Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    UTG 5th Gen 4-16x40 AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, Weaver Rings reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Lily from USA on 2012-07-12 15:11:23

    Things I liked:Price,16x,lightweight this came with my maruader and i must say this is the best scope for 70 bucks i absolutely love it
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:this is the scope to buy to squeeze every once of accuracy on any airgun, (or at lease most)
    0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By David from USA on 2011-03-27 14:16:47

    Things I liked:Looks good and worked well ....till it did'nt.
    Things I would have changed:It broke.
    What others should know:Worked well for about 400 rounds in RWS 34 p. I just took it out back to target shoot and the second round the sight got blurry. Could not correct it. It now rattles. Something inside the magnification end has let go. One week old and now I have to deal with RMA. Fortunately bought it here at Pyramid.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2012-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Works as advertised. Love the lockable windage and elevation adjustments and zero capability. Well built.
      Things I would have changed:A little heavy.
      What others should know:At above 12x it can be much more sensitive to your eye position. I found that the clarity was just fine above 12x but your eye position needs to be dead on or else you get blurring around the outer portion of you FOV. Before tightening your scope, close your eyes and throw the gun up to the shooting position several times to check that the scope is in the right position for you. I have it mounted on a Benjamin Trail NP XL 1100 and have put over 300 rounds through it and it is still holding zero. Would definitely recommend this scope based on price/quality.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By James from USA on 2012-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.3333299160003663 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It was the only scope I could find the would focus at 7 meters.
      Things I would have changed:I am not a fan of the mill dot and I don't need a lighted cross hair.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Lily from USA on 2012-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price,16x,lightweight this came with my maruader and i must say this is the best scope for 70 bucks i absolutely love it
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:this is the scope to buy to squeeze every once of accuracy on any airgun, (or at lease most)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By james from USA on 2012-07-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great scope for the price.Out shot my buddy and his high dollar scope, so we ordered him one.Mildots easy to see.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Working great on my .22 Marauder
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Eric from USA on 2012-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everthing.
      Things I would have changed:I can't think of anything I would change.
      What others should know:This is really a great scope for the price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By matthew from USA on 2012-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Like everything about this scope. I now have four of them and Have a fifth on the way with my .25 marauder. Great price, mil dots, AO and ruggedness.
      Things I would have changed:Just wish they came with a sun shade and dovetail rings instead of weaver as all my air rifles have dovetail. And could do without the lighted recticle as thats just added weight.
      What others should know:Great scope for the price. Mil dots make it easy to shoot longer ranges with you Air Guns.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Luis from USA on 2012-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought this scope to upgrade from my Tasco 2-7x32 and wow this scope was big. But fit good on my R9. I think that my Tasco scope opticts are a little better but for the price you cant beat it.
      Things I would have changed:The AO is a little stiff to turn hopefully it will get easier.
      What others should know:All in all this is a good scope for the money.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2012-05-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked: Seems to be a well put together scope, has good optics, and mounted well on my 17 HMR, could have spent lots more, but glad I did'nt. Again it works well, looks good, and function right out of the box.
      Things I would have changed: No need to change anything, that I can see. Have been shooting for years now, and I can see a good product when I find one.
      What others should know: Just keep shoot'n, LOL
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2012-05-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice scope. Holds zero well and very easy to adjust.
      Things I would have changed:Side AO would make it a little more user friendly.
      What others should know:I zeroed mine at 50 yards and just make the adjustments from there with the mil dots. As with anything, take some time to get to know the adjustments.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Amazingly accurate. Even more amazing for the price.
      Things I would have changed:Side wheel AO. I do not need the light. AO and focus are very very tight.
      What others should know:I bought it in the Marauder kit with case and installation. It was zero'd for the Discovery pellets that came with the kit. Did not expect that. Great service, PA.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By primo from USA on 2012-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Cant beat the quality for the price,its got a clear image up to 10 or 12 power,and its holding zero very well ,up to now. I mounted this scope on my RWS 460 mag & it made a world of difference now I really know the accuracy this rifle is capable of. Hiting soda caps at 50 plus yard is S.O.P. Plus very easy to zero and it has a lock on the adjustment turrets.
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING
      What others should know:As far as I know UGT and Leapers are the same quality in this type of scope. UGT is better priced.Im waiting for another 11% discount from Pyramyd to order another one for my 350 RWS...hedging against the price hike in the shipping.Anyway its a good buy
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Micah from USA on 2012-02-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:looks and works good, holds zero well.
      Things I would have changed:optics could be a little better at high magnification but for 70 bucks it is what it is.
      What others should know:parallax adjustment is a bit stiff but loosens up with use.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By JAMIE from USA on 2012-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a lot of scope for the money. Optics are good,not as good as a high end,but very good. Full magnification gets a little out of focus but about 12-14 or less is good. I have it mounted to a 10/22 and have bought another for my SKS but have not mounted and tried it yet. I really like the locking settings. Overall with the features and that it comes with descent rings it is an excellent value.
      Things I would have changed:Regular lens caps instead of flip ups,probably just a personal preference. Make it a little lighter,seems a little on the heavy side.
      What others should know:This scope is more than enough for most air rifles. Unless you have a high end rifle it is an overkill on magnification,a 9x or 12x is plenty. I would put it on my Trail XL but not my Trail all weather or Nitro Venom because they just don't have the range to need more than the Centerpoints that they come with.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jeremy from USA on 2011-12-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.04 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good optics up to 12X. Solid construction. Includes battery, sun shade, and Weaver/Picatinny mounts.
      Things I would have changed:Optics become dim after 12X, pointing to a poor optical design. They just pushed it too far. This is where the more expensive scopes from real optics companies, such as Burris, Nikon, Leupold, Pentax, etc. really shine. They look good all throughout their zoom range. Leapers should work on their formula and make sure that 50% of the image brightness isn't lost at maximum zoom. This family of scopes are also unusually heavy for their power level. Also, one click while zeroing is not the same as every other click. As Leupold points out, one should be able to "shoot the box" if the scope is good. This means take a shot, move the scope zero a couple inches up, shoot again. Move the zero a couple inches right, shoot again. Move the zero a couple inches down and shoot again. Move the zero a couple inches left, and shoot again. The result, if shot from a rest, should be a box, and the starting point and ending point should be the same. This scope will fail that test every time.
      What others should know:So the thing to keep in mind here is that if you want a Leapers scope to be clear at 16X, get one that zooms out to 20X. I also have thier 3-12x40, and it is the same story: very dim after 10X. Despite that, the construction is very good and the scope is a good value anyway. Once zeroed, it holds zero well. The controls are solid, and flip-up caps and a lens cloth are included too. The instructions on using mil dots are poor. It seems no one makes good, intelliglble instructions. The best way to use the mil dots is to set the scope at 10X, use Chairgun Pro software (free) to estimate the pellet drop, and confirm by shooting at different ranges. Despite the problems mentioned above, I would buy this scope again. There is just nothing in this overall quality range at this price. Some of the higher end Simmons' are as good in quality, but higher price and not as ruggedly made.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Pahlevan from USA on 2011-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a great scope, good clear view, easy to set up and pretty rugged. very good value in the class. i am slowly moving all my higher powered rifles to this particular model. If you are doing long distance target shooting, this will really help.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing specific
      What others should know:it takes a while and some usage for the various rotating elements to loosen up and become reasonably easy to manipulate.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Snarkler from USA on 2011-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:LOVE the lockable resettable scope turrets. The illuminated mil dot reticle is really cool too. Pretty clear scope overall but image at higher magnifacation does not look as crisp and clear as compared to low to medium magnification. This combo on my Benji Trail NP is an absolute laser beam now!
      Things I would have changed:I wish it had more clicks for up/down and left and right in the scopes internals.
      What others should know:this is a great scope for those hunting small vermin or if you just want to punch paper.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-06-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Clear image, easy adjustments.
      Things I would have changed:Flip up caps (especially front) can get in the way of other fittings. A bit stiff to rotate AO bell.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Vernon from USA on 2011-04-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great scope for the price, I didn’t intend to buy a new scope so I needed one that I could easily afford. Optics is very clear from 4-16 magnification and it’s decent in low light levels. I wouldn’t use it alone at night but it works well in twilight and I have no problems picking out objects 30 yards away with ambient artificial light. When I hold the rifle consistently, I can nail crosshairs at 25 meters (81 feet) and maintain nickel size or better groupings.
      Things I would have changed:I wish it were a little shorter. This is particular to my gun but the scope is long enough I had to mount it even with the loading port to keep from interfering with it and this is one of the shorter 1” scopes.
      What others should know:Seems to have more eye relief than listed but I’ve been using scopes that have far less so it could just be me. Seems to need fairly good distance setting and the scale seems accurate. I’ve got it focused so the moment I come into focus I know I’ve got the distance set correctly to avoid parallax. I frequently find myself shooting around the center which means I’m not adjusted correctly. I would give this 5 stars but on the first scope the red illumination of the cross hair quit I had on the gun in a week. Optically the scope stayed centered and the replacement scope seems to be holding up fine.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By David from USA on 2011-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks good and worked well ....till it did'nt.
      Things I would have changed:It broke.
      What others should know:Worked well for about 400 rounds in RWS 34 p. I just took it out back to target shoot and the second round the sight got blurry. Could not correct it. It now rattles. Something inside the magnification end has let go. One week old and now I have to deal with RMA. Fortunately bought it here at Pyramid.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Rafael from USA on 2010-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Excellent quality, clear lens, adjustments are very smooth
      Things I would have changed:Lens caps are too bulky
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top