Date: 17/12/2018 3:50
0

UTG 4-16x40 AO. SCP-U4164AOIEN. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (17 reviews)
3 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Glen from USA on 2017-04-07 15:20:06

Things I liked: This was my first AO variable power scope but I've used several on friend's guns. I really feel this provide great value. I shoot a Hatsan 95 Vortex and these guns are known to to hard on scopes. In fact, my gun, while zeroing the scope, damaged it's seal and the shot cycle was so violent it turned on the IR system without me even touching the button. Twice. Now you'd think that kind of violent action would toast a scope. Nope. I've had it for about 2 years now and it works flawlessly. Clear glass, great eye relief for me and I wear high prescription glasses, progressive lenses, when I shoot. Most scopes don't give me much opportunity to get a sight picture. Not a problem with this scope at all. The IR works great but I've not really had a need to use it. I also have my scope mounted in a one piece mount.

Things I would have changed: Now that I've had this scope and used it as much as I have, I know my next/future scopes will be side focus. It's so much easier and more convenient. But it costs more too. I wish it was a tad smaller and lighter but for the durability and relative low cost, I'm fine with it.

What others should know: The UTG True Strength scopes work well for me. I know that there's going to be one here or there that fail, but over all I feel great confidence in the line. Enough so that I have a couple on my wish list here for future purchase, and review.

The most helpful critical review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Chris from USA on 2017-06-15 11:27:47

Things I liked: Clear scope all the way to 16 power.

Things I would have changed: Originally had this scope on a Hatsan 95 then put it on my Benjamin Discovery PCP. I don't think it should be rated for a springer.

What others should know: Purchased 1 of these, it went bad (Losing zero) after about 500 shots. It would scatter pellets at 20 yards. Sent it back, PA replaced it with the same scope but a new one. Just sent that one back as well. Scope is good at first and you can put pellets into the same hole and then it will start to move. This happened after about 200 pellets. Get it re-sighted and after I would pump up my Disco, the scope was off again. Re-zero and it is good for a while then off again. Maybe they had a bad lot of scopes? I would not purchase one of these scopes. I replaced this with a more expensive Hawke scope that I have not received yet.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Delbert from USA on 2018-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Clear, lots of mil dots, easy illumination adjustments

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jacob from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a great scope for the money. I paired this scope with my Umarex Gauntlet. They came in a combo. The scope is clear and has a paralax setting that actually helps you to find the yardage on your target when you are using the higher powers. The illumination is nice.

    Things I would have changed: One thing that I don't like is that the illumination is visible around the edges as you look through the scope. I like to look through an illuminated scope and not see the source of the illumination source. It is really not that significant however.

    What others should know: I think that for the price this scope is sweet, pairs well with air rifles.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2018-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This scope was recommended by Pyramyd for the RWS 54. The scope works very well and like the mil dots when compensating for wind. I didn't install the battery for the EZ-TAP because I don't really need it for the type of shooting I do. Focus works very well thru out the different distances. I get a good crisp sight picture.

    Things I would have changed: Would like to see finer/thinner lines in the reticle.

    What others should know: I've tried several different scopes and the Leapers is the only one that has held zero. A heavy scope so I'm sure it's beefed up internally to handle the recoil of the 54. Wish I had started with this scope would have saved a lot of head scratching.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2018-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: price

    Things I would have changed: more field of view

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dan from USA on 2018-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This thing is the cats meow. Love it, got it with a bundle deal whenever I bought my Gaunlet have only used it out to about 35 yards. Came with rubber dust covers.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really the thing does what its supposed to

    What others should know: Easy to see mill dots. Illuminated cross hairs.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerome from USA on 2018-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Dead on after 4 months and 4,000 pellets through my Umarex Gauntlet PCP. Impressive results at 20 and 40 yards. I have not gone further. Clear and easy to use.

    Things I would have changed: Removable hood is useless if you are changing distances. Not sure what would replace it.

    What others should know: This is a PCP rifle with virtually no recoil. However, I have a 30mm of this scope on my Benjamin Mayhem which is a scope killer. It has been on that gun the same amount of time and is still on target. I cannot say it is perfect there because the gun itself has had issues, as has the owner ;) However, that has the same amount of pellets through it, or close to it. I love the challenge of the magnum springer but the accuracy of the PCP. Both are dolefully in use with these scopes. I anticipate the one on the Gauntlet to outlast the springer by many times.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2018-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the colors in reticle, can change for light conditions. Great value planning on getting another for centerfire rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, seem great on my umarex gauntlet. Wish it had 1/8" click adjustments for use on my savage 243 win. rifle.

    What others should know: Be sure to check turret locks

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randy from USA on 2018-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Every thing

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Make sure you buy ring so you can attach rifle with gun

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marc from USA on 2018-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: quality quality quality utg leapers great.

    Things I would have changed: none

    What others should know: 1 in high rise rings should come with

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mel from USA on 2018-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: got this scope in a package from pa it is great thank you pa

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

    What others should know: if you are just starting in air gunning take a good look at packaged guns

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: So far everything I've run accross with this scope is meeting all my needs. I've only had a short while and I've mounted it on the Walther Terrus that it came with as well as my Diana AM03 .22 cal. It's very adaptable and has no problem with the higher power and recoil of the Diana.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far

    What others should know: Very good quality on an entry level optic. All aspects of the scope work great.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stuart from USA on 2018-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the magnification of the scope and the resetting the zero feature . I had never considered a UTG scope before but this was offered in the bundle package with my air rifle and the price was right.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sonny from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great scope

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Still holding zero

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Chris from USA on 2017-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.54 ratings

    Things I liked: Clear scope all the way to 16 power.

    Things I would have changed: Originally had this scope on a Hatsan 95 then put it on my Benjamin Discovery PCP. I don't think it should be rated for a springer.

    What others should know: Purchased 1 of these, it went bad (Losing zero) after about 500 shots. It would scatter pellets at 20 yards. Sent it back, PA replaced it with the same scope but a new one. Just sent that one back as well. Scope is good at first and you can put pellets into the same hole and then it will start to move. This happened after about 200 pellets. Get it re-sighted and after I would pump up my Disco, the scope was off again. Re-zero and it is good for a while then off again. Maybe they had a bad lot of scopes? I would not purchase one of these scopes. I replaced this with a more expensive Hawke scope that I have not received yet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Glen from USA on 2017-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.54 ratings

    Things I liked: This was my first AO variable power scope but I've used several on friend's guns. I really feel this provide great value. I shoot a Hatsan 95 Vortex and these guns are known to to hard on scopes. In fact, my gun, while zeroing the scope, damaged it's seal and the shot cycle was so violent it turned on the IR system without me even touching the button. Twice. Now you'd think that kind of violent action would toast a scope. Nope. I've had it for about 2 years now and it works flawlessly. Clear glass, great eye relief for me and I wear high prescription glasses, progressive lenses, when I shoot. Most scopes don't give me much opportunity to get a sight picture. Not a problem with this scope at all. The IR works great but I've not really had a need to use it. I also have my scope mounted in a one piece mount.

    Things I would have changed: Now that I've had this scope and used it as much as I have, I know my next/future scopes will be side focus. It's so much easier and more convenient. But it costs more too. I wish it was a tad smaller and lighter but for the durability and relative low cost, I'm fine with it.

    What others should know: The UTG True Strength scopes work well for me. I know that there's going to be one here or there that fail, but over all I feel great confidence in the line. Enough so that I have a couple on my wish list here for future purchase, and review.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2017-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.343 ratings

    Things I liked: i love the adjustable zoom feature makes for a clear sight for us blind folks.

    Things I would have changed: The lens caps are a pain and sometimes get in the way. I am looking for another set that can be easily removed and put back on.

    What others should know: Havent had it that long so we will see how it holds up. I have it mounted on the Walther Terrus .22. It is easy to sight in.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2017-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Quality scope, quality product. Optics are clear. Adjustments are clearly marked firm.

    Things I would have changed: With all this being said this scope did not last when mounted on a Hatsan Edge .25 cal break barrel. The scope will not stay sighted in and has now become a $99 paper wait. This scope was bought because it was supposed to be a "Break barrel" scope with "True Strength Scope" technology. Very big let down that scopes being marketed for break barrel air rifles do not hold up.

    What others should know: Don't know if its the manufactures of the scopes or Pyramyd Air but when you market or sell something marketed for a specific class of product "Air Gun, Break Barrel" or you recommend this item do more research or quality checking. Not everyone can drop down any amount of money on a product that is going to fail. Pyramyd Air you are a resource and a go to point for everything that is air gun. Don't deceive or sell to your customers false clam products.

Navigation