Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Winchester 1028 Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Nitrox from USA on 2011-07-19 22:20:10

    Things I liked:Weight, feel and power. This rifle hits a 3/4" piece of plywood and continues on. When I first purchased this rifle I could not keep a consistent group at 20'. Come to find out the scope shipped with this rifle was damaged. I replaced the scope with a 4x32 leapers and after finishing a 500 count tin of crosman premiers off the rifle started keeping consistent groups. I was able to keep a dime size group at 50'. Go figure ... Scope or break in, I don't know.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger on this rascal is a bear, at first I had never felt such a hard pull. It seems after shooting 500 rounds/pellets through it the trigger has relaxed some. It's still a hard pull but tolerable.
    What others should know:This is not a high dollar air rifle, it does have a lot of the capabilities of the higher priced rifles though. You are going to have to spend some time with this rifle so you both will have to get to know one another. This rifle can and will perform along side the higher end rifles, just don't expect to tear this thing out of the box and start shooting groups the size of a dime at a 100' If your looking for a budget priced quality air rifle for yard critters, this rifle will work.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3

    Value for money:3

    Accuracy:3

    By ARIF from India on 2012-06-05 10:14:22

    Things I liked:I purchased Winchester 1028 Air Rifle by viewing it on the Pyramid Air Web-site and i got the product in fine running condition, but my experience after getting the Air Rifle is little bit wrong because it is Heavy and the Grip is thick to grip for firing, the Accuracy is good and the impact too. But the Grouping i am not getting with the Scope.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By gary from USA on 2013-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:nice stock I like the checkering it seems well made,it is very powerful for a Chinese gun it appears nicely made
      Things I would have changed:the trigger is really the only drawback so far it is heavy and rough the trigger is the only reason for 4 star overall rating
      What others should know:I received my Winchester 1028 today from pyramid for 120.00 and made in china it appears well made looks nice. it is a wide gun and heavy. the cocking effort is high I haven't measured it yet I have 2 herniated discs in my back I had to have my son who is 17 cock and load the rifle for me he struggled to cock the gun I am hoping the neurosurgeon can repair me to the point I can use this gun, I may have purchased to much gun lol. this gun has a ton of recoil, and is very loud compared to my Sheridan silver streak which is .20 we are shooting at an old license plate from back when they were made thicker it almost went through at about 15yrds it put a significantly deeper dent than my .20 Sheridan. as I read in all the reviews before I bought the gun the trigger is not that good it feels rough and is heavy, this may improve after its broke in I would think it would at least get a little better. I am hoping to be able to do a full review after its broke in depends on my back. my first impression is this is a lot of gun for the money, its heavy, and wide it is very powerful,and loud definitely not for children. there is no doubt this gun would drop a squirrel, and possibly a rabbit with a well placed shot. I think its a lot of gun for the money. if 120.00 is around your price range its defiantly worth considering. the gun is made by daisy.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2013-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought the Winchester 1000 .177 used. It has a walnut stock. It is supperb quality.e fit and finish is far supperior to anything in this price range. omme of the specifications that Pyramyd Air post are not correct. Such as weight.Think of this as a Beemman R1 in weight, length and therefore overall size.It is big and not for the young. It is hard to cock for this 84 year old. It is a killer air rifle. Do not even hesitate. Buy it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Sure the trigger is not a HW Rekord trigger. But it is far better than most
      What others should know:If you are looking for a powerful quality air rifle at a throw aa price.You have found it. Even if you have a closet full of air guns.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Ray from USA on 2012-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good power, nice 4X32AO scope that once dialed in has held its place very well. The rifle has a good weight and feel for an adult and the details like the checkering on the stock and beautiful finish are first rate. This rifle is a real buy at its low price point. It also makes a good small game rifle. I have used it to squirrel hunt and it is plenty capable of a good humane quick kill shot using a domed or hollow point 8g pellet with proper shot placement.(Check hunting regulations for your area as they may be different then in mine.)
      Things I would have changed:I probably wouldn't and have not changed a thing, but I will say that this gun would probably be on the heavy side for a younger shooter. I would suppose the trigger could stand to have a bit lighter pull for a younger shooter, but as a large adult I don't find it all that bad, but I can see where maybe a smaller fellow might find the trigger a bit on the heavy side.
      What others should know:I have shot several different brands of pellets through this and mine seems to really like the RWS Super Dome pellets the best. It is also a bit longer then many other break barrel air rifles...so make sure you either own or buy a case that is long enough. With proper care and maintenance this rifle should really hold up well over time.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By ARIF from India on 2012-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased Winchester 1028 Air Rifle by viewing it on the Pyramid Air Web-site and i got the product in fine running condition, but my experience after getting the Air Rifle is little bit wrong because it is Heavy and the Grip is thick to grip for firing, the Accuracy is good and the impact too. But the Grouping i am not getting with the Scope.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:i like very thing about the is gun the sight is great the scope is good but i dont like to use scopes and u can attach the scope in like 10 seconds.
      Things I would have changed:the auto safty.
      What others should know:if u like hunting small game this is the gun for u i killed 3 squirrel and 10 birds and the pellets go right thought the birds and for the price this a great gun .
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Nitrox from USA on 2011-07-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      42 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight, feel and power. This rifle hits a 3/4" piece of plywood and continues on. When I first purchased this rifle I could not keep a consistent group at 20'. Come to find out the scope shipped with this rifle was damaged. I replaced the scope with a 4x32 leapers and after finishing a 500 count tin of crosman premiers off the rifle started keeping consistent groups. I was able to keep a dime size group at 50'. Go figure ... Scope or break in, I don't know.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger on this rascal is a bear, at first I had never felt such a hard pull. It seems after shooting 500 rounds/pellets through it the trigger has relaxed some. It's still a hard pull but tolerable.
      What others should know:This is not a high dollar air rifle, it does have a lot of the capabilities of the higher priced rifles though. You are going to have to spend some time with this rifle so you both will have to get to know one another. This rifle can and will perform along side the higher end rifles, just don't expect to tear this thing out of the box and start shooting groups the size of a dime at a 100' If your looking for a budget priced quality air rifle for yard critters, this rifle will work.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By egarym from USA on 2011-06-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:ITS A WINCHESTER, THE STYLE AND HANDLING, ALTHO I HAVE NOT FIRED THIS RIFLE I HAVE HANDLED IT AT LENGTH TO THE SHOULDER FOR PRACTICE AND IT SHOULDERS GREAT.
      Things I would have changed:THE TENSION ON PUMPING IS A BIT STRONG
      What others should know:IF YOU ARE WANTING A 1028, BEWARE THAT A FEW FIRST MFGD RIFLES CAME OUT MISPRINTED AS MODEL 1000, I HAVE BOTH AND THE MARKINGS ON THE BARREL ARE DIFFERENT.I SUSPECT THE MARKED 1000 MAY BE A RARITY ITEM
    Over
    ammo packs sold