Crosman B272 4-Pc Intermount, 3/8" Dovetail reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By dohcacr from USA on 2010-03-27 10:11:30

Things I liked: Good quality. Nicely mechined. Good finish.

Things I would have changed: I didn't find any problem with these mounts.

What others should know: I don't understand why there are so many bad reviews of the Crosman B272 4-Pc Intermount. They worked perfectly for me. I used them to mount a Simmons Red Dot sight on my 1950's .20 Sheridan Blue Streak. Bought mine at Queen's Mountain Outfitters and they were listed as 4-Pc Crosman Intermount 397/392/Pistol. Looks just like the Crosman B272 4-Pc Intermount. On my .20 Sheridan, they tightened securely and had plenty of tightening capability left, so the should work just as well on a .177. Here's a thought. Something I just noticed. Look closely at the picture of the Crosman B272 4-Pc Intermount above. There is a difference between the mount on the right and the mount on the left. Both of my mounts were like the one on the right, with the gap between the two pieces. The gap is caused by a shoulder at the top that prevents the two pieces from touching any where except at the very top and the very bottom of the flat surface between the mount halves. Each of the 4 pieces should have that shoulder at the top of the mount where the two pieces are meant to mate. It extends out about 1/32" and causes a 1/16 gap between the two pieces. That shoulder allows the part of the mount that grips the barrel to close to a smaller diameter (1/16" smaller) and thus grip tighter than if the shoulder wasn't there. I would suggest that , if you receive a set without the shoulder, send them back as defective. EDIT 26 March 2010: I just finished zeroing the Red Dot scope, using Exact Diabolo pellets, at 30 yds. It took two groups of three shots to zero the scope. The third group of three shots drew an l in the dead center of the target that was 3/8" tall(all shots touching and in vertical alignment). I'm really impressed with this setup.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Duell from USA on 2014-04-19 21:41:00

Things I liked: The idea of it.

Things I would have changed: Design.

What others should know: Does not stay put, slides and tears up the paint on your barrel. I WILL NOT modify an item to make it work, I paid for it to work as advertised. Stay away. Avoid a headache. Google a bit and you will find a MUCH better solution, I promise you. (I will not name another vendor on PAs website.)

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2015-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit great and is holding the scope on my Benjamin 397 without any movement.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Larry from USA on 2015-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Does the job but just barely!

    Things I would have changed: Kind of a poor design! When you tighten the screws of the 3/8 dovetail scope ring bases, it tends to loosen the grip of the Crossman bases to the barrel since the Crossman base screws now become the fulcrum point!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2015-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Decent way to mount a scope on a Benjamin 392/397

    Things I would have changed: Make it a one piece deal... Somehow.

    What others should know: Loctite is your friend to keep these from coming loose from vibration. I personally had an issue with my first mounting location because the barrel o.d. Is not as consistent as the cnc machined intermounts. I simply shifted the mounts further back slightly. (Mounted a pistol scope in a scout rifle style location.) another fix you may have already read is putting a small punt of tape or other material to take up the space, but I didn't want to do that. So far, holding tight and true.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Warren from USA on 2014-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nicely made.

    What others should know: I wanted to use these on an old (60 years) Crosman model 113 rifle. However the diameter of the barrel clamp portion is too small to hold firmly. I will eventually hone them out big enough to grip the barrel correctly.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Duell from USA on 2014-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The idea of it.

    Things I would have changed: Design.

    What others should know: Does not stay put, slides and tears up the paint on your barrel. I WILL NOT modify an item to make it work, I paid for it to work as advertised. Stay away. Avoid a headache. Google a bit and you will find a MUCH better solution, I promise you. (I will not name another vendor on PAs website.)

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Joanie from USA on 2014-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price, but it's all down hill from there

    Things I would have changed: The whole design - very poor

    What others should know: Poor design. Have used this base on two guns, now. Once you tighten down the rings, the base loosens on the gun. The only way to solve this is to only lightly tighten the rings, but that solution is only temporary because, with use, everything else loosens up, again. If you use this setup, don't assume everything will stay tight as with a conventional base/mount. Be sure to check for tightness on a regular basis. For consistency, I'll stay with iron sights.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By william from USA on 2014-03-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to mount and has remained tight so far. Put on a Benjamin 392 and mounted like a scout rifle. Allows room for pumping.

    What others should know: This mount in the scout set up with pistol scope is a must on pump Benjamin pump.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2013-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: They work as stated.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Varmint Control from USA on 2013-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: These don't take up alot of room, and seem durable so far on a Mac1 Benjamin 392.

    Things I would have changed: --

    What others should know: Make sure these are lined up right before they get tightened down.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Spencer from USA on 2013-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nothing. I can not get them to stay tight.

    Things I would have changed: Would have liked to have two screws in each mount. Screws should be allen head. A one piece mount like I have on my Sheridan Silver Streak would have been nice.

    What others should know: I am going to remove these and look for another way to mount a scope.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Steve from USA on 2012-12-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I lked the price!

    Things I would have changed: The design of the product is all wrong. As soon as try to attach the scope, it releases it's hold on the barrel.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Willie from USA on 2012-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Enabled me to mount laser to my Benjamin pump pistol which then enabled me to reduce the rat population in my chicken pens.

    Things I would have changed: Larger 8X32 hex screws to secure the intermounts to the barrel, air chamber.

    What others should know: First attempt at installing these resulted in stripped threads on female intermount. I examined the second intermount and noted that the screw fit loosely in threads. Cause: Initial drilling used too large of a bit but it was tapped anyway leaving for a loose fit prone to stripping. Solution was purchase two 3/8 inch 8X32 allen head screws, drill out existing hole with a size 29 drill bit and tap hole with 8X32 threads. Now both intermounts are quite tight (use loc-tite).

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jamie from USA on 2012-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There were only a couple of choices for mounting a scope on the Benjamin 392 so I wasn't going to be too critical anyway. These Crosman mounts sit forward of the bolt so loading is not a challenge. The pistol scope seemed strange because I had never used one before but it works well and I like it. I've taken 100-120 shots since installation and sight-in and the scope is holding zero.

    Things I would have changed: Socket head screws instead of slotted.

    What others should know: Installation is easy. Don't over-tighten the rings or the mounts will loosen up. Use plenty of blue Loctite!

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Derrell from USA on 2012-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: These intermounts allowed me to attach rings and mount a scope on my 50 year old Benjamin pellet rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Due to the fact my Benjamin pellet rifle is 50 years old I'm not sure if the small barrel is the same diameter as the newer guns. These intermounts were very loose on my gun and required a lot of experimentation with shims. It took a lot of trial and error to find the right combination of shims. When the scope rings were clamped on tight these intermounts the would loosen and slide on the barrel.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ray from USA on 2011-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Works and looks great on my 392 with a 4x pistol scope.

    Things I would have changed: Better bluing

    What others should know: You don't need to over tighten these

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom in Texas from USA on 2011-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Eazy to install

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Works well.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Davis from USA on 2011-10-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: They are the only game in town for the Benjamin oistol.

    Things I would have changed: The screws are very small and break as they tighten up. I drilled the holes out and used #8 socket head screws.

    What others should know: This is not a very good mount and also puts the sight far above the bore axis. A better mount is needed but I don't know where to find one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RICHARD from USA on 2011-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: can't beat the price!

    Things I would have changed: Crosman should offer the same mount for older Sheridans.

    What others should know: If you are going to try and use on and older model you will need to use shims, The old barrels are smaller O.D. I used a piece of old bike inner tube for a shim and it worked great.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By buckeyeBlaster from USA on 2011-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: not much, poor design!!

    Things I would have changed: Champ should have a matting to protect the finish of the barrel. overall length of the mount, Crosman should review old Benji/ Sheridan catalog, back then there were three choices.....

    What others should know: see above

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This mount apears to fit my Sheridan bluestreak rifle which I purchased way back in 1982 however it does not snug up on the barrel very well. I understand from reading the reviews that the latter versions of this rifle which were made in New York state(mine was made in Racine WI) have a larger barrel which I would like to know the diameter of for shimming purposes(for comparison purposes the outside diameter of the barrel on my rifle is 0.345"

    Things I would have changed: Add shims for mounting on rifles made in Racine WI.

    What others should know: When one tightens up on the scope rings this tend to loosen the grip of the mount on the rifle barrel and thus it must be retightened

  • 123 Next
Navigation