Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Norica Goliath 88 Classic Carbine Combo reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (6 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (5 votes)(1 vote)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2010-09-05 22:56:52

    Things I liked:This is a great gun for a great price (got it on sale a couple weeks ago). I only wish I'd bought this before I bought my RWS 34P Striker - could have saved myself over $200. This is much shorter and lighter, but comparable in power, accuracy, and build quality. Much easier to lug around than the 34. The red dot sight is very nice. The adjustable stock/buttpad is also a nice feature, but anything past the first stop seems awkward.
    Things I would have changed:Add some open sights (fiber optic or peep) in case you want to remove the red dot. The carry handle is not really functional with the red dot attached. Also add flip-up covers to the red dot so they don't get lost. The Weaver rails on the forearm are right where you hold the gun. If you mount a flashlight and/or a laser, it may be tough to grip it comfortably. Put a laser on and had to shift it to the left side and as close to the muzzle as I could get it.
    What others should know:The easiest way to cock this rifle is to slap the muzzlebrake as shown in the video review on the website. Otherwise the short lever makes it difficult. It's also hard to find a case for this with the red dot attached. It won't fit in the Plano scoped case for my 34P.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By PowerMacSC from USA on 2010-02-27 17:09:46

    Things I liked:Compact, Tactical, Power... The Norica Goliath 88 may be small but it packs a punch. This unique break barrel spring airgun is lightweight and yet generates almost 14 FTLbs at the muzzle. Accuracy is pretty good at 10 yards out of the box using the included Red Dot scope, but holding really tight groups will take a lot of patience and practice. The recoil is sharp and the height of the scope makes it impossible to rest your cheek as you would a normal rifle. As a close in "tactical" pest elimination device it will excel, past 15 or 20 yards and things get dicey. A long eye relief scope mounted lower on the receiver would really be the ticket.
    Things I would have changed:make the handle and red dot scope mount like on my AR.. the whole handle mounts to a weaver mount right on the receiver.. if I want to run open sights then I can use the handle.. If I want to drop in a 24x scope, I can remove the handle and mount the scope right to the receiver.. all in all it would make for a vastly more practical rifle and give you the best of both worlds.. tactical 10 to 15 yards.. and then a quick switch and you could reach out and touch something...
    What others should know:the recoil is very harsh.. practice is a must to get .5" groups at 10 yards with the red dot scope.. the rifle can do it.. but the work will come in with your technique.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2010-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a great gun for a great price (got it on sale a couple weeks ago). I only wish I'd bought this before I bought my RWS 34P Striker - could have saved myself over $200. This is much shorter and lighter, but comparable in power, accuracy, and build quality. Much easier to lug around than the 34. The red dot sight is very nice. The adjustable stock/buttpad is also a nice feature, but anything past the first stop seems awkward.
      Things I would have changed:Add some open sights (fiber optic or peep) in case you want to remove the red dot. The carry handle is not really functional with the red dot attached. Also add flip-up covers to the red dot so they don't get lost. The Weaver rails on the forearm are right where you hold the gun. If you mount a flashlight and/or a laser, it may be tough to grip it comfortably. Put a laser on and had to shift it to the left side and as close to the muzzle as I could get it.
      What others should know:The easiest way to cock this rifle is to slap the muzzlebrake as shown in the video review on the website. Otherwise the short lever makes it difficult. It's also hard to find a case for this with the red dot attached. It won't fit in the Plano scoped case for my 34P.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Manuel from USA on 2010-06-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The short length, the handle, the power and accuracy, the extendible butt plate, and the trigger. Really love the red dot.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:This gun isn't a toy and should not be used by children.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Manuel from USA on 2010-05-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Red Dot is awesome, its very accurate and its coated to work in low light conditions and the batteries were free. The red dot light intensity is adjustable by a regulator knob, and the windage and elevation are also adjustable. This Red Dot came pre-mounted on the gun so no assembly was required. Also, 250 pellets came with this gun for FREE. Whats also cool is that this gun is shorter than most, so it fits easily in transport cases. The stock is extendible by pushing a button, so you can extend it if you want during shooting, and retract it if you want when you transport it or put it away. The butt plate has rubber on it, which protects it from scratches if you drop it or place it on the ground. The gun itself is very confortable to hold, and the trigger is also very nice. This gun is the only gun I've ever used or seen that actually has a handle, which make it much more easy to hold with just one hand. I found this gun to be very accurate and very powerful. When you shoot this gun, it feels like your holding and shooting a real assault sub-machine gun. How real this gun feels is my favorite part. When I show this gun to people they always say something like, "cool" or "awesome"!
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change anything. This gun is just awesome.
      What others should know:This gun is not a toy, its very powerful and the pellets deeply penetrate wood blocks. Don't give this to a 13 year-old, and if you do, please supervise them. I fired it against a car floor mat and the pellets went thru the mat and entered the wood behind it. Pieces of the mat got stuck inside the hole left in the wood block by the pellet. This is true for any air gun though, regardless of power.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By James from USA on 2010-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The bullpup configurationmakes this a very handy rifle. Wish other companies would make some rifles in this style. Pretty accurate, mine came with the red dot all ready mounted and some one must have sighted it in. Because the first round from 25 yards went right thru the orange dot of a shoot -n-c target. Mine really likes the Skenco 10.3 grain green monsters in 22 cal. But your results may differ.I have a UTG TL099PR2 light mounted on it and i mounted a pellet pouch on the stock with some velcro staps to keep pellets handy. This rifle makes the garbage stay in the can at night, wink wink.
      Things I would have changed:Offer the model with the sound suppresser built in for sale as it can seem a little loud at night, but not too bad. Offer the ones with the camo stocks too. They look pretty cool.
      What others should know:As another reviewer already talked about because this rifle is pretty light it does have some kick to it. But you will get used too it unless you are afraid of recoil and can not shoot a firearm at all. Otherwise you will just get used to it and find it great practice for your real rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By PowerMacSC from USA on 2010-02-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Compact, Tactical, Power... The Norica Goliath 88 may be small but it packs a punch. This unique break barrel spring airgun is lightweight and yet generates almost 14 FTLbs at the muzzle. Accuracy is pretty good at 10 yards out of the box using the included Red Dot scope, but holding really tight groups will take a lot of patience and practice. The recoil is sharp and the height of the scope makes it impossible to rest your cheek as you would a normal rifle. As a close in "tactical" pest elimination device it will excel, past 15 or 20 yards and things get dicey. A long eye relief scope mounted lower on the receiver would really be the ticket.
      Things I would have changed:make the handle and red dot scope mount like on my AR.. the whole handle mounts to a weaver mount right on the receiver.. if I want to run open sights then I can use the handle.. If I want to drop in a 24x scope, I can remove the handle and mount the scope right to the receiver.. all in all it would make for a vastly more practical rifle and give you the best of both worlds.. tactical 10 to 15 yards.. and then a quick switch and you could reach out and touch something...
      What others should know:the recoil is very harsh.. practice is a must to get .5" groups at 10 yards with the red dot scope.. the rifle can do it.. but the work will come in with your technique.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Anthony from USA on 2010-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very solid design from NORICA with a cocking effort that is easier than you think. Very accurate shooting RWS Super-H Point .22 and Predator Polymer Tip .22 pellets. I dialed in the Red Dot Sight for targeting in less than 10 shots @ 25 yards. The Red Dot Sight on this rifle is very excellent in both design and quality. Super quiet, nicely compact and it just feels great in your hands. Both my sons want one of their own now!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Super light design, not heavy and at 800 + FPS the knockdown power is great. I am waiting for Pyramid Air to convince NORICA to ship both the ACU and Desert Camouflage versions of this SAME RIFLE. The only difference is the CAMO design. I LOVE THIS GUN!!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top