Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Weihrauch HW50S Breakbarrel Rifle reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2010-07-03 14:11:40

    Things I liked:Excellent workmanship, beautiful bluing, very accurate and consistant. It has a wonderfuly solid, well balanced feel, making it very enjoyable to shoot and even just to hold in your hands. Decent power for such a light and well balanced plinker, averaging 770 fps with both Crosman Premier 7.9 gr and and JSB Express 7.9 gr pellets, with an extreme spread of only 10fps. It does about 660 with JSB 10.5 gr Exact heavies which in spite of being a bit heavy for a medium powered springer, it just loves. Able to hit a 2 inch spinner at 60 yards every time as long as I do my part. At 25 yards it is almost boringly easy to knock the caps off of empty 2 liter soda bottles.When I first purchased this gun, it had a slight twang in the firing cycle but after about 1000 rounds it has really smoothed out nicely to the point where it has a nice thunk with almost no vibration at all and has lost nothing in terms of velocity from day one. Cocking it is very smooth and easy as well. The rekord trigger is fabulous, nice light first stage take up followed by a very crisp second stage let off of around 20 or so ounces. The 50S has become my most used airgun, I pretty much shoot it every day, while my high powered PCP's sit in the case.
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:The Leapers 3-9x40 Golden image scope with Leapers Acushot 1inch medium height rings are super on this gun, very nice combo and for cheap money.
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2014-02-11 15:11:43

    Things I liked:Finish, weight and overall feel of the gun.
    Things I would have changed:The gun has needed to go in for repairs to correct manufacturing flaws twice in the three months that I've owned it. The internal workings of this gun are not well made.
    What others should know:I would like to give this gun a 5-star review because when it is working it performs well for the money. But I purchased this gun in November and this is the second time I have had to send the rifle back for repair. The first time the trigger adjustment screw would not turn. I sent it back and did not have use of the gun for a few weeks. Today it suddenly lost all it's power and can barely get on paper at 10 yards. The first time I sent the gun back Pyramid covered shipping but I had to pay UPS around $25 for a box. Pyramid sent me a new gun and I used it for another month. Now Pyramid tells me they are seriously backed up and I probably won't get the gun back for another month, AND I have to pay for shipping this time which will probably be around $35 or so. So I'm out $60, a LOT of time, and since November the gun has spent as much time in the Pyramid repair shop as it has spent in my possession. I do not recommend this gun, and my experience with Pyramid Air over this purchase has not been very good.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Clean barrel out of the box, nice. The open sights were already dead on for 10 meters, right out of the box! The trigger is delightful and needs no adjustment for me, long, smooth, very light 1st stage followed by a distinct, short, crisp, light 2nd stage. Immaculate woodwork and metalwork/bluing. No vibration or twang, merely a single, quick thump with each shot. Superb bench supported off hand accuracy at 10 meters with a loose hold. I have not yet chronied it as I feel that any springer with fewer than 500 shots will not tell you anything meaningful. Also, I am a LEFTY, and the stock and wrist are completely ambidextrous. The buttstock has identical, shallow cheek pieces on both sides! This rifle oozes quality.
      Things I would have changed:It's a bit loud for its power range, although I'm primarily a basement shooter, so that is OK with me. I will have to wear hearing protection with this one.
      What others should know:Crosman Premier Lights are a slightly tight fit and require the use of a seating tool, although the rifle groups exceptionally well with them. At FIRST the cocking was slightly gritty and probably about 31 to 33 lbs., but after just 10 shots I could feel it start to smooth out and lighten a bit. After 50 shots, I'd guess it is now about 27 lbs., and there is no grittiness at all. I could easily imagine it settling down to about 21 to 23 lbs. of cocking effort after a thousand shots. My particular rifle weighs 6.4 lbs. on my regularly calibrated digital postal scale. This must be unusually light for this model, but my experience is that one chunk of any species of wood varies a LOT in weight from others of the same species because of moisture content and density. This stock is only medium sized, but I believe a variation of up to 20 ounces is possible from rifle to rifle. It is also AMBIDEXTROUS! (See above.)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2012-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really like the Weihrauch HW50s, This is my second air rifle and this one is well built, The bluing is great, the checkering on the stock is a nice touch, The cocking effort is not bad at all, really smooth. The rekord trigger is set just right from the factory. The iron sights do a great job.
      Things I would have changed:I would change nothing on this rifle
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2012-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Rekord trigger will spoil you for anything less. The power level of this gun is perfect for plinking or longer range target shooting. My .177 version is shooting 775 fps with JSB exacts and 815 fps with RWS super points. The new stock style is really well detailed. This is a better looking gun than my beloved WH80.
      Things I would have changed:The stock screws do loosen up quickly. I chaulk this up to the way spingers are.
      What others should know:I would rather have one Weihrauch than three of any other brand.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rob from USA on 2012-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:ACCURACY!!! Light weight. Light recoil. Did I mention ACCURACY?
      Things I would have changed:Better cocking arm lever.
      What others should know:Get one of these. I like the .177 best.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Antonio from USA on 2012-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great build quality Very attractive rifle (wood stain and bluing) Ambi stock Great open sights and interchangeable front inserts Checkering Record trigger Accurate shooter Shooter friendly /easy to shoot (perfect velovity /weight combo) Decided purchased the HW50S in .177, due to my satisfaction with my R7. The HW50S is another great quality product, all steel and wood, no plastic. Incredible record trigger. I’ve had the HW50S for almost 2 weeks. Started shooting with open sights and they were great at 10 yards very accurate. Less than .5 in. 5-shot groups. I like the interchangeable front sights. Mounted a UTG/Leapers 3-12x40 scope and after sight in shot .511 5-shot group at 25 yards. (Picture uploaded). I’m sure the groupings will get better as I get used to the gun. The gun has 1000 shots through it and is still breaking in.
      Things I would have changed:Improve cocking effort. Address the galling issue this gun is known for. Initially cocking was very stiff. I’ve read cocking effort to be measured in the mid 30 lb range. The 18 lb effort in the description is definitely inaccurate. During break in the cocking smoothed out and became easier. As expected, it is far more cocking effort than my R7. Also more effort though less barrel travel than a Quest 1000. I tried the rifle without the front globe site and the cocking is easier, due to the increased leverage grasping the end of the barrel. The cocking could probably be made even easier with muzzle break installed. I’m keeping the front and rear sights on with the scope mounted, since I’ve become used to cocking the gun. I’m an average size guy and have no problem shooting 50-75 pellets per session after getting used to it. Initially the cocking arm slightly touched the spring tube, when cocking, producing a slight grinding and slight galling of the tube steel along the edge of the bottom slot. The grinding has stopped and the galling has not gotten worse. I do not expect any additional wear. I’ve read on many forums this is common for the HW50S.
      What others should know:Great gun. Highly recommended. Would buy again. Mine likes RWS Superdomes 8.3gr
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mahim from India on 2012-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is excellent and very high quality.The gun is very accurate and well appointed in terms of available adjustments to iron sights and trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Stock Screws Loosen after 30 40 shots.
      What others should know:Cocking effort is listed at 18 lbs. I think cocks at 30+ lbs.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Phillip from USA on 2012-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my third air rifle that I have owned as a adult and by far the best.It is accurate,just the right size and power.The HW50s has very nice open sights and I plan on leaving it that way,maybe a peep sight down the road.So far it likes cheap daisy pellets,Beeman FTS,Beeman Kodiak HP,Kodiak 21.14 Grain tapered dome.It does not like the Benjamin Discovery Pellets,they group at over 2 inches at 10 meters.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change is how the stock is mounted or tighten up the tolerances on the machining of the stock.With the stock screws loosened I can move the breech and barrel forward and aft at least 1/8 inch.This may not seem like a big deal but even when the screws are tightened down extremely tight the stock still moves after 20 to 30 shots until it makes contact with the metal in front of the pivot bolt.On my gun it actually broke a piece of the stock off on the left side and cracked the right side.I made a shim to fill in the front mounting screw hole and now the stock seems to be staying put.I have read of one other person having the same issues.
      What others should know:Remove and degrease the stock screws,apply some blue loctite and check to make sure the stock is not moving
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By charles from USA on 2012-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is the best air rifle i have ever shot. i mounted a leapers 5 gen. 3-9 x 50mm with a rws onepiece mount that has 2 stops built into the mount. one look down the barrle will show you why the gun is so accurate. also, by far the best trigger system i have found on ANY rifle. im 67, i have shot literally thousands of different firearms. my paticular rifle has a craving for h and n barricuda hollow points and the light pistol match wadcutters. this scope needs the rws one piece mount to have the 50mm objective lens clear the rest of the rifle. i have killed a squirrel at 200 ft, it will drive 10 pellets into a dime at 100 feet all day long. it is more accurate than i can shoot!
      Things I would have changed:the only thing i can think of is to combine the scope, rws mount, and rifle into a kit to avoid confusion.
      What others should know:i was going to shoot lead balls, .177 cal, but my rifle doesnt like them., i was worried that a .177 cal. may be too light of a pellet to shoot birds and small animals like a squirrel. i got a heart shot on a racoon that kept eating all my bird food at night. it was an instantaneous kill. no suffering. the coon didnt even get out of the feeder! if you have a good enough aim, you can kill coons, ground hogs, on down the list by size. i wasted a lot of dollars buying a cheap gun. not anymore there is a world of difference in a weirough and rws, than those cheapies!!! just buy it!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Greg from USA on 2012-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The feel of the gun is excellent--very high quality fit and finish. The gun is very accurate and well appointed in terms of available adjustments to iron sights and trigger. Plenty of power inside 30 yards. Hawke Airmax scope makes a good match to this gun.
      Things I would have changed:Not much: it's a triumph of minimalism and functionality. It probably does cock too hard for the power it puts out. If I could change anything, I would have it be an HW30s, an HW50s, an HW77, and an HW80 all in one, with all the power and accuracy, the underlever, and the light weight and compact styling: this would prevent me buying four separate guns to suit my moods and needs.
      What others should know:The unfortunate thing is that this gun is sort of like a motorcycle or girlfriend that/who was really perfect for you and wonderful but you wanted a little something else or a little something different, maybe something faster or more exotic but ultimately less pleasurable. I intend to actually hold onto the gun. Still, I think of other guns while I am shooting it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By lal from India on 2012-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is fantastic in accuracy. This rifle is suitable for competition and I am getting 10 points out of 10. I recomend all viewers to purchase this Rifle
      Things I would have changed:Accurate firing, precision strike and less weight
      What others should know:Fundumentals such as Stance, Holding the Rifle, Aiming, Breathing and Firing. Keep always this fundamentals and use such rifle, no doubt, anybody can acheive their targets
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Karle from USA on 2012-02-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle has the typically excellent Weihrauch quality. This is my third Weihrauch air rifle. Regrettably, I sold my first one (an HW 35 purchased in 1968). I still have the HW55MM-L purchased in 1968. This one is ambidextrous and has the Record trigger. It also has real black metal sights instead of those fiber optic abominations. This rifle is definitely a keeper.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:This rifle is a handy size and weight and has medium power. It is good for indoor target shooting with proper safety precautions.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, rekord trigger, heft and quality of workmanship
      Things I would have changed:would be nice if it was a little quieter and smoother shooting. Things I guess that can be changed with a tune up.
      What others should know:not for young kids
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2011-08-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is a real sweat shooter, very consistent groups, low hold sensitivity, very well balanced, great trigger. It's my favorite gun.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Cocking effort is listed at 18 lbs. mine cocks at 32 lbs.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Anthony from USA on 2010-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice combination of size and power. Shoots .22 Hobbies @ 650 fps. Mine likes CR Points quite well, gets 580 fps w/ these heavier pills. Extremely easy to shoot offhand with a mild firing cycle. Power very close to my C-1. No need to say more about the "Rekord" trigger... excellent!
      Things I would have changed:Cocking effort seems high for a gun in this power-range. Harder cocking than my C-1 and Nitro (both harder-shooting guns). The listed "18 lbs" of cocking force is for the older, less potent design! This should be corrected in the product description. IMO, when HW shortened the barrel and beefed-up the guts, they should have redesigned for a solid, one-piece cocking lever. Would provide some mechanical advantage over the articulated design. Would also help eliminate initial galling as felt in the compression chamber during cocking. This seems to be improving as gun is broken-in.
      What others should know:Sling mounting appears problematic, without using a barrel-band. I would not feel comfortable screwing in a sling swivel into the forward part of the stock, as the wood gets pretty thin up there. Feels a little 'chunky' compared to the C-1, even though weight of the '50S is less than a pound more. Would like to see an option for a checkered stock. A "pussycat" to shoot (once cocked). Very mild firing behavior, very accurate! Going to keep this one in irons, maybe add a peep...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ron from USA on 2010-07-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent workmanship, beautiful bluing, very accurate and consistant. It has a wonderfuly solid, well balanced feel, making it very enjoyable to shoot and even just to hold in your hands. Decent power for such a light and well balanced plinker, averaging 770 fps with both Crosman Premier 7.9 gr and and JSB Express 7.9 gr pellets, with an extreme spread of only 10fps. It does about 660 with JSB 10.5 gr Exact heavies which in spite of being a bit heavy for a medium powered springer, it just loves. Able to hit a 2 inch spinner at 60 yards every time as long as I do my part. At 25 yards it is almost boringly easy to knock the caps off of empty 2 liter soda bottles.When I first purchased this gun, it had a slight twang in the firing cycle but after about 1000 rounds it has really smoothed out nicely to the point where it has a nice thunk with almost no vibration at all and has lost nothing in terms of velocity from day one. Cocking it is very smooth and easy as well. The rekord trigger is fabulous, nice light first stage take up followed by a very crisp second stage let off of around 20 or so ounces. The 50S has become my most used airgun, I pretty much shoot it every day, while my high powered PCP's sit in the case.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:The Leapers 3-9x40 Golden image scope with Leapers Acushot 1inch medium height rings are super on this gun, very nice combo and for cheap money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Becky from USA on 2010-05-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The gun is compact, a little bigger than the HW30s. Still easy to shoulder, point and shoot. Bluing is the best out of all my guns. Almost mirror finish. Very well made, quality throughout. It has a nice matte finish on the beech stock. Nothing fancy. Has a slight monte carlo design, but is a fine ambidextrous gun. Also, comes with additional replaceable sight posts. I sold my RWS panther 34P for a smaller more manageable gun. This gun is a great all day plinker and very small game hunter. I am very happy with the switch.
      Things I would have changed:Try and reduce the twang. It is not bad, but after shooting the HW30S (which has absolutely none), it is noticeable. I was willing to accept more buzzing so that I could have more power for small hunting applications.
      What others should know:This gun is more hold sensitive and twangy than the HW30S, but just as accurate with a little technique. Mine is shooting in the 770's with .177 jsb exacts and in the low 800's with the Crosman pointed pellets. The Crosman pointed pellet surprised me with its consistency over the chrono with very few fliers. A great economy pellet to use. I also found that RWS superpoints and superdomes worked well. Hobbies didn't shoot very well. I mounted a leapers 6x bug buster and it works well. Just the right proportions.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2010-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice solid feel to it, Well made german quality. Price Is Very reasonable!! Very accurate 5 shots covered by a dime at 25 yards is easy with this gun. Cocking is smooth and not heavy, and shoots smooth, no recoil. Nice stock, nice blueing. Very well made.
      Things I would have changed:nothing so far..
      What others should know:Great gun, not a powerhouse magnum springer, but just right IMO. Im shooting cphp 7.9 grains at 769 fps. I removed the front and rear sights i mounted a bushnell 4-12x40 with leapers med one piece rings and the open sights were in the scope picture. they were easy to remove. Buy this gun you will love it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JamesW. from USA on 2009-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fast service from PA. Gun arrived in just two days after placing my order and in perfect condition. Gun was a tad heavier than its listed. Mine went right at 7 pounds. Much easier to cock than some have said. I'm a short disabled 48 year old and cocking is very easy. Gun is not very loud and very accurate. No spring twang with mine. Outstanding trigger right from the factory. I'm a trigger snob (jewel/50.18 Anschutz tiggers here) and the Record trigger is very impressive. Gun is not pellet fussy or hold sinsitive. Power seems plenty for birds and smaller game at moderate ranges. This gun is very fun to shoot and is sized just about like a average .22 powder rifle. Would make a great rifle to teach people how to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see this rifle come with sling swivels. I don't know why the Germans put swivels on everything else and not their air rifles. A checkered walnut stock option would be nice also. Like on the Air Arms TX200 for those that would like something special. The rifle's metal is high quality enough a fine walnut stock is deserved as a option.
      What others should know:I got this rifle after selling my old R7 years ago. The R7 had a large ball bearing that locks the barrel. Mine R7 would never hold zero with a scope. It wouldn't be off much but always just a 1/2 inch off at 25 yards from session to session. Low, high,left or right. This rifle has a wedge that has a much stronger lockup than my old R7. I've tested it for several days and it seems to be much much better at holding zero with a scope. In fact it holds perfect zero so far.
    • « Previous 12
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top