Colt Defender BB Pistol reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By George from USA on 2010-06-26 19:00:15

Things I liked: I like the weight and general fit to hand. I use it to improve point & shoot handgun style shooting. It's even a pretty close fit in that I can use the holster for my Springfield Arms WX-d 3.8 in .40 S&W. It holds 16 in the clip and this BB pistol holds 16 shots. It works real well for honing eye/hand coordination. Good way to get in the needed practice without burning up a lot of expensive ammunition. The trigger pull is kind of long, but using the point & shoot tech. you use the middle finger on the trigger instead of the index finger so it's not a problem. The sights seem to fine. But with P & S they are not used, and the longest distance at which I practice is 25 feet. I have been getting 96 shoots from one CO2 cartridge. c

Things I would have changed: Can't think of anything. I like this pistol.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By William Davis from USA on 2013-11-08 08:57:57

Things I liked: The looks, the feel, the power and that it is a Colt.

Things I would have changed: I only wish it took the mags common to the several other pistols. I had a difficult time decieding how many stars to give it because I really believe these are good pistols. Also (see below)

What others should know: It has taken me a while to get around to update this. My Cold Defender started acting up after about 5-600 shots then finally jammed up. I was VERY disappointed! It was a demo model I got from Umarex and they made good on it. I do plan to give this pistol another try as soon as I have $50 to burn. I just loved the thing! I think I just got a defective speciman. Of course I will get my next one from the only place to buy your air guns ... Pyramyd!!!

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2015-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Heavy gun all metal..Lots of shots per CO2 and good velocity Chrono'd it at 445 fps on a 72 degree day.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pool is long and stiff. Provide 3 dot sights, I had to customize my own.

    What others should know: Heavy gun with power. I bough it becuase I am a huge 1911 fan and I carry a Para .45 Carry at work. I actually customized it to resemble more of that gun (See Photos under product page) If you are going to spend the money (around $50.00) by the Sig Sauer SP2022 more fps, much smoother trigger and Pyramyd has the best deal on them.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Keith from USA on 2015-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is very heavy and fits nicely in your hand. It feels more realistic than other guns in its price range. The built in magazine is very easy to load with the Umarex BB speed loader. Decent velocity and good CO2 economy. You can shoot this on a warm day as fast as you can reload it without the barrel and CO2 cylinder really getting cold and losing power. 150 shots or so per cartridge. Although the trigger is very very heavy and long, it is smooth and breaks crisply and consistently. Gun is fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if the molded fixed rear sights were adjustable for windage and elevation. Mine shoots a tiny bit low which makes it difficult to sight for elevation. If I properly align the tops of the front and rear sights I cannot see the target. I try to align the front white dot in the center of the space between the rear blades and this works well enough for plinking cans, but it is less precise.

    What others should know: Mine was a lot more accurate than I originally thought. The trigger pull is very heavy but gets better as you break it in. There is a distinct click when the BB loads right before the trigger breaks. When I preload the DA trigger to the click, pause, and fire from that point, I can get 1.5" groups at 20' with Daisy Precision BB's. If I do not preload the trigger, I am lucky to get groups inside 6". The gun is small so the front and rear sights are close and that makes it a challenge to aim, but a fun one if you are persistent.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2015-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the weight and accuracy of the pistol is very good. and as a replica pistol, you have to look closely to see the differences between it and the real one.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had an external clip, but for fire arms training I can see where this is a good thing because it gets the beginner to slow down and think about every step.

    What others should know: it is a welcome addition to my collection and very hard to put down. don't forget a drop of air gun oil when inserting the co2 powerlet. while this is not a blowback action pistol, the weight, power and accuracy make it a joy to shoot.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By george from USA on 2014-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the size and weight of the Defender. I have a S&W Shield and it is almost the same size and weight. Good for practicing indoors.

    Things I would have changed: The magazine jammed repeatedly when loading more than 8 bbs. I tried a few times to load a full mag but it never worked. I started loading one at a time and it worked until I got over 8 in it. Called Pyramid and they were very helpful and sent me return label for a replacement.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By brendon from USA on 2014-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight and feel. Almost like a real firearm. The internal clip is awesome and by that I mean it was a good design to keep everything inside, only downfall about that is you can't buy extra clips, but on the positive side you can never lose it :) the power is pretty good too. The plastic grips pop back with a push of a button, for easy access to co2 and BB clip.

    Things I would have changed: Have wood grips but that would bring up the price dramatically.

    What others should know: For 50$ this gun is good, I bought 4 pistols around the same price range , and this was my favorite. Nice and compact and heavy, not cheap looking. If you just want a cool cheap gun, this is the one I can recommend. Pistols in my opinion are boring, it's all about the rifles for me.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By RODNEY from USA on 2014-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good weight, and feel!

    Things I would have changed: too much writing on side of gun.

    What others should know: ejection port does not open. It's just a sticker.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-04-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great little. Plinker looks a lot my .45 Pit Bull nothing bad to say about this gun for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Try it you'like it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great little plinker good power and pretty accurate,I haven't gotten a dud yet from Pyramyd Air.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: If you want a reasonably priced shooter that has power and accuracy the Defender does the job.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chris from Canada on 2014-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: looks great, feels awesome, works flawlessly .

    Things I would have changed: nothing !!!

    What others should know: no I am very impressed.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Overall, a very nice gun. Well made and constructed. Made in Taiwan. Long lasting CO2.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy is adequate. After all it fires BB's, so don't expect to much.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By SpiceMan from USA on 2013-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Size, weight, feel. Nice look. I keep this one at the nightstand. The CO2 cartridge is hidden in the grip and the thumblock is nicely hidden. It hits hard and is pretty accurate for what it is.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not a fan of the internal mag. Stopping to refill can be a task.

    What others should know: It is not a blowback, the hammer does not pull, it does not slide. It LOOKS like it would do all that, making it a very realistic piece. The trigger pull is nice and crisp. If you pull halfway too slowly a bb will roll out. I did have an issue with this gun, after contacting Umarex I got a replacement for free. No troubles, they were very accomodating.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Isaac from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The overall gun itself is a masterpiece! This was my very first BB pistol and right away I fell in love with it. Reloading was simple and Shooting was smooth and simple.

    Things I would have changed: I would have changed the material used for the grip as it seems like a cheap kind of plastic.

    What others should know: If your just getting into BB guns then I highly recommend that this be your first purchase. I also recommend you shoot the guy the way it is and don't spoil it with an optics.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By William Davis from USA on 2013-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The looks, the feel, the power and that it is a Colt.

    Things I would have changed: I only wish it took the mags common to the several other pistols. I had a difficult time decieding how many stars to give it because I really believe these are good pistols. Also (see below)

    What others should know: It has taken me a while to get around to update this. My Cold Defender started acting up after about 5-600 shots then finally jammed up. I was VERY disappointed! It was a demo model I got from Umarex and they made good on it. I do plan to give this pistol another try as soon as I have $50 to burn. I just loved the thing! I think I just got a defective speciman. Of course I will get my next one from the only place to buy your air guns ... Pyramyd!!!

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Jerald from USA on 2013-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks good in the package.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic grip is very flimsy. The grip on the first gun I ordered would not stay closed. Returned for replacement, second guns grip will stay closed but will slide open without pressing the release.

    What others should know: Accuracy is very poor.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jose from USA on 2013-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight and size. Feels like the firearm.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight is not adjustable and the shiny tape breach, it should be some real stainless metal piece.

    What others should know: Great for plinking or fun. Its like a Daisy Powerline 15XT but made all in metal, feels more real than the powerline, it also has the same mechanics of the crosmans C series, C11 C21 C31 C41. Crosman never put into production the C51 wich is a glock. This colt defender fits in the C31 pistol holster!! Great looking small CO2 pistol!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Harold from USA on 2013-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rich from USA on 2013-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything, it's all metal, operates as it should, it's accurate, hits hard, easy reloading and good Co2 economy. All around good pistol for the money

    Things I would have changed: The sticker on the slide is a little hoakey, maybe just have painted it here with silver, or just masked it off with natural casting appearance, but that's a minor thing don't let that prevent you from getting one they work well with no problems.

    What others should know: I've had it jam a few times, just move the bb slide and it's back up no big deal, real nice gun for your collection.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tristan from USA on 2013-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: That it's the 1911 Compact model, all metal, it shoots hard, it's accurate and is a whole lot of fun to shoot!

    Things I would have changed: The barrel pokes out when you shoot it and that would be the first thing I would change. I would also give it a working, but non blowback slide like the Colt Special Combat. I would also change the trigger to a traditional 1911 trigger, the safety to a traditional 1911 safety and last but definitely not least, give it a working hammer to make it single and double action.

    What others should know: The first Colt Defender I had started leaking after 80 days, 10 days before the warranty expired. I called Umarex USA and they told me to send it in and I received a replacement which shot even harder than my first one which is really good and so far I've had no problems with it! It's my favorite CO2 Pistol because it fits so well in my hand, it gets about 120 shots per CO2 cartridge, it's a ton of fun to shoot and despite it's short comings I mentioned in the things I would change, I never get tired of it. The time I had to wait to get it replaced, I really missed it! If you like 1911's and 1911 Compacts, get this gun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2013-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This little pocket pistol is a natrual pointer. The weight and full metal configuration gives it a great feel and look. The trigger pull is about average for a DA co2 pistol. Acuracy is great. Off hand, I shot it at 30 ft at a Dirty Bird silouette target all rounds inside the target with most in the center. It was able to operate 5 magazines full on one co2 cartridge and mind you it was about 40 degrees outside today. I consider this a great Little gun with a large capabillity.

    Things I would have changed: The magazine perhaps, but I must say it loads faster than a Tanfoglio Witness Mag.

    What others should know: If you like the Crosman C 11, you will Love this Gun. If you are considering the Crosman C 11, and only have one to choose, I would pick this one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frederick from USA on 2012-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the weight and feel of the pistol and the way it shoots.

    Things I would have changed: Make the pistol a blowback and have a external mag.

    What others should know: The price is great for what you get.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation