Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Diana RWS LP8 reviews - page 3

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By EROL from USA on 2010-04-05 07:37:48

    Things I liked:Perfect gun. Excellent and consistant accuracy. Gives you pleasure to shoot exactly where you aim. Fiber optic sights are great to aim. Professional. I am fully satisfied with power, accuracy, everything.
    Things I would have changed:I would include a cocking assist handle to avoid arm from getting tired.
    What others should know:I have some add ons-even though not necessary, just to have more fun. Scope is not actually necessary. But items below fit to LP8. 1. Cocking assist handle (actually made for browning pistol and exactly fits diana LP8) This handle enables you to be able to cock the gun without getting tired. (Check Umarex if not available in PYRAMYDAIR) 2. A scope : UTG 5th Gen 6x32AO Bug Buster Compact Rifle Scope, Gen 2, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings 3. UTG 11mm to Weaver Adapter, Adjustable 4. UTG Premium 1" Rings, Medium, Weaver Mount, See-Thru 5. RWS Meisterkugeln Standard .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter Pellets (I used other types of pellets as well. But. I have best results with these pellets. 6. RWS Rifle Shooter's Kit, .177 Caliber - for maintenance 7. Crosman Airgun Ammo Pouch, Holds 500 Pellets 8. Gamo Cone Pellet Trap (good for safe indoor shooting) And, I like shopping from Pyramydair because of its customer oriented perfect customer service.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By TK101 from USA on 2014-05-05 20:43:29

    Things I liked:I like the feel,it points well, very nice gun--accurate...when it was working.
    Things I would have changed:I own a few RWS systems, I love my model 52 in .22 cal.
    What others should know:The newest one I have is a LP8 pistol which FAILED AFTER AROUND 400 SHOTS. I have never had an RWS system fail--my mod. 52 is 30 yrs old and still does the job and never had a problem. This is a surprise to me. Disappointing---for this kind of money, I expected this pistol to last as long as my 52--not happening.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2011-07-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is well balanced and accurate. It shoots alot better than the Browning 800 mag and does not take as much effort to cock it. The grip is comfortable and the safety is well placed and easy to operate. The trigger pull is smooth, but it would be better if it had more adjustment. Overall a great pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger would have more adjustment and the price is a little high.
      What others should know:A great pellet pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rene from USA on 2011-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The high quality is evident the first time you pick this up. Accuracy is superb right out of the box. I sure am happy I bought this. Excellent fun gun for indoors or outdoors.
      Things I would have changed:Install an adjustable trigger like the T06
      What others should know:Get this as part of your arsenal. You will definitely enjoy it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2011-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The guns fairly quiet, the cocking effort isn't heavy, nice trigger pull, t quality pistol for the price.
      Things I would have changed:I'd like to see a wood grip , and front sight option.
      What others should know:I've only shoot about 60 shoots so far, but it's a joy to shoot. If you plan on adding a scope or red dot optics either get the soft carry case available from PyrimadAir, or a large scoped TC Encore soft carry case, otherwise your Scoped LP8 might be too tall fit.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2011-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:All metal construction, crisp cocking action, low recoil, picantinny rail.
      Things I would have changed:I would make the trigger adjustable, make where the grips come together where your fingers are solid, make the sights thinner.
      What others should know:This is an accurate out of the box spring pistol, the front sight on mine was crooked so I loosened up the set screws and twisted it a little bit. I mounted a red dot sight on mine and am getting 1/2 groups at 20 yds. I got the best accuracy from beeman crowmagnums.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By donald from USA on 2011-02-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything! out of the box, no sight adjustment made I was cutting quarter size groups. I am very impressed with this pistol.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:well worth the investment
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2011-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good accuracy and ease of pumping are the two most important characteristics that I like. The sights and safty are very good. Tigger pull is good and loading is easy. The long barrel makes a good sighting plane. It has a smooth cocking action. Very good overall quality
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:It's a little heavy but shooting this pistol will help develop upper body strength for those who are not physically active.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By curtis from USA on 2011-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun has a very solid feel and is extremely accurate. The fiber optic sights make for very easy shooting and the trigger pull is amazingly smooth. The grips are ergonomic and ambidextrous. The safety also is well placed and can be accessed from both sides of the gun. The gun was also very easy to sight in and I only had to make a small adjustment to the right to zero in the pistol. This pistol is very accurate and I can easily recommend spending money to buy a pistol scope for it. I can see this gun lasting a lifetime with proper maintenance.
      Things I would have changed:Two options that RWS should offer would be rubber grips and a .22 caliber barrel.
      What others should know:My pistol came with a cocking assist handle from RWS which makes cocking effortless for the average person. You should use RWS pellets in this gun and RWS only. I use the Meisterkugeln 8.0 grain pellets and they are very accurate through this pistol. I have not tried the 7.0 grain Meisterkugeln pellets. It took around 100 shots to break it in and after 500 the trigger pull was constant and very smooth and feel no need to adjust the trigger. In addition cocking the gun became smoother after the first hundred shots. It will be tricky trying to find a pistol case that will fit it though since it is very long.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By DR Askew from USA on 2010-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun holds up to RWS standards. It is well blanced and good feel. The grips are not too large or small, just right for the average person. Cocking force is on the heavy side but I have not been forced to use an aid. I developed a push method rather than a pull method on the barrel and about fifty cocks in a row becomes trying. The speed seems to be a little short of the advertised 700 FPS with lead but the alloys may reach that but will not group. Trigger is a bit on the heavy side but has lighten after repeated shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Lighter or adjustable trigger but it gets better the more you shoot.
      What others should know:I have waited to write this review and have put 1,000 pellets out of this gun. I have tried three good scopes Lepould 2X, Burris 2-7 and a Tasco 3X black powder scope. I find the 3X perfect magnification and the shorter eye relief of 6 to 9 inches great for shooting off a rest. The gun will do 1/2" MOA at 25 yds. With a 10 meter zeoro, I am getting about 4" drop at 25 yards. Resting the barrel on the shooting bag has no effect on the accuracy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2010-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.754 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very well built... very accurate.... beautiful sights and percision sight adjustments..
      Things I would have changed:Maybe the price.. But, This pistol looks, feels, and operates, as if It will last an entire life time ..That being said , it it is a "Decent" investment ... .. and I wish they would make this in a .22
      What others should know:I have the Browning 800, RWS 5g Magnum, and the RWS LP8.. In comparison to the Browning (.22) .. The Browning is FAR more powereful .. It will penetrate cleanly through items that my RWS LP8 wont even break the surface (example I can shoot straight through both ends of a 5 gallon hard plastic bucket with the Browning.. The LP8 wont go through one side of the bucket).. I find the LP8 to be much more of a pleasure to shoot than the Browning. The Browning is somewhat of a nusiance to use the unattached extension on the barrell (and the extension is a must).. In comparison to the 5G magnum the LP8 is more powerful.. I know it is advertised that they have the same power plant and I will go as far to say that my 5G magnum might be a "lemon" but, it is defanitely less powerful than the LP8.. (example: I can shoot through one side of a rubbermade trash can with the LP8 and the 5G magnum will not pierce the surface.. Oh and while on the subject I did "penetration" tests with every brand of .177 cal. that I could find.. They all pretty much had the same depth's from the gammo rocket , gammo armor piercing , gammo gold, crosman round nose etc etc... I found the cheaper crosman round nose had the best performance and penetration.. *** Im not saying all other tests and everyone elses opinions are wrong.. Im just simply saying this is what I came up with conducting non-official experiments shooting into clear neutrogena soap bars.. Have a Blessed Day and Safe Shooting..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By EROL from USA on 2010-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.4000000953674325 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Perfect gun. Excellent and consistant accuracy. Gives you pleasure to shoot exactly where you aim. Fiber optic sights are great to aim. Professional. I am fully satisfied with power, accuracy, everything.
      Things I would have changed:I would include a cocking assist handle to avoid arm from getting tired.
      What others should know:I have some add ons-even though not necessary, just to have more fun. Scope is not actually necessary. But items below fit to LP8. 1. Cocking assist handle (actually made for browning pistol and exactly fits diana LP8) This handle enables you to be able to cock the gun without getting tired. (Check Umarex if not available in PYRAMYDAIR) 2. A scope : UTG 5th Gen 6x32AO Bug Buster Compact Rifle Scope, Gen 2, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings 3. UTG 11mm to Weaver Adapter, Adjustable 4. UTG Premium 1" Rings, Medium, Weaver Mount, See-Thru 5. RWS Meisterkugeln Standard .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter Pellets (I used other types of pellets as well. But. I have best results with these pellets. 6. RWS Rifle Shooter's Kit, .177 Caliber - for maintenance 7. Crosman Airgun Ammo Pouch, Holds 500 Pellets 8. Gamo Cone Pellet Trap (good for safe indoor shooting) And, I like shopping from Pyramydair because of its customer oriented perfect customer service.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2010-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just received the LP8 and it exceeded all of my expectations. I was torn between the Browning and the LP8 but decided to go with RWS because of my previous experience with the RWS 350 magnum rifle. The fit/finish and general quality from RWS is outstanding and that carries through to this pistol (I didn't get that impression from the postings on the Browning). The accuracy is also phenomenal. After just a few rounds to sight in the scope, I fired 5 rounds at 10 meters to see what she would do. I was expecting to have scatter all over the target, but instead had a group with center to center distance of less than an inch. Pretty amazing particularly considering I'm normally a pretty lousy shot with a handgun. At 25 yds the scatter was only a few inches with minimal to no drop. I tried a wide range of ammo (no chrony) and all seemed to do reasonably well. Also really liked the fast service and delivery from Pyramyd.
      Things I would have changed:My biggest disappointment was not with the LP8, but with the Leapers red/green dot unity scope. The dot was "smeared" and there was no way to focus it into a sharper point. I don't know if this is normal but I use similar red dot unity finders for astronomical scopes and they are much sharper and more user friendly. The scope did provide a nice counterbalance and there is enough room to mount it in different positions to tweak weight balance. Only other item would be the LP8's trigger as it is significantly different than the rifle. Not sure how adjustable it is, but the very long first stage pull is a tad awkward.
      What others should know:If you are torn between the LP8 and the Browning like I was, you won't go wrong with the LP8. It is more expensive but worth every penny.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2009-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Brianag618: This has turned into my main target shooting pistol, I have 2 others, both the Crosman 2300S and the 2300T models. The RWS LP8 is a heavey pistol that is well ballanced, and extreamly accurate. I have now fired approx 1,000 diffrent types of pellets thru her, from PBA's to the RWS Supper Mag's. I have yet to find a pellet that it does not like to fire (my personel opinenon). I would advise anyone that wants to do some serious target shooting to check this pistol out. Please note, I shoot precission style shooting only, one shot at a time for exact placement of my shoots, both with a riffle and target pistols, nothing fancy just pure accuracy is what I strive for. The RWS LP8 will go a long way for you to be able to do the same type of shooting.
      Things I would have changed:The only item I have found that would make this a first class target pistol 2nd to none would be a nice set of wooden or (Police style) grips, even Pac - Myer rubber grips. The plastic gripes are a little bit tough on the hands. Other then this, this is still a fantastic shooting target pistol.
      What others should know:The hardest thing you are going to try to find for the RWS LP8 is a GUN CASE large enough to hold and protect this pistol, either in a hard back case or a soft pack case. Mine is also equiped with the Leapers UTG< CQB< QUICK AIM DOT, Model SCP-RD25RGW. I would suggest strongly to invest in an 11mm to Weavers Mount for this scope or any scope if so used. The 11mm built in rail mount is a very nice addition to this pistol, but it is cut into the the top of the gun and to me is a bit on the thin side. Adding the Weavears Mount would both give it a much better look, and more material to hold your scope mounts, w/o doing any damage to the 11mm rail, and at the same time easy to remove to be able to use the built in sights. Note that the rear sight is a Micromeeter adjusting sight with possative locking when adjusting it. With Winter time coming on fast this makes a great indoor and outside target pistol and being a Springer, no need to worry about temp's when trying to shoot using Co2 type pistols. I would also suggest ordering from Glenn @ UMAREXUSA the cocking lever for the Browning 800 Mag, it fits the RWS LP8 perfectly and makes it a great deal easier to cock then trying to grabe the barrel behind the front sight, while @ the same time protecting the front sight from being damaged by your hand while cocking the pistol to fire. I have to rate the RWS LP8 99.999% only because of the plastic grips, if they where wood (custom or other wise) or rubber I would then rate 100%+. BG
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2009-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.1999998092651375 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Brianag618: I just recieved my RWS LP8, and I must say it is one of the finest hand guns I have fired. She is built well and solid. Right out of the box using the factory sights she was hitting dead center using RWS SUPERDOME 8.3gr pellets. You must remember one thing when shooting this Pistol, it is like shooting and extreamly short rifle, it has all the power of a rifle so I would handle her and treat her as such. Over all she has a nice clen snap to the trigger though a bit long which I do not mind, and you can feel when she is making contact to the point of firing. Do to the power of this pistol compaired to the Co2 powered pistols, I would suggest very strongly that you re-build or build a back stop to handle both the pellets and the power. If you fire her using your older Co2 back stops you are going to be blowing holes clean thru the back stop. This RWS LP8 Pistol is not ment for children and is strictly and adult only gun. THe re-coil/ kick is very modest nothing to write home about, and considering she is made of all metal she is fairly quit to shoot. Just take your time to get the feel of her and I believe you will be as happy as I am with her. What brought me around to the rings being a problem finding the right set was PAULS VIDEO I believe he was testing the Browning, and when he installed an AIM DOT Sight, even though he had a grouping they were all right of center, so it pays to watch his reviews to help get some ideas. Stay Safe and Shoot Safe. Semper- Fi
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would chamge is the Plastic Hand Gripes, they are a bit small for my hands, a nice set of wodden grips would make it perfect.
      What others should know:Even though she has a cocking presure from the barrel of 18/ 19 lbs, you have to grabe the barrel behind the front sight. I would contact UMAREXUSA.com and order out the cocking lever for the BROWNING 800 MAG, it fits perfectly over the barrel and makes cocking the RWS LP8 that much easier, besides it keeps your hands of the barrel. I added the Leapers UTG Quick Aim DOT Model # SCP-RD25RGW to this pistol. You may have the same problem I had, I had to go thru several SCOPE Mounts to get the QUICK AIM DOT to sit center on the gun. I was having a great deal of trouble getting the site adjusted to the left for some reason. Even with the windage sett to full left adjustment she wanted to stay far to the right of center. I had several sights on hand and it was just a matter of getting the right set to work with her. Now I have both full elavation and L/R Windage adjustments, And she is hitting well within the #9 and #10 rings on the 25 foot slow fire targets I am using. So do not get frutrated if she will not adjust either left or right for you, it will be just a matter of getting the right set of rings for her. I was using a bench rest to sight her in, and have read several comments from people saying that when bench resting they were sitting the barrel on the rest, I myself found this to be the wrong way to be using the Pistol and the rest, Rest the Pistol on its frame and let the barrel float the same as you would a Riffle, and I found I got better results from her faster.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Donald from USA on 2009-09-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun was very accurate right out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. I wish that there was a .22 cal option.
      What others should know:If you liked the P5, you will truly enjoy the LP8. It is easier to cock and the grips make for comfortable shooting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Peter Dude from USA on 2009-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERTHING! GREAT PISTOL. YOU CAN USE THIS PISTOL TO GET RID OF PESTS ! POWERFUL! ACCURATE. HANDY TO CARRY AROUND. I LOVE THIS GUN.
      Things I would have changed:N O T H I N G
      What others should know:I checked the speed - 700 to 800fps - depends what MFG pellets you use. USE RWS PELLETS - THEY DELIEVER THE HIGHEST fps!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Harold from USA on 2009-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Like all RWS guns, very sturdy mechanics. This gun is pretty heavy which makes it stable in your hands. I love the fiber optic sights. The cocking effort is minimal for the power it produces. I like the safety feature also, when you break the barrel and then break it back to shoot, the safety is enabled. I do not own a chrony yet, but I would guess it shoots between 600 - 700 fps...great gun
      Things I would have changed:I maybe would have added a globe over the front sight to protect it...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Russell from USA on 2009-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The fiber optic sights work very well. They were dead on out of the box at 20 meters using RWS 8.3gr Superdome pellets. The safety works easily and can be re-engaded if necessary. The break barrel action works smoothly and is easy to load. The pistol has a good, solid feel to it.
      Things I would have changed:A lighter trigger pull would be nice, but I have been spoiled by the Beeman P3. There is nothing wrong with the trigger on the LP8.
      What others should know:So far I have done all of my shooting off hand, plinking soda cans. I have found that follow through is very important with this pistol. Keep the front sight on the target, and you will hit it, and hit it hard.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Okcrawler from USA on 2009-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The top scope rail was what sold me on this model. Good speed for a pistol. Accuracy is good, but you must find the right pellets. Overall performance and finish (minus below) is good.
      Things I would have changed:Front sight mount was loose when it arrived. Trigger is pretty stiff although it does break crisp.
      What others should know:Velocity: 9.3gr = 519fps, 7.2gr = 545fps, 7.0gr = 586 fps. I've not tried any super light pellets, however nearly 600fps with a 7gr pellet is cooking pretty good out of a pistol. Point of aim for freehand and bench rest are very different. I believe this is due to the mass in the spring piston system. You must sight this in as you plan to shoot.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By VLADIMIR from USA on 2009-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Additions like ambi grips, scope rail, and ambi safety are what I was looking for.
      Things I would have changed:I'd protect the front sight with a globe.
      What others should know:The reason for inacuracy in your shooting technique. NEVER rest a spring-piston gun on anything solid. Sand bag is no exception!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By russ watts from USA on 2009-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A most sinister-looking air gun! Break-barrel action feels very clean and solid - imparting the kind of satisfaction the Germans are noted for in all of their manufacture of goods. Convenience of a break-barrel in a pistol is an idea that obviously not all manufacturers are willing to stick their necks out for. Credit RWS for not only bringing a new brand of fun to the hobby, but continuing its effort towards its evolution, as here we now have scope cabability entered into the arena.
      Things I would have changed:Front plastic sight should be slimmed down - it is too thick and puts too much guesswork into aiming. A hooded, more precise, thin metal front sight as an accessory would prompt an instant purchase from me.
      What others should know:It hits reasonably hard, though I expect a little more sting as it breaks in. I have a lot more experimentation to do with this LP8, including trials of different pellets and usage of a scope. It's base-level performance using RWS Superdome isn't bad, but I know through the process of experimentation, I can realize noticeable improvement.
    • « Previous 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top