Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Golden Rod Long-Range Pellets, Type 3, .177 Cal, 8.5 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 150ct reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

    By carlos from USA on 2011-04-01 18:04:01

    Things I liked:love that these pellets are pointed and are longer than normal size pellets so they are so much better when loading,look like small bullets
    Things I would have changed:make more come in the pack like 300 and color to red so you can see where you shot
    What others should know:good penetration and accurate,if you shoot anythig wooden it will go in but be care full if you shoot thick metal cause these suckers bounce off ,not if you shoot soup cans ,they go right through them
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2009-05-07 18:00:29

    Things I liked:amazing penetration in short range tests. good for a practice load but poor hunting load.
    Things I would have changed:not as accurate as i'd like in long range tests. slow for a non-lead pellet and drops off quickly. The pellet itself is unimpressive looking and I had a tough time taking these things seriously. I'll noy buy these again
    What others should know:These are a pellet that are not to be taken very seriously. the long range is about 40 yards and they drop loke a rock. If you are hunting, get a different pellet.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Edwin from USA on 2014-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:more of the pellet contacts rifling
      Things I would have changed:price
      What others should know:not real good in the wind. they are fun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

        By Ramon from USA on 2013-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great fit in the barrel, held a quarter sized 5 shot grouping at 30 yds indoors.
      Things I would have changed:They need to have more weight. I bet a 10mph crosswind would throw these off by 6+ inches within 40 yards. I get the feeling that very little air pressure builds up behind these in the barrel, as the only thing that holds them snug is the little bit of plastic fin that makes the seal. Does not fit snug and utilize the rifling in the barrel with the actual pellet.
      What others should know:Accurate pellet and decent penetration. I compared these to the copper gamo pellets. The copper pellets outperformed these. Similar accuracy, but the copper pellets had a considerable bit more penetration. I would NOT recommend these for hunting. I nailed a large robin with one of these, and it RAN off (couldn't sustain flight). It's initial reaction was to attempt flight with a 3ft flop in the air. Very inhumane in my opinion, has no knockdown power nor does it create a significant wound. Head shots or heart shots only.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By j from USA on 2013-04-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Big time velocity. Great penetration
      Things I would have changed:Difficult to load. Seam from mold stops cartridge from loading. Quite a few of the rounds could not even be used.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Cody from USA on 2013-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:LEEAD FREE, STEEL DESIGN-WON'T BUCKLE UNDER STRESS, PLASTIC CASING SIGNIFICANTLY REDUCES BARREL DRAG AND DAMAGE, VERY ACCURATE
      Things I would have changed:TOO LONG TO FIT IN MAGAZINE, CARTRIDGE, CLIP.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Jon from USA on 2013-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy,consistency,stoping power,penetration...these things are by far the most accurate and brutal pellets i have ever shot, the fit in the gun is perfect, the consistent shape is on par best buy i have made yet
      Things I would have changed:absolutely nothing
      What others should know:i am using a crosman fury none nitro piston .17 cal
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Less leading of the environment. Better penetration than lead pellets in the same weight class.
      Things I would have changed:Accuracy doesn't meet my criteria for acceptable long range performance.
      What others should know:These do penetrate better than lead. They are accurate enough, in my guns, for short range hunting. I had to try them out. Too specialized for me to shoot many more of them.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Frankie from USA on 2012-06-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great Pellets!Fantastic accuracy, velocity, and penatration!They went clear through five inches of wax based modeling clay and stuck into the cardboard on my Crosman target trap that I was using as a backer at 15 yards with my (1200fps) Crosman Storm XT break barrel!The pellet's plastic casing was still intact with no damage to the pellet,accept for rifling marks.No other pellets I have tried with this test at the same distance would go clear though the five inches of modeling clay.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:If you're looking for pellets with knock-down power and expansion,these "are not" what you want;but if you want penetration,high velocity and, accuracy;these are Great in my opinion!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By SMBH999 from USA on 2012-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The shape and weight. I love these in .22cal.
      Things I would have changed:I don't know why, but the .177 version of this pellet does not offer the accuracy or penetration of the .22cal version. Performance is good, just not great like in .22cal.
      What others should know:If you try these and aren't that excited about their performance, try them in 22cal because those red missles are the size these pellets perform the best.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

        By Jim from USA on 2012-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Decent penetration even on a low power Gamo
      Things I would have changed:Accuracy was the most variable of any AMMO we've ever tested in our Beeman RS2 and Gamo Recon Whisper
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By scott from USA on 2011-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Pretty fast, pretty accurate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Eva from USA on 2011-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:My MP 513M in .177 calliber loves these pellets. I can hit a golf ball over and over from 30 yards. I really like how the longer shape helps me seat them. The quality of each pellet is amazing. I have not seen one defective pellet. MOST OF ALL THEY ARE LEAD FREE!
      Things I would have changed:Price and tin count. For the current price I'd like to get more bang for my buck. Or I guess lower the price if the tin count is goin to stay at 150.
      What others should know:These hit extreamly hard and do not deform. Watch what you fire these babys at. I'm sure this pellet would be great for hunting.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

        By Louis from USA on 2011-07-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Looking for a nice long range pellet this one did not fit the bill.Did not work in my Diana34p could not group at 10 & 20 & 30yds.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By carlos from USA on 2011-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:love that these pellets are pointed and are longer than normal size pellets so they are so much better when loading,look like small bullets
      Things I would have changed:make more come in the pack like 300 and color to red so you can see where you shot
      What others should know:good penetration and accurate,if you shoot anythig wooden it will go in but be care full if you shoot thick metal cause these suckers bounce off ,not if you shoot soup cans ,they go right through them
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i'm reviting these with a paraffin ballistics target. I can definitely say these penetrated the paraffin target better than any other lead free pellet I have tested. It passed through the target and had enough energy to also make a dent in a wood backstop and bounce so I had to search for it. What it did do was retain it's form so well it could potentially be reused, although it's not recommended. What it did not do was any serious damage as it passed through the target. The hole was clean and a uniform 4.5mm front to back.
      Things I would have changed:I'd not recommend these for hunting. These are more of an indoor range shot. A breeze will throw these off target in a hurry.
      What others should know:good for indoor 10 meter, poor for hunting and field target.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Jeremy from USA on 2011-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:These pellets fit the chamber very well and seem to be quite accurate with excellent penetration.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change anything.
      What others should know:They are fairly quiet therefore I would guess they are not actually hypersonic. As fast as a lead round but at least they are lead free.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2010-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Michigan is leading the charge to outlaw lead in fishing weights and ammo. Being a serious hunter I'm opposed to this since I have not found too many lead free pellets I like, but I try them as I discover them. I got these with the high hopes I found a decent lead free pellet with a low cost. I tried these in several air rifles including one of my favorites that's out of production now, the tech force 6. I found these not only have an issue with size (sometimes I find a few that are just a bit too big to fit), but even with a high power rifle they are inaccurate, have low penetration and surprisingly close drop off. They just don't fly all that well. The more power I put on them the worse they seem to get. I doubt I'll buy more when my current supply is finished.
      Things I would have changed:I can't think of a cure for these things. They look cool though. My theory is these have too much surface area in contact with the air when they are fired, which creates too much friction and acts as a brake on the pellet.
      What others should know:Not the best pellets I have tried.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2010-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:no lead residue!
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2009-05-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:amazing penetration in short range tests. good for a practice load but poor hunting load.
      Things I would have changed:not as accurate as i'd like in long range tests. slow for a non-lead pellet and drops off quickly. The pellet itself is unimpressive looking and I had a tough time taking these things seriously. I'll noy buy these again
      What others should know:These are a pellet that are not to be taken very seriously. the long range is about 40 yards and they drop loke a rock. If you are hunting, get a different pellet.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2008-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:THESE ARE A FUN PELLET. I bought these because....I hate to admit it.......They looked cool. Well, this is what I found. These pellets are just fun. I wouldn't hunt or target with them as I don't find them that accurate. They will rip through a lot of stuff, if that's what you want. Penetration is amazing, and they are "fairly" accurate. They will drift, but, regardless of the drift, I still like these pellets. I would recommend these to anyone just for fun.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe they could be offered in a heavier grain. That might make them more accurate.
      What others should know:Make sure you know what's behind your target......I'm not saying you will miss, but more that, these things go through stuff more than your regular pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

        By Leo from USA on 2008-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awesome penetration, lead free, look cool.
      Things I would have changed:Offer a larger tin, they can be a bit inaccurate.
      What others should know:These pellets are great. They have ridiculous penetration and are fairly accurate. I have a Gamo Shadow 640 (640 fps) and these will punch through just about anything you can put in front of them, even with the low power. The first day I got them I shot a spaypaint can. The pellet went right through the side of it, and the can took off like a rocket. It was amazing to see the power of these pellets, not to mention the fireworks that resulted after the can took off. This was really impressive because of the power of my gun. But they can be a little drifty. At 20 feet I shot a cluster of about 2 inches. This may also be due to the low power of my gun. Regardless of the drift, I love these pellets. They have incredible power and superb penetration. I would recomend these to anyone who wants a fun pellet.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top