Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Echo 1 DSR - Designated Sniper Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (7 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Customer from USA on 2008-04-25 22:13:34

    Things I liked:This gun is amazing. The stock ROF completely blew me away! The fact that it comes with a bipod is also a plus...no extra $30 to drop! The range and accuracy are about the same as any other Echo 1, but drop a 6.01mm tightbore in there and it will live up to it's "Designated Sniper Rifle" name!
    Things I would have changed:The only thing that made me really mad is that it does not have ANY rails. A "Designated Sniper Rifle" should have a built-in scope rail at least. But for a few bucks you can get a scope mount for it and you'll be set. I highly recommend the scope mount and 4x32 scope package that Pyramyd offers. I, however, did not realize they offered that package until after I had already purchased mine. But hey, my loss is what helped me write this review, so make my loss your gain!
    What others should know:This gun is extremely lightweight for a marksman rifle. I would not call this a sniper unless you upgrade it to 550 fps and shoot semi-auto only. Out of the box this is a marksman rifle, but the "Designated Marksman Rifle" title was given to the M16 D.M.R. It is long, but if you use it for what it was made for (marksmanship), the length should be no problem whatsoever. Overall this is an amazing gun. If you are looking for a good marksman rifle this should be one of your top possibilities. This is a truly breath-taking gun. Echo 1 has done it again!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Megabeast from USA on 2009-04-01 14:47:35

    Things I liked:This is a follow up review for the other one I posted. Things I liked were performance, accuracy. Still feel the same way.
    Things I would have changed:Durability. The gun exhibited major electrical problems after only 35 days, one day it just stopped firing. I'd read about this happening with Echo1 guns and I shrugged it off, I was wrong.
    What others should know:Don't buy this gun unless you are the type of person who works on their own guns, it will need constant internal maitinence.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Wolfstuka from USA on 2009-05-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Range, Accuracy, looks I have used this rifle twice now and I was surprised the first time when I realized this thing is accurate enough to use on semi-auto.
      Things I would have changed:I would like it more if the weapon was metal. I don't think the bipod has any use on a weapon like this(it isn't heavy enough nor a sniper rifle or MG) I would rather they spent more time on the weapon performance and remove the bipod all together. I like the standard G3 better with the green grips and vented foregrip.
      What others should know:This weapon is not a sniper rifle. It is very accurate but don't think you can snipe with it. The correct term for this kind of weapon would be designated marksman's rifle although truthfully all this weapon is is just a battle rifle with a bipod on it.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Megabeast from USA on 2009-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a follow up review for the other one I posted. Things I liked were performance, accuracy. Still feel the same way.
      Things I would have changed:Durability. The gun exhibited major electrical problems after only 35 days, one day it just stopped firing. I'd read about this happening with Echo1 guns and I shrugged it off, I was wrong.
      What others should know:Don't buy this gun unless you are the type of person who works on their own guns, it will need constant internal maitinence.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Megabeast from USA on 2009-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great power, it leaves nice welts even through clothes. Very Very accurate. I put a 5 round burst through an area the size of of a coffee cup into this guys ribs from about 40 feet away. The sights are great. The rate of fire is spectacular out of the box. Nice heavy feel to it. Battery lasted through 7 straight hours of gameplay and didn't die, it fired about 2500 rounds in that time.
      Things I would have changed:1 rail would be nice, but the adjustable iron sights are adequate. The legs do wobble but once you're laid down they perform well. The legs also slide around when folded up. Jams from time to time, easily fixed by taking the mag out and shooting the remaining rounds out, then put the mag back in. It's a high cap mag, what do you expect. The battery compartment is a quite crammed.
      What others should know:It's a very impressive combination of accuracy and power, which is what I wanted when I got it, so I'm happy. It puts holes in aluminum siding with .2s. Be safe.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By jake from USA on 2008-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great rifle, can be used as sniper or assault
      Things I would have changed:i couldnt figure out how to get the cheek rest on and the magazine spring jams every now and then, but no big deal, just give the magazine a tap on the side and its fixed
      What others should know:i comes in black not greyish green like the picture above lets out a load of fire on fully auto, one of the guys i shot had a big welp from it . great gun for beginers or experienced players
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kelborn from USA on 2008-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the accuracy on this gun is great in both semi and full auto .and a 500 round clip is awesome. this gun is great get it .if you looking for a gun with sniper and assault capabilities this is the gun for you.
      Things I would have changed:not a thing its great
      What others should know:get is gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By AFan85 from USA on 2008-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is absolutely amazing, I agree completely with the previous guy who reviewed this in saying that the stock RoF is rediculous. The gun was out of stock for so long because it was pulled back and upgraded, from a 6mm to 7mm bearing for less wear and stronger gearbox. The gun is sturdy and light, perfectly balanced to have the best distribution of weight in the stock and foregrip. The gun is almost completely plastic, but is more sturdy than any other gun I have ever used, except for a bolted TSD sniper rifle, which was technically one piece anyways. I used the included battery and was very happy with groupings, I had multiple shots that would place in EXACTLY the same area, which pleasantly surprised me. The gun is also very accurate on full auto, so you will have no problem mowing down the other team. The magazine has two releases, a button on the side and a lever, both of which are great. While the selector switch is only on one side, the firing setting is visible from both sides. The sight is great, though it is an iron sight. It has a nice grip, and great feel, and the charging handle is great. Also the included bipod allows for minor side slide for accuracy on a slight incline, which saves a good $30. BUY THIS GUN!!!
      Things I would have changed:These are extremely minor and picky details, so don't mind them. The magazine isn't completely solid, and moves a little, but should be completely fine, its a very minor looseness. I would love to have had a rail mount included to assemble, while keeping it without a rail in the top barrel, but you have to buy one. Another thing is the faceplate, or cheek rest, that I have a problem with, and that is I can't figure out how to mount it on the stock, but its not needed. The magazine is a little annoying to open at first, but gets easier after a couple times. Also the winding gear on the bottom of the mag is a little sharp, which is a little annoying. This gun also does not come with a sling, which would have been a great addition.
      What others should know:The gun is black, not green like the picture above, which is more accurate to the real G3 SG1. It also comes with a barrel blocker, or a barrel cap that is very good. I recommend buying the 9.6v 2000 MaH Ni-MH 2 battery back and a smart charger for an even faster rate of fire and stronger shots. I'm not considering buying an additional magazine because of the price, but if you use this as a support weapon, you may consider it. This is not a sniper, it is more of a counter sniper, and deserves the title of 'Designated Marksman Rifle' but that was taken by an M4A4 version, so this was named the sniper, while it is more of a heavy assault, support, or counter sniper role. This gun is amazing, you will not regret it. I have yet to use my DSR in a real combat scenario, but when I do, I'll write an additional update review.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is amazing. The stock ROF completely blew me away! The fact that it comes with a bipod is also a plus...no extra $30 to drop! The range and accuracy are about the same as any other Echo 1, but drop a 6.01mm tightbore in there and it will live up to it's "Designated Sniper Rifle" name!
      Things I would have changed:The only thing that made me really mad is that it does not have ANY rails. A "Designated Sniper Rifle" should have a built-in scope rail at least. But for a few bucks you can get a scope mount for it and you'll be set. I highly recommend the scope mount and 4x32 scope package that Pyramyd offers. I, however, did not realize they offered that package until after I had already purchased mine. But hey, my loss is what helped me write this review, so make my loss your gain!
      What others should know:This gun is extremely lightweight for a marksman rifle. I would not call this a sniper unless you upgrade it to 550 fps and shoot semi-auto only. Out of the box this is a marksman rifle, but the "Designated Marksman Rifle" title was given to the M16 D.M.R. It is long, but if you use it for what it was made for (marksmanship), the length should be no problem whatsoever. Overall this is an amazing gun. If you are looking for a good marksman rifle this should be one of your top possibilities. This is a truly breath-taking gun. Echo 1 has done it again!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top