Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle reviews - page 3



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2007-12-04 15:44:18

    Things I liked:I like the build quality of the gun, above all. Everything is done right. This is the kind of rifle you'll be proud to own for the rest of your life. It's the most accurate spring gun below $3,000. There are so many refinements in the trigger, the bedding, the barrel and breech, that I could write all day long about this rifle! In fact, you can read my TX200 article on this website.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing!
    What others should know:This is an underlever and therefore has limited access to the breech. People with very large hands may find it difficult to load until they develop a technique. The gun has 3 holes for a vertical scope stop pin, so buy scope mounts with a stop pin. Find the one best pellet, and use it exclusively. I've found both Beeman Kodiaks and 10.3-grain JSB Exacts to be equally accurate in my TX. I would scope this gun with a Bushnell 6-18x40 Trophy or a Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Mini-Size scope.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2014-08-17 21:09:49

    Things I liked:Pretty air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Cheek rest on stock is too thin at top.Hard to get a good cheekweld.Test for accuracy at the factory before releasing for sale.
    What others should know:Very poor accuracy out of the box.Strong smell of burning oil or grease.Accuracy has improved slightly after 545 pellets.Still can't compare to a cheap Crosman for accuracy.Very nice trigger though.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 1234 ... 67 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2013-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Initial 1st impression was one of AWE ... Wow rifle looks like high end powder burner ! Bluing deep and dark with a very high gloss. (*BEECH STOCK) was gorgeous having a faint but distinct wavy grain pattern, great smooth gloss finish and that trademark Fish Scale checkering ... just beautiful ! Shoot time ... having purchased with a PA package deal with a tin of H&N barracuda 10.6, my first 50 or so shot were with that HEAVY pellet. THUMP .... Thwack !! was a SOLID shot cycle unlike any barrel break spring gun I ever had shot before. ( And shot quite a few too ) .... Firing the rifle is kind of an odd experience at first being vibration is so low and noise in general so absent. Had to wait a day to actually shoot over the chronograph to convince myself gun was not a low power England spec gun. 10.6's early on were knocking on 800 fps, so while no power house not exactly slackin either. 7 grain RWS Hobby's @ 960 fps which were for a wad cutter WAY TOO FAST, but gave an idea what light lead would do. Trigger ... LOOOONG first stage and crisp breaking second. Readjustment was done almost immediately being much better for what I was accustomed too in a match grade 2 stage "Field pull weight" unit. Cheek weld getting face against stock was also excellent. LOP adult proportioned and very well done. All in all would expect or accept nothing less from a $600 sporting class pellet rifle ... The AA TX200 MkIII delivers what hype proceeds it !!
      Things I would have changed:That's tough .... grasping something to say on a negative leaves me wordless. Rifle is what it is standing on it own merit of 3 generation of model development getting to MkIII
      What others should know:Be nice to have removable muzzle cap like the HC version has. Using a Hard Rod cleaning jag W/guide would be easier being the MkIII internal baffles ahead of muzzle have a nasty habit of snagging felt patches off jag tip leaving you to fish em out with a dental pick. ** So likely WHY recommended bore cleaner is a breech end fed Pull Threw.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joe from USA on 2013-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Not really sure if I can truly do this rifle justice in this review. It is an absolute work of art. It shoulders beautifully, low recoil, quiet, unbelievably accurate, a joy to shoot, not pellet picky, gorgeous bluing, easy cocking......I could go on and on. I LOVE IT!!!
      What others should know:As soon as you pick up this rifle you will feel everything I just wrote above. Worth every penny!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Clifford from USA on 2012-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shot well EVENTUALLY; Got one of each caliber, package deals with scopes, rings etc. Shot the .22 first, it performed well. The .177 tested me. Tried close to a dozen brands of pellets, various holds at 10 and 25 yards. Groups progressively got worse. Checked rings and stock screws, no change. Tested the .177 with both supplied "package deal" scopes. Set the Hawke 2-7 scopes aside and substituted a dusty old BSA scope rated for air rifles... problem solved, after several tins this particular model of Hawke did not fare well mounted on the 2 AA springers I received. Both rifles grouped superbly with the alternate scope.
      Things I would have changed:As others stated, the cocking lever rubber bumper will fail in short order. Show pictures of "plain vanilla" walnut samples also to illustrate what may be furnished to the buyer.
      What others should know:Both walnut stocks while worthwhile upgrades, were not as nice as ANY of the photos I've seen submitted. Luck of the draw. Oddly mine prefered heavier domed pellets, especially CPH. Wadcutters did not do well. With the right scope, I believe these will grow on me.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bruno from USA on 2012-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The wood stock is the first thing that you will notice very nice finish. The black polish color of the barrel is very atractive. I could no ask for more regarding the trigger. nice crisp very predictable.
      Things I would have changed:Even though the outside of this rifle is nice good looking. The thing that I will change are: The dovetail rail of this rifle sucks. I will put more grip to it. My rifle is putting 732 fps with jsb diabolo 8.4 that about 10fpe. there are still 2fpe that I could use with this rifle.
      What others should know:Be aware that due to fact that the dovetail rail of this rifle is not deep enough, some or must mounting rings will slip. I had to use a long 4" dovetail adapter to weaver in order to hold firmly my scope. The fist time it felt on the floor (damw it. The rifle kicks back a little bit, enoght to dismount any ringmounts.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Booger from USA on 2012-11-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:WOW. The first words out of my mouth after the first shot. Did I say WOW if not WOW. I've had it for four hours and it shoots dead on. It is beautiful.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I ordered this in mid October with expected delivery date 10-31. On 10-31 I was notified the Walnut was out of stock so I changed my order to Beech. It did not ship on 11-1-31 so I called and explained my birthday was 11-6 and I really needed my rifle on the 5th as was expected. Ruth bent over backwards and got it to me on the 5th. Thank you Ruth! I thought Beeman RS2 was accurate but man was I wrong. I am hitting dime size groups dead center at 32 yards using a sand bag for support. I am disabled so I sit on my back porch drink coffee and shoot. Now I have a REAL air rifle, and am just beginning my journey in this hobby.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Second air rifle ever owned, purchased this with the hopes that the European air rifles were of better quality than the chinese ones. Wow, were the other reviews right. The TX200mk3 is what I wanted when I though of air rifles, beautiful exterior, high precision interior, extremely mild in recoil and report, and accuracy that makes me happier than any firearm to date. The woodwork is excellent, the bluing is awesome, and the feel of it is awesome.
      Things I would have changed:I will take this moment to make my one complaint about this rifle. It is heavy, like prepare to work out your shoulders heavy. You will get used to the heft, but out of the box it will take some time. Especially to get your shots to line up with such a heavy rifle from a free standing position. Would I really change the weight? No, the gun performs exactly how I would want it to perform despite its weight.
      What others should know:I had purchased a Beeman RS2 dual caliber air rifle from Walmart a few months ago, and was frankly disgusted with the poor quality, poor craftsmanship, and poor accuracy. I ended up returning it after having my brother in law test it out, as he is an old marine who could verify if what I was thinking about this rifle was accurate. Sure enough he says "return it, this ones no good." So I searched the internet high and low for info on the "best" spring air rifle. Basically it comes down to 2 rifles. The TX200mk3 or the HW97/77. I looked at both, but in the end I went with the English one due to the anti bear trap mechanism, and the overall look of the rifle. Ultimately, I look at this like $600 well spent on something I'm gonna enjoy for years to come. Possibly even compete with, but definately go hunting with it. I got the .22, and the force of the pellets blew out the back of the crosman pellet trap, so i know its gonna blow the brains out of whatever animal it hits.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Craig from USA on 2012-08-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It’s really more like “Things I Love”. The consistent accuracy, quiet report, raw power, bluing, heft, aesthetics and sheer elegance (I find myself just staring at her at times), simplicity of function, low maintenance, overall engineering, the absolute joy of target practice, and the capability to execute humane kills time and time again!
      Things I would have changed:Find a better solution for the cocking arm buffer (Part Number: TX 227). This outstanding masterpiece deserves it.
      What others should know:The cocking arm buffer on my TX 200 Mk3 wore off and I did not notice it. However, I did notice how the rings of the cocking arm wore the bluing off down to the steel on the underside of the barrel. This seems to be a problem with some TX’s from what I have heard and read. Air Venturi sent me a few replacement buffer’s, but it is a real challenge inserting them. My solution was to trim the buffer with a pair of small sharp scissors to make it fit. I also placed a soft rubber O ring on the end of the cocking arm. The bottom line is the cocking arm buffer is only for aesthetics and seals the opening on the underside of the barrel while the O ring does the “heavy lifting” as it buffers against the bottom of the barrel each time the rifle is cocked. I think the combination of the two looks great IMHO. I purchased my O rings from my local hardware store. Sorry, I do not have the exact part number, but I selected a few O rings I thought might work. Once I found the right O ring I returned the others and purchased additional O rings for the future. My TX is a .22 caliber with an awesome walnut stock. I contacted Air Arms to ask what they recommended to keep the stock in tip top condition. The answer was to use walnut oil. I periodically apply Mahoney’s walnut oil to my TX 200 and it really looks great. The accuracy of my TX is phenomenal! I have been able to attain sub 1/4" groupings at approximately 20 yards. The artillery hold, breath control, and trigger pull are all crucial elements in attaining these exceptional groupings. My local squirrel population has been severely decimated as a direct result of the TX 200. My TX seems to love Predator Polymags (as my primary hunting pellet…they are devastatingly accurate and pack one heck of a wallop to say the least), JSB Exact Jumbo Diabolo’s (15.9 Grain), RWS Superdome’s, and Crossman Premier’s (in the cardboard box). On a good day I can place pellet on top of pellet with my TX200. I have noticed how my TX is getting smoother and I think more powerful during the break in period (I have shot almost 2,000 pellets through her). My longest confirmed flat kill shots have been in the 50 to 55 yard range! How about that? The TX 200 Mk3 is not an inexpensive air rifle, but I believe this heirloom is worth a great deal more than the asking price of admission. I am thinking very seriously of purchasing another TX 200 in the .177 caliber. Thank you Pyramyd Air for recommending this exceptional air rifle!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pezzer from USA on 2012-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Unbelievable fit and finish, world class accuracy, excellent trigger, beautiful stock, not much else I can complement on this rifle. It is springer perfection in the sport class for sure. This is an heirloom quality air gun without equal.
      Things I would have changed:The small rubber "cocking buffer" tends to break or fall off the shroud but I like the look of it without being installed anyway. No major issues found.
      What others should know:The only problem I have is inside 25 yards it tends to put the pellets through ruffly the same hole. Makes it hard to know if you hit the target or not. I would recommend a high power scope of at least 12x or more to take full advantage of this wonderful air rifle's accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dave from USA on 2012-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is one beautiful rifle. The wood is great and the metal finish is perfect. The rifle functions perfectly. Not overly hard to calk or fire. The trigger is great, I wish my deer rifle had a crisp trigger like this one. I am still working on my air gun marksmanship skills but the rifle has proven to be very accurate at the 25 yards that I have available in my back yard. The rifle is heavier than I expected which is great for accurate shooting as well as reminding one that it is a serious tool and not a toy. There are many less costly air rifles out there but this one was exactly what I asked for. All in all I am very happy with the rifle and glad that I bought it.
      Things I would have changed:Loading the pellets seems to be a bit of a challenge for my old fat fingers. Some sort of loading aid would be great. Also It would be nice to be able to mount a sling. It would need to be some sort of side mount so as not to hamper the under lever.
      What others should know:The best part of my choosing this rifle was the help that I got from Pyramyd Air. I was spending a lot of money and did not want to do it foolishly. The sales rep. (Ruth Kass) was very knowledgeable and the questions that she couldn't answer on the spot she researched and answered later. I had not handled an air gun since I was a child and Ruth was more than patient with me. It took many e-mails and several phone calls before I found the right rifle for me. I would encourage anyone in the market for a air rifle to talk to the folks there. They know their stuff, they are not pushy and are really interested in finding the best product for your particular needs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2012-07-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I gave it a 5 star for accuracy, but, because of the brutal weather we've been having, I haven't fired a lot of shots. My impression, however, is that it is going to make me a better shot. The recoil is minimal for a springer. With that caveat, here's my opinion: 1. It's beautiful. The bluing, the walnut, the shape and the checkering are all first class. 2. It's heavy. With scope, it weighs in at 10.2 lbs on my bathroom scale. For comparison, my Gamo Silent Stalker weighs 7.8 lbs with scope and my Remington 700 weighs 7.2 lbs without scope. This probably contributes to its accuracy. It's stable even shooting standing, without support. If you do a lot of walking while hunting, you definitely want a sling. 3. It's smooth. The underlever cocking is very easy and the trigger is crisp and predictable. 4. It's quiet. At least in 22 caliber, there isn't the supersonic crack that annoys the neighbors.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, really. The walnut is very dark and, in retrospect, I might have preferred the beech, but that's nit-picking.
      What others should know:The folks at Pyramyd Air have a lot of knowledge that they're willing to share so take advantage of it (Thanks, Dan the Man). Get the 10 for 10 setup. My scope was mounted and zeroed perfectly out of the box.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gordon from USA on 2012-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything- all the accolades and kudos the TX200 Mk.III has received are well deserved. This is a product that has lived up to all the 5-star reviews it has gotten.
      Things I would have changed:Not a single thing. This is one of the very few products that I have purchased that I could find absolutely no fault with.
      What others should know:Do not hesitate to obtain one of these rifles. If you are a true lover of fine workmanship to the point of perfection then the asking price will seem cheap.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By troy from USA on 2012-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am a novice, never owned any gun or air gun. My first gun was december 2011, stoeger x20 .177 then returned 2 ben trail xl 22 cal, lots of problems with that. So i decided to go with the AA TX200. Im hitting the red plastic bottle caps laying on its side off the top a of a fence at 65 yards, first shot on a consistence basis(measured with a laser measure i use for work) The trigger is AMAZING. Its a joke shooting anything under 50 yards with this rifle, ITS TO EASY. It has more power than my stoeger which is suppose to shoot at 1200 fps. I put 1000 rounds threw it and no problems at all, Its like taking candy from a baby. Cocking it is a breeze, outstanding blueing, and detail. This is the rifle i have dreaming about...accurate,accurate, accurate, and powerful, queit, Low recoil....AMAZING. PYRAMYD AIR IS THE KING OF THE SWING.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, heard some talk on line during my research on this rifle about the noise it makes from the spring, and stock. A light twang, Its a springer of course there is going to be some sort of sound. Its nothing to be concerned about. Queit, powerful, accurate, beautiful and a awesome trigger right out of the box.
      What others should know:Get a good scope, This rifle deserves it. Stop wasting your money on other rifles,save up and buy this rifle. You will be glad when you get it. I will never, ever ever sell this rifle, This one is so much fun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Glenn from USA on 2012-05-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've owned the TX200 for more than a year and during this time I’ve fired at least 400 pellets a month. I love the quality, the accuracy and the enjoyment that shooting it brings me. It’s a pleasure knowing that if I do my part the TX200 will deliver every time. I haven't written a review because every kind word, every accolade has already been written. Most recently I’ve been in Pueblo, Colorado and the only place to shoot legally is at an indoor range. When I asked if the range was open to air rifles, the man replied with a grin; “you mean a pellet gun?” So, for the past month every Wednesday night between 7 and 9 you can find me and my TX200 at the range. During this time other shooters have taken notice and they’ve commented on the quality and accuracy of the TX200. Then last night one of the range masters looked at the TX200 and said; “That’s not a pellet gun, it’s an air rifle.” After hearing his comment, I knew it was time to write my review. Until recently, I did all of my shooting in the fields of Lexington, Tennessee. I set up dove and duck decoys, spinners, walking targets and bottles at 25yds, 35yds, 50yds, and 75yds. Although, some of these targets presented a challenge for me, the TX200 handled them with ease. When my neighbor’s lawn was assaulted by an armadillo, he came to me and asked if I could solve the problem with my air rifle. Two months later the opportunity presented itself and I dispatched the armadillo with a head shot at just under 20yds.
      Things I would have changed:The rubber stopper between the cocking lever and the barrel. Mine wore out and I replaced it with the rubber grip from a large barrel ball point pen.
      What others should know:If you haven't tried the H&N Baracuda Green, .22cal, 12.65gr you’re not getting the most out of your TX200. I’m shooting the NRA small bore rifle target (A-36) and every shoot is a 10. Up to 25yds there's no such thing as a 1/2" or 1/4" center-to-center spread for a 5 shot group, every shot follows the one before it and the hole simply gets a little bigger. Whether I’m hunting game or shooting targets, the TX200 has never let me down.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:There isn't much to not like about this rifle. It looks great, is very accurate, not too loud, not much recoil, well worth the money.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change would be to make it easier to load. Most of my problem is due to me missing the tip of my index finger !!
      What others should know:People complain about the weight but I think it makes it more stable to shoot and makes me feel like I'm getting my money's worth. Lots of pellets left to try but so far jsb exact 8.4 grain are best.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Phil from USA on 2012-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight, the feel, the look, the fact that it's a fixed barrel. And more importantly the accuracy. Something so special about owning this gun...it makes you a better shooter...a better person...mmm maybe not lol but it feels good knowing you finaly own the Rolls Royce of spring guns! `
      Things I would have changed:You know that old saying? If it's not broken dont fix it...applies here...I have heard people complain about it being heavy...stop your crying...I love the weight get use to it if you want to complain...this is a man's air gun btw most highend springers have a nice wieght to them!...mine is in beautiful walnut .177 cal cause i want to compete with it!
      What others should know:Save your money get it when you can...look around and youll find that this is the springer to get...Don't mess with the trigger leave it alone it comes like that for a reason! Unless you really really know what your doing..I love my gun...and I love this sport! Cheers!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By satelite.9 from USA on 2012-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful, well made gun.
      Things I would have changed:HEAVY!...way to heavy imo. After mounting a scope and rings, this thing is a beast and weighs in under 15lbs.
      What others should know:I don't know who is prepared to carry this springer around. But, thats my only gripe. It does deliver on everything else.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Todd from USA on 2012-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and Finish; accuracy; trigger, bluing
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing
      What others should know:The fit and finish of this air rifle is second to none! I purchased the rifle based on its known accuracy and she does shoot tight groups. I’m very happy with the out-of-the-box function of the rifle. The added bonus you get with this rifle is that it looks really good. I had heard the rifle was nice, but WOW! I have the Walnut stock and it's truly a work of art; the grain is gorgeous and the checkering is sharp. The bluing is also very nice and nothing short of phenomenal; it easily puts every other rifle I own to shame. Bottom line, I'm VERY Happy with the TX200.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By miked1969 from USA on 2012-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.54 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the tx200 is a nice airgun i have yet to shoot it a lot but it it one of the nice gus i have to shoot it is a lot af money but if you are go to get a nice airgun i will tell you that the tx200mk3 is is
      Things I would have changed:not a thig at this time
      What others should know:bey one to day
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2012-02-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:VERY accurate from 10m.
      Things I would have changed:I hate the rounded bottome. It should be flat like the Pro Sport. Resettable safety too would be grand.
      What others should know:Mine has a lot of spring buzz. My Pro Sport doesn't. But at the moment I can shoot the TX better consistantly.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2012-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to cock. Good looking
      Things I would have changed:Better directions as to how to adjust the trigger. A flat bottom like the Pro Sport.
      What others should know:Mine has quite a bit of spring buzz. I've read that about these rifles. My Pro Sport doesn't have a bit of twang to it at all and shoots better. I also find the rounded bottom of the forearm tends to roll in the hand. The Pro Sport is flat as a pancake and stays where you put it. The Air Arms field pellets seem to be the best so far.
    • « Previous 1234 ... 67 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top