Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Echo 1 AK CPM Full Metal AEG reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4 (8 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Craig from USA on 2010-10-25 23:10:06

    Things I liked:All metal construction (with the exception of the hand guards), realistic look and feel of a true AK-74U.
    Things I would have changed:Better battery (9.6V instead of 8.6V) and instructions are poorly writen for USA market.
    What others should know:Sling guide on folding stock makes annoying "clank-clank" noise when it hits steel stock. Can correct this with black vinyl tape. No longer marked with Vector Arms logo or any indication of Vector Arms endorsment. This is a Echo 1-Red Star branded item.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:4

    By Rich L from USA on 2009-02-06 09:34:20

    Things I liked:This gun is rugged and very realistic. The hop up is easy to adjust once you find it, just pull the eject slide back on the right side. It is a little noiser than some AEGs, but I think that adds to the realism. The battery is very easily accessible by releasing one button on the top back of the gun. I upgraded to a 9.6v battery from the standard 8.4v. It took about 10 seconds.
    Things I would have changed:The magazine release lever is right next to the trigger guard and it is too easy to accidentally release the magazine while carrying the gun. That was quickly fixed by using a plastic wire tie that I now have permanently on the trigger guard. Now I just slide it over the magazine release lever to hold it in place and slide the wire tie off to release the magacine. The loop that holds the optional sling onto the gun is not rugged enough and came off during play. That was easily fixed by replacing it with a key ring that I epoxied together so it wouldn't come apart. Now the gun is perfect and I love using it.
    What others should know:I find that the sighting pulls slightly to the left. This seems to be indicitive of this model, but is totally not an issue in tactical combat situations where you shoot from the hip anyway.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Alex from USA on 2010-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The gun is Very well balanced and lightweight, i could play with this thing all day without being concerned with fatigue. i was concerned that since its shorter it wouldn't have the range or accuracy of a full length AK, but compared to my friend's echo1 AK74 it was just as accurate, and shot just as far, though it is louder and just slightly lower rate of fire with the stock 8.4v batt, its noticeably louder as well; not as loud as the Crossman r72 (if you've shot one...) you can still hear your team-mates. The compartment for the battery is absolutely HUGE, and by that i mean long.. you can fit a monstorous battery in this thing because the front hand grip is hollow to allow for the battery to be in it.. Downsides are that the battery does slide around in it. Every AK magazine that i've came in contact with HAS clipped in and worked with this gun (Except the crossman r76, though these guns are both based off the AKS-74U) this gun, due to its smaller size is very easy to store and haul. compared to the hastles that my friends have with their larger guns, they're envious when i walk up with my single plastic tub of gear, and there's my gun on top, when they have to keep the original box their gun came in to keep it from getting damaged.
      Things I would have changed:with the way that the front hand grip is made, the front sight is VERY off center, you will either need a red dot sight, or white BB's so you'll know where you're shooting. the problem here is really that the gun has no scope mounts on it by design since its an AK. If you get the detachable sight rail, not only is that an extra cost along with the sight, you wont be able to fold your stock up with the sight on the gun. an awful lot of hastle in my opinion since i prefer the iron sights anyway.
      What others should know:The fold up stock is very sturdy, but the sling mount does have a noticeable "ping" when its clanging around, i just taped mine down. When i got my gun, the Fire selector switch (since full auto is in the middle) would rattle down into Semi-Auto and leave me in a rather tough situation until i figured out you could pop a little metal cap off the selector to find a screw thats very easy to tighten and fix the migrating selector issue. Would i buy this gun if i could do it all over again? Yes... Especially since im a Huge fan of the AK-47, i even own a real one. so if you're into the design, yes... if not.. i'd probably get an M4 since it has a sight rail by design
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Craig from USA on 2010-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:All metal construction (with the exception of the hand guards), realistic look and feel of a true AK-74U.
      Things I would have changed:Better battery (9.6V instead of 8.6V) and instructions are poorly writen for USA market.
      What others should know:Sling guide on folding stock makes annoying "clank-clank" noise when it hits steel stock. Can correct this with black vinyl tape. No longer marked with Vector Arms logo or any indication of Vector Arms endorsment. This is a Echo 1-Red Star branded item.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By airgun collector from USA on 2009-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Realistic look and weight of the firearm. Feels substantial in your hands. My MIAI is a nicer sub but also costs more and reflects a different era of automatic weapons. My next purchase will be an M16. Then I will have the 3 most notable automatic weapons in history.
      Things I would have changed:Get rid of noisy Strap ring. I'm going to epoxy it flat to the gun. I hate loose parts. I bought it as a collectors item and only shoot in the back yard, no skirmishes. Better sights needed but once you hone in on a target you'll keep hitting it.
      What others should know:Biggest bang for the buck as far as AK47's. Highest FPS at a very reasonable price. There are higher priced that have lower FPS and crappy plastic ones. This one is the one to buy. You can buy metal clips if the plastic bothers you, I did and it works as well. The orange tip is removable with a hack saw and pliers. You may have to use flat back touch up paint.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By airgun collector from USA on 2009-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Realistic look and weight of the firearm. Feels substantial in your hands. My MIAI is a nicer sub but also costs more and reflects a different era of automatic weapons. My next purchase will be an M16. Then I will have the 3 most notable automatic weapons in history.
      Things I would have changed:Get rid of noisy Strap ring. I'm going to epoxy it flat to the gun. I hate loose parts. I bought it as a collectors item and only shoot in the back yard, no skirmishes. Better sights needed but once you hone in on a target you'll keep hitting it.
      What others should know:Biggest bang for the buck as far as AK47's. Highest FPS at a very reasonable price. There are higher priced that have lower FPS and crappy plastic ones. This one is the one to buy. You can buy metal clips if the plastic bothers you, I did and it works as well.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Rich L from USA on 2009-02-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is rugged and very realistic. The hop up is easy to adjust once you find it, just pull the eject slide back on the right side. It is a little noiser than some AEGs, but I think that adds to the realism. The battery is very easily accessible by releasing one button on the top back of the gun. I upgraded to a 9.6v battery from the standard 8.4v. It took about 10 seconds.
      Things I would have changed:The magazine release lever is right next to the trigger guard and it is too easy to accidentally release the magazine while carrying the gun. That was quickly fixed by using a plastic wire tie that I now have permanently on the trigger guard. Now I just slide it over the magazine release lever to hold it in place and slide the wire tie off to release the magacine. The loop that holds the optional sling onto the gun is not rugged enough and came off during play. That was easily fixed by replacing it with a key ring that I epoxied together so it wouldn't come apart. Now the gun is perfect and I love using it.
      What others should know:I find that the sighting pulls slightly to the left. This seems to be indicitive of this model, but is totally not an issue in tactical combat situations where you shoot from the hip anyway.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Avary from USA on 2008-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is solid and has a very real real feel to it, the all metal is sexy and pretty durable and I like the accuracy and the power of the gun. very nice
      Things I would have changed:the gun comes with a pretty crappy battery i would recommend a better battery also you may not notice it at all but the sights are slightly off but you would hardly notice i personally don't care it is still accurate
      What others should know:get the ak74 mount it is nice especially for red dot and flashlight night play.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By taxel911 from USA on 2008-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun has a very realistic feel to it. Its accurate, very powerfull, and magazine system is amazing!
      Things I would have changed:It says full metal, but the magazine, handle, and foregrip are plastic. Also it didn't come with strap. The orange tip is huge and non-removeable.
      What others should know:this is a great gun.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Jordan from USA on 2008-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:-Full metal gives it realistic weight. -Clanky noise every time you fire. -Foldable stock works well in tactical battles. -Adjustable Hop-Up inside the receiver cover (Pull back receiver cover and it reveals hop up system as explained in manual). -It's ACCURATE! -It's beautiful :'-)
      Things I would have changed:-The sights are off, still trying to figure out how to adjust sights sideways. -The orange tip part. Looks crazy! -Make the highest battery capacity as stock. -Make a metal magazine as stock.
      What others should know:-This gun is high quality for low price- Most definitely. -The magazine is abs, as well as the hand grip and the foregrip. -Strong as heck. -Although sights are misaligned, the gun shoots at the same place everytime. -Great for skirmishing.
    Over
    ammo packs sold