Date: 28/7/2016 2:22
0

Weihrauch HW30S Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Peter from USA on 2014-02-05 19:59:35

Things I liked: Real Accuracy, easy to cock, good sights, light weight. Fantastic blueing and very good grained wood and I like the color just a little darker than their picture. Very comfortable to hold, cock and shoot. Real smooth like a tuned air gun. Not pellet picky.

Things I would have changed: Well it's made in Germany. But all my iron and clear front aperture sights are American sized so they will not fit. But it comes with 6 iron apertures already. If I need a larger front aperture than 3.8 I will find one that fits. I know for sure they exist. Perhaps an Anshutz.

What others should know: The accuracy is really very good as I'm shooting paper official NRA AR-4/10 5 Meter targets and I just shot a 10 shoot gruop under a dime size shooting offhand at 5 Meters indoors in my kitchen. Will go to 10M when I can go outside (it's freezing 28 deg. F). I usually scoff when people write claims like this. My other air guns are pneumatic competion air rifles: Daisy 753, Crosman Challenger 2000 and IZH Baikal MP-532. Only the MP-532 can shoot a better group and it cost me over $800 in October 2011 from Pyamid Air. I only got my HW30S yesterday and I'm using it as sighted in at the factory with a post front sight. I can swititch that to a round aperture (included with the rifle) anytime I want. Then perhaps my HW30S will outshoot even my Russian IZH MP-532. I am an extreamly pleased and happy 63 year old man. I took first place in NRA .22 smallbore competion in 1993 with my Winchester 52B (still own it) I went from unranked to first place for unranked and earned a Marksmanship medal (still have it) as a result of that single match. Just to add a little credance to my shooting opinion. BTW I have severe authritus as a result from multiple injuries and I know a healthy younger shooter could do better. Get this air rifle. I added a butt pad to make the lenght of pull 1/2" longer and that's how I shot a 95% just now. I'm working an a perfect score and I can say shooting this springer is fun. That's what it's all about for me!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By jim from USA on 2010-04-05 07:09:31

Things I liked: Smaller size and low cocking effort make it very comfortable for a smaller adult shooter. Trigger mechanism is great.

What others should know: No longer equipped with the fiber optic sight elements. Just a shrouded iron sight. I was told Weihrauch changed the design without notifying anyone. Beware.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By kevin from USA on 2016-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality is what I expected. I expected to pay for a premium import and that is what I got. The trigger is very good without adjustment. Some people are overly critical about it. It is just a flat out Top quality sporting trigger out of the box. I feel no problem shooting this rifle to the best of my ability. The fit and finish of this rifle is fantastic. Especially looking at most rifles these days. I have no imperfections of any kind on my rifle. Even the butt pad is fitted perfectly. I can tell the red paint on the safety will wear off with time. The open sights are very usable. Some people may be overly critical about them as well but they offer a great sight picture and with all the combinations you are sure to find what you like.

    Things I would have changed: you will see this complaint a lot regarding the rubbing or galling. It is unfortunate that this quality product is affected by that. I was able to correct mine by accident and I do not advocate the way I did. Please do a Google search on how to fix it. If weirauch doesn't want to fix the design they should at least offer the derlin insert to fix it with. This is literally the only problem with the rifle. My rifle buzzes a little bit but I'm used to my Diana 45 so this is very minor to me.

    What others should know: Get this rifle. Even with the negative things that some say this rifle is a flat out class act. This rifle is just as accurate as you are maybe more so. When I miss I know it's my fault. I have noticed no shot sensitivity especially when shooting small plastic army men empty Co2 powerlets and dandelion puffs. I also shoot bigger stalks on some of the weeds in my yard. I'm not a great shot but this rifle is a perfect trainer. I can shoot 1/2" groups with a few different pellets. Although I'm not good enough to shoot that good all the time. STOP BUYING CHEAP RIFLES! buy quality the first time. You will end up saving money. This rifle is the last one I would ever get rid of it ever came to that.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Enrique from USA on 2016-06-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Size, medium power, easy to cock, light, accuracy. Good bluing and decent stock finish.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing important really. Just one thing, I would have gladly paid a bit more for a nicer walnut stock in this otherwise beautiful little rifle. It is much better than it looks.

    What others should know: I was prepared for mediocre accuracy for the first 100 shots as many have expressed. It was not the case. After spending the first ten shots out of the box making slight adjustments to the open sights, my second ten shots cut a single ragged hole at 10 yards with Hobby pellets. It simply wants to group. It also likes Meisterkugeln at short distances. With a scope and at a bit longer distances it also makes single holes with JSB Exact and domed Premiers. There is very little vibration and relatively low noise. The only minor disappointment is with the Rekord trigger that is not as smooth as I had expected. It is certainly OK but not as good as the one in my old Diana 34. It might need some break-in so I will wait some time before making adjustments.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dick from USA on 2016-02-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Appearance - all wood and metal as well as great looking bluing. Excellent trigger - crisp and light pull and is adjustable.

    Things I would have changed: Manual states that sometimes it takes 100 rounds or so for groups to tighten up. I was kind of disappointed for the first approx. 110 rounds then groups got significantly better and now one hole three shot groups are quite common. I am 74 years old and must wear trifocals so I'm very pleased. Meisterkugeln rifle pellets give by far the best results in my gun. No changes are needed in my opinion.

    What others should know: This is definitely a quality air gun for the money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ernest from USA on 2016-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There is nothing about the gun I don't like. It is the best by for the buck you can get in an air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: JSB & AIR ARMS pellets work the best. Very accurate using either one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lee from USA on 2016-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Just feels GREAT. I've owned 15 or so air rifles, and none feels or sounds like this when you shoot it...it sounds/feels..."professional" comes to mind...meaning smooth, taut, cool, smooth again. I liked it, then put a Vortek tuning kit in it just 'cuz I'm an extremist. Feels great. Love the moderate power level. Fairly quiet. Light-to-moderate cocking effort.

    Things I would have changed: Nada.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By harry from USA on 2015-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: quality of the rifle, very accurate, low cocking effort, reasonably quiet, not much recoil. ambidextrous stock (i'm left handed), this gun is a pure pleasure to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: would be nice to have a model that didn't have sights for those of us who mount scopes.

    What others should know: one time, from a rest, I put 5 shots thru a hole just 0.017 in. bigger than the diameter of the pellet. that's accuracy! I mounted a nikon prostaff target EFR scope and it makes a great combo. this is my favorite gun to shoot over a beeman r-9, crossman gas piston gun, and a crossman multi-pumper. if for some reason I had to get rid of all air rifles but one, I would keep the HW30. more expensive than some, but the quality makes it worth it. you get what you pay for in air rifles!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By MICHAEL from USA on 2015-10-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like everything there is about this rifle - I should have bought this gun long ago. The size is right, the quality, fit, and finish is outstanding and the trigger is great. The power level of this rifle is perfect for what I use the gun for which is 10m shooting in my basement and general plinking outside. Additionally, this gun is very quiet compared to other pcp and springers I own. In the accuracy department it will put the pellets in the same basic hole all day long as long as I do my part, which is easy since this gun is not hold sensitive at all. I have had great success shooting CPHP 7.9gr and RWS round nose 8.2gr. The open sights are quality as well though I removed them and mounted a 4-12 40mm on the gun to get the most out of it.

    Things I would have changed: nothing. For the money this rifle is one of the best bang-for-buck guns out there in my opinion.

    What others should know: I would buy this again over and over without a second thought.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Haans from USA on 2015-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fabulous little rifle. Typical excellent Weihrauch build quality. I don't yet have 500 pellets though it and it is shooting great groups. The power level is great and it shoots very smooth. You cannot do better than the Rekord trigger out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: The Weihrauch cast trigger guard is just not at the same quality level as the rest of the gun. I would change this if I could, on every Weihrauch rifle

    What others should know: My pellet testing with H&N Field Target Trophy pellets at 15 yards gave the following results: 4.50 diameter .769" center to center 4.51 diameter .550" center to center 4.52 diameter .465" center to center As expected as I increased pellet diameter point of impact dropped. I re zeroed based upon the 4.52 diameter POI and will be using this diameter. It is the same diameter my HW98/R11 shoots most accurately as well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Perfect machining. Perfect woodwork. Light weight. Easy to cock. Quiet, buzz free shot cycle.

    Things I would have changed: Perfection shouldn't be tampered with.

    What others should know: This is the one to have if you're looking for a significantly lighter, significantly quieter and significantly easier to cock, super high quality springer air rifle. Most noticeable above all else is the sharp thump or snap as the trigger is pulled. There is no buzz or twang at all like you will find with other rifles of this type.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Leonard from USA on 2015-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I wish I had bought this rifle years ago. light weight, easy to cock, great trigger. Aim at your target and you will hit it.The interchangable front sights are soooo nice. And it shoulders like it belongs there.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Buy lots of pellets you will find it hard to put this rifle down. Mine likes H&N FTT. Have fun shoot safe

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Greg from USA on 2015-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent workmanship. Exceptional packaging for shipping. Easy cocking. Extremely accurate. Lightweight, smooth handling, fine trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: You won't be disappointed.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2015-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is THE most accurate air rifle I have ever shot with open sights. The build quality is top notch compared to other brands and yes it costs a bit more than others but you get what you pay for. The action is smooth, no grinding, somewhere around 18-19 lbs. to load, trigger just needed a mild adjustment. I sighted in using RWS Diabolo Basic 7.0 gr and moved to JSB Diabolo Exact 7.33 gr, and those were very accurate...less than a dime sized group at 30 ft in my basement. The best one, and surprise, was the Predator GTO lead free 5.5 gr, which shot almost one ragged hole. I have no doubt that it would take small game at 10-15 yards. It's not a magnum springer but probably the best all round rifle that fits most of my needs. I can't say enough about the quality of this rifle, it is something I can train my kids on when they are older and pass it along. Accurate, accurate, accurate!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Unless you are experienced in taking air guns apart, you may want to have it professionally serviced, it was difficult to reassemble after cleaning and lubing. I will probably have it serviced and cleaned after a good break in period.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2014-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The trigger, The quality workmanship, the balance, the trigger, the easy cocking, the lack of plastic parts, the accuracy, the trigger...

    Things I would have changed: There is only one aperture insert for the front sight. 1 or 2 additional inserts in smaller sizes would be nice.

    What others should know: I would call this a "rifleman's" air rifle. It's a beautiful example of craftsmanship in a world of cheap junk and pretend quality. Be warned if you think the exceptional quality of this rifle can be obtained at a lower price. Less money will buy you a nice air rifle but it won't buy exceptional. The trigger is a joy. I have many fine match & sporting rifles and the Rekord trigger stands among the best of them. If you find the power of the HW30S a tad low spend the extra on the HW50S and you can have it all. It's so easy for us to talk ourselves out of the "good stuff" but it's the good stuff that turns into treasure as the years go by. Junk stays junk. A completely delightful air rifle!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2014-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light, easy to cock, slim to carry, great workmanship, and very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Put fibre optic sights on it.

    What others should know: The most accurate springer I have and have shot! Likes most any pellet. Mine even groups great with Daisy HP's. Doubt if I will want to even scope this one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Giovanni from USA on 2014-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: QUALITY QUALITY AND QUALITY ,ACCURACY ACCURACY ACCURACY I AM REPEATING MYSELF EVERY TIME I DO A REVIEW ON A GERMAN AIR RIFLE.

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING

    What others should know: I HAVE THE BEEMAN R7 THE HW30 HAS THE SLIGHT ADVANTAGE IN ACCURACY AND VELOCITY.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2014-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this because of all the articles about its accuracy, and they were right. In a brief time, it has become my favorite airgun. It prints single hole groups using RWS Diabolo basic pellets in the green tins. Its dead on at 10 meters on my indoor shooting range, and that also puts it on at about 25 yards on my outdoor range. With a 7.0 grain pellet I am getting about 680 fps.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I am still on my first tin of pellets, so technically its not broken in yet. It dieseled occasionally but only for the first 25 shots or so, then stopped. I didn't start shooting groups till about 100 shots, and it started with one hole 5 shot groups. Its more accurate than I am. You can't put it down once you start shooting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2014-05-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well built and accurate German rifle.This rifle is lite weight and very easy to cock for a springer. I use mine for indoor 10 meter shooting.

    Things I would have changed: Excellent as-is.

    What others should know: Spring powered air rifles take some getting use to to get good accuracy. Take the time to practice and develop a good hold and accuracy is super with the HW30.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jaime from USA on 2014-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the included iron sight for plinking. With a leapers 1 piece mount and 3x9x40 sighted in at 10 meters. I was getting 10 shot 1 whole group at less than 3/8 of an inch with JSB 7.9 and JSB 8.4. Bench rested at 27 meters I was hitting the bulls eye aiming 1 mil-dot below cross hair to hit the bullseye. This two pellets are hitting same point of impact at 10 meters and again at 27 meters with out adjusting. the RWS 7.0 same POI at 10 meters however at 27 meters it was 2 mil-dot below cross hair to hit the bullseye. best 5 shot group with the jsb was 3/8 of an inch. less than 1/2 an inch with the RWS 7.0. This is my favorite AR to date.

    Things I would have changed: Same Weihrauch problem. Mine was scrapping the chamber while cocking. I pellgun oil all the joints and the scrapping went away.

    What others should know: I cleaned the barrel with out cleaning the chamber before firing. I had 4 detonation within the ist 100 rounds.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2014-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything.

    Things I would have changed: Engraved stock.

    What others should know: I'm using a barska 2-7x AO airgun scope. My specific copy really likes RWS hobby (7.0gr) and superdomes (8.3gr) as well as crosman premier (7.9gr) domed. Same ragged hole for 5 pellets. It doesn't like RWS meisterkugeln(8.2gr). All over the place inside a 3/4" hole. Haven't tried heavy (over 9gr) pellets yet.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Athanasios from USA on 2014-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Best 2 Stage Trigger,easy cocking ,low recoil and Close to Match accuracy !

    Things I would have changed: Nothing !

    What others should know: Mine was Remanufactured and Looked and shot like New.You will save Money and be Happy.Everyone needs at least One HW30S Rifle !

  • 123 Next
Navigation