Benjamin & Sheridan Repair Kit, Fits Some Pre-1995 Multi-Pump Guns w/Soldered Valve reviews - page 3

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ryn0909 from USA on 2007-09-24 13:42:34

Things I liked:Fits both .177 and .22 cal rifles. Pretty easy to install for the mechanically inclined
Things I would have changed:Nothing
What others should know:Clean the air chamber (where the piston slides in and out ) thoroughly, make sure there are no nics or burrs. Apply a thin coat of grease to all parts (rubber and metal) during assembly.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Douglas from USA on 2014-09-08 06:03:05

Things I liked:the tool is nice, well blued, and some of the parts fit.
Things I would have changed:The one critical part is the rubber gasket. Apparently this is not a universal part and does not fit my gun. I see no option to order the correct gasket.
What others should know:Before ordering the kit, I verified that my gun matched the description of the gun the kit was designed for. The one critical part is the rubber pump gasket. Apparently this is not a universal part for these airguns. The gasket supplied has a flat bottom, and my gun requires a gasket with a 1/4 inch hole (depression). There is no way the gasket can be adapted since it is too thin in the middle to modify. This appears to be an exercise in futility and a total waste of money. If I cannot find the correct gasket online, I will be forced to machine a new part for my gun to accept the gasket supplied.
Sort by:
  • « Previous 123456 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By john from USA on 2012-08-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:good kit
    Things I would have changed:directions were shitty
    What others should know:beter directions with good pictures
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Bryan from USA on 2012-08-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The kit works and is a fair price; fitting is not easy or simple due to the original design. Be particularly careful not to crossthread the fine threads on re-installation. A whole lot easier after you have done it once!
    Things I would have changed:Instructions could be better as others have said, but there is more than enough on the web to oversome the rough bits.
    What others should know:IMHO keeping the old Sheridans operating is well worth the effort.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2012-06-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It worked.This is a 40 years old Sheridan Silver Streak that I have hung onto for 10 years hoping I would be able to restore it. I refinished the stock while it was a part and now it looks good and shoots great. Thanks
    Things I would have changed:Documentation poorly copied and confusing. I found an orginal owners manual online that had instructions. Still not clear until you do it once. The plastic split ring did not seat correctly and got mangled so i reverted to orginal lead ring. This part needs redesign, IMO.
    What others should know:Get the owners manual offline. Much better instructions.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from United Kingdom on 2012-05-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It works! This kit fixed my old Benjamin 342. The tool works very well, the seals fit it's all good! The PTFE valve body seal works a treat, I had to hook the old lead seal out with a pick and clean the seating surface. There's a pellet probe 'O' ring that's not needed on the 342 (no 'O' ring fitted on these), but what the heck. Please don't complain about the price of this kit, it's a proper bargain - you should try living in the UK! e.g. a new Bluestreak in the UK costs £300, that's about $475 - I kid you not! I'll put another 4 kits on back order, yes I think they're jolly good.
    Things I would have changed:The $50+ shipping charge to the UK, then I got hammered by Her Majesty's Customs and excise (bless the old girl)
    What others should know:So it fits my old 342, and it looks like it'll fit my HB20 pumper pistol too. I haven't taken the valve gear apart to check, but it's got the same square valve end cap as the 342. PA's customer support said "rifles only" but I reckon it'll fit.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Garry from USA on 2012-05-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is the second kit I have purchased. Everything worked out pretty well and the reseal was successful. I did have to purchase an O-ring to replace the deteriorated front fiber gasket/seal (not provided in the kit and suggested in the instructions)
    Things I would have changed:Sell just the repair parts for those customers who already have the valve nut tool to save a few dollars. The teflon ring provided with the kit is really fragile (mine was cracked in the package). Provide an exact replacement for the lead seal. I would be willing to pay a bit more to get exact replacement parts in fit and materials.
    What others should know:You can search the web and find more descriptive instructions (with photos) than those provided in the kit for resealing your rifle.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Spencer from USA on 2012-04-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The tool is well made and works very well. The inlet valve seal did not work in my rifle a Model "C" (Racine) serial number 314XXX (1980). This was a disapointment as the main problem with the rifle was at the inlet seal. I used a modified faucet washer instead on the original brass support, worked perfectly. My lead seal was still OK so I can not comment on the use of the white pastic ring that is substituted in this kit but I have my doubts. Instructions are near worthless but Airgun Blog has perfect directions with photos.
    Things I would have changed:Needs to be available without the tool for the next rifle to be resealed.
    What others should know:This is not job for someone who has not been inside an airgun before. Job requires at least moderate skill and experience.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Mike from USA on 2012-03-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Valve tool, Inlet & exhuast valve seals & spring
    Things I would have changed:The thin white seal that replaces the lead seal did not hold air well. The pump cup does not fit the older 310-317 models with the hole in the middle of the cup, so it would be good to offer this option too.
    What others should know:I ordered the older pump cup seal and lead seal from J.G. Airgun. A good substitute for the lead seal is Danco brand TEF valve packing rope 3/32" from Home Depot. Cut a piece slightly longer than than the inside diameter of the valve,overlap the ends and install the brass nut. It is self forming and holds air great.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By pvr from USA on 2012-03-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Service tech eager to help with advice and instructions on installation
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Bobby from USA on 2012-03-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Economical solution for the DIY mechanic. Well made tool. Adequate instructions for the experienced mechanic.
    Things I would have changed:Offer the seals and spring as a refill. I now have two tools because I needed to fix two rifles. Also offering the kit for Benjamin 347s which use a different piston cup and slightly different discharge valve.
    What others should know:An air rifle press is handy to put these parts in. The discharge valve spring has considerable compression, using an air rifle press will allow the mechanic to feel the threads engaging. If the discharge valve is cross-threaded, the rifle is ruined.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By John from USA on 2012-02-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The fact that a repair kit is available.
    Things I would have changed:That white split washer is not worth a damn. I was able to reuse the lead washer in one of my guns; I haven't figured out what to do in the other gun as I cannot screw the parts back together with the white washer. Instructions could be a lot more detailed, especially for someone who has never done this before.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By jerry from USA on 2011-12-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It appears that everything I needed was in there. It scared me because it didn't work for awhile. It took a rather thorough oiling and burning it to seat right. It works fine now.
    Things I would have changed:The instructions (lack thereof) are horrible. You could use some thing to really know what you are doing. I searched the internet to compensate... still not very good.
    What others should know:Glad I found you. I rebuilt a gun that I had for 50 years.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Dave from USA on 2011-12-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:All parts needed were there to fix my old sheridan.
    Things I would have changed:Would like the parts available in a seperate kit without tool. I have 2 tools now. Also more detailed instructions on how to install plastic seal that replaces old lead seal.
    What others should know:Keep trying to get that plastic seal in right and reverse the domed nut so flat side is down against plastic seal.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Fred from USA on 2011-11-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:1. I used this kit to repair my pre-1960 Sheridan Blue Streak. It shoots great, once again. 2. Relating the 1 and 2-digit part numbers of the kit's six replacement parts, with the part numbers and part drawings of the illustrated parts breakdown page, made things easier.
    Things I would have changed:I would improve the instructions to include some details as follows: 1. Kit item #30 (part #10010 - intake valve assy). This small item looks like a 1/2" diameter button, and didn't come out at first. I came close to not getting it out, since it didn't drop out at first. It would have helped to add instructions for removing this part (something to the effect of "push with thin straight wire from muzzle end of air tube, using a flashlight to locate the small center hole at the front of the air valve assy, about 18" down from the muzzle end, through which to push the wire"). Installing the new item #30 should make clear that the rubber side is toward the muzzle; the metal side is toward the breech. This isn't real obvious because in my case, the part just dropped out finally, and you have no way to know for sure which side was forward, although when you figure out its function and placement, it does make sense that the rubber seal should be forward. 2. Kit item #27 (part # 68AT-032 - lead valve guide gasket originally). This is a white (plastic?) ring. I thought it was defective (slit open at one point). It was not defective; instead, the slit, at a 45 degree angle, is there intentionally, so its diameter can vary on installation. Making that clear in the instructions would have prevented my unneccesarily calling Pyramyd to report a defective part. By the time I talked to Pyramyd, I had already followed another poster's suggestion, and had used a 5/8"x1/2"x1/16" rubber o-ring from Menard's in place of the supplied white plastic ring (or original lead gasket). So far, so good. I can still install the white ring, or even try re-installing the gun's original lead gasket, if the rubber substitute fails.
    What others should know:(See "things I would change", above) 1. My pre-1960 Blue Streak does not use kit item #19 (the tiny o-ring). My bolt is not grooved for it. Never knew there was a grooved bolt, until I looked at a later Blue Streak at a gunshop. 2. Stacy at Pyramyd is extremely competent and helpful. I called a couple times with questions; she returned my calls and was most helpful and knowledgeable about these kits and repairs.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Richard from USA on 2011-11-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice to be able to get the parts for my Sheridan
    Things I would have changed:I was happy with everything except the split ring seal.After messing it up I used the old lead seal and it went in with no problem and works fine . It would be better if there was a seal made so that it did dot expand ,one that would hold it's circumference .
    What others should know:Many people in the blogs said they needed a socket for the 1/8 head screw in the bolt. Take an allen set screw , grind down the threads on the outside so it will ft in the recess and then cut a screwdriver slot in the other end . Perfect fit and works fine.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Dale from USA on 2011-11-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Works like it should to repair older benjanin air rifles.
    Things I would have changed:Sell the kit without the tool for people who have more than one gun to repair.I have repaired several guns over the years and already have three tools.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By jesus from USA on 2011-10-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:includes instructions as well as the need tool
    Things I would have changed:none
    What others should know:there are additional parts that may need to be replaced that are not included in this kit
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By C. Towery from USA on 2011-10-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Kit contained most of the parts needed and a tool without which disassembly and reassembly would be be impossible. Thanks to this kit I'm finally able to restore my trusty old Sheridan.
    Things I would have changed:As others have stated instructions are marginal and the kits lacks replacements for the valve guide gaskets. Add a tool for removal of the bolt locking lug or provide instructions for removal and information on proper tool required.
    What others should know:The forward valve guide seal on my 1983 vintage Sheridan C disintegrated upon disassembly. I expect this would be a common problem but there is no replacement in the kit. One reviewer suggests replacement with a # 6 "O" ring but I could not get the valve guide retainer nut to thread using the "O" ring. I bought some thin gasket material at the local auto parts store and made a new gasket ( a bit difficult but succeeded on the second try). I replaced the lead gasket with an "O" ring and it seems to work well. I recommend you not attempt removal of the bolt retainer lug unless you have the proper size (appears to be 1/8 in.) socket or nut driver (good luck in finding one). The retainer lug on my gun is slotted for screw driver so lacking a 1/8 nut driver or socket , I attempted it with a screw driver. Don't do it, the lug may be extremely tight . I stopped short of seriously damaging the head and I am now awaiting delivery of a 1/8 in nut driver. I don't know if it is possible to replace the bolt seal without removing the bolt but I didn't want to risk damaging the replacement. Meanwhile I have a leak around the bolt gasket so haven't been able to properly test my reseal job. The other seals seem to be working. Downloading the exploded view from the Crosman site as others have suggested definitely makes the job easier.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By John from USA on 2011-09-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Adequate equipment and supplies for re-sealing an older air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Need a (very hard to find) 1/8 in nut driver, or option to purchase same. You can't easily find them, and one is needed to do the bolt. Also, the instructions aren't clear enough. There is an online link to an old Sheridan shop manual that would be VERY helpful to include.
    What others should know:One just might be able to increase performance with one of the old "turbo valves" from the PMI PGP early paintball era, if you can find one.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By CL from USA on 2011-09-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Sheradin Tool.
    Things I would have changed:Needs better plastic O ring? Brass? Copper? There is an O ring on the valve that doesnt come in the kit. My Sheradin needed it replaced. The price needs to be dropped to $15, include the 1/8" spring bolt tool and oil if customers are going to pay almost $30 for a reapair kit..
    What others should know:Dont put to much pressure on that plastic ring, it WILL Break just as mine did...
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Tom in Texas from USA on 2011-09-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I was able to fix a .20 cal I have had since 1975..
    Things I would have changed:Throw in tube of oil..
  • « Previous 123456 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top