Webley Tempest Air Pistol reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By david from USA on 2007-12-31 15:58:53

Things I liked: cant believe the price i have had mine 4 20yrs never had any problems ihave wood grips that cost 60 bucks gun was about 150 buy them all

Things I would have changed: better sights

What others should know: very durable

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Jose from USA on 2014-04-01 16:33:27

Things I liked: The small size ...

Things I would have changed: The safety is only activated after you cock the gun, also the pistol is not ambidextrous ... should come with extra piston washers or a better way to fit the piston washer/seal without breaking it and very difficult to find spares ...

What others should know: I bought two and both had the same problem, a broken piston washer/seal it has a slit for easy inserting it in the piston but it keeps cracking. The manual it comes with has a step by step how to disassemble and assemble the gun part by part. I found new seals online but again after a few shots they break. Also this gun is the hardest to cock ever. I do not recommend buying this gun. Buy something else ...

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feels like a real gun in your hand. Not too big like some others. Delivers good power for a small package. Quiet.

    Things I would have changed: Rear sight. Can be difficult to zero with no reference marks.

    What others should know: Mine was delivered with a bad breech seal. I was only getting 240 fps with a 11.9 pellet. Luckily, I bought some spares but they are not the same size. Too big in diameter and too thin. I reworked the new seal to fit and added an appropriate size flat washer behind the seal and now all is good. As advertised, the 22 caliber gets 350 fps with Crosman premier 14.3 pellets. Lighter pellets are a bit faster with Beeman Silver Bear 12.6 gr at 375 fps, and RWS Hobby 11.9 gr at 390 fps. This particular pistol seems to like the Beeman Silver Bear the best.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Randall from USA on 2015-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Tempest is a well made and solid pistol with very little plastic used in its manufacture. It has an adjustable single-stage trigger that breaks clean. It takes some time to zero in the rear sight as there are no micrometer adjustments, but two screws which must be loosened for both windage and elevation. As everyone has mentioned, it takes some hand and wrist strength to cock - not much leverage is offered by the barrel. Other than the cocking effort, this is a fun pistol to shoot, and it's accurate enough to hit what you're aiming for, but a match pistol it's not, but then, what spring pistol pistol is, and I a number of them. I haven't found the Tempest to be hold sensitive or picky about pellets. RWS Diablo Basics will group well from 10 yds. Cool pistol, and it's small size is a plus for me.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, it's a classic.

    What others should know: The trigger can only be adjusted when the pistol is cocked.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By john from Canada on 2015-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: cool lookig gun. the hand grip is very comfortable and the ballance is perfect. has a lot of hitting force for a gun that small.

    Things I would have changed: the over the top cocking is difficult although it does get smother after over a hundred shots. produces a lot of noise and some shock that loosens the sights. regular re-adjustments is necessary.

    What others should know: the barrel popped up after shooting a couple of times. the locking bar isn't the greatest. check the barrel carefully, make sure it is well secured before firing.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Paul from USA on 2015-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Overall appearance and construction is good.

    Things I would have changed: All airguns are different and this is one.

    What others should know: Hard to cock,heavy trigger and was not sighted in at all. I will keep and not use. Down the road it might be worth something.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SIVIGNON from French Polynesia on 2014-10-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accurate, compact size, balanced.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: his faults are his character.It is a gun like no other. Once mastered it gives hours of fun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2014-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate and makes a great firearm training gun.

    Things I would have changed: Make it in England again.

    What others should know: Mine shoots best with lightweight pellets. RWS Superpoints are my favorite in it.I haven't tried PBA pellets in it but would be interested to see if they would be of any benefit for velocity or accuracy. Could someone chrony some perhaps? It gets easyer to to cock after a few hundred shots. The screws on the sights can loosen from vibration so make sure they are really snug. Its a nice compact pistol that you can find a holster for. I have mine in one on a belt with a Crosman pellet pouch and you can walk around ready to shoot.It helps me stay in practice with a pistol so my skills with a firearm don't get slack.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jose from USA on 2014-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The small size ...

    Things I would have changed: The safety is only activated after you cock the gun, also the pistol is not ambidextrous ... should come with extra piston washers or a better way to fit the piston washer/seal without breaking it and very difficult to find spares ...

    What others should know: I bought two and both had the same problem, a broken piston washer/seal it has a slit for easy inserting it in the piston but it keeps cracking. The manual it comes with has a step by step how to disassemble and assemble the gun part by part. I found new seals online but again after a few shots they break. Also this gun is the hardest to cock ever. I do not recommend buying this gun. Buy something else ...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By tempest from USA on 2013-06-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very good reproduction of the air pistol I first learned to shoot. Good to have a fully functional replica of a classic design. As hard hitting and accurate as my original 1980's English version (which is still shooting well). Uses solid pins in the cocking linkages (the original Tempest used hollow pins which were prone to bending over time)

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Very faithful to the original design. I needed to lube the mainspring very slightly for smoothness (as I have done on my original version every few years).

    What others should know: Webley air pistols were designed as training pistols and have backward recoil which takes practice to master. It is best to learn how to cock the pistol smoothly (not for young children). It will take a few hundred shots to wear in, just like the originals.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Uladzislau from USA on 2011-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent trigger pull. Weights close to a read gun. Very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Hard to disassemble.

    What others should know: This is an excellent target practice gun. They don't make it anymore so if you want one you'll have to find a used one. I got mine for $85. Had to re-blue the barrel to clean some minor rust but otherwise this baby was perfect. Was sitting in a garage for 10 years. I enjoy every pellet I put though it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2009-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The style, heft, and feel of this pistol. The amount of power per one pump is incredible. The feel of this pistol in your hand, natural. Accuracy of mine is fantastic. TOTALLY worth the price, I paid $175 used, but like new.

    Things I would have changed: Not a big fan of plastic at all, so the switch to a plactic air chamber shroud and trigger guard is not to my liking, but, in all honesty, they are still heavy duty plastic and should not break.

    What others should know: The Webley "Senior" is also a viable candidate for approx the same price, and all steel , blued, and will last forever

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By scandall from USA on 2008-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It packs a wallop. i have had mine for 18 years and its a rat killin .22 cal. piece of art. Just be sure and adjust the trigger when ya get it. The factory setting is very hard and it will not hold a group untill you get her set just right...I paid 129.99 for mine and got the coco bola grips also. i made a set of grips out of a 2x4 pine board that are close to the original black plastic ones.. I really can,t say enough about this weapon.. the durability is unbelievable.. just keep it oiled and shoot it. I affixed a red dot sight to it and there is nothing on all fours that smaller than a good size rabbit that can live thru a hit from this little powerhouse.

    Things I would have changed: Its hard to mess with perfection but if it could be just a little more forgiving on the kick i could hold better groups... But with the red dot I am holding dime sizers at 10 yds.

    What others should know: they should have never discontinued this weapon. its tops in my book

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By david from USA on 2007-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: cant believe the price i have had mine 4 20yrs never had any problems ihave wood grips that cost 60 bucks gun was about 150 buy them all

    Things I would have changed: better sights

    What others should know: very durable

Navigation