Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin & Sheridan Repair Kit, Fits Some Pre-1995 Multi-Pump Guns w/Soldered Valve reviews - page 3

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By ryn0909 from USA on 2007-09-24 13:42:34

    Things I liked:Fits both .177 and .22 cal rifles. Pretty easy to install for the mechanically inclined
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Clean the air chamber (where the piston slides in and out ) thoroughly, make sure there are no nics or burrs. Apply a thin coat of grease to all parts (rubber and metal) during assembly.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2014-09-08 06:03:05

    Things I liked:the tool is nice, well blued, and some of the parts fit.
    Things I would have changed:The one critical part is the rubber gasket. Apparently this is not a universal part and does not fit my gun. I see no option to order the correct gasket.
    What others should know:Before ordering the kit, I verified that my gun matched the description of the gun the kit was designed for. The one critical part is the rubber pump gasket. Apparently this is not a universal part for these airguns. The gasket supplied has a flat bottom, and my gun requires a gasket with a 1/4 inch hole (depression). There is no way the gasket can be adapted since it is too thin in the middle to modify. This appears to be an exercise in futility and a total waste of money. If I cannot find the correct gasket online, I will be forced to machine a new part for my gun to accept the gasket supplied.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By John from USA on 2012-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The fact that a repair kit is available.
      Things I would have changed:That white split washer is not worth a damn. I was able to reuse the lead washer in one of my guns; I haven't figured out what to do in the other gun as I cannot screw the parts back together with the white washer. Instructions could be a lot more detailed, especially for someone who has never done this before.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It appears that everything I needed was in there. It scared me because it didn't work for awhile. It took a rather thorough oiling and burning it to seat right. It works fine now.
      Things I would have changed:The instructions (lack thereof) are horrible. You could use some thing to really know what you are doing. I searched the internet to compensate... still not very good.
      What others should know:Glad I found you. I rebuilt a gun that I had for 50 years.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Dave from USA on 2011-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:All parts needed were there to fix my old sheridan.
      Things I would have changed:Would like the parts available in a seperate kit without tool. I have 2 tools now. Also more detailed instructions on how to install plastic seal that replaces old lead seal.
      What others should know:Keep trying to get that plastic seal in right and reverse the domed nut so flat side is down against plastic seal.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Fred from USA on 2011-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:1. I used this kit to repair my pre-1960 Sheridan Blue Streak. It shoots great, once again. 2. Relating the 1 and 2-digit part numbers of the kit's six replacement parts, with the part numbers and part drawings of the illustrated parts breakdown page, made things easier.
      Things I would have changed:I would improve the instructions to include some details as follows: 1. Kit item #30 (part #10010 - intake valve assy). This small item looks like a 1/2" diameter button, and didn't come out at first. I came close to not getting it out, since it didn't drop out at first. It would have helped to add instructions for removing this part (something to the effect of "push with thin straight wire from muzzle end of air tube, using a flashlight to locate the small center hole at the front of the air valve assy, about 18" down from the muzzle end, through which to push the wire"). Installing the new item #30 should make clear that the rubber side is toward the muzzle; the metal side is toward the breech. This isn't real obvious because in my case, the part just dropped out finally, and you have no way to know for sure which side was forward, although when you figure out its function and placement, it does make sense that the rubber seal should be forward. 2. Kit item #27 (part # 68AT-032 - lead valve guide gasket originally). This is a white (plastic?) ring. I thought it was defective (slit open at one point). It was not defective; instead, the slit, at a 45 degree angle, is there intentionally, so its diameter can vary on installation. Making that clear in the instructions would have prevented my unneccesarily calling Pyramyd to report a defective part. By the time I talked to Pyramyd, I had already followed another poster's suggestion, and had used a 5/8"x1/2"x1/16" rubber o-ring from Menard's in place of the supplied white plastic ring (or original lead gasket). So far, so good. I can still install the white ring, or even try re-installing the gun's original lead gasket, if the rubber substitute fails.
      What others should know:(See "things I would change", above) 1. My pre-1960 Blue Streak does not use kit item #19 (the tiny o-ring). My bolt is not grooved for it. Never knew there was a grooved bolt, until I looked at a later Blue Streak at a gunshop. 2. Stacy at Pyramyd is extremely competent and helpful. I called a couple times with questions; she returned my calls and was most helpful and knowledgeable about these kits and repairs.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2011-11-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice to be able to get the parts for my Sheridan
      Things I would have changed:I was happy with everything except the split ring seal.After messing it up I used the old lead seal and it went in with no problem and works fine . It would be better if there was a seal made so that it did dot expand ,one that would hold it's circumference .
      What others should know:Many people in the blogs said they needed a socket for the 1/8 head screw in the bolt. Take an allen set screw , grind down the threads on the outside so it will ft in the recess and then cut a screwdriver slot in the other end . Perfect fit and works fine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Dale from USA on 2011-11-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Works like it should to repair older benjanin air rifles.
      Things I would have changed:Sell the kit without the tool for people who have more than one gun to repair.I have repaired several guns over the years and already have three tools.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By jesus from USA on 2011-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:includes instructions as well as the need tool
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:there are additional parts that may need to be replaced that are not included in this kit
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By C. Towery from USA on 2011-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Kit contained most of the parts needed and a tool without which disassembly and reassembly would be be impossible. Thanks to this kit I'm finally able to restore my trusty old Sheridan.
      Things I would have changed:As others have stated instructions are marginal and the kits lacks replacements for the valve guide gaskets. Add a tool for removal of the bolt locking lug or provide instructions for removal and information on proper tool required.
      What others should know:The forward valve guide seal on my 1983 vintage Sheridan C disintegrated upon disassembly. I expect this would be a common problem but there is no replacement in the kit. One reviewer suggests replacement with a # 6 "O" ring but I could not get the valve guide retainer nut to thread using the "O" ring. I bought some thin gasket material at the local auto parts store and made a new gasket ( a bit difficult but succeeded on the second try). I replaced the lead gasket with an "O" ring and it seems to work well. I recommend you not attempt removal of the bolt retainer lug unless you have the proper size (appears to be 1/8 in.) socket or nut driver (good luck in finding one). The retainer lug on my gun is slotted for screw driver so lacking a 1/8 nut driver or socket , I attempted it with a screw driver. Don't do it, the lug may be extremely tight . I stopped short of seriously damaging the head and I am now awaiting delivery of a 1/8 in nut driver. I don't know if it is possible to replace the bolt seal without removing the bolt but I didn't want to risk damaging the replacement. Meanwhile I have a leak around the bolt gasket so haven't been able to properly test my reseal job. The other seals seem to be working. Downloading the exploded view from the Crosman site as others have suggested definitely makes the job easier.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2011-09-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Adequate equipment and supplies for re-sealing an older air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Need a (very hard to find) 1/8 in nut driver, or option to purchase same. You can't easily find them, and one is needed to do the bolt. Also, the instructions aren't clear enough. There is an online link to an old Sheridan shop manual that would be VERY helpful to include.
      What others should know:One just might be able to increase performance with one of the old "turbo valves" from the PMI PGP early paintball era, if you can find one.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By CL from USA on 2011-09-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Sheradin Tool.
      Things I would have changed:Needs better plastic O ring? Brass? Copper? There is an O ring on the valve that doesnt come in the kit. My Sheradin needed it replaced. The price needs to be dropped to $15, include the 1/8" spring bolt tool and oil if customers are going to pay almost $30 for a reapair kit..
      What others should know:Dont put to much pressure on that plastic ring, it WILL Break just as mine did...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Tom in Texas from USA on 2011-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I was able to fix a .20 cal I have had since 1975..
      Things I would have changed:Throw in tube of oil..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-09-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I was very happy with the service & product. It was the second time I've used this sight and will surely return if the need arises. I would also highly recommend this sight to family & friends.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Jeffrey from USA on 2011-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Almost nothing.
      Things I would have changed:Almost everything. Where do I start? The bolt sealing O-ring was a tad too small. The valve plunger surface was slightly rough, and had a "grinding" feel when it operated. The air piston end cup was near impossible to install, although this was due to the miserable instructions, and the complete lack of advise on how to remove the old one. the springs are ok, the real valve seal can go in either way, once again the incomplete instructions do not indicate which way is correct. the split plastic seal that is supposed to replace the lead seal at the top of the valve is a joke, throw it away immediately, and CAREFULLY attempt to re-use the lead seal. Once again, instructions are useless here.
      What others should know:This kit might work on other airguns with lots of modification, re-using the 45 year old lead seal, (a new one of which is NOT included in this kit), and possibly putting in lots of black perm-a -tex to seal it up. (mentioned in another review) It sure didn't fix mine. How this can be called a "repair kit" with out the main valve seal is beyond reason.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By frangcamm from USA on 2011-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:quick ship
      Things I would have changed:need to put some real instructions in with the package
      What others should know:dont know if it was really worth the money
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-08-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the kit is not that hard to use
      Things I would have changed:better directions would be nice. and going back to the lead ring instead of the POS plastic ring that was twisted in my kit.
      What others should know:take your time with this kit, the ring can break very easily.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The tool is the best part of the package
      Things I would have changed:Instructions were non-existent. Just watch how everything comes out of the valve body and good luck getting the threads to start on the valve cap when you try to re assemble it without mashing the lead seal.
      What others should know:It's a fairly complete kit. The Benji I rebuilt for a neighbor shoots like new again. This kit doesn't come with a new lead seal, so if yours has one, be careful when you remove the old one. You will probably need it. I had to turn down the valve button (spring side) in my lathe so the spring would fit. The pump cup is solid, you may have to drill out the new one to fit your pump. The tool worked flawlessly
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Eric from USA on 2011-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Benjamin 342 shoots like new again.
      Things I would have changed:Better diagram needed.
      What others should know:It took me about 3 hours and you need a workshop with a vise. Dont forget to keep one pump in it when you are done. Its not easy but better than laying out a bunch of money for a new gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2011-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got it right a way, the kit is all you need
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:I did repair an old Sheridan made back on 1983-1984, the repair kit was the difference (excellent)
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Removal tool works.
      Things I would have changed:Vague instructions
      What others should know:You probably only the piston seal but have to buy the whole kit here.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Jim from USA on 2011-04-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:shipping was good
      Things I would have changed: bolt locking stud tool is needed and better instructions
      What others should know:My 1979 Sheridan has a bolt locking stud, kit doesn't have the tool to remove and replacing the o ring was a bear. A few of the new parts wouldn't work
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top