Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Walther Talon Magnum with Nitro Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By ncaldera from USA on 2009-08-29 12:39:57

    Things I liked:Power, Unlimited Power!!! All metal parts are superb.
    Things I would have changed:Better quality stock. Stock feels like a russian car quality. Triger is plastic and so it the safety.
    What others should know:Air ram makes a world of difference. This rifle is not too loud, kick is a little more than a 22, velocity is supersonic with beeman lasers. Doesnt like crossman premier hollowpoints when loading (they get stuck a bit). Tolerates argentinan Apolo pellets! (a plus), likes RWS rounded tip. Im waiting for Crow Mags and Kodiaks to arrive sometime this year to try them.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:4.0

    By Claud from USA on 2011-06-29 21:04:30

    Things I liked:Advertised and rated power is tremendous. Overall build quality appears to be superb. Good balance and feel at the shoulder.
    Things I would have changed:Manufacturer should stay true to their advertised standards. Purchased this based upon the advertised (pictures of) scope mount rail and the rifle when received had a different rail installed that would not allow installation of the scope far enough back for me to get a proper scope picture. Other than that, the rifle was acceptable.
    What others should know:After complaints to PyramydAir reps, including their technical person and a supervisor, PyramydAir agreed to take the rifle back for a trade, which they honored graciously. Kudos to PyramydAir for their treatment of customers!
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2012-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:solid sturdy
      Things I would have changed:the scope was poor quality
      What others should know:this air rifle is very hold sensitive to achieve accuracy
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2012-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Barrel quality is excellent. So is the Quattro trigger. The trigger adjustments give a good range of adjustability in both stages. Hard to find these features in a air rifle in this price range. Hits very hard! Heavier pellets worked best for me. Accuracy at75 yds is amazing when i follow a few steps I've developed for loading and sighting. .
      Things I would have changed:The second stage pull is still just a hair strong for my personal taste. I wish they would either drop the scope or just put a nice one on the rifle. This is a complaint against most of the package air rifles out there that I've bought. The included sights are excellent, though.
      What others should know:I've tested several types of pellets using a combo of a barrel mounted green laser and a Leapers scope. Some pellets are a tighter fit than others and may sit just proud of the receiver when you close the breech. The pellets can get pinched and you will have no accuracy. Use a pellet pen or similar device to seat pellets at EXACTLY the same depth into the barrel and you will be nicely rewarded with consistent range. The break barrel does not "click" into the exact same position each time it's cocked. I learned that I need to push it upward and settle the barrel into position to get the barrel mounted laser and scope to line up. Otherwise accuracy sucks, even with the excellent barrel. If you do this the same each time you can get very nice groups at 75 yards! The nitro piston is outstanding after 1000 rounds. The precision of the break barrel pivot is good but it's still the #1 weakness in this otherwise incredible rifle. As it is, it is still excellent and maybe a couple of gun smith tweaks away from being the only air rifle I'll ever want to shoot again. My best results so far have been with RWS domed 14.5g, seated with the skirts at 1.5mm depth inside the barrel, using artillery hold. At night, the pellets always hit the laser (again, which is BARREL mounted) at 30 yds. At 75 yards the air temperature and air movement need more compensation. The rifle blasts through 1/2 inch plywood with ease. Hard to cock unless you put the butt against the ground.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ethan from USA on 2012-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful, you have to shoot it to believe it. You can literally hear every pellet smack when it hits. I did a test and this thing shot a .177 crosman pointed pellet through a half inch of pine board then 250 pages into a phone book underneath. I shoot open sights, it is very accurate, I can hit pop cans at 50 yards free standing open sights on the first day. I imagine with a well adjusted scope this thing would be a tack driver. Adjustable trigger is nice. The extra spacers to add length to the butt plate was a nice addition, I found this gun fits me perfectly now after adding two spacers.
      Things I would have changed:Only thing I would change is make the rear sight adjustable for short ranges. Under 20 yards and you have to aim a little low. I am very use to open sights and learned a long time ago how to rely mostly on the front sight, so I can deal with this, others may find it difficult to shoot at really short distances though.
      What others should know:This gun is heavy. After shooting about 150 times free standing I found my accuracy was just starting to suffer a little due to my left arm getting a little weak supporting the gun for so long. If you don't have good upper body strength you will have trouble aiming at all unless you are supporting the gun on something.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2012-09-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I own both Walther Talon Magnum .177 and .22 with Nitro-piston and UTG 4-16x44 scopes w/side wheel. Both guns are superb performers, solidly built, sturdy feel in hand. Recoil is there but, you adapt to the effects when the trigger is pulled, smooth action for me. Review encompasses pellet use determined best for my situation.
      Things I would have changed:No changes suggested.
      What others should know:Pellets: RWS Super-H-Point * Both .177 (6.9gr) and .22 (14.2gr) cal pellets, shooting distance 40 paces, roughly 40 yards. * Target: 3.5 oz tuna can, 24 inches above ground level. * Shooting Position: Standing, pillowed arm rest, gun still free movement. Both calibers, RWS pellets impacted within diameter of small 5.0 oz tuna can, 3.25 in dia. On both cans, and calibers, RWS pellets fired total 8 times, 8 hits. * Cal .177, 8 shots, some shots expanding on existing penetrations. * Cal .22, 8 shots all penetrated target area, 8 hits. Pellets penetrated well into the wooden support backboard. H&N Hollow Point: Attempting to sight in pellet, compensate for slight pellet weight difference .177 (7.1gr) and .22 (12.65gr), pellets, did make a couple hits with each gun. Generally, pellets performed way off mark, consistently outside can diameter, ungrouped outside the can diameter. Differences between pellets, the RWS appears to have better aero dynamic footprint of the two. H&N has a much different aero profile, appearance of more front end drag, may be contributing factor to inconsistency over the RWS.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By bearelement from USA on 2012-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i have the 22cal,good take down power accurate. well made. not a kids gun.
      Things I would have changed:add a sling, scope gave me trouble then broke
      What others should know:good small game gun, used mostly 18g pellet,crow mag fav hunting
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By matt from USA on 2012-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy a tack driver. very powerful ! very good trigger. mounting rail. open sights.sas. i love everything about this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:this gun is a hatsan 125 with the walther name on it. it is very well made. not a kids gun. the scope that comes with it works but you will want a better one. this gun is dead on right out of the box. if you are looking for a great hunting gun this is it. this gun shoots more like a 22 rimfire than a pellet gun. it is not hold sensitive . its the most powerful , accurate pellet gun i have ever owned. pyramyd air is the best to buy from . nice folks !
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2012-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This review if for the .177 caliber. Rifle is accurate, and packs quite a bunch. Haven't taken any game with it yet, but have destroyed some brass cases. Easily hits .233 or 5.56 brass at 20 yards every time with 10.5 grain Crossmans when standing or shooting from a dynamic position. I am not a marksman or a stand shooter so I cannot comment on whether or not you can keep quarter sized groups or not. Iron sights are a nice touch, however required significant time out of box to sight in. The actual rifle seems very well built and made with high quality material. Stock includes spacers to adjust length of pull, another nice touch, though I am not sure how important that is with an air rifle as it is with a firearm. Weight balance seems to be acceptable. The rail for scope mounting having the two different choices is really nice, and long enough to mount a variety of different optics. The nitro piston seems to smooth out the recoil, however it still jostles a good bit more than I thought it would.
      Things I would have changed:Provided optic is awful, absolutely awful. The eye relief is not adjustable, and is far far far too short. It does hold zero well enough (through about 100 rnds), but its parallax seems to be around 25 yards. The screws holding in the buttpad and spacers are what looks like decking screws or drywall screws, seems kind of like a half effort, and makes changing the size a pain. My recommendation to Pyramyd is to ditch the scope entirely, the iron sights are more than acceptable for plinkers, and anyone needing an optic should research and purchase one on their own anyways.
      What others should know:Cocking effort is more than I expected, but prior to this purchase all of my air gun experience was with a cheap wally world plastic thing. I have done most of my hunting with a centerfire rifle. Even after having placed 200 rnds down the barrel. The cocking effort still requires a surface to support the rifle while you prime the system, meaning you can’t prime the system in your arms. Also the females of our group while testing the rifle out had great difficulty gaining a mechanical advantage over the priming system. To be fair they are both short (~5’ 3”). They also had difficulty keeping the rifle on target without a rest, due to the weight. Overall I am quite pleased with my rifle, and for me I find the rifle to be quite up to the tasks I have in mind for it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2012-04-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great power, easy to cock, easy to use. Scope rail is great.
      Things I would have changed:Can't thing of any...
      What others should know:It's not as heavy as you would think, consiering the .22 caliber and the power. It's a beast, though.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2012-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power and accuracy, rail mount is great.
      Things I would have changed:It's pretty big in a .22, but what can you do?
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jimb from USA on 2012-01-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This has power to spare, especially with the nitro piston, almost too much for a backyard shooter. Iron sights are good. Haven't even mounted the scope. Handles heavy pellets in the 15 to 26 grained range pretty well. JSB Exact Jumbo, Jumbo monster, and Gamo rounds shoot well from this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at this point
      What others should know:In my opinion,One place that Crosman is screwing up is putting out their Nitro pistons without any iron sights. On Spring pistons of this power range scopes have a tendency to malfunction unless very good. I don't plan to put a scope on this beast until I get about 500 to 1000 rounds through. I bought the Jumbo Monster diablos(26.39 gr.) to help with this and was surprised with the accuracy and fairly straight shooting in my backyard.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By SMBH999 from USA on 2012-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Extremely powerful and the kick/vibration of each shot is very minimal. I've shot the Benjamin Trail XL in .22 cal as well and I ended up returning it due to the jarring vibration I felt with each pull of the trigger. This occurred even after I put a few hundred pellets through the gun. The Walther Talon however, is a pleasure to shoot with the same power-plant. I don't know if its the SAS the Walther's have, or the synthetic stock or a combination of several things but I love the power coupled with comfortable shooting.
      Things I would have changed:The scope, like most package scopes, is junk. I would like to see the gun offered with just the fiber optic sights for less allowing the purchaser to choose and buy his choice of optics.
      What others should know:This is not a plinky dinky airgun. Most strong grown men will struggle to cock this airgun after 20 or 30 shots one after another. I'm over 6' and weigh over 250lbs and I find this to be the case. Though repetitive use will strengthen the particular stabilizer muscles required for the cocking motion so it gets easier with each shooting session.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By TY from USA on 2012-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:powerfull accurate
      Things I would have changed:little heavy
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2012-01-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very high power and accurate. I just shot 6 rounds and had 2 of them in the same hole in the duct sealer back stop. Likely all 6 would be in the same hole if I was a match grade shooter and had more experience with the rifle. The weight of the rifle helps to steady it although a front support is suggested. The gun is balanced far to the forward end. The picatinny scope mounting is well done although a transverse slot further back would be preferred to allow mounting the scope further back. The safety works well. It is easy to slide on and off with just the thumb. The trigger has a nice pull although the factory stroke is longer than my preference. It is adjustable. The aim point is sensitive to the method of holding the rifle. My traditional hold is tightly. A light hold as suggested by several reviewers causes a lateral shift of approx 0.5inch at 10meters. I have not shot enough rounds to determine which method results in a better pattern since I am still becoming familiar with the rifle. The rifle pushes back quite a bit when fired if held tightly. Interestingly, if held very lightly, it does not appear to move. It can even be rested on top of the shoulder as suggested for the AirForce air rifles to aviod cocking the neck over.
      Things I would have changed:A lighter setup would be nice since a free-standing stance is hard to maintain for long especially after adding a 50mm scope. A lower cocking load would allow a longer shooting session. I would appreciate a more complete manual.
      What others should know:This is the best rifle I have ever used, and amazingly it is an air rifle of this quality. Using a 50mm scope requires the use of a high mount to clear the barrel. The cocking load is noted as very high. I am in my mid-50s, weigh mid-190s, and have a desk job. I was able to shoot 40rounds within 1 hour the first night of using it. I quit because the sun set. So I find the cocking load to be manageable although it does provide a significant upper body work-out. Shooting several hundred rounds would require strength training or a barrel extension to reduce the load. The noise level is reasonable. I have sensitive hearing and do not find the noise to be of concern even indoors. Use a pellet pen to avoid getting salty fingerprints on the face of the breech. Both the leaded Benjamin Discovery and the H&N Baracuda Green (lead-free) pellets have shot well. The barrel was pretty dirty as received. Use the suggestion of other reviewers and clean the barrel before using. I am looking forward to using the iron sights. They appear to be of high quality and easy to use and adjust. Click adjustment in both elevation and windage.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Peter from USA on 2011-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like its power with .177 cal. My target range has included a low hanging empty food can. My earlier (no-so-magnum) .177 cal. pellet gun can easily push 8gr pellets through it at 20 yds. When hit, the can swings back 'n forth for 5-10 sec. When this can is pierced with a 8gr pellet from the Walther Talon it just quivers at the end of the support string. I conclude that the ammo here is traveling sufficiently faster as not to effectively push the can before broaching it. Pushing a clean patch through the barrel, from the breech with a small wood dowel, the lands & grooves of the barrel seem to better grip the patch and turn the rod in my hand.
      Things I would have changed:The scope that comes with this gun is not of quality. I would rather the price of the gun be dropped $25. and it sold without a scope. The newer Quattro trigger does have usable adjustments, but some still might prefer a 'Charlie de tuna' replacement trigger. I may still do this at some point next year.
      What others should know:Right now, after 200-300 pellets through it, it consistently breaks the sound barrier with pellets light than 6 or 7gr. To quiet the discharge, I am learning to shoot this gun with 8 - 11gr ammo. So far the Kodiak Match .177, 10.2gr seem to group the best. I have still to try as likely contenders: the copper plated Kodiaks and Beracude Power pellets. Yes, it is tougher to cock than other guns I've owned so it is best used as a hunter. The Niro piston seems to perform as claimed, but I have not hunted in cold weather and I cannot verify the gun's power in temperatures below 35 F. For me in my learning curve, the gun is hold sensitive. The Artillery hold is import:: Find a front grip balance support and use it repeatedly -- then learn to move the trigger independently to the rear without disturbing the sight picture. I am trying different trigger holds and finger placements to best accomplish this. At 25 yds the best 4-shot grouping I have shot is 3/4 inch -- but right now I can't repeat it as ofter as I'd like to.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Will from USA on 2011-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Will Freeman from Horaito SC. Every thing had this WTM NP.177 four a year now.Its the beast of air guns watch the video on airgun web Rick is the best.Power it will shoot 1400 fps and more with light weight pellets.What i like it will shoot heavy weights fast too.10.5 to 13.4 875fps to 950 fps!
      Things I would have changed:The trigger, it will get a little better after shooting it alot like i have 2500 shots or better.
      What others should know:GET THE SCOPE TO STAY PUT this will help alot. My gun weights in at 11.5 lbs. WTM NP 8-32x56 scope it will reach out and hit a 18" target at 250 yards i did 7 out 10 shots.I dont thjnk you can go wrong with this gun.It is hard to cock it after alot of shoting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joshua from USA on 2011-11-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great accuracy, rifle has a nice & solid weight to it, its got a metal trigger, pretty quite - wont wake up the neighbors...
      Things I would have changed:1)I wish 1) the cheek piece was ambidextrous - I am left handed, & 2) I would make the sights metal instead of plastic....
      What others should know:Unlike what I have reead from other reviews I feel as though this gun feels very solid (not hollow) and also it realyl isnt that heavy or hard to cock - an exception of course if you are under 130 punds or so....
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pahlevan from USA on 2011-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my first .25. I was so impressed with the .177 version that simply had to buy this as i was looking for a .25. No disappointment here. It is incredibly powerful, 5 shots is all it took to set it up for groups of less than 1" at 30 yards using a Leapers 5th Gen 4-16x50AO Rifle Scope. This is the Niro conversion and i can not be happier with my choice. Well made and well balanced. It is a heavy gun but i expected that and believe it will improve once it has had a couple of hundred shots through it to even higher accuracy. It takes considerable force to cock so your arm and shoulder does get a serious workout even after 50 rounds. One great product so far, well worth the price
      Things I would have changed:I have not yet adjusted the trigger which feels a little tight and hesitant but that is a personal preference. There is room for adjustment and i expect i can get that tuned to a point that suites my style. for me it works best with the Benjamin .25 Cal, 27.8 Grains, Domed ammo though i plan to use some of the H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose after i have had 200 shots through it to see if the heavier weight makes a difference to the grouping.
      What others should know:If you are looking for .25 this is an absolute beast and great value for money
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-09-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Appears well made.The noise is much less than my previous spring rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Take some weight out of it. The safety is the reverse of most rifles, confusing for a time and it will probably carry over to my big game rifles.
      What others should know:This is rifle is not for the weak armed person. Cocking with one arm will wear you out fast. Two arms not so bad.Though new, the accuracy is just OK. Certainly not a one hole shooter so far.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gregory from USA on 2011-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun has a lot of power and is very accurate. At 35 yards with a leapers 3-9x40 scope and resting the gun I am grouping shots a quarter will cover.The gun is well made and very solid.
      Things I would have changed:The scope mounting rail could be set back a little more.
      What others should know:The gun is long and heavy and it takes some effort to cock it. The gun hits hard and on target. I have the .177caliber and use 10.65 -gr pellets. It shoots fine with lighter pellets but seems to be better with a larger grain. If you are looking for power this is the gun to get.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Claud from USA on 2011-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Advertised and rated power is tremendous. Overall build quality appears to be superb. Good balance and feel at the shoulder.
      Things I would have changed:Manufacturer should stay true to their advertised standards. Purchased this based upon the advertised (pictures of) scope mount rail and the rifle when received had a different rail installed that would not allow installation of the scope far enough back for me to get a proper scope picture. Other than that, the rifle was acceptable.
      What others should know:After complaints to PyramydAir reps, including their technical person and a supervisor, PyramydAir agreed to take the rifle back for a trade, which they honored graciously. Kudos to PyramydAir for their treatment of customers!
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top