Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle reviews - page 9



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By espn1990 from USA on 2010-04-23 21:39:46

Things I liked:Powerful and quiet! Love the scope and the scope rail.
Things I would have changed:The trigger! It's horrible. I just installed a GRTIII, made an incredible difference! I have seen a lot of complaints about the trigger on all of the comments. You guys need to order this trigger from charliedatuna.com. $32, shipping included. Money well spent. Also, they need to offer a composite/synthetic stock in the XL series.
What others should know:Not for kids. This is a heavy gun that is hard to cock. I like the weight, seems to help me steady the shot.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By brian from USA on 2014-08-07 09:02:41

Things I liked:I bought rife 6 months ago, feels good to shot. The problem is up pellet move up and down, a good foot at times. Have called PA and tried shimming scope. that did not work. Took scope off and did the same thing. I will call to see if I can return.
Things I would have changed:right the rifle
What others should know:look for a better rifle
Sort by:
  • « Previous 12 ... 8910 ... 1314 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Petr from USA on 2011-05-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The rifle has good feel and not as bad to cook.
    Things I would have changed:It is on a heavy side to carry for longer period of time.
    What others should know:Air Pyramid product potential buyers be aware!!! I made air rifle purchase on or around 2/22/2011.The order did not go as smooth as anticipated and many issues where addressed. I have spent plenty of time on the phone but seems they are not concerned with customers after the sale is finalized and paid for. I have paid for 10 for 10 service which I have not received and after addressing the issue I was promised refund for the service they have not delivered which has never taken place. The way they handled the shipping - missing owners manual, warranty card , scope owners manual , pellet can shipped in case along with the rifle unprotected ending damaging the scope in unacceptable. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED 10 FOR 10 SERVICE I HAVE PAID FOR AND WAS PROMISED A REFUND WHICH HAS NEVER OCURED.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Nicholas from USA on 2011-05-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Looks great and shoots great. Hard to tell it's only an airgun. Only took 5 shots to zero scope and has held for over 400 shots!
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:First shot was REAL loud.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2011-05-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.6666700839996343 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a heavy rifle, which not only imparts a nice substantial feel, but also improves accuracy, and believe me, this rifle is both accurate and powerful. The barrel shroud is metal instead of plastic, and the last inch appears to incorporate an internal muzzle break to help deaden the sound. It works! The sling attachments are a welcome touch and it comes with a nice sling. The included Center Point scope seems to be well made and has a nice bright view, but I felt like this rifle deserved more, so I replaced it with a RWS 4-12x50 with illuminated reticle, which I really like. I'll save the Center Point for another rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Like many other buyers, I was not overly impressed with the trigger. It is serviceable, but the let off is unpredictable and not conducive to accurate shooting. Benjamin really should have put a better unit on this gun since it is their flagship model. I have already replaced it with a GRT-III, and I highly reccomend it. It is the finishing touch to an otherwise awesome rifle.
    What others should know:Some reviewers were dissapointed with the finish of the thumbhole opening of the stock. I believe this part of the stock is probably finished by hand rather then on a cnc milling machine to hold down the cost; mine looks just fine. Once I gave it a good working over with Birchwood Casey gunstock wax it looked great! It is nicely checkered, and I especially like the way they engraved the name Benjamin on the bottom of the forestock. This is definately an adult air rifle. It takes considerable force, both to break the barrel, and to charge it, something for slighter shooters to consider. Although it is heavy, it balences well in a one handed under stock grip and carry. On an all day foray you'll definately want to have the sling on it.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By rich from USA on 2011-05-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:this is a true hunting machine,beautiful stock nice scope,and very accurate when you find that magic pellet.a very hard hitting 22cal.the best i've bought yet all around the rifle.is of great accept the trigger issue needs to be addresed but thank god for charlie da tuna and his gtx3 trigger,now this is a true tack driver.
    Things I would have changed:the trigger needs to swaped out if you want a great shooting rifle. i could not get used to the factory trigger. very sloppy.
    What others should know:if you purchace this rifle expect to change the trigger but the good news is for only 32.00 dollars you can get a target quality trigger from charlie da tuna. it is a 100% change for the better. it breaks like glass and it is fully adjustable, i did not adjust mine and it shoots fantastic.Rich
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Qing from USA on 2011-05-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:very powerful, very accurate if you have a tough scope or iron sight. Still looking for a long enough range to test it at 50 meters.
    Things I would have changed:For this kind of ultra-magnum springer, an iron sight is definetly required because it's difficult to find a strong enough scope that can survive the recoil. Moreover, iron sight is more accurate because it's installed on the barrel. The Centerpoint scope that comes with it is a trash. After 200 shots the reticle is broken, and some fluid spills out from the objective lense
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bernd from USA on 2011-05-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.3333299160003663 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I 've had mine for over a year now. I purchased the .22 . The size and heft of this gun are great. I have shot this gun anywhere from 19 deg -100 deg temp. with good results. At 15 yards I've nailed flies. At 75 yards I can keep a group of 5 shots in 3 inches if I'm on it. Using the artillery hold is a must. So I believe this gun is fairly accurate, if your using a quality pellet that is matched to your gun. I've used an assortment of pellets from 13.73 grains - 21.14 grains. My pellet of choice is the JSB Match Diabolo round head 18.1 grain.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger and I did not work well together. After installing the GRT III wow what a difference, much more predictable. It also looks better. Make it in America.
    What others should know:The scope that comes with the gun is OK, but after awhile during long sessions it would not stay zeroed. so I put on a BSA StealthTactical 4-16x44AO with great results. This gun is for strong mature airgunners.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Mark from USA on 2011-05-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This is a nice Rifle after I changed the trigger to the GTX Gen II.
    Things I would have changed:The Trigger.
    What others should know:It takes a strong arm to cook this gun.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Dylan from USA on 2011-04-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:For the money, the .25 is well worth it. The rifle is fun to shoot. I like the power, heft, and reliability of this rifle. My other springers all have coil springs, so I wanted to try a nitrogen charged springer, and I like it. I can leave it cocked while hunting and I don't worry about it like I do with my coiled spring guns.
    Things I would have changed:There really isn't anything that I think needs to be changed. The price is set at a nice 300 dollars and you can get started right away.
    What others should know:I was a little skeptical about the gun until I used it. I own RWS rifles exclusively, until now that is. The machining and over-all quality is not on par with RWS, but that isn't a negative. The benjamin is a fraction of the cost, so its alot of gun for the money. I enjoy shooting it as much as my RWS rifles. Maybe its just me, but I don't think its as accurate as my other rifles. It definately holds differently than my other rifles. I've settled on H&N field target trophy pellets as they seem to shoot the best and group the best in this rifle. This is a new pellet for me and I was surprised that JSB didn't group well in this .25 caliber rifle.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Garrett from USA on 2011-04-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun is VERY accurate! Weight, Nitro Piston, power, looks and the feel of it is awesome! I love the thumbhole stock.
    Things I would have changed:Scope. It's not bad it just didn't seem to stay zeroed very well.
    What others should know:I own this rifle in .22cal and use 18.1gr jsb diablo exact heavies, i get dime sized groups at 35-40yards. I put a Charlie Da Tuna GTRIII trigger on this and it definatly increased my accuracy. I also mounted a Leapers 3-9x40 scope on it. I've read a lot of review on this gun being too "heavy" and too "tiring" to cock. Well let's just say I'm a 14 year old boy and I have no problem carring this rifle around for a 4(or more) mile trip. I look at it as traimg for 12 mile hikes during deer season. And I can shoot this 150 times a day and not once does my arm get "sore".
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Euripides from USA on 2011-04-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Initially I purchased a Walther Talon Magnum in .22 but after upgrading the scope and trying different pellets and holds I could not get it to group better than 2" at 10 yards, so had to send it back. Now with the Benjamin Trail NP XL 1100 I can get much better groupings about 1/2" at 10 yards with no problems. Power is a bit lower than the Walther (with the spring) but I would trade the extra power for accuracy any day. The scope it brings is also quite good. The slign is a plus...
    Things I would have changed:The trigger although I have gotten used to it with its long pull, but Benjamin could have done better.
    What others should know:After breakin the noise of the pellet hitting the target is normally as loud or louder than the report from the gun so very quiet... very solid construction and finish, you will not be disappointed.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Frank from USA on 2011-04-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very powerful and very steady. I shot about 100 shots before mounting the scope, and even without sights it is very shootable at close ranges. I like the scope it is very adjustable and gives a clear sight picture even down to about 12 feet maybe less, that's as close as I have tried. I have had no problem with it going out of adjustment . Shoots through a 3/4 inch board w/ no problem ,before break-in, it was going about 75% of the way into it. Shoots through 3 heavy metal vegetable cans plus a lid of one stuffed inside like nothing. Same with a gallon jug of water. Seems very accurate. I had no loose screws or parts on mine, quality seems pretty good.
    Things I would have changed:Hard cocker like cocking a beaver trap. Heavy like a elephant gun. Inconsistent trigger causes some shots to go off target.
    What others should know:A bit louder than I expected I bought it to shoot in my back yard but it definitely gives off enough noise to make the neighbors notice. I have open field in back but close neighbors on the sides and have ended up shooting indoors due to the noise. I have put about 150 shots through it and still is pretty loud, I have never shot another spring gun so maybe it is alot quieter than those. Fun to shoot for sure.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By mike from USA on 2011-04-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:very well made gun.awesome power.very very accurate.opened the box and it had no flaws very happy.the gun is heavy and well ballanced.i got mine in the .25 cal,thinking of ordering the .22 cal also.these are really nice guns for the price.
    Things I would have changed:i would not change anything on my gun.i think im a lucky one,my gun has no trigger problems either.very happy with the condition it came in.
    What others should know:these are quiet guns,but the .25 is kinda loud.not sure if it will get quieter or not but i have fired 105 pellets through mine and it sounds the same as the first pellet i fired.also if you get the .25 cal it kicks!no joke it kicks if you are to close to the scope when you fire, it will give you a scope ring on the face or head.lol.careful with this one,lots of power.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Scott from USA on 2011-04-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very nice looking gun. Well built airgun.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger is too far from where I grip the gun so I have to stretch to pull the trigger which leads to inaccuracy. Lighter cocking effort would have been nice.
    What others should know:I have the 177cal and I only fired one shot from it so far and that was one too many cause it was late at night and it sounded like a 223 going off! I used one of the Crossman 7.9 grain pellets that came with the gun and it MUST have broke the sound barrier because it was extremely loud. I hope to god a bigger pellet will make A LOT less noise because if not I won't be able to shoot this gun. This gun is supposed to be really quite but we'll see. Also I tried cocking the gun like I do my 1000fps Gamo and I could not get the barrel to open. With the Gamo you just cock it but with this gun you have to hit the barrel with your hand to open the barrel then you have to cock it. I actually thought the gun might be broke because I wasn't used to this. I purchased the GRT-3 trigger and it will be ez to install if it works cause not all of these XL'S are compatible with that trigger. I'll write another review when mount the scope and shoot the gun more.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bruce from USA on 2011-04-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well Made Air Rifle! I was hesitant because this rifle is in fact Made In China but when it arrived I gave it a thorough check and it did not have a blemish on it (what a relief). Powerful, Accurate, and the Price is Right, for $300 you get a Nitro Piston air rifle, a sling, and a fairly good scope. While the rifle may be a bit heavy for some people, it is very well balanced. Power is almost ridiculous but still very accurate, with lighter pellets you will lose some accuracy. Also, this is easily one of the most quiet guns I have ever shot, anyone living in a residential neighborhood should not worry about the Trail's noise level.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger has an EXTREMELY long pull which takes a bit of getting used to. You can adjust it but does not shorten the pull nearly enough. With time I think anyone can get used to it but the GRT III is certainly a quick, easy, and inexpensive fix.
    What others should know:Clean the rifle right away, there was a lot of residue from the machining process. This rifle seems to like heavier pellets (anything 16 grams and over). Mine seems to like Crossman Premier Hollowpoints, Beeman Silver Stings, Beeman Silver Arrows, H&N Barracuda's and even Predator Polymags. All in all a Fantastic Air Rifle and easily one of the best Break Barrel's out there. Buy this gun and you will not be sorry!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By airhunter from USA on 2011-04-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Awesome accuracy, feel, stock, carving came with scope and sling-my favorite rifle!(air and gunpowder) never freezes up self powered-no C02 needed
    Things I would have changed:A few more rails would be nice and a multi shot would be awsome
    What others should know:has a 30-40 lb pull for the break barrel, fine with me because i lift but you still need to be strong to use it
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Justin from USA on 2011-04-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have the XL725. It is a great shooter. Can be very hold sensitive but once you get a gasp on how to hold it the thing is a tack driver. I ended up getting the .25 because I like having serious FPE for dealing with pests. If you "need enough gun" this is it. I've used it to kill roosters and all it takes is a single to the base of the neck. Game over.
    Things I would have changed:I do not like thumb hole stocks.
    What others should know:Very hold sensitive VERY quiet Mine is very picky on pellets. The H&N Ram Point is the only pellet that gives me decent accuracy.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jamal from USA on 2011-03-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This rifle is so good I had to buy it twice....got the .22 & the .25
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Andy from USA on 2011-03-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Power, quietness, well balanced, SUPER sturdy quality feel, Bull Barrel, Scope mount, Best scope mount Ive came across so far ! and the SLING, cant forget the sling. You can tell they put quite some effort in this rifle.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger, they need to replace the factory trigger like how Walther's did with their rifles: originally came with a plastic trigger but hatsan listened to their customers and eventually replaced it with a metal clean crisp pull quattro trigger. The finish on this rifle is sorry, scratches and chips too easily
    What others should know:Out of the box it shot 1300-1200 fps, then 950-1000, and settled in at 900-920 FPS with CPHP's after 300-400 shots. Stronger than my gas ram Walther Falcon 22 with less recoil and noise, this rifle is a scope killer as well. Just as heavy as my falcon but so well balanced that it makes it easier to shoot off hand. Horrible trigger, adjusted it as much as I could and I was still jerking shots because of the stiff long pull gamo trigger, dropped a GRT-III trigger and now she's a real shooter. Im stacking pellets on top of each other with CPHP's at 10-20 yards as far as accuracy, havent had the chance to do some long range shots but I can tell this rifle is just as accurate shooting long range. I'd pick this rifle over my gas rammed Falcon any day.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Eric from USA on 2011-03-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The first two things you notice about this gun are the weight and the build quality. This is a heavy gun and the build quality is outstanding. This gun is not for lightweights and children. I have the .22cal and this thing is going through 1/2" pressure treated plywood. My friend has a 13yo son that cannot cock this gun so you need to be ready to exert a fair amount of effort once you break the barrel. It also has a fair amount of recoil because of the nitro piston so make sure you have plenty of relief between your eye and the scope. I would say it is a very fair price for what you are getting. I have had mine for only a week and already have a few hundred rounds through it. It is very fun to shoot.
    Things I would have changed:The only thing that I could possibly find to criticize would be the trigger. Once cocked, it is very heavy and not very smooth. I would recommend changing it if you plan on doing some serious shooting with this gun
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2011-03-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is one heavy duty rifle. I bought mine in .22 caliber. The rifle has good looks, awesome power, the bull barrel looks sharp and it drives nails!
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is kinda bad. The scope is good for the money but I bought a Hawke Eclipse 30 6-24X50. Now that's a good piece of glass!
    What others should know:Clean the barrel 3 times before you even mount the scope it is filthy. It will make sight in much faster.I have tried all kinds of pellets and my rifle and I seem to like the JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Express at 14.3 gr. the best. This is a great rifle and I am sure will provide me with years of shooting pleasure!
  • « Previous 12 ... 8910 ... 1314 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top