Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Walther CP88, Blued, 4 inch barrel, CO2 pistol reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (21 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2011-02-25 09:54:03

    Things I liked:The things I like about this airgun is the weight, looks,power and feel of gun in hand.Great fit,triger pull comfortable and is pretty accurate. Also like the way the co2 is installed, and great seals too, very cool.I get about 100 rounds per 12g co2 every time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Things I would have changed:Maybe have a weaver rail for acc. And maybe a adjustment for the hight of the rear sight,But is not realy any kind of a down side,still one heck of a air pistol !!!
    What others should know:This air pistol has some weight to it, and you dont want to show it in public,THIS THING LOOKS REAL. I have noticed that mine tends to shoot pretty high at 20 feet, and makes it hard to realy be 100% accurate. I have ordered the 6" adaptable barrel for this model to see if this will help with the hight of my shots. I do exspect that in today but not sure when i'll get it on the gun,I will write another review about this matter when I have time to try new 6" barrel out. Other than the pistol shooting a bit high, I love it ,it is very fun shooting and has the power I need to hit my target.It also has a very good triger pull and I would buy another one if it was to give out on me.This is a realy great looking air pistol and so far, I am very happy with it. Great buy !!!!!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Shubin from USA on 2013-08-12 16:44:18

    Things I liked:good trigger on double-action. single action is short but heavy for me. It is very accurate at 20 ft.
    Things I would have changed:There are no white dots on the sights. Hope it comes in with better sights. The existing sights gave me the impression of toy instead of firearm.
    What others should know:I get about 75 good rounds per 12g co2. I have run about 25 co2 cartridges on the cp88 and still get about 75 good rounds, very consistent.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2014-05-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased my first CP88 in January and put close to 8500 pellets through it (and approximately 85 12 gram co2 cylinders)until one of the cylinders jammed in the grip/cylinder head. I tried a number of methods to dislodge the cylinder to no avail. Sent it back to Pyramid for repairs and they wound up sending me a new one in its place. Thank You! What great customer service. Since shooting the replacement, I have found two additional cylinders that have not seated properly on the first try so I removed them but was able to use them successfully in a Walther CP99. This pistol's cylinder head may be a bit more finicky than others. I still like the eight and trigger pull of this model over the CP99, although each is fun to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I have been using Crossman 12 gram cylinders but may consider another brand if I continue to have cylinder sticking problems. It is hard to believe that I was able to shoot through 85 cylinders without a hitch with the first CP88.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jack from USA on 2014-03-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Bought this pistol for wife training as it matches the weight and feel of my "House" gun. I have set up a range in the garage and we use it all of the time. We are shooting 2" targets at 20'.
      Things I would have changed:Front Sight Blade to an Orange fiber optic to match my other handguns
      What others should know:Wad Cutter type Pellets work the best. Even though round and some pointed pellets will work, they often work loose and jam the rotating magazine. **Wear Safety Glasses. As the power goes down, pellets will tend to bounce back at you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2014-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I really like the feel of this air gun which I was hoping would be much like my Ruger P95. The double action trigger is reasonably smooth and is good training for accuracy. It should make shooting a "real" pistol in single action that much easier. This pistol has been a lot of fun shooting targets and soda cans at 7-15 yards and can be shot in doors when the weather is not so nice. I had never given much thought to getting one of these, but to be able to shoot 100 rounds for less than $3.00 and have the feel of a real pistol (less the bang and some recoil), it has turned out to be a great decision. The semi-automatic action works flawlessly.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I usually get 96 to 104 shots per 12 gram CO2. of course the last 8 or so are a bit weak but they still knock over a soda can. Buy extra 8 round magazines.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Shubin from USA on 2013-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:good trigger on double-action. single action is short but heavy for me. It is very accurate at 20 ft.
      Things I would have changed:There are no white dots on the sights. Hope it comes in with better sights. The existing sights gave me the impression of toy instead of firearm.
      What others should know:I get about 75 good rounds per 12g co2. I have run about 25 co2 cartridges on the cp88 and still get about 75 good rounds, very consistent.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Cliff from USA on 2013-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent trigger, both single and double-action. Actually, better than the "real" gun. Quite accurate for a CO2 pistol. I'm able to consistently hit tin cans at 20 yards shooting off-hand. Very well built, weighted like the real gun. About 80 shots per CO2 cartridge, 50 of which have plenty of power.
      Things I would have changed:Paint the front sight a "glowing color" one can see in bright sunlight. Otherwise, this gun is about perfect.
      What others should know:Very high quality pistol, just like the real thing. Rear sight is easily adjustable with the allen wrench provided. Looks and feels like the real thing. Possibly, the best Walther copy available. They did everything right--even for southpaws.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Pete from USA on 2013-06-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight and feel of a real firearm. Excellent for practice without the expense of ammunition and time required to go to a shooting range. It came with 2 rotary magazines which was a pleasant surprise.
      Things I would have changed:My pistol came shipped missing the screw that goes in the safety lever on the right side of of the pistol. Therefore the safety lever on that side kept falling off. I was going to send it back for an exchange, but I figured I would give Umarex support a try. I called them and they had a new screw to me in 3 days. I commend Umarex for their customer support.
      What others should know:I ordered this pistol for my wife so that she could get some practice without having to go to the shooting range. Suits that purpose extremely well!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2012-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is a perfect example of quality German gun making.Very well built,solid,..feels just like the "real steel".The CO2 loading/lever system is THE best!!!Fast,and quick.The rotary mag. is very easy to use,..careful not to drop them ,they fall out easily when you tip the gun.Pyramyd Air offers it at a fair price,and fast delivery(as usual!!)I've added the wood handles,and compensator..like having two guns in one!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know: if you can afford the pricey cost.....buy this gun, it's worth it!!! you will not be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Roy from USA on 2012-05-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I tried the S&W MP45 prior to this and was very dissapointed. I purchased the CP88 and the 4-6" extended barrell, only problem I have had is deciding whether I like the 4 or 6" bettter, I am very happy with this pistol. It feels like the real thing. It recently outshot my nephews REAL Colt 45 from 50'. Pyramid was excellent to deal with.
      Things I would have changed:A few more shots per CO2 would be nice - i constistantly get 80 whether using the short or long barrell. Fiber optic sights would be a welcome addition.
      What others should know:The S&W MP 45 that I mentioned was exchanged easily for the CP88, the staff at Pyramid could not have been more understanding. I am contemplating a Crosman Nitro Venom which will surely come from Pyramid. They totally stand behind their products.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This air pistol is great,I like the grip very good fit with hand,great power,seals,looks and accurate. All metel.This air pistol looks very real and feels like it to. It is very fun to shoot as well.
      Things I would have changed:NOT A THING !
      What others should know:This is a follow up review from 2/25/2011.In that review I stated I ordered the 6" barrel to try to get even more accurate shots with this pistol because it shot high.I put this barrel on yesterday so that I could try it out, and see what results I would have. WOW, this barrel gave me absolutely GREAT SHOTS !!! After istalation of the 6" barrel, this pistol is DEADLY ACCURATE. I shot 12 (clips, mags) of 8 rounds each, and the results where great !!!!! Ever shot was very consistant and great power till the end of of the 12 mags. Of course you do lose power after so many shots,but I was still able to hit the target where I wanted to. Very little waste of co2 at the end of my shootings, just a little poof. This is now my favorite air pistol, and I highly recommend it to anyone, beginner or pro. I do have a pretty good collection of air pistols and the Wather CP88, and CP 99 are both deadly accurate and very fun to shoot. I can get 12, 8 round (clips, mags)with both of these pistols. Way to go PA, I am very happy with my purchases through your web site, you have everything I need to target shoot and enjoy myself. I highly recommend PA for all your air gun needs !!!!!!!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The things I like about this airgun is the weight, looks,power and feel of gun in hand.Great fit,triger pull comfortable and is pretty accurate. Also like the way the co2 is installed, and great seals too, very cool.I get about 100 rounds per 12g co2 every time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      Things I would have changed:Maybe have a weaver rail for acc. And maybe a adjustment for the hight of the rear sight,But is not realy any kind of a down side,still one heck of a air pistol !!!
      What others should know:This air pistol has some weight to it, and you dont want to show it in public,THIS THING LOOKS REAL. I have noticed that mine tends to shoot pretty high at 20 feet, and makes it hard to realy be 100% accurate. I have ordered the 6" adaptable barrel for this model to see if this will help with the hight of my shots. I do exspect that in today but not sure when i'll get it on the gun,I will write another review about this matter when I have time to try new 6" barrel out. Other than the pistol shooting a bit high, I love it ,it is very fun shooting and has the power I need to hit my target.It also has a very good triger pull and I would buy another one if it was to give out on me.This is a realy great looking air pistol and so far, I am very happy with it. Great buy !!!!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By CharlesW. from USA on 2011-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice size and weight, perfect to shoot with my young grandson. Location of slide's break-line (for loading magazine) is almost invisible. Options still available: 4' to 6' barrel (Pyramyd Air), target sights (Umarex.com).
      Things I would have changed:Cheap carry case, Walther brand name not embossed on top of case lid (like SW586 and Beretta 92FS), but a glued sticker. Inside, there are no accessory compartments, pellet magazines and gun are packed loose within egg carton type foam. Could have been more like the case that comes with the SW586 pistol.
      What others should know:Brass wheel used for the CO2 piercing, not attached but loose in grip frame. To release slide for loading magazine takes a little coaxing. Button to release left grip for loading CO2 is pushed from the right side ( just the opposite on the Beretta 92FS). Not sure pistol is ALL 'German Made' (not a legal term, as with Swiss Made, where 51% of its value needs to be Swiss).
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Kathleen from USA on 2010-11-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well made; nice balance; solid; all metal except for the grips and maybe the sights; very realistic looking; bluing is great; I'm really, really pleased with this gun.
      Things I would have changed:I bought a Walther Combi Rail for it so that I can attach a red dot sight but I'm in the process of contacting PA because I can't get it to work properly. I will review that product after I know more. The point of mentioning this is that it would be nice to have some way (a better way) to mount a red-dot sight. When BB Pelletier reviewed the tactical version of this gun he said that the Walther sight improved his groups.
      What others should know:This gun is helping me to become a better pistol shooter. Even though the slide isn't blowback, it definitely has a kick to it and I find myself continuing to pull the trigger back after the pellet hits the target which is better technique. Before that I was letting the nose of the gun jerk up or down. I had to return the first CP88 I received because the double action stopped working. PA replaced it with a new one quickly. Very pleased with the service I received.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By thomas from USA on 2009-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is very realistic. It looks and feels like the real deal. I also do some range shooting but have more fun with this as I can tear up a soda can, but the .22 and .45 I shoot at the range are only at paper targets. This gun is actually more fun to shoot that the ,22 S&W I shoot at the range and this one never jams like it does.
      Things I would have changed:I can't think of a thing.
      What others should know:This gun is heavy but a not as heavy as my S&S pellet gun with the 4 inch barrel. I like the double action and mostly shoot it from the single action. You can not go wrong with this gun, I like it much better than the BB guns. It's just amazing how this resembles an actual firearm both in looks and action.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Robert from USA on 2009-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well approximates operation of a DA/SA semi-automatic pistol. Good design. High quality. Sufficiently accurate for the purpose of training for self defense.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is good but not great. Doesn't cock itself after first shot, so the user must manually cock if SA is desired. Heavy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By john from USA on 2009-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:one sweet piece, glad I bought it, realistic and I enjoy the action, nothing but positives.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2009-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Built like the proverbial brick outhouse. Very nice piece, high quality all the way. Very accurate, a can killer, fun making those soda cans jump around the yard very quickly.
      Things I would have changed:Would like to see white dots on the rear sights, and a white front sight, similar to the Walther P22 pistol.
      What others should know:Buy extra 8 shot cylinder magazines you'll appreciate having the extras ready to go. Two come with the gun and I bought 12 more, a bit pricey but well made. I wanted 14 to load with the Air Venturi Diablo Speedloader which can load 7 magazines or 56 pellets in about 40 seconds. Unfortunately no one has them, they seem to be out of production. Check out YouTube for the CP88 comparison of the Colt Model 1911 and they demonstrate how the speedloader works.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By hawaii3rlr from USA on 2009-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The realism is great...feels and looks almost exactly like the real Walther P88 Compact. This gun is a thing of beauty, great craftmanship. Pretty powerful for a 4" barrel pistol and quite accurate also. Be warned that this gun can be pretty loud and may cause disturbance with neighbors...I do love the sound though! I've fired over 1,000+ rounds since I got this two weeks ago and never once jammed. Very reliable.
      Things I would have changed:The only problem I have with this gun is that it tends to be underpowered in the first 3 to 4 shots after a new C02 is inserted. After the first 3 to 4 shots, all of a sudden valve seems to finally open to let C02 in and the gun starts firing with power and is normal thereafter until I insert a new C02 again and the cycle starts. Maybe I just need to break it in some more. Other than that problem, I would not change a thing!
      What others should know:Along with my Desert Eagle, this gun is definitely the best I've ever had. Another superb product once again from Umarex. Order this gun from Pyramyd Air, I've been a satisfied customer over and over again!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By james from USA on 2009-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First thing I noticed that pretty much everyone does is the weight of the gun. It is great. Only minimal difference between this and the real deal.The looks are impressive as well. I have found that with just a couple drops of pellgun oil it loosens up nicely.
      Things I would have changed:Can't really think of anything.
      What others should know:This is a VERY REALISTIC looking gun, and is NOT advisable to try and carry out in public.The power of the gun @ 400fps is enough to do great harm so be very careful. THAT IS ALL
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By additionalmc from USA on 2009-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:All metal, very real feeling, and looks awesome
      Things I would have changed:maybe a blowback, but that would take away from the power
      What others should know:This is one of the best pistols you can buy for the money
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By tbame from USA on 2008-05-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I'm enjoying the gun. I've fired about 1500 rounds in 2 weeks without a single jam. I use the Air Venturi Speedloader which seats all pellets well into the cylinder. I've found that I can get 72 full power shots (9 cylinders) and 8 more lower power shots from one Crosman CO2 cartridge. When bench shooting, I can tell the gun is pretty accurate. From 25 feet, I can keep most shots in the black of a 25 ft. rapid fire pistol target. Occasionally I get a flyer that I'm pretty sure is not my fault. The gun is heavier than I expected but seems to be well built. Out of the box, the trigger pull was very rough but has smoothed-up over time.
      Things I would have changed:A couple problems, the slide release on my gun sticks about 20% of the time when trying to open it. I have to use a tool sometimes to get it open. I use the rubber handle of a household tool so I don't damage the finish. Out of the box, I could tell by bench shooting, that it shot 2 or 3 inches high. I filed the back sights several times (taking just a little off each time) until I got it sighted in. After shooting almost 200 8-shot cylinders, I've noticed that anytime I wait several minutes between shots, the next shot seems to be weak. It sounds different and usually hits low on the target. I believe this is somehow related to the safety. When I leave the gun on fire between shots (which I don't like to do), the 'weak shot' problem disappears.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top