Date: 11/2/2016 0:26

Winchester M14 CO2 Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Leafhopper from USA on 2013-07-05 14:39:22

Things I liked: I have read many reviews of this air rifle in which people complained about the amount of plastic used. Yes, there is a lot of plastic (not cheap plastic, but durable composite), but I think these critics are missing the point here. It is a light weight rifle and I think that is just fine. It doesn't tire you like a wood and steel M14 would. I'm sure a full metal and wood replica would be nice, but maybe more expensive. What you do get is an amazingly accurate and powerful co2 gun.I own many air rifles and pistols, none of which come close to the accuracy of this rifle. I like the double 12 gram CO2 system (same as the Umarex Steel Storm). I put a sling on mine using the included sling mounts. This rifle makes me smile!

Things I would have changed: The peephole on the sight is too large and the front blade could be thinner, but this isn't a big deal to me.

What others should know: I installed a telescopic sight on this using a surplus M14 sight mount with weaver/picatinny rail. It actually fit with the side mounting bolt hole already existing on the rifle. I did have to use a smaller od mounting bolt than what came with the mount, but the hole lined up perfectly and with a small shim, it aligns just fine. Once that was accomplished, I painted the whole rifle and scope camo. It now looks just like an M14 sniper rifle!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Bret from USA on 2012-11-30 00:40:53

Things I liked: Deadly accurate when it fires. Feels good for an adult. I hope that someone comes up with a wooden stock for it. If they get the pellet magazine problem fixed it might be more fun to shoot.

Things I would have changed: The first shot I fired never came out of the barrel. It jammed in the clip. It took me half an hour with a cleaning rod to maneuver the mangled pellet so that I could get the magazine out. This happened repeatedly with several kinds of pellets. It happened with both of the stick magazines. There is a serious problem here. Sometimes the magazine jams and will not come out. I am a fairly experienced air gunner and was following all the instructions carefully.

What others should know: Beware! This is not the gun to carry if you are expecting the zombies to arrive. It has a tough time firing the pellets out of the magazine. The magazine stick or fall out.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Allan from Canada on 2016-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Extreme accuracy for an airgun. I use pellets only, as I don't want to ruin the rifling by using steel b-b's.

    Things I would have changed: I removed the action from the stock (3 screws). Using wet n' dri 400, I sanded the pebble finish smooth, and used putty to fill the assembly crack. I got light camo paint and light wood-grain paint from Michael's. I used the camo as primer (a light coat) and a light coat of brown wood, letting a shadow of primer blush through. When dry, I used 000 steel wool to distress the high gloss to give it a military matte finish. From the receiver area, I drilled a 3/8 inch hole through the handguard area into the hollow stock. I used aerosol insul-foam to fill the hollow stock. It takes about 1 and 1/2 hours for the expansion to stop exiting the hole. The result to me was some extra weight and the sound of wood when you rap the stock.

    What others should know: I bought 4 extra mags through Pyramyd to give me 80 rounds. I found you get sufficient velocity by then to replenish the co2 for the next reload. If I shot beyond 80, the velocity seemed to suffer. As there is a lot of plastic, I do not handle this rifle roughly, as you would the real thing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2016-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The sling attachments and the accuracy is dead one dime size to the point I shot a smiley face on a cactus at 30 yards

    Things I would have changed: I would pay a extra $50 for a alloy shell stock and add a dovetail rail for red dot

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By frank from USA on 2015-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: things i liked about this rifle shoots bb & pellets holds two co/2 plenty of power lost count on how many shot i got with good hard hitting results , you can mount a rifle sling and a real m-14 scope mount feels & looks good works realy good also extra clips available, and priced right .

    Things I would have changed: may bee a few more metal parts

    What others should know: brought this air rifle from Pyramyd air they were very helpful.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2015-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I actually like that it is so light. This gun is a lot of fun to shoot. I like that I can remove the co2 without dumping the charge. The sights are very easy to use and adjust. The trigger is a real semiautomatic, no long double action like the 1077. This gun is so easy to shoot the bullseye's out every time at 25 feet. Surprisingly accurate!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing for the price

    What others should know: This is a fun gun and a keeper

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Colonel from USA on 2015-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy is terrific (zeroed out of the box in under 20 shots). Realistic detailing and exact full scale size; high muzzle velocity and overall power; CO2 loading without leakage; over 100 accurate shots from one refill--on a cold day; choice of either pellets or BBs. On-time delivery exactly as quoted.

    Things I would have changed: Plastic-looking stock color and surface finish. I customized my with a 2-coat paint job: "wood"--dark brown base coat, with flat black over, wiped while wet to produce a wood grain; then flat black on the action and barrel. Came out looking exactly like my real M14. Also--would prefer the gun to be much heavier, not only for realism but for better handling.

    What others should know: This is an incredible bargain--you can't beat the price for such a fine gun. A lot of fun to shoot, great accuracy, and your friends will be impressed.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Don from USA on 2015-11-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice fun gun. I antiqued the finish with some black and silver finish and took it to an airgun show and everyone thought it was the real thing. Found an old vintage sling online and that really made it look like the real deal! Yoiu can have fun playing with the finish tooo.

    Things I would have changed: Would be interesting to see a wooden stock but that would really push up the cost.

    What others should know: Sometimes the CO2 clip would stick. If you have that problem Check for rough spots on the side of the metal part of the CO2 clip. I used a small file and smoothed out the area around a recessed area around a screw on the side of the clip. I then lubricated it with Kroil and now it works well. You may check all the guns like this for the same problem. The fix worked well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gordon Schopper from USA on 2015-11-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the looks of the Winchester m14 it was very accurate 10 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Is true things I would change that it could have a scope put on it and make the stock a wood grain or some kind of camouflage to cover up the plastic look.

    What others should know: But overall the gun is a very good gun shoots pellets better than BB's at 10 yards keep the pellets in a dime and the BB's will stay in a quarter, you can't go wrong with this gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Winchester M14 is a lot of fun to shoot. The capability of firing both pellets and BBs gives the shooter some options most rifles don't. The speed and accuracy of the rifle are surprisingly good. I would buy this rifle again and I would recommend it to my friends.

    Things I would have changed: The Winchester M14 looks superficially like the prototype. Almost all of the external parts, including the barrel, are plastic, detracting from the overall appearance of the rifle. For the price of the rifle, Winchester could have done a bit more to improve the appearance of their product.

    What others should know: Get extra magazines so you can keep shooting. This one is fun.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Tony from USA on 2015-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Repeater. Best reason to consider getting it. Sadly, that's the only reason.

    Things I would have changed: Feels like a toy. Looks like a toy. Darker would help. Shoving some modeling clay into the forearm and stock might help the heft.

    What others should know: Wait and see if Daisy or someone else comes out with a more realistic replica.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By david from USA on 2015-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like the fact it's a repeater. Gets down on the sandbag and gives me 8 accurate shots before stopping. Quite a few shots on 2 CO2. I also own the Winchester MP4 which uses the same clips as this. Stock up on them now and spend your range time shooting. Like the aperture sight it comes with, no need for anything else at the 10 yards I am limited to. Did I mention it is very accurate. Using cheap Beeman wadcutters, they fit the clips snug.

    Things I would have changed: I may try to paint the stock in snow camo or something to conceal the super plasticy appearance. I added a leather surplus sling so far and it helps take your eye away from the stock. Do not let the stock discourage you from what is otherwise a great functioning rifle.

    What others should know: This is a great value in airguns. Stock up on clips as someday they may be hard to find. With use the pellets get looser in the holes. I have had no problems with this rifle after 2500 rounds. Buy it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DALE from USA on 2015-09-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice, lightweight replica of M14A. I love the peep sights.. just like shooting the original rifle when I was in the Army decades ago. A good product. It is also very accurate at 50'.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2015-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything Wow very accurate. Cool blow back. Very well built good quality plastic and light weight and very powerful at 20 yrds hits quarter size bull. Mag is well designed with the CO2 staying in when released and only a slight puff of CO2 is released and the mags seal keeps all the CO2 in ready to use the next time you shoot if you don't use it all. The sixteen round clip fits very snug with a positive lock and the release tab for the pellet mag works great. Also the CO2 mag has two tabs to fully release. First tab releases it from chamber second releases it from gun so you don't drop it on the ground. Great mag control. Amazing gun for the low price!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing it does what it is suppose to do.

    What others should know: Just too much fun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By davidahill from USA on 2015-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Almost everything ? I changed mine over to high pressure air with an adapter to replace the co2's. Now I can shoot a long time, a lot of fast shots, all at full force with out waiting for the co2's to warm up. The high pressure air bottle has a built in regulator so it works really good. 700 plus shots if they fill your bottle all the way up, the guy that does mine will only put in 2500 lbs. The bottle is rated at 3000 psi.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a more of a target trigger ?

    What others should know: Buy one now before the price goes back up, and get as many extra mags as you want, they go empty pretty fast.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2015-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I think this is a great BB rifle, with good power and easy to load with the magazine the way it works! very accurate and love the safety like the originals.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe come with a few more magazines?

    What others should know: It's awsome an great buy for what you get!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2015-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: After the sights are dialed in this rifle is "dead balls accurate" (a technical term from the movie 'My Cousin Vinny') with .177 wadcutter pellets. This rifle is a pleasure to shoot. I love the dual CO2 cylinder gas system and I've been getting 70-80 good shots before pellet velocity starts to drop off and the cylinders need replacement. Other reviewers have noted problems with the 16 round magazine (actually an 8 round dual rotary system) but I have had no issues so far using .177 pellets (knock on fake wood). For $79 this rifle is a real bargain! Thanks again to Pyramid for another satisfying airgun purchase!!!

    Things I would have changed: None that I can think of.

    What others should know: The dual 8 round rotary magazine takes .177 pellets or BBs. I wouldn't waste my time with BBs, stick to the pellets for better velocity and accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gage from USA on 2015-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy!! (idk about yours, but mines a headhunter) Power Realism (besides plastic) Price!

    Things I would have changed: obviously i would change the plastic but for 70 bucks whos complaining? kinda wish the Mag and Co2 were all one piece.

    What others should know: WOW!! just absolutely WOW!!! i am in absolute awe!!! this is the best gun for your money period whatsoever of any category!! the accuracy on this gun is flawless, the iron sights are completely true once adjusted. i haven't tried pellets yet, but the Hornady Black Diamond bb's work nicely already. 700 FPS? maybe the first 3 shots, but still a consistent 600 give or take with a "regular" charge. by the way, yes that is plastic you see and this gun is very light, but dont let it fool you!! ive put about 1000 rounds through mine so far and its still shooting like its brand new. WORD OF WARNING: be careful not to drop the magazines!! they are plastic and very fragile, buy a couple extra.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Montgomery from USA on 2015-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I LOVE THIS GUN. Great low price. Long barrel is very accurate and plenty of punch. When you fire it on a full CO2, it has a bit of a rifle "crack" that's cool. It holds the CO2 very well.

    Things I would have changed: I would pay twice as much or more as I did to have a real wood stock and metal on much/most of the gun. And with that , add the ability to mount a scope. It would be awesome then.

    What others should know: mine was missing the tiny tool that work to tighten in the CO2. Pyramyd said they would get one for me from Daisy - yes, it's made by Daisy (if they only made it as nicely as the classic Red Ryder!).

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2015-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's easy to load, it has a smooth trigger pull. I'd give it an 8 on the 1 to 10 scale. It's worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: The feel of the gun makes it feel cheap. It's way to light. I trained on the M14 as a young man in the Army. It was heavy carrying it on marches.

    What others should know: Wood stock wood give it a better feel as a replica of the M14

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Virgil from USA on 2015-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I shot a National Match M14 in Army Competition for several years, back when.....This Winchester M14 is really a bargin, and quite authentic in detailing, shoots well and can be used in your back yard. It is almost like shooting the real M14, add a sling and enjoy.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to have the entire Magazine be removable so one could run thru the manual of arms.

    What others should know: Collectors and serious shooters need this gun in their rack.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chesterdawg from USA on 2015-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its lightweight, perfect for my skinny 11yr old son. I love the dual C02 slots. Being C02 also reduces weight.Originally I purchased the Crosman M4-177 Multi-Pump Air Rifle. Neither I nor my son liked it.It was hard for him to cock and complicated to operate. It broke (accident) which gave me an excuse to purchase the Winchester.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Shoots pellets or BBs, much easier than the Crossman to operate and lighter.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation