Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Walther Lever Action CO2 Rifle, Black reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2012-02-04 14:17:35

    Things I liked:I bought one of the originals when they first came out. This is one class act rifle! Beautiful bluing. The wood is first class. Smooth action. Dead on accuracy. I still like the 2 C02 12gr powerplant that came with the orginal. However, the 88gr would give many more shots.
    Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
    What others should know:This is a gun where you can take it out and shoot it, then bring it in and hang it over the mantle and be proud of its style and beauty.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By PAUL from USA on 2014-07-27 08:49:50

    Things I liked:You get exactly what is advertised with this gun. My issues with it are entirely because of me. My expectations were far greater than PA or Walther had stated. The look and feel along with the fit and finish of this gun is excellent. Also the gun function flawlessly and is easy to load and operate. For me, that is where the things I liked about this gun ends.
    Things I would have changed:The only other CO2 rifle I have is the Hammerli 850 Magnum. I'm not sure its fair to compare these two, but thats what i did. Both are stated to be plinking guns. However the Hammerli is $150 cheaper, it has fiber optic sights front and rear, it is noticeably more powerful than the Walther (760 fps vs 600fps), it has a much better trigger, and because of the fiber optic sights and trigger, the Hammerli 850 magnum was much more accurate for me.
    What others should know:If you buy this gun, do so for it's outstanding looks feel and style. In my opinion, my expectations were not realistic because of my experience with the Hammerli 850 Magnum. The Walther .177 Lever Action is a great looking gun, but as I've previously stated it lacks power, and the sights and trigger do not lend themselves to accuracy. Additionally the $439 price tag is steep for what you get. At that price point you just about get a Beeman R9 which is in a very, very different class.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Chris from USA on 2014-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The look, feel, workmanship, and accuracy. The eight round clips are very easy to use and the lever action is smooth and effortless. The wood stock and blueing on the barrel are well done and attractive. Since purchasing this rifle from PA less than a month ago, I've shot over a thousand pellets with this rifle without any problems whatsoever. I'm getting better than 250 shots from each CO2 cylinder. I use the rifle for plinking and it is great fun to destroy cans, plastic bottles and ping pong balls from 20 yards away. The rifle is quite accurate. I use eight clips of eight pellets each when shooting. This gives plenty of shots before stopping to reload the clips. I recommend this rifle as a great addition to your air gun collection.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing about the rifle. It is a little pricey but I can't complain about the product.
      What others should know:I recommend you buy extra eight round circular clips. Air management on my rifle is excellent with at least 250 shots from each cylinder. This is not the most powerful rifle but its looks, accuracy and fun factor make it a winner
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-09-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything feels like a Real Lever action Rifle i Really enjoy my Pellet gun
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By PAUL from USA on 2014-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:You get exactly what is advertised with this gun. My issues with it are entirely because of me. My expectations were far greater than PA or Walther had stated. The look and feel along with the fit and finish of this gun is excellent. Also the gun function flawlessly and is easy to load and operate. For me, that is where the things I liked about this gun ends.
      Things I would have changed:The only other CO2 rifle I have is the Hammerli 850 Magnum. I'm not sure its fair to compare these two, but thats what i did. Both are stated to be plinking guns. However the Hammerli is $150 cheaper, it has fiber optic sights front and rear, it is noticeably more powerful than the Walther (760 fps vs 600fps), it has a much better trigger, and because of the fiber optic sights and trigger, the Hammerli 850 magnum was much more accurate for me.
      What others should know:If you buy this gun, do so for it's outstanding looks feel and style. In my opinion, my expectations were not realistic because of my experience with the Hammerli 850 Magnum. The Walther .177 Lever Action is a great looking gun, but as I've previously stated it lacks power, and the sights and trigger do not lend themselves to accuracy. Additionally the $439 price tag is steep for what you get. At that price point you just about get a Beeman R9 which is in a very, very different class.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love replicas and this is one of the best. Very solid. Real wood! Accurate out of the box and it's a repeater with an eight round mag.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change a thing. Some reviewers don't like the larger butt pad that holds the larger CO2 cartridge, but it fits me just fine.
      What others should know:Two things: The lanyard ring does spin freely and may scratch the metal around it. Also, when inserting magazines, be careful to avoid scratching the metal between the release and the mag slot with the metal magazine. Make sure the slot is fully open. But, keep in mind, that the only way to keep your gun pristine is to leave it in the box; a little wear is a sign of a useful tool. Oh yeah, 90 gram cartridges also fit.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles M from USA on 2014-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This Walther Lever Action rifle is a beautiful air rifle. The appearance of the real reddish-brown wood stock with the all metal barrel and action is a pleasure to behold. The lever action works smoothly and easily, and the standard Umarex 8 shot magazines worked well with every one of 20 different pellets I shot with this rifle. The accuracy using the open sights was not as good as I had expected with pellets hitting the target about 2" below my aim point even after adjusting the rear sight as much as possible to bring up the point of impact. I wasn't very concerned about that because I mounted a UTG 4X32 AO mil-dot reticle rifle scope (PY-A-4315) on the rifle. After sighting in the scope at 10 meters, the accuracy was excellent! Bench rested 10 meter 8 shot groups were 5/8" or less for 8 of the 20 pellets I shot. Another 10 pellets gave me 8 shot groups between 5/8" and 1". The smallest 8 shot group was 3/8" using H&N Sport wadcutter pellets.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change anything with the rifle itself. I would ask Pyramyd Air to persuade Umarex to distribute a 2X12 g CO2 adapter here in the U.S. for this Walther Lever Action rifle. Umarex distributes a 2X12 g adapter for the Hammerli 850 Air Magnum rifle, but that adapter is too long for the Walther rifle stock. The 850 2X12 g CO2 adapter does work in the Walther Lever Action rifle, and it gave me about 120 total shots. However, the 850 2X12 g adapter prevents the re-attachment of the butt cap on the Walther rifle stock. You really can't properly shoulder the Walther rifle with that 850 adapter sticking out so the only way you can shoot the Walther that way is by resting it on a bench, bag, or table. Although the larger 88 g / 90 g CO2 provide more shots per cylinder, most days I don't want to have to shoot several hundred shots in an afternoon in order to completely consume the CO2 so that the rifle is not stored under pressure when I am done shooting.
      What others should know:I tested the Walther Lever Action rifle with both Walther and Air Venturi CO2. I stopped shooting when the shot point of impact was at least 2 mil-dots below my aim point. The total shot counts were 522 for the Walther and 504 for the Air Venturi. These are the pellets and their group sizes: (Wadcutters) Crosman Premier Super Match (1"), RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol (5/8"), RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle (3/4"), RWS Hobby (7/8"), RWS Supermag (1"), H&N Sport (3/8"), H&N Match Pistol (5/8"), H&N Finale Match Pistol (5/8"), H&N Match Rifle (1"), H&N Finale Match Rifle (3/4"), JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight (3/4"), (Domed) Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum (1 1/4"), RWS Superdome (3/4"), H&N Field Target Trophy (5/8"), H&N Baracuda (1/2"), JSB Exact Diabolo (3/4"), (Pointed) Crosman Premier Super Point (>2"), RWS Super Point (1"), and H&N Spitzkugel (1/2").
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Estil from USA on 2014-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have this rifle in the nickel version. Realistic heft, feel and action. Very solidly built. The 8 round clips and loading port function well and no jams or problems of any kind. Functions and has good accuracy with pretty much any pellet. Very accurate and no sight adjustment needed out of the box. I use the pellet seating tool that comes with it for every magazine. Very quiet compared to some CO2 guns. Great for an indoor range punching paper or loads of fun banging swinging targets like the Gamo pellet trap. Stingy on CO2 also.
      Things I would have changed:Make a version for 12 gram CO2 again or make the Walther 12 gram to 88 gram adapter available here in the U.S.
      What others should know:Walther makes a 12 gram to 88 gram adapter that uses 2 12 gram cartridges and screws into the 88 gram slot with a valve that opens when screwed in and closes when removed. It is available in Europe but apparently not here for some reason. I have one and it works very well and fits in the lever action fine. If they can sell one for the Hammerli they should sell one for this great gun too. Buy extra magazines they are inexpensive and make the shooting experience much better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kendo from USA on 2013-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:love firing this rifle wish I had a horse to ride and shoot from like in the old days.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-09-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The overall appearance/detail is exceptional. Rifle is high dollar but I believe it is worth the money spent. Rifle was accurate out of box, I shoot 10 meters indoor. Thanks Walther/Umarex.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Do not store with charged CO2. Attempt to empty the CO2 with in 12 hours, it will leak down if stored. Buy extra 8 round rotary clips. Very good CO2 rifle to add to my collection.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2013-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a very well-made rifle. Reminds me of the model 94 Winchester I had when I was a teen and took my first deer. Action is smooth and precise. The open sights were amazingly accurate right out of the box. Pellet mags are metal, not plastic. This is an awesome air gun for targets/plinking.
      Things I would have changed:nothing really, except it is a bit pricey, but well worth the money.
      What others should know:Plan on shooting about 250+ rounds when you load the 88g CO2 cartridge. It is not advisable to store the gun with a partially used CO2 cartridge as this could damage the seals.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2013-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The gun is very well made feels and handles like my .22 cal lever gun.The gun is super accurate, the trigger is nice and light and crisp, loading it is a breeze and the mags are metal.The sights are easy you see and adjust easy the 88gr Co2 gives you lots of shots. I shot this over the chrony and it shot at a higher fps then what it says on the box.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Make sure you seat the pellets into the mag it will keep you from jaming the rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mark from USA on 2013-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Handles much like the firearm its replicating. Clever attention to detail and engineering are seen in several areas. The action's guts slide toward the shooter on cocking like a Winchester. The loading port releases the 8 shot rotary clip catch. The large CO2 canister helps to simulate the experience of a multi shot underlever as your not fusing with caplets as frequently. The open sights are simple and work quite well for me. Its been very good repeat ability limited by my eye sight, the rifle itself is well above average. It's light weight makes it a fun to shoot offhand. As its not tuned for power, its fairly quiet for a gas gun, well below a Hammerli 850 Magnum in noise.
      Things I would have changed:Wood fit and finish is just adequate for a + $400 airgun. About on par with a modern entry level Henry rimfire despite costing more. I would like a peep sight option and may add that myself at some point.
      What others should know:Be sure to investigate the cost of CO2 canisters for this. Paintball folks use these thankfully as well, affordable and available locally at my big box store. Even then calculating costs gram per gram and its still half again more than caplets. Its frugal with gas but the fps is low so its not hunting category. Scoping is possible with a side adapter but with the sliding action it begs to remain open sight. I find this rifle to be a plinking indulgence. Its a great little short range reactive target gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mark from USA on 2013-01-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good open sight accuracy for close range plinking. Action is smoothing out after 300 pellets, and just like a Winchester the guts come back at you while cocking. The clever loading clip keeps the feel of a lever action. H&N 4.51 dome and wadcutter are both getting good accuracy in my example. For me the rifle is a plinking indulgence, its costly to fuel but when I want to open sight shoot close for cans and reactive targets its great.
      Things I would have changed:The fit and finish is good but not great. About on par with a Henry basic lever rimfire (Which sells for $100 less). The bluing, and mismatch from wood to metal transitions is decent but not outstanding. Oddly enough the plastic used I find acceptable, its a good grade and does not draw attention to itself. That said, its the only current lever action out there that gives a faithful replication. When I bring it to shoulder its much closer to my Henry centerfire than a daisy red rider.
      What others should know:The 88g cartridges are pricey in comparison to 12g (measured gram to gram). It pays to check your local big box store's paintball section and their online store if they don't stock locally.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By misfitsailor from USA on 2012-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like that it uses an 88 gram bottle, lots of shots and more consistent pressure. The weight is good, the wood is decent. This weapon feels good in your hands. Very nice, repeatable accuracy! Also very quiet to shoot. Hey, now I need a cowboy hat!
      Things I would have changed:At this price, plastic barrel bands and plastic sights are not impressive. It also would have been better if they had found a way to make the butt plate less massive. Also, I held off buying this for a long time because they did not offer it in .22 caliber.
      What others should know:The pull is seriously long on this gun. (Trigger to butt length.) Buy the extra magazines, it is easy to go through a lot of pellets without really trying!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ben from USA on 2012-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The feel and accuracy of this lever action pellet repeater is outstanding! I previously owned a .22 Walther Talon Magnum WIth the steel spring power plant but was looking for something a little less powerful that I could shoot paper targets with in my basement. After shooting through about 100 pellets and adjusting the front sight the gun became outstandingly accurate. The wood stock and metal components give this CO2 repeater a great feel and look, while the lever action and eight shot repeating action magazine both operated very smoothly.
      Things I would have changed:If i would change anything with this high quality CO2 pellet repeater it would be to add some options to adjust the butt plate, but thats just me being picky the gun is great as is.
      What others should know:The main thing I would suggest to anyone buying this air rifle would be buy lots of magazines you'll want them! This is day one of owning this air rifle and its instant love buy one and you will know what i mean. Mine is the newer 88 gram version in black and I'm a huge fan of the 88 gram CO2 power plant it seems as though theres endless pull the trigger and shoot action...love it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2012-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought one of the originals when they first came out. This is one class act rifle! Beautiful bluing. The wood is first class. Smooth action. Dead on accuracy. I still like the 2 C02 12gr powerplant that came with the orginal. However, the 88gr would give many more shots.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
      What others should know:This is a gun where you can take it out and shoot it, then bring it in and hang it over the mantle and be proud of its style and beauty.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By David from USA on 2011-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I first saw this rifle last fall when it was still operating with two 12 g cylinders. I immediately fell in love with the gun but was too late. It was sold out almost everywhere. The few places that were not sold out were charging $500+. Not long after everybody sold out the reviews on the original gun were mixed. It sounded like there were many guns retuned. So in retrospect I think it is a good thing that I did not order one of the original models. A few months back I learned that Walther was going to reintroduce the lever action using an 88g C02 power plant. I purchased one this past October. The fit and finish was fantastic and the action was super smooth. The action and the loading gate were a little stiff at first but they broke in after cycling the action and the gate a hundred times or so. The gun is also one of the most accurate rifles I own. I was shooting quarter sized groups at 25 feet using the iron sights. Only problem was after shooting only a dozen rounds or so a spring started working its way out the right hand side (loading side) of the gun at the safety button. The gun still worked but the safety button did not feel right. I contacted PA about whether or not I could replace the spring myself. They referred me to Umarex but they also told me they could replace the rifle as I was within the warranty period. I spoke to Umarex and they did not recommend that I try and replace the spring myself and they offered to repair it under the warranty. I had the option of getting a new rifle or getting the old one replaced. I am afraid I made the wrong choice as I elected to get a replacement. I should have had mine repaired as I knew it was accurate and it had a great action. Unfortunately I liked the rifle so much I did not want to wait for it to be repaired which is why I asked PA to replace it. As we all know the quality of an airgun can vary greatly from two identical models. Whenever I buy one in person I ask to see 2 or 3 and choose the best. I must admit that PA was fantastic. They received my retuned rifle on Friday afternoon and I had my replacement the following Tuesday which was great. Unfortunately the replacement rifle has a very stiff action and to make matters worse the stock is loose where it meets the rear of the frame. I have not even shot the replacement rifle yet as I am trying to decide if I am going to keep this one or send it back. The folks at PA were truly fantastic but I am afraid I received two sub-par guns in a row.
      Things I would have changed:Would suggest Walther change the butstock cover slightly so it is not so large. It is not a big deal though after you shoot it and handle it for a while you really don't notice it much.
      What others should know:Even thought I have had problems with two different lever actions I would still buy it but due to my problems I only gave it 3 starts.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sandy from USA on 2011-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I absolutely love this gun. Of the 9 air guns that I own (5 pistols and 4 rifles), this is my absolute favorite. Perhaps it's because I love the old Winchester 30/30 so much and this gun feels and looks just like the original. The lever action is quite smooth, and the gun is dead-on accurate. Interestingly, I can shoot just as accurately with this rifle as I can my AirForce Venture 10 meter rifle. I love the way the magazines load and the fact that the gun is an 8 shot repeater. It's the perfect weight and the perfect feel.
      Things I would have changed:Rather than adjust the front site for windage, I would rather be able to adjust both windage and elevation from the rear. Having said that, I sighted the gun in very quickly and it has not needed any adjustment and seems accurate at close and distance ranges.
      What others should know:If you want a high quality air gun that looks and feels like a real Winchester carbine, this is the gun for you. If you tend to collect air guns - a direction that I seem to be migrating - this gun is a must have for you air gun collection.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2011-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything, smooth action nice crisp trigger great power very good accuracy nice wood stock and forearm very easy to load metal magazines about 205 to 300 shots per 88gr Co2 3 magazines came with the gun.All metal no plastic,
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing
      What others should know:This gun may be a bit pricey but well worth the money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sandy from USA on 2011-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have always been a nut for lever action rifles such as the 30-30. This one looks and acts like the real thing. Great action, 8 round magazines and easily adjustable sights. The gun exudes quality. I have a difficult time not picking it up and firing off 8 rounds every time I see it.
      Things I would have changed:Front site cover is a bit awkward to get off to adjust the front sight for windage. Manual does not explain how to remove the front sight cover, and I was afraid I would damage something so I called Umarex for guidance. The call would not have been necessary had the manual been a bit more complete.
      What others should know:Buy one!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Toby from USA on 2011-10-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight - it's light, Quality of the build, Accuracy, The fact that is a repeater. The CO2 tanks seem to last forever.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:This is an awesome airgun. It is so comfortable to hold and shoot and because it is CO2, it is so easy to just keep shooting rather than constantly cocking. I really like my RWS guns but this is the one I keep picking up to go shooting with.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top