Date: 12/2/2016 8:34

Winchester MP4 CO2 Rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Charles M from USA on 2014-01-25 13:35:52

Things I liked: This Daisy Winchester MP4 is an amazing air rifle. It has a good balanced weight, not too heavy or too light. The receiver and other critical parts are metal. The parts that are plastic are a very durable kind of polymer composite. I added a Leapers foregrip and 4x32 scope to mine. I have also used a Center Point Multi-TAC dot sight with this rifle, but I prefer the Leapers 4x32 scope. This rifle shoots very well. The accessory magazines work just as well as the one supplied with the rifle. The accuracy is very good with some pellets, but not so good with others. Whether using the dot sight or the scope, I got my most accurate results using JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight, RWS Hobby, and H&N Finale Match Pistol wadcutters. Crosman, Umarex (Walther), and Swiss Arms CO2 cylinders all work well in this rifle. Although the Operation Manual (page 6 second paragraph) says up to 160 shots can be expected, I was consistently getting no more than 120 shots per pair of CO2 cylinders.

Things I would have changed: Just like another reviewer, my barrel was not tightly screwed into the receiver when I received the rifle. I would advise Daisy to improve their quality control inspections as the assembly plant. Fortunately this problem was easily fixed by removing the barrel shroud and hand tightening the barrel in the receiver.

What others should know: My shooting tests were performed indoors from a bench rested position at 10 meters distance to target using both the dot sight and the scope. The following list of pellets used displays the smallest grouping achieved with that pellet in the parentheses. JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight (1"), RWS Hobby (1 1/4"), H&N Finale Match Pistol (1 1/4"), RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle (1 1/2"), H&N Sport (1 1/2"), RWS Supermag (1 1/2"), H&N Baracuda (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Super Match (1 1/2"), H&N Match Pistol (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Super Point (1 1/2"), RWS R10 Match (1 3/4"), H&N Field Target Trophy (2"), RWS Superdome (2"), RWS Super Point (2"), JSB Exact Diabolo (2 3/8"), RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol (2 3/4"), and H&N Spitzkugel (2 5/8"). Daisy Customer Service advised me that this MP4 should produce groupings at least as small as 1 1/2" at 10 meters. I did several hundred shots over the last month, and regardless of grouping size, all of these pellets shot well without jamming.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By sstevens33 from USA on 2014-07-05 13:26:19

Things I liked: it looks cool

Things I would have changed: redisign the mag/Co2 well so the gun will actually fire without jamming/misfiring

What others should know: I've owned this gun for 6 months now...let's face it, this is the worst piece of crap on the market...it looks cool but the design is flawed and daisy refuses to address the issue...this gun WILL jam or misfire no matter what ammo you use, even bb's...because the mag just doesn't line up with the barrel properly...this gun is a wall hanger only...BUYER BEWARE

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Sharp looking, great weight, strong construction, accessory rails, made in Japan for Daisy, positive CO2 method, good clip, easy loading.

    Things I would have changed: I can't get comfortable holding this rifle. It's just not for me. I'm giving an objective evaluation as best I can. It's a nice gun, but holding and shooting it comfortably is something too important to gloss over. I can't suggest how to change it; I don't know what would make it better for me.

    What others should know: It's a very cool looking rifle. I'm not a fantasy shooter and I wish the gun was more comfortable for me to hold. You might find the same thing. Look at the pictures, look at the stock position relative to the sights. A scope with high rings might work to make it better. It is accurate, and it is nice to have a dependable firing system. This one does. Round nose and wadcutters are the best pellet shapes for this gun and the M-14 which uses the same clips. Four clips are the right amount, 64 rounds, and then the CO2 needs to be swapped out. I have several other rifles I prefer over this one. The primary reason I rate it four stars instead of five is my personal idiosyncracies of shooting, however, not this gun. This gun and the M-14 which I really like, are nice rifles.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks great. Shoots great. Accurate. Feels good in your hands. Price is fair for what you are getting. Made in Japan. They have this one figured out.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: This is the cousin to the Winchester M-14, and I love them both. The clips are interchangeable which is really nice. Five clips, using both sides, and it's time to change the CO2. You can stretch it more if you adjust your sights higher. This gun is super accurate. We are using Simmons 4X32 scopes, cheapos, and they work fine. The gun is hefty and looks real. VERY real. My friend has a .22LR and from five feet away, you can't tell the difference. Even the weight is close. 'Made in Japan' generally seems to work for me. We haven't had any jams AT ALL using Falcons, Wadcutters, and round nose pellets. NOT ONE. We seat the pellets every time. Super accurate shooting. If you think I like this gun, you 've got that right.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carl from USA on 2016-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks real and fun to shoot. Charging handle feels real and feels like you are bolting a M4 or M16 type rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I like it the way it is.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Kira from USA on 2015-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this gun! A great practice rifle-realistic look and weight. Fun to shoot and so far Im getting about 1.5- 2.5 inch groupings standing about 25 ft. from target. My boyfriend has been getting 1 inch groupings. So for a air rifle I would say its pretty accurate. Oh and you look so cool while handling this!

    Things I would have changed: The weather ;) CO2 guns like temperatures above 50 best...

    What others should know: Gun will "missfire" in cold weather, if you rapid fire too much and/or when the CO2 gets low. Try different pellets-some work better than others. I like Gamo Match and Hunter 7.56 gr. This replica looks so good and is fun fun fun!!! Do yourself a favor and get lots of co2, pellets, and BBs and have fun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hook from USA on 2015-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: After reading other reviews I was a little nervous about getting this, but I am really quite pleased with it. The weight and feel are very nice, build quality is good, just an overall fun shooter. Efficiency seems pretty good, and with decent power and a bit of "feedback" to the shot. Unsupported offhand at 20' and I'm getting a single ragged hole group without trying very hard. Really looing foreward to pushing the distance out farther when I have more time with it.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe include a second rotary mag, but nothing more than that.

    What others should know: Seems to me that some are expecting more than what a rifle with a $160 price tag can offer. I have only had 3 jams thus far and they were all operator error. If you partially pull the trigger, follow it through until the shot breaks. If you "short stroke" or partially pull the trigger and then release it this will almost certainly cause a jam. Minor still, just drop the mag and poke out the pellet that will be partiallly pressed out of the rotary mag. Also pay attention to the short pellets only warning. I use RWS diabolo basics and this thing loves them. Buy a lot of CO2 and pellets, a couple of extra rotary mags, and have some fun. Oh, it is VERY easy to spend more in accessories by a large margin than the rifle even cost-this thing has about a mile of picatinny rail.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quite realistic. All options for the real M4 fit well except the pistol grip. Works well and at over 200 shots I have had no working problems. It is fun to shoot. And it has plenty of power.

    Things I would have changed: I don't think I would change anything. Maybe adjustable open sights but, I bought after market sights. They look cooler.

    What others should know: I have just sent the MP4 back to Daisey. I was getting at best 2.5" groups at 20'. Pyramid recommended I talk to Daisy and Daisy issues a shipping label to have it returned. It should be 1.5" groups at 33' at worst they said. Both Daisy and Pyramid were so easy to deal with. I was taken care of in about 10 minutes. All you out there must understand, most of these guns have been shipped 1/2 way around the world before you get them, you are going to get a bad one once in a while. It's how they make it good that counts. I will update my review after I get my gun back.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddie from USA on 2015-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Just like the other reviewers stated, this rifle is too much fun to put down. Fires as fast as you can pull the trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Sometimes it will misfire as others have stated but if all you're doing is plinking or target shooting, just clear and continue the fun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tommi from Finland on 2015-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: i like the power and accuracy and the possibilities to add all laser/flashlight, hand grip etc.

    Things I would have changed: Well the magazine should be bigger.

    What others should know: Um. The barrer screws are bit loose so i suggest to tighten them to make it a bit more balanced.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great gun no jams pretty accurate at 12yrds with 4.0 grain pellets! It shoots what they say 700 ish fps!!! Great for accessories i put a tactical bi pod and a gamo varmit hunter scope on it with light and laser.... sniper look!!

    Things I would have changed: nothing nice weight and feel

    What others should know: buy it check barrel before use to see if it needs tightining i did and it was fine

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2015-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Heft and feel, solidl Rifled barrel and pellet clip. Added a scope, bidpod, butt recoil pad, foregrip and a lazer. Plenty accurate for me out to 30 yards. No feed problems or loose barrel issues. Fine gun very pleased with it.

    Things I would have changed: Can't thinks of thing, love it the way it is.

    What others should know: Get extra mags, this is just too much fun to shoot!

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Sean from USA on 2014-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This air rifle looks and feels great.

    Things I would have changed: I can't get two shots off without a jam or a misfire. I have tried many different pellets, I have tried BBs even the BBs misfire. I got a replacement CO2 magazine from the manufacturer and the problem still persists.

    What others should know: Mine was a lemon. Apparently some were fine, but mine is completely unusable. I am very disappointed and hesitant to buy any more air guns.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By HiveSeeker from USA on 2014-10-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.264 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very fun-to-shoot and highly realistic AR15 replica. Construction is solid, with a full metal receiver and heavy composite plastic. It does have a couple issues, which can be resolved. If the barrel is loose, remove the 6 screws holding the quad Picatinny rail in place and tighten the barrel. If you are having ammunition feed problems or jams, try shooting more slowly (3-4 seconds between shots) to allow the CO2 cylinders to recover. If that does not resolve the problem, order a replacement CO2 Clip (Puncture Unit, Part #79) from Daisy Customer Service. The main issue appears to be that some CO2 Clips do no align correctly in the receiver, or the Ammunition Magazines do not align correctly within the CO2 Clip. Accuracy was 1" or better at 10 yards with nearly all pellets I tried, with the Beeman Hollowpoint Coated grouping under 1/2". Air Arms Falcon, RWS Hobby, Crosman Premier Super Match, H&N Match Pistol (NOT Finale), and Crosman Competition Wadcutter grouped under 3/4".

    Things I would have changed: Obviously, the ammunition feed problem. If a replacement CO2 Clip (Puncture Unit) does not resolve the issue, then it is time for a new gun. Accuracy could be better, but this is a super fun, semi-auto plinker within 10 yards. The Beeman Hollowpoint Coated extends the practical range for a 1" target out to about 20 yards.

    What others should know: The barrel has a break-in period of about 500 shots; my groups became a bit tighter after that. Search the Pyramyd Air Blog for an in-depth evaluation of this rifle. A detailed video review can be found on YouTube.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Sidney from USA on 2014-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great plinking toy. Had the gun for 6 weeks now. Put about 2500 shots thru it without much problem. I bought 100 count Crosman CO2 cartridge and get about 40 decent power shots before the accuracy drops very noticeably, hitting low. In total I try to shot a total of 96 rounds before changing the Co2. 3 clips refill once. I added scope, new offset sights, bi-pod and fore-grip. It is fun to shot the first 3 clips.

    Things I would have changed: Clips that holds more rounds and more shots per Co2 cartridge refill.

    What others should know: Accuracy is so so.... I suspect all Co2 powered guns are like this.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By sstevens33 from USA on 2014-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: it looks cool

    Things I would have changed: redisign the mag/Co2 well so the gun will actually fire without jamming/misfiring

    What others should know: I've owned this gun for 6 months now...let's face it, this is the worst piece of crap on the market...it looks cool but the design is flawed and daisy refuses to address the issue...this gun WILL jam or misfire no matter what ammo you use, even bb's...because the mag just doesn't line up with the barrel properly...this gun is a wall hanger only...BUYER BEWARE

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Eric from USA on 2014-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun feels good in your hands. The overall use and workings are nice.

    Things I would have changed: I don't know if I have a bad magazine or what? I need to order another one I guess? I haven't shot a full mag threw it yet do to it constantly jamming! I have tried all different pellets and high grade BBs steel and lead and yet constant jamming!

    What others should know: I would order extra mags with this gun! Im going to order a few right now!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ronald from USA on 2014-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: overall appearance. weight&accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: terrible sights

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By tim from USA on 2014-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fun to use and doesn't seem to cheap great for plinking... must buy scope

    Things I would have changed: The hard sights are very inacurate

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By CM Donn from USA on 2014-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the size and weight, it is pretty well balanced.

    Things I would have changed: I would like the barrel to be metal. Better seal between C02 click and body, since it uses 2 12g cyclinders I got about 80 full rounds before a change out. The peep sites were not accurate at all, pretty poorly made plastic.

    What others should know: Over you get a nice plinker for the price and if you add a scope or real metal sites you are in!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Noel from USA on 2014-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this rifle. I have been waiting for a rifle like this in this platform (AR15)for a long time. I was not sure what to expect when I ordered because I have the M14 from the same manufacturer and was expecting more of the same (too much plastic). When I open it I was immediately in love with it. The weight is just right, the loading is very realistic, the trigger is a little to heavy but ok. I recommend this for every air gun collector, plinkers, and kids from 10 to 99. Not the most accurate gun I have but very exiting to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The sights are very bad, they could have done better. I replaced them immediately and improved accuracy and the looks of the gun. The clip should be a belt clip and not rotary.

    What others should know: In a warm day I got 96 shots out of the two CO2 cartridges.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles M from USA on 2014-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This Daisy Winchester MP4 is an amazing air rifle. It has a good balanced weight, not too heavy or too light. The receiver and other critical parts are metal. The parts that are plastic are a very durable kind of polymer composite. I added a Leapers foregrip and 4x32 scope to mine. I have also used a Center Point Multi-TAC dot sight with this rifle, but I prefer the Leapers 4x32 scope. This rifle shoots very well. The accessory magazines work just as well as the one supplied with the rifle. The accuracy is very good with some pellets, but not so good with others. Whether using the dot sight or the scope, I got my most accurate results using JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight, RWS Hobby, and H&N Finale Match Pistol wadcutters. Crosman, Umarex (Walther), and Swiss Arms CO2 cylinders all work well in this rifle. Although the Operation Manual (page 6 second paragraph) says up to 160 shots can be expected, I was consistently getting no more than 120 shots per pair of CO2 cylinders.

    Things I would have changed: Just like another reviewer, my barrel was not tightly screwed into the receiver when I received the rifle. I would advise Daisy to improve their quality control inspections as the assembly plant. Fortunately this problem was easily fixed by removing the barrel shroud and hand tightening the barrel in the receiver.

    What others should know: My shooting tests were performed indoors from a bench rested position at 10 meters distance to target using both the dot sight and the scope. The following list of pellets used displays the smallest grouping achieved with that pellet in the parentheses. JSB Match Diabolo Light Weight (1"), RWS Hobby (1 1/4"), H&N Finale Match Pistol (1 1/4"), RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle (1 1/2"), H&N Sport (1 1/2"), RWS Supermag (1 1/2"), H&N Baracuda (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Super Match (1 1/2"), H&N Match Pistol (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum (1 1/2"), Crosman Premier Super Point (1 1/2"), RWS R10 Match (1 3/4"), H&N Field Target Trophy (2"), RWS Superdome (2"), RWS Super Point (2"), JSB Exact Diabolo (2 3/8"), RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol (2 3/4"), and H&N Spitzkugel (2 5/8"). Daisy Customer Service advised me that this MP4 should produce groupings at least as small as 1 1/2" at 10 meters. I did several hundred shots over the last month, and regardless of grouping size, all of these pellets shot well without jamming.

  • 12 Next
Navigation