Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Weihrauch HW80 Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (7 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (7 votes)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Dexter from USA on 2007-10-01 19:47:55

    Things I liked:power--accuracy--good trigger
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:world'S best
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-05-30 08:41:11

    Things I liked:This is an awesome gun, very high quality.
    Things I would have changed:Wish I would have ordered it with a scope.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is an awesome gun, very high quality.
      Things I would have changed:Wish I would have ordered it with a scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have had mine for four years now and it shoots just as well now as on day one. As with any springer I had to learn the hold (artillery hold). Until I did it was a bit frustrating. I don't know how many tins of pellets I have put through this and it seems to really like the H&N Hollow Point pellets out to medium distances of 20 yards. I bought a Williams FP-AG-TK aperture sight and thanks to the assortment of front sight inserts included with the rifle managed to increase my open sight accuracy. This is however what I really like, no love, about the rifle. It looks ordinary and when I take it out to shoots then it gets disparaging glances and smirks from other people. That is until I start shooting with it. I get tighter groupings with the open sights than others can manage with their springer air rifles with telescopic sights. With open sights I can give a PCP with scope a good run for its money. Watching people's jaws drop in amazement and not the looks is what you pay for. I have never had to tighten a screw on the rifle (something another person commented on) and I have put many thousands of pellets through the gun. It is the original from which all other magnum springers took their cue.
      Things I would have changed:After four years I cannot think of anything. For plinking, target shooting, exterminating vermin or bunny bashing it just does the job, no fuss, no muss.
      What others should know:This rifle is the same as the Beeman R1 and if it annoys you that they are not available with open sights then this is the rifle you should get. My rifle is a bit pellet fussy and to get the best out of it I had to find the pellet that worked best at the range I wanted to shoot at. One size did not fit all. It took me quite a while to find the hold that got the most out of the rifle. This was quite frustrating in the beginning and I thought that perhaps I had made a mistake in buying it; however perseverance paid off and I take a kind of perverse pleasure in watching others miss when I let them shoot with it. It has become an old friend and people are amazed that I have not done any tuning on it because of its accuracy. How do I know it is the gun and not the shooter? When I use other people's springers I just cannot get the grouping I get with my HW80. I am not going to disparage names here, but I realise that I got my money's worth and the rifle is so inherently accurate that it has allowed me to reach my full potential.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2014-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent build quality- the fit and finish is superb and evident from the moment you pick this rifle up. It has an extremely solid feel with excellent bluing. The trigger is of course wonderful. Easy to cock considering its power level. This rifle blew me away with its accuracy- it's fantastic! More accurate than any other brand I have owned and I have tried them all. I wish I had bought this gun years ago!
      Things I would have changed:The only issue I have come across is the stock screws (all 4 of them) do come loose after a certain amount of shots even after using loc-tite on them. You would think after all these years building springers, they would have come up with a cure for this but not the case. Oh well, I can live with this as the rifle just shoots so darn good!
      What others should know:I tried this rifle out in the field recently and I made up my mind I would be happy if I could hit certain objects at 55-60 yards. To my surprise, I was able to hit small balloons and other objects all the way out to 100 yards! I can not believe how accurate and flat shooting this rifle is and it hits with authority too! I am pleasantly surprised with this rifle and I don't see how you can go wrong with this well made German masterpiece. Do keep in mind this is not a lightweight rifle but it handles beautifully. The Gamo Gun Buddy Sling made it easy to carry in the field all day long! Shoots JSB Exacts and Crosman Premier (both 7.9 grains) extremely well but if I had to choose a pellet, I would choose the Crosman as they just seemed very consistent in terms of shooting small groups.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2013-05-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:PERFECT out of the box. It DESTROYED my Crosman scope, go figure. I bought the Hawke scope Hawke Optics 3-12x44 AO Varmint Rifle Scope, 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube and sighted it in and shot it today. OMG....50 yards with 1/4" groups...LOVE it. The finish is exceptional, the quality is exceptional, the accuracy is exceptional. I point, O aim, I squeeze and I have a hole where I was aiming. BUY this airgun.
      Things I would have changed:The safety switch goes to always on when re-cocking. PITA, but a minor thing.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By michael from USA on 2013-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:out of the box it hit a fence pole at 40 yards with the open sights, once I got my scope on it ,I ran thru several different pellets at 25 yards. field target specials and jsb exacts were going 875 fps average, but the jsb rs at 7.3 grains were getting up to 950 fps and with dime sized groups. hoping the jsb express 7.9 will come around 900 fps when I get them. that should be just about right for 50 to 75 yard sniper shots on the ground squirrels at my golf course!!
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:the hw80 is a more powerful springer and hold is everything, so get that artillery hold down and keep your eyes on the target with the follow through
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Batman from USA on 2007-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent quality. In fact, this is the Big Brother of the Beeman R7. Its heavier and has a ton more power - especially in .22. It has the same trigger and safety as the R7. Its a great choice when moving up to higher power rifle. Pryamid's excellent service - as always.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Really nice fit and finish.
      What others should know:I have a Beeman R7 in .177 and a HW75. Both a great, high quality airguns.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dexter from USA on 2007-10-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:power--accuracy--good trigger
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:world'S best
    Back to Top