Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Stoeger Arms X20S Suppressor Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2012-07-02 13:44:06

    Things I liked:It's very accurate and very quiet. A very good rifle for the price.
    Things I would have changed:The bundled scope and the stock trigger. I put a UTG 5th Gen 4-16x40AO Rifle Scope ($70) on it and I love it. I also installed a GTX trigger ($33)and I'm amazed at the difference it makes. Honestly makes it feel like a different rifle. The trigger was simple to install. The whole install took me about 15 minutes.
    What others should know:I think it's a great deal for the price.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Brett from usa on 2014-09-14 13:46:29

    Things I liked:Well there's nothing to like, mine arrived from pyramid completely jammed and uncockable, never had an air rifle arrive in this condition, does not bode well for this company in my opinion. I wanted to like this gun based on the silencing technology and high fps, which is mainly why I bought it.
    Things I would have changed:Everything, I guess it's all as well I found out about the poor quality control on the part of Stoeger and the lack of pyramid in checking out their products before shipping them out. There was no tape on the product box so it is possible this had been returned before? Oh yeah, the gun is very heavy, especially for a synthetic stock gun, and feels front-heavy.
    What others should know:I have owned over a dozen break-barrel rifles over the years. Just before this I had bought the Gamo bone collector bull-whisper but had to send it back. Vised on a table with great optics, it was shooting a random pattern 6 inches from the bullseye at 25 yds. Extremely poor. If one is looking for accuracy and value, I would steer them toward Crosman. Pyramyd Air Comment Spring piston Airguns cannot be shot from a vise they are very hold sensative. Shooting from a vise will give you very bad accuracy. GW Sales
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By tom from USA on 2014-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just received in one day I was amazed how fast. Love this air gun I've had many in the past but this is my favorite so far, shoots well right out of the box , the scope needed some adjusting but that's normal
      Things I would have changed:It's a little heavy but manageable not much to change here
      What others should know:This air gun is worth every penny I spent. Can't say enough about pyramid air. Great store to to do business with If you are on the fence about getting one. DO IT.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've heard mixed reports about this rifle. For me, it has been fantastic. Very accurate (drops doves and pigeons at 40 yards quite easily with Crow Magnum 8.8 gr .177's) The scope is really a nice feature although it can be in the way for close range snap shots. Very quiet right out of the box. The boing of the spring and a little phhft is all you hear. Birds at more than 20 yards don't know it's firing until they start dropping.
      Things I would have changed:I'd like to see a little of its weight removed, but that would make it much harder to cock. I use the ground cocking technique which may or may not be acceptable to some purists. I tap the barrel to break it loose, put the stock on the ground by my left foot and cock with my right hand. Then load, close the breach and aim before releasing the safety.
      What others should know:This is a great entry level choice as far as I'm concerned. The scope is fantastic quality and it comes bore sighted from the factory. Took a half dozen shots to zero at 25 yards, which gives fatal hits in the body of a dove or pigeon at anywhere from 10 to 40 yards. I haven't set out a target to measure pellet drop at more than 40 yards. I tried some Crosman Premier hollow point hunting pellets and my gun hated them. Too light and didn't fit the chamber very tightly when inserted. Accuracy at 25 yards was no better than an 8" circle compared to the CM's grouping in less than 2" at the same range. Accuracy from a bench rest might be better, but all of my testing was done from the standing unsupported position, which I use most often when hunting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Carlton from USA on 2014-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything.. .177 cal. Neatly packaged with fast shipping. Like the mounted scope. . . 2 clicks to the left and was right on center target. Decent weight, trigger, cocking effort, quiet (after several rounds) and very accurate. Using Predator Metalmag 8.5 to H&N Baracuda Hunter 10.34 weight category.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. . . .at this point.
      What others should know:PA does an excellent job from ordering process to packaging to fast shipping. This rifle is a winner in my opinion and my recommendations to anyone go with it. Very happy with this purchase. I'm not in the practice of comparing rifles to one another. They are all different and all have unique characteristics. I own several and they are all different but all good in their own unique way. It takes time and patience to adjust to the uniqueness of each. Others' opinions are nice to have but that experience is as unique to them and their abilities as is the rifle.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By George from USA on 2014-09-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pyramyd Air's customer service is fantastic ... truly great ... The gun is quite solid and shoots very straight.
      Things I would have changed:Unlike the review video of Pyramid's, the rifle I received was almost as loud as my Beeman with no silencer. The scope mount was too limited. I had to put my face way up on the stock to get a full view. The gun was much more difficult to "break" than my Beeman.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mark from USA on 2014-09-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, overall package that works well. Heavier than expected but it adds to the accuracy and great feel of the rifle. Well made, overall an excellent value!
      Things I would have changed:Trigger needs a lot of work. If you search the internet, you can find some easy solutions to the trigger that will make it much, much better.
      What others should know:This is a wonderful value, solid rifle with a reasonable scope that works, very accurate and works well.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Brett from usa on 2014-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well there's nothing to like, mine arrived from pyramid completely jammed and uncockable, never had an air rifle arrive in this condition, does not bode well for this company in my opinion. I wanted to like this gun based on the silencing technology and high fps, which is mainly why I bought it.
      Things I would have changed:Everything, I guess it's all as well I found out about the poor quality control on the part of Stoeger and the lack of pyramid in checking out their products before shipping them out. There was no tape on the product box so it is possible this had been returned before? Oh yeah, the gun is very heavy, especially for a synthetic stock gun, and feels front-heavy.
      What others should know:I have owned over a dozen break-barrel rifles over the years. Just before this I had bought the Gamo bone collector bull-whisper but had to send it back. Vised on a table with great optics, it was shooting a random pattern 6 inches from the bullseye at 25 yds. Extremely poor. If one is looking for accuracy and value, I would steer them toward Crosman. Pyramyd Air Comment Spring piston Airguns cannot be shot from a vise they are very hold sensative. Shooting from a vise will give you very bad accuracy. GW Sales
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Neil from USA on 2014-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish were excellent, balance is also to my liking. The rifle shoulders well, and although not fitted with sling swivels, is not a discomfort to carry on a hunting venture. Cocking effort is smooth and easy with the supressor as a grip helping to distribute the torque along your palm. Accuracy is good, what I would call a "75 percenter", meaning with most pellets regardless of maker, and shooting starling size game, you may have 1 in 4 get away. I will add that my gun does seem to have very good accuracy with RWS Match R10 pellets. Lead free pellets I have clocked at around 1125-1150 FPS, which is close to what the maker claims for allow pellets. Trigger is average for guns of this price point, and can be upgraded with an aftermarket trigger with little issue. The auto safety is a plus, and withing easy reach of your trigger hand's thumb to deactivate. A fun gun as a plinker or small game hunter.
      Things I would have changed:The scope that comes with the rifle is okay, but will not allow the most accuracy to be gotten out of the gun. definitely an upgrade item. Trigger could be better out of the box, but it is consistent, and that helps offset the weight of pull. The auto safety is a bit stiff to disengage.
      What others should know:Clean the barrel when you first get it, go out and shoot a tin of cheap pellets, then get a decent scope, perhaps an aftermarket trigger, or if you are inclined, LIGHTLY polish the engagement areas of the trigger group and the safety lever surfaces. This will smooth the safety action for disengagement, and the trigger will have a bit less "grit". This is a quiet gun, though it may seem "twangy" by your ear close by, at the muzzle end, it is quiet enough for back yard fun! Try RWS pellets first, and even crosman SSPs can do well accuracy wise if you don't mind the sonic crack they give. For a young adult, this would make a great first air rifle! I gave the accuracy four stars just because I have yet to find a really nice hunting type pellet for this gun, but I have other styles to try and believe that I will find a better one for this gun. The gun does like target style pellets and even alloy ones, and these can still be used on small pests such as starlings or squirrels in close.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Fabian from USA on 2014-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked the weight and length. Its quiet after the first 20 shots.
      Things I would have changed:It came defective and could not break it. The scope mount/rails/scope system is ill designed and it sits to far ahead and you cannot move it back. The back ring has a stop that sits on a depression on the action, and you cannot move it further back.
      What others should know:Pyramyd service was average, they started an offer two days after I bough it and would not match it. They also said adding wd40 to make it break would void the warranty. The trigger is the old gamo trigger (metal) or crosman (b19). So it is awful but there are lots of tutorials on how to make it better, but pyramyd would say it voids the warranty. I got is in the understand that it was a crosman/gamo level rifle, and is around that but could have been better with just a little thought.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2014-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:stylish, good looking, 22cal.
      Things I would have changed:nothing really? but would be nice to see a wood stock x20 suppressor?
      What others should know:great power!!,fun to shoot, backyard friendly!! my x20 suppressor is a absolute joy!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Cristian from USA on 2014-08-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like everything about this rifle, especially the red and green optics, I find that the red option is better for day and the green for night time shooting.
      Things I would have changed:I would give it a lighter trigger, even as a two stage its a bit hard.
      What others should know:Make sure you shoot it a few times to brake in the spring and barrel before trying to zero the scope. It will save you alot of time and trouble with stiction, you will also notice that the rifle will be quiter once its broken in.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Dave in STL from USA on 2014-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It is quiet enough for an urban setting, after a few initial detonations. Not much sound difference between 7.5 gr to 10 gr pellets. Gamo red tips seem to shoot well without being overly loud. .177 has decent knockdown power under 40 yds.
      Things I would have changed:Variable focus would be great, AO even better, but then the price would jump. Trigger has already been changed on mine, still surprised how much lighter pull it now has. After changing triggers, the center screw located in the trigger guard didn't want to tighten up as well as before. it's a little heavy for free hand target shooting for very many shots.
      What others should know:I received a different gun for fathers day. Didn't take long to realize "whisper quiet" had different meanings to different people. After reading numerous reviews on many air rifles, I finally just called Pyramyd and explained what I needed and what sound level my neighborhood would tolerate. They recommended the X20S, and I tip my cap to them. Quiet enough for in-town, but enough power to dispatch a garden pest. I don't give a hoot about shooting the eye out of a needle, I just need to hit the kill zone consistently. I got this gun just before my corn and tomatoes came ripe, and in the first 5-6 weeks buried 20+ squirrels, all hit in the 15-40 yd range. Didn't lose an ear of corn and only 1 tomato this year. Took a little bit to get sighted in, but it's lethal now. Tighten all your screws every 75-100 shots.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2014-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Like the way it looks.
      Things I would have changed:Reduce the weight.
      What others should know:Not sure optics are sighted in accurately. Have not had time to site in myself.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By bob jones from USA on 2014-08-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Its quieter than most spring rifles. Urban shooting -- Be careful a "discerning" ear can easily make out the sound but with a little background noise (weedwacker, lawnmower etc.) the report blends right in. I have not tried alloy pellets -- I am sure they make more noise.
      Things I would have changed:Scope, Barrel droop I have ordered a CDT trigger we shall see Dont waste your $10 on the ten for ten --- "spring guns" diesel so bad while breaking in the only thing the 10 for 10 tells you is --yeah it fires!
      What others should know:The barrel droop is very pronounced! I put a Bugbuster scope on and could not get it to shoot high enough. I had to install UTG's Scope Elevation Compensator Mount that finally got me on target! For a gun that has NO open sites I dont know why the barrel droop has to be so great. The scope that came with it is non variable magnification so it sited in "ok" without the compensator.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By joe from USA on 2014-08-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Outstanding accuracy with rws super domes in .22 and good budget price point you pay so little for a phenomenal rifle
      Things I would have changed:Scope that comes with the rifle
      What others should know:If you buy this rifle in .22 make sure to also buy rws super domes the holes will stack right on top of each other on paper targets I hit a dime at 30 yards off a fence post ( with a high quality zoomable scope )
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Roger from USA on 2014-07-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The solid feel of the gun in the hand. The accuracy. How quiet it is, I will have no problem shooting this in my neighborhood.
      Things I would have changed:The scope, it would be nice to have an AO scope. The stock scope will be adequate but not great.
      What others should know:After sighting in the Stoeger X20S (22 cal.) and running about 20 more rounds through it, it was putting 4 pellets into a 1" bulls eye at 22 yards. I am well pleased with this gun.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2014-07-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Relatively quite, easy to cock, good looks
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is way too far forward in stock, take some weight out its heavy! Plus trigger is rough and spongy not crisp.
      What others should know:This gun was too big for lack of a better term for me the placement of the trigger was too far forward on the stock. I compared this gun to a Marlin 81TS that I shoot on a regular basis and the trigger was easily and inch farther forward on this gun than the Marlin making it a stretch to get a comfortable handle on the rifle. Also if this is your first "springer" the releasing of the spring when firing is a violent act so don't expect to be watching the pellet sail down rang in the scope this thing is a handful when you send your shot down range. Plus it's heavy 8 pounds is not lite everyone whom I showed it too mentioned this when picking it. That's my 2 cents
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jacob from USA on 2014-07-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle surprised me the most with it's accuracy in .22 at 30 yards. I made minor adjustments to the scope out of box, and I held noteworthy groups spreading to about an inch and a quarter at 30 yards with JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 cal 15.89 grains.
      Things I would have changed:I would prefer a MIL-STD picatinny rail on top instead of the dovetail. I didn't love the trigger, but it is manageable. This rifle is A LOT sweeter with a GRT III installed. I installed one, and I won't be looking back. Keep in mind I held 1 inch groups @ 30 yards with the stock trigger. I installed the GRT III trigger after the 500 shot mark.
      What others should know:I was really surprised by the stock optics. I didn't keep that scope on the rifle with my current setup because I wanted magnification. I felt like it offered enough clarity for me, and the illumination in low light is a great feature where I observed a bright illuminated reticle when I used it. From reading other reviews I thought I was going to get stuck with a completely useless optic, in my opinion those reviews are a bit too critical for what it is. I would use these optics on another rifle in a heartbeat. When I installed a UTG 4-16x44 AO SWAT I experienced significant barrel droop. I purchased a UTG Drooper Scope Rail 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, and I still could not adjust the scope enough to compensate for droop. I eventually shimmed the scope (using UTG packaging recommended by Pyramyd Air), and I was able to get the scope to adjust for where the rifle was shooting. In hindsight perhaps I should have went with something in the 3-12 magnification range.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Oscar from USA on 2014-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I really love these rifles accuracy ...It's accuracy was 1" groups at 25 yards with my leapers 4x32 scope([PY-A-2980]) ...I bet you can get wayy better groups than that with these rifle with a better magnefication scope.
      Things I would have changed:GET RID OF THE SCOPE !! The scope it comes with is junk ...these rifle needs a 4-16x40mm scope in my opinion
      What others should know:Make sure you check your scope mounts everytime you go out hunting and get a different scope maybe a 4-16x40mm scope by leapers and if these is your first spring rifle don't worry about the trigger ...I've heard a lot of reviews saying that the trigger sucks but when I got these rifle the trigger was perfect for me .These rifle is perfect for pigeons ,squirrels ,etc.i use crossman premiers (.22) 14.3 grain pellets . It's FPS is 720 with the those pellets .
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeffrey from USA on 2014-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I was skeptical upon ordering this rifle because of the reviews, but since I got it, I am a fan of Stoeger rifles! Out of the box I only needed 5 rounds to sight in the scope. At 30 feet I was shooting groups of an inch or smaller, this gun outshoots my Benjamin even with the equiped scope! Great for plinking, target, and taking care of the rat problems we have in Hawaii. I would recommend this rifle to all my friends.
      Things I would have changed:The only things I would like changed is the scope, though I am shooting great, I would like to have more clarity in the lens. Also, the trigger is a bit stiff, but other than that, the gun is awesome.
      What others should know:If you want a good, reliable, and accurate air rifle that is quiet and in .22 caliber get this one! Out of the box it is deadly accurate and surprisingly quiet! You'll have lots of fun shooting this rifle all day long!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By randal from USA on 2014-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:quiet, accurate
      Things I would have changed:trigger hard pull, hard to adjust.
      What others should know:good gun great value quiet! mine came as package with scope excellent buy!
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top