Date: 10/12/2018 22:36
0

Ataman AP16 Regulated. AP16BCM. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

3.5 (7 reviews)
4 star3 star2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Richard from USA on 2017-12-27 15:01:49

Things I liked: Size, consistency shot to shot, natural pistol feel....not some 18 inch or longer "PISTOL" 12 inches on compact!!! I did finally get to shoot the AP16 for some accuracy and WOW I was shocked and amazed as was my Stepson who shot it as well for verification. I started very simple at 25 yards (just a honest heads up...I'm not so good with a pistol.....no two ways around it), but at 25 yards off hand with a cheap little reflex site I was NAILING the bulls eye EVERY TIME!!! At that I was amazed. So I moved back to 30 and SAME THING. So at that point I figured I'd move back to my 43 yard setup and guess what.......SAME THING still. I'm not exaggerating, this thing is AMAZINGLY accurate. My next shots were at 51 yards ( note this was a windy day here in Cincinnati, not light wind, but with some heavy gusts). At 51 yards I maintained no more than 2" groups....at which I am simply at a loss for words. My next shots, which were at 76 yards, were hitting the black in the target every time. NICE!

Things I would have changed: Perhaps more power.....but that is just my preference. For the system it IS, it's awesome.

What others should know: Yes it is a little high priced, but this thing is SOLID all the way around. You also have the ability to put on the Standard Barrel for more shots and power. I have the standard barrel as well but have not tested it as of yet.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Mario from USA on 2018-12-05 11:00:55

Things I liked: I Love the look and feel. Very accurate.

Things I would have changed: The price and air cylinders.

What others should know: This is my second pistol that I have to return. I always have air cylinder problems. This one leaked right out the box. Now it won't take any air at all. I am totally disappointed and done the Ataman products.

Sort by:
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mario from USA on 2018-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I Love the look and feel. Very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The price and air cylinders.

    What others should know: This is my second pistol that I have to return. I always have air cylinder problems. This one leaked right out the box. Now it won't take any air at all. I am totally disappointed and done the Ataman products.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By josh from USA on 2018-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight and balance of the gun is great, most pcps are front heavy but somehow this one doesn't feel like that at all. I've fired it quite a lot without any failures and the sidelever is easy to operate. It's also decently powerful for it's size and accurate and I can get about three mags before I have to refill the gun.

    Things I would have changed: About the only thing I would change is an included plug for the fill port, hopefully it's not a problem but it is open and exposed to debris.

    What others should know: As for the finish mine is flawless, the only thing is the safety oxidized after a while so I need to polish it every once in a while.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2018-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Numero Uno: size. No other pcp pistol i have seen is a true pistol size, this one is and i love it. Secondly the AP16 is .22 caliber with the power to sling it, and the AP16 delivers. .177 is a capable round, but physics and mass are your friend when hunting, a larger pellet is always going to be better (cue the infamous "which pellet size and caliber is best debate right?"). Thirdly, accuracy. The AP16 delivers that lead post haste downrange right where you want it, this gun will out shoot you. The trigger is perfect for a marksman pistol. Additional: I was hesitant at first about the magazine, but i love it now. Simple, robust and it is so easy/quick to load. Its simple design also allows you to empty it and still load it into the gun and close the bolt for storage. Haven't found a pellet it wont hold yet (pile drivers, H&N rabbit magnums, JSB jumbo monsters) Speaking of pellets, i haven't found any it doesn't like.

    Things I would have changed: Grips, while i like the stock wood ones fine enough, i bought a molded set from Hogue. Iron Sights, for the money you're dropping on this gun i feel a windage and elevation click adjustable rear sight is in order, but the stock iron sights are simple, robust, effective and look great. Probably a moot point as i put the BSA 2x20 pistol scope on it anyways. I really do like shooting this gun with open sights (painted the front sight yellow with a thing black stripe in the center, tiger eye), but the accuracy merits an optic. After 500+ rounds the regulator went a little funky, would act like it was out of air at 200 bar (can shoot down to 100 bar, about 21 shots for me). Warranty service was great: fast, good communication, paid for return shipping. They serviced the regulator and lubed it all up and its rockin again. i've seen complaints about the finish, i think it look awesome, not all guns should be polished shiny, it has its own look.

    What others should know: i have learned *cough -learning- when it comes to air guns there is, "what you Want, what you Can Get, and what you Will Carry / Use. The Ap16 compact is one i was wanted and fortunate to be able to get (i was saving for an FX Indy or Warcat, but when i found this I diverted funds), but more importantly it is one i Will carry. Its small and easy to holster on the hip while out hiking the trial, if i come across a grouse i don't what to be digging in a bag for my gun, and i don't want a rifle bumping around on my shoulder in a sling. Noise, its not bad. Its quiet enough i don't really need ear protection when target shooting, but it is loud enough i have a moderator on the way for when i do want to be hush hush for the second shot opportunity hunting, or just to be nice and quiet when plinking. Safety, it works opposite to most of my other safeties, but i like it now. Right handed shooter, trigger finger at ready, cycle the safety off with my thumb high on the grip. Smooth natural.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roger on 2018-07-22
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Gun is beautifully machined and made.

    Things I would have changed: Received two different generation guns and both are mechanical lemons. First one leaked air. Second one the bolt would lock up and when it cycled, the rotary mag would spin randomly past an unused pelket or sometimes two or even three. Absolutely frustrating because the gun is beautiful and accurate.

    What others should know: Horribly designed gun mechanically with various unrelated malfunctions over two different manufacturing batches. Never again, Ataman. I'm done and you should be, too.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2017-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Size, consistency shot to shot, natural pistol feel....not some 18 inch or longer "PISTOL" 12 inches on compact!!! I did finally get to shoot the AP16 for some accuracy and WOW I was shocked and amazed as was my Stepson who shot it as well for verification. I started very simple at 25 yards (just a honest heads up...I'm not so good with a pistol.....no two ways around it), but at 25 yards off hand with a cheap little reflex site I was NAILING the bulls eye EVERY TIME!!! At that I was amazed. So I moved back to 30 and SAME THING. So at that point I figured I'd move back to my 43 yard setup and guess what.......SAME THING still. I'm not exaggerating, this thing is AMAZINGLY accurate. My next shots were at 51 yards ( note this was a windy day here in Cincinnati, not light wind, but with some heavy gusts). At 51 yards I maintained no more than 2" groups....at which I am simply at a loss for words. My next shots, which were at 76 yards, were hitting the black in the target every time. NICE!

    Things I would have changed: Perhaps more power.....but that is just my preference. For the system it IS, it's awesome.

    What others should know: Yes it is a little high priced, but this thing is SOLID all the way around. You also have the ability to put on the Standard Barrel for more shots and power. I have the standard barrel as well but have not tested it as of yet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2017-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.343 ratings

    Things I liked: I own one of the AP 16's standard.I have it tuned to 658 fps av. w/18.13 gr. JSB's for 28 shots W/ 17.43 FPE. You can tune this pistol to where you like it.As for your pitting complaint it looks to be done that way on purpose for looks.It's laser accurate.This pistol is awesome.You can't trust some reviews because they are made buy people that don't know what they're talking about. Usually very inexperienced people in the sport.I have a friend that has his at 665 FPS.

    Things I would have changed: The clips could be better.Some don't cycle right sometimes.Make a single shot tray.

    What others should know: This can be tune low power for lots of shots for plinking or high power for hunting.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2017-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Good weight and nice balance. Simple rotary clip that is easy to load and the left side cocking action provide great ergonomics. Shot power/velocity is as advertised.

    Things I would have changed: Black anodized finish on aluminum body of the gun is POOR. At $1000, I'd expect a nice finish similar to my other FX and Weirach guns. The finish had a speckled pitting across the body...something I would consider unacceptable in a $200 bb gun.

    What others should know: The gun gets the shot count as advertised. I have an Omega tank, so the refills were not an issue...would be a lot of work with a hand pump. Also, I attempt to RMA this gun for a replacement with PyramidAir - they approved the RMA and without explanation shipped me back the defectice pistol...still working through this with them.

Navigation