Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Smith & Wesson 586, 8 inch barrel reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (6 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (5 votes)(1 vote)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Nheydbriz from USA on 2007-11-01 17:38:13

    Things I liked:Very realistic feel. The finish is nice, and the gun is very accurate. The CO2 seating mechanism is a dream, it has a lever, not the typical screw-in type, very easy. Trigger is very smooth and not too heavy.
    Things I would have changed:Personally, I think the cylinder release knob should have been made of metal, not plastic, which would have finished off this otherwise perfect gun nicely.
    What others should know:This is a heavy gun, just like the original it was meant to clone. I would not recommend it for children or small framed people.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Blaine from USA on 2009-02-18 22:17:48

    Things I liked:Quality, sights, trigger, accuracy, the way you load CO2.
    Things I would have changed:The way the grip is held on. It some times comes off, when you set it down.
    What others should know:Hi there. I bought this 586-8, to practice one hand double action, bullseye shooting. I have a Crosman 357-6. The weight of the 586-8, is double that of the Crosman. For me this is fine, but it may be an issue for some. I bought it a couple of months ago. Since then, I have put over 2000 pellets through it. At first, I wasn't super happy with the trigger in double action. But, it keeps getting smoother. I'm very happy with the trigger now. The gun came in a nice hard plastic case. It came with a barrel wrench (you can buy a 4" and 6" barrel for it). Check to make sure the barrel is tight. Mine was a little loose when I first got it. I've only been shooting it indoors, so I haven't chrono it. The gun also came with 3 front sights. They are the same height, but different thicknesses. They are easy to change, and allow you to adjust your sight picture. I'm shooting it at about 28 feet at a NRA 25 foot bullseye target. One handed, I'm keeping most of them in the black. Out of twenty shots, I'll have about 3 out of the black. The farthest I can shoot it in my house, was 38 feet, from front of gun to the target. I leaned against the wall and shot two handed single action. I was able to get a group just under 1 inch. I was using Beeman 7.2 grain Hollowpoints. I can get 60 full power shots, all the time. After that, it might go 70 to 75 before the power drops off fast. The gun comes with two 10 shot cylinders, they are made of metal. They feel heavier than aluminum. Blaine
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Blaine from USA on 2009-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality, sights, trigger, accuracy, the way you load CO2.
      Things I would have changed:The way the grip is held on. It some times comes off, when you set it down.
      What others should know:Hi there. I bought this 586-8, to practice one hand double action, bullseye shooting. I have a Crosman 357-6. The weight of the 586-8, is double that of the Crosman. For me this is fine, but it may be an issue for some. I bought it a couple of months ago. Since then, I have put over 2000 pellets through it. At first, I wasn't super happy with the trigger in double action. But, it keeps getting smoother. I'm very happy with the trigger now. The gun came in a nice hard plastic case. It came with a barrel wrench (you can buy a 4" and 6" barrel for it). Check to make sure the barrel is tight. Mine was a little loose when I first got it. I've only been shooting it indoors, so I haven't chrono it. The gun also came with 3 front sights. They are the same height, but different thicknesses. They are easy to change, and allow you to adjust your sight picture. I'm shooting it at about 28 feet at a NRA 25 foot bullseye target. One handed, I'm keeping most of them in the black. Out of twenty shots, I'll have about 3 out of the black. The farthest I can shoot it in my house, was 38 feet, from front of gun to the target. I leaned against the wall and shot two handed single action. I was able to get a group just under 1 inch. I was using Beeman 7.2 grain Hollowpoints. I can get 60 full power shots, all the time. After that, it might go 70 to 75 before the power drops off fast. The gun comes with two 10 shot cylinders, they are made of metal. They feel heavier than aluminum. Blaine
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lou from USA on 2008-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Most every thing, accuracy, weight, workmenship. It's true quality. I wish my FNP 40 autoloader was this accurate. I normally shoot at 25 yds. and this gun will shoot a 2 inch pattern with high quality pellets. I get a good fifty shoots per co2 cylinder, after that the power really deminishes. I purchased the 6 inch barrel and extra mags. The 6 inch barrell doesn't have the accuracy of the 8 inch at my normal shooting range of 25 yds., but at 10 meters you can hardly tell a difference in the accuracy. The gun is a bit pricy, but due to the quality and accuracy I feel I made a wise choice. Also, dealing with Pyramyd A/R Gun Mall was an absolute pleasure.
      Things I would have changed:Would like optional wood grips and fiber optic sights.
      What others should know:I purchased a white paint from a gun store for placing white dots on the sights. It really helped my sight picture. The paint is available in different colors and some will glow in the dark. Finding a holster was easy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Varun from USA on 2008-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awesome heft, feel and accuracy. The gun is very heavy, but feels good in the hand.
      Things I would have changed:the grip that pops open for inserting the CO2 cartridge sometimes pops open when you're firing. Also, the rear sights tend to go out of alignment easily.
      What others should know:Great gun, you'll be going through pellets like crazy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pilot44 from USA on 2008-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The revolver has the heft and feel of the real steel. Balance is a bit nose heavy per the 8" barrel. Rock steady shooter, very accurate out of the box at 10 yds. .5" groups are no problem. Smooth action either Single or Double actlion. Trigger could be better. Will probably smooth out with use. The finish is a real plus, No plastic with the exception of the lever on the bottom of the grip.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger could be better. I agree with the other reviewer, the plastic lever for puncturing the Co2 cartridge should have been steel.
      What others should know:Can't go wrong on this one. I ordered a weaver rail and X 2 as I ordered the 6" model as well. Will try a laser on one and Red Dot on the other. Great value.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2008-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice pistol! I was very impressed with the accuracy. Right out of the box it was dead on at 10 meters.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger creeps a bit but it is easy to get used to.
      What others should know:I have been shooting pistols for years but this is my first air pistol. I really am going to enjoy shooting it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nheydbriz from USA on 2007-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very realistic feel. The finish is nice, and the gun is very accurate. The CO2 seating mechanism is a dream, it has a lever, not the typical screw-in type, very easy. Trigger is very smooth and not too heavy.
      Things I would have changed:Personally, I think the cylinder release knob should have been made of metal, not plastic, which would have finished off this otherwise perfect gun nicely.
      What others should know:This is a heavy gun, just like the original it was meant to clone. I would not recommend it for children or small framed people.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top