Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Webley Alecto Air Pistol reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By David from USA on 2012-12-12 19:26:17

    Things I liked:I have had this pistol in 22 cal for two weeks now. It's my first air pistol. I shoot 22 and 45 cal firearm pistols and enjoy doing that as often as I can, not always location friendly thing to do in Illinois. This state is not gun friendly! I bought this pistol because it would allow me to shoot lot more target, seemed to be very high quality and resembled a tradition pistol as far as feel in the hand. To put it mildly, I love this pistol! It feels great, shoots more accuratly than I could ever want and can even shoot inside into a 22 cal bullet trap. Multi pump is great, easy to pump,third pump not as bad as some reviews indicate and I am no powerhouse. Plenty good on pumps 1-2. Tomatoes left in the backyard garden were talking smack about my moma, I blew them away with hollow point 22 cal pellet. Weight is great, if it were all cast, machined steel it would weigh too much. The composite plastic is tough as nails and a perfect application. That knowlage comes from 20 years of Plastics Engineering background.
    Things I would have changed:1. It's a little loud on 2-3 pumps, no problem though. 2. A little costly, you do get what you pay for in this pistol. 3. Hate the grip butt attachment, I don't get it. I took it off in the first 5 minutes and caused no further problems.
    What others should know:Check out the Pyramid airgun cleaning vids. I learned that airguns are much different than firearms in a good way. Buy this pistol if you want a very quality made product, want to shoot almost anywhere with plenty of muzzel velocity. I put a Bushnell TRS-25 red dot scope with a 1/2" riser to get over the front site. Very nice to use and look at. This review is based on short term ownership and 2500-3000 pellets shot, I had some time to shoot last week. Hope this review helps.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2014-08-04 21:28:34

    Things I liked:Both that I received seemed to very accurate and on one pump were both very easy to cock and quiet. Think noticeably easier to cock then the Beeman P3 and a bit quieter.
    Things I would have changed:I received and returned two units due to rust on the screws, metal parts and the worst part the barrel. Both units had extremely rusty barrels with heavy patina. This is UNACCEPTABLE on a 50 dollar Crosman much less a 300 dollar pistol.
    What others should know:I will not buy anything from Turk Webley again. Two rusty units is not a fluke. 1 star overall due to this. 2 stars for value too expensive for what it is. Accuracy is, however, VERY good based on my out of the box shooting.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2015-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The grip is quite comfortable, the trigger is pretty good, accuracy is superb, and the flexibility of 1, 2, or 3 pumps is very cool.
      Things I would have changed:I would prefer for the trigger mechanism to have a more positive engagement within so that it feels crisper. Now that I have it adjusted as well as I can, it's pretty good, but still rather mushy. It isn't bad at all, just not as good as it could be. I'd also like to see it cost more like $200, which is why I gave it only 4 stars for value.
      What others should know:I've owned this pistol for 9 months now and still absolutely love it! It's super accurate, really smooth, and so much fun to shoot. With 1 pump it's very quiet and doesn't even wake the squirrels. If I really want to put the "spank" on something, 3 pumps does the job. Although I wish I could have spent less on it, I don't regret the purchase at all. Buy quality, cry once.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Harvey from USA on 2015-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is a well built gun. Let's face it, like the Webley name. Look how well the Webley revolver is selling, even though it is not made by Webley. The case is very nice. Trigger out of the box is better then anything I have except my P17. I like the added space for loading compared to the P17. Pumping is MUCH easier then the P17. Looks like reliability will be very good for this pistol, judging from online reviews.
      Things I would have changed:Some pellets are very tight in the breech . If the breech could be slightly chamfffed " darn spelling check isn't help me", pellets would load easier. The stock sights are hard to see compared to the P17.
      What others should know:Be sure and totally open up the pistol. I have had several misfires. Would have to pump 2, sometimes 3 times to fire pellet. I was attempting to fire with not enough air pressure to expel the pellet. It would expand the back of the pellet and jam in the barrel. It seemed that Gamo diablo match were the worst offenders. Once I got my act in gear, no further problems. Many references were made to the Beeman P17 If money is short, just buy a P17 and enjoy most of the benefits the Alecto will give you. If you are a Webley collector or want the benefits of higher power with multiple pumps, buy the Alecto. I like mine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bob from USA on 2015-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price is amazing, this thing shoots great and I really love it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:If it taken care of and doesn't start to leak its like having a Beeman p3
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2014-08-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Both that I received seemed to very accurate and on one pump were both very easy to cock and quiet. Think noticeably easier to cock then the Beeman P3 and a bit quieter.
      Things I would have changed:I received and returned two units due to rust on the screws, metal parts and the worst part the barrel. Both units had extremely rusty barrels with heavy patina. This is UNACCEPTABLE on a 50 dollar Crosman much less a 300 dollar pistol.
      What others should know:I will not buy anything from Turk Webley again. Two rusty units is not a fluke. 1 star overall due to this. 2 stars for value too expensive for what it is. Accuracy is, however, VERY good based on my out of the box shooting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Laurie from USA on 2014-07-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight, very lite. Very accurate. I purchased a .22 and it has plenty of power for a pistol. You could easily dispatch small rodents at close range. Also a great target gun. The trigger is awesome. Good sights
      Things I would have changed:I wish they would have used a bit more metal. The poly gun does feel a bit like a toy.
      What others should know:Over all a very good pistol that packs a punch.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By geoffrey from USA on 2014-04-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy=excellent trigger=excellent power=excellent sights=good overall design=very good build quality=excellent
      Things I would have changed:modified rear sight to remove tiny movement[easy], a removable front sight w/fiber optic option would be nice, a rubber protector for bottom picatinny rail.
      What others should know:great target pistol, at 15 feet its dead on hole through hole, at 30 feet it starts to open up a little, took time to get use to the fat handle, now I like it a lot, 3 power levels make this pistol extremely versatile, no spring=better accuracy, trigger is multi adjustable and the safety is very comfortable to operate, I looked at other pistols but this one seems best for me.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2013-04-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate, easy to pump. It seems to like almost any pellet.
      Things I would have changed:On mine the nut that the height adjustment screw on the rear sight threads into stripped. I'm not sure how that happened except that the nut is made of a very soft metal. I only had the gun for 2 months when this happened. I put a red dot sight on it so it is still useable but it sucks that I can't just shoot with the open sights.
      What others should know:I contacted the manufactured who was no help. They referred me to their authorized parts/repair companies. I contacted them by email several times and received no response at all. Webley & Scott will not sell me the parts directly so I'm stuck with a defective rear sight. Customer support from Webley is the worst I've encountered so far. Had I known, I would have passed this gun by.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2012-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have had this pistol in 22 cal for two weeks now. It's my first air pistol. I shoot 22 and 45 cal firearm pistols and enjoy doing that as often as I can, not always location friendly thing to do in Illinois. This state is not gun friendly! I bought this pistol because it would allow me to shoot lot more target, seemed to be very high quality and resembled a tradition pistol as far as feel in the hand. To put it mildly, I love this pistol! It feels great, shoots more accuratly than I could ever want and can even shoot inside into a 22 cal bullet trap. Multi pump is great, easy to pump,third pump not as bad as some reviews indicate and I am no powerhouse. Plenty good on pumps 1-2. Tomatoes left in the backyard garden were talking smack about my moma, I blew them away with hollow point 22 cal pellet. Weight is great, if it were all cast, machined steel it would weigh too much. The composite plastic is tough as nails and a perfect application. That knowlage comes from 20 years of Plastics Engineering background.
      Things I would have changed:1. It's a little loud on 2-3 pumps, no problem though. 2. A little costly, you do get what you pay for in this pistol. 3. Hate the grip butt attachment, I don't get it. I took it off in the first 5 minutes and caused no further problems.
      What others should know:Check out the Pyramid airgun cleaning vids. I learned that airguns are much different than firearms in a good way. Buy this pistol if you want a very quality made product, want to shoot almost anywhere with plenty of muzzel velocity. I put a Bushnell TRS-25 red dot scope with a 1/2" riser to get over the front site. Very nice to use and look at. This review is based on short term ownership and 2500-3000 pellets shot, I had some time to shoot last week. Hope this review helps.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2012-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked the included pistol case, the accessories, and the fit and finish of this airgun.I wish that I could shoot as accurately as this pistol is capable of. I guess that I will have to get more practice in.
      Things I would have changed:Everything is great just the way it is.
      What others should know:When I picked this pistol up it felt like it had been custome-made dor my hand. There are many adjustments for the grip and trigger, but it suited me the way it came from the factory. I made a slight sight adjustment and I have been on target. The first two pumps are relatively easy but the third pump does require a bit of effort. Two pumps is all I need for my backyard range so this could be an all day shooter for me. I always get the ten for ten service and it is nice to know that the pros at Pyramyd Air have checked my pistol over. This service is well worth the money. And as usual, I get great customer service and prompt delivery.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By johnw615 from USA on 2012-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a well built and accurate air pistol. Most of the gun is made of plastic. This includes both the upper and lower receivers and the pistol grip. The internal parts are metal, and there is a metal plate inside both the lower and upper receivers’ sidewall used for reinforcement. For added structural integrity, the metal plate extends to the front of the pistol where the cocking hinge is located. The accessory rails on the top and bottom on the pistol are handy. The pistol comes with its own case, gun oil, and torx wrench. I contacted a Webley representative via email with a couple of questions about the gun, and his response was fast and courteous. It seems their customer support is as excellent as their product.
      Things I would have changed:The materials which go into this gun are not expensive, but the gun itself is pricey. When it arrived I noticed a few slight dings in the plastic frame. I’m guessing these dings occurred in the factory where it was made. When you pay this much for a new pistol such imperfections should not exist.
      What others should know:This pistol is very easy to cock with one pump. All of my indoor shooting will be with just one pump. Most of my shooting outdoors will be with two pumps. Two pumps take a little more effort, but I would say its still fairly easy to do. Three pumps require considerably more effort, but in my opinion the effort is still reasonable. I wouldn’t modify this gun to take four pumps as (1) it will break the warranty, (2) it might break the gun, and (3) the extra power you would get from it would be negligible. I wear a large size glove. My hand has a 9.5 inch (24.1 cm) circumference, and the pistol's grip fits my hand fairly well. However, if my hand were just a little bit larger I would have to remove the palm rest. If you are trying to decide whether to buy a .177 or .22 caliber pistol perhaps this chart will help you. It shows the kinetic energy in foot-pounds of each pellet based on Pyramyd Air's own data: pumps pellet cal grains velocity ft-lb ===================================================== 1 RWS R-10 Match .177 7.00 440.00 3.01 2 RWS R-10 Match .177 7.00 575.00 5.13 3 RWS R-10 Match .177 7.00 660.00 6.76 ----------------------------------------------------- 1 H&N Sport .22 13.73 319.00 3.10 2 H&N Sport .22 13.73 437.00 5.82 3 H&N Sport .22 13.73 496.00 7.49 =====================================================
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pat from USA on 2012-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am very surprised how accurate it shoots right out ot the box. WOW. I have 3 other air pistols and I think this one will outshoot them all. I am surprised. I see no accuracy change at 33' from one pump or 2 pumps. I will probalby not use the 3rd pump. I am using Gamo Diablo Match 7.56 gr pellets at this test. I plan on trying heavier crossman premier 10.5gr domed next.
      Things I would have changed:I was turned off by all the plastic the first time I handled the gun. The grip seems fat. However, I am hitting the target dead center with very little practice and only a few clicks of adjustment on the sights.
      What others should know:You will be surprised how accurate this gun is!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Hogie from USA on 2012-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is truely an amazing value! Once you dial this in it is a tackdriver. I get 1/2" groups @ 40' and if the red dot was smaller, the groups would be smaller. It would probably be fanatastic w/ a scope...haven't tried that yet. I get tired of shooting the bull out of shoot & c targets and start shooting placed holes! I'm only using 1 pump on targets!
      Things I would have changed:Go to a scope or at least a smaller red dot to take advantage of this guns excellent and consistent accuracy.
      What others should know:It Is a LARGE piece. Great for me but maybe not everyone? Loading a little awkward at first but gets easy after a little time--be patient. You will LOVE this gun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2012-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The adjustable trigger and hand grip are very good. The three power levels are good for different shooting situations. It has good sights, a nice sighting plane and a nice feel when shooting.
      Things I would have changed:If the pistol had a little more weight, it would be easier to hold on target. However, with a little practice, you can get good accuracy with a smooth trigger pull.
      What others should know:The pistol can shoot cheap pellets well and the third pump will build strength in your pumping arm. It takes some time for your arm to build strength and then it's not too hard completing the third pump. The first and second pumps are easy for most people with average strength.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By hoof from USA on 2011-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Trigger pull,quality feel.
      Things I would have changed:Grip size large for sm. hands. picatinny mounted laser/light @ base of barrel may interfer w/ cocking or hinge swing interference.
      What others should know:A work of art overall
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Bernard from Canada on 2011-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The velocity of the projectile can be adjusted by 1-3 pumps of the gas cylinder. Safety device is excellent as it can be controlled by using one finger. The grip is perfect as it is adjustable to the size of your hand. The rear sight can also be adjustable up and down as well as side way without using any tools. Recoil is almost zero. Overall weight is well balance.
      Things I would have changed:The way of loading of the pellet should be changed to make it more convenient and less chance to miss to the breech of the barrel. The red spot of the front sight should be changed to optic fibre for better illumination when aim at dark target.
      What others should know:The accuracy of this gun is very good even though it is not perfect but I am happy enough with this price range. I give it 5 star overall rating even though there are still some room for future improvements of this pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Blair from USA on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I recently purchased this gun to add to my collection. It looked somewhat similar to the Beeman P17/P3/HW40 which is a great design so I thought I'd go for this gun as well. I like the match grip, the large size of the gun, rotating front sight for both 10m and 25m shooting. Gun is fairly quite on one pump.
      Things I would have changed:Make a real 2-stage trigger the exact same as the Beeman P17/P3/HW40. The trigger isn't bad and can be adjusted for length of pull and weight of pull but isn't quite like the trigger of the Beeman P17/P3/HW40. Cheaper price would be nice but that is entirely based on what the manufacturer is charging the wholesale/retail guys.
      What others should know:It has alot of similarities as the other guns mentions but also a few differences. I like that the gun is large, has a target grip and is multi-pump if you want to pump up to more power. I feel that the single pump shot on this gun is a bit quieter than the single pump shot required for the Beeman P17/P3/HW40 which was intersting. The second pump is pretty loud and the third pump would wake up a sleeping cat all the way down the street! I mean 3 pump sounds like a high power .22 rimfire pistol lol. The front site blade flips around to reveal another sight blade which is a bit shorter for when yo are shooting at longer distances so you don't need to mess with the elevation adjustment on the rear sight which is nice. The close range front sight blade has a little red painted dot which is nice but it's hard to see so I will change it to a white painted dot which will be perfect. This gun has the same great accuracy as the Beeman P17/P3/HW40 especially with the JSB Exact pellet. It's a great gun if you can afford it but if you are on a budget you can get the same great accuracy in the cheap Beeman P17 which is the chinese copy of the Beeman P3/HW40 and you can buy about 10 P17's for the price of one of these Alectos. I would suggest buying this gun and a Beeman P17 and test them out and decide for yourself!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Amit from USA on 2011-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really like the way this pistol handles. Excellent grip and fast target acquisition.
      Things I would have changed:Better sights!!! have red dot that is accurate enough but the factory sights could be a little better.
      What others should know:Check out the other version with longer barrel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2011-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It really is a 'tack driver' as others have noted. I get an average of 575 fps with 3 pumps using Crosman 7.9 gr pellets, and can consistently get sub-one-inch groups at 10 yards with a red dot sight, and close to that using the open sights. I like it even better than the Browning 800. This is a very fun gun to shoot and deadly accurate once zeroed in, more accurate than I am.
      Things I would have changed:The handle is not great for my hands which are only slightly larger than average - it is too big for my liking and not that comfortable. They should have left it more plain. I've ground and filed it down and it's a bit better now but it really needs custom wood grips which I'm working on, and which fortunately it lends itself to making given just a bit of skill and patience.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2011-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:An excellent shooting pistol! Very light for the large size; BEST safety on ANY airgun that I have ever tried! Very accurate; easy to pump up (3 X is a bit hard; but gives a nice workout!) Excellent build quality; trigger is a joy to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!
      What others should know:If you want an excellent air pistol that only requires some pellets and a target to shoot - this is it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2011-08-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality workmanship is obvious with this pistol. The accuracy is right on. I added a Walther multi-reticle sight and at 60 feet I can hold a 3/4" pattern.
      Things I would have changed:As with almost all airguns I would like to see a better triger system, even if it was offered as an option when ordering.
      What others should know:I think the gun is very good value for the price.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top