Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle reviews - page 5



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2007-12-04 15:44:18

Things I liked:I like the build quality of the gun, above all. Everything is done right. This is the kind of rifle you'll be proud to own for the rest of your life. It's the most accurate spring gun below $3,000. There are so many refinements in the trigger, the bedding, the barrel and breech, that I could write all day long about this rifle! In fact, you can read my TX200 article on this website.
Things I would have changed:Nothing!
What others should know:This is an underlever and therefore has limited access to the breech. People with very large hands may find it difficult to load until they develop a technique. The gun has 3 holes for a vertical scope stop pin, so buy scope mounts with a stop pin. Find the one best pellet, and use it exclusively. I've found both Beeman Kodiaks and 10.3-grain JSB Exacts to be equally accurate in my TX. I would scope this gun with a Bushnell 6-18x40 Trophy or a Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Mini-Size scope.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:5.0

By James from USA on 2015-01-24 20:03:46

Things I liked:Looks great. Very accurate, great trigger. Problem. I've only had the gun a couple weeks, and it does not work any more, can't cock it... So I can't really rate it yet. It was 5 stars all the way when it was working for those two weeks. Sending it back. Not sure what to do next.
Things I would have changed:Maybe should have chosen the Beeman HW 97.
What others should know:Did not have gun long enough to know.
Sort by:
  • « Previous 12 ... 45678 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Glenn from USA on 2011-10-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything! No, really, everything! The fit, the finish, the performance is flawless. For this price you should expect firearms quality and Air Arms delivers it. I've put several thousand pellets done range and I've had no problems. Find the pellet your TX200 likes and you'll find that hitting the target at 50yds is common.
    Things I would have changed:Although I like the clean lines and the look of the 11mm dove tail it really is no match for a weaver rail.
    What others should know:The recoil is substantial enough to move your scope. I bought the Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, and the Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Rifle Scope with R/G, 1" Tube. I've set-up an outdoor range with dove decoys at 35, 50, 75 and 100yds. I don't have any trouble hitting the 50 and 75yrd birds free-hand. This is a testament to the quality of the TX200 and NOT my shooting ability.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By paul from USA on 2011-09-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It's a solid well built firearm. I have used many pellet guns in the past but nothing compares to this one. The trigger is silky smooth. The barrel is exceptional. The consistent accuracy I get is simply stunning. I purchased the .177 Walnut model. It loves 9-11 grain pellets. This rifle will be handed down for generations.
    Things I would have changed:The Walnut stock is very attractive. It is however slightly porous and unfinished. I was expecting a more polished finished. It almost appears to have no finish at all, its very matte. As a dude that has stubble almost 24/7 this causes an odd problem. When my cheek is at rest against the stock and I adjust my face against the walnut grain I get a sharp pull. The stubble gets stuck in the tiny pores of the wood. OUCH!
    What others should know:I mounted a Leapers 6-24x50 to it. I spent a good afternoon zero'ing it in at 35 yards. I moved the target to 55 yards and saw almost no drop at POI. I was smashing nickels into apples at 55 yards shooting at rest with JSB Exact Heavy 10.2 grain ammo consistently. I have found other ammo to be very accurate when used with my rifle. Beeman Kodiak copper plated 10.19g and H&N Baracuda Match 10.65 are very accurate. I consider myself a pretty good shot but this rifle has either confirmed that or has made me better. All I know is that I can hit a 4"x4" target at 85 yards almost at will every time with this rifle and any of the 3 ammo's I listed.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2011-08-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Balance, fit and finish, smooth trigger
    Things I would have changed:Still learning how to load a pellet smoothly without dropping it into the receiver. Some type of catch ramp or other loading aid would be helpful. Also, over time, I suspect the finish will wear off the cocking lever. Some type of protective plastic shroud on the gripping area could keep the gun looking new longer.
    What others should know:This is my first springer, and I am still fumble a bit holding the cocking lever while fitting a pellet into the barrel. My first gun of any king was a Sheridan blue streak. Just drop a pellet in front of the open bolt and close it to load. What could be easier. Other than that mild frustration, I love the rifle, and the accuracy is indeed stellar. A solid, quality piece of equipment and a good value at the price. I'm having lots of fun with it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Todd from USA on 2011-07-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Well this is one beautiful airgun, the walnut is spectacular with a light satin finish. Blueing is deep and true except for the bear trap mechanism... Mine seems to not have taken the finish properly and has corrosion of some sort throughout, after researching, I have found that is not the norm but has come up in my research. I am going to exchange due to this defect. Hopefully everything will work out smoothly. No new airgun should have any corrosion let alone a $650 top shelf TX200, so I must return for a new piece of hardware. I even purchase the 10 for 10 and it was missed on ther inspection??? I am sure pyramyd will treat me right. I will post another review after the issue has been resolved.
    Things I would have changed:Bear trap mechanism finishing technique needs to be addressed.
    What others should know:The gun shot flawlessly and as far as function you cannot purchase anything better IMHO. I hope the replacement is just as fine of a shooter or better.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2011-07-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This airgun is well made and has a good feel, a little heavy for taking to the field but the accuracy is worth it. Pyramyd Air shipped it to me within 4 days and all was well, the screws that hold the barrel and triger guard were loose and had to be set, but that is a factory error and not the fault of Pyramyd Air. I also ordered almost every pellet in .22 cal. for the thing and all were shipped in 3-4 days, good job PA.
    Things I would have changed:I don't think I would change a thing, the triger was set at the factory and is perfect.
    What others should know:You will need a good scope and mount, no open sights provided, also check all screws. I will be doing a YouTube vid on the accuracy and speed of 48 different pellets at a later date, Good shooting
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By GLENN from USA on 2011-06-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Solid, well made, shoulders well, great wood to metal fit.
    Things I would have changed:Walnut finish was a bit rough, would have liked to have seen a little more attention to detail and luster. For a lefty that shoots right handed, the single shot load is a lot more cumbersome than a break barrel.
    What others should know:My other guns are PCP's and I wanted an untethered rifle for spur of the moment plinking. This gun fit the bill perfectly.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2011-06-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The TX200 Mk3 is a powerful and accurate rifle. After trying a number of guns, I have settled on it as my favorite shooter. And I like that it is not a break barrel. About the power: I am shooting an average of 929.8 fps with RWS Superdome 8.3 gr, 0.54 g pellets (at 80 degrees F). I'd say Pyramyd's claim of 930 fps is right on! About the accuracy: I'm using a Centerpoint 3-9x40 and shooting quarter-sized groups from 25 yards after about 200 rounds through the TX200. I expect that to improve with more use, from what I've read in these reviews. I also have a Maurader .25 cal which performs better than the TX200, so I know I can get more from the TX200 when it's ready.
    Things I would have changed:The gun is not light. Since it's an under-lever, I don't suppose there is any way to put a bipod on it--but that would be nice. The breach is not accessed as easily as a break barrel.
    What others should know:After about 100 rounds, All the screws on the gun and on the scope mount were loose! I applied blue loctite to fix that. As I said above my TX200 seems to like the RWS Superdomes, but of course your mileage may vary. I like this gun!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Nils from USA on 2011-05-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Beautiful left hand walnut stock and left hand loading. The quality of workmanship starts at the barrel and ends at the recoil pad, checkering is awesome. Attentional to detail is through out the rifle. Did I mention the trigger is sweeet and totally adjustable? I was a bit hesitant on spending this much but after getting it and zeroing it in within the first few shots, I knew it was money spent wisely. It is not light but the recoil is much lighter than the other springers I have shot so my guess is the weight absorbs the recoil.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing other than the ability to put the safety back on without going through the motions of re-cocking.
    What others should know:This rifle is not cheap but you get what you pay for. The rifle shoots a lot better than I do but dime groups at 25 yards are more the norm than a treat. Put a good scope and good mounts on it and you well be one happy shooter. Follow the directions on setting up the trigger, when they say only go 1/4 turn at a time they mean it. Set mine up way too light and the rifle fired when I just touched the trigger. If you are looking for a high quality rifle you plan to keep and want to shoot bulls-eyes, look no further.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bud from USA on 2011-05-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The quality of this gun is all first class. Air Arms paid very close attention to detail when they designed this rifle. The stock is by far one of the best designs I have ever seen and to hold this rifle is a pleasure. Very minimum kick back from this gun. Accuracy is like no other, can group shots 1/4 to 1/2 at 20 to 30 yards all day.Power is right on and then some for what it claims. I have had 8 different air rifles from .177 to .22 and none can compare to this. Mine is a .177 beach stock with a Hawke sidewinder 6x20 scope. GREAT COMBINATION! I use pellets over 8 gr. After purchasing this rifle I got rid of 6 others, you will be spoiled after shooting this gun. Don't hesitate just do it, this is one purchase you will really enjoy.
    Things I would have changed:Not much you can change other than the rubber bumper under the barrel. Should be made smaller and thicker.
    What others should know:This gun loves a little heavier pellets like 8.2 to 10.5 grain. Some pellets just won't fly straight but JSB heavy, Crossman 10.5, Air arms and Beeman pointed seem to all work very well. They are all over 8 gr.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Chaz from USA on 2011-04-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is my first "real" air rifle.(I have many other guns) And just like it's accuracy and beauty, "I nailed it" in purchasing this one!! It is a beautiful piece of workmanship and shoots great!! I'm going thru pellets like "Grant thru Richmond". And everyone who sees and shoots it is equally impressed. Very nice weapon. I don't believe you can go wrong with this gun.
    Things I would have changed:I truly can't think of a thing. If they come up with better features in the future, it will just make it that better of a gun. But maybe throwing in the cocking aid would be nice...but not necessary. It's easy enough without it.
    What others should know:Here's what you definitely need to know: Do not believe me solely. I may sound like a salesman for the company, which I promise I am not nor do I have any affiliation with, because I think so highly of this gun. Do yourself a favor and check out every review you can and I believe you will come up with the same opinion. Plus, just try to find a used one! They hold virtually all their value. That says it all right there. So if you can afford the money, (as it is a little higher priced than some) get this gun. But also keep in mind you will need a scope of good quality as well to compliment it's shooting abilities.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By trapshooter from USA on 2011-04-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quality of workmanship. Trigger. Excellent shooter. Still trying to find the right pellet So far accurate to 50 yds.
    What others should know:This is a heavy gun but recoil is manageable which helps accuracy
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By leadfinger from USA on 2011-04-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fantastic airgun in every way. Mine is a .177 with a gorgeous walnut stock. I shoot outdoors using H&N baracuda match pellets (10.65 gr,) This pellet may be a little heavy for the gun, but yeilds the best groups even in windy conditions, not to mention the best downrange energy. This is the gun to get if you want to learn to shoot offhand. After putting 30,000 rounds through this rifle, I can hit a 6 oz. tomato paste can more than half the time at 75 yards. Or, from a rest, I can hit a hickory nut 60 yards away at the top of an 80 ft tall tree! (Don't try this unless you know where the pellet will land if you miss)
    Things I would have changed:I would love to see this gun with a gas ram option. Build it for the US market with 23+ fpe in .22, and you would have the ultimate non pcp small game hunting air rifle.
    What others should know:While I have put thousands of rounds through this rifle, I have had to replace the mainspring and piston seals twice. The first time it was under warranty and was free. The second time, two years later, it cost $99 at PA. Service was quick, friendly and hassle free. Go for it!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By D.Guy from USA on 2011-04-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Beautifully made. Stunning accuracy. Perfect trigger. Easy to cock and load.
    Things I would have changed:The Safety; it would be nice if you could place the safety back on once you click it off. However you can de-cock this rifle, which is nice.
    What others should know:I purchased this rifle for shooting ground squirrels from my balcony and I have been amazed at the performance of this rifle. I have a variable power scope and with it set at 10x, any squirrel within 50yards is a dead squirrel. I've even whacked squirrels at 70yards!! I zero the scope at 30 yards and shoot 1/4" groups; unbelievable for an air gun. If you want consistent, repeatable accuracy, get one of these! As mentioned before, this is a heavy gun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By GARY from USA on 2011-03-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Ok my comments concerning the TX200 MK3; (WOW, WOW, YAHOO!!) this pellet rifle is a dream to shoot, it has very little thump to it, when I compare it to my Beeman SS1000. Not a good comparison but that’s what I have in collection of pellet guns. At one time I had a RWS 350 Magnum but I sold it, and it would not hold a light to this gun as far smoothness of cocking, trigger pull, and accuracy, did I mention trigger pull;
    Things I would have changed:Not much that I would change.
    What others should know:I must say that I’m still getting use to shooting a springer, but had I been better informed this would have been the gun a beginner should start with; I say that because it does not have a lot of recoil and thumb to it; I but a Bushnell scope on it (6-18x40) and it seems to be holding up good. With continues shooting practice I feel confident that my grouping will improve. It seems to like the (Air Arms Diabolo Field 8.44 grains, 4.52 head) the average velocity is 908. I purchase the .177 and I love it and it makes you want to save your money to purchase another in a .22 caliber, it is just a sweet gun
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By frank from USA on 2011-03-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:You need to get one of these. I own several good pcp's and could never get used to the twang of the spring piston guns. Should have gotten one of these a long time ago. Paint balls at twenty yards have little chance. The fit and finish is the best I have ever seen.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing!
    What others should know:This one likes the heavier pellets. Keeps getting smoother the more I shoot it. (Currently at about 1000+ shots)
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Trevor from USA on 2011-02-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:What a fantastic airgun! If you enjoy the feel of a springer, then I highly recommend this one! I've had the TX200 for a little over two weeks and have shot about 250 JSB Diabolo Exact Heavy pellets with it. The grouping are consistently tight. About 1/2 - 3/4 inches at 20 meters. Surprisingly quiet given all the power. Air Arms' workmanship on this airgun is stellar. The bluing of the barrel and the walnut stock make this airgun look great as well as perform. It is heavy compared to other airguns, but it clearly makes it more stable.
    Things I would have changed:Loading pellets is a bit trickey with big hands. If you drop a pellet in the loading "chamber" you end up having to twist the airgun around to make it drop back out. I wish the safety could be reengaged after clicking it off.
    What others should know:This airgun may be a bit pricey, but I really believe you are buying lasting value. This gun is powerful. I've had a HW50S springer for many years and my simple angled ~26 gauge sheet metal and hardboard backing smaller backstop worked just fine for deflecting the HW50's pellets safely down. However, when I got the TX200, the power of it required me to completely readapt this backstop. It will tear holes through both metal and backing. I moved to 16 gauge sheet metal backing and plenty of plumber's seal in front. It's a lot more quiet and safer.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By marion from USA on 2011-02-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the stock, it could be the best stock I every had. The weight of the gun is perfect for shooting. This could be one of the most accurate barrels made. I have never been a big fan of two-stage triggers but this is the best I ever had.
    Things I would have changed:Once you take the safety off you can't put it back on without recocking it.
    What others should know:It is the only rifle I own that wants to shoot in the same hole. My rifle seems to like CP (cardboard box), JSB (18.1 and 15.9) and H&N 21.14 grs.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Scott from USA on 2011-02-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy is amazing. this thing is consistently on the mark. - the only word that comes to mind is Wow!
    Things I would have changed:It would be nice if you could put the safty back on once you take it off. If you are getting ready to shoot and flip the safety off and than the shot oportunity changes, you can not put the gun back on safe. You are more or less limited to finding something else to shoot at and reload. Having a loaded gun in an off safe state tends to make me jumpy. there are many times where a shot situation changes and I have the need to put a gun back on safe. this is a real issue with this gun in my mind.
    What others should know:While this thing is spendy. It sure delivers on the Accuracy factor. Which is why I decided to upgrade to this gun in the first place. Prior, I was using a Crossman Phantam and just could not get it to shoot consistently. (the local Starling population was driving me nuts). I coupled this gun with a 3x9 scope and I am now eliminating the local Starling population issue. I am 15 for 15 on Starlings with this gun, distances ranging from 20 to 50 yards. with the Crossman I was about 3 of 15 for the same distances. No guess work with this rifle. Put the Cross hairs on the Starling, pull the trigger and it falls over dead. I am very happy with the accuracy factor. As said above, the lack of being able to put it back on safe is annoying, but other than that gripe, this is a great gun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By kenneth from USA on 2011-02-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:All that can be said about the TX200 has been said. Its all true, this is the best springer I have owned. Stop reading the reviews and hit the button you wont regret it.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:The TX is a heavy rifle.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By keith from USA on 2011-01-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This rifle is incredibly accurate with the Air Arms 4.52 Field pellets. I installed the Beeman/Sportsmatch high adjustable mount with a Bushnell Elite 4200 6-24 AO scope and the combination is just amazingly accurate for either field target or air rifle silhouette. The walnut stock is a work of art pure and simple. If you have ever handled a walnut chess piece it has the same color and texture. The wood is not oily but dry for want of a better description. I want to oil the stock but don't want the stock to become greasy and dark from the wrong oil. I want to send an email to Air Arms to see what they recommend. I get a lot of comments at the small bore range at my shooting club on how beautiful the rifle is. The bluing on the barrel and action is incredible. The trigger is fantastic out of the box. I haven't made any adjustments to it. I shoot smallbore air rifle silhouette at club and purchased this rifle to get in practice time without spending a lot of money on Wolf.22 LR. I enjoy this rifle so much I have left my .22 rifle at home and only have taken my TX200 MkIII to the range for the past two weekends. The weight does seem to help with the accuracy. If you purchase this rifle you won't be disappointed. This rifle works extremely well in combination with the Beeman/Sportsmatch adjustable high mount and the Bushnell Elite 4200 6-24. I don't know why Pyramyd doesn't offer this scope.
    Things I would have changed:I wish Air Arms would sell an accessory kit with the oils for the action and stock and the moly grease for the cocking arm joint. I want to take care of my rifle and don't want to use the wrong oil on anything. Also, I wish Air Arms would partner with a scope mount manufacturer like Talley to make a one piece or two piece mount set specific to the Air Arms TX200 MkIII with the same blueing. The Beeman/Sportsmatch high adjustable mount works well but its not very elegant looking. Also, I wish Air Arms would sell recoil pads with different thicknesses. I want to take off the recoil pad to shorten the stock and want to replace it with a very thin pad but don't want my replacement pad to look home brew. I am going to email them and see if they have any suggestions on after market recoil pads.
    What others should know:Double check all of the stock screws on this rifle out of the box and every 100 pellets as you break in the rifle. Mine were loose and needed tightening after about 150 pellets. The action was rattling in the stock when I would take a shot and my more experienced buddies at the range noticed the sound and told me to tighten the action screws. Also, you definitely need to make sure the stop pin on your scope mount is seated deeply enough in the hole on top of the rifle action before finishing the installation of the scope. If this isn't done properly, the bottom of the stop in will graze and scratch the top of the action as the mount slides backwards from repeated firing. This is a tough rifle to zero the scope on if you aren't an expert shot which I am not. I have an expensive benchrest and this rifle just doesn't seem to like traditional benchrests. A buddy at my club who is an expert shot shooting offhand zeroed the scope for me. The rifle bounced around in my benchrest when I tried to zero the scope so much that I never could zero the scope due to the springer recoil. I would experiment with those round rolls or any other means of supporting the stock that people use instead of a tripod benchrest to simulate the artillery hold as close as possible. There is a video on the Pyramyd website on the artillery hold and it is well worth watching. I used it today shooting air rifle silhouette swingers. and was hitting the chickens, turkey, pigs, and rams again and again.
  • « Previous 12 ... 45678 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top