Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Winchester MP4 CO2 Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Charles M from USA on 2014-01-25 13:35:52

    Things I liked:This Daisy Winchester MP4 is an amazing air rifle. It has a good balanced weight, not too heavy or too light. The receiver and other critical parts are metal. The parts that are plastic are a very durable kind of polymer composite. I added a Leapers foregrip and 4x32 scope to mine. I have also used a Center Point Multi-TAC dot sight with this rifle, but I prefer the Leapers 4x32 scope. This rifle shoots very well. The accessory magazines work just as well as the one supplied with the rifle. The accuracy is very good with some pellets, but not so good with others. Whether using the dot sight or the scope, I got my most accurate results using JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight, RWS Hobby, and H&N Finale Match Pistol wadcutters. Crosman, Umarex (Walther), and Swiss Arms CO2 cylinders all work well in this rifle. Although the Operation Manual (page 6 second paragraph) says up to 160 shots can be expected, I was consistently getting no more than 120 shots per pair of CO2 cylinders.
    Things I would have changed:Just like another reviewer, my barrel was not tightly screwed into the receiver when I received the rifle. I would advise Daisy to improve their quality control inspections as the assembly plant. Fortunately this problem was easily fixed by removing the barrel shroud and hand tightening the barrel in the receiver.
    What others should know:My shooting tests were performed indoors from a bench rested position at 10 meters distance to target using both the dot sight and the scope. The following list of pellets used displays the smallest grouping achieved with that pellet in the parentheses. JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight (1"), RWS Hobby (1 1/4"), H&N Finale Match Pistol (1 1/4"), RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle (1 1/2"), H&N Sport (1 1/2"), RWS Supermag (1 1/2"), H&N Baracuda (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Super Match (1 1/2"), H&N Match Pistol (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Super Point (1 1/2"), RWS R10 Match (1 3/4"), H&N Field Target Trophy (2"), RWS Superdome (2"), RWS Super Point (2"), JSB Exact Diabolo (2 3/8"), RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol (2 3/4"), and H&N Spitzkugel (2 5/8"). Daisy Customer Service advised me that this MP4 should produce groupings at least as small as 1 1/2" at 10 meters. I did several hundred shots over the last month, and regardless of grouping size, all of these pellets shot well without jamming.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Sean from USA on 2014-11-09 16:02:10

    Things I liked:This air rifle looks and feels great.
    Things I would have changed:I can't get two shots off without a jam or a misfire. I have tried many different pellets, I have tried BBs even the BBs misfire. I got a replacement CO2 magazine from the manufacturer and the problem still persists.
    What others should know:Mine was a lemon. Apparently some were fine, but mine is completely unusable. I am very disappointed and hesitant to buy any more air guns.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Sean from USA on 2014-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This air rifle looks and feels great.
      Things I would have changed:I can't get two shots off without a jam or a misfire. I have tried many different pellets, I have tried BBs even the BBs misfire. I got a replacement CO2 magazine from the manufacturer and the problem still persists.
      What others should know:Mine was a lemon. Apparently some were fine, but mine is completely unusable. I am very disappointed and hesitant to buy any more air guns.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By HiveSeeker from USA on 2014-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a very fun-to-shoot and highly realistic AR15 replica. Construction is solid, with a full metal receiver and heavy composite plastic. It does have a couple issues, which can be resolved. If the barrel is loose, remove the 6 screws holding the quad Picatinny rail in place and tighten the barrel. If you are having ammunition feed problems or jams, try shooting more slowly (3-4 seconds between shots) to allow the CO2 cylinders to recover. If that does not resolve the problem, order a replacement CO2 Clip (Puncture Unit, Part #79) from Daisy Customer Service. The main issue appears to be that some CO2 Clips do no align correctly in the receiver, or the Ammunition Magazines do not align correctly within the CO2 Clip. Accuracy was 1" or better at 10 yards with nearly all pellets I tried, with the Beeman Hollowpoint Coated grouping under 1/2". Air Arms Falcon, RWS Hobby, Crosman Premier Super Match, H&N Match Pistol (NOT Finale), and Crosman Competition Wadcutter grouped under 3/4".
      Things I would have changed:Obviously, the ammunition feed problem. If a replacement CO2 Clip (Puncture Unit) does not resolve the issue, then it is time for a new gun. Accuracy could be better, but this is a super fun, semi-auto plinker within 10 yards. The Beeman Hollowpoint Coated extends the practical range for a 1" target out to about 20 yards.
      What others should know:The barrel has a break-in period of about 500 shots; my groups became a bit tighter after that. Search the Pyramyd Air Blog for an in-depth evaluation of this rifle. A detailed video review can be found on YouTube.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Sidney from USA on 2014-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great plinking toy. Had the gun for 6 weeks now. Put about 2500 shots thru it without much problem. I bought 100 count Crosman CO2 cartridge and get about 40 decent power shots before the accuracy drops very noticeably, hitting low. In total I try to shot a total of 96 rounds before changing the Co2. 3 clips refill once. I added scope, new offset sights, bi-pod and fore-grip. It is fun to shot the first 3 clips.
      Things I would have changed:Clips that holds more rounds and more shots per Co2 cartridge refill.
      What others should know:Accuracy is so so.... I suspect all Co2 powered guns are like this.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By sstevens33 from USA on 2014-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:it looks cool
      Things I would have changed:redisign the mag/Co2 well so the gun will actually fire without jamming/misfiring
      What others should know:I've owned this gun for 6 months now...let's face it, this is the worst piece of crap on the market...it looks cool but the design is flawed and daisy refuses to address the issue...this gun WILL jam or misfire no matter what ammo you use, even bb's...because the mag just doesn't line up with the barrel properly...this gun is a wall hanger only...BUYER BEWARE
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Eric from USA on 2014-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun feels good in your hands. The overall use and workings are nice.
      Things I would have changed:I don't know if I have a bad magazine or what? I need to order another one I guess? I haven't shot a full mag threw it yet do to it constantly jamming! I have tried all different pellets and high grade BBs steel and lead and yet constant jamming!
      What others should know:I would order extra mags with this gun! Im going to order a few right now!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ronald from USA on 2014-05-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:overall appearance. weight&accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:terrible sights
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By tim from USA on 2014-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fun to use and doesn't seem to cheap great for plinking... must buy scope
      Things I would have changed:The hard sights are very inacurate
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By CM Donn from USA on 2014-04-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the size and weight, it is pretty well balanced.
      Things I would have changed:I would like the barrel to be metal. Better seal between C02 click and body, since it uses 2 12g cyclinders I got about 80 full rounds before a change out. The peep sites were not accurate at all, pretty poorly made plastic.
      What others should know:Over you get a nice plinker for the price and if you add a scope or real metal sites you are in!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Noel from USA on 2014-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this rifle. I have been waiting for a rifle like this in this platform (AR15)for a long time. I was not sure what to expect when I ordered because I have the M14 from the same manufacturer and was expecting more of the same (too much plastic). When I open it I was immediately in love with it. The weight is just right, the loading is very realistic, the trigger is a little to heavy but ok. I recommend this for every air gun collector, plinkers, and kids from 10 to 99. Not the most accurate gun I have but very exiting to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:The sights are very bad, they could have done better. I replaced them immediately and improved accuracy and the looks of the gun. The clip should be a belt clip and not rotary.
      What others should know:In a warm day I got 96 shots out of the two CO2 cartridges.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles M from USA on 2014-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This Daisy Winchester MP4 is an amazing air rifle. It has a good balanced weight, not too heavy or too light. The receiver and other critical parts are metal. The parts that are plastic are a very durable kind of polymer composite. I added a Leapers foregrip and 4x32 scope to mine. I have also used a Center Point Multi-TAC dot sight with this rifle, but I prefer the Leapers 4x32 scope. This rifle shoots very well. The accessory magazines work just as well as the one supplied with the rifle. The accuracy is very good with some pellets, but not so good with others. Whether using the dot sight or the scope, I got my most accurate results using JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight, RWS Hobby, and H&N Finale Match Pistol wadcutters. Crosman, Umarex (Walther), and Swiss Arms CO2 cylinders all work well in this rifle. Although the Operation Manual (page 6 second paragraph) says up to 160 shots can be expected, I was consistently getting no more than 120 shots per pair of CO2 cylinders.
      Things I would have changed:Just like another reviewer, my barrel was not tightly screwed into the receiver when I received the rifle. I would advise Daisy to improve their quality control inspections as the assembly plant. Fortunately this problem was easily fixed by removing the barrel shroud and hand tightening the barrel in the receiver.
      What others should know:My shooting tests were performed indoors from a bench rested position at 10 meters distance to target using both the dot sight and the scope. The following list of pellets used displays the smallest grouping achieved with that pellet in the parentheses. JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight (1"), RWS Hobby (1 1/4"), H&N Finale Match Pistol (1 1/4"), RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle (1 1/2"), H&N Sport (1 1/2"), RWS Supermag (1 1/2"), H&N Baracuda (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Super Match (1 1/2"), H&N Match Pistol (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Super Point (1 1/2"), RWS R10 Match (1 3/4"), H&N Field Target Trophy (2"), RWS Superdome (2"), RWS Super Point (2"), JSB Exact Diabolo (2 3/8"), RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol (2 3/4"), and H&N Spitzkugel (2 5/8"). Daisy Customer Service advised me that this MP4 should produce groupings at least as small as 1 1/2" at 10 meters. I did several hundred shots over the last month, and regardless of grouping size, all of these pellets shot well without jamming.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jose from USA on 2014-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The shape, weight and length. Safe gun to have when you got little kids!! The magazine contains both propellant and projectile!!
      Things I would have changed:The feet per second advertise in the box!! Is way to slower tan what it says!! The power!! That it would shot BBs like the CO2 pistol J941...
      What others should know:This gun is good for plinking mostly. It lacks the 700 feet per second advertise on the box, it is a 450 to 475 feet per second CO2 rifle, unless mine was defective but i have seen other reviews where they got about 478 FPS, i do not recomend this CO2 gun for hunting, with the gamo PBA it was about 546 FPS on a very hot day!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sstevens33 from USA on 2014-01-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:good wieght, substantial but not heavy...it's accurate...charging handle functions...best M4/M16 style airgun to date
      Things I would have changed:poor mag design...the stock sights are very poor...trigger could use improvement
      What others should know:this is my second attempt to review this gun...PA rejected the 1st one because they said I didn't buy it from them, but I did...PA isn't what it used to be, most of the guns I have purchased from PA in the last couple of years have arrived with cosmetic defects...you are better off buying in person from a local shop where you can inspect your purchase before you buy
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Frank from USA on 2014-01-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Looks Cool
      Things I would have changed:Consistent Quality
      What others should know:Boy I don’t know what to say, maybe I just got a lemon but I expected more from Daisy and a made in Japan product. This takes my collection to 29 air guns of all different types and it is about the worse I have for accuracy. I checked to make sure the barrel was tight, cleaned the barrel, warmed the Co2's and got an average of a pitiful 480 fps though my Chrony with 7.8 grain Gamo Tomahawks. I then fitted it with a tried and true 4X20 mil dot scope that has worked great on at least three other guns and could not get a smaller than 3 inch group at 30 feet shooting from a rest. The crown on the barrel looks uneven so I’ll go over the gun since sending it back Fed Ex is out of my way and from other reviews the gun must have potential, but what I got out of the box, I just wish there was an option for negative stars in this review.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Stuart from USA on 2014-01-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:solid feel and very accurate
      Things I would have changed:make a PCP version
      What others should know:shoots great
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Allen from USA on 2014-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:All metal upper and lower receiver, SOLID build and construction. lots of rails to hang whatever you want off of. great power, and accuracy. tastefully branded (no paragraph of warnings in white sticking out). awesome weight, you can tell it will hold up to abuse well. functional charging handle, (i HATE molded non functional parts),and AR type safety (very satisfying "click" when engaged)Good on Co2 and still providing great power)
      Things I would have changed:A functional dust cover and visible blowback bolt(with functional bolt catch) would have put this rifle over the top for me, i would have gladly paid another 50-100$ for such a feature. the mag release is correct but only has one moving part. the button spans the whole magwell, connecting it to the left side would have been easy. then it could function exactly like an AR (again i hate molded non functional parts). A metal rail system would be cool too, but the abs plastic on the gun seems very sturdy and durable. A metal buffer tube would be nice too. A magazine like the Cx-4 storm (30 round belt fed)would be awesome and doesnt seem the rifle would need to be redesigned at all, just the mag (attn aftermarket mag makers, we need this to be made!!!) that all being said, its only cosmetic stuff. this is a great rifle!
      What others should know:I have fully customized mine with MAGPUL CTS/MOE AR parts. The grip IS NOT standard size (its about 1/4 inch deeper, and 1/8 inch wider) but 2 hours patiently grinding with a dremel tool, and i got her to fit perfectly. All other parts (cts stock, Afg, Troy folding sights) fit no problem.this rifle is a tack driver! VERY accurate! ive waited a long time for an AR training rifle that has the same weight, and fires a powerful enough projectile thru a rifled barrel... this rifle fits the bill perfectly! you will not be disappointed!!!!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By DLP from USA on 2014-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great concept. Fit and finish are extremely good.
      Things I would have changed:Metal magazine for pellets. I am having jam and feed issues and this is my second one. First one did the same.
      What others should know:While this is a noble effort, I had to return my first one for some of the same issues as I am having with my new one (fail to feed, pellets jamming and fail to fire). I may be forced to just use bb's for ammo and I bought this rifle because it is a pellet rifle! I am a little disappointed in mine, while I still commend Winchester for the effort. I will keep working with it. We'll see how it performs over the next couple of weeks.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight and feel of this rifle are very nice. It doesn't feel like a cheap toy. It is very well made, and nicely finished. A quality piece made in Japan. Much, better quality feel to it than the Umarex Steel Force. Lots of metal. I was going to buy the m14 when it came out but was put off with the cheap plastic looking stock. This is much better alternative IMO. Gave it a quick shakedown, and it promises to be a nice shooter. Waiting on warmer weather to try different pellets to see what works best though.
      Things I would have changed:There isn't much to complain about, if you can even call it that. It would have been nice if they included a second magazine. The spring loaded pop up sights are kind of cheap looking, but they work fine. They are easy to remove, which I did in favor of a small scope.
      What others should know:Lets face it, this gun is screaming for a bunch of tacticool stuff to be stuck to it. There are plenty of rails to mount lights, lasers, scopes, bi-pods, etc. Standard AR recoil pad fits the collapsible stock perfectly. The grip appears to be replaceable as well, but I haven't tried yet. Got one on the way and will update when I check it out. If you want an AR style CO2 pellet shooter, the MP4 hits the mark! You won't regret it. I'm thinking of getting a second one to put away. This is destined to be a classic.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rich from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice length for a military style air rifle. Very accurate at 100 ft. Grouped 8 inside 1/2 inch. Magazine is interesting, looks like a Pistol revolving mag. Plenty of tactical rail for attachments. Trigger pull is easy.
      Things I would have changed:Dual CO2 is nice, but the key system is ridiculous. Someone at Winchester/Umarex needs to devise a better system. The Winchester M14 (which has the same chassis as the MP4) has a slot for the key inside the magazine.
      What others should know:Don't lose the key! Flip down sights need work.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Peter from USA on 2014-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Ample railings for customizing. Solid feel and good detail. This design provided a great platform to build your own specialized weapon's system.
      Things I would have changed:I would add a spare magazine compartment in the shoulder stock.
      What others should know:Due to the long top rail, there may be a need for 3/4 inch riser to mount some scopes.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Art from USA on 2014-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great concept for a rifle.
      Things I would have changed:At this time the MP 4 is only a BB rifle, Winchester needs to design a separate magazine for the pellets. ALL TYPES OF PELLETS ARE JAMMING.
      What others should know:Small problem, but needs to be addressed before this rifle loses all its popularity.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top