Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Whisper with Crosman Nitro Piston reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2010-05-18 15:15:42

    Things I liked:WOW, WOW, WOW! This is a nice rifle. This is a really nice rifle! I purchased this in .177 and was not disappointed in its performance. The nitro piston makes for easy and smooth cocking. The gun is quiet enough to use in the back yard. The gun is accurate and last night I killed a rabbit with a shot to the head at 35 yards. My next door neighbor's son shot another rabbit at 30 yards a few minutes later. Both rabbits died instantaneously. This gun would be a good choice for small game hunting. Very pleased! I used the inexpensive Crosman hunting pellets.
    Things I would have changed:Gamo needs to upgrade the cheap 3x9 scope. Gamo should also just produce the gun with a gas piston or gas ram. Buying Pyramyd Air's Crosman Nitro Piston upgrade is a real no brainer.
    What others should know:I purchased a Leapers 3x9 50 AO mil-dot to replace the cheap 3x9 Gamo scope. I had previous experience with the same Gamo scope on a Gamo Extreme CO2 which was not very good inside 10 yards, there is no adjustable objective. I sighted the gun in at 24 feet (8 yards.) At 20 yards the gun shoots almost 1.3 inches high and at 35 yards is close to 1.6 inches high, so I aimed a little low at the rabbit for a deadly shot. A rifle sighted in at 24 feet is on zero at 50 yards. You can find this information on the web. Look for; "Field Use of an Airgun By Robert Beeman". The same principle works well on big bore hunting rifles. My 30.06 sighted in at 25 yards, is 1.5 inches high at 100 yards and is dead on at 225 yards. The bullet passes through zero at 25 yards and 225 yards. Likewise a pellet will pass through zero at 24 feet and 50 yards. This seems to work well for .177, .20 and .22 pellets. For .25 caliber pellets the point at which they pass through zero is 24 feet and 40 yards. If you memorize the table you will be able to predict shot placement. With this method for sighting in a rifle, it can be done indoors, at home, anytime. Have fun!
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2012-06-22 10:09:32

    Things I liked:I am very disappointed with the Gamo Whisper. I was unable to get a consistant shot group within 2 inches at 20 meters even afer 200 rounds. The rifle was anchored in shooting bags. I cleaned the barrel and still could not get an tight shot group. Seems as if rivets that hold the barrel in the stock might be moving providing an inconsistant aiming point. I fired expert in the US Army and have many years experience with rifles. I would not recommend the rifle to others based on my experience. I suspect I cannot return the rifle because my 30 days has elapsed.
    Sort by:
    • 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bob from USA on 2014-05-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful, accurate, good scope.
      Things I would have changed:Shape of suppressor. The taper of the suppressor allows the cocking hand to easily slip off under cocking effort. Absolutely horrible trigger.
      What others should know:The most hideous trigger I have ever experienced on an air rifle. Spongy, with a 12 to 15 pound (measured with scale)pull, and mushy break.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lightweight, short break-in period, less hold-sensitive than my Silent Cat, quiet. Was forming 1" groups at 25 yards after only ~10 rounds with H&N Barracuda Match 5.53mm head size pellets. Pyramyd air also includes the original steel spring in the package, with is pretty cool.
      Things I would have changed:As always, ditch the Gamo scope... I guess the scope is useful as a spotter at 25 yards though.
      What others should know:Rifle actually weighs in at about 5.5 pounds, rather than the listed 5.28, probably because of the replaced spring. This most be noticeable for most people, but it can make a difference on a multi-day backpacking trip. I put a Williams 5D-GR peepsight on the rifle for maximum weight savings. I suspect the 5D-AG ( http://www.pyramydair.com/s/a/Williams_Diopter_Sight/2003 ) might fit too, since my 5D-GR is adjusted to almost its maximum height to hit the bullseye at 25 yards. Although this rifle is less hold sensitive than some other springers, it is still hold sensitive. I get best results resting the rifle in my open palm and resting my elbow on the bench, using sandbags to immobilize my elbow. I also get good results in a sitting position. I get crappy results if I rest the rifle directly on the sandbag, or even if I rest my hand on the sandbag and the rifle in my hand.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2012-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I am very disappointed with the Gamo Whisper. I was unable to get a consistant shot group within 2 inches at 20 meters even afer 200 rounds. The rifle was anchored in shooting bags. I cleaned the barrel and still could not get an tight shot group. Seems as if rivets that hold the barrel in the stock might be moving providing an inconsistant aiming point. I fired expert in the US Army and have many years experience with rifles. I would not recommend the rifle to others based on my experience. I suspect I cannot return the rifle because my 30 days has elapsed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Danny from USA on 2011-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.3333299160003663 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The design of the gun. The construction is solid. The power and accuracy. I like the fiber optic "iron" sights, with the caveat that the rear will not stay in place.
      Things I would have changed:I would make the rear sight a little more robust. It tends to change adjustment when rifle is cocked. I tried to improve this by putting locktite on the adjusting screw. NOT A GOOD IDEA, as I striped the boss out of the plastic mount. I rebuilt the sight and use the scope more now anyway.
      What others should know:Once broken in (which takes at least 200 shots in my opinion) the accuracy with the Nitro Piston is great! After zeroing the scope, I was cutting off 1" pine tree limbs at 30 yards. This would take several shots, eating away a piece of limb each time. I was using the Ballistic v2.5.4 program to calculate the hold over since I was shooting at a 45 degree angle up. It was dead on! I could clip a 1/2" limb with one shot. I am justifying the purchase by not needed a tree trimmer!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2011-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate right out of the box. The scope is not as bad as indicated in previous reviews (a bargain scope at a bargain price). Quiet when not using PBA.
      Things I would have changed:It has been nearly impossible to match a scope mounted laser sight and/or flashlight (important to me since I am using for nocturnal varmints).
      What others should know:The barrell action pull will make your arm sore after a serious round of shooting!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2011-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:What I bought: Gamo Whisper w/Nitro in .22 cal. This is my first Gamo and my first Nitro rifle. I also own a Beeman RS2 Dual-Caliber Air Rifle Combo. The Gamo is lighter, more accurate (still breaking it in), and the fit/finish on the rifle is great. Sighting in at 25 yards produced some exceptional groups when I did my part, but there were a few flyers. I'm guessing that it'll get better as it breaks in. Now - Nitro on a Gamo is a MUST HAVE. I'm not sure why others said it wasn't quieter - this was much quieter than my other rifle! The difference in sound was dramatic! If you're looking for a great all weather air rifle, don't want to break the bank, and need it to be quiet, this one is a great deal at the sale price, and a MUST HAVE with Nitro. I have no idea on the FPS yet, but I can say that when the pellets hit the steel plate, it sounded just like my Ruger 10/22 impact - just much quieter... In fact, the pellet strike was louder than the rifle shot...
      Things I would have changed:I'd like to see a smoother trigger - but I understand that this would increase the cost. For the money, I feel the trigger isn't a bad one - much better than the Beeman RS7 import.
      What others should know:All the benefits of the Nitro Piston over the spring system are worth it to me. If you are looking at going with a Nitro Piston platform, this is a good deal all the way around in my opinion. Not a true tack driver, but a great varmint control / plinker / hunter gun that you won't worry about taking to the field for some rough use.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solidly built, well designed and powerful.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger, of course. Always a lot of suspense about when the gun will fire. The scope would not hold its zero and lost focus after about 1,500 rounds.
      What others should know:The Gamo Whisper was my first adult air gun purchase. If I knew then what I know now, I would not have chosen this gun. IMHO, this is largely a powerful airgun, ideally suited for hunting. It is a poor choice for a stealthy backyard target shooter or pest control device. The marketing hype about the noise reduction is just that, hype. This gun is not quiet. It is about average for a powerful spring gun. Even with the nitro piston, it still delivers a good jolt when firing so you'll need a the scope stop. Getting the accuracy dialed in took some work and was frustrating. Had to replace the scope and master the artillery hold. After about 1,000 rounds, it is now impressively accurate, even with the lousy trigger. I've owned this gun about 3 months and fired about 1,500 rounds. So these are not first impressions. I will be replacing the trigger and using the Whisper for hunting or shooting situations where stealth is not a priority. For backyard duty, I'll be getting something less powerful and quieter.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2011-07-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looked impressive...
      Things I would have changed:I am sure what air guns they are relating the "whisper" of dB noise reduction to but it is the loudest airgun I have ever shot. I have shot subsonic .22s out of a long barrel bolt action gun that were a whisper compared to this air gun. So much for stealthy reduction of tree rats. I returned the gun after two shots with standard pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Love the gun. Nice and quiet. Except with pba ammo. Very accurate, sighed it in about 8-9 shots and its dead on. I also have a big cat, with the stock spring. Its a world of difference.
      Things I would have changed:I would say the trigger. But it feels the same as my big cat, so I'm used to it.
      What others should know:Do not shoot the pba ammo in the neighborhood. I guess it breaks the speed of sound and is very loud.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By daniel from USA on 2011-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet accurate lightweight
      Things I would have changed:Better scope better trigger
      What others should know:Fill the empty stock with rags or foam to reduce noise and recoil. Replace trigger from Charlie da tuna grt4
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By jamie from USA on 2011-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the gun is easy to shoot and sight in. looks kool. nitro piston is better than spring.
      Things I would have changed:adjustable cheek. metal trigger.
      What others should know:still hard to cock. after an hour of shooting targets, my arm and elbow are killing me. haha. also having hard time sighting in scope. gun itself was easy. gonna try different scope. very good gun though for the money. cant beat it, or pyramydairs price and service.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Vernon from USA on 2011-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:* light weight * nitro piston option * accuracy
      Things I would have changed:* delivery with trigger upgrade option * better scope * delivery with scope mounted &sighted option
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2011-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Gun weight is great. Very accurate and powerful. Nice scope
      Things I would have changed:Trigger mechanism is not as adjustable as expected. Still is quite heavy. Would like an adjustable stock.
      What others should know:Not as quite as presented, but is much more quite with piston than spring.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Manal from India on 2011-03-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Extremely light weight for a high power rifle. Minimal recoil primarily due to nitro piston. Very accurate. Good value for money
      Things I would have changed:It is silent but there is still much sound.
      What others should know:Always get it with nitro piston.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nghiep from USA on 2011-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the nitro piston upgrade smoothed out the cocking and helped with shooting on this gun. It quiet and very accurate. i like the light weight and balance of the gun.
      Things I would have changed:I wish pyramyd air offered the charlie da tuna trigger upgrade for the gun while i was getting the nitropiston installed. other than that its great gun. I probably would also upgrade the scope down the road, though the scope it comes with isn't terrible it could do more with a better scope.
      What others should know:great gun. very fun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Jaideep from India on 2011-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:light weight, smooth cocking and not much of recoil
      Things I would have changed:the rear sights can never be secured tightly no matter how hard you try - better quality of rear sight . Make it more silent .
      What others should know:sound is not as silent as advertised but its acceptable for a springer with such power.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Kevin C from USA on 2011-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power
      Things I would have changed:Just about everything, this gun is not quiet,trigger is awful, scope and mounting system is completely inadequate for a gun that recoils this hard.
      What others should know:Either buy an RWS sidelever or one of the cheap chinese guns
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By DENNIS from USA on 2011-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I LIKE THE POWER AND SMOOTHNESS OF THE .22 CAL. I LIKE THAT THE GUN COMES WITH A LITTLE BETTER SCOPE THAN THE .177 MODEL. I LIKE THE GUN SO MUCH, I PURCHASED TWO OF THEM.
      Things I would have changed:AFTER HAVING PURCHASED THE GUN WITH THE NITRO MOD ,I WOULD ASK PYRAMYD AIR TO SELL THE GUN WITH A NEW TRIGGER, THE TRIGGER IS NASTY.. WHY SELL A GUN HALF DONE CHARGE A LITTLE BIT MORE FOR A BETTER TRIGGER.
      What others should know:PYRAMYD AIR SELLS A GOOD PRODUCT AT A GOOD PRICE.. THANK PRYAMYD AIR. GAMO WHISPER .22 WITH NITRO PISTON,GREAT GUN.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By TOUCHD from USA on 2011-01-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:POWER,ACCURACY/
      Things I would have changed:I WOULD INSTALLED SWIVEL BASE FOR SLING
      What others should know:THE SCOPE MOUNT IS ALUMINIUM --- NOT PLASTIC
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-01-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fast shipping and piston actuated.
      Things I would have changed:Rear mount permanently loose with no means of securing further. I would also have purchased this combo elsewhere. After an extensive and very detailed conversation with a very nice salesperson, I placed my order for this combo, 4 tins of ammo, safety glasses and a scope upgrade to a Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Rifle Scope with R/G Illuminated Reticle, 1" Tube. I also agreed to pay extra for having the scope upgrade installed, sighted and $10.00 for 10 assurance. I was told that I must purchase a padded case so that the upgraded combo could be shipped to me safely. That made perfect sense so I did. What PyramidAit did not do was mount the scope, let alone sight it in. They charged me for the mounting/$10.00 for 10, they just didn't do the work. Disappointed. I'm sure this slipped between the cracks and the company surely must not do this as a matter of routine, but it did happen to me and I am unfortunately not confident making any further substantial purchases from this company. As for the rifle... other than the rear site it seems to be a nice tool. The bundled scope leaves very tight eye relief, but is fairly accurate with multiples taken at 30m. Pretty good groups using RWS SuperDomes, Super-H-Points, and Meisterkugeln. The case and glasses were decent for the money and they threw in a useless shoulder strap. If my camera were a Gamo it would be happy with the strap.
    • 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top