Benjamin & Sheridan Repair Kit, Fits Some Pre-1995 Multi-Pump Guns w/Soldered Valve reviews - page 8

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ryn0909 from USA on 2007-09-24 13:42:34

Things I liked:Fits both .177 and .22 cal rifles. Pretty easy to install for the mechanically inclined
Things I would have changed:Nothing
What others should know:Clean the air chamber (where the piston slides in and out ) thoroughly, make sure there are no nics or burrs. Apply a thin coat of grease to all parts (rubber and metal) during assembly.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Douglas from USA on 2014-09-08 06:03:05

Things I liked:the tool is nice, well blued, and some of the parts fit.
Things I would have changed:The one critical part is the rubber gasket. Apparently this is not a universal part and does not fit my gun. I see no option to order the correct gasket.
What others should know:Before ordering the kit, I verified that my gun matched the description of the gun the kit was designed for. The one critical part is the rubber pump gasket. Apparently this is not a universal part for these airguns. The gasket supplied has a flat bottom, and my gun requires a gasket with a 1/4 inch hole (depression). There is no way the gasket can be adapted since it is too thin in the middle to modify. This appears to be an exercise in futility and a total waste of money. If I cannot find the correct gasket online, I will be forced to machine a new part for my gun to accept the gasket supplied.
Sort by:
  • 123 ... 56 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By gary from USA on 2015-03-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:my silver streak is back in action i have owned it since it was new for 26 years. i didnt realize how much power it had lost then it stopped holding a charge and took forever to pump so i rebuilt it with this kit i remember now why it was so hard for me to get that 8th pump when i was 13 lol. good kit nice tool
    Things I would have changed:nothing really kind of wish they still made the lead seal instead of the teflon seal reused the lead seal no problems
    What others should know:installing this kit does take some time and work. be very careful when you put the #29 retaining nut back on you will be working against spring tension and trying not to crossthread the brass retainer i did booger up the first couple threads on the first try but got it just fine on the second try removing the #28 valve can be difficult after i threaded on the tool i had to finally put a punch throught the hole in the tool and step on the punch and pull the tube asm up fairly hard to get this out. also i took a coat hanger and put a small hook on the end to fish out #24 spring spacer and #23 spring and #30 valve and seal use a bright flashlight to look down the tube clean all parts to be reused and tube very well lubricate all rubber parts and the springs i used the yellow gamo oil lubricate the piston head #5 good to get it to slide in the tube then leave one pump in the gun at all times to prevent dirt from getting in the seals it doesnt tell you that in the manual saw it online
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2015-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything in the kit seems well made and replaces the old parts quite well. I had to reuse the seal that would have been replaced by the Teflon part,this was not a problem for me as my original part was in good shape.I am very satisfied with everything it came with the kit, Pyramyd Air even with the parts being backordered we're on top of it they kept me informed and I was very satisfied with everything I will definitely continue to do business with them. Thanks for everything Robert Bergsing
    Things I would have changed:The biggest thing I seen was that the directions needed to be updated. What came in the kit,looked like it was copies of copies and very hard to make out. I was unable to make the Teflon part work in my Blue Streak, I think if the part we're similar to the original that it would work better I imagine the later models may not have this problem. but again I am very satisfied with everything it came in the kit.
    What others should know:My blue streak was handed down to me from my dad it was made in 1964. My blue streak only needed the part for the hand pump after I replace this the gun worked again, since I had the rest of the parts I replace those also after taking everything apart and replacing it with the parts in the kit the gun would not hold air I tried several times reinstalling them, I ended up reusing the part that the Teflon would have replaced. When taking your gun apart the part that comes out with the tool that comes with the kit, mine was stuck in there and you had to give it a little bit of a wiggle to get it out when I first tried to pull it out I was unsure how this came apart and didn't know if it was threaded or not so those who have a similar one you'll need to give it a little wiggle, the biggest thing I found is to make sure and clean everything thoroughly I used thinner which seem to cut the old grease and oil quite well, make sure to use air gun oil when reassembling your gun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Duane from USA on 2015-01-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The kit was all there and it was easy to rebuild my Sheridan.
    Things I would have changed:Make it available without the tool. I don't know how much cheaper it would make it, but buying two tools when I only needed the parts from the second kit seemed unnecessary.
    What others should know:If you have basic mechanical skills this is a quick and easy way to get your Sheridan back into great shape. Make sure you clean everything inside the valve and pump area thoroughly before re-assembly. There was a lot of black residue inside both the pump and valve areas from years of use.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By bruce from USA on 2015-01-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Replacement parts fit perfect.. My gun is like new again.
    Things I would have changed:The white plastic washer does not work , I was able to use my old one instead. If it does not work on yours try a thin o-ring that is the same size.
    What others should know:You need to be real careful when re assembling as not to cross thread the retaining nut when screwing it back into the tube. Be sure to keep the tool straight and the best way to seat the threads is to turn the nut backwards a couple turns while holding the tool straight . Then slowly turn it forward , you should not feel much resistance , if you do it might be cross threading. Just back it out and try again. It only takes a few twists to tighten the retaining nut. If you have a rocker type safety there is no reason to disassemble this part. You need to remove the whole assembly to access the tube but don't need to mess with the safety .
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Andrew from USA on 2014-12-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice tool and parts, certainly adequate for the intended purpose. Perfect fit in the mid-1970s rocker safety Sheridan Blue Streak that I brought back to life for a buddy. We used to shoot the very same gun as kids, and now it's back in action. I found it a rewarding project and much more fun than packing and shipping the gun for service (to P.A., of course!).
    Things I would have changed:I wish my learning curve was better! It took me three tries to get it right. No fault of the kit. It was my first time inside a multi-pump pneumatic. I think my main problem was poor job cleanliness on the first tries, I didn't get the old gunk out entirely at first.
    What others should know:If you try this as your first rebuild of a multi-pump pneumatic of this sort, be prepared to spend some time on trial and error. Definitely review the directions thoroughly, and also seek out additional instructions and tips that can be found in multiple places on the internet.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Linda from USA on 2014-12-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quick shipping...parts were an exact fit for my pellet rifle.
    What others should know:Excellent company to deal with. Customer service is outstanding and they stand behind all their products. Highly recommend!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By william r from USA on 2014-11-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I really liked the instructions that came with the kit. They explained the repair very well. The parts diagram was real good. The gun works like new again.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:Anyone thinking about working on these older Sheridans need good mechanical skills putting the new parts in.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2014-09-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:the tool is nice, well blued, and some of the parts fit.
    Things I would have changed:The one critical part is the rubber gasket. Apparently this is not a universal part and does not fit my gun. I see no option to order the correct gasket.
    What others should know:Before ordering the kit, I verified that my gun matched the description of the gun the kit was designed for. The one critical part is the rubber pump gasket. Apparently this is not a universal part for these airguns. The gasket supplied has a flat bottom, and my gun requires a gasket with a 1/4 inch hole (depression). There is no way the gasket can be adapted since it is too thin in the middle to modify. This appears to be an exercise in futility and a total waste of money. If I cannot find the correct gasket online, I will be forced to machine a new part for my gun to accept the gasket supplied.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Conrad from USA on 2014-07-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The install of the kit was easy for me. Nowmy gun works like it is new.
    Things I would have changed:Increase instruction explaintion.
    What others should know:Be sure to look down both the front and rear bore of the air chambers. Be sure to clean these chambers out. I used a paper towel taped to a wooden dowel. Spray the paper towel with electic motor cleaner. Keep changing the paper until the chambers are completely clean. Be sure the orifice between the front and rear chambers is clean and you can see thru the hole.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By Roy from USA on 2014-07-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The tool, however it should come with a rod to loosen and tighten the replaced parts.
    Things I would have changed:Better instructions. Better rubber gaskets, a link with video showing how step by step to replace valves. I would replace the techs who are on duty to answer what ever questions you may have to replace the parts for they are clueless on what to do.
    What others should know:The best way to repair your air gun is of you have the right tools. Don't expect this to be easy unless you have a gunsmith shop with the right punches and tools to get the job done. By the way the number to call for help is a joke. I called three times and never received a good answer on what I needed to do in order to remove certain parts. The best answer I was told by one of the techs was to use good judgment.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Martin from USA on 2014-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's great to have my old Blue Streak functioning again. The tool provided worked like a charm.
    Things I would have changed:The schematic displays the hammer 180 degrees opposite of the way it should be installed. On first assembly I couldn't cock the rifle. Reassemble with hammer turned 180 degrees resolved issue.
    What others should know:Just pay attention to the hammer position on removal and follow the rest of the instructions.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jesse from USA on 2014-06-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It works for my 1971 Benjamin Model 347. It use to not even hold air over night now it holds air and dose not seem to be leaking. Planing on getting another one as a spare.
    Things I would have changed:I would have liked a lead washer instead of the replacement plastic washer. I did not use the plastic one. i reused my old one.
    What others should know:If your gun has not been apart for a while. It may be hard to remove the valve guide retaining nut.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By robert from USA on 2014-04-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked: Product worked well. Up and shooting again,my problem was I disassembled the gun three months earlier.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By John from USA on 2014-04-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This kit has everything you need to repair the older Sheridan Blue Streak.I was able to disassemble and install the kit in less than an hour. The old Sheridan pumps and holds air great now.
    Things I would have changed:Offer a seal kit without the tool.
    What others should know:Pay close attention to the order of parts when disassembling and reassembling.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Cliff from USA on 2014-04-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything about this repair kit is top notch. The instructions are clear and concise, the tool for removing the brass plug makes the entire job possible. The kit is easy to do, and like any project if you take your time, think things through it will go smoothly. The kit came quickly even though it was "out of stock" when I ordered and it was packaged well.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing really, except added suggestions for removing and installing the brass plug with the tool. I'm afraid this is the step where those with limited mechanical skill and experience could end up ruining their air rifle. See below in "Anything else airgunners should know." Hopefully there's a kit out there without the tool so that when my air gun fails again (after another 34 years of loyal service) I can just but the parts. But I'll be 80 at that time and probably out of the air gunning realm.
    What others should know:The instructions should touch on the following facts, which will save novices a lot of time, headache and frustration: A) After removing the brass plug the lead washing is likely going to be a huge pain to remove. I created a long hook out of welding rod to pull it out past the threads in the tube (where the brass plug was). A coat hanger can do the same thing after altering it with a wire cutter and a needle nose pliers. B) After placing the assembly and attempting to screw the brass plug back in, you'll need not only muscle, but stamina and a keen sense of "squareness" to thread it in. A lot of downward force needs to be placed on assembly through the brass plug and tool while attempting to screw it in place without cross-threading. If you cross thread, you'll ruin everything. A keen sense of orientation when performing this task is critical.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By Ross from USA on 2014-03-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The tool and the diagram
    Things I would have changed:The nylon washer is useless and the thin o-ring was too thin.
    What others should know:I have an older Sheridan Blue Streak that did not hold air. I purchased this kit from Pyramid Air and got it a few days (perfect) the dis-assembly whet very well but that is where it ended. I re-assembled exactly as instructed being careful to to cross thread the square nut. This went fine but the gun still leaked just as before. I dis-assembled and re-assembled several more times and no luck and of course my luck was destine to run out I started to cross thread the square nut. I had to walk away for the night and re-visit again the next day. I came to realize that the thin o-ring was the problem and just not thick enough. I substituted the thin washer with and O-ring from a Crosman 760 powermaster valve. (The o-ring that joins the 760 valve together) it worked perfect. But my trouble was not over I could not get the square nut to grab due to some cross threading. So I decided to try turning the square nut upside down due to fact that the threads are close to the very top of the nut. I also eliminated the nylon washer. The nut threaded right on and the gun works perfect. I passed 8 shots over the Chrony and averaged 620 fbs with Sheridan Diablo 14.3 gr. I love Pyramid Air and is my first place I go to for my airgun needs. But I think you may be able to find a better seal kit out there.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2014-02-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fixed two old Sheridan's with these. Works good.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Ron from USA on 2014-02-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The tool with which to get the back of the air chamber apart and all the tips in these reviews with out which I may not have been successful at repairing my 1983 Benjamin model 347.
    Things I would have changed:Get rid of the PTFE split washer, part # 27 and supply something that works just in case the lead washer does get damaged. I was REAL careful to NOT damage the lead washer. Some sort of tool is needed for use in removing the small screw that is in the bolt that contacts the hammer. A flat screw driver DOES NOT work. I had to mill the head off with a dremel tool then drill out and re-tap the screw hole and fabricate a new screw to take it's place.
    What others should know:After removing part #29, parts # 27,28,31 and 25 fell right out. I had to spray kroil into the air chamber and let soak 30 minutes then reassemble the the air piston and pump handle to blow parts #30,23 and 24 out of the chamber as they were corroded in place. I cleaned up and reused the brass check valve/inlet valve part #30 gluing a piece of bicycle tire innertube to it's face as described in another review here. I had to file down the face of the new exhaust valve(part #31), the part facing the muzzle, so it fit the out let/exhaust valve spring. I chucked the valve in an electric drill and used a regular file for this, an idea also taken from a previous review . I used the supplied thin O ring part # 26 as the thin gasket did break during disassembly. I reused the lead washer because the supplied PTFE split washer, part # 27, is a joke I thoroughly cleaned all interior surfaces and parts and very lightly lubed parts with Ballistol to help prevent future corrosion. I used nail gun/air tool oil for rubber surfaces. The air chamber mechanism now works like new. I took my time and paid very close attention to how the thing came apart. A schematic and part numbers and names were found on Crosman's web site. I will keep at least one pump in the chamber at all times from now on the keep debris out of the air chamber and parts. All that's left now is to see how long the gun functions with this overhaul. I hope it lasts another 30 years.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Charles from USA on 2014-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The pieces and the valve tool fit the model rifle I have
    Things I would have changed:The teflon intake valve does not seal right. I think it is too stiff and would not seal properly. I would like to purchase only the seals and not the valve tool
    What others should know:Saving and re-using the lead gasket is better tan usind the teflon gasket
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By William from USA on 2014-02-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great kit ! Nice quality replacment parts.
    Things I would have changed:Add 2 Roll Pins for the front barrel.
    What others should know:Get this Kit if you want to bring your Old Benjamin Sheridan (With the soldered Valve)back to life ! And the Customer Service is Great !! Thanks Pyramyd Air
  • 123 ... 56 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top