Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman Silver Bear .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

    By Triggerhappy from USA on 2007-09-25 19:40:40

    Things I liked:Light and a work of art each one near perfect.
    Things I would have changed:nothing, good job beeman
    What others should know:works good in my 2250 and Chinese rifles your results may differ.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0

    By Vick from USA on 2010-03-02 20:26:20

    Things I liked:An OK pellet for underpowered guns. It gives adequate accuracy and expansion at close range.
    Things I would have changed:Weight and velocity vary* too much for long range accuracy, besides which it doesn't have the ballistic efficiency of longer, heavier domed rounds. At 780 fps, the standard deviation is 12.6 fps, relatively high for precision pellets.
    What others should know:Silver Bears turn themselves inside out at close range and give good expansion at longer ranges. However, they are so light they can fail to completely penetrate game animals Since air guns kill by disrupting the central nervous system or by causing hemorage, it is important to go through as much tissue as possible to increase bleeding. If you have a full-power gun and want hollowpoint terminal performance, consider RWS or HN.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Kentucky Airgunner from USA on 2014-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Uniformity, weight and cleanliness.
      What others should know:I shoot these pellets in my Crosman 2240 and they are very accurate. This is the ONLY pellet that I will use in the 2240.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2014-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:price
      What others should know:shoots well in a Benjamin 1100
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By ZippyPop from USA on 2012-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Surprisingly ... my TX200 in 22 loves these things!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I really like this pellet for a variety of uses. From target to small game. wasn't sure I would like it, but I do.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

        By Frank from USA on 2012-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A faster pellet from my Benji Trail NP .22, but accuracy is not that great. Keeping shots within 30 feet will guarantee adequate accuracy--but it's no tack driver. Within the 30 feet, it'll drop vermin--specifically rats and starlings, but it sometimes takes me several shots to connect.
      Things I would have changed:Instead of 200 rounds per tin, I'd advise Beeman to increase it to 500 rounds, and charge a little less. I can't recommend these to serious hunters--stick with heavier pellets in .22, but these would be good for plinking if they were cheaper.
      What others should know:I'd suggest staying with a minimum of 14.5 grains in .22, and maybe an even heavier JSB Jumbo for hunting. I don't think a squirrel will know the difference between 680fps and 720fps when the pellet hits it--but the heavier pellet (especially in my Benji Trail NP .22 is very accurate out to 50 yards [which is its maximum effective hunting range]. I'd rather have a slow moving accurate pellet than a fast moving one that won't consistently group except at near point blank range). Squirrels move too quickly to risk a wild shot due to an inaccurate pellet. These Beemans may work for someone, but they don't work for me.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By Russell from USA on 2012-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good litle pellet
      Things I would have changed:Make them in a heavier grain so they have more knock power (Would to see them in a 18 grain range) Put more in the tin at the same price.
      What others should know:Good for target up to 50 to 75 feet, beyond that not much knock down power. Needs to be a heavier grain. The H&N Crow Pellet 18 + grain is a very good.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By jarbas from USA on 2012-01-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:These are great for my trail np .22 I have tried several others and this is the most consistent.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2011-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:extremely consistent and accurate out to 50. Excellent expansion
      Things I would have changed:500 count and screw on lid
      What others should know:These are proving to be excellent pellets out to 40 for pigeons,squirrels,rats in my Benjamin Trail NP 22cal
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2011-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pellets appear to be uniform, fit snugly in both Crosman 2260 and Tech Force 89. The pellet hits hard, not a one hole pellet yet was okay.
      Things I would have changed:The tin needs a screw on lid
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Dave from USA on 2011-07-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:These pellets are by far the most accurate out of both my NP Trail and Stoeger x20. They shoot faster and flatter than anything else I've tried as well. Like the semi-wadcutter HP shape.- Nice on paper and devistationg on small game.
      Things I would have changed:500 ct tin at a quantity price ( or a lower price on these small tins.) Wish I could trade in all those "485 pellets left" tins I tried before finding these.
      What others should know:After testing 7 different pellets, I found these shot best out of both my 950/fps rated ,mid-power .22 cal springers ( listed above.) Not only do they shoot most accurate but they give me average velocities of 755 +/- FPS in both guns. ( and 16ft-lbs of ME.)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By Dale from USA on 2011-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the answer to my accuracy problem.
      Things I would have changed:Economy of scale! Sell them for less money in 500ct please!!
      What others should know:I bought a Benjamin Trail NP in Dec 2010. I started with the bargain Crosman Premier, 14.3 Grains, HP, 500ct for $8.25. Also the similar (same) Benjamin Discovery 14.3 Grains, HP, 500ct. I did the 300 break in. I was not getting consistent results, groups about .5 inch to 1.2 inches at 60 feet. Frustration! My old crosman pnuematic (peep site) is a tack driver and I won't enjoy a gun that does not hit where I aim. Long story, I got the famous aftermarket trigger. Tried artillery hold and variations. Still little help. Bought 9 more pellet types with various weights. Loctite the screws. Change the scope. Even adjusted tension of the barrel shroud retainer, finally removed the shroud completely (doesn't seem any louder?). My first try with this pellet was after the trigger change, but before all the other changes. It didn't stand out then. After all mods and about 4000 other shots it finally was the pellet that made me smile. Why can't life just be simple? I was thinking about selling the rifle, but now will order more of these pellets (or H & N version for less) instead. I shot 3 groups of 4 under a dime at 60 feet, and largest inside a quarter. Happy camper! Still accurate out to 50 yards. At 100 yards it really blows in the wind. Found two deformed pellets in can.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Philip from USA on 2011-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:absolutely deadly in my RWS Model 36 and 48. Pinpoint accuracy makes one shot kills on 'tree rodents' the normal. Pellets are super consistent in weight and shape.
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING
      What others should know:Buy plenty, you'll be shooting more because the accuracy makes you want to shoot with confidence.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2011-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great pellets, very accurate and they do go super sonic in my Walther Talon Magnum.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:These are made by H&N Sport so if you like that brand, don't be surprised when you have the same results with these pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Haik from USA on 2011-05-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great for my mid-class rifle..
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Judging a pellet varies from rifle to rifle due to their velocity (fps). If the velocity is between 600 fps to 800 fps the Silver Bear is an excellent choice. When the velocity is between 850 fps to 1000 fps you will experience a reduction in accuracy. And if the velocity is between 1100 fps to 1500 fps you will shoot and may miss the target by several inches because the pellet was not engineered to sustain balance at such speeds.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By andrew from USA on 2011-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that these pellets are a little lighter than the 14gr of most .22's. They are very accurate in all the guns I've tried them in, which are Crosman 140, 180, QB78, and EB22. I mean, super accurate, always hit where I'm aiming, always. When I see them after being fired from the 180, I can see where they gripped the rifling. Also like that they're clean, no lead dust or graphite, or whatever that coating is on the Crosman pellets. I must say that they don't flatten or expand as much as I thought they might, but they're my go-to pellet for accuracy, for sure.
      Things I would have changed:Love the pellet themselves, wish they came with a screw on cap tin, find myself putting little pieces of duct tape on the tin, or putting them in an empty gamo tin. I also think that $8 for 200 is a little pricey. There's usually a few in the tin that are badly misshapen, too..not many, but maybe 5-8 out of the 200.
      What others should know:Not as good penetration as a round nose pellet, but thats too be expected with the lighter weight and the flat nose. Because they're a little lighter they definitely don't carry the same power downrange as a 14gr pellet. Great for paper targets and I would hunt squirrel or birds with them, but probably not beyond 20yds. Use a heavier round nose, like the H&N Field Target Special for longer distance hunting, in my opinion..
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-04-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very clean and uniform pellet.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I'm not going to give these a bad review because they didn't shoot well in MY Diana M34/TO6, because in someone else's rifle they might shoot just fine. But in my gun they were all over they place. Thank you very much.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Stephen from USA on 2010-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the lighter weight of these pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Larger tins.
      What others should know:Light enough to come sizzling out of the barrel, but heavy enough to still retain good shooting characteristics.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Marc from USA on 2010-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great design. Dead on at 35 yards. Best pellet I have used in my Remington .22 Nitro.
      Things I would have changed:More pellets in the can...
      What others should know:Very similar in accuracy as H&N wad cutters but with the small hollow point.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

        By Vick from USA on 2010-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:An OK pellet for underpowered guns. It gives adequate accuracy and expansion at close range.
      Things I would have changed:Weight and velocity vary* too much for long range accuracy, besides which it doesn't have the ballistic efficiency of longer, heavier domed rounds. At 780 fps, the standard deviation is 12.6 fps, relatively high for precision pellets.
      What others should know:Silver Bears turn themselves inside out at close range and give good expansion at longer ranges. However, they are so light they can fail to completely penetrate game animals Since air guns kill by disrupting the central nervous system or by causing hemorage, it is important to go through as much tissue as possible to increase bleeding. If you have a full-power gun and want hollowpoint terminal performance, consider RWS or HN.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Dale from USA on 2010-02-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very accurate, uniform in shape and size, shoots very well in my benjamin trail. will shoot in the same hole as h&n 12.65 hp. visually cannot tell the difference.
      Things I would have changed:a lid that stays on the can.
      What others should know:if you have a benjamin trail, get some!!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Talisker55 from USA on 2010-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Well formed and consistent.
      Things I would have changed:Make them more aerodynamic and longer ranged.
      What others should know:Silver Bear pellets are much lighter than Crow Magnums in .20 cal, but about the same weight as the Crow magnum in .25 cal. Haven't tried them in .22 cal yet. In .25 cal they are more accurate than Crow Magnums beyond 35 yards in my BSA Lonestar which is a magnum PCP. In .20 cal in a PCP they are for short range work as the Crow Magnum works better at longer ranges due to the heavier weight. In .20 cal they are good for use inside buildings due to the light weight and limited penetration. In either case, if you want to hit hard at long range, better go with a Baracuda or Kodiak. Hollowpoint pellets are best inside 40 yards even from a magnum PCP rifle. Silver Bears, just like Crow Magnums, will hit lower at long range compared to Kodiaks or Baracudas due to the velocity loss, in spite of their higher initial velocity. That also means less energy into the target, and no expansion will result at that range anyway. Use the Silver Bear for a short range pellet, and you will be OK. Works best in .25 cal for me.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top