Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Weihrauch HW30S Air Rifle reviews - page 2

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Russell from USA on 2009-07-29 16:28:41

    Things I liked:Excellent Rekord trigger, highly visible fiber optic sights, smooth, light cocking action, and perfect balance. This rifle is easy to shoot well.
    Things I would have changed:The rifle should ship in a plastic bag inside the box like the other Beeman rifles. My rifle did not get any rubbing damage, but it was covered in cardboard dust that took some time to clean off. There was also quite a bit of dust in the barrel from rubbing on the cardboard.
    What others should know:This is a fine rifle that is a pleasure to shoot. It is well made and feels solid. It handles very much like an M1 Carbine. I bought this rifle instead of the R7 because I wanted the fiber optic sights. They are perfect for plinking, but I have not tried them on target work yet. They might not be as precise as the post-globe of the R7, but the soda cans do not stand a chance.
    0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By jim from USA on 2010-04-05 07:09:31

    Things I liked:Smaller size and low cocking effort make it very comfortable for a smaller adult shooter. Trigger mechanism is great.
    What others should know:No longer equipped with the fiber optic sight elements. Just a shrouded iron sight. I was told Weihrauch changed the design without notifying anyone. Beware.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2011-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy. I previously owned a HW30 with the perfect trigger. I foolishly sold it thinking many guns are well made. I bought the Stoeger. I was ok, can shoot inside 3 inches at 15 yards. I decided that wasn't good enough for backyard critters after missing several. I bought this gun and WOW. I can put 3 pellets (RWS hollowpoints) inside a dime at 15 yards if I do my part. There is no compromise for quality.
      Things I would have changed:I don't like the safety on this HW30s compared to my old HW30. The old safety was a much better design but I can live with this one. The manual is very poorly written It doesn't even list how to adjust the iron sights.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2011-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Exactly as described and promised. Very accurate. High quality manufactured backyard plinker w/beautiful wood workmanship. Properly configured to easily change the sighting to a scope if desired. Fairly quiet.
      Things I would have changed:Slightly on the heavy side. Jury still out on the sighting as I'm still learning to focus through the round sights in front. Could use another 100fps but I'm sure it was a loudness/power tradeoff by the engineers.
      What others should know:I'm shooting in a close neighborhood where quiet over-rules power. If you don't have that issue, you need to step up to the next fps level. Manufacturer is a good one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rickygree from USA on 2010-11-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The sights,super trigger and all around quality!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!
      What others should know:It shoots so well with the open sights I have not gotten around to putting a scope on it yet.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2010-10-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:High quality rifle! Well designed, nicely finished. Its very much like a big game rifle, yet smaller and light. Cocks easily, nice and quiet for back yard shooting. A delight to use. Excellent trigger .... its all they claim! Excellent packaging from the factory. After only 400 rounds down the barrel its too soon to tell, but it promises to be a tack driver!
      Things I would have changed:"Instruction Manual" written by a lawyer. Page after page of legalize, with the instructions consisting of one fold-out page of drawings at the back. No parts list is included. No explanation of the locking scheme on the trigger adjustment screw.
      What others should know:All-in-all, a beautiful, well made, well finished rifle that is a joy to shoot. I'm very satisfied with it. I just wish the manual that comes with the rifle was written for the shooter and not for the idiot!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Terrance from USA on 2010-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, very easy to cock, wonderful trigger, very accurate, almost no recoil, very well made.
      Things I would have changed:Checkering on the stock. Or, make available in the Lexus version.
      What others should know:7 ft Lbs of energy is not much. CP 7.9 gr pellet will not penetrate a plastic soft drink bottle at 20 yards.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ed from USA on 2010-04-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Size of rifle, cocking ease, sights, accuracy, rubber butt plate, trigger, trigger, trigger. Every function was a perfect fit. Carrying ease, shooting ease, I just can't put it down. Fun and functionality all in one package.
      Things I would have changed:Mine came with a slight blueing blem below the rear sight as if a 1/4 X 1/4 piece of tape was left on and not degreased after removal and before blueing. Result is a lighter shade of blue at that location. 90% of people wouldn't even notice it but I know it's there.
      What others should know:The HW30S has the Rekord trigger which is preferred over the HW30 with the Perfekt trigger. BSA 2x7x32 scope is the perfect size for this smaller than full size rifle. If you cock the rifle and take the automatic safety off it is necessary to recock the rifle to actuate the safety again. This is by design so I can't complain too much.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By jim from USA on 2010-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smaller size and low cocking effort make it very comfortable for a smaller adult shooter. Trigger mechanism is great.
      What others should know:No longer equipped with the fiber optic sight elements. Just a shrouded iron sight. I was told Weihrauch changed the design without notifying anyone. Beware.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By dave from USA on 2010-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got mine about two years ago, but mine has the Perfekt trigger. This is one of my favorite rifles because of the excellent quality, the beeman reputation, the super easy cocking and the price, which was $215.00 at the time. It's light weight and really fun to shoot even for a big guy like me plus, it has a nice rubber buttpad.
      Things I would have changed:My front sight post seems a tad too wide. Interchangeable posts like my R1 has would be nice.
      What others should know:By one. The Rekord trigger is better than the Perfekt unit, and you can shoot all day without your arm getting tired. It's kind of small, so even kids can shoot it, but I dont let kids shoot mine because I'm busy plinking away with it. You wont regret buying one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By nwobhm from USA on 2009-10-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything. Being an avid gun shooter I was looking for something to use in my backyard between range visits. This fits the bill well. If this were a center fire rifle the price would be through the roof for this level of quality.
      Things I would have changed:ZERO
      What others should know:I am 6'1' and 225lbs. Rifle fit me as well as my battle rifles. Nice, light, easy to cock, easy to load, simple operation, nice bluing, smooooooth trigger. Great back yard plinker.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2009-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Craftsmanship and accuracy are A+. I was particularly pleased to find my gun was built with the old style front & rear sight that has the interchangeable sight styles. Nothing against tru-glo sights but if I have my druthers. Since I will eventually mount my Leapers 3-9X compact on it when I get tired of those super open sights, it doesn't really matter. Oh and that Rekord trigger is as impressive as the legend that goes with it.
      Things I would have changed:I honestly can't think of a single thing.
      What others should know:For those of you that are like me and have spent more money than you care to admit for low budget springers that have turned out to be not up to expectations get yourself one of these little gems. You won't be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jaymo from USA on 2009-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lightweight, handy, easy to shoot accurately. German quality, very well made. Rekord trigger is fantastic. Laser accurate. It's my new favorite springer. Mine did not have any damage whatsoever. It was well packed and double boxed. Gotta give Weihrauch and PA credit. No twang. Smooth shooter.
      Things I would have changed:I wish the stock was stained red, like my R9, instead of brown. Personal preference, not a flaw. I may strip it and stain it to match the color of my R9.
      What others should know:This is a mild-mannered springer that you can enjoy shooting all day. It won't tire you out like a magnum springer will. It will last a few lifetimes with proper maintenance and care. It's hard to put down. An R7 without checkering or the higher price. This is one you won't regret buying.It will make you want to sell all your other springers and only buy Weihrauchs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dante from USA on 2009-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Beeman HW30S (actually I would have preferred the name Weihrauch HW30S), but anyway, is a superb and outstanding quality built spring piston break barrel air rifle! The bluing finish is richly done, shinny and smooth that reminds me of the bluing of my Colt 357 magnum I got 25 years ago. From the moment I opened the box and saw the beautifully made blue steel and running my hand on the smooth finish stock, I truly felt a high quality made air rifle begging to be held and aimed. Lifting the magnificent piece singlehandedly, it reminded me of how LIGHT WEIGHT this is at 5.5lbs, I can almost point and air just like a regular pistol...LOL…COCKING the barrel is very light and easy at 18 lbs…my goodness, it is like opening a soda can…ACCURACY…just like all previous and current owners, accuracy is without a doubt a paramount feature of this air rifle and is begging to be held and aimed downrange to targets 25 yards and beyond…RECOIL, what recoil, no such thing here…well, just a little bit…and how about the world famous concern about the report NOISE….NONE, zero…very QUIET spring piston that and can propel a .177, 7.9g at 675 FPS to boot… How about the much talked about fiber optic front and rear sights, let me tell you all, there are stupendous and superior. I almost did not want to scope mine as the stock sights are just as great and accurate, and if you look closely at the engineering and design that Weihrauch spent on the HW30S, you will be amaze at the mechanics!
      Things I would have changed:I cannot think of anything to change about this air rifle. The HW30S to me is just like my venerable Ruger 10/22...a classic at its own right and deserves a place of its own in the air rifle hall of fame and gun books and almanacs.
      What others should know:Much to my self debate about mounting a scope, I gave in and get me a 3x9x32. Of course, the accuracy went straight up the scale! I was tempted to even mount a 4x16x40, but I hesitated, as the big scopes just doesn’t look well proportioned on this classic. I just wished my eyesight was as good when I was in my twenties, I would have kept it with the stock iron/fiber optic sights. I have pushed close to 500 shots on this beauty, and there is no “twang” and no “dieseling” on the model I got…it is just so perfect. About the only concern I have is the shipping and packaging form Beeman leaves me a lot to be desired! I want to extend my heart felt thanks to the good folks at Pyramind Air (Scott) who sent me replacement HW30S when the original one I ordered came in with broken rear fiber optic sights. Oh and one last thing, about the HW30S, if you have not figured out yet, it is basically the same as the Beeman R7, including the world famous “Rekord trigger”, except for the stock , is a little bit different, but about a $$$ hundred less. So if you are looking for light and accurate spring piston, look no more as the HW30S will satisfy you beyond belief! HW30S A MUST OWN!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dante from USA on 2009-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Beeman HW30S (actually I would have preferred the name Weihrauch HW30S), but anyway, is a superb and outstanding quality built spring piston break barrel air rifle! The BLUING finish is richly done, shinny and smooth that reminds me of the bluing of my Colt 357 magnum I got 25 years ago. From the moment I opened the box and saw the beautifully made blue steel and running my hand on the smooth finish stock, I truly felt a high quality made air rifle begging to be held and aimed. Lifting the magnificent piece singlehandedly, it reminded me of how LIGHT WEIGHT this is at 5.5lbs, I can almost point and air just like a regular pistol...LOL…COCKING the barrel is very light and easy at 18 lbs…my goodness, it is like opening a soda can…ACCURACY…just like all previous and current owners, accuracy is without a doubt a paramount feature of this air rifle and is begging to be held and aimed downrange to targets 25 yards and beyond…RECOIL, what recoil, no such thing here…well, just a little bit…and how about the world famous concern about the report NOISE….NONE, zero…very QUIET spring piston that and can propel a .177, 7.9g at 675 FPS to boot… How about the much talked about fiber optic front and rear sights, let me tell you all, there are stupendous and superior. I almost did not want to scope mine as the stock sights are just as great and accurate, and if you look closely at the engineering and design that Weihrauch spent on the HW30S, you will be amaze at the mechanics!
      Things I would have changed:I cannot think of anything to change about this air rifle. The HW30S to me is just like my venerable Ruger 10/22...a classic at its own right and deserves a place of its own in the air rifle hall of fame and gun books and almanacs
      What others should know:Much to my self debate about mounting a scope, I gave in and get me a 3x9x32. Of course, the accuracy went straight up the scale! I was tempted to even mount a 4x16x40, but I hesitated, as the big scopes just doesn’t look well proportioned on this classic. I just wished my eyesight was as good when I was in my twenties, I would have kept it with the stock iron/fiber optic sights. I have pushed close to 500 shots on this beauty, and there is no “twang” and no “dieseling” on the model I got…it is just so perfect. About the only concern I have is the shipping and packaging form Beeman leaves me a lot to be desired! I want to extend my heart felt thanks to the good folks at Pyramind Air (Scott) who sent me replacement HW30S when the original one I ordered came in with broken rear fiber optic sights. I called Beeman and I could not get them to help me resolve the issue. I firmly believe the issue has to do with the poor packaging at Beeman with their air rifles as some owners on other Airgun web forums chief complaint, was the poor packaging on some of their products. If I was to commend a company has the best packaging—the Airforce Company IMHO... Oh and one last thing, about the HW30S, if you have not figured out yet, it is basically the same as the Beeman R7, except for the stock are a little bit different, but about a hundred less. So if you are looking for light and accurate spring piston, look no more as the HW30S will satisfy you beyond belief! HW30S A MUST OWN!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2009-09-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wonderful workmanship, the best trigger I have experienced, quiet, nice stock with one flaw. Very little recoil compared to another springer I tried.
      Things I would have changed:Front site fell off, must have needed the screws tightened down. One flaw in the otherwise perfect stock, looks like an inch long scratch or crack in the finish. Hopefully it won't go beyond that. The most disappointing thing is that the velocity started at 630fps with a 7.9 grain pellet and last I checked it was around 590 fps. I was really hoping it would stay up near the 675 fps advertised. The price is a bit steep for a low powered gun but part of that is the present value of the US dollar I suppose.
      What others should know:If I would have bought this gun first I probably would have been quite happy for a while until I got the itch for a higher powered PCP. I gave it a 4 for accuracy because it is still breaking in (less than 500 pellets shot) and I'm not positive I have found the best pellet for it yet.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brett from USA on 2009-08-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the fit and finish of the wood and steel of this air rifle. It has the quality to last generations if taken care of properly. The "Record" trigger is my personal favorite.
      Things I would have changed:I would add some sort of a guide/protector for the cocking linkage to eliminate the possibility of galling in this area. I
      What others should know:If you are considering a sturdy low powered spring piston air rifle, this is one to seriously consider. I started out with the Beeman R9 in .22 cal and this(HW30S) my 2nd quality air rilfe. If I had started with this one I may have only gotten one. The HW30S serves all I need in an airgun. I shoot for fun at paper and other reactive targets. This gun is easy to cock and shoot accurately. If you really want to get the most pinpoint precision out of your shooting with this gun, I would recommend mounting a springer rated scope on it. The sights on it are difficult to get pinpoint with because of the relationship of the size of the targets and the fiber optic sights. The sights are very nice on this gun, however, and are very funtional.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Russell from USA on 2009-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Excellent Rekord trigger, highly visible fiber optic sights, smooth, light cocking action, and perfect balance. This rifle is easy to shoot well.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle should ship in a plastic bag inside the box like the other Beeman rifles. My rifle did not get any rubbing damage, but it was covered in cardboard dust that took some time to clean off. There was also quite a bit of dust in the barrel from rubbing on the cardboard.
      What others should know:This is a fine rifle that is a pleasure to shoot. It is well made and feels solid. It handles very much like an M1 Carbine. I bought this rifle instead of the R7 because I wanted the fiber optic sights. They are perfect for plinking, but I have not tried them on target work yet. They might not be as precise as the post-globe of the R7, but the soda cans do not stand a chance.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2009-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good materials and finish, basically well-made. Light and compact. Record trigger is light and smooth, no creep--mine was about 2-pound pull from factory, but adjusted to 18 oz. now with adj screw at limit of travel. Mine cocks very smoothly and shoots with very little spring vibration. No noticeable dieseling even on 1st shot, though seem to chrony a little slow at 584 fps with CPL pellets, but very consistent velocites. I also like the fiber optic sights, especially a good thing since I don't intend to scope this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The Beeman packaging is very bad. No plastic was used to wrap the gun which caused minor rub marks on the gun from bare contact with the cardboard inserts inside the box during shipping. Need to use threadlock on the screws during manufacture--front sight shot loose in 10 shots, and trigger gaurd screws needed tightening within 50 shots: not really acceptable on a new $300 gun.
      What others should know:Mine shoots nice and apparently without excessive factory lubrication (which I hear is not uncommon). Stock on mine is attractive, dark brown as in the current Pyramyd picture but unlike the picture mine has wood grains show through, YMMV. Nothing fancy but I like it. My gun did come in with Beeman's "Select Stock Condition" and "Select Barrel Angle" (so something along that line). Don't know if that is standard, in the old day these were extra cost options. Also note that the cocking link bar rubs against the compression tube/receiver bottom during cocking and the contact surfaces will start to gall if you don't lube it. Note that the length of pull on this rifle is about 14" so it is adult-sized even though the gun is compact and appear to be a youth rifle, and that might be a little long for children to shoot comfortably.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Vincent from USA on 2009-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Superb accuracy and easy to shoot, easy handling and cocking
      Things I would have changed:Twangy, poor trigger
      What others should know:Really a well made and wonderful gun in so many respect, I suggest that the stiff trigger and coarse firing cycle are out of place on a gun at this price level. The trigger is a single stage that is based on half of the Record trigger's geometry, but this partial commonality seems to force certain design compromises that seem to be difficult to get around. Many triggers, for example, rely on springs just to make sure that the trigger levers move into place while the gun is cocked - but this design depends on spring pressure to counteract the natrural tendency of the cocked piston to release itself. As a result it needs a fairly stiff spring. At lease it breaks cleanly enough. The twang is easily taken care of with a little spring tar.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Martin from USA on 2008-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality of construction, light weight, accuracy, easy to cock, quiet.
      Things I would have changed:The hollowed out trigger blade is a bit cheesy, I think Weihrauch should use the trigger blade off an R7 instead
      What others should know:If your in the market for a good lightweight springer this is the one to get. A fantastic gun in a small package that's suitable for target practice, plinking and small game out to about 25yds. You have the same performance of an R7 for about half price! I know Beeman have increased their prices, this is an absolute steal-get one!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chrismel3816 from USA on 2008-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun represents what originally interested me in spring guns well over 30 years ago. A nice stock, attractive metal work, and for a single cock of the barrel you get as much power as pumping a Crosman 760 ten times. Not to mention it also has a quieter discharge and accuracy that is better than most rimfires. Sure the price is more, but it is built to last a life time and will give great pride of ownership.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing to change here.
      What others should know:This is not a "magnum" airgun. That said, it is probably more in line with what most people need for backyard and basement shooting. It took me 30 years and over a dozen airguns to figure this out. Just like the more familiar multi-pump guns, it can be called on for pest control if needed at short distances. The value here is outstanding, as this gun is the brother of the R-7, which sells for much more with little difference other than the trigger (mine is even closer as I have the HW30S, which gets the Rekord trigger) The power is the same, HW is just more conservative with its rating than Beeman by giving the velocity of a slightly heavier pellet. This is a wonderfully handy pellet rifle to own by itself or in addition to one of the super magnums. (you'll likely find you shoot this one the most)
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top