, but I assure you that is built rock-solid. If you are used to VSR snipers you will really fall in love with the thumb hole.
      Things I would have changed:Tri-rail adaptor does wobble, but it is not a huge problem by any means.
      What others should know:Even though it is really good out of the box, the more you start using it the more you will start to realize that it is still not good enough to really "compete" on the field. You will want to upgrade it, but be warned: to get it shooting really well and actually dominating at your local field you will need to drop a large amount of money into it. Your upgrade funds will more than likely double the cost of the gun itself. It's like this gun is shooting $100 bills as ammo!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By fudge from USA on 2008-04-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun Is the first sniper i ever got. But compared to some of the others i have seen it is the best. Before i bought this gun i spent 20 days searching the web for the best sniper rifle i could find. And this is what i found in the end to be the best.
      Things I would have changed:I would have them sell the gun with a sight. It has no way of aiming it without one.
      What others should know:-This gun dose not come with a scope -It is really big and heavy -The hop up is confusing but works out in the end -Never use bb's with seams in a gun as good as this -Do not wipe all the grease off, it helps as a lube -The safety is on the trigger
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By killer from USA on 2007-10-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This was my first 'UTG' gun I ever bought, and it alone hase convinced me and my friends to look @ 'UTG' products FIRST when in the market for airsoft guns! This thing brings the pain plain and simple! ALL my friends are scared when I break this baby out! The accuracy was more than I expected! anything out to 75ydrs is fair game for a head shot if you're a skilled shooter. It seemed the heavier the BB's I shot in it, the more accurate the gun got! I'm still waiting to get sum .43g's, but I'm shooting .28g's in it now, and they are awesome!
      Things I would have changed:The adjustable hop-up adjustment bost is kinda hard to get the allen wrench into, but now too bad. I would like for the bipod base to be more solid and less wobly.
      What others should know:This thing can easily shoot though BOTH sides of a pop can when you are up close, so PLEASE do not shoot at you friends with this unless they're wearing their safety glasses! This thing really could put an eye out! As I've found by experience, and other peoples reviews of this gun, the heavier BB"s are deffinately gonna shoot better! and trust me, they hit harder too! There is no need to buy an etremely high powered scope. I bought just the gun and put my own scop on, and I have a simmons 4-12X40mm on mine, and it works great! now a scope with an adjustable objective lense is good to have. This gun is simply the best sniper rifle for the money, and not many other guns of any make or kind can stack to the fps on THIS thing!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jake from USA on 2007-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is VERY accurate. It is alot more accurate then the UTG M324. Due to this rifles high power I reccomend that you use the PHX match grade .28g bb's. That was most accurate and the range was so good that i could hit a man sized target at 230+ feet. With the .20 gram bb's it would curve up slightly after about 130 feet. That is not the range you want for a good sniper rifle like this one. Diffenetly get this gun, but I reccomend you getting the 5th Gen 3-9x50 scope off of shortyusa along with the match grade bb's. This gun is alot cheaper on this website so don't waste your money on shortyusa. I hope you thought this review was helpful and thank you for reading.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing except the sling is a little to cheap for a gun that is over10 lbs. I don't use the sling much but if you really want to use it get a different one.
      What others should know:Use the PHX .28g match grade bb's and get a scope with a magnifacation having the lowest be at 6x. Only because this rifle will reach what you see on a higher magnifacation then the standard 4x UTG scope.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top