Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Gamo Hunter 890S reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5 (6 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (5 votes)(1 vote)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Sam from USA on 2007-08-15 01:20:35

    Things I liked:Accuracy, reliable, fun to shoot
    Things I would have changed:a solid one piece scope mount Recoil
    What others should know:I have had this gun for 5 years now and it is still accurate and shoots good just like the say i got it. i oil it and clean it so that is why. if you are looking for accuracy then you just found it, me and my dad go out on the deck and shoot mice off the bird feeder with ease! this is a great overall gun and i would buy another. one thing i would like to be different is the recoil but you will get used to it, overall this is one of the best airguns that i have ever shot
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By BRANDON from USA on 2008-02-24 09:35:37

    Things I liked:The look and feel of this rifle are great. I own the 0.22cal and the power is very respectable. This gun is amazingly accurate. Mine has a BSA 4x12-40 scope on it. I get alot of compliments on how great this gun is to shoot. After about 200 shoots this rifle was very accurate at surprising distances. I notice no pellet drop at up to 40yds. This rifle is really a great gun for the money with nice features like butt pad, adjustable trigger and scope stop.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger could be better. After about 6 months of shooting this gun I shot my buddies RWS for awhile and realized the short coming of my 890. Some quck research led me to the GR-III trigger from charlie da toona. very nice conversion worth every penny. I love my gamo even more now. Replacing the 2 ring scope mount a single piece mount is another great upgrade to make.
    What others should know:My 0.22 cal 890s shoots the cheaper crossman premier domed pellets great. When in shooting comps with my freinds the Diablo Exacts and RWS meisterkulgen wad cutters seem to be very precise.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By JOHN from USA on 2008-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the quick "go to" workhorse for instant pest contention. And just down right plinking fun with serious accuracy.Pyramyd Air was great in promptness of shipping.Accuracy is breathtaking..I'm still conducting pellet analysis and reccomend this honey for those in the know only-no newbees.
      Things I would have changed:Overall finish-wood scratches to easily. Loud snappy report.
      What others should know:Don't be fooled by the reasonable price, this is a serious lady and in two descriptions-shes's loud,she'll test your scope mounting skills..IE..one piece/2 what whatever-your patience will be tested but hang in there it will pay off.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is great. I love the 3-12x50 scope which can hit within 3 inches at 100 yards. It is the best hunting rifle ever!
      Things I would have changed:I would give the gun some iron sights for close range. Also the weight(10 lbs with scope) is heavy to hold and fire for a long hunt.
      What others should know:Use Crossman premier hollowpoints for hunting, and get a one piece steel scope mount to avoid scope slippage.(The supplied scope stop is not enough for the enormous scope.) Definately buy this gun!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By wvanharpen from USA on 2008-03-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I own the 22 cal model with the same scope as featured and I cannot believe the power I get out of this thing. It drops rabbits like nothing and usually the pellet goes right through the animal. I recently hit a rabbit from over 100 yards out.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull could be a little crisper
      What others should know:This gun is loud, heavy and hard to cock. Metro sexuals need not apply for this rifle.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By BRANDON from USA on 2008-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The look and feel of this rifle are great. I own the 0.22cal and the power is very respectable. This gun is amazingly accurate. Mine has a BSA 4x12-40 scope on it. I get alot of compliments on how great this gun is to shoot. After about 200 shoots this rifle was very accurate at surprising distances. I notice no pellet drop at up to 40yds. This rifle is really a great gun for the money with nice features like butt pad, adjustable trigger and scope stop.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger could be better. After about 6 months of shooting this gun I shot my buddies RWS for awhile and realized the short coming of my 890. Some quck research led me to the GR-III trigger from charlie da toona. very nice conversion worth every penny. I love my gamo even more now. Replacing the 2 ring scope mount a single piece mount is another great upgrade to make.
      What others should know:My 0.22 cal 890s shoots the cheaper crossman premier domed pellets great. When in shooting comps with my freinds the Diablo Exacts and RWS meisterkulgen wad cutters seem to be very precise.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2007-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love the look and feel of this Air rifle , Good weight and balance cocking is a breeze.
      Things I would have changed:I have not sighted in the Scope yet and with no Iron sights I can't comment on Accurary But I would have liked a one piece mount instead of the 2 piece. But I'm very happy with the purchase and service from Pyramyd Air.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Sam from USA on 2007-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, reliable, fun to shoot
      Things I would have changed:a solid one piece scope mount Recoil
      What others should know:I have had this gun for 5 years now and it is still accurate and shoots good just like the say i got it. i oil it and clean it so that is why. if you are looking for accuracy then you just found it, me and my dad go out on the deck and shoot mice off the bird feeder with ease! this is a great overall gun and i would buy another. one thing i would like to be different is the recoil but you will get used to it, overall this is one of the best airguns that i have ever shot
    Over
    ammo packs sold