Date: 23/7/2017 7:42
0

Colt Defender BB Pistol reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By George from USA on 2010-06-26 19:00:15

Things I liked: I like the weight and general fit to hand. I use it to improve point & shoot handgun style shooting. It's even a pretty close fit in that I can use the holster for my Springfield Arms WX-d 3.8 in .40 S&W. It holds 16 in the clip and this BB pistol holds 16 shots. It works real well for honing eye/hand coordination. Good way to get in the needed practice without burning up a lot of expensive ammunition. The trigger pull is kind of long, but using the point & shoot tech. you use the middle finger on the trigger instead of the index finger so it's not a problem. The sights seem to fine. But with P & S they are not used, and the longest distance at which I practice is 25 feet. I have been getting 96 shoots from one CO2 cartridge. c

Things I would have changed: Can't think of anything. I like this pistol.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:3.0

By thomas from USA on 2015-11-10 22:36:09

Things I liked: Look and feels good- easy load

Things I would have changed: Misfires frequently bb's load easy enough but after repeating fire often nothing comes out and it's very frustrating- constantly checking to see is its jammed

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jill from USA on 2017-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am by no means an expert, but I love the look and feel of this gun. It looks real and has a good feel and weight behind it. It seems accurate. I'm not a marksman, but I'm shooting about as well as expected. It's easy to load and easy to use. I bought this to replace a Crosman Wildcat, and at around the same price point, this one is a world better. Much more durable, much better feel. Just much better overall quality.

    Things I would have changed: The only, tiny nitpick thing that I didn't care for is that the chrome looking plate on the top is actually a chrome sticker. I haven't peeled it off because it's stuck on there pretty good, but I imagine it's just black metal underneath, like the rest of the gun.

    What others should know: Fun! Worth the money! I'm not sure I could have gotten something nicer for what I spent.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bob from USA on 2017-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the realistic feel as it feels and looks real also the colts power is as good as any other pistol you can buy.

    Things I would have changed: Some reviews say that the pistol jams when firing rapidly but it hasn't happened with me.

    What others should know: Great fun for target practice and unwanted pests

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Konata from USA on 2017-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Metal frame, The weight, Looks great.

    Things I would have changed: I would like it to have Blow Back. I would like it to have clips instead of loading each time. I would like the rail to lock back once I was out of BBs.The sights were not lined up at all. Terrible alignment on the sights and you can't adjust them. This requires you to find the alignment and then make your shooting adjustments. Doesn't allow you to just shoot based on sights. The grip feel lose after you close it. Once you put the CO2, BBs in and close the grip, it still feels lose. I would have it snap in so that its secure and doesn't move around.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2017-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice heft--the weight is just right for this size gun. The trigger pull is very smooth. The Defender has a realistic look, and even if some of the parts don't actually move, you don't care because it's so much fun to shoot. There's one dot on the forward sight, which worked pretty well for me. I found the Defender to be surprisingly accurate. The BB follower does have a catch to keep it open and the fill port has a small funnel, making refills fast and easy. After shooting several pistols with blowback, the Defender was refreshingly efficient, netting me about six 16-shot loads. You don't get that with my Luger, Makarov or P-38!

    Things I would have changed: Change the CO2 wing nut to a flush mounted hex head like the P.08 and reengineer the grip to be slightly stronger plastic. Most replica pistols fall down in this area, which doesn't make sense when so much care is taken on the body and mechanics of the pistol.

    What others should know: This pistol is a blast to shoot and since it doesn't have blowback action, it seems to shoot forever on one cartridge. There is also a window on the right grip where you can see the BBs you have left to shoot. I'm glad the Defender is in my collection.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ralph from USA on 2016-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: feels like the real "thing"

    Things I would have changed: too loud......neighbors object

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jim from USA on 2016-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Appearance, size and weight. Very realistic. The price is right.

    Things I would have changed: Improve the spring and catch on the magazine and CO2 in the grip.

    What others should know: The magazine does not have a hold back for the spring. You will need a bit of fingernail to load.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By thomas from USA on 2015-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Look and feels good- easy load

    Things I would have changed: Misfires frequently bb's load easy enough but after repeating fire often nothing comes out and it's very frustrating- constantly checking to see is its jammed

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By joseph. c from USA on 2015-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a very nice gun the accuracy is good and I got between 80&90 shots per single co2

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had a drop down mag.iii

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By joseph. c from USA on 2015-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: don't let the looks fool you wow what a nice little gun packs a punch good on co2

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2015-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Heavy gun all metal..Lots of shots per CO2 and good velocity Chrono'd it at 445 fps on a 72 degree day.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pool is long and stiff. Provide 3 dot sights, I had to customize my own.

    What others should know: Heavy gun with power. I bough it becuase I am a huge 1911 fan and I carry a Para .45 Carry at work. I actually customized it to resemble more of that gun (See Photos under product page) If you are going to spend the money (around $50.00) by the Sig Sauer SP2022 more fps, much smoother trigger and Pyramyd has the best deal on them.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Keith from USA on 2015-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is very heavy and fits nicely in your hand. It feels more realistic than other guns in its price range. The built in magazine is very easy to load with the Umarex BB speed loader. Decent velocity and good CO2 economy. You can shoot this on a warm day as fast as you can reload it without the barrel and CO2 cylinder really getting cold and losing power. 150 shots or so per cartridge. Although the trigger is very very heavy and long, it is smooth and breaks crisply and consistently. Gun is fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if the molded fixed rear sights were adjustable for windage and elevation. Mine shoots a tiny bit low which makes it difficult to sight for elevation. If I properly align the tops of the front and rear sights I cannot see the target. I try to align the front white dot in the center of the space between the rear blades and this works well enough for plinking cans, but it is less precise.

    What others should know: Mine was a lot more accurate than I originally thought. The trigger pull is very heavy but gets better as you break it in. There is a distinct click when the BB loads right before the trigger breaks. When I preload the DA trigger to the click, pause, and fire from that point, I can get 1.5" groups at 20' with Daisy Precision BB's. If I do not preload the trigger, I am lucky to get groups inside 6". The gun is small so the front and rear sights are close and that makes it a challenge to aim, but a fun one if you are persistent.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2015-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the weight and accuracy of the pistol is very good. and as a replica pistol, you have to look closely to see the differences between it and the real one.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had an external clip, but for fire arms training I can see where this is a good thing because it gets the beginner to slow down and think about every step.

    What others should know: it is a welcome addition to my collection and very hard to put down. don't forget a drop of air gun oil when inserting the co2 powerlet. while this is not a blowback action pistol, the weight, power and accuracy make it a joy to shoot.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By george from USA on 2014-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the size and weight of the Defender. I have a S&W Shield and it is almost the same size and weight. Good for practicing indoors.

    Things I would have changed: The magazine jammed repeatedly when loading more than 8 bbs. I tried a few times to load a full mag but it never worked. I started loading one at a time and it worked until I got over 8 in it. Called Pyramid and they were very helpful and sent me return label for a replacement.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By brendon from USA on 2014-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The weight and feel. Almost like a real firearm. The internal clip is awesome and by that I mean it was a good design to keep everything inside, only downfall about that is you can't buy extra clips, but on the positive side you can never lose it :) the power is pretty good too. The plastic grips pop back with a push of a button, for easy access to co2 and BB clip.

    Things I would have changed: Have wood grips but that would bring up the price dramatically.

    What others should know: For 50$ this gun is good, I bought 4 pistols around the same price range , and this was my favorite. Nice and compact and heavy, not cheap looking. If you just want a cool cheap gun, this is the one I can recommend. Pistols in my opinion are boring, it's all about the rifles for me.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By RODNEY from USA on 2014-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good weight, and feel!

    Things I would have changed: too much writing on side of gun.

    What others should know: ejection port does not open. It's just a sticker.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-04-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great little. Plinker looks a lot my .45 Pit Bull nothing bad to say about this gun for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Try it you'like it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great little plinker good power and pretty accurate,I haven't gotten a dud yet from Pyramyd Air.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: If you want a reasonably priced shooter that has power and accuracy the Defender does the job.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chris from Canada on 2014-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: looks great, feels awesome, works flawlessly .

    Things I would have changed: nothing !!!

    What others should know: no I am very impressed.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Overall, a very nice gun. Well made and constructed. Made in Taiwan. Long lasting CO2.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy is adequate. After all it fires BB's, so don't expect to much.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By SpiceMan from USA on 2013-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Size, weight, feel. Nice look. I keep this one at the nightstand. The CO2 cartridge is hidden in the grip and the thumblock is nicely hidden. It hits hard and is pretty accurate for what it is.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not a fan of the internal mag. Stopping to refill can be a task.

    What others should know: It is not a blowback, the hammer does not pull, it does not slide. It LOOKS like it would do all that, making it a very realistic piece. The trigger pull is nice and crisp. If you pull halfway too slowly a bb will roll out. I did have an issue with this gun, after contacting Umarex I got a replacement for free. No troubles, they were very accomodating.

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation