Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle reviews - page 9



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By espn1990 from USA on 2010-04-23 21:39:46

    Things I liked:Powerful and quiet! Love the scope and the scope rail.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger! It's horrible. I just installed a GRTIII, made an incredible difference! I have seen a lot of complaints about the trigger on all of the comments. You guys need to order this trigger from charliedatuna.com. $32, shipping included. Money well spent. Also, they need to offer a composite/synthetic stock in the XL series.
    What others should know:Not for kids. This is a heavy gun that is hard to cock. I like the weight, seems to help me steady the shot.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By brian from USA on 2014-08-07 09:02:41

    Things I liked:I bought rife 6 months ago, feels good to shot. The problem is up pellet move up and down, a good foot at times. Have called PA and tried shimming scope. that did not work. Took scope off and did the same thing. I will call to see if I can return.
    Things I would have changed:right the rifle
    What others should know:look for a better rifle
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 8910 ... 1213 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Scott from USA on 2011-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice looking gun. Well built airgun.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is too far from where I grip the gun so I have to stretch to pull the trigger which leads to inaccuracy. Lighter cocking effort would have been nice.
      What others should know:I have the 177cal and I only fired one shot from it so far and that was one too many cause it was late at night and it sounded like a 223 going off! I used one of the Crossman 7.9 grain pellets that came with the gun and it MUST have broke the sound barrier because it was extremely loud. I hope to god a bigger pellet will make A LOT less noise because if not I won't be able to shoot this gun. This gun is supposed to be really quite but we'll see. Also I tried cocking the gun like I do my 1000fps Gamo and I could not get the barrel to open. With the Gamo you just cock it but with this gun you have to hit the barrel with your hand to open the barrel then you have to cock it. I actually thought the gun might be broke because I wasn't used to this. I purchased the GRT-3 trigger and it will be ez to install if it works cause not all of these XL'S are compatible with that trigger. I'll write another review when mount the scope and shoot the gun more.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bruce from USA on 2011-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well Made Air Rifle! I was hesitant because this rifle is in fact Made In China but when it arrived I gave it a thorough check and it did not have a blemish on it (what a relief). Powerful, Accurate, and the Price is Right, for $300 you get a Nitro Piston air rifle, a sling, and a fairly good scope. While the rifle may be a bit heavy for some people, it is very well balanced. Power is almost ridiculous but still very accurate, with lighter pellets you will lose some accuracy. Also, this is easily one of the most quiet guns I have ever shot, anyone living in a residential neighborhood should not worry about the Trail's noise level.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger has an EXTREMELY long pull which takes a bit of getting used to. You can adjust it but does not shorten the pull nearly enough. With time I think anyone can get used to it but the GRT III is certainly a quick, easy, and inexpensive fix.
      What others should know:Clean the rifle right away, there was a lot of residue from the machining process. This rifle seems to like heavier pellets (anything 16 grams and over). Mine seems to like Crossman Premier Hollowpoints, Beeman Silver Stings, Beeman Silver Arrows, H&N Barracuda's and even Predator Polymags. All in all a Fantastic Air Rifle and easily one of the best Break Barrel's out there. Buy this gun and you will not be sorry!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By airhunter from USA on 2011-04-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awesome accuracy, feel, stock, carving came with scope and sling-my favorite rifle!(air and gunpowder) never freezes up self powered-no C02 needed
      Things I would have changed:A few more rails would be nice and a multi shot would be awsome
      What others should know:has a 30-40 lb pull for the break barrel, fine with me because i lift but you still need to be strong to use it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Justin from USA on 2011-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have the XL725. It is a great shooter. Can be very hold sensitive but once you get a gasp on how to hold it the thing is a tack driver. I ended up getting the .25 because I like having serious FPE for dealing with pests. If you "need enough gun" this is it. I've used it to kill roosters and all it takes is a single to the base of the neck. Game over.
      Things I would have changed:I do not like thumb hole stocks.
      What others should know:Very hold sensitive VERY quiet Mine is very picky on pellets. The H&N Ram Point is the only pellet that gives me decent accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jamal from USA on 2011-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is so good I had to buy it twice....got the .22 & the .25
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Andy from USA on 2011-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power, quietness, well balanced, SUPER sturdy quality feel, Bull Barrel, Scope mount, Best scope mount Ive came across so far ! and the SLING, cant forget the sling. You can tell they put quite some effort in this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger, they need to replace the factory trigger like how Walther's did with their rifles: originally came with a plastic trigger but hatsan listened to their customers and eventually replaced it with a metal clean crisp pull quattro trigger. The finish on this rifle is sorry, scratches and chips too easily
      What others should know:Out of the box it shot 1300-1200 fps, then 950-1000, and settled in at 900-920 FPS with CPHP's after 300-400 shots. Stronger than my gas ram Walther Falcon 22 with less recoil and noise, this rifle is a scope killer as well. Just as heavy as my falcon but so well balanced that it makes it easier to shoot off hand. Horrible trigger, adjusted it as much as I could and I was still jerking shots because of the stiff long pull gamo trigger, dropped a GRT-III trigger and now she's a real shooter. Im stacking pellets on top of each other with CPHP's at 10-20 yards as far as accuracy, havent had the chance to do some long range shots but I can tell this rifle is just as accurate shooting long range. I'd pick this rifle over my gas rammed Falcon any day.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eric from USA on 2011-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The first two things you notice about this gun are the weight and the build quality. This is a heavy gun and the build quality is outstanding. This gun is not for lightweights and children. I have the .22cal and this thing is going through 1/2" pressure treated plywood. My friend has a 13yo son that cannot cock this gun so you need to be ready to exert a fair amount of effort once you break the barrel. It also has a fair amount of recoil because of the nitro piston so make sure you have plenty of relief between your eye and the scope. I would say it is a very fair price for what you are getting. I have had mine for only a week and already have a few hundred rounds through it. It is very fun to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing that I could possibly find to criticize would be the trigger. Once cocked, it is very heavy and not very smooth. I would recommend changing it if you plan on doing some serious shooting with this gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2011-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is one heavy duty rifle. I bought mine in .22 caliber. The rifle has good looks, awesome power, the bull barrel looks sharp and it drives nails!
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is kinda bad. The scope is good for the money but I bought a Hawke Eclipse 30 6-24X50. Now that's a good piece of glass!
      What others should know:Clean the barrel 3 times before you even mount the scope it is filthy. It will make sight in much faster.I have tried all kinds of pellets and my rifle and I seem to like the JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Express at 14.3 gr. the best. This is a great rifle and I am sure will provide me with years of shooting pleasure!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chad from USA on 2011-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice heavy quiet I've only 25 shots through her for chrony testing so far and my average was around 698 -704 ft per second so no need to get crazy priced lead free for the up to only 20-25 ft more and I was using jsb exact which is a little heavier !
      Things I would have changed:Synthetic stock
      What others should know:looks mean hits hard
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By chad from USA on 2011-03-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Arrived perfect Pa is the anything airgun matter I have the .25 cal still need break in but not to picky about pellet type I bought a dozen tins each of 3 different types loved them all
      Things I would have changed:Make synthetic stock
      What others should know:You could get it hitting 1/2 inch at 15 to 30 yards but its a hunter and hits like a freight train
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Scott from USA on 2011-03-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a behemoth. A full sized rifle built like a tank. Marked Adults Only and they "ain't" kiddin'. This is not a kids gun nor is it for grandpa. @ 47lbs cocking effort it's all I can handle at age 59. Mine is in .25 cal. It's a deffinate hunter which is why I bought it. Plinking would wear me out. It's solid, no rattles or loose fittings. It's got some first class power and bullet expansion. I fired it into a 2X6 and it blew a chunk of wood out of the board...the size of a nickle. You don't have to hunt to see where you're hitting.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing I have found yet.
      What others should know:Mine arrived with a marred receiver. I believe it to be a mfg (Crosman) problem and not a Pyramyd Air one. At any rate, it's a hunter for me so I won't feel bad when I add to the marring and scratch up the stock. The stock is pretty dull and bland but I'll put some Birchwood Casey polish on it and buff it up a little. This rifle is a real handfull. I "still" hunt which is perfect for this gun. If you're a walker/stalker you might put wheels under this, or pick something on the lighter side. At 9+ lbs this thing will walk you into the ground. I'm going to have to buy a shooting stick. I can't get an offhand steady rest with this rifle even using the sling. I was looking for max raw power without going PCP. This fits the bill.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lynn from USA on 2011-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just purchased the 25 cal. version. Like others have said, this is one large and heavy rifle. You'll need a 50" scope case to hold it. I live in a courtyard home in a gated community and I've successfully been able to avoid attracting my neighbors attention target shooting my other airguns in the courtyard. They are all CO2 pistols in the 425 to 510 fps range. Just a few minutes ago, I mounted the scope, loaded a Benjamin pointed hunting pellet and headed to the courtyard to site in the scope. Just for yucks I put a 2x4 in front of my pellet trap to see what kind of penetration I would get. I was 45' from the board and squeezed off a round. The sound of this gun going off in that courtyard souned like what you might expect from a 22 Long. I didn't see the 2x4 move so I thought I may have missed it since the scope wasn't sighted in. I walked up the the board and saw a clean 6.4 mm hole in the front of it and the back of the board was completely blown out and splintered. The pellet was sitting in the trap as flat as a pancake. This is one serious gun. After that one shot I decided that I'll need to break this puppy in at the range. From what others have said it gets quieter as it breaks in. By the way, the gun was cocked and charged for three days prior to this shot. If there was any pressure leak, you sure could have fooled me.
      Things I would have changed:Having only taken one shot out of the gun, I'm not in a position say I would change anything. If I feel differently after a few hundred rounds or so, I'll do an update.
      What others should know:- The fit and finish on this rifle is very nice. I'm a perfectionist and I'm pleased. - The gun does have some kick but nothing compared to a regular firearm. - I gave the barrel a good cleaning before I shot it. - I don't really remember any strenuous effort when I cocked it but I am 6'2", 230 lbs. - This gun is in the 10 lb. range when scoped so it wouldn't be ideal for a smaller person. It's no wonder why Benjamin made a very nice sling as part of the package. - I used to hunt a lot in my earlier days so I'm very familiar with many different power rifles. Unless you were just a poor shot, I wouldn't have any worries about humanely taking out any medium size game with this 25 cal. It's something else.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By bbudbob from USA on 2011-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I wanted a powerful accurate and quiet gun for a reasonable price and I feel that I got it.The stock feels good, horible finish,the scope is ok good rings, lousy trigger but the grt 111 fixed that. Overal a nice gun for the money
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is poor,but the grt is a quick fix. I picked this gun over the rws because this trigger was availible.I do plan on refinishing the stock. It looks like someones pet monkey laid the finish on.
      What others should know:not a small gun, I have no problem cocking it, but a smaller person might
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Lonnie from USA on 2011-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my first break barrel rifle and I love it. Mine is in the .22cal. I shoot targets at 25yds mostly. I go to the country and take pest at a friends house and the knock down power is great. It is heavy and cocking it is a bit on the tough side, but not to tough. After a day of shooting you know you have worked your arm cocking this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The scope. Everyday I have to rezero this scope. It is not off by much, but it does get off everyday. I can hit roofing nails on the head at 25yds with ease.
      What others should know:I can't say enough about operator 231 at Pyramid Air. You will not find better people in the airgun business. They go out of their way to make your buying experience great. Service after the sell is top notch! I will never go anywhere else for future buys.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Carl from USA on 2011-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fit and Finish is very nice, Smooth to Cock and Shoot. Very short break in time. 1/2" groups @ 20yds after 100 Rnds. Scope is OK. Seems to like most pellets.
      Things I would have changed:I am changing the trigger. ( it's brutal ) The pistol grip on the stock is also very bulky, I'm 6'1" and I have to stretch to get to the trigger. It's too long for any of my gun cases. ( I suppose thats where alot of the speed comes from.
      What others should know:My gun shoots best with Gamo Rocket 9.6 grain pellets. Just be careful shooting them into a trap. they will richochet! I have 4 other pellets on order from Pramid and should have tommorrow. Can't wait.Then I put it through the chronograph.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By larry from USA on 2011-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This maybe the best break barrel i own.i have the walter talon mag. the gamo .177 silent cat .and the silent cat .22 none compares to my .25 cal Benjamin trail np xl.great power.
      Things I would have changed:should have got it to me sooner,could not sleep thinking about it.
      What others should know:I am 59 yrs old i have no problem cocking my rifle, but i am also 6' 2" 258lbs
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lonnie from USA on 2011-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:OK this is my second review after having this gun for a bit. This is a top notch rifle. I found that my rifle loves the H&N Crow Magnums 18.21gr. I shot a hek of a lot of different pellets through this rifle and at different weights to find the right pellet. At 25yds I am hitting a roofing nail on the head. It took me a bit to get use the Nitro Piston since it bounces the gun just a tad when fired. Hold the rifle as litely as you can and let it do its thing. When I first got it I said it was like a cannon going off. After just a short time this rifle is super quiet. Hitting the target is much louder that the shot itself. I have no complaints with this rifle at all. I will tell everyone to get this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing so far.
      What others should know:I bought a tin of H&N Crow Magnums .22 that had 70 .177 pellets in the tin. Quality control at H&N needs to get better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Isaac from USA on 2011-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish is nice, bluing is nice and dark. I like the scope, the glass is bright and works quite well. I may in the future get a different scope with a little more zoom and illuminated reticle but for now the scope is plenty nice. The included shoulder strap is a very nice feature. The wood looks good, not 100% perfect but nice enough that I don’t really have any complaints. Most important, when I do my part the rifle is very accurate and consistent with good pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Not a big fan of the trigger, I can shoot decent groups about 1/4 – 1/2 inch groups at 20-40yrds with the rifle but probably could improve on that with a better trigger and more practice. Rifle is a bit heavy but not too big a deal. I’ve carried it for a good day of small game hunting and target shooting and didn’t find the weight too much of an issue. The strap is very nice for all day treks.
      What others should know:This rifle after the break in period (for mine about a tin of pellets) is very quite, consistently powerful, and consistent in making tight groups. This is my first air rifle; I chose this rifle in .22cal for small game hunting. In the woods the rifle is very quiet. When I shoot, more often than not, birds and other game in the general area don’t all scatter like when I shoot with my Ruger 10/22 (which is why I purchased this rifle) So far I have shot and had nice results with Diabolo Exacts Jumbo Heavy 18.1 grains and Beeman Crow-Magnums 18.21 grain. Crosman Premiers are what I used for the break in because they were cheap. They group ok at 10 or so yards with about ½in to 1in+ groups, with random fliers, but shooting further out they’re really not much good in my opinion. The scope mount is slightly angled to comp for barrel droop. My barrel must have been pretty straight or the scope rail over comped a bit, because the rifle was shooting a bit high. I didn’t run out of elevation adjustment but I had to adjust it more than I liked. I like my scopes to be as close to optically centered as possible when mounted, so I purchased high mount Burris Signature Zee Rings and their shim ring set. The rings are made of steel so they grip the scope better than the rings that came with the rifle, and with the shim system I was able to mount the scope very close to its optical center. This rifle hits hard and accurate, very satisfied
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Eugene from USA on 2011-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This rifle can be accurate out of the box if the barrel is first cleaned with Hoppe's #9 followed by a good scrubbing with J-B bore cleaner. I strapped on the scope, sighted in my .25 caliber at 10 yards and then took it out to 50. Tweaked the elevation a bit and was soon hitting golf balls and the 1 1/2 inch kill zone on the Gamo knockdown targets. I'm not interested in hitting aspirins. This is a hunter. There are many good smaller caliber rifles out there which would give you pin point accuracy if that's what you're looking for. But this is a winner in terms of power, accuracy and report (surprisingly quiet).
      Things I would have changed:The trigger could stand some improvement. Having said that the adjustment that allows for shortening the second stage enables the shooter to touch it off after having taken away the unduly long travel inherent in the first stage. You just have to learn where the break is located by feel and experience.
      What others should know:I can't say how well this rifle will hold up over time but as of now, it appears to be the best bargain on the air gun market for small game hunting and pest control. You can plink with it too if you so desire provided you're in pretty good shape as the cocking reqires a heavy effort.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Teal from USA on 2011-01-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Best gun ever! ive had is for almost a year and its been an outstanding gun. its so quiet. if theres 2 birds in a tree u can shoot one and it wont scare the other one from the noise because its so quiet!!
      Things I would have changed:nothing its an amazing gun!
      What others should know:if your thinking about buying this gun just buy it! you wont regret it EVER! It comes with a great scope and sling. predators and kodiacts shoot great and so do crossman premier hollowpoints.
    • « Previous 12 ... 8910 ... 1213 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top