Stoeger Arms X20S Suppressor Air Rifle reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Eric from USA on 2012-07-02 13:44:06

Things I liked:It's very accurate and very quiet. A very good rifle for the price.
Things I would have changed:The bundled scope and the stock trigger. I put a UTG 5th Gen 4-16x40AO Rifle Scope ($70) on it and I love it. I also installed a GTX trigger ($33)and I'm amazed at the difference it makes. Honestly makes it feel like a different rifle. The trigger was simple to install. The whole install took me about 15 minutes.
What others should know:I think it's a great deal for the price.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Brett from usa on 2014-09-14 13:46:29

Things I liked:Well there's nothing to like, mine arrived from pyramid completely jammed and uncockable, never had an air rifle arrive in this condition, does not bode well for this company in my opinion. I wanted to like this gun based on the silencing technology and high fps, which is mainly why I bought it.
Things I would have changed:Everything, I guess it's all as well I found out about the poor quality control on the part of Stoeger and the lack of pyramid in checking out their products before shipping them out. There was no tape on the product box so it is possible this had been returned before? Oh yeah, the gun is very heavy, especially for a synthetic stock gun, and feels front-heavy.
What others should know:I have owned over a dozen break-barrel rifles over the years. Just before this I had bought the Gamo bone collector bull-whisper but had to send it back. Vised on a table with great optics, it was shooting a random pattern 6 inches from the bullseye at 25 yds. Extremely poor. If one is looking for accuracy and value, I would steer them toward Crosman.
Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By steve from USA on 2015-04-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:accuracy and power
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:the factory mounted scope works great out of the box, perfectly zeroed
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Richard from USA on 2015-03-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I think the gun is made well. I am having great fun with it. Quiet! I use Crossman Premier Dome 14.3 gr pellets. Very nice (but I wouldn't know better yet). All in all it has got me back to shooting for cheap money and I am happy with what I have done to it.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is lousy like everyone says. Read and make your changes like I did and it will be much better. KEEP IT SAFE THOUGH. Trigger mods on this go from nice to the gun firing automatically very quickly........very unsafe.
    What others should know:I received this less than a week ago. I haven't fire a rifle in many years, let alone an air rifle. Tired of trying to find ammo so I started looking in to air rifles. Years ago I used to have a Sheridan Bluestreak in the 80s. I bought this on a recommendation from a buddy of mine who has two of them in .177 and .22 calibers. It is heavier than some of my real rifles. I was able to sight in the scope within 2 dozen pellets at 45 feet for the sake of getting some accuracy while I break the gun in and practice. Follow recommendations found on youtube regarding how to shoot a springer, it makes a huge difference and I can get 1.5 inch groups. I'm learning and I am not a steady hand. I'm also a small frame person. I had to cut the buttstock 1.75 inches shorter so the trigger reach would be more like what I was used to...a little bit of work but it paid off. Everyone hates the scope, it works for me. I love to tinker. I have to buy more air guns now!!
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Chester from USA on 2015-03-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:light and easy to cock; trigger will adjust; lighted mil sights are nice.
    Things I would have changed:Scope is too short so that it doesn't come close enough to my eye with my chin where it normally rests to present a full view - because my eye is so far back, the view is like looking through a straw. While muzzle report is very low, the spring is loud. trigger as it comes from factory is way too stiff; needed to adjust right away.
    What others should know:I have discovered that once you go to a gas piston, you can not go back. the spring recoil requires a completely different grip; it effects the shot and you find that you have to compensate for it. I sent this gun back having learned a $16 lesson.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Joseph from USA on 2015-02-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything.It is a very good solid gun for the low cost. Accuracy is excellent so far. Not the quietest but is quieter compared to many others and I'm sure it'll become quieter the more I shoot. Smooth cocking and shooting. Trigger is not the best but is getting better. plan on installing an upgraded trigger anyway.I'm not using the scope that came with it. Took it off as soon as I opened the box. I ordered a better scope (UTG) with the shipment knowing the scope included was no good. Most scopes included are.
    Things I would have changed:Better included scope and better trigger for increased price.
    What others should know:Get a better scope and trigger and you have yourself a great rifle. I have the .177 version. So far mine really likes H&N Crow Magnums 9.26 gr,H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme 9.57gr to the Crosman Premier Ultra Mag 10.5 gr. Very accurate and consistent with these three pellets. I plan on testing with more.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By matt from USA on 2015-02-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great value and shoots great! Shot
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Carlton from USA on 2015-02-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Likes. . .overall size, feel and weight, handling ease, pre-mouned scope (surprise), trigger (no problem), quiet factor, power and accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Negative reviews. . .you read many. Try hard enough and you can pick anything to death. Everyone has different expectations and some are unrealistic. Comparing one gun to another is not realistic to me. They are all different and have different characteristics. It takes time getting to know each one and how to respond to it's unique characteristics. This X20S works well for me using the right pellet selected for it. I do not expect each gun & pellet to perform identically. There are some bad pieces out there for sure but I try to keep my criticisms realistic.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Frank from USA on 2015-02-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Price.
    Things I would have changed:Scope is junk. Trigger is junk. Accuracy is ok if you want to shoot chipmunks off your foot. I think I'm going to have to finally spend some serious money to get a rifle with reliable accuracy.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jerry from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Feels solid and has smooth action.
    Things I would have changed:Length of pull is too long and the trigger is terrible. The 4x scope is bad; The reticles are too thick for real accuracy.
    What others should know:The barrel is not sealed. You can unscrew the end cap. There are 3 plastic baffles and a spring. My accuracy improved after removing and cleaning them. I carefully used padded vice grips to unscrew outer edge of endcap.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ed from USA on 2015-01-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It is a very comfortable weapon. I am impressed with the accuracy and grouping with the round top pellets. I even put a pellet through a penny at twenty-five yards.
    Things I would have changed:I would put a better scope on it.
    What others should know:Nothing
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Aaron from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the small compact size if the rifle.
    Things I would have changed:not very accurate. needs better scope.
    What others should know:best I could get with this rifle was .500 inch 3 shot groups at 15 yards. no matter what pellets I used. could never get hole on hole accuracy. maybe I was expecting too much. I tried 12 different pellets. I have lot of pellet guns and I really wanted to like this one, was planning to use it to shoot English sparrows off of my bird feeder at 25 yards. Instead I gave it to my lil brother.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Randy from USA on 2015-01-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This airgun feels solid for the class of airguns in which it belongs. The stock and the action feel mated together very well and tight. The comb rise on the stock is nice and can help get you up on the scope. The chamber mouth was smooth and the 3/8" dovetail cut is very clean. The ergonomics of the manual safety makes it easy to disengage and fire. The cocking has a positive feel and everything locks up well so far. If there is a barrel droop, I can't tell. This airgun seems smooth to cock, load and shoulder for each shot.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger and the included scope are the biggest negatives for this set-up. If the 4x32 scope was truly boresighted like the description says, it does not show. I had to do a major adjustment to get the 4x32 scope on target at even 5yds. For this style airgun, Stoeger should ditch the 4x and at least put on a 3-9x32 and charge a bit more. The trigger is very long and heavier than I thought it should be. There are some aftermarket parts to swap and even a super cheap "cheat fix" out there, though.
    What others should know:I was looking for something to get into airguns with a little more power and stability. I looked for something with decent reviews both here and on other sites. Some youtube videos were also found that reviewed the airgun with some demonstration footage as well. I wanted something with some power and decent accuracy that wouldn't break the bank. I know the old adage of "Buy Once, Cry Once", but I was not ready to spend $500+ for a PCP. I bought the .22 version and have been going through a tin of H&N Field Target Trophy pellets to break it in and get used to the trigger. I emailed Stoeger concerning "break-in" and if they had any suggestions about procedures, pellets, or how many shots it will take for the rifle to fully break in, but they provided no response. A little disappointing in Stoeger's customer service so far. Overall, very please so far.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steven from USA on 2015-01-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a solid all around shooter. Using the Crossman hollow point pellets (.22) I am getting groups of .5 inch at 25 yards. The only thing I had to do was adjust the trigger a little and sight it in.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. This is the best break-barrel I have owned.
    What others should know:This is not a toy. It will punch holes in 3/4" pine boards at 25yards all day long.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2015-01-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:great quality very low price pretty quiet.
    Things I would have changed:trigger's not that great. I still get good groups, occasional flyer. Takes a few hundred shots to get the hang of it.
    What others should know:I got this on sale 129.00 installed scope and free soft case. accuracy would have gotten 5 stars but trigger is difficult to figure out.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By DMichael from USA on 2014-12-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The workmanship on this rifle is excellent. The minute I picked it up the feel of this piece is serious rifle. The scope was easy to zero in and started getting good groups after 75 pellets.
    Things I would have changed:I would not change a thing this is a great addition to any ones collection.
    What others should know:I plan to have a lot of fun with the Stoeger Arms X20S Suppressor Air Rifle. sweet!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By vince from USA on 2014-12-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very quiet for a springer, powerful and decent accuracy after doing some work on the trigger and finding the right pellet. Well made and very solid, over all quality is very good.
    Things I would have changed:Forget the scope and apply the cost of the scope towards improving the trigger and let the customer install the scope of their choice.
    What others should know:Some simple fixes for improving the trigger can be found on the internet.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Glenn from USA on 2014-12-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I got the .22 version. Good quality gun for the money. Trigger is not near as bad as people say. It is heavy but I think they expect to much out of a 130$ rifle. Very accurate with the right pellet, mine seems to like the heavy ones and it is reasonably quiet. Not hollywood quiet but quiet enough to not spook game if you miss most of the time.
    Things I would have changed:Scope. I read the reviews before buying the rifle so I wasn't expecting much. Even when moving the scope as far to the rear as you can it still feels awkward for standing offhand shots. You have to lean into it to far. Not so bad from the bench but not good for hunting so plan on replacing it.
    What others should know:My son has the Gamo whisper so we can compare them side by side, They shoot basically the same but the Stoeger is noticeably quieter. If I was spending the money again I would still buy the Stoeger.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gregory from USA on 2014-11-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The overall look and feel of this rifle is outstanding.
    Things I would have changed:For the money, Not a thing.
    What others should know:This is a hard hitting pellet rifle. The recoil is a plus for me being a high power rifle shooter, I liked it. Out of the box I didn't make any adj.to the scope and I was putting the pellet in the ten ring. One thing you must be vary quit & settled to hit your target.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Frank from USA on 2014-11-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I thought this was a good value. Some reviewers state a problem with accuracy. I have not noticed this problem. Noise level is less than some springers.
    Things I would have changed:The scope has limited usefulness for me. I replaced with a 3x12-40 scope. Needed the RWS Lock Down 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, 11mm Dovetail, Barrel Droop Compensation to get the scope zeroed. Also, replaced the trigger with a GTX. Stock trigger required too much pull.
    What others should know:Get the RWS Lock Down 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, 11mm Dovetail, Barrel Droop Compensation if you wish to mount a different scope.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bryan from USA on 2014-10-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The accuracy is very good and it is a very quiet rifle
    Things I would have changed:the scope sucks and the trigger is awful. I did end up buying an after market trigger for this gun and it made it into a joy to shoot. also I replace the scope.
    What others should know:I could get very tight groups with this gun once i figured how to hold it. it shoots best with crossman .22 premier pellets and .22 JBS exact most other pellets did not do so well. I have had problems with racoon's killing my chickens and found this air rifle to solve that problem very well, I killed several racoon's and skunks
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By tom from USA on 2014-10-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Just received in one day I was amazed how fast. Love this air gun I've had many in the past but this is my favorite so far, shoots well right out of the box , the scope needed some adjusting but that's normal
    Things I would have changed:It's a little heavy but manageable not much to change here
    What others should know:This air gun is worth every penny I spent. Can't say enough about pyramid air. Great store to to do business with If you are on the fence about getting one. DO IT.
  • 123 ... 67 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top