Date: 26/9/2016 19:46
0

Weihrauch HW 75 reviews - page 1

Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Neil from USA on 2010-05-28 14:13:01

Things I liked: I bought this air pistol as a trainer for my S&W Model 41 rimfire I use for Bullseye. It's about as close as I could find and possibly more accurate. I can easily shoot dime size groups resting on a hard surface at 10 meters and no doubt will do better after I find the right pellets. There is no detectable recoil and it's very quiet. I was concerned about the power but It has more power than my CO2 Colt 1911 by Umerax. In fact it has enough power to knock over my Gamo Squirrel target while my Colt does not. I shot at the bottom of an empty tuna can at 50 ft and it put a large dent but would not penetrate. It has enough power to comfortably shoot bullseye target at 50ft which is all the power I need. It's also great for plinking tin cans and metallic silhouette. It's not a hunting pistol however. The workmanship is top quality. It's also lighter than I expected. The trigger is about as good as they get. Better than my rimfire target pistol.

Things I would have changed: The rail is a bit large for mounting red dots. I did manage to mount an 11mm red dot but I had to back out the screws a ways. The grip is not as comfortable as it looks. I would like to remove some metal from the grip under the trigger or make the grip wider to cover it up. The grip is too short for my hand. Perhaps a longer grip would solve this problem. I might make a custom grip for it.

What others should know: This air pistol will make all your other air pistols obsolete. It's very addicting and hard to put down.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tim from USA on 2016-09-12 23:11:04

Things I liked: The gun is very accurate.

Things I would have changed: The gun has started leaking. The gun will fire if shot quickly after pumping but the pressure will leak off in a minute or two so SHOT predictability is poor. It will need to be sent in for repairs.

What others should know: This is an update of my previous five star review. My HW75 has started leaking. It leaks off in a minute or so. I will need to seek service. I sent an email to Weirauch and they said to contact Pyramyd, which I have not yet had the time to do.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from USA on 2016-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The gun has started leaking. The gun will fire if shot quickly after pumping but the pressure will leak off in a minute or two so SHOT predictability is poor. It will need to be sent in for repairs.

    What others should know: This is an update of my previous five star review. My HW75 has started leaking. It leaks off in a minute or so. I will need to seek service. I sent an email to Weirauch and they said to contact Pyramyd, which I have not yet had the time to do.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's very high quality with excellent fit & finish and real wood grips. The opening where the pellet is loaded is large enough so that my XL fingers can easily load the pellet. The hammer has to be cocked before firing. This pistol works well with a 2 handed grip.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it didn't cost so much.

    What others should know: Its good for indoor shooting ( eg basement, garage or barn). This refined and well engineered pistol shoots better than I do!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dean from USA on 2016-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This truly is a great little pellet pistol. It's so well made that it's a pleasure to just hold in your hand. Everything says quality including the cocking, trigger, sight adjustability, and accuracy. There's definitely pride of ownership here.

    Things I would have changed: I certainly can't find fault with the product. I'm not sure there's a good rational reason to spend this much money on a gun that isn't powerful enough to hunt with and isn't really a competitive 10 meter pistol. It's a high end, expensive plinking gun. If you're looking for a rational reason to buy one you're not going to find one here.

    What others should know: All this being said, I don't regret having bought it. It's a fine piece of machinery and it's great fun to shoot!

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Catherine from USA on 2016-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The accuracy, the grips, the trigger, and the way it feels like a 1911 when holding it.

    Things I would have changed: The safety, to shoot the pistol you flip the ambidextrous safety forward, which means you feel it while shooting. It should have been the other way, where it tucks out of the way when ready to fire.

    What others should know: My gun was shooting 2 inches high at 33 feet. When I adjusted the rear sight down, the hammer would strike the bottom of the rear sight when fired. I contacted Weihrauch and they asked me for my address but I haven't heard back from them yet.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Catherine from USA on 2016-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love the accuracy at 10 meters, the crisp trigger, and the 1911 angle of the grips. It makes a great trainer for indoor pistol shooting, Mine can bench rest 1/4" 5 shot groups at 33 feet.

    Things I would have changed: The safety is weird. When the safety is off (moved forward) and the pistol is ready to shoot, you can feel the safety under your trigger finger.

    What others should know: I had trouble with the rear sight on mine. The gun was shooting high, and when I lowered the rear sight to adjust, the hammer would contact the bottom of the sight when fired. I wrote to Weihrauch and they asked for my address to send me a fix but haven't seen anything yet.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William J. from USA on 2015-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy. I have the .177. I was looking for a very accurate SSP. This is one IMHO. I am new to the sport and I hope my comments help someone. I was able to easily adjust the sight for accuracy at 33 feet. I can get quarter sized groupings at 40 feet with the gun resting on a sand bag. At 43 feet I shoot 15 ounce, 6 ounce (tomato paste) and 3 ounce (Fancy Feast cat food)cans. Only the 3 ounce cans are a challenge to hit.

    Things I would have changed: The safety. It it were up to me I would point the safety to either S or F so I know exactly what it is set on. I have another air gun where the set up is different and I got confused.

    What others should know: I tested 5 pellets and found two to be the "best" Meisterkugeln 7.0 wadcutter and RWS Hobby 7.0 wadcutter.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything that has already been said: fantastic trigger, excellent quality, beautiful appearance, exceptional accuracy. What I will add is that it arrived earlier in the week and yesterday (Saturday) was the first chance I had to shoot it and ended up doing so for most of the day. It was supposed to be yard work day and I got nothing done. It's that much fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Wish I would have gotten it sooner.

    What others should know: The specs on PA's website say loudness is medium, but it is very, very quiet. Cocking effort is much easier that what I expected after reading other reviews. I put two tins through it in a day and had no issues cocking it that many times. I hold The grip in my right hand just like I would hold it to shoot (keeping my finger away from the trigger, of course) and place the thick part of my left palm on the top just ahead of the rear sight and push my hands together and it is not a problem at all.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2014-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This pistol, like the other Weihrauch-made guns I own, exudes overall quality, both in engineering and function. It is nicely balanced, which is helped by the design of the comfortable grips. The accuracy is impressive. The trigger, which is adjustable, is superb. A scope, or red dot, fits nice and secure on the rail. Overall, a fine work of craftsmanship that is a pleasure to own and shoot. I haven't found it to be picky about the pellets used. A spare breech seal, and an Allen wrench for trigger adjustment are included.

    Things I would have changed: Nada

    What others should know: It takes some effort to cock the gun, and you'll want to take care to not pinch a finger when closing...don't ask.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Josh from USA on 2014-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Quality of construction, it is an exceptionally nice pistol! Accuracy is top notch, I can quite easily shoot 22lr shell casings at 7 yards. The grip is VERY comfortable.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger. The reason for 4 stars here is the trigger. Until this week I would have given 5 stars but now I have a HW40 (Beeman P3) and the trigger on it is much better. The HW75 uses the hammer in the trigger mechanism and this means that the trigger can only be so good. I have adjusted it to be more like the HW40, but its just not. The trigger is "squishier" and not as crisp as the HW40. It also could benefit from an over travel adjustment screw. The pistol could also be easier to cock. Its not God awful, but its a far cry from a breeze after a few hours.

    What others should know: Buy the HW40. Your paying twice as much for aluminum and wood. Don't get me wrong it is NICE! However, I find myself picking up the 40 over the 75 due to the trigger. If flash is important to you, the 75 wont disappoint and don't get me wrong, its a fantastic pistol with exceptional build quality, and superb accuracy, but it doesn't shoot any better than the 40 and the 40 has a much nicer trigger.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ENRIQUE from USA on 2014-10-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Beutifull!!!.... Acurate.... Quality.

    Things I would have changed: More power... Cal. .22 as an option.

    What others should know: The trigger and accuracy will allow you to learn to shoot with a pitol.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2014-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the second most accurate air pistol I own after the IZH 46m. Excellent trigger, I like the exposed hammer, just an all around good handling and shooting air gun.

    What others should know: If you can only have one, save up for the Izzy. If however you want a more traditional looking air pistol, the HW75 will not disappoint.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2014-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great gun! This is my favorite air pistol. Incredible trigger. Great sights. Excellent quality.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Great gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This pistol is in my top gun drawer. It is my first choice for plinking at dime sized garage targets 15 feet away. My HW 75 is the perfect sports weapon on rainy days for hours of garage fun. Trigger pull and accuracy are perfect as well is the gun's weight and balence.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: Diablo Basic 7 grain pellets seem to be a perfect match for this target pistol and they are economically priced. I recommend wearing a glove to close the loaded barrel assembly to the frame. Repeated pressure on ones cocking hand while loading can get rather painful without wearing a glove. The grip is perfect for a medium hand size like mine, but may be too small for a larger one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By eugene from USA on 2014-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made. Feels and handles like a firearm. Simple operation. Accurate. More powerful than I expected.

    Things I would have changed: I would like the safety to be located and operated more like a 1911

    What others should know: It is expensive but well worth the price. It strikes me as an heirloom piece that will be passed on( not many products today qualify in this regard). I am shooting my centerfire steel targets at 42 yards! It brings a smile to my face... very happy with this purchase.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joanie from USA on 2014-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: We have an Izzy and a Steyr, but wanted something that had more of the feel of a conventional pistol in the hand. We did not, however, want to sacrifice quality or accuracy to get it. The HW 75 filled the bill, perfectly. It may not have the hair splitting accuracy of our match pistols, but it is quite capable of one hole groups at 10 meters. Ask me how I know.

    Things I would have changed: Really have to dig to find a negative. Might be nice to have the option of switching out front sights, but we do quite well with the HW 75, as is.

    What others should know: You won't be satisfied with anything less after using this pistol. Buy it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2014-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There's little not to like about this air pistol. Very accurate, wonderful trigger, good sights, easy to load and cock, beautiful fit and finish. It's large but well balanced. Looks heavier than it actually is but has enough heft to make it feel like a real target pistol. I agree with Neil's review below favorably comparing the HW 75 to the S&W Model 41, a gem of a .22. A quality casual target/plinker you can shoot in your garage or backyard. Perfect!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really. The stippling on the grip looks like it might be a bit of a dirt magnet but a soft, nylon brush cleans it up.

    What others should know: On my journey to relieving my addiction to expensive CO2 and finding a fun, accurate target shooter, I had a love/hate relationship with the Beeman P17 (actually three of them). After realizing I enjoy shooting airguns more than fixing them I decided to bite the pellet and go for quality, the HW 75. Well worth every dollar.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from USA on 2014-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The pistol is almost perfect. It is easy to cock and load and has a very nice trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: If you like single pump guns to plink with great accuracy, buy one. The fit and finish of the gun are exceptional.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2013-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Grips and trigger are really fine. Very good easy accuracy to about 20 yards. Nice pump stroke with a good solid feel. Exposed hammer and barrel release are solid and satisfying to operate. Impressive appearance.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe the breech could be a touch looser, although it is pretty easy to load with 4.48 head size pellets.

    What others should know: I bought the HW75 to give to my buddy for his 50th birthday... he's a guy who really appreciates the finer things in life. As a young man he had a Webley spring pistol that he really liked... and I wanted to give him a non-target pistol that would be better, be a lot easier to shoot accurately, and be of obvious high quality and attractiveness. The HW75 is refined, accurate, and fit the bill. My bud was stoked! He's been plinking from his home office window, now all the black walnuts in his yard have .177 pellets and holes in them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By GREG from USA on 2012-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the most ultimate and accurate air gun that I've ever bought! I fought my self for months as to not buy this thing because of the cost. I finally caved in and bought it, Just to be able to say that it wasn't what it was claimed to be? It is all what everyone said it was, plus! This air gun is the most accurate gun that i've ever taken out of a box! I've bought dozens of air guns recently and not one can come close to the HW 75 even with adjustments and sights. It's expensive and some what lower powered, But if you like shooting targets, it's a perfect great gun! I'm generally a horrible shot but with the HW 75 because of how well it's built, I almost look like a marksman with this thing! I can shoot quarter size patterns all day long at 30 feet. I have the Ruger .177 and I can't even hit the paper 8 by 11 inches at that distance because of the heavy trigger pull, It's like pulling a bowling ball!. The HW 75 is super crisp and one stage. It's a beautiful trigger and when you pull it you fire. And nooo play. So you need to get used to it. Just a great gun! Well, well worth the bucks! It's not for hunting but a great target gun. Also it's a pretty big size gun. It fit's perfect in my hand but may be more than some can handle? Not because of cocking effort, or power but because of just size. The quality of workmanship and the precision of the HW make the price!

    Things I would have changed: This gun is absolutely perfect in its current form for what it does! But in my dream world I would like to see white dot sights, or fiber optics. Obviously more power and a .22 version.

    What others should know: As careful as you are, it will eventually draw blood! Lol . Pinch points will find you! Always be alert when cocking this thing. Cocking effort is not so heavy once you learn how. Its actually easy to cock. This is a big size gun to handle. Not powerful, but just a big size gun. Also be warned that once you realize how accurate this gun can shoot you'll want to tape smaller and smaller things to your target area to boost your ego when you nail it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William R from USA on 2012-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First class quality,fit and finish as expected by Weihrauch. Extreme accuracy and an awesome sighting system along with zero recoil allows this wonderful air pistol to compete with fine 10 meter pistols with no problem at all. The HW 75 is fairly quite, I would put it solidly in the lower medium loudness catagory.This pistols weight distribution is as close to perfect as I could hope for.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing !

    What others should know: This is a very large air pistol. I am a very large man with XXXL hands. I did have to do some work to the lower portion of the grip to allow some additional relief for my hand to fit properly. The grip on my pistol is a very attractive peice of wood to begin with. After much finish sanding and three light coats of Minwax Lacquer it is just beautiful and a perfect fit. I believe this is the finest example of a quality air pistol.

  • 12 Next
Navigation