Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Weihrauch HW 75 reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (20 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Neil from USA on 2010-05-28 14:13:01

    Things I liked:I bought this air pistol as a trainer for my S&W Model 41 rimfire I use for Bullseye. It's about as close as I could find and possibly more accurate. I can easily shoot dime size groups resting on a hard surface at 10 meters and no doubt will do better after I find the right pellets. There is no detectable recoil and it's very quiet. I was concerned about the power but It has more power than my CO2 Colt 1911 by Umerax. In fact it has enough power to knock over my Gamo Squirrel target while my Colt does not. I shot at the bottom of an empty tuna can at 50 ft and it put a large dent but would not penetrate. It has enough power to comfortably shoot bullseye target at 50ft which is all the power I need. It's also great for plinking tin cans and metallic silhouette. It's not a hunting pistol however. The workmanship is top quality. It's also lighter than I expected. The trigger is about as good as they get. Better than my rimfire target pistol.
    Things I would have changed:The rail is a bit large for mounting red dots. I did manage to mount an 11mm red dot but I had to back out the screws a ways. The grip is not as comfortable as it looks. I would like to remove some metal from the grip under the trigger or make the grip wider to cover it up. The grip is too short for my hand. Perhaps a longer grip would solve this problem. I might make a custom grip for it.
    What others should know:This air pistol will make all your other air pistols obsolete. It's very addicting and hard to put down.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Jon from USA on 2011-11-08 07:04:21

    Things I liked:This gun looks very good in person. The sights are great. The trigger is very nice and light. Cocking the hammer for dry fire is a great plus when practicing form. 10 yard 10 shot accuracy rested was pretty good. Rws superdome was 5/8" ctc, crosman premier wadcutter 1". Both groups opened to about 1.25" non rested firing standing. Single shot with 0.75" targets very repeatable. Noise is not very loud, great for basement sessions. Pleasure to use and own!
    Things I would have changed: Fit is slightly loose. The wood grips frequently make clicking noise when holding the gun in position to fire. Generally, this occurs when your thumb rests near the safty. I'll have to check the manual later to see of there is a way to tighten the grip to the gun...
    What others should know:The darker texture of the bottom half of the grip seen in the pictures is the rich wood of the grip made porous. At first, the porous texture is odd, but you get used to it. The cocking effort it harder than I thought it would be, but this is because the profile of being a pistol grants the user only a small surface to act as alever to cock the pistol. I rest the pistol grip flat bottom on a table during cockingand this helps tremendously. At 470$, this gun is an absolute joy. It isnt powerful, but it is an amazing indoor 10 yard target weapon. Read my ratings as 4.5 stars.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By eugene from USA on 2014-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made. Feels and handles like a firearm. Simple operation. Accurate. More powerful than I expected.
      Things I would have changed:I would like the safety to be located and operated more like a 1911
      What others should know:It is expensive but well worth the price. It strikes me as an heirloom piece that will be passed on( not many products today qualify in this regard). I am shooting my centerfire steel targets at 42 yards! It brings a smile to my face... very happy with this purchase.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jne from USA on 2014-04-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:We have an Izzy and a Steyr, but wanted something that had more of the feel of a conventional pistol in the hand. We did not, however, want to sacrifice quality or accuracy to get it. The HW 75 filled the bill, perfectly. It may not have the hair splitting accuracy of our match pistols, but it is quite capable of one hole groups at 10 meters. Ask me how I know.
      Things I would have changed:Really have to dig to find a negative. Might be nice to have the option of switching out front sights, but we do quite well with the HW 75, as is.
      What others should know:You won't be satisfied with anything less after using this pistol. Buy it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2014-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:There's little not to like about this air pistol. Very accurate, wonderful trigger, good sights, easy to load and cock, beautiful fit and finish. It's large but well balanced. Looks heavier than it actually is but has enough heft to make it feel like a real target pistol. I agree with Neil's review below favorably comparing the HW 75 to the S&W Model 41, a gem of a .22. A quality casual target/plinker you can shoot in your garage or backyard. Perfect!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing really. The stippling on the grip looks like it might be a bit of a dirt magnet but a soft, nylon brush cleans it up.
      What others should know:On my journey to relieving my addiction to expensive CO2 and finding a fun, accurate target shooter, I had a love/hate relationship with the Beeman P17 (actually three of them). After realizing I enjoy shooting airguns more than fixing them I decided to bite the pellet and go for quality, the HW 75. Well worth every dollar.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tim from USA on 2014-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The pistol is almost perfect. It is easy to cock and load and has a very nice trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:If you like single pump guns to plink with great accuracy, buy one. The fit and finish of the gun are exceptional.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2013-10-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Grips and trigger are really fine. Very good easy accuracy to about 20 yards. Nice pump stroke with a good solid feel. Exposed hammer and barrel release are solid and satisfying to operate. Impressive appearance.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe the breech could be a touch looser, although it is pretty easy to load with 4.48 head size pellets.
      What others should know:I bought the HW75 to give to my buddy for his 50th birthday... he's a guy who really appreciates the finer things in life. As a young man he had a Webley spring pistol that he really liked... and I wanted to give him a non-target pistol that would be better, be a lot easier to shoot accurately, and be of obvious high quality and attractiveness. The HW75 is refined, accurate, and fit the bill. My bud was stoked! He's been plinking from his home office window, now all the black walnuts in his yard have .177 pellets and holes in them.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Greg from USA on 2012-09-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the most ultimate and accurate air gun that I've ever bought! I fought my self for months as to not buy this thing because of the cost. I finally caved in and bought it, Just to be able to say that it wasn't what it was claimed to be? It is all what everyone said it was, plus! This air gun is the most accurate gun that i've ever taken out of a box! I've bought dozens of air guns recently and not one can come close to the HW 75 even with adjustments and sights. It's expensive and some what lower powered, But if you like shooting targets, it's a perfect great gun! I'm generally a horrible shot but with the HW 75 because of how well it's built, I almost look like a marksman with this thing! I can shoot quarter size patterns all day long at 30 feet. I have the Ruger .177 and I can't even hit the paper 8 by 11 inches at that distance because of the heavy trigger pull, It's like pulling a bowling ball!. The HW 75 is super crisp and one stage. It's a beautiful trigger and when you pull it you fire. And nooo play. So you need to get used to it. Just a great gun! Well, well worth the bucks! It's not for hunting but a great target gun. Also it's a pretty big size gun. It fit's perfect in my hand but may be more than some can handle? Not because of cocking effort, or power but because of just size. The quality of workmanship and the precision of the HW make the price!
      Things I would have changed:This gun is absolutely perfect in its current form for what it does! But in my dream world I would like to see white dot sights, or fiber optics. Obviously more power and a .22 version.
      What others should know:As careful as you are, it will eventually draw blood! Lol . Pinch points will find you! Always be alert when cocking this thing. Cocking effort is not so heavy once you learn how. Its actually easy to cock. This is a big size gun to handle. Not powerful, but just a big size gun. Also be warned that once you realize how accurate this gun can shoot you'll want to tape smaller and smaller things to your target area to boost your ego when you nail it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William R from USA on 2012-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First class quality,fit and finish as expected by Weihrauch. Extreme accuracy and an awesome sighting system along with zero recoil allows this wonderful air pistol to compete with fine 10 meter pistols with no problem at all. The HW 75 is fairly quite, I would put it solidly in the lower medium loudness catagory.This pistols weight distribution is as close to perfect as I could hope for.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing !
      What others should know:This is a very large air pistol. I am a very large man with XXXL hands. I did have to do some work to the lower portion of the grip to allow some additional relief for my hand to fit properly. The grip on my pistol is a very attractive peice of wood to begin with. After much finish sanding and three light coats of Minwax Lacquer it is just beautiful and a perfect fit. I believe this is the finest example of a quality air pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2012-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Excellent workmanship! Quality of material unsurpassed. Accuracy that will astound you. Great for indoor, or outdoor shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
      What others should know:When you go to cock the gun, grasp the upper receiver by the rear sight, push in on the latch to the left side of the hammer and lift up. I was a little confused on that and expected a spring push up so I was bearing down on it. Also, for those that have shot the spring piston where you must pushed forward with some effort, you do not do that with this gun. The pressure is needed when you push the piston back down to latch it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2012-04-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Walnut grips; fit my medium size hands well and are quality wood. Trigger pull is perfect. Not too much effort to cock. Can leave cocked without worry about damaging gun; although for saftey reasons I would not do it for extended periods. Accuracy is superb. Smooth, flawless action. Quality metal and components. Great for indoor shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Takes a little getting use to as far as loading pellet in barrel.
      What others should know:Need better instructions. I thought that when you released the thumb catch to cock the gun that it would spring up. I learned you need to pull up as you push the latch in. For those of you who have shot some spring pistols you need very little force as you bring the barrel forward so don't muscle it. It is when you return the barrel back to latch it that you need some effort. Keep those fingers and loose clothing out of the way as you close it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jon from USA on 2011-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun looks very good in person. The sights are great. The trigger is very nice and light. Cocking the hammer for dry fire is a great plus when practicing form. 10 yard 10 shot accuracy rested was pretty good. Rws superdome was 5/8" ctc, crosman premier wadcutter 1". Both groups opened to about 1.25" non rested firing standing. Single shot with 0.75" targets very repeatable. Noise is not very loud, great for basement sessions. Pleasure to use and own!
      Things I would have changed: Fit is slightly loose. The wood grips frequently make clicking noise when holding the gun in position to fire. Generally, this occurs when your thumb rests near the safty. I'll have to check the manual later to see of there is a way to tighten the grip to the gun...
      What others should know:The darker texture of the bottom half of the grip seen in the pictures is the rich wood of the grip made porous. At first, the porous texture is odd, but you get used to it. The cocking effort it harder than I thought it would be, but this is because the profile of being a pistol grants the user only a small surface to act as alever to cock the pistol. I rest the pistol grip flat bottom on a table during cockingand this helps tremendously. At 470$, this gun is an absolute joy. It isnt powerful, but it is an amazing indoor 10 yard target weapon. Read my ratings as 4.5 stars.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By AirgunEnthusiast from USA on 2011-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Impeccable accuracy. This pistol is almost more accurate than a lot of rifles I've shot! I was amazed that with minimal effort, I was hitting bull's eyes or near that. Other noteworthy attributes would be: beautiful looks, perfect ergonomics, first-rate German metalwork and assembly quality.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing! Seriously. This gun is perfect. People asking for more power forget that this gun was invented to be a target pistol, not a hunting one. There exist other options for this purpose, if that is what you're looking for.
      What others should know:Be sure to use the lightest lead pellets possible; preferably 7.0 gr. or less, as heavier ones will decrease range significantly. Although this gun costs twice that of an HW 40, it is four times better for all the above reasons. It is worth every penny. There is a reason why this gun has nothing but perfect 5 reviews and is sold out at the time of this posting. BUY IT!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tom from USA on 2011-03-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Exceptional accuracy and a great trigger. I mounted a Bushnell Red dot with the 3 moa dot and plink empty 22 rimfire cases from across my basement. If I miss, it is not the gun or scope combo, it is me. Excellent winter fun indoors.
      What others should know:If you like pistol shooting, you won't be disappointed. Keep in mind, it is low power, but extremely accurate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-12-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy is incredible! I bought this pistol based on the reviews and after doing some research. My purpose was two fold. First, living in the Puget Sound area we get a lot of rainy weather in the fall through the spring, so I needed something I could shoot indoors with low velocity and not a lot of noise. The second, was to improve my technique with fireams. The non-existent recoil and the relatively low velocity will easily help you identify flaws in your technique with any caliber of handgun. I also like the dry fire feature by just cocking the hammer and squeezing the trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Some shooters may like to have a fiber optic option for the sights.
      What others should know:This is not a pistol to use for vermin shooting. It does not have the velocity for that purpose.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2010-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.754 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Exceptional trigger, quiet report, as accurate as my match pistol without the size and heft, virtually no recoil, quality build throughout, easily mounts dot sights on 11 mm rails great for poor eye sight, fits my size 10 hand perfectly. The grips are beautiful with thumb rest and excellent stippling. Has a positive safety which can be turned on and off when loaded.
      Things I would have changed:I wish it had a bit more power, but I'm sure the added speed would come at the expense of size, weight and handling.
      What others should know:You get used to loading sequence which is not described well in manual. The rws match pistol pellets shoot very accurately for my pistol. If you have ever enjoyed a standard 22lr pistol this is what you want.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Neil from USA on 2010-05-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.8000001907348635 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this air pistol as a trainer for my S&W Model 41 rimfire I use for Bullseye. It's about as close as I could find and possibly more accurate. I can easily shoot dime size groups resting on a hard surface at 10 meters and no doubt will do better after I find the right pellets. There is no detectable recoil and it's very quiet. I was concerned about the power but It has more power than my CO2 Colt 1911 by Umerax. In fact it has enough power to knock over my Gamo Squirrel target while my Colt does not. I shot at the bottom of an empty tuna can at 50 ft and it put a large dent but would not penetrate. It has enough power to comfortably shoot bullseye target at 50ft which is all the power I need. It's also great for plinking tin cans and metallic silhouette. It's not a hunting pistol however. The workmanship is top quality. It's also lighter than I expected. The trigger is about as good as they get. Better than my rimfire target pistol.
      Things I would have changed:The rail is a bit large for mounting red dots. I did manage to mount an 11mm red dot but I had to back out the screws a ways. The grip is not as comfortable as it looks. I would like to remove some metal from the grip under the trigger or make the grip wider to cover it up. The grip is too short for my hand. Perhaps a longer grip would solve this problem. I might make a custom grip for it.
      What others should know:This air pistol will make all your other air pistols obsolete. It's very addicting and hard to put down.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2010-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.754 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A quality made air pistol. I have fired approximately 3000 rounds and it does not appear to have lost any power. I have heard it described as a "nail driver." I do not agree with that fully. If there is one thing I would suggest needs improvement or change it would be.......
      Things I would have changed:........about 100 feet per second additional power. However, I still give it 5 stars for overall rating.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.6666698455810553 ratings
       
      Things I liked:beautiful,simply beautiful.this piece is very,very accurate.to handle this is like heaven
      Things I would have changed:why are such magnificent pistols so very underpowered?
      What others should know:buy this pistol,you won`t regret a thing
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Batman from USA on 2007-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.6666698455810553 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This piece is Sweet ! Awesome quality, very accurate and easy to cock. Very, very well made. Its like some .22 rimfire pistols I have owned.
      Things I would have changed:Just a little more power...A little pricy but well worth it.
      What others should know:I have owned a HW40. The HW 75 is head and shoulders above the HW 40.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joel from USA on 2007-09-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great trigger, good power for a target gun, especially a pneumy
      Things I would have changed:Kind of heavy, but balances well
      What others should know:This is a pneumatic, not a springer, so there is no "recoil" and very little action felt when firing. Very accurate, it's a tack-driver. The "Beeman P2" was THIS gun, just rebranded by Beeman. IMHO, the ones Beeman got were the ones that didn't pass HW's quality control, because Beeman-branded products are always problematic. If you can afford it ($450 is a LOT of green), then treat yourself, this is one of a kind.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Don from USA on 2007-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.3333301544189453 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is one of my favorite air pistols. it is super accurate, super good looking, and worth every penny that I paid for it.
      Things I would have changed:I would not change a thing.
      What others should know:You ought to get one soon as I fear it might go the way of the P2.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top