Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle reviews - page 9



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Customer from USA on 2010-04-23 21:39:46

    Things I liked:Powerful and quiet! Love the scope and the scope rail.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger! It's horrible. I just installed a GRTIII, made an incredible difference! I have seen a lot of complaints about the trigger on all of the comments. You guys need to order this trigger from charliedatuna.com. $32, shipping included. Money well spent. Also, they need to offer a composite/synthetic stock in the XL series.
    What others should know:Not for kids. This is a heavy gun that is hard to cock. I like the weight, seems to help me steady the shot.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Sean from USA on 2013-08-17 23:11:00

    Things I liked:I bought the 25 cal version and was impressed with the look, heft, and power.
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy is very bad. I gave this rifle a fair shake...after 300 to 350 rounds...the gun still won't hold groups outside of 15 yards. I have cleaned it as recommended, used artillery hold, and everything else I can think of. Stock screws loosen up after 10 shots every time...lots of recoil. Scope has loosened up twice, even with the highly touted mount rail.
    What others should know:I shot a friends 22 cal and it is pretty accurate. I don't recommend the 25 cal. I wanted a hunting rifle, but I can hit better with a slingshot.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 8910 ... 1213 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Scott from USA on 2011-03-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a behemoth. A full sized rifle built like a tank. Marked Adults Only and they "ain't" kiddin'. This is not a kids gun nor is it for grandpa. @ 47lbs cocking effort it's all I can handle at age 59. Mine is in .25 cal. It's a deffinate hunter which is why I bought it. Plinking would wear me out. It's solid, no rattles or loose fittings. It's got some first class power and bullet expansion. I fired it into a 2X6 and it blew a chunk of wood out of the board...the size of a nickle. You don't have to hunt to see where you're hitting.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing I have found yet.
      What others should know:Mine arrived with a marred receiver. I believe it to be a mfg (Crosman) problem and not a Pyramyd Air one. At any rate, it's a hunter for me so I won't feel bad when I add to the marring and scratch up the stock. The stock is pretty dull and bland but I'll put some Birchwood Casey polish on it and buff it up a little. This rifle is a real handfull. I "still" hunt which is perfect for this gun. If you're a walker/stalker you might put wheels under this, or pick something on the lighter side. At 9+ lbs this thing will walk you into the ground. I'm going to have to buy a shooting stick. I can't get an offhand steady rest with this rifle even using the sling. I was looking for max raw power without going PCP. This fits the bill.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lynn from USA on 2011-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just purchased the 25 cal. version. Like others have said, this is one large and heavy rifle. You'll need a 50" scope case to hold it. I live in a courtyard home in a gated community and I've successfully been able to avoid attracting my neighbors attention target shooting my other airguns in the courtyard. They are all CO2 pistols in the 425 to 510 fps range. Just a few minutes ago, I mounted the scope, loaded a Benjamin pointed hunting pellet and headed to the courtyard to site in the scope. Just for yucks I put a 2x4 in front of my pellet trap to see what kind of penetration I would get. I was 45' from the board and squeezed off a round. The sound of this gun going off in that courtyard souned like what you might expect from a 22 Long. I didn't see the 2x4 move so I thought I may have missed it since the scope wasn't sighted in. I walked up the the board and saw a clean 6.4 mm hole in the front of it and the back of the board was completely blown out and splintered. The pellet was sitting in the trap as flat as a pancake. This is one serious gun. After that one shot I decided that I'll need to break this puppy in at the range. From what others have said it gets quieter as it breaks in. By the way, the gun was cocked and charged for three days prior to this shot. If there was any pressure leak, you sure could have fooled me.
      Things I would have changed:Having only taken one shot out of the gun, I'm not in a position say I would change anything. If I feel differently after a few hundred rounds or so, I'll do an update.
      What others should know:- The fit and finish on this rifle is very nice. I'm a perfectionist and I'm pleased. - The gun does have some kick but nothing compared to a regular firearm. - I gave the barrel a good cleaning before I shot it. - I don't really remember any strenuous effort when I cocked it but I am 6'2", 230 lbs. - This gun is in the 10 lb. range when scoped so it wouldn't be ideal for a smaller person. It's no wonder why Benjamin made a very nice sling as part of the package. - I used to hunt a lot in my earlier days so I'm very familiar with many different power rifles. Unless you were just a poor shot, I wouldn't have any worries about humanely taking out any medium size game with this 25 cal. It's something else.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By bbudbob from USA on 2011-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I wanted a powerful accurate and quiet gun for a reasonable price and I feel that I got it.The stock feels good, horible finish,the scope is ok good rings, lousy trigger but the grt 111 fixed that. Overal a nice gun for the money
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is poor,but the grt is a quick fix. I picked this gun over the rws because this trigger was availible.I do plan on refinishing the stock. It looks like someones pet monkey laid the finish on.
      What others should know:not a small gun, I have no problem cocking it, but a smaller person might
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Lonnie from USA on 2011-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my first break barrel rifle and I love it. Mine is in the .22cal. I shoot targets at 25yds mostly. I go to the country and take pest at a friends house and the knock down power is great. It is heavy and cocking it is a bit on the tough side, but not to tough. After a day of shooting you know you have worked your arm cocking this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The scope. Everyday I have to rezero this scope. It is not off by much, but it does get off everyday. I can hit roofing nails on the head at 25yds with ease.
      What others should know:I can't say enough about operator 231 at Pyramid Air. You will not find better people in the airgun business. They go out of their way to make your buying experience great. Service after the sell is top notch! I will never go anywhere else for future buys.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Carl from USA on 2011-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fit and Finish is very nice, Smooth to Cock and Shoot. Very short break in time. 1/2" groups @ 20yds after 100 Rnds. Scope is OK. Seems to like most pellets.
      Things I would have changed:I am changing the trigger. ( it's brutal ) The pistol grip on the stock is also very bulky, I'm 6'1" and I have to stretch to get to the trigger. It's too long for any of my gun cases. ( I suppose thats where alot of the speed comes from.
      What others should know:My gun shoots best with Gamo Rocket 9.6 grain pellets. Just be careful shooting them into a trap. they will richochet! I have 4 other pellets on order from Pramid and should have tommorrow. Can't wait.Then I put it through the chronograph.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By larry from USA on 2011-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This maybe the best break barrel i own.i have the walter talon mag. the gamo .177 silent cat .and the silent cat .22 none compares to my .25 cal Benjamin trail np xl.great power.
      Things I would have changed:should have got it to me sooner,could not sleep thinking about it.
      What others should know:I am 59 yrs old i have no problem cocking my rifle, but i am also 6' 2" 258lbs
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lonnie from USA on 2011-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:OK this is my second review after having this gun for a bit. This is a top notch rifle. I found that my rifle loves the H&N Crow Magnums 18.21gr. I shot a hek of a lot of different pellets through this rifle and at different weights to find the right pellet. At 25yds I am hitting a roofing nail on the head. It took me a bit to get use the Nitro Piston since it bounces the gun just a tad when fired. Hold the rifle as litely as you can and let it do its thing. When I first got it I said it was like a cannon going off. After just a short time this rifle is super quiet. Hitting the target is much louder that the shot itself. I have no complaints with this rifle at all. I will tell everyone to get this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing so far.
      What others should know:I bought a tin of H&N Crow Magnums .22 that had 70 .177 pellets in the tin. Quality control at H&N needs to get better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Isaac from USA on 2011-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish is nice, bluing is nice and dark. I like the scope, the glass is bright and works quite well. I may in the future get a different scope with a little more zoom and illuminated reticle but for now the scope is plenty nice. The included shoulder strap is a very nice feature. The wood looks good, not 100% perfect but nice enough that I don’t really have any complaints. Most important, when I do my part the rifle is very accurate and consistent with good pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Not a big fan of the trigger, I can shoot decent groups about 1/4 – 1/2 inch groups at 20-40yrds with the rifle but probably could improve on that with a better trigger and more practice. Rifle is a bit heavy but not too big a deal. I’ve carried it for a good day of small game hunting and target shooting and didn’t find the weight too much of an issue. The strap is very nice for all day treks.
      What others should know:This rifle after the break in period (for mine about a tin of pellets) is very quite, consistently powerful, and consistent in making tight groups. This is my first air rifle; I chose this rifle in .22cal for small game hunting. In the woods the rifle is very quiet. When I shoot, more often than not, birds and other game in the general area don’t all scatter like when I shoot with my Ruger 10/22 (which is why I purchased this rifle) So far I have shot and had nice results with Diabolo Exacts Jumbo Heavy 18.1 grains and Beeman Crow-Magnums 18.21 grain. Crosman Premiers are what I used for the break in because they were cheap. They group ok at 10 or so yards with about ½in to 1in+ groups, with random fliers, but shooting further out they’re really not much good in my opinion. The scope mount is slightly angled to comp for barrel droop. My barrel must have been pretty straight or the scope rail over comped a bit, because the rifle was shooting a bit high. I didn’t run out of elevation adjustment but I had to adjust it more than I liked. I like my scopes to be as close to optically centered as possible when mounted, so I purchased high mount Burris Signature Zee Rings and their shim ring set. The rings are made of steel so they grip the scope better than the rings that came with the rifle, and with the shim system I was able to mount the scope very close to its optical center. This rifle hits hard and accurate, very satisfied
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Eugene from USA on 2011-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This rifle can be accurate out of the box if the barrel is first cleaned with Hoppe's #9 followed by a good scrubbing with J-B bore cleaner. I strapped on the scope, sighted in my .25 caliber at 10 yards and then took it out to 50. Tweaked the elevation a bit and was soon hitting golf balls and the 1 1/2 inch kill zone on the Gamo knockdown targets. I'm not interested in hitting aspirins. This is a hunter. There are many good smaller caliber rifles out there which would give you pin point accuracy if that's what you're looking for. But this is a winner in terms of power, accuracy and report (surprisingly quiet).
      Things I would have changed:The trigger could stand some improvement. Having said that the adjustment that allows for shortening the second stage enables the shooter to touch it off after having taken away the unduly long travel inherent in the first stage. You just have to learn where the break is located by feel and experience.
      What others should know:I can't say how well this rifle will hold up over time but as of now, it appears to be the best bargain on the air gun market for small game hunting and pest control. You can plink with it too if you so desire provided you're in pretty good shape as the cocking reqires a heavy effort.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Teal from USA on 2011-01-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Best gun ever! ive had is for almost a year and its been an outstanding gun. its so quiet. if theres 2 birds in a tree u can shoot one and it wont scare the other one from the noise because its so quiet!!
      Things I would have changed:nothing its an amazing gun!
      What others should know:if your thinking about buying this gun just buy it! you wont regret it EVER! It comes with a great scope and sling. predators and kodiacts shoot great and so do crossman premier hollowpoints.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By kdro from USA on 2011-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.754 ratings
       
      Things I liked:still breaking in and trying different pellets, but i think it will be very accurate, the grip is comfortable and the quality is great for the price
      Things I would have changed:its a bit heavy
      What others should know:this is a large gun. don't expect a small toy, its for real
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ray from USA on 2011-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Look of the thumbhole stock and bull barrel. Great power; this things spits out pellets fast, or really fast....sometimes to fast. It is pretty accurate and consistent. Weaver base mount. I wouldn't say 70% quieter, but definitely quiet for what it is. After break in: noticeably easier/smoother cocking effort and reduced report.
      Things I would have changed:It is on the heavy side, so it makes it difficult to shoot standing. Much easier to shoot on a rest of some kind. Things I did change... GRT3 trigger (awesome) and centerpoint 4x16x40AO (also awesome).
      What others should know: It does shoot a more consistent with mid to heavy weighted pellets. 16 to 18 grain pellet seem to be the most consistent. I got the 10 for $10, and was shocked to see the numbers. With Beeman Crow Mag (18.1 gr) it averaged 880 FPS out of the box. That's nice!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2011-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Man what a great shooting rifle. Very accurate, and very powerful. Worth every dime I spent on it.The scope rail is great as is the wood stock.
      Things I would have changed:Put in a GRT 111 trigger and better scope. Both that comes with it are good but I like the best
      What others should know:I see theo said he didn't think the GRT-111 trigger would work. Well I am here to tell you it does. I have one installed and I love it. Great improvement, also I replaced the scope with a Leapers Accushot 4-16x56AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/8 MOA, 30mm Tube. This rifle is heavy and cocking it takes some muscle. But if you want power and accuracy This is the one for you.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-01-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this gun shoots very hard but is a little fusy about what pellets it likes. I have a 177cal and am very happy with its power.
      Things I would have changed:I would put it on a stock simular a discovery. I myself am not a big fan of thumb hole stocks. But thats just my opinion. Wish it would come already broke in and ready to shoot.
      What others should know:expect to shoot a couple hundred pellets through it to get any accuracy .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:extremely powerful good design
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Theo from USA on 2011-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power of the 22 version, accuracy, and overall quality.
      Things I would have changed:A better trigger with more precise and shorter let- off would improve accuracy even more so.
      What others should know:I researched the GRT-III replacement trigger and it is not fully compatible with all the Benjamin NP XLs. In a few of these rifles this trigger becomes a hair trigger by chance and is deemed unsafe. It is however compatible with the other Benjamin Trail NP models but not the XL.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Impressed with the quality at this price point. This rifle is well balaned and shoots good groups (3/4" @ 25 yards). I am still getting used to the trigger (needs improvement), and the gun is still breaking in. The weaver mount made setting up the scope very easy, and rock solid (which can be an issue with break-barrels).
      Things I would have changed:Better trigger. Plan to change the trigger to a GRT-III once the warranty is up.
      What others should know:This rifle is heavy at 8.8lbs and will take some getting used to depending on the type of shooting position. However, since the rifle is well balanced, this helps with the overall weight in a standing position.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Linwood from USA on 2011-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fantastic scope, very accurate with the predator polymags and crosman premier hollow points, This rifle sure can build your upper body strength, but it gets easier Pyramid packaging is terrific, double boxed the rifle, the inner box is with all rigid foam
      Things I would have changed:the trigger pressure Pyramid Air should have a showroom, when I was in Canton, Ohio last summer would have liked to visit. Come on Pyramid Keep the polymag's in stock
      What others should know:Mount a tactical light mount and put on a fenix tk12-5 light, you can scope in @100 yds easy at night Thinking of a lazer next for closer shots
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By James from USA on 2010-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power, lots of awesome power. Nice scope. It is a lot of fun to shoot holes through 1" pine. The recoil is not much as advertised. The noise is very low for the power but it still makes my ears ring without hearing protection. It is still quite enough to shoot in your back yard without any neighbors getting upset. :)
      Things I would have changed:get rid of the nice wood stock for a cheaper synthetic stock and then give the gun a nice trigger. The gun should have an automatic safety.
      What others should know:It can make a real mess shooting wood. It has so much power it frequently just explodes wood targets. :)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Othoniel from USA on 2010-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This air rifle is POWERFUL!!! I got the .22 cal flavor and it rocks! It's much more powerful than the 2 Gamo CO2 Extreme rifles (also .22) I bought and had to send back. I almost didn't buy it b/c I knew it was too big to fit in either one of my 2 cases (1 hard/ 1 soft). The extra power (is there a such thing as "extra" power?) made it worth replacing both my rifle cases.
      Things I would have changed:Only had the gun a week...still breaking it in...
      What others should know:This is a great air gun, especially if you have back yard pests (like I do) and you don't want to alarm your neighbors. The sound of the pellet hitting my target is usually louder than the actual firing of the piece. One last thing; it does NOT sound like the crack of a firearm (unlike my air pistols and those Gamos). It sounds a lot more like a piece of wood being struck by a heavy piece of metal. If your neighbors hear you, they'll never guess you're using a firearm.
    • « Previous 12 ... 8910 ... 1213 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top