Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Weihrauch HW30S Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Russell from USA on 2009-07-29 16:28:41

    Things I liked:Excellent Rekord trigger, highly visible fiber optic sights, smooth, light cocking action, and perfect balance. This rifle is easy to shoot well.
    Things I would have changed:The rifle should ship in a plastic bag inside the box like the other Beeman rifles. My rifle did not get any rubbing damage, but it was covered in cardboard dust that took some time to clean off. There was also quite a bit of dust in the barrel from rubbing on the cardboard.
    What others should know:This is a fine rifle that is a pleasure to shoot. It is well made and feels solid. It handles very much like an M1 Carbine. I bought this rifle instead of the R7 because I wanted the fiber optic sights. They are perfect for plinking, but I have not tried them on target work yet. They might not be as precise as the post-globe of the R7, but the soda cans do not stand a chance.
    0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By jim from USA on 2010-04-05 07:09:31

    Things I liked:Smaller size and low cocking effort make it very comfortable for a smaller adult shooter. Trigger mechanism is great.
    What others should know:No longer equipped with the fiber optic sight elements. Just a shrouded iron sight. I was told Weihrauch changed the design without notifying anyone. Beware.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2014-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this because of all the articles about its accuracy, and they were right. In a brief time, it has become my favorite airgun. It prints single hole groups using RWS Diabolo basic pellets in the green tins. Its dead on at 10 meters on my indoor shooting range, and that also puts it on at about 25 yards on my outdoor range. With a 7.0 grain pellet I am getting about 680 fps.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I am still on my first tin of pellets, so technically its not broken in yet. It dieseled occasionally but only for the first 25 shots or so, then stopped. I didn't start shooting groups till about 100 shots, and it started with one hole 5 shot groups. Its more accurate than I am. You can't put it down once you start shooting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2014-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Well built and accurate German rifle.This rifle is lite weight and very easy to cock for a springer. I use mine for indoor 10 meter shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Excellent as-is.
      What others should know:Spring powered air rifles take some getting use to to get good accuracy. Take the time to practice and develop a good hold and accuracy is super with the HW30.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jaime from USA on 2014-05-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the included iron sight for plinking. With a leapers 1 piece mount and 3x9x40 sighted in at 10 meters. I was getting 10 shot 1 whole group at less than 3/8 of an inch with JSB 7.9 and JSB 8.4. Bench rested at 27 meters I was hitting the bulls eye aiming 1 mil-dot below cross hair to hit the bullseye. This two pellets are hitting same point of impact at 10 meters and again at 27 meters with out adjusting. the RWS 7.0 same POI at 10 meters however at 27 meters it was 2 mil-dot below cross hair to hit the bullseye. best 5 shot group with the jsb was 3/8 of an inch. less than 1/2 an inch with the RWS 7.0. This is my favorite AR to date.
      Things I would have changed:Same Weihrauch problem. Mine was scrapping the chamber while cocking. I pellgun oil all the joints and the scrapping went away.
      What others should know:I cleaned the barrel with out cleaning the chamber before firing. I had 4 detonation within the ist 100 rounds.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By michael from USA on 2014-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything.
      Things I would have changed:Engraved stock.
      What others should know:I'm using a barska 2-7x AO airgun scope. My specific copy really likes RWS hobby (7.0gr) and superdomes (8.3gr) as well as crosman premier (7.9gr) domed. Same ragged hole for 5 pellets. It doesn't like RWS meisterkugeln(8.2gr). All over the place inside a 3/4" hole. Haven't tried heavy (over 9gr) pellets yet.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Athanasios from USA on 2014-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Best 2 Stage Trigger,easy cocking ,low recoil and Close to Match accuracy !
      Things I would have changed:Nothing !
      What others should know:Mine was Remanufactured and Looked and shot like New.You will save Money and be Happy.Everyone needs at least One HW30S Rifle !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Russell from USA on 2014-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality workmanship.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Right out of the box, this air rifle was "spot on accurate" with the open sights. I made no adjustments.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2014-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Real Accuracy, easy to cock, good sights, light weight. Fantastic blueing and very good grained wood and I like the color just a little darker than their picture. Very comfortable to hold, cock and shoot. Real smooth like a tuned air gun. Not pellet picky.
      Things I would have changed:Well it's made in Germany. But all my iron and clear front aperture sights are American sized so they will not fit. But it comes with 6 iron apertures already. If I need a larger front aperture than 3.8 I will find one that fits. I know for sure they exist. Perhaps an Anshutz.
      What others should know:The accuracy is really very good as I'm shooting paper official NRA AR-4/10 5 Meter targets and I just shot a 10 shoot gruop under a dime size shooting offhand at 5 Meters indoors in my kitchen. Will go to 10M when I can go outside (it's freezing 28 deg. F). I usually scoff when people write claims like this. My other air guns are pneumatic competion air rifles: Daisy 753, Crosman Challenger 2000 and IZH Baikal MP-532. Only the MP-532 can shoot a better group and it cost me over $800 in October 2011 from Pyamid Air. I only got my HW30S yesterday and I'm using it as sighted in at the factory with a post front sight. I can swititch that to a round aperture (included with the rifle) anytime I want. Then perhaps my HW30S will outshoot even my Russian IZH MP-532. I am an extreamly pleased and happy 63 year old man. I took first place in NRA .22 smallbore competion in 1993 with my Winchester 52B (still own it) I went from unranked to first place for unranked and earned a Marksmanship medal (still have it) as a result of that single match. Just to add a little credance to my shooting opinion. BTW I have severe authritus as a result from multiple injuries and I know a healthy younger shooter could do better. Get this air rifle. I added a butt pad to make the lenght of pull 1/2" longer and that's how I shot a 95% just now. I'm working an a perfect score and I can say shooting this springer is fun. That's what it's all about for me!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ernest from USA on 2013-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:smaller than my RWS 34? easier to handle and use than my RWS 34? yes to both but bear in mind my 34 is a fantastic air rifle. the HW 30 is also fantastic in every way. it IS GREAT!
      Things I would have changed:no need to change anything.
      What others should know:look at all those 5 star ratings and witness the phrase of the 30
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By geoffrey from USA on 2013-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:this is a high quality air rifle, I am very impressed with its performance, I am using it on paper at 30 feet, 1/4 inch groups are easily shot,
      Things I would have changed:a super low weaver or picatiny rail option would be nice,
      What others should know:placing this rifle in my safe I noticed just how nice it really is,it makes my ruger rim fires look cheap, I bet if weihrauch started making ruger upgrade stocks a lot of people would buy them, I believe this rifle will last a long time, I am very pleased with my purchase at PYRAMID AIR, there prices were low and the shipping was only 2 days!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gamyr from USA on 2013-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Excellent in every way and very accurate, worth every penny!
      Things I would have changed:None
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2013-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate as a laser. Spend the extra money . Was always missing squirrels with my 10 pump. With this rifle my first 2 shots from 45&60 feet nailed 2 squirrels. Paper target from 30 feet had 2 holes with 10 pellets fired. Rifle comes zeroed in from factory from 10 meters. Didn't have to touch elevation but did adjust windage.
      Things I would have changed:None
      What others should know:Manual for rifle is not in box. Pyramid air has it on web page
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Extremely accurate, smooth firing cycle, light and easy enough to cock for small shooters, but the full sized stock makes it a good fit for adults as well. Excellent fit & finish and the beech stock is even fairly attractive for such a plain wood. As a bonus it shoots all sorts of pellets with excellent accuracy, a few really do perform better, but you certainly can't call it fussy.
      Things I would have changed:Without the following quirks this is a five star gun all the way: First off, the cocking lever issue that the HW30/R7 has should really be addressed, having to insert a polymer shim after purchase to prevent galling between the cocking arm and the underside of the receiver in an otherwise well made gun like this is ridiculous...especially since it's been in production for decades, come on Weirauch! Next up, my gun has barrel to receiver alignment issues, not the common problem of barrel droop (that's just fine), but side to side alignment; I actually had to shim the front sight housing over to the right and run the rear aperture sight almost to its leftward limit to get windage centered. This might even have been far enough off to cause issues with a scope setup, though most scopes offer plenty of adjustment compared to a target diopter like the one I'm using.
      What others should know:This might just be the ultimate high quality plinking springer, it's not particularly hold sensitive, has enough power for targets out to 50 yards and pests to 25 or 30, plus it has an easy enough cocking strike that you can shoot for hours without fatigue. If you do your part it will hit your point of aim at these distances every time, sadly you'll have no excuses if you miss, since the trigger, barrel and powerplant of this rifle are about as good as a recoiling spring piston gun gets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2013-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Simply a wonderful rifle! Very nice shot cycle, and not too hold sensitive – just enough to make you need to be fairly consistent, but not so much that being a little off throws the shot way wide. Very accurate – mine can put ten shots inside 0.3” ctc at 20 yards with my front hand supported on the bench and no rear bag, if I do my part (which I’m working on more now that I have this fabulous rifle). The open sights are very good, but I prefer to use a peep sight on it (I have the Daisy Avanti Precision Sight on it fits it quite well, but it has to be really torqued down to stay in place). It is becoming my favorite rifle to shoot. It is also a much better value than the R7 – I’d trade checkering on the stock for good open sights any day, and you get to save about $50 too.
      Things I would have changed:The cocking linkage needs to improved – it is a “U” channel, and the rough edge slides along the tube making scraping noise and cutting a groove as you shoot. There is a simple fix that can be applied by most of us by installing a plastic strip as a bearing inside the main link channel (if you are comfortable working with tools you can do this), and with it the gun cocks very quietly, smoothly, and easily (Google R7 or HW30 cocking link for info on this and where to get a good fitting piece). After this 20 minute fix, the gun is a dream to shoot. I don’t know why HW does not do this themselves – it would cost them very little and it greatly improves the gun. It is a shame to have to tear into a new gun and risk voiding the warranty, but this is a fix that is best applied sooner rather than later – even one tin of pellets leads to noticle grooves being cut in the spring tube (all hidden by the stock, of course).
      What others should know:I have found the best pellet to be the JSB Exact 8.4 grain, after having also tested CPLs, JSB 7.33 grain (second best), JSB 7.87 grain, and Predator Polymags (the worst). But other than the Polymags, all are quite useable. After over 1000 shots it is shooting the 8.4 grain JSBs right at about 610 fps for just under 7 FPE. Interestingly, the 7.9 grain CPLs shoot at about 595 fps – they fit the bore real tight, so that might be why they are slower than the JSBs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2012-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:As accurate as any rifle I have ever owned. Consistently shot less than 1/2" 5 shot groups at 25 yards. I actually had one 5 shot group approx. 1/8" at 25 yards in no wind. It was ready to go out of the box and shot well immediately. I figured it would take a while to break in but it shot very well from the start. I purchased it for my preacher and plan on buying one for myself also. I have 3 very high end springers that cost me much more than this rifle that don't shoot as well.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Best money I have ever spent on an air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ZippyPop from USA on 2012-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First new Air Rifle purchase in 20+ years! People get too caught up in speed. The HW30S is an awesome backyard plinker and an absolute joy to operate and shoot without heavy weight and easy to operate.
      Things I would have changed:Absolutely nothing!
      What others should know:Good for beginners to serious backyard shooters! You won't regret this purchase.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brett from USA on 2012-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the size and weight of this gun. It's light to cock, the trigger is fantastic and the firing cycle of the gun is quick. The blueing on the steel is very nice.
      Things I would have changed:I would add a delrin guide to the cocking linkages to prevent metal to metal galling from the factory.
      What others should know:This is probably my favorite airgun. It is easy to shoot all day long. One of the other reviewers commented about the cocking arm rubbing on the bottom of the reciever and galling. I knew of this from the biginning and I installed some delrin in the cocking link to prevent this. This would be a nice addition from the manufacturer, especially for the $$$ of this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2012-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my 2nd adult air rifle, and I am very impressed! My first was a FWB 124. I owned the FWB 124 for about 2 years. It was reasonably accurate, but darn difficult to hold consistently. I really had to concentrate to get 5 shot 1-hole groups from the FWB 124 at 20 yards. And, the FWB 124 trigger was merely acceptable . The HW30 is a much better gun in my opinion. Perhaps 80% of my 5 shot groups are 1 hole at 20 yards. The trigger is much better, and the HW30 is much less hold sensitive. As a result my recovery rate for squirrels successfully hit in the vitals is much better too. I estimate that the FWB 124 resulted in about 50% of squirrels dying within 10’ of the initial shot. The HW30, in my hands, results in perhaps 70% of squirrels dying within 10’ of the initial shot. Most often the squirrels have blood on their noses because I managed to get a lung. And, my son can shoot the HW30. It is easy to cock and has a better feel than the FWB 124.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing really.
      What others should know:I have reloaded 5000-10000 rounds of center fire rifle cartridges in 8 different calibers. While I am not a rated shooter, I am proficient. I have owned some very decent center fire guns and used them with good success. I have tweaked triggers glass bedded actions too. The HW30 needs nothing. Just buy it, scope it, and shoot it. Oh, I have chosen JSB Heavy 10.34gr for plinking and the squirrels in my yard.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Byron from USA on 2012-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:What a sweet rifle! Excellent trigger, excellent finish, excellent iron sights. Easy to cock. Likes most pellets in the .177 caliber.
      Things I would have changed:After over 1000 shots the only negative I have is that the trigger adjustment screw is almost impossible to turn. Thankfully, it really doesn't need any adjustment for me.
      What others should know:This is an adult size stock. The length of pull is 14 inches and the distance from the trigger to the pistol grip fits a large male hand. Probably wouldn't fit the average woman and certainly not a child.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tom from USA on 2012-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:An excellent shooter out of the box. This is a light weight, easy to cock, and most importantly extremely accurate. I bought mine in .177 cal. The stock is finished nicely and the metalwork is excellent. I removed the excellent open sights and mounted a 3X9X32 Leapers scope, and it will shoot in the same hole time after time at about 10 yds in my basement. If you like open sights, it is very nice out of the box. The Rekord trigger is fantastic. I have not adjusted it and it is perfect as received.
      Things I would have changed:Many reviews mention the jointed cocking arm rubbing on the receiver, galling and eroding the metal. Come on Weihrauch, for this price gun, this is unacceptable. I installed a delrin piece in the cocking arm to prevent this, but the owner should not have to fix what is clearly a design problem. Another $.05 piece of delrin from the factory would have prevented this problem.
      What others should know:I love the shooting characteristics of this rifle and feel nothing else matches it's quality and precision in this power range, although it is a little pricey. It is an air rifle that is sure to please you, other than what I mentioned in "Things I would change".
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By B from USA on 2011-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Wonderful little rifle. I bought this so I would have a similar rifle to my R7 (which is also made by Weihrauch) but with open sights on it as my R7 has no sights and a scope. Same wonderful quality as the R7. I have never regretted buying Weihrauch airguns as they are built with quality and precision for generations of shooting pleasure. Can't comment on too many types of pellets as I shoot mostly JSB Exacts which shoot great in any gun. By the way, the 10% off coupons can be used on this gun but not the Beeman branded guns. I did use my coupon. Coupon Power!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. With Weihrauch you get what you pay for.
      What others should know:I have alot of airguns but shoot this gun and my R7 60-70% of the time so that should say something to you.
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top