Date: 19/10/2018 10:26
0

Black Ops Tactical Sniper Gas-Piston Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (50 reviews)
2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Brian from USA on 2018-04-19 12:51:38

Things I liked: Fun factor is high. Looks great and easy to cock.

Things I would have changed: Have the trigger adjusted to about 75% less than the current 10 mile road march in the mud. Have an access port for the screw in front of the trigger so that the trigger pull can be adjusted.

What others should know: Now that I have figured out how to adjust the trigger, this is a little tack driver. To adjust the trigger. There're 2 screws. 1 in front of the trigger and 1 behind the trigger. The screw in the front is for the, wait for it, the 10 mile road march in the mud trigger pull. Some people call it military slack. Definitely messes with you accuracy. Now this front trigger has no access so you have to drill a hole in the trigger guard in order to get to the screw. Now this will probably void your warranty, you can thank me later. Once you have access to the front screw, start tightening it, that's clock wise, tighten the screw a little at a time until the gun will no longer cock. Then back it out about half a turn or until it cocks. You will be impressed with the new found accuracy. Backing out the rear trigger reduces the poundage of your trigger or the amount of pressure you apply to the trigger with your finger to make it go bang. Shooting cans now at 80 yards.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Rick from USA on 2018-07-29 23:08:30

Things I liked: the looks, power

Things I would have changed: better accuracy/consistency

What others should know: this is the worst springer I have ever bought, had mechanical failures, and accuracy was all but non existent. Tried many brands and types of pellets, none were consistent. would be better off throwing rocks at targets than using this rifle

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Samuel from USA on 2018-10-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a fenomenal gun! Not a toy, has great power that I never experienced in other break barrel that I had. So powerful that my shoulder still hurts. Awesome look and feel just the way I like. Great gun for the money, thanks Pyramyd Air for another great gun and service.

    Things I would have changed: Scope isn't the right one for this powerful rifle and cocking effort it's hard until you get use to. Bipod isn't steady for this kind of power they get loose. Barrel came really dirty and had to clean it a few times before I started to use it.

    What others should know: Love this gun, get a lot of long range targets for this one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality for price

    Things I would have changed: Scope Sling loops

    What others should know: Probably the best under 500$

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its not your everyday all plastic piece of junk this thing is built like a tank , both big heavy n deliver a direct hit. It worth very cent with dual ammo storage in faux mag plus whole stock empty to put loads of ammo or my case a cleaning kit & survival gear few hooks line fire and so forth ... The gun sights are excellent almost shame to put a scope on this masterpiece and comes with nice heavy duty adjustable bi-pod on it ...

    Things I would have changed: Only thing I changed was added a bigger scope so I could see the garden raiding varmints enjoying his Last tomato :)

    What others should know: Its not your average plastic mass produced gun this is made almost indestructible plus if taken care of will be enjoyed for generations right out box , nicer than few real 22's I have owned in past

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Rick from USA on 2018-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the looks, power

    Things I would have changed: better accuracy/consistency

    What others should know: this is the worst springer I have ever bought, had mechanical failures, and accuracy was all but non existent. Tried many brands and types of pellets, none were consistent. would be better off throwing rocks at targets than using this rifle

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This pellet rifle is beautiful to look at and performs like a champion. I can't believe what it comes with for the price - scope and bi-pod! It's just a fun gun to shoot in the backyard and keep your skills up.

    Things I would have changed: It is hard to get that 1-pump to the piston - not sure how to make it better to maintain the power but my wife can't do it herself

    What others should know: Buy lots of pellets, you will blow through them quickly - it's that much fun to shoot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.427 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fun factor is high. Looks great and easy to cock.

    Things I would have changed: Have the trigger adjusted to about 75% less than the current 10 mile road march in the mud. Have an access port for the screw in front of the trigger so that the trigger pull can be adjusted.

    What others should know: Now that I have figured out how to adjust the trigger, this is a little tack driver. To adjust the trigger. There're 2 screws. 1 in front of the trigger and 1 behind the trigger. The screw in the front is for the, wait for it, the 10 mile road march in the mud trigger pull. Some people call it military slack. Definitely messes with you accuracy. Now this front trigger has no access so you have to drill a hole in the trigger guard in order to get to the screw. Now this will probably void your warranty, you can thank me later. Once you have access to the front screw, start tightening it, that's clock wise, tighten the screw a little at a time until the gun will no longer cock. Then back it out about half a turn or until it cocks. You will be impressed with the new found accuracy. Backing out the rear trigger reduces the poundage of your trigger or the amount of pressure you apply to the trigger with your finger to make it go bang. Shooting cans now at 80 yards.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Craig from USA on 2018-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks very cool with build quality to match. I added a very high end scope and can hit a dime every time at my intended target of 30 feet. Goodbye pigeons...

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this price

    What others should know: Its not quiet but its powerful and the tripod is a great addition

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2018-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.764 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: so freaking powerful! great accuracy and looks so cool. i have another pellet gun that bounced off mini kegs and did not puncture it....this gun shot clean through both sides and stuck in the tree behind it, and the holes were huge in the mini keg.

    Things I would have changed: scope. junk scope honestly. i replaced mine with a 6-24X50 scope with a sunshield

    What others should know: this is heavy for a pellet gun. there are a few pinch points, bipods, and when u break the barrel. be careful

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jimmy from USA on 2018-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: Pretty powerful airgun. Strong material. Very affordable price

    Things I would have changed: There a couple of thing black ops should change in this gun to make it even better. The main one is the rail base. Even though the frame of the gun is made of strong polymer or plastic, the gun is not so constantly accurate. The reason for that is because the rail is screwed to the plastic frame rather than the metal part of the riffle -like most other springers. This, me and my cousin realized caused slight movement every time we shot (very strong recoil) causing slight variations in the scope. We finally welded the steel bases to the rifle and problem solved. The gun is extremely accurate and amazing power. The other thing is that the scope is not so powerful, but good enough for close range small game hunting.

    What others should know: good quality, very powerful.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Russ from USA on 2017-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: I ordered my 22 cal. Black Ops from Pyramyd, after purchasing the 17 cal locally, so I can share some good info on both. While the 17 cal has greater and flatter velocity for distant targets and small game, the 22 cal. has the foot pounds needed for Woodchuck out to 80 yards. It took 3 rounds, but stopped this destructive rodent. The 22 cal. also has a real silencer on the barrel while the 17 cal does not. Both rifles are heavy and will be less desirable on a long walk thru the woods. After I received & reviewed the gun as closely as possible, I concluded that Black Ops is possibly using Crosman's Nitro Piston XL or a Chinese clone for both of these guns. I own several Crosman rifles & their Nitro Piston design is distinguishable enough to make a comparison. This explains why these Black Ops are as powerful as a Nitro Piston 2 & yet the break barrel cocking is a lot tougher to cock.like the Nitro Piston XL is. This rifle has more metal than plastic, which I liked.

    Things I would have changed: While this rifle's design, & bi-pods are cool, the bi-pods are a hindrance, & not a help in shooting tight bullseyes, because they don't really meet the "Artillery Style" shooting method, that enhances air gun accuracy. I folded up the bi-pods, & stuck a sand bag just in front of the trigger guard, to get the best consistent accuracy. I also use my left hand ( I am right handed) & placed it over the stock's comb. This not only anchors the rear of the gun, but it also allows me to rest my right cheek on that left hand, as I look through the scope. While I left the inexpensive 4 power scope on the 17 cal.,Black Ops, I purchased a 4X16 X50 mm variable scope. for the 22 cal. The 50 mm opening allows a great more light to enter the scope for dawn & dusk shooting while the 16 power allows me to review pellet hole patterns at 50 yards. I try to use the heaviest pellets possible for both rifles, for accuracy, knock down power, & for silence. Anything over 1050 fps is going to make noise.

    What others should know: Assulming I am correct that the Black Ops Tactical Sniper Air Rifle is using the Crosman Nitro Piston XL... or a darn good copy of it...made in China... would explain why it represents such a great value for the money compared to most any other break barrel rifle out there. I removed most screws, one at a time and put lock tight on them, before replacing them, as I do with all air guns. I believe this is even more important in any gun that is using the Nitro Piston XL or something close to it. I also found some rubber tips to glue on the bi-pods, so that they wouldn't move, when shooting this rifle. Nonetheless, as I shared above, I ended up folding up the bi-pods and placed a sand bag in front of the trigger guard to tighten my shot groups satisfactorily. Lastly, I am 72 years old, and have had air guns most of my life. I would like my review to be as accurate as my target groups are. That was my intent here. You can trust this rifle, and you can trust Pyramyd Air. Russ Jones

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By wilee from USA on 2017-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate and powerful. Noticeably more hard-hitting than some other "magnum" air rifles I own. Overall seems well made. Nice fit and finish for this price range. Although I'm not into the tactical look, the cosmetics are fine. Bi-pods work well (but need regular tightening or some Loctite). Fake suppressor makes a nice cocking grip. The price makes this rifle a good buy, give it a better trigger and I'd pay more.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger, Trigger, Trigger! LOT's of travel and a heavy pull. One of the worst tiggers yet! The biggest con and only reason I'm not giving this rifle 5 stars. I did not expect much from the scope, but it's tolerable for a combo. Already upgraded the scope. Adjustable length stock would be nice. Seems just a bit short for my long arms.

    What others should know: The trigger really holds this rifle back. Did a online search and found some mods that might help out with the trigger. A bit hold sensitive, but if you let the bipods do most of the work and press the stock moderately into your shoulder your groups might tighten-up like mine did. Like others said, the pistol grip is a bit thick but really not an issue for me. Barrel was dirty out of the box. After a dozen or so shots the noise level seems only a bit louder than my other break-barrels. Heavy but reasonable cocking action. After trying a dozen+ different pellets (.177) 8.80 Crow magnums gave me the tightest groups at 40 yards. Not as pellet sensitive as some of my other air rifles. Supplied scope rings seemed high at first, but work well with the stock height and even better with the Hammers 3-9x40 AO Air Magnum scope I purchased separately. Overall I am happy with this purchase. If I can get this trigger figured out, I'll be even happier.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CARLOS from USA on 2017-07-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: Beatifull. Well built. Accurate. Powerful.

    Things I would have changed: Noise level. Upgrade scope. Better trigger. Lighter weight.

    What others should know: Easy to add AR15 iron sights by installing a scope rail adapter to the muzzle brake.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Frank from USA on 2017-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Definitely has the cool factor. Plenty of power. Seems to have the 'potential' for accuracy, but it will test your shooting technique.

    Things I would have changed: Barrel came exceptionally dirty. I spent at least an hour running patches through it before they were only coming out light orange...not sure if this was dried grease residue or light rust. After thorough cleaning, rifling now looks sharp and bright. Long, springy, heavy trigger pull. The WORST I have experienced in many guns of this type. Picatinny rail for the scope mount is coated with thin layer of rubberized plastic - better if this was just metal. With scope mounted, the rail and it seems the whole plastic body of the receiver flexes. I have not found a way to tighten this. That can't be great for accuracy. The bipod is heavy (all metal) and is quite wobbly. This is a fairly long and heavy rifle and to definitely takes effort to cock. The "suppressor" is for looks only and does not appear to be removable. This rifle is loud and it would benefit from a functional suppressor.

    What others should know: I find the long, heavy, springy trigger pull to really take some work to get used to. I am a huge believer in the value of a good trigger and good optics and this trigger is just ridiculous. Had I known about the trigger, I would not have bought this rifle. Also, I'm having trouble getting this one to settle down and be consistent despite my best efforts. I've got a couple hundred shots through it of at least 5 different pellet types (JSB, H&N) ranging in weight from 14gr to 21 gr. In 7-10 multi-shot strings at 35 yards, I can get many to stay in a 3/4" to 1" group, but there are always several fliers that are 3/4" to 1" away from the main shot cluster. Artillery hold, bipod, no bipod, etc. and I'm still hoping to find the right trick.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Simon from USA on 2017-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Great looking gun! Powerful! Solid and well put together Scope is well made, quite clear but no magnification Excellent value

    Things I would have changed: Make it a real silencer - this is one LOUD gun! It's taking a while to get it sighted in. Not sure if it's the gun, the scope or me... or the gun just needs to settle in. Lose the white Black Ops logos.

    What others should know: You'll need to clean it and lube it and clean it again. Then the dieseling will make the thing sound like a firearm for about 15 shots. Then clean it again. Not for the faint of heart - this thing has a sound and recoil you need to be ready for. I bought the old spring .177 version refurbed from the manufacturer. I understand the new gas versions have more power... but the build quality and materials are lower - and do not have the butt length adjustment mine has - which is needed for a bipod mounted sniper weapon. Trust me, the springer has more than enough power. Holy cow, this shoots like a 22LR.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carmelo from USA on 2017-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Awesome rifle

    Things I would have changed: Like the scope

    What others should know: Keep up the good business

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2017-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very accurate, incredibly powerful.

    Things I would have changed: The included scope is grossly under powered.

    What others should know: Like the others have said, this is no toy. I have destroyed a metal catch at 50 yards using 10gr pellets. It can be a bear to cock at first. It is also deceptively heavy. The included stands do a good job balancing the weight. This was my first rifle and I do enjoy it but I should have done a little more research for what I was looking at doing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2016-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This was a no brainer great feel and looks and suprisingly powerful.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Do not dry fire and make sure you have a back stop.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from Canada on 2016-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Shoots well. What I expected for the price point. Well balanced.

    Things I would have changed: Upgrade the scope

    What others should know: This is not a toy. Will take more than your eye out!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2016-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle I found to be extremely well made for the money. The break barrel is manageable wth one hand for cocking and the recoil is absorbed very well due to the design. Indeed this is a tack driver and after chronographing I found the advertised FPS is very close to specification. Adjustments can be made for optimum comfort for any shooter. The scope took a bit bit of time to properly sight in. But at 25 yards I was grouping one on top of the other. I rate this a solid 5 stars across the board.

    Things I would have changed: Realistically for the money, I would not change a thing.

    What others should know: This is not a toy and is extremely powerful. Please use caution when handling. Specifically when cocking the pellet gun and inserting pellets. keep a firm grip on the barell to avoid it from closing on your finger. "Thanks Pyramyd Air for another great product!" Respectfully, Arthur Paul

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2016-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Just as previous posts, value for the money. Once zeroed with different scope, plugging silver dollar size bulls @ 30 yards! Should do just fine in the woods.

    Things I would have changed: Scope

    What others should know: Not a toy! This is a workhorse that should last a long time, if taken care of regularly.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation