Stoeger Arms X20S Suppressor Air Rifle reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Eric from USA on 2012-07-02 13:44:06

Things I liked:It's very accurate and very quiet. A very good rifle for the price.
Things I would have changed:The bundled scope and the stock trigger. I put a UTG 5th Gen 4-16x40AO Rifle Scope ($70) on it and I love it. I also installed a GTX trigger ($33)and I'm amazed at the difference it makes. Honestly makes it feel like a different rifle. The trigger was simple to install. The whole install took me about 15 minutes.
What others should know:I think it's a great deal for the price.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By alhaskins from USA on 2015-07-05 09:03:01

Things I liked:Was an inexpensive option for a friend who needed a rodent pest control solution and wouldn't be using it that much.
Things I would have changed:Quality control. Barrel latch did not hold. Random shots would drop 10" - 12" at 7 yds. Velocity only 600 fps as barrel would partially open on firing. Trigger - enough said.
What others should know:Getting this gun is a crap shoot. I read the reviews and it was mostly positive with some bad apples. In trying to break gun in before turning it over I found that I had gotten a really bad one. Thank you for PA's great customer service. Returned gun and will have to find other solution to friends problem.
Sort by:
  • 123 ... 78 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By William from USA on 2015-07-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the overall feel of the rifle, the stock with it's checkering, the weight and balance, the silencer works, and the gun breaks over easily. Very accurate out of the box and the trigger was great compared to the last air gun i bought, but I will still replace it.
    Things I would have changed:Ofcourse the scope is inferior but you can get by with it and the trigger is the same, inferior, but that said, if you are a decent shot to start with you canstill make 40yd free hand shots to a 2" steel target and silver dollar 18yd groups leaning on a post.
    What others should know:I paid about $150.00 for the X-20 and at that price I am very satisfied! I will mention that I was worried enough to pay for the "10 shots for $10.00". Don't know if that would have gotten me a superior rifle or not but i knew it would all function.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By George from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Quiet and accurate. I was able to zero the scope with a dozen shots.
    Things I would have changed:Just the information on the web site. The mm size of the ammo and the mm size required for this rifle are different.
    What others should know:I am not a "shooter" and remember with displeasure my experience qualifying while in the army. One less hit and I would not have done so. This rifle is heavy and stable. The trigger "pull" is perfect. That is what let me zero the scope easily. As for the comments about the scope being inaccurate, it might be a distance issue. I am shooting at about 20 yards and it is dead on.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Keith from USA on 2015-07-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very comfortable rifle.Nice heft and length of pull.Heavy enough to hold steady but not enough to limit how long you are on the target before you shoot.Safety is firm to release, I have an RWS/DIANA that the safety moves WAY to easy.
    Things I would have changed:Length of trigger pull. Weight is ok,just feels "creepy" definitely makes you concentrate on the target waiting for it to break.Will be adjusting to see if that helps.Possibly a replacement trigger,we'll see.
    What others should know:4 different pellet styles, 3 different brands.Took me 7- 3 shot groups to sight it in. 3 shot group in a dime at 25 yards. Sitting on the ground, no bench, sticks or bipods. With the provided 4x scope.This 54 year old man is VERY happy with that accuracy!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By mark from USA on 2015-07-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Things I like is look feel of the rifle the power and accurate the gun has. When cocking the gun it let s you know there some power there!
    Things I would have changed:They should throw that scope away and a good scope on and maybe change a little bit more
    What others should know:The first thing you did was to put my 3+9+32 scope on and a Charlie da tuna triggers on WOW! i can wear out a bullseye @40 yards I love my stroegers my x-20s in.22 and the x-20 in .177.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By JOSEPH from USA on 2015-07-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:like suppressor but sound reduction is minimal; not sure of dB reduction, and not sure how this affects accuracy since it "shortens" time in the rifled barrel
    What others should know:two color scope reticle is a nice perk.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By alhaskins from USA on 2015-07-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Was an inexpensive option for a friend who needed a rodent pest control solution and wouldn't be using it that much.
    Things I would have changed:Quality control. Barrel latch did not hold. Random shots would drop 10" - 12" at 7 yds. Velocity only 600 fps as barrel would partially open on firing. Trigger - enough said.
    What others should know:Getting this gun is a crap shoot. I read the reviews and it was mostly positive with some bad apples. In trying to break gun in before turning it over I found that I had gotten a really bad one. Thank you for PA's great customer service. Returned gun and will have to find other solution to friends problem.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Michael from USA on 2015-06-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the fact that the rifle is a spring, shrouded, break barrel design. I like that fact that it was offered in .22 caliber. I liked the particular overall style of the rifle. I really like the black synthetic stock. I liked that the rifle came with the scope already mounted. I like Paul Capello's and Rick Eutsler's reviews for this air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Few things are perfect, but if I worked at Stoeger, I would insure that there be quality control tests conducted at the factory BEFORE the rifle shipped for sale (if they indeed had conducted the QC tests, then the rifle I received definitely failed). After the appropriate tests, a QC sticker on the rifle would certify that it was ready for sale (next time, I'm going to purchase Pyramyd Air's 10 for $10 certificate. It cost me $57.00 to have the rifle shipped back to PA. Ouch!). I would offer the buyer an option to purchase a better scope or just go ahead and bundle a better spec scope at an increase in price. I would address the below standard trigger. Trigger action feels rough and unrefined (you give up a few quality features or specs for the price [plus a discount from PA]).
    What others should know:This was the first air rifle I purchased from Pyramyd Air. I chose this model based on several factors including specifications, online reviews, style and price (I wanted to get into the sport on a budget). Unfortunately, the particular rifle I received was defective. After reading the manual very carefully, I only managed to fire the rifle 3 times. After that, the next time I cocked and loaded a pellet into the rifle, when I raised the barrel, the rifle fired without ever touching the trigger! Luckily, I had the rifle securely pointing straight into the sky. What the...? What happened to the automatic safety feature? Thats why we should always secure the barrel while we load the pellet! Despite my disappointment and disbelief, I once again tried to cock the rifle. spring pressure was there but it would no longer remain cocked. I would like to mention, Pyramyd Air customer service was SUPER. Representative Dan courteously listened to my explanation and promptly gave me an RMA number.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Arron Mauldin from usa on 2015-06-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Looks nice
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy
    What others should know:Best looking, heavy, not accurate, single projectile shotgun I ever bought.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Joe from USA on 2015-05-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great gun! It started out somewhat noisy and has gotten quieter (probably within 50 shots?, I now have 300 or 400 shots through it. Like the feel, weight is ok, safety is a great position and works well. Single pump is great for me.
    Things I would have changed:The scope is a single range and does not adjust zoom, a 3 or 4x zoom would have been nice. It is also not accurate out of the box of course and took me close to 50 shots to bring accurate. The windage adjustment is not near as sensitive per click as it says. But I finally got it there and all is good.
    What others should know:I would say this is a "quiet" gun. I have an old Benjamin that I have to pump about 10 times before I can shoot it, my new Stoeger is probably quieter and definitely a lot more accurate and deadly on my dwindling squirrel population. I dont think my very close neighbors mind (I live in the city). I think they assume I am just shooting a bb gun... little do they know how much more accuracy and power I have! Great gun!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By steve from USA on 2015-04-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:accuracy and power
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:the factory mounted scope works great out of the box, perfectly zeroed
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Richard from USA on 2015-03-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I think the gun is made well. I am having great fun with it. Quiet! I use Crossman Premier Dome 14.3 gr pellets. Very nice (but I wouldn't know better yet). All in all it has got me back to shooting for cheap money and I am happy with what I have done to it.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is lousy like everyone says. Read and make your changes like I did and it will be much better. KEEP IT SAFE THOUGH. Trigger mods on this go from nice to the gun firing automatically very quickly........very unsafe.
    What others should know:I received this less than a week ago. I haven't fire a rifle in many years, let alone an air rifle. Tired of trying to find ammo so I started looking in to air rifles. Years ago I used to have a Sheridan Bluestreak in the 80s. I bought this on a recommendation from a buddy of mine who has two of them in .177 and .22 calibers. It is heavier than some of my real rifles. I was able to sight in the scope within 2 dozen pellets at 45 feet for the sake of getting some accuracy while I break the gun in and practice. Follow recommendations found on youtube regarding how to shoot a springer, it makes a huge difference and I can get 1.5 inch groups. I'm learning and I am not a steady hand. I'm also a small frame person. I had to cut the buttstock 1.75 inches shorter so the trigger reach would be more like what I was used to...a little bit of work but it paid off. Everyone hates the scope, it works for me. I love to tinker. I have to buy more air guns now!!
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Chester from USA on 2015-03-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:light and easy to cock; trigger will adjust; lighted mil sights are nice.
    Things I would have changed:Scope is too short so that it doesn't come close enough to my eye with my chin where it normally rests to present a full view - because my eye is so far back, the view is like looking through a straw. While muzzle report is very low, the spring is loud. trigger as it comes from factory is way too stiff; needed to adjust right away.
    What others should know:I have discovered that once you go to a gas piston, you can not go back. the spring recoil requires a completely different grip; it effects the shot and you find that you have to compensate for it. I sent this gun back having learned a $16 lesson.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Joseph from USA on 2015-02-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything.It is a very good solid gun for the low cost. Accuracy is excellent so far. Not the quietest but is quieter compared to many others and I'm sure it'll become quieter the more I shoot. Smooth cocking and shooting. Trigger is not the best but is getting better. plan on installing an upgraded trigger anyway.I'm not using the scope that came with it. Took it off as soon as I opened the box. I ordered a better scope (UTG) with the shipment knowing the scope included was no good. Most scopes included are.
    Things I would have changed:Better included scope and better trigger for increased price.
    What others should know:Get a better scope and trigger and you have yourself a great rifle. I have the .177 version. So far mine really likes H&N Crow Magnums 9.26 gr,H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme 9.57gr to the Crosman Premier Ultra Mag 10.5 gr. Very accurate and consistent with these three pellets. I plan on testing with more.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By matt from USA on 2015-02-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great value and shoots great! Shot
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Carlton from USA on 2015-02-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Likes. . .overall size, feel and weight, handling ease, pre-mouned scope (surprise), trigger (no problem), quiet factor, power and accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Negative reviews. . .you read many. Try hard enough and you can pick anything to death. Everyone has different expectations and some are unrealistic. Comparing one gun to another is not realistic to me. They are all different and have different characteristics. It takes time getting to know each one and how to respond to it's unique characteristics. This X20S works well for me using the right pellet selected for it. I do not expect each gun & pellet to perform identically. There are some bad pieces out there for sure but I try to keep my criticisms realistic.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Frank from USA on 2015-02-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Price.
    Things I would have changed:Scope is junk. Trigger is junk. Accuracy is ok if you want to shoot chipmunks off your foot. I think I'm going to have to finally spend some serious money to get a rifle with reliable accuracy.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jerry from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Feels solid and has smooth action.
    Things I would have changed:Length of pull is too long and the trigger is terrible. The 4x scope is bad; The reticles are too thick for real accuracy.
    What others should know:The barrel is not sealed. You can unscrew the end cap. There are 3 plastic baffles and a spring. My accuracy improved after removing and cleaning them. I carefully used padded vice grips to unscrew outer edge of endcap.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ed from USA on 2015-01-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It is a very comfortable weapon. I am impressed with the accuracy and grouping with the round top pellets. I even put a pellet through a penny at twenty-five yards.
    Things I would have changed:I would put a better scope on it.
    What others should know:Nothing
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Aaron from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I like the small compact size if the rifle.
    Things I would have changed:not very accurate. needs better scope.
    What others should know:best I could get with this rifle was .500 inch 3 shot groups at 15 yards. no matter what pellets I used. could never get hole on hole accuracy. maybe I was expecting too much. I tried 12 different pellets. I have lot of pellet guns and I really wanted to like this one, was planning to use it to shoot English sparrows off of my bird feeder at 25 yards. Instead I gave it to my lil brother.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Randy from USA on 2015-01-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This airgun feels solid for the class of airguns in which it belongs. The stock and the action feel mated together very well and tight. The comb rise on the stock is nice and can help get you up on the scope. The chamber mouth was smooth and the 3/8" dovetail cut is very clean. The ergonomics of the manual safety makes it easy to disengage and fire. The cocking has a positive feel and everything locks up well so far. If there is a barrel droop, I can't tell. This airgun seems smooth to cock, load and shoulder for each shot.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger and the included scope are the biggest negatives for this set-up. If the 4x32 scope was truly boresighted like the description says, it does not show. I had to do a major adjustment to get the 4x32 scope on target at even 5yds. For this style airgun, Stoeger should ditch the 4x and at least put on a 3-9x32 and charge a bit more. The trigger is very long and heavier than I thought it should be. There are some aftermarket parts to swap and even a super cheap "cheat fix" out there, though.
    What others should know:I was looking for something to get into airguns with a little more power and stability. I looked for something with decent reviews both here and on other sites. Some youtube videos were also found that reviewed the airgun with some demonstration footage as well. I wanted something with some power and decent accuracy that wouldn't break the bank. I know the old adage of "Buy Once, Cry Once", but I was not ready to spend $500+ for a PCP. I bought the .22 version and have been going through a tin of H&N Field Target Trophy pellets to break it in and get used to the trigger. I emailed Stoeger concerning "break-in" and if they had any suggestions about procedures, pellets, or how many shots it will take for the rifle to fully break in, but they provided no response. A little disappointing in Stoeger's customer service so far. Overall, very please so far.
  • 123 ... 78 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top