Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Daisy 1938 Red Ryder BB gun reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2011-01-04 19:48:29

    Things I liked:It was more accurate then i thought it would be. It took mee back to ten and on the farm that was 52 yrs. ago.
    Things I would have changed:NOT A THING
    What others should know:I and takes you back to basic & is cheap to shoot
    1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By ejhc1 from USA on 2013-02-18 18:49:03

    Things I liked:Cheap gun to get started.
    Things I would have changed:After owning the Daisy Avanti 499 I don't see why they make this gun. The trigger is terrible, the effort to cock the gun is also too high for anyone under 12 years old. I don't know how you could call this rifle accurate after shooting the Avanti 499. The Red Ryder also has a plastic lever for cocking which at times seem will break off due to the high cocking effort.
    What others should know:Not recommended in my book, I would choose any multi-pump airgun over the Red Ryder. PA has a lot of other better choices.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ricardo from USA on 2014-04-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality workmanship and details such as the leather lanyard make the 1938 for a lifetime. When I purchased mine it came with a cardboard box. Now I believe they come in a plastic bubble carton. The box is a keeper too!
      Things I would have changed:I lever action was a little hard for my son to work, but I don't mind spending the time with him. It's a father and son activity that we can both enjoy.
      What others should know:Keep the box, buy some eye protection and a lot of BB's you'll be shooting all day.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The real wood stock, and foregrip.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic trigger
      What others should know:My grandson was absolutely impressed with this birthday gift. I was impressed with the ease of ordering the product from Pyramid Air. Although I paid more than I would have at the other sites I tried, the purchase was hassle free-all things considered, that was a HUGE plus.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robyn from USA on 2014-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Wood. Metal. Sights. BB Capacity. Extremely inexpensive to shoot. Accurate within it's intended close range (15-20 feet).
      Things I would have changed:I wish the cocking lever was metal, but have had zero issues with the composite lever. I wish it were 100 fps faster, but I wish that for all guns : )
      What others should know:Everyone should have at least one in their collection. Redonkulously inexpensive. I'm 44, 5'-11" and I find it more comfortable to shoot than most youth guns. It's crazy fun to plink with. I can shoot a can 5 times in the time it takes someone to get a second shot with a multi-pump. It's a can KILLER!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By goofy from USA on 2013-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, the large amount of bb's you can fit in it for continous fire, easy use, the look
      Things I would have changed:nothen
      What others should know:its a good gun but it missfires once in a wile
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Johnny from USA on 2013-04-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A great $50 gift for a 10 year old boy (especially outside of the city)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2013-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A really simple and easy transaction with full satisfaction in all aspects. Try to teach Ebay how.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By ejhc1 from USA on 2013-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Cheap gun to get started.
      Things I would have changed:After owning the Daisy Avanti 499 I don't see why they make this gun. The trigger is terrible, the effort to cock the gun is also too high for anyone under 12 years old. I don't know how you could call this rifle accurate after shooting the Avanti 499. The Red Ryder also has a plastic lever for cocking which at times seem will break off due to the high cocking effort.
      What others should know:Not recommended in my book, I would choose any multi-pump airgun over the Red Ryder. PA has a lot of other better choices.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jose from USA on 2013-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Classic Classic!!! simple for youngsters to learn gun responsibility and care. Great price! Steel lever!! #350 BB reservoir, perfect size for youngsters!!
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing!! The one i ordered for my son already has the lever made of steel!!
      What others should know:Best gun for young shooters and everyone alike, this gun has stood the test of time!! A true classic!! Accuracy is good at 30 feet!! Every youngster's dream for christmas and to start in the sport of target shooting!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By LT1Silverhawk from USA on 2013-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Good beginner BB rifle for learning to shoot BBs and grow up with. Classic look. Feels quite solid. Very accurate for only iron sights. Plenty of "safe" power within 20-ft range. 650 BB capacity is nice and allows for non-stop shooting for quite a long time amongst several people. The cocking lever is a bit tough but does get lighter after a couple hundred shots. Copperhead BBs seem to do just fine in this gun. Lots of fun!
      Things I would have changed:Paint the tip of the barrel orange just like air soft guns. Introduce a version with a smaller stock/overall length for the under-10 crowd. Just perfect otherwise.
      What others should know:This was my first BB gun purchase, along with the Daisy 880 Powerline. The Red Ryder was for the smaller children, while the 880 was for the teens and older folk. The Red Ryder proved a bit difficult to handle for the kids under ten due to the length and weight of the gun, as well as the cocking lever. But once the lever broke in and each person found his or her own handle of the gun, everyone's had a blast shooting it. Most of the family still does prefer the Powerline because the pump action is still much easier than the cocking lever and they like being able to aim with the scope. But every so often, the do come back to the Red Ryder to see how well they can do. So that usually leaves me with the Red Ryder and I gotta say, once you find your shot, its way too much fun and I can do follow up shots more quickly than I can with the Powerline because I am not spending time pumping it and then aiming with the fixed scope. As for the gun being too big for some of the kids, I will be trying out the Daisy 105 Buck as it is a little shorter (35.4" vs 29.8") and has a little less power (350 fps vs 275 fps).
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bobo from USA on 2012-07-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The DEAD-ON accuracy. The 650 shot capacity. Lever action.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull. Nothing else.
      What others should know:In my opinion, this is a great, GREAT gun!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2012-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I am attempting to compare the new with the old. However I am 71 years old now. I remember how it seems like a few weeks ago on christmas day,there was (a long box) under the christmas tree. I no longer have the old gun but both guns are very similar.
      Things I would have changed:One thing that I noticed that wasn't an improvement was the really stiff trigger pull. I think 3-4 lbs. less pressure would make a big difference.
      What others should know:I purchased my new Red Ryder today and even though the power level says it shoots faster, the old gun shot dead on right out of the box, and ten years later I was accurate then with it out to 100Yds. I did'nt measure distances at that age I just enjoyed shooting at targets.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By michelle from USA on 2012-05-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.33333003520965583 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nothing
      Things I would have changed:Put a metal cocking lever! Make it a little easier to use. I wouldn't think that a 9 year old could use this.
      What others should know:If your looking for simplicity, DO NOT GET. If your looking for a fast actioning rifle, DO NOT GET. If your looking for a beginner rifle, DO NOT GET. a nice beginner rifle is the Crosman pumpmaster 760, It's much simpler, after you break it in with 100-150 shots it is the smoothest actioning rifle I've ever owned(I've owned 7 rifles). Over all this daisy red ryder is easily the worst gun I've owned. I learned one lesson, DO NOT BUY DAISY PRODUCTS (also in my order was the daisy six shooter that didn't work, and a daisy air gun sleeve which was also defective).
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Customer from USA on 2012-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Inexpensive, real wood, soda can accuracy out to 20 yards.
      Things I would have changed:Claims 350 fps, but I have only been able to get 275 fps...not a big deal.
      What others should know:Good for teaching young shooters gun safety
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Glenn from USA on 2011-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Got the Red Ryder for my son for Christmas. (An American tradition or what??) I was prepared to be a little disappointed with the RR, but I was blown away by how well it performs! After reading a few reviews I thought the cocking lever was plastic but now it's metal! The RR feels very well made and dings soda cans regularly at 30-50 feet. BB usually goes straight through both sides. I think for $29 this is a helluva deal, and your kid will love it.
      Things I would have changed:Daisy, make this in the USA! Enough Chinese crap already! Cocking effort is fairly hefty on this due to the short lever. I think a kid under 9-10 years old will need help with it, at least at first. Also the leather saddle ring strap is cute, but it's also a PIA.
      What others should know:Buy a lot of BB's like everyone else says. They are gone before you know it!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Jeffrey from USA on 2011-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Same look as the older ones.
      Things I would have changed:Make it in america not china.
      What others should know:Mine shot 4" right at 16' out of the box. The gun is what the gun is a youth starter gun. They advertised it as "now comes with a metal cocking lever" mine DID NOT. It is a Christmas gift for my 10 yr old grandson and I don't have the time to send it back because of this. I will see how the plastic cocking lever holds up over time. But to me there is not excuse for for not advertising correctly. A blemish on pyramid airs otherwise fine reputation.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rob from USA on 2011-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:shoots well and accurate for a smooth bore. lots of fun for the back yard
      Things I would have changed:the butt stock seems to always come loose on these rifles? sometimes its hard to get the bb,s to feed
      What others should know:both of my sons at one time or another pinched there fingers in the cocking lever. iguess id say just be midful of it and youll be fine
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jordan from USA on 2011-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:everything, adjustable rear sight
      Things I would have changed:front sight to fiber optic
      What others should know:leather strap gets annoying while shooting
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Herbert B from USA on 2011-04-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Low price and many shot magazine. I have to say it doesn't measure up to the 1950 version which I used as a child.
      Things I would have changed:Rear sight is spot welded to the barrel - no adjustment. The unit I received shoots 4 inches to the left at 15 feet. The return costs and effort makes it not worth sending back. Daisy's help section not of much use. Only suggestion was to bend the rear blade to correct the offset.
      What others should know:This is a great unit for young people to learn gun safety and have fun without incurring a lot of expense.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2011-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything except the foregrip barrel band.
      Things I would have changed:Note the barrel band (on the foregrip) in this picture. It is silver as is the one on the box it comes in. The BB gun in the box has a dark metal barrel band on the foregrip. Why the is it not as shown? The barrel band should match the inlaid medalion on the stock.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-02-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice old style "BB" gun
      Things I would have changed:Why change something that's been around longer than most of the folks filling out this survey.
      What others should know:Buy 2, the other grand kids will want one too!!!!!!!!!
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top