Daisy 1938 Red Ryder BB gun reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2011-01-04 19:48:29

Things I liked:It was more accurate then i thought it would be. It took mee back to ten and on the farm that was 52 yrs. ago.
Things I would have changed:NOT A THING
What others should know:I and takes you back to basic & is cheap to shoot
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By ejhc1 from USA on 2013-02-18 18:49:03

Things I liked:Cheap gun to get started.
Things I would have changed:After owning the Daisy Avanti 499 I don't see why they make this gun. The trigger is terrible, the effort to cock the gun is also too high for anyone under 12 years old. I don't know how you could call this rifle accurate after shooting the Avanti 499. The Red Ryder also has a plastic lever for cocking which at times seem will break off due to the high cocking effort.
What others should know:Not recommended in my book, I would choose any multi-pump airgun over the Red Ryder. PA has a lot of other better choices.
Sort by:
  • 1234 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By William from USA on 2015-06-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:All good to give as first rifle
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Denny from USA on 2015-06-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is the best starter rifle for the youngsters in your family. A real Daisy BB Gun at a very affordable price. BBs are also very inexpensive to shoot, and can be shot in your backyard with a proper setup.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing...................It is perfection at its price point and purpose
    What others should know:Mine lasted a very long time, an yours will also
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By richard from USA on 2015-04-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the product that you have,It is well made and it shots very well,
    Things I would have changed:I would not change anything,
    What others should know:Buy two at a time, your friends will want to shoot too,
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Armando from USA on 2015-02-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The gun looks great, especially the wood butt and forearm. It loads easily by just opening the small "trap door" on the front of the barrel and pouring the bbs in. The gun is accurate....I'm 66 years old and haven't shot a bb gun in over 50 years and I'm hitting the bulls eye targets consistently. The adjustable rear sight is a bonus as is the decorative leather strips on the side ring.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing really that I can think of.
    What others should know:You really don't have to go crazy shaking it to load a bb like some people have mentioned. I just cock the gun at a 45 degree angle pointed at the ceiling like the manual mentions and the bbs load fine. If you've been on the fence about buying this gun, jump off and get it. It will provide the most fun you can have for an inexpensive price.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Armando from USA on 2015-02-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I love the fact that the butt and forearm are nicely finished wood. The adjustable rear sight is a nice feature. While some have commented about the plastic cocking lever being cheap, I find it to be very robust and quite frankly, the plastic looks great. The best thing about this gun is its accuracy. I am 67 years old and haven't shot in over 40 years. I just put 3 bbs consecutively into a 1" bullseye from 21 feet. That is accuracy! Some people complain about the decorative leather strips on the side which are to me a nice looking accessory to dress up the gun. If you cock the gun with a slight turn, you won't catch the leather strips in the cocking lever. A simple solution to a very minor problem.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing....for the money, I cannot imagine having more fun. And, while I am a very critical person, I really cannot think of anything they could change to make it better.
    What others should know:Not really!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By maineden from USA on 2014-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:FUN! FUN!! FUN!!!, and cheap to shoot. Totally old school look and function, high capacity. I haven't had this much fun (disregarding certain adult situations) in a long, long time.
    Things I would have changed:The metal loop and the bit of leather got in the way of engaging the safety, so I removed them.
    What others should know:Mine shot low, so the adjustable rear sight is now at its highest position. I can live with it. Got to love Daisy!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Sal from USA on 2014-09-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Classic carbine design that really hasn't changed over the years, large ammo capacity, very accurate for a BB rifle, real wood stock, great plinker for young shooters and adults inexpensive fun right out of the box!
    Things I would have changed:Nothing...why change something that has worked for decades...
    What others should know:I purchased mine because who doesn't want a Red Ryder BB gun!! I don't care what anybody says this little rifle is the most fun you can buy for $30, it holds up to 650 bbs so your not constantly filling it, crank the leaver once and she sets the spring and loads the bb, says it fires up to 350 fps so its really not designed for hunting but it will destroy aluminum cans! Its pretty accurate considering it shoots bbs only and has a smooth bore barrel, at around 30-40 feet its at about its limit and the bbs drop fast but for $30 bucks you can't complain. The cocking lever on mine is plastic but does not feel weak, they changed to a metal lever which I don't see being any more sturdy than the plastic one, I've read that people break the plastic lever quickly but I've pumped at least 3000 rounds through mine and its fine, learn to crank it property and you will have zero problems, if you get a chance pick one up and get a large container of bbs trust me you won't be sorry!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ricardo from USA on 2014-04-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quality workmanship and details such as the leather lanyard make the 1938 for a lifetime. When I purchased mine it came with a cardboard box. Now I believe they come in a plastic bubble carton. The box is a keeper too!
    Things I would have changed:I lever action was a little hard for my son to work, but I don't mind spending the time with him. It's a father and son activity that we can both enjoy.
    What others should know:Keep the box, buy some eye protection and a lot of BB's you'll be shooting all day.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2014-01-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The real wood stock, and foregrip.
    Things I would have changed:Plastic trigger
    What others should know:My grandson was absolutely impressed with this birthday gift. I was impressed with the ease of ordering the product from Pyramid Air. Although I paid more than I would have at the other sites I tried, the purchase was hassle free-all things considered, that was a HUGE plus.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Robyn from USA on 2014-01-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Wood. Metal. Sights. BB Capacity. Extremely inexpensive to shoot. Accurate within it's intended close range (15-20 feet).
    Things I would have changed:I wish the cocking lever was metal, but have had zero issues with the composite lever. I wish it were 100 fps faster, but I wish that for all guns : )
    What others should know:Everyone should have at least one in their collection. Redonkulously inexpensive. I'm 44, 5'-11" and I find it more comfortable to shoot than most youth guns. It's crazy fun to plink with. I can shoot a can 5 times in the time it takes someone to get a second shot with a multi-pump. It's a can KILLER!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By goofy from USA on 2013-09-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, the large amount of bb's you can fit in it for continous fire, easy use, the look
    Things I would have changed:nothen
    What others should know:its a good gun but it missfires once in a wile
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Johnny from USA on 2013-04-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A great $50 gift for a 10 year old boy (especially outside of the city)
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bill from USA on 2013-03-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A really simple and easy transaction with full satisfaction in all aspects. Try to teach Ebay how.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By ejhc1 from USA on 2013-02-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.05 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Cheap gun to get started.
    Things I would have changed:After owning the Daisy Avanti 499 I don't see why they make this gun. The trigger is terrible, the effort to cock the gun is also too high for anyone under 12 years old. I don't know how you could call this rifle accurate after shooting the Avanti 499. The Red Ryder also has a plastic lever for cocking which at times seem will break off due to the high cocking effort.
    What others should know:Not recommended in my book, I would choose any multi-pump airgun over the Red Ryder. PA has a lot of other better choices.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jose from USA on 2013-01-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Classic Classic!!! simple for youngsters to learn gun responsibility and care. Great price! Steel lever!! #350 BB reservoir, perfect size for youngsters!!
    Things I would have changed:Not a thing!! The one i ordered for my son already has the lever made of steel!!
    What others should know:Best gun for young shooters and everyone alike, this gun has stood the test of time!! A true classic!! Accuracy is good at 30 feet!! Every youngster's dream for christmas and to start in the sport of target shooting!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By LT1Silverhawk from USA on 2013-01-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Good beginner BB rifle for learning to shoot BBs and grow up with. Classic look. Feels quite solid. Very accurate for only iron sights. Plenty of "safe" power within 20-ft range. 650 BB capacity is nice and allows for non-stop shooting for quite a long time amongst several people. The cocking lever is a bit tough but does get lighter after a couple hundred shots. Copperhead BBs seem to do just fine in this gun. Lots of fun!
    Things I would have changed:Paint the tip of the barrel orange just like air soft guns. Introduce a version with a smaller stock/overall length for the under-10 crowd. Just perfect otherwise.
    What others should know:This was my first BB gun purchase, along with the Daisy 880 Powerline. The Red Ryder was for the smaller children, while the 880 was for the teens and older folk. The Red Ryder proved a bit difficult to handle for the kids under ten due to the length and weight of the gun, as well as the cocking lever. But once the lever broke in and each person found his or her own handle of the gun, everyone's had a blast shooting it. Most of the family still does prefer the Powerline because the pump action is still much easier than the cocking lever and they like being able to aim with the scope. But every so often, the do come back to the Red Ryder to see how well they can do. So that usually leaves me with the Red Ryder and I gotta say, once you find your shot, its way too much fun and I can do follow up shots more quickly than I can with the Powerline because I am not spending time pumping it and then aiming with the fixed scope. As for the gun being too big for some of the kids, I will be trying out the Daisy 105 Buck as it is a little shorter (35.4" vs 29.8") and has a little less power (350 fps vs 275 fps).
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bobo from USA on 2012-07-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The DEAD-ON accuracy. The 650 shot capacity. Lever action.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger pull. Nothing else.
    What others should know:In my opinion, this is a great, GREAT gun!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2012-05-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I am attempting to compare the new with the old. However I am 71 years old now. I remember how it seems like a few weeks ago on christmas day,there was (a long box) under the christmas tree. I no longer have the old gun but both guns are very similar.
    Things I would have changed:One thing that I noticed that wasn't an improvement was the really stiff trigger pull. I think 3-4 lbs. less pressure would make a big difference.
    What others should know:I purchased my new Red Ryder today and even though the power level says it shoots faster, the old gun shot dead on right out of the box, and ten years later I was accurate then with it out to 100Yds. I did'nt measure distances at that age I just enjoyed shooting at targets.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By michelle from USA on 2012-05-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.33333003520965583 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nothing
    Things I would have changed:Put a metal cocking lever! Make it a little easier to use. I wouldn't think that a 9 year old could use this.
    What others should know:If your looking for simplicity, DO NOT GET. If your looking for a fast actioning rifle, DO NOT GET. If your looking for a beginner rifle, DO NOT GET. a nice beginner rifle is the Crosman pumpmaster 760, It's much simpler, after you break it in with 100-150 shots it is the smoothest actioning rifle I've ever owned(I've owned 7 rifles). Over all this daisy red ryder is easily the worst gun I've owned. I learned one lesson, DO NOT BUY DAISY PRODUCTS (also in my order was the daisy six shooter that didn't work, and a daisy air gun sleeve which was also defective).
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By GShorthair79 from USA on 2012-01-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked: Inexpensive, real wood, soda can accuracy out to 20 yards.
    Things I would have changed:Claims 350 fps, but I have only been able to get 275 fps...not a big deal.
    What others should know:Good for teaching young shooters gun safety
  • 1234 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top