Date: 3/12/2016 20:23
0

Walther CP99 Compact reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Victor from USA on 2009-07-29 15:46:56

Things I liked: As I already am a proud owner of a Nickel Walther CP99 pellet pistol, I already know what to expect when it comes to Walther quality. But i must say that I was impressed with this gun. It has a nice hefty weight to it, it"s made of durable metal and a high quality polymer. Blowback with open ejection port is awesome. After the last shot is fired, the slide stayd cocked back like a real firearm.Speaking of the slide, it has a nice matte black finish ! Accuracy up to 30 ft. is pretty good. Each co2 cartridge will give you at least 100 shots as long as you put a drop of Crosman Pellgunoil on the tip of each one before charging it into the pistol..

Things I would have changed: I"ve thpught about it for a few minutes and haven"t been ablr to come up with anything.

What others should know: If you"re into shooting realistic looking, feeling, and performing air pistols, you won"t go wrong with thw Walther CP99 compact... If you wanna have fun with it, get at least 4 extra mags, the Walther laser, lots of Copperhead BBs, co2 powerlets and Pellgunoil to keep the fun going for a long time..

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Leroy from USA on 2011-06-30 19:00:19

Things I liked: has many realistic features. good weight. metal magazine.

Things I would have changed: this gun has a serious flaw in that the bb's will fall out of the barrel if gun is pointed downward and trigger pulled slowly. This makes it nearly useless in my opinion. You have to jerk the trigger quickly to beat the bb out of the barrel. This makes accurate shooting difficult. I would like a gun with a cockable hammer for single action shooting as well as double action for semi auto shooting. I don't really care for the blowback action. It works fine but uses more co2 and robs power. It doesn't shoot as hard as other guns I have.

What others should know: I bought this gun to get a single action trigger pull. I don't care for the heavy long pull of double action guns. This gun still has a long pull, but it is lighter. It's not crisp like I expected. As for velocity I got 347 on my chrony once. Walther claims 345. average was about 300. Accuracy is not as good as my colt defender or crosman c41. It shoots about six inch groups 4 in low at 20 ft. Overall I'm disappointed in this gun.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Christian from USA on 2016-11-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've heard great things about this gun, so I was excited to get it. I also bought the Umarex univeral loader which comes with an adapter for this gun. Great once you figure it out. The weight, feel and look are excellent. Semi-realistic action, as the dropout magazine just holds BBs and the CO2 goes in the handle. It's single action like the real steel, and has an indicator on the back that shows if it's cocked. Nice blowback! Accuracy is not applicable. It's a smooth bore BB pistol. You will struggle to hit a tool shed at 75 feet. That's not why you buy this. It's fun and handles like the real gun.

    Things I would have changed: The first problem I had was loading it with the Universal loader. Put too many BBs in, and it gets stuck on there due to the design. I broke it, luckily my Super-Glue Foo is ace. Next time I made sure to not load it all the way. But here's the issue- the magazine will eject all the BBS at once unless you hold the top when you release the mag spring. It's hard to explain, but unlike most guns the BBs are not held in place. They will freely fall out of the mag unless the spring is released to hold them in place *while the BB port is held*. If you fill it with a bunch of BBs, and just pop the spring release- BBs all over your floor. And the release will pop free pretty easily. So it took me a good 2 hours to pick up all the BBs, repair my loader, and finally get a mag loaded after a few tries.

    What others should know: And then... The CO2 has a twist thing to make it snug before turning the bottom of the grip which actually punctures it. But mine was undertight the first time, and leaked CO2 when I unscrewed it to adjust it. And the second time, it was overtight as the manual does not explain this, and would not turn all the way. And becuase of the shape, it blocks the mag port when not tightened all the way. So in order to load another mag, I had to waste an almost full CO2. Si I wasted two CO2s on one mag. Neat gun,but I do not recommend it unless you're at a hard limit of $100. Spend a few more and get the S&W M&P 40, or my all time favorite the Full-Auto Berretta 92A1. Extra mags are expensive, but the difference in quality and function is very noticeable.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2016-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: bought the Walther CP99 compact for a gift , ordered the bundle for value, shipment arrived promptly. My wife was surprised , this bb pistol fits her hand well and operates well. the first co2 cylinder wasn't fully pierced but caused no issues at a standard operating speed.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By tony from USA on 2016-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made, sturdy construction, except the CO2, tightening mechanism seems like it will be problematic over time, .

    Things I would have changed: Safety is very difficult to operate.

    What others should know: The slide has been staying open, after a shot is fired. I don't know if this is a function of low CO2, or a malfunction of the mechanism.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By chris from USA on 2015-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like that this has about the same feel and the real thing so it's great to keep your skills up when it;s cold and blowing outside, the slide operating and the slight recoil make this feel like the real thing

    Things I would have changed: I don't like the little hole on the top of the slide, for some reason the screw or what was there fell out and the slide would not operate, i found a short screw and a small washer and glued that in and it has sealed fine for over a year. the slide catch that would hold the slide back on the last bb just sucks, it wore away fairly fast, this does not effect the main function but takes away from the realism, the metal wears away fairly fast so keep a general track on how many rounds you fire and reload before the last one, i need to file mine back to being flat I have had a lot of tanks in mine to be fair but getting it to seal on a new tank with out allways lubderacting the tank can be a pain, pellgunoil from crosman works well for this

    What others should know: the seal on the CO2 could be better and dont fire till the clip is empty all the time, this will allow the slide lock back feature to work longer. accuracy is average for a smooth bore bb pistol

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By david from USA on 2015-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like the pistol overall ... Works great with ease of handling .

    Things I would have changed: Nothing... I like it the way it is.

    What others should know: Great place for all varieties of air guns.. Look through their catalog... 50 cal rifles!! And even a 50 cal Airgun that shoots as a shotgun for single 50 cal round... Amazing!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great training gun. Fairly accurate, and stingy with gas. I got about 8 mags per cartridges. Exact size and shape as the real thing.

    Things I would have changed: More accuracy, if possible.

    What others should know: only use Umarex cartridges with this or any Umarex gun!!! Can cause damage!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Too from USA on 2015-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Excellent gun, very very well made, save for the slide catch, it has the potential to wear down from use. I had to strip mine down and file the slide edge to make it square again. Now I just count out sixteen shots, leaving the last bb in the mag, shooting that way prevents the slide catch from locking out and wearing down. The gun is very close to the actual firearm, the weight, controls, feel, almost identical. It's an excellent replica. I have read a few reviews on here where the gun is referred to as a "toy". I don't think it's a good idea to use the word "toy" in reference to modern air guns, it gives the wrong impression and could lead to complacency. These things are capable of causing serious injury if mishandled, just a thought. The power is impressive for a co2 pistol, especially with a fresh charge. Mine is very loud though, very loud, not "real" gun loud, but for an air pistol it makes a bit of a racket. The blow back is impressive, nice feature.

    Things I would have changed: Make the slide catch more durable.

    What others should know: Get lots of Co2 and a few extra mags, you will need them. The plastic sleeve on the barrel will get marked by the slide, not much you can do about this, a little drop of chamber oil rubbed onto the surface makes the marks disappear though. This gun is ridiculously good value for the price, it looks, feels and functions like one that cost three times the price. It's a fantastic piece of kit, just order one, you won't regret it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Keith from USA on 2015-07-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very nice weight and balance. Aims naturally. Very comfortable to hold and shoot. Trigger is good. Short, crisp and predictable break second stage. Seems to be tight and well made. Warning labels are engraved rather than painted and do not stand out. Accuracy is better than expected. Good CO2 efficiency. It is inexpensive. An absolute pleasure to shoot!

    Things I would have changed: Not much. First stage of trigger loads BB so there is a little grittiness, but the pull is so light and the second stage so distinct it does not matter. May go away with use or lubrication. Safety is too awkward, to use it properly. It takes me two hands to engage or disengage it. It also releases the hammer, so you have to recock the slide before you can fire the gun again.

    What others should know: I could not recommend a better all around gun. With exception of the safety - this gun does everything it is supposed to do very well, and better than most other guns in its class. The safety might be an issue for younger or inexperienced shooters.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice blowback. Shoots 4.5mm bbs. Is made well.

    Things I would have changed: The ejection port should show the magwell better.

    What others should know: I sold mine after a year because I was bored of it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2015-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Realistic operation. Robust solid feel/construction . Accurate with correct sight picture.

    Things I would have changed: Safety lever is cumbersome. Sights could use white dots.

    What others should know: A great value.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2015-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm a retired NYS gunsmith with twenty years experience. This is one of fourteen assorted replica firearms I've purchased from Pyramyd Air and like all the others the quality, the price, the realism, and the attention to detail is exceptional.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This replica is the next best thing to the original firearm.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Danny from USA on 2015-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Look, weight, feel, accuracy, blowback feature.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Extremely accurate. nice piece for a collection.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CRLDSL from USA on 2015-01-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feels good in your hand. Great balance and alot of fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: I would love to see a 5" barrel.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Metal slide, trigger pull, easy on the blow-back, good capacity, the little details like the decocking when put on safe or the magnetic holding of the first BB in the slide, Walther brand, THE GRIP FITS LIKE A GLOVE.

    Things I would have changed: The sights ... I filed mine silver and added glowing glue. glow dots would be incredible. Also, the butt ... a hex wrench with it built into the back strap like the PPS would be great (Next purchase). Back strap is a bit loose. Should snap or click in better.

    What others should know: Extreme quality to price ratio. Fun for beginners and experienced airgunners.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randy from USA on 2014-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is an excellent gun. Feels great in the hand, accurate and fun to shoot. Best feature, it lets you know when its out of BB's. It stop firing, conserving co2. Recommend for all gun lovers.

    Things I would have changed: Wish it could hold more BB's. But the 16 round clip is still great.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By robert from USA on 2014-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like everything about this han gun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: This is an accurate shooting pistol, handles very nicely, quality product for the price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2014-10-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice representation of what it is intended to emulate. Fun, efficient on gas, well built, accurate by BB pistol standards, (shoots a 1 1/2" group at point of aim at 5m range) and is a good value. Has a very nice snap-on laser available for it and fits well in a Fobus holster.

    Things I would have changed: If you are shooting carefully at a target that is below eye level the BB will roll out of the barrel before you can get the shot off. This is because the first part of the trigger squeeze strips the BB out of the magazine and places it in the barrel. At that point there is nothing to hold the BB in the smooth barrel so it rolls out the end. I was able to solve this problem by using a small slot blade screwdriver to place a BB sized gob of Vaseline in the barrel breach through the magazine opening in the simulated ejection port. This puts a thin film of Vaseline in the smooth bore barrel and is just enough to keep the BB from rolling out the end of the barrel. I called Umarex about this and they played dumb about it. Would be nice if they had a more elegant solution. But this solution works well enough to make this purchase a happy keeper otherwise Pyramydair would have gotten it back.

    What others should know: I don't want to gush too much about this pistol on the internet because in the current environment it isn't a good idea to attract a lot of attention to something that is good and useful and fun lest the fun police take it away. But let's just say you won't be disappointed. The blowback action sets the striker so other than the drag of the trigger stripping and loading the BB the trigger is quite good by BB pistol standards. The fixed sights are target quality and aligned with the point of aim at 5m so this is a satisfying pistol to shoot at BB appropriate distances.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By andy m. from USA on 2014-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This air pistol has all the realism one person could need handle feel weight balance and blow back just like the real thing. there is lots of power out of the first 4 mags but at 19 shots per mag how could you go wrong with a blow back its so real in every way.

    Things I would have changed: i would add better sights and a better way to add the Co2 because its had to load 1 if your in a hurry it just cannt be done.

    What others should know: this is a very realistic pistol in every way possible feel weight action smooth operation i really love this pistol it just needs a better screw for the Co2 perfect hand grips better then most i have.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ricardo from USA on 2014-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this for my wife to train with in our home. She has the P22 and PK380. This is a very close match to both Walther pistols. It's worth getting to train with using less expensive ammo. Also, the weight and function is very similar, even the magazine release is in the same location.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, I am we are both very happy with the pistol.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2014-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very realistic feeling gun ,cant keep them in stock customers love this gun

    Things I would have changed: personally not real impressed with ammo clip but it is what it is

    What others should know: very good value for the money when you offer extra clip and holster

  • 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation