Golden Rod Long-Range Pellets, Type 3, .177 Cal, 8.5 Grains, Pointed, Lead-Free, 150ct reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By carlos from USA on 2011-04-01 18:04:01

Things I liked: love that these pellets are pointed and are longer than normal size pellets so they are so much better when loading,look like small bullets

Things I would have changed: make more come in the pack like 300 and color to red so you can see where you shot

What others should know: good penetration and accurate,if you shoot anythig wooden it will go in but be care full if you shoot thick metal cause these suckers bounce off ,not if you shoot soup cans ,they go right through them

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2009-05-07 18:00:29

Things I liked: amazing penetration in short range tests. good for a practice load but poor hunting load.

Things I would have changed: not as accurate as i'd like in long range tests. slow for a non-lead pellet and drops off quickly. The pellet itself is unimpressive looking and I had a tough time taking these things seriously. I'll noy buy these again

What others should know: These are a pellet that are not to be taken very seriously. the long range is about 40 yards and they drop loke a rock. If you are hunting, get a different pellet.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2015-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Slightly longer than lead pellets, and therefor easier to handle. Work well in my Crosman springer rifle and 1377 pistol.

    Things I would have changed: price per pellet

    What others should know: I tried these plastic sabot type pellets with the idea that they might be more uniform with a plastic body than lead, and would give more consistent ballistics. I have NOT found that to be so. These are OK, and if you live in a state where lead is not allowed, these are a good alternative. But for the money, I'll stick with lead.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edwin from USA on 2014-03-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: more of the pellet contacts rifling

    Things I would have changed: price

    What others should know: not real good in the wind. they are fun to shoot.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ramon from USA on 2013-04-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great fit in the barrel, held a quarter sized 5 shot grouping at 30 yds indoors.

    Things I would have changed: They need to have more weight. I bet a 10mph crosswind would throw these off by 6+ inches within 40 yards. I get the feeling that very little air pressure builds up behind these in the barrel, as the only thing that holds them snug is the little bit of plastic fin that makes the seal. Does not fit snug and utilize the rifling in the barrel with the actual pellet.

    What others should know: Accurate pellet and decent penetration. I compared these to the copper gamo pellets. The copper pellets outperformed these. Similar accuracy, but the copper pellets had a considerable bit more penetration. I would NOT recommend these for hunting. I nailed a large robin with one of these, and it RAN off (couldn't sustain flight). It's initial reaction was to attempt flight with a 3ft flop in the air. Very inhumane in my opinion, has no knockdown power nor does it create a significant wound. Head shots or heart shots only.

  • 2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By j from USA on 2013-04-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Big time velocity. Great penetration

    Things I would have changed: Difficult to load. Seam from mold stops cartridge from loading. Quite a few of the rounds could not even be used.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cody from USA on 2013-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: LEEAD FREE, STEEL DESIGN-WON'T BUCKLE UNDER STRESS, PLASTIC CASING SIGNIFICANTLY REDUCES BARREL DRAG AND DAMAGE, VERY ACCURATE

    Things I would have changed: TOO LONG TO FIT IN MAGAZINE, CARTRIDGE, CLIP.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jon from USA on 2013-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: accuracy,consistency,stoping power,penetration...these things are by far the most accurate and brutal pellets i have ever shot, the fit in the gun is perfect, the consistent shape is on par best buy i have made yet

    Things I would have changed: absolutely nothing

    What others should know: i am using a crosman fury none nitro piston .17 cal

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Less leading of the environment. Better penetration than lead pellets in the same weight class.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy doesn't meet my criteria for acceptable long range performance.

    What others should know: These do penetrate better than lead. They are accurate enough, in my guns, for short range hunting. I had to try them out. Too specialized for me to shoot many more of them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frankie from USA on 2012-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great Pellets!Fantastic accuracy, velocity, and penatration!They went clear through five inches of wax based modeling clay and stuck into the cardboard on my Crosman target trap that I was using as a backer at 15 yards with my (1200fps) Crosman Storm XT break barrel!The pellet's plastic casing was still intact with no damage to the pellet,accept for rifling marks.No other pellets I have tried with this test at the same distance would go clear though the five inches of modeling clay.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: If you're looking for pellets with knock-down power and expansion,these "are not" what you want;but if you want penetration,high velocity and, accuracy;these are Great in my opinion!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By SMBH999 from USA on 2012-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The shape and weight. I love these in .22cal.

    Things I would have changed: I don't know why, but the .177 version of this pellet does not offer the accuracy or penetration of the .22cal version. Performance is good, just not great like in .22cal.

    What others should know: If you try these and aren't that excited about their performance, try them in 22cal because those red missles are the size these pellets perform the best.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jim from USA on 2012-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Decent penetration even on a low power Gamo

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy was the most variable of any AMMO we've ever tested in our Beeman RS2 and Gamo Recon Whisper

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By scott from USA on 2011-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pretty fast, pretty accurate.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eva from USA on 2011-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: My MP 513M in .177 calliber loves these pellets. I can hit a golf ball over and over from 30 yards. I really like how the longer shape helps me seat them. The quality of each pellet is amazing. I have not seen one defective pellet. MOST OF ALL THEY ARE LEAD FREE!

    Things I would have changed: Price and tin count. For the current price I'd like to get more bang for my buck. Or I guess lower the price if the tin count is goin to stay at 150.

    What others should know: These hit extreamly hard and do not deform. Watch what you fire these babys at. I'm sure this pellet would be great for hunting.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Louis from USA on 2011-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Looking for a nice long range pellet this one did not fit the bill.Did not work in my Diana34p could not group at 10 & 20 & 30yds.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By carlos from USA on 2011-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: love that these pellets are pointed and are longer than normal size pellets so they are so much better when loading,look like small bullets

    Things I would have changed: make more come in the pack like 300 and color to red so you can see where you shot

    What others should know: good penetration and accurate,if you shoot anythig wooden it will go in but be care full if you shoot thick metal cause these suckers bounce off ,not if you shoot soup cans ,they go right through them

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: i'm reviting these with a paraffin ballistics target. I can definitely say these penetrated the paraffin target better than any other lead free pellet I have tested. It passed through the target and had enough energy to also make a dent in a wood backstop and bounce so I had to search for it. What it did do was retain it's form so well it could potentially be reused, although it's not recommended. What it did not do was any serious damage as it passed through the target. The hole was clean and a uniform 4.5mm front to back.

    Things I would have changed: I'd not recommend these for hunting. These are more of an indoor range shot. A breeze will throw these off target in a hurry.

    What others should know: good for indoor 10 meter, poor for hunting and field target.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeremy from USA on 2011-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: These pellets fit the chamber very well and seem to be quite accurate with excellent penetration.

    Things I would have changed: I wouldn't change anything.

    What others should know: They are fairly quiet therefore I would guess they are not actually hypersonic. As fast as a lead round but at least they are lead free.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2010-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Michigan is leading the charge to outlaw lead in fishing weights and ammo. Being a serious hunter I'm opposed to this since I have not found too many lead free pellets I like, but I try them as I discover them. I got these with the high hopes I found a decent lead free pellet with a low cost. I tried these in several air rifles including one of my favorites that's out of production now, the tech force 6. I found these not only have an issue with size (sometimes I find a few that are just a bit too big to fit), but even with a high power rifle they are inaccurate, have low penetration and surprisingly close drop off. They just don't fly all that well. The more power I put on them the worse they seem to get. I doubt I'll buy more when my current supply is finished.

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of a cure for these things. They look cool though. My theory is these have too much surface area in contact with the air when they are fired, which creates too much friction and acts as a brake on the pellet.

    What others should know: Not the best pellets I have tried.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2010-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: no lead residue!

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2009-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Things I liked: amazing penetration in short range tests. good for a practice load but poor hunting load.

    Things I would have changed: not as accurate as i'd like in long range tests. slow for a non-lead pellet and drops off quickly. The pellet itself is unimpressive looking and I had a tough time taking these things seriously. I'll noy buy these again

    What others should know: These are a pellet that are not to be taken very seriously. the long range is about 40 yards and they drop loke a rock. If you are hunting, get a different pellet.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2008-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: THESE ARE A FUN PELLET. I bought these because....I hate to admit it.......They looked cool. Well, this is what I found. These pellets are just fun. I wouldn't hunt or target with them as I don't find them that accurate. They will rip through a lot of stuff, if that's what you want. Penetration is amazing, and they are "fairly" accurate. They will drift, but, regardless of the drift, I still like these pellets. I would recommend these to anyone just for fun.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe they could be offered in a heavier grain. That might make them more accurate.

    What others should know: Make sure you know what's behind your target......I'm not saying you will miss, but more that, these things go through stuff more than your regular pellets.

  • 12 Next
Navigation