Date: 16/7/2019 15:25
0

Beeman R9 Air. BN-1039U. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (61 reviews)
1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Derek from USA on 2015-08-27 15:39:11

Things I liked: Basically everything. Nearly MOA accuracy right out of the box. The Rekord trigger has basically no side-to-side play, and breaks very consistently. The pull weight before adjustment is about 2.5 lbs and very crisp. The stock fit and finish is excellent, with crisp checkering and a nice figure to the grain for not being walnut. The buttpad is well-fitted and the metal finish is superb, as is the bluing. The dovetail offers 3 scope-stop divots for maximum adjustability. The rifle feels very light, short, and well-balanced. I was concerned that the carbine-type length and weight would affect accuracy. I was wrong, this rifle is a tack-driver. There is very little recoil when firing, though it does have a little spring twang. I also prefer a break-barrel to an underlever. I own several of both, and I quickly tire of the cocking and loading procedure of an underlever. They are just not as user-friendly or fast to operate.

Things I would have changed: If I were very picky about airguns (and I am), I would say that the little bit of spring twang is unwelcome. It isn't severe like a Gamo steel springer, but it is present. My gas ram guns all sound smoother when firing. I don't feel much vibration coming from the gun when I fire it though, and the accuracy does not seem affected by the slight spring twang. I'm sure it will settle down more once broken in, and it is not considerable enough to warrant a tune until the gun actually needs new parts. I'm going to be shooting this gun A LOT.

What others should know: When I first picked this R9 up, I thought to myself, "This looks very nice, but in my hands it feels pretty light and similar to many of my other cheaper airguns". So, I yanked the scope off of my Gamo CF-X underlever nitro piston rifle and placed it on the R9. I set my rimfire trap out at 25 yards and fired a crosman premier hollow point at it from a rest. It hit a dead-perfect pinwheel on the bullseye without even touching the adjustments. A good-luck sign if I've ever seen one. I then proceeded to shoot 5 more pellets into basically the same hole. My group for 6 shots measured 0.21" from center to center. I was able to repeat roughly this same accuracy for most of the groups I shot at this distance. At 55 yards, with a gusting 5-10 mph side wind, I was able to put 10 shots into roughly 3/4" with several shots touching. I couldn't be more pleased with this rifle. It is light and easy to handle. If you are a hunter or target shooter (or both) this gun will get the job done.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jonathan from USA on 2015-10-24 23:00:39

Things I liked: The metalwork is very robust. The trigger is smooth and breaks predictably. Great accuracy. Nice weight balance. After a tune kit installation, the shot cycle is brief and pleasant.

Things I would have changed: Fit and finish should be better at this price. Mine came with several minor cosmetic imperfections: small nicks and scratches on the barrel, a nick on the stock, a thin spot in the bluing on the barrel, uneven rubber covering the end of the stock. I needed to shim the stock away from the action as a pin on the cocking arm was shaving a little wood away with each cocking stroke. A casual observer probably wouldn't notice these imperfections. However, as an owner, it's hard not to be a little disappointed that the manufacturer didn't put forth a little more effort while putting together such a well designed rifle.

What others should know: Popular reviews on the internet suggest this gun has a smooth shot cycle out of the box, so I was surprised by the amount of spring twang I felt and heard when shooting the gun. I was able to clean the twang up with an aftermarket tune kit. It shoots brilliantly now. If you don't want a twangy rifle, factor the cost of a tune kit with your purchase. If you want an accurate, easy to shoot gun that will last, this may be the gun for you. If you want all that and pristine finish quality you may want to look at something else.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chuck from USA on 2019-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks like a brand new rifle. Better than expected. Shoots as accurately as my hw98. Both are are supremely accurate.

    Things I would have changed: No a thing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2019-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful rifle. Metal and wood are extremely well finished. I am happy that Air Venturi is having the rifles built with the Beeman logo. Ive always wanted a Beeman. Right out of the box the rifle shot very well. No dieseling. It shot in very fast. No strange noises or twang. My rifle does seem to prefer medium weight pellets and the heavier pellets. RWS Supermag , H&N Baracuda Match 4.50 , Baracuda FT 4.51 , and JSB Exact Heavy.

    Things I would have changed: Have the option of iron sights or the smooth breech with a muzzle weight.

    What others should know: Using Baracuda FT with the Hawke 3x9x40 Airmax, I can hit a 1 inch target at 60 yards most of the time. The R9 is accurate enough to make even me look good. Definitely a serious rifle for an air rifle enthusiast.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2019-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice air rifle. Nice checkering.

    Things I would have changed: Have screw plugs to fill Stew and dowell hole when removing open sights.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By GREG from USA on 2019-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality of build, nice woodwork on the stock, smooth action, very little felt recoil, accuracy - although I needed to readjust the sights after 400 rounds. Seems perfect now.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I dislike about this gun is the fact you have to disengage the safety for every shot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2018-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great quality at this price range. 1/4" groups at 20 yds. with H&N Barracuda Hunter Extreme pellets. Good trigger out of the box, great with some tweaking. Very quiet with subsonic pellets without any suppression (legal in NJ where I live with $#@#% gun laws) making it perfect for backyard safaris. I was looking for a small game air rifle at a married with kids affordability and I found it. It's an awesome value.

    Things I would have changed: The safety cannot be re-engaged once it has been switched off.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alfred from USA on 2018-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Beeman R9 is an excellent break barrel air rifle. I purchsed the .20 (5mm) caliber because it is my favorite caliber for air rifles. The 5 mm caliber has a flatter trajectory than the .22 and is more efficient than either the .177 or the .22. Its too bad the 5mm caliber is being pushed out of the market. I still have my old 1971 Sheridan Silver Streak 5mm pump-up air rifle and it still brings down the bushytails. I have shot about 600 pellets thru the R9 so far and I find it to be very accurate and a pleasure to shoot. I did make some changes, I replaced the rear barrel mount sight with a Williams receiver mount peep sight and it is much better for my 78 year old eyes. The one thing I do not like is the front globe sight. I am used to an open blade front sight and looking thru a hole to find my target is a distraction. I will probably change it to a blade if I can find a way to do it. I have a small 1 x 6 – 24 scope that I use occasionally but most of the time I like good iron sights. I am very pleased with my purchase and I shoot air rifles almost every day

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By valente from USA on 2018-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Smooth cocking, accurate and light. I love how she shoulders and the ease of shooting her. This is my 4th R9 I own .177-(2) .20 .22 this one of my favorite guns to grab and go. So simple and easy to Shoot accurately.

    Things I would have changed: Make a Carbine version

    What others should know: Get one in each caliber.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alan from USA on 2018-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very good company to deal with, Beeman are the best air rifles own 3 of them

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: First I hope the mods would welcome a concise review/rating on the history of an older model. I have an 2008 model with no sights. RWS break front and scope rails.. I am VERY interested in seeing holding and if possible shooting one of today's. Even when I got mine the reviews I've read here are right on the little 10 bull single multi-shot hole :) First and foremost, the trigger is fantastic! Set the break and the 1st stage travel and shoot all day comfortably knowing its not the gun the majority if 1 out of a dozen outings isnt so good. The spring vibration is very manageable and getting out what the gun does is the training in shooting and the pellets. You have a rifle that will NOT let you down! So feel good about the investment ! Ive never gone wrong with paying more and getting sooo much better and the R9 is one of those! Pencil eraser tips from 65 feet! Once you command your springer. I wish all those who purchase the R9 enjoy it as much as me.

    Things I would have changed: Perhaps a vibration dampeners. They exist but I haven't seen one in some time and they were ugly non functional power stereeing front wheel drive boots. There are double piston recoil offset pistols by Diana and they rock!

    What others should know: Go through the tins like beer at a ball game! You relax more, focus better and improve your accuracy and relaxation as shooting an R9 should be!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cynthia from USA on 2018-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Absolutely WOW I took it out of box and it was dead on at 25 yards but the rifle itself was a work of art. Plenty of tack driving power made my Benjamin 342 look powerless, squirrels are definitely shaking in their boots. I got this rifle by asking the gunsmith who rebuilt my 342 out of all air rifles which he would recommend he said the R9 is the one he owned . I'll get him to do upgrade next year.Great Rifle Thanks

    Things I would have changed: Lengthen stock by a few inches it's a little short for me ,but that's for me.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2018-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Worth the extra $$$. Good quality German made rifle. Blueing is attractive, beechwood stock feels good in the hand. Short barrel is easy to cock. Accuracy is consistent and true in .22 caliber. I'm scoped with a Leapers 3 X 9 X 50mm. One shot humane kills on yard pests with an authoritative whack upon contact with both 14 and 18 grain pellets. Worth the wait if the R9 is on backorder. Purchase Pyramyd's 10 for $10 shop test to insure your rifle is working properly from the factory. Mine chronographed at an average spread of 657 fps. You can't go wrong with this springer.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of any.

    What others should know: A worthy replacement for the legendary Beeman R1 from what I'm told.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2017-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: During 2013 I purchased an R-9 in .177. Recently, looking to buy a nice rifle in .22 cal, I researched other European springers. As much as I'd thought of owning something different, I settled on another R-9. The newer models have a newly designed stock, adding a cheek piece on both sides, though the profile is the same as the earlier stock. Accuracy, high quality, crisp trigger, smooth cocking and a superb finish make the R-9 a winner. Not much I can add to the already glowing reviews on these and other pages. Plain and simple, the R-9 is a fantastic shooter.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing whatsoever.

    What others should know: Shoots a variety of pellets well.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2017-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Smooooth operation! Powerful yet refined, more accurate than I expected, and easier to shoot repeatedly than either of my other two springers. Some break-barrels worry me about cocking effort possibly bending them...this one feels like you could break loose the lugnuts on a rusted Peterbilt and still shoot a match with it.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see those brass screw cups for the stock screws as standard, that's all.

    What others should know: Got the .20, might have to add the .17 & the .22!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DERREK from USA on 2017-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Quality

    What others should know: The R9 might just be the perfect springer. Quality, Not too heavy, Laser accurate right out of the box. I got a nice stock with nice grain. Metal finish is superb ! Mine is .20 cal and shoots H&N FTT's at 780 fps. Really thumps the squirrels. Record trigger is super smooth. Don't waste your money on cheap Chinese, get the best to start with.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brett from USA on 2016-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am somewhat new to air gunning, I am an avid shooter with firearms but have recently gotten into air rifles for pest control and 10m target shooting without having to go to a range. My first break barrel air rifle was an inexpensive nitro piston Benjamin, which after a new trigger and practice got pretty accurate, but overall quality and feel were lacking. I bought this searching for more accuracy and a more quality, firearm-like feel, and I am not disappointed. The wood stock is very nice, with basic checkering and a semi-gloss finish. It has the ambi raised cheek piece as shown. Bluing is deep and glossy. Cocking is very smooth and mechanical, and easier than I expected (easier than a Benjamin NP). The trigger is great as expected, light and crisp. Total weight with a BSA 3-9x40 AO scope is 9.0lbs. I am still in the break-in period with a few hundred through it, but accuracy is superb.

    Things I would have changed: There is a bit of spring twang/vibration as expected, but its not excessive. I may do a tune kit in the future but it isn't a priority right now.

    What others should know: I always get concerned about damage shipping any kind of rifle, but Pyramyd Air packaged the Beeman box very well inside a larger box, and it arrived two days after I ordered it. Very happy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2016-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Quality of workmanship, looks and accuracy, not much more can be said about the Beeman R-9. I also have two R-7's, the R-9 is a step up in power, but also cocking effort and weight. If your looking for more power than your 6-700 fps springer than the R-9 would be a great pick to consider, with the Reccord trigger, and superb handling qualities you can't go wrong. This is just my opinion, I am a huge Whierauch / Beeman fan.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing, I think the factory installed muzzle brake was a great idea, it saved me from having to buy and install one myself.

    What others should know: I have shot approx. 500 shots so far, the R-9 does like most pellets from 8.3 to 10.5gr., from Rws, Jsb, and H&N that I have put through it at 10m. I will do more extensive testing at longer ranges now that I believe its broken in.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: So I own fifteen European springers Including the most touted. If someone said tomorrow I could only keep one what would it be? It would be the R9. It's my go to gun. The weight, feel and accuracy out preforms all the rest. The quality of the components is excellent. It will out shoot all of my target rifles. Take it off the rack and it shoots well from the first shot no warm up. The Reckord trigger is the best trigger. I can take it hunting or shoot targets. It can be shot off hand standing or rested. Is it the most beautiful bluing or checkering? No but it's very good. It comes down to examining the small components and fit up.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing that should be done is a tune up. So much can be done with this air rifle. It does have some twang in the spring but a good tuning will eliminate any vibration and take it from a 12fpe air rifle to a smooth 18fpe air rifle. It is not really hold sensitive in terms of hand location but you must hang with the shot to prevent a flyer. Shoot twenty pellets and you might get one that shoots off and you know it would because you did not hold it on target long enough.

    What others should know: I only have one spring air rifle more accurate than my R9 an old FWB 150 that is a 6fpe gun. At 30 yards the R9 shoots 1/2 dime size groups all day long, it weighs little, best trigger, mechanically sound and easy to cock. It's not polished steel or fish scale checkering but it sure shoots and is built to last a life time. I'm fortunate to be able to compare a variety of air rifles at one time and the R9 is still the best do everything gun that I have.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: very nice finish, great fit from metal to stock, break barrel works very nice and locks every time. Fit is such that it is very easy to repeatedly shoot with very little wasted motion. This is my first R9 and compared to other brands in the same price range, there is no comparison. The R9 is simply the best I have found.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This air rifle requires several hundred rounds to break in. It is moderately accurate after 100 or so shots but only gets better as it gets more use. It is tempermental when it comes to ammo and you are best served by shooting several different grain pellets and then use those results to determine the best pellet for your particular rifle. With moderate practice, this rifle will easily shoot .375 groups, and with the proper ammo even smaller groups can be had.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2016-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything exceeded my expectations.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I'm not an expert air gunner, but I have tried some other air guns that performed well enough. I was skeptical of the Beeman hype - not anymore. The build is excellent, the trigger went far beyond what I expected and the accuracy was stunning. In a nutshell, this air rifle made me feel like I was cheating. I shouldn't be anywhere near as accurate as I am and I'm quite sure the gun is more accurate than I'll ever be. I have zero regrets and I'm now a Beeman R9 cheerleader.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jonathan from USA on 2015-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The metalwork is very robust. The trigger is smooth and breaks predictably. Great accuracy. Nice weight balance. After a tune kit installation, the shot cycle is brief and pleasant.

    Things I would have changed: Fit and finish should be better at this price. Mine came with several minor cosmetic imperfections: small nicks and scratches on the barrel, a nick on the stock, a thin spot in the bluing on the barrel, uneven rubber covering the end of the stock. I needed to shim the stock away from the action as a pin on the cocking arm was shaving a little wood away with each cocking stroke. A casual observer probably wouldn't notice these imperfections. However, as an owner, it's hard not to be a little disappointed that the manufacturer didn't put forth a little more effort while putting together such a well designed rifle.

    What others should know: Popular reviews on the internet suggest this gun has a smooth shot cycle out of the box, so I was surprised by the amount of spring twang I felt and heard when shooting the gun. I was able to clean the twang up with an aftermarket tune kit. It shoots brilliantly now. If you don't want a twangy rifle, factor the cost of a tune kit with your purchase. If you want an accurate, easy to shoot gun that will last, this may be the gun for you. If you want all that and pristine finish quality you may want to look at something else.

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation