Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle reviews - page 9



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By espn1990 from USA on 2010-04-23 21:39:46

    Things I liked:Powerful and quiet! Love the scope and the scope rail.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger! It's horrible. I just installed a GRTIII, made an incredible difference! I have seen a lot of complaints about the trigger on all of the comments. You guys need to order this trigger from charliedatuna.com. $32, shipping included. Money well spent. Also, they need to offer a composite/synthetic stock in the XL series.
    What others should know:Not for kids. This is a heavy gun that is hard to cock. I like the weight, seems to help me steady the shot.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By brian from USA on 2014-08-07 09:02:41

    Things I liked:I bought rife 6 months ago, feels good to shot. The problem is up pellet move up and down, a good foot at times. Have called PA and tried shimming scope. that did not work. Took scope off and did the same thing. I will call to see if I can return.
    Things I would have changed:right the rifle
    What others should know:look for a better rifle
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 8910 ... 1314 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bernd from USA on 2011-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.3333299160003663 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I 've had mine for over a year now. I purchased the .22 . The size and heft of this gun are great. I have shot this gun anywhere from 19 deg -100 deg temp. with good results. At 15 yards I've nailed flies. At 75 yards I can keep a group of 5 shots in 3 inches if I'm on it. Using the artillery hold is a must. So I believe this gun is fairly accurate, if your using a quality pellet that is matched to your gun. I've used an assortment of pellets from 13.73 grains - 21.14 grains. My pellet of choice is the JSB Match Diabolo round head 18.1 grain.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger and I did not work well together. After installing the GRT III wow what a difference, much more predictable. It also looks better. Make it in America.
      What others should know:The scope that comes with the gun is OK, but after awhile during long sessions it would not stay zeroed. so I put on a BSA StealthTactical 4-16x44AO with great results. This gun is for strong mature airgunners.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mark from USA on 2011-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a nice Rifle after I changed the trigger to the GTX Gen II.
      Things I would have changed:The Trigger.
      What others should know:It takes a strong arm to cook this gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Dylan from USA on 2011-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the money, the .25 is well worth it. The rifle is fun to shoot. I like the power, heft, and reliability of this rifle. My other springers all have coil springs, so I wanted to try a nitrogen charged springer, and I like it. I can leave it cocked while hunting and I don't worry about it like I do with my coiled spring guns.
      Things I would have changed:There really isn't anything that I think needs to be changed. The price is set at a nice 300 dollars and you can get started right away.
      What others should know:I was a little skeptical about the gun until I used it. I own RWS rifles exclusively, until now that is. The machining and over-all quality is not on par with RWS, but that isn't a negative. The benjamin is a fraction of the cost, so its alot of gun for the money. I enjoy shooting it as much as my RWS rifles. Maybe its just me, but I don't think its as accurate as my other rifles. It definately holds differently than my other rifles. I've settled on H&N field target trophy pellets as they seem to shoot the best and group the best in this rifle. This is a new pellet for me and I was surprised that JSB didn't group well in this .25 caliber rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Garrett from USA on 2011-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is VERY accurate! Weight, Nitro Piston, power, looks and the feel of it is awesome! I love the thumbhole stock.
      Things I would have changed:Scope. It's not bad it just didn't seem to stay zeroed very well.
      What others should know:I own this rifle in .22cal and use 18.1gr jsb diablo exact heavies, i get dime sized groups at 35-40yards. I put a Charlie Da Tuna GTRIII trigger on this and it definatly increased my accuracy. I also mounted a Leapers 3-9x40 scope on it. I've read a lot of review on this gun being too "heavy" and too "tiring" to cock. Well let's just say I'm a 14 year old boy and I have no problem carring this rifle around for a 4(or more) mile trip. I look at it as traimg for 12 mile hikes during deer season. And I can shoot this 150 times a day and not once does my arm get "sore".
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Euripides from USA on 2011-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Initially I purchased a Walther Talon Magnum in .22 but after upgrading the scope and trying different pellets and holds I could not get it to group better than 2" at 10 yards, so had to send it back. Now with the Benjamin Trail NP XL 1100 I can get much better groupings about 1/2" at 10 yards with no problems. Power is a bit lower than the Walther (with the spring) but I would trade the extra power for accuracy any day. The scope it brings is also quite good. The slign is a plus...
      Things I would have changed:The trigger although I have gotten used to it with its long pull, but Benjamin could have done better.
      What others should know:After breakin the noise of the pellet hitting the target is normally as loud or louder than the report from the gun so very quiet... very solid construction and finish, you will not be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Frank from USA on 2011-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful and very steady. I shot about 100 shots before mounting the scope, and even without sights it is very shootable at close ranges. I like the scope it is very adjustable and gives a clear sight picture even down to about 12 feet maybe less, that's as close as I have tried. I have had no problem with it going out of adjustment . Shoots through a 3/4 inch board w/ no problem ,before break-in, it was going about 75% of the way into it. Shoots through 3 heavy metal vegetable cans plus a lid of one stuffed inside like nothing. Same with a gallon jug of water. Seems very accurate. I had no loose screws or parts on mine, quality seems pretty good.
      Things I would have changed:Hard cocker like cocking a beaver trap. Heavy like a elephant gun. Inconsistent trigger causes some shots to go off target.
      What others should know:A bit louder than I expected I bought it to shoot in my back yard but it definitely gives off enough noise to make the neighbors notice. I have open field in back but close neighbors on the sides and have ended up shooting indoors due to the noise. I have put about 150 shots through it and still is pretty loud, I have never shot another spring gun so maybe it is alot quieter than those. Fun to shoot for sure.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2011-04-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very well made gun.awesome power.very very accurate.opened the box and it had no flaws very happy.the gun is heavy and well ballanced.i got mine in the .25 cal,thinking of ordering the .22 cal also.these are really nice guns for the price.
      Things I would have changed:i would not change anything on my gun.i think im a lucky one,my gun has no trigger problems either.very happy with the condition it came in.
      What others should know:these are quiet guns,but the .25 is kinda loud.not sure if it will get quieter or not but i have fired 105 pellets through mine and it sounds the same as the first pellet i fired.also if you get the .25 cal it kicks!no joke it kicks if you are to close to the scope when you fire, it will give you a scope ring on the face or head.lol.careful with this one,lots of power.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Scott from USA on 2011-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice looking gun. Well built airgun.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is too far from where I grip the gun so I have to stretch to pull the trigger which leads to inaccuracy. Lighter cocking effort would have been nice.
      What others should know:I have the 177cal and I only fired one shot from it so far and that was one too many cause it was late at night and it sounded like a 223 going off! I used one of the Crossman 7.9 grain pellets that came with the gun and it MUST have broke the sound barrier because it was extremely loud. I hope to god a bigger pellet will make A LOT less noise because if not I won't be able to shoot this gun. This gun is supposed to be really quite but we'll see. Also I tried cocking the gun like I do my 1000fps Gamo and I could not get the barrel to open. With the Gamo you just cock it but with this gun you have to hit the barrel with your hand to open the barrel then you have to cock it. I actually thought the gun might be broke because I wasn't used to this. I purchased the GRT-3 trigger and it will be ez to install if it works cause not all of these XL'S are compatible with that trigger. I'll write another review when mount the scope and shoot the gun more.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bruce from USA on 2011-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well Made Air Rifle! I was hesitant because this rifle is in fact Made In China but when it arrived I gave it a thorough check and it did not have a blemish on it (what a relief). Powerful, Accurate, and the Price is Right, for $300 you get a Nitro Piston air rifle, a sling, and a fairly good scope. While the rifle may be a bit heavy for some people, it is very well balanced. Power is almost ridiculous but still very accurate, with lighter pellets you will lose some accuracy. Also, this is easily one of the most quiet guns I have ever shot, anyone living in a residential neighborhood should not worry about the Trail's noise level.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger has an EXTREMELY long pull which takes a bit of getting used to. You can adjust it but does not shorten the pull nearly enough. With time I think anyone can get used to it but the GRT III is certainly a quick, easy, and inexpensive fix.
      What others should know:Clean the rifle right away, there was a lot of residue from the machining process. This rifle seems to like heavier pellets (anything 16 grams and over). Mine seems to like Crossman Premier Hollowpoints, Beeman Silver Stings, Beeman Silver Arrows, H&N Barracuda's and even Predator Polymags. All in all a Fantastic Air Rifle and easily one of the best Break Barrel's out there. Buy this gun and you will not be sorry!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By airhunter from USA on 2011-04-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awesome accuracy, feel, stock, carving came with scope and sling-my favorite rifle!(air and gunpowder) never freezes up self powered-no C02 needed
      Things I would have changed:A few more rails would be nice and a multi shot would be awsome
      What others should know:has a 30-40 lb pull for the break barrel, fine with me because i lift but you still need to be strong to use it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Justin from USA on 2011-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have the XL725. It is a great shooter. Can be very hold sensitive but once you get a gasp on how to hold it the thing is a tack driver. I ended up getting the .25 because I like having serious FPE for dealing with pests. If you "need enough gun" this is it. I've used it to kill roosters and all it takes is a single to the base of the neck. Game over.
      Things I would have changed:I do not like thumb hole stocks.
      What others should know:Very hold sensitive VERY quiet Mine is very picky on pellets. The H&N Ram Point is the only pellet that gives me decent accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jamal from USA on 2011-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is so good I had to buy it twice....got the .22 & the .25
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Andy from USA on 2011-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power, quietness, well balanced, SUPER sturdy quality feel, Bull Barrel, Scope mount, Best scope mount Ive came across so far ! and the SLING, cant forget the sling. You can tell they put quite some effort in this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger, they need to replace the factory trigger like how Walther's did with their rifles: originally came with a plastic trigger but hatsan listened to their customers and eventually replaced it with a metal clean crisp pull quattro trigger. The finish on this rifle is sorry, scratches and chips too easily
      What others should know:Out of the box it shot 1300-1200 fps, then 950-1000, and settled in at 900-920 FPS with CPHP's after 300-400 shots. Stronger than my gas ram Walther Falcon 22 with less recoil and noise, this rifle is a scope killer as well. Just as heavy as my falcon but so well balanced that it makes it easier to shoot off hand. Horrible trigger, adjusted it as much as I could and I was still jerking shots because of the stiff long pull gamo trigger, dropped a GRT-III trigger and now she's a real shooter. Im stacking pellets on top of each other with CPHP's at 10-20 yards as far as accuracy, havent had the chance to do some long range shots but I can tell this rifle is just as accurate shooting long range. I'd pick this rifle over my gas rammed Falcon any day.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eric from USA on 2011-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The first two things you notice about this gun are the weight and the build quality. This is a heavy gun and the build quality is outstanding. This gun is not for lightweights and children. I have the .22cal and this thing is going through 1/2" pressure treated plywood. My friend has a 13yo son that cannot cock this gun so you need to be ready to exert a fair amount of effort once you break the barrel. It also has a fair amount of recoil because of the nitro piston so make sure you have plenty of relief between your eye and the scope. I would say it is a very fair price for what you are getting. I have had mine for only a week and already have a few hundred rounds through it. It is very fun to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing that I could possibly find to criticize would be the trigger. Once cocked, it is very heavy and not very smooth. I would recommend changing it if you plan on doing some serious shooting with this gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2011-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is one heavy duty rifle. I bought mine in .22 caliber. The rifle has good looks, awesome power, the bull barrel looks sharp and it drives nails!
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is kinda bad. The scope is good for the money but I bought a Hawke Eclipse 30 6-24X50. Now that's a good piece of glass!
      What others should know:Clean the barrel 3 times before you even mount the scope it is filthy. It will make sight in much faster.I have tried all kinds of pellets and my rifle and I seem to like the JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Express at 14.3 gr. the best. This is a great rifle and I am sure will provide me with years of shooting pleasure!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chad from USA on 2011-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice heavy quiet I've only 25 shots through her for chrony testing so far and my average was around 698 -704 ft per second so no need to get crazy priced lead free for the up to only 20-25 ft more and I was using jsb exact which is a little heavier !
      Things I would have changed:Synthetic stock
      What others should know:looks mean hits hard
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By chad from USA on 2011-03-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Arrived perfect Pa is the anything airgun matter I have the .25 cal still need break in but not to picky about pellet type I bought a dozen tins each of 3 different types loved them all
      Things I would have changed:Make synthetic stock
      What others should know:You could get it hitting 1/2 inch at 15 to 30 yards but its a hunter and hits like a freight train
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Scott from USA on 2011-03-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a behemoth. A full sized rifle built like a tank. Marked Adults Only and they "ain't" kiddin'. This is not a kids gun nor is it for grandpa. @ 47lbs cocking effort it's all I can handle at age 59. Mine is in .25 cal. It's a deffinate hunter which is why I bought it. Plinking would wear me out. It's solid, no rattles or loose fittings. It's got some first class power and bullet expansion. I fired it into a 2X6 and it blew a chunk of wood out of the board...the size of a nickle. You don't have to hunt to see where you're hitting.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing I have found yet.
      What others should know:Mine arrived with a marred receiver. I believe it to be a mfg (Crosman) problem and not a Pyramyd Air one. At any rate, it's a hunter for me so I won't feel bad when I add to the marring and scratch up the stock. The stock is pretty dull and bland but I'll put some Birchwood Casey polish on it and buff it up a little. This rifle is a real handfull. I "still" hunt which is perfect for this gun. If you're a walker/stalker you might put wheels under this, or pick something on the lighter side. At 9+ lbs this thing will walk you into the ground. I'm going to have to buy a shooting stick. I can't get an offhand steady rest with this rifle even using the sling. I was looking for max raw power without going PCP. This fits the bill.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lynn from USA on 2011-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just purchased the 25 cal. version. Like others have said, this is one large and heavy rifle. You'll need a 50" scope case to hold it. I live in a courtyard home in a gated community and I've successfully been able to avoid attracting my neighbors attention target shooting my other airguns in the courtyard. They are all CO2 pistols in the 425 to 510 fps range. Just a few minutes ago, I mounted the scope, loaded a Benjamin pointed hunting pellet and headed to the courtyard to site in the scope. Just for yucks I put a 2x4 in front of my pellet trap to see what kind of penetration I would get. I was 45' from the board and squeezed off a round. The sound of this gun going off in that courtyard souned like what you might expect from a 22 Long. I didn't see the 2x4 move so I thought I may have missed it since the scope wasn't sighted in. I walked up the the board and saw a clean 6.4 mm hole in the front of it and the back of the board was completely blown out and splintered. The pellet was sitting in the trap as flat as a pancake. This is one serious gun. After that one shot I decided that I'll need to break this puppy in at the range. From what others have said it gets quieter as it breaks in. By the way, the gun was cocked and charged for three days prior to this shot. If there was any pressure leak, you sure could have fooled me.
      Things I would have changed:Having only taken one shot out of the gun, I'm not in a position say I would change anything. If I feel differently after a few hundred rounds or so, I'll do an update.
      What others should know:- The fit and finish on this rifle is very nice. I'm a perfectionist and I'm pleased. - The gun does have some kick but nothing compared to a regular firearm. - I gave the barrel a good cleaning before I shot it. - I don't really remember any strenuous effort when I cocked it but I am 6'2", 230 lbs. - This gun is in the 10 lb. range when scoped so it wouldn't be ideal for a smaller person. It's no wonder why Benjamin made a very nice sling as part of the package. - I used to hunt a lot in my earlier days so I'm very familiar with many different power rifles. Unless you were just a poor shot, I wouldn't have any worries about humanely taking out any medium size game with this 25 cal. It's something else.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By bbudbob from USA on 2011-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I wanted a powerful accurate and quiet gun for a reasonable price and I feel that I got it.The stock feels good, horible finish,the scope is ok good rings, lousy trigger but the grt 111 fixed that. Overal a nice gun for the money
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is poor,but the grt is a quick fix. I picked this gun over the rws because this trigger was availible.I do plan on refinishing the stock. It looks like someones pet monkey laid the finish on.
      What others should know:not a small gun, I have no problem cocking it, but a smaller person might
    • « Previous 12 ... 8910 ... 1314 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top