Date: 23/5/2017 7:8
0

Winchester MP4 CO2 Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Charles M from USA on 2014-01-25 12:35:52

Things I liked: This Daisy Winchester MP4 is an amazing air rifle. It has a good balanced weight, not too heavy or too light. The receiver and other critical parts are metal. The parts that are plastic are a very durable kind of polymer composite. I added a Leapers foregrip and 4x32 scope to mine. I have also used a Center Point Multi-TAC dot sight with this rifle, but I prefer the Leapers 4x32 scope. This rifle shoots very well. The accessory magazines work just as well as the one supplied with the rifle. The accuracy is very good with some pellets, but not so good with others. Whether using the dot sight or the scope, I got my most accurate results using JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight, RWS Hobby, and H&N Finale Match Pistol wadcutters. Crosman, Umarex (Walther), and Swiss Arms CO2 cylinders all work well in this rifle. Although the Operation Manual (page 6 second paragraph) says up to 160 shots can be expected, I was consistently getting no more than 120 shots per pair of CO2 cylinders.

Things I would have changed: Just like another reviewer, my barrel was not tightly screwed into the receiver when I received the rifle. I would advise Daisy to improve their quality control inspections as the assembly plant. Fortunately this problem was easily fixed by removing the barrel shroud and hand tightening the barrel in the receiver.

What others should know: My shooting tests were performed indoors from a bench rested position at 10 meters distance to target using both the dot sight and the scope. The following list of pellets used displays the smallest grouping achieved with that pellet in the parentheses. JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight (1"), RWS Hobby (1 1/4"), H&N Finale Match Pistol (1 1/4"), RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle (1 1/2"), H&N Sport (1 1/2"), RWS Supermag (1 1/2"), H&N Baracuda (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Super Match (1 1/2"), H&N Match Pistol (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Super Point (1 1/2"), RWS R10 Match (1 3/4"), H&N Field Target Trophy (2"), RWS Superdome (2"), RWS Super Point (2"), JSB Exact Diabolo (2 3/8"), RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol (2 3/4"), and H&N Spitzkugel (2 5/8"). Daisy Customer Service advised me that this MP4 should produce groupings at least as small as 1 1/2" at 10 meters. I did several hundred shots over the last month, and regardless of grouping size, all of these pellets shot well without jamming.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By sstevens33 from USA on 2014-07-05 12:26:19

Things I liked: it looks cool

Things I would have changed: redisign the mag/Co2 well so the gun will actually fire without jamming/misfiring

What others should know: I've owned this gun for 6 months now...let's face it, this is the worst piece of crap on the market...it looks cool but the design is flawed and daisy refuses to address the issue...this gun WILL jam or misfire no matter what ammo you use, even bb's...because the mag just doesn't line up with the barrel properly...this gun is a wall hanger only...BUYER BEWARE

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2017-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It is a great gun my son loves using it actually looks forward to using it thank you

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2017-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Gun seems well-built. A lot of metal parts and the plastic ones are solid not cheap.The scope is decent. Its fun to shoot and fairly accurate.Different pellets do make a difference.

    Things I would have changed: No real issues. Make sure you slap the co2 clip into the gun for a good fit.However insert the mag gently making sure it clicks.It must click.If necessary pull it out and try again.Be gentle.Do not try to rapid fire the gun.For best results allow a few seconds between trigger pulls.The plastic little tool they give you to tighten the CO2 cartridge into the clip is cheap. You may use a 3/8 inch Allen wrench instead. It's the same size and far more durable since it's made of steel .I broke one but it was my mistake. I tried to tighten the cartridge too much and used a wrench.You do not have to tighten them that much. Just hand tight.Also when loading pellets into the mag make sure they are snug and not sticking out either end.Once you get used to the idiosyncrasies of the gun it's very enjoyable shooting.You CAN remove the co2 clip after shooting even if they still have co2 left.When the cartridges are practically empty you will notice the pellets dropping all over the place.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Art from USA on 2017-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got this gun today and it has exceeded my expectations. Either Daisy has finally solved all the problems previously reported or I just got lucky, but it has performed flawlessly. I was shooting at 10 meters from a bench rest with a Leapers Bug Buster scope using Beeman Hollow Point Coated Pellets. I made a small tool to seat the pellets to the point where the pellet skirt contacts the ridges in the rotary magazine. I used ONLY ONE 12 gram CO2 cartridge ( yes, the gun will work with only one installed) and got 65 accurate shots and 10 that shot a little low. The 65 easily grouped within 3/4 inch with many going thru the same 1/2 inch hole. The amazing thing was that even those last 10 shots still grouped at 3/4 inch, just a little low. No jams and only one misfire when I pulled the trigger slightly but did not complete the shot. I checked the barrel and it was tight from the factory.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is a little high but linear and breaks at the same place every time.

    What others should know: I did not rapid fire and I was shooting indoors which certainly helped getting so many shots from one cartridge. Crosman 12g from Walmart at about $.50 each.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ed from USA on 2016-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks great, nice feel, 16 shot mag, metal upper, I just tossed a tennis ball out in the back yard and tested it using the sights that came with it. I was able to hit is at a good 40 yards no problem. This is a fun plinker!

    Things I would have changed: The butt stock is very loose and just feels cheap. If you advertise 700 FPS you should be within + or - 100 FPS not 300 less than stated. maybe valve it better. would be nice if accessories were listed with the gun.

    What others should know: Uses a lot of CO2 40 shots per 2 12 gram cartridges. I wouldn't want to try and shoot rats with this just not sure it has the power.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JAMES from USA on 2016-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: LIGHT, FAST, AND ACCURATE. BUY IT WITH THE SCOPE COMBO AND PAY THE EXTRA $20.00 TO HAVE IT ZEROED IN, IT SAVES A LOT OF TIME. ONLY TOOK A FEW MINUTES TO FINE TUNE IT TO MY MYOPIC EYES.

    Things I would have changed: NO PROBLEMS SO FAR.

    What others should know: I LOVE IT! VERY ACCURATE WITH THE SCOPE. LOTS OF ROOM FOR ACCERSORIES. LOVE THE 16 ROUND MAGAZINES AND THE GAS PIERCING TECHNOLOGY. HAVE A BALL EVERYTIME I GO OUTSIDE TO MY BACKYARD RANGE.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Laird from USA on 2016-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Good weight and balance, seems to perform well, can easily fit M4/M16 accessories like REAL iron sights/scopes/tactical lights/front grips - one of the first things I did is install a M4 carry handle/rear sight and an adustable front sight and a front grip/bipod...

    Things I would have changed: The cheesy sights (the sights on the Crosman MK4 even with the sleazy plastic tool that breaks if you use it to adjust the rear sight are more functional), the clips - as others have noted, a clip with a continous-loop belt rather than two little 8 round rotary clips would be an improvement and doesn't seem to difficult to make backward compatible...), maybe a .22 version (one can dream...)

    What others should know: Occasinable reports of loose barrels (remove 4 screws to take off the shroud and screw the barrel firmly into the reciever) and jamming/misfires (usually a faulty CO2 magazine that is replaceable under warranty, though cold weather or chilling from rapid shooting can reduce CO2 pressure before the cartridges are depleted) notwithstanding, yhis seems to be a reliable and fun airgun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jim from USA on 2016-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like my new MP4, shoots very well, easy to use

    Things I would have changed: Like to see more rnds in magazine rather than 16, redesign the magazine

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By charles from USA on 2016-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the stock is too short when extended.

    Things I would have changed: red dot sight will not fit on rail.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By joseph from USA on 2016-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Metal receiver. Multiple rail mounts. Co2 puncture unit and magazine well developed. Barrel is nice length and rifled. Accuracy was better than to be expected. A lot more powerful then reported in other reviews. The Magazines actually did not fail. Proper lubrication and operation and the magazines operated perfectly. Powerful and accurate. Most people will blame the weapon however. With proper breath control and Trigger control I was able to put bbs through the same hole.

    Things I would have changed: I would add a recoil suppression system in the stock. The gun kicks heavier then to be expected. The stock sighting system works however a 4 power scope would be better suited for this gun. Adjustable trigger pull. The trigger is spongey and requires a full digit wrap to work well. However extremely accurate. With barrel rise the gun still put in a good inch group.

    What others should know: Lubricate the magazine a drop per tube and it will decrease the chance of jamming. It is heavier then it looks. It has more power per trigger pull then the average weapon. In retrospect compared to the other m4 airguns this is definitely in the top groupings.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: love the look and feel of this gun. not to heavy and not to light. pop up sights are great. looking to add a fore grip then it should b top notch. I personally never give 5stars to anything unless it honestly meets those expectations and this gun does just that. 5stars to Winchester! great price too!$$$

    Things I would have changed: add a fore grip for a few more bucks$. it'd be worth every cent!

    What others should know: make sure to have plenty of 12g co2 on hand!

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    1.0 1.0

    By John from USA on 2016-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good value, had the things I wanted (CO2, multiple shot, scope mount) and works OK.

    Things I would have changed: Needs adjustable sights, which were off a country mile (way left and low requiring substantial correction) but should be OK with sighted-in scope. I didn't expect a high degree of accuracy in an inexpensive rifle.

    What others should know: If buying a scope, you need Weaver rings for this one, not the 11mm.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By MERLE from USA on 2016-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks, feel of weight, perfect fit, shooting accuracy, duel pellet cartridge(holder), and power from double CO2 cartridges.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I couldn't find any flaws in my rifle. I like everything about it. Use a drop of Pellgun Oil everytime you change your CO2 cartridges.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2016-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great gun, quite accurate having some trouble adjusting the sights but i have adjusted my shooting to them.

    Things I would have changed: So far the sights are my only complaint

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jesse from USA on 2016-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this for my nephew and he loves it. The controls are very similar to a real AR-15 so I felt like this would be a good stepping stone for my nephew.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the stock and grip had the same design as a real AR-15. My nephew really wanted to personalize his rifle but was somewhat disappointed when he found out he had to stick with the original parts.

    What others should know: Overall this is a great gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bob from USA on 2016-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well built has a very good to feel to it

    Things I would have changed: none

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-03-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: LOVE THIS GUN! I went back and forth about buying this because I'm really not a fan of the 8x8 rotary stick configuration but I'm truly glad I got over that. This gun is a BLAST!! It's weighted like an actual M16A4, and is easily modifiable. It's a great gun and you'll love it!

    Things I would have changed: I had to buy a new stock just to get a rear sling swivel. It would be great if that was available as an option on guns like this. Also, there is PUH-LENTY of room in the mag to convert it to a spring fed internal BB feed vs the 8x8 rotary mag set up.

    What others should know: BUY THIS! It's accurate right out of hte box and lends itself to precision shooting with little modification. Truly one of the best pieces in my collection.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2016-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks, weight, clip//mag system, adjustable butt, sights, rail for weaver accessories, trigger pull, ACCURACY, hard & straight hitting, decent co2 usage, 20-25yr range for my use.

    Things I would have changed: Lower price to $100 even, include two mags.

    What others should know: Probably one of the best co2 repeater rifles offered. Nothing negative to report and highly recommend the purchase. Exceeds my every expectation. . .

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.343 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Sharp looking, great weight, strong construction, accessory rails, made in Japan for Daisy, positive CO2 method, good clip, easy loading.

    Things I would have changed: I can't get comfortable holding this rifle. It's just not for me. I'm giving an objective evaluation as best I can. It's a nice gun, but holding and shooting it comfortably is something too important to gloss over. I can't suggest how to change it; I don't know what would make it better for me.

    What others should know: It's a very cool looking rifle. I'm not a fantasy shooter and I wish the gun was more comfortable for me to hold. You might find the same thing. Look at the pictures, look at the stock position relative to the sights. A scope with high rings might work to make it better. It is accurate, and it is nice to have a dependable firing system. This one does. Round nose and wadcutters are the best pellet shapes for this gun and the M-14 which uses the same clips. Four clips are the right amount, 64 rounds, and then the CO2 needs to be swapped out. I have several other rifles I prefer over this one. The primary reason I rate it four stars instead of five is my personal idiosyncracies of shooting, however, not this gun. This gun and the M-14 which I really like, are nice rifles.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks great. Shoots great. Accurate. Feels good in your hands. Price is fair for what you are getting. Made in Japan. They have this one figured out.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: This is the cousin to the Winchester M-14, and I love them both. The clips are interchangeable which is really nice. Five clips, using both sides, and it's time to change the CO2. You can stretch it more if you adjust your sights higher. This gun is super accurate. We are using Simmons 4X32 scopes, cheapos, and they work fine. The gun is hefty and looks real. VERY real. My friend has a .22LR and from five feet away, you can't tell the difference. Even the weight is close. 'Made in Japan' generally seems to work for me. We haven't had any jams AT ALL using Falcons, Wadcutters, and round nose pellets. NOT ONE. We seat the pellets every time. Super accurate shooting. If you think I like this gun, you 've got that right.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carl from USA on 2016-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks real and fun to shoot. Charging handle feels real and feels like you are bolting a M4 or M16 type rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I like it the way it is.

  • 123 Next
Navigation