Date: 24/7/2019 3:25
0

Blackwater BW1911 R2. 258000. Customer Reviews - page 2

Average Customer Review

4.5 (33 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Charles M from USA on 2013-08-03 17:04:46

Things I liked: This Cybergun Blackwater BW1911 R2 CO2 BB pistol is so very cool! The Blackwater markings and the nickel finish on the muzzle, barrel, and trigger make the BW1991 R2 a very attractive pistol. Because the gun is all metal (except for the grips), the weight feels good in the hand when the gun is gripped, not too heavy and not too light. I measured the overall barrel length at 5 inches, but because the actual 0.177 inch barrel is recessed at both ends, the effective barrel length is probably between 4 and 4 1/2 inches. This gun has two working safeties. The grip safety on the backstrap prevents the trigger from being pulled if the grip safety is not pressed in. The ambidextrous thumb safety prevents the gun from being cocked either by moving the slide back or by pulling the hammer down. When the gun is cocked, placing the thumb safety in the on (up) position prevents the trigger from releasing the hammer and firing the gun. When the last BB is shot, the slide locks back. Accuracy is pretty good. My accuracy tended to improve the longer I shot the gun. From the bench rested position, groups of 10 shots were consistently on target with spreads of 1 1/2 to 2 inches. In the free standing position, groups of 10 shots were still on target, but with slightly larger spreads out to 2 1/2 inches.

Things I would have changed: Although the sights have white dots on them to aid in targeting dark targets, the front and rear sights are fixed. I would have preferred to have a rear sight fully adjustable for elevation and windage.

What others should know: This gun has a strong blowback recoil, and you will need a strong grip to keep it on target. With the fixed sights, I had to position the front sight slightly high over the rear sight to get my shots on target. Otherwise my shots tended to be low. When cocked, the trigger is very sensitive, and the gun fires very easily. So be very careful with this gun when it is loaded and cocked. Do not try to un-cock the gun with the magazine installed because you may lose a bit of CO2 or worse fire the gun anyway. Always take the magazine out before attempting to un-cock the gun. Total shot count was consistently about 55 - 60 provided I did not lose CO2 when loading the CO2 cylinder. I used three different brands of CO2 in my tests: Swiss Arms, Crosman, and Umarex. I shot six different brands of BBs in my tests: Cybergun (BBs that came with the gun), Copperhead, Umarex, Marksman, Avanti, and the Firepower BBs supplied by Pyramyd Air. Shooting tests were conducted in my basement at a distance of about 18 feet which is the absolute longest I can safely shoot down there. All of the BBs performed about the same, and I can't say at this time if I have a preference. What I can say is that this Blackwater BW1911 R2 pistol is a whole lot of fun to shoot.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Colby from USA on 2013-11-23 16:36:00

Things I liked: Nice bulk and metal. Makes it feel better to shoot and aim.

Things I would have changed: The way the CO2 goes in is garbage. You need to twist the bottom screw in so hard that it made the metal puncture pin indent. So I only got about 2 shots off then the CO2 just pops all the gas out and its done..

Sort by:
  • Previous 12
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2013-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: this is the most realistic bb pistol i have owned.controls are the same as real gun. excellent trigger,accuracy,sights.recoiling slide just like real gun.decent weight also.

    Things I would have changed: so far the only thing i do not like is the way you load the magazine.it is a little difficult to hold spring loaded follower down and pour bb,s in small hole.i ordered a extra magazine and need more but they are a little pricey.

    What others should know: this is the best bb gun i have tried so far.i would recommend buying.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By don from USA on 2013-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings

    Things I liked: nice looking firearm.

    Things I would have changed: the loading of the magazine sucks.

    What others should know: if i knew the magazine was the way it is i would never have gotten it.

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Amélie Renoncule from USA on 2013-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.264 ratings

    Things I liked: Overall demeanor and stance. White-dot sights.

    Things I would have changed: I ABSOLUTELY hate the difficult nature of loading the BB's...and have, already broken a nail attempting to do so. I was almost about to unscrew the anchor tab, for the spring/ramrod assembly, removing them both...before a little birdie told me to feed 'em from-the-top. It works but is time consuming. If I had known about this design flaw, I would NOT have bought toy. BTW...'cause of this problem, I have NOT fire shot one. If it proves to ALSO harbor operational problems, I'll employ it as a eccentric hammer.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2013-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I own a lot of air rifles and pistols. I must say that this pistol is one of the finest. The realism is great, the accuracy is great, and the trigger is sensational. Very light,smooth,crisp, maybe two pounds. You do not get better triggers on a BB or pellet pistol. The blow-back is very heavy and gives you a sensation of a much faster fps.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of the logo! The only thing I do not like. It is gaudy and takes away the natural look of this fine pistol.

    What others should know: Another nice feature of this pistol, is the fact that the seals are in the magazine. If you do ever get a bad seal, just order a new mag. Get one anyway and this gun is really fun to shoot. No not be concerned about the FPS. This pistol has plenty of power for training and the heavy blow-back gives the feeling of very fast hard shooting.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By joseph from USA on 2013-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: ok lets see i like EVERYTHING about this gun its cool one of best in my collection 1911s arent my fave but when the tanfoglio witness and the blackwater 1911 i had to have one style weight tough as nails cool liscencing cool silver highlights nice grips and sights too and when they said it has blowback they meant it

    Things I would have changed: nothing really good price for fun quality product

    What others should know: if u want your air pistols to last take care of them dont beat them to death and say that gun sucked u take care of them and you will be plinking a long time!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Charles M from USA on 2013-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: This Cybergun Blackwater BW1911 R2 CO2 BB pistol is so very cool! The Blackwater markings and the nickel finish on the muzzle, barrel, and trigger make the BW1991 R2 a very attractive pistol. Because the gun is all metal (except for the grips), the weight feels good in the hand when the gun is gripped, not too heavy and not too light. I measured the overall barrel length at 5 inches, but because the actual 0.177 inch barrel is recessed at both ends, the effective barrel length is probably between 4 and 4 1/2 inches. This gun has two working safeties. The grip safety on the backstrap prevents the trigger from being pulled if the grip safety is not pressed in. The ambidextrous thumb safety prevents the gun from being cocked either by moving the slide back or by pulling the hammer down. When the gun is cocked, placing the thumb safety in the on (up) position prevents the trigger from releasing the hammer and firing the gun. When the last BB is shot, the slide locks back. Accuracy is pretty good. My accuracy tended to improve the longer I shot the gun. From the bench rested position, groups of 10 shots were consistently on target with spreads of 1 1/2 to 2 inches. In the free standing position, groups of 10 shots were still on target, but with slightly larger spreads out to 2 1/2 inches.

    Things I would have changed: Although the sights have white dots on them to aid in targeting dark targets, the front and rear sights are fixed. I would have preferred to have a rear sight fully adjustable for elevation and windage.

    What others should know: This gun has a strong blowback recoil, and you will need a strong grip to keep it on target. With the fixed sights, I had to position the front sight slightly high over the rear sight to get my shots on target. Otherwise my shots tended to be low. When cocked, the trigger is very sensitive, and the gun fires very easily. So be very careful with this gun when it is loaded and cocked. Do not try to un-cock the gun with the magazine installed because you may lose a bit of CO2 or worse fire the gun anyway. Always take the magazine out before attempting to un-cock the gun. Total shot count was consistently about 55 - 60 provided I did not lose CO2 when loading the CO2 cylinder. I used three different brands of CO2 in my tests: Swiss Arms, Crosman, and Umarex. I shot six different brands of BBs in my tests: Cybergun (BBs that came with the gun), Copperhead, Umarex, Marksman, Avanti, and the Firepower BBs supplied by Pyramyd Air. Shooting tests were conducted in my basement at a distance of about 18 feet which is the absolute longest I can safely shoot down there. All of the BBs performed about the same, and I can't say at this time if I have a preference. What I can say is that this Blackwater BW1911 R2 pistol is a whole lot of fun to shoot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2013-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: the look , the heft the realism.

    Things I would have changed: loading the B.B's in the mag. the spring should have a lock down -to hold it down until it's filled.

    What others should know: Fantastic gun - fantastic price.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2013-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: This pistol is a cut above, top shelf air pistol. The quality is fantastic. I really fell in love with this pistol. Very heavy recoil/blowback and great accuracy. The very best trigger I have seen in a air gun. Somewhere around 2lbs, nice and crisp with little take up. You do not see many triggers this nice on a air pistol. I highly recommend this pistol, and will be purchasing another for my brother for Christmas.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of the stupid logo. I hate it! What were they thinking when they took such a nice 1911 replica and put that gaudy, atrocious logo on it. I will do something later to try and remove it.

    What others should know: One nice feature of this pistol, is the fact that the magazine holds the co2 cartridge. There is a learning curve to load the BB's, but the fact that the magazine contains the seals,means you will not have to reseal the gun down the road. Just get a new magazine if necessary.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2013-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the realistic features about the piece.

    Things I would have changed: It is very unreliable, one time you pick it up and it shoots good, and one time it shoots weak or a bb jams in the barrel. It is very unreliable. I want it to work good all the time, but am thinking about sending it back, for exchange. Also only get about 24 shots per co2 capsule.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Colter from USA on 2013-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I purchased this gun to evaluate how well it might compliment the firearm equivalent in recreational, competitive and defensive training roles. Airsoft has been getting traction in this way and certainly has more accurate replicas to offer than .177 at this time. However, I think there are some distinct advantages to steel BBs and CO2. Steel BBs are close to .30/.35 gram airsoft BBs but in a more dense package offering a more stable trajectory overall, and CO2 is easy to come by. Another aspect is cost where shooting both airsoft and steel BBs is a minimum of 10 times less expensive that 9mm and probably closer to 15 or more. These things are known, but what I would like to see is a change in the marketing where the designers demonstrate that they are making these guns for this specific reason. This could help shift the image of these products from plinkers and target practice, to legitimate training tools. This specific gun is among a small handful that are close to what I am suggesting. Firstly, the magazine is correct for reload drills. It also has last round hold open and functioning slide release. It is an accurate replica with fully operational controls and safeties. The trigger isn't perfect but is remarkably close. It also appears to be fairly well made and while it's not as heavy as a 1911 firearm, it's relatively close. It's also very true to size which is actually not very common with CO2 powered, single stack 1911s because a CO2 cartridge is wider than a 1911 mag.

    Things I would have changed: To get closer to an ideal training tool I think the magazines need a built in, rubber base pad to help protect them from drops taken during reload drills. I did quite a few, but outside in the grass, and found that these mags held up pretty well. While it does have "lock-back" you can only release the slide with the slide release and cannot perform a slingshot reload. With the slide locked open and a loaded magazine inserted, you should be able to pull the slide slightly further to the rear which would bump the slide release down and allow the slide to travel fully forward. The detent on the release works so well that it cannot fall with gravity and the slide itself does not travel back far enough to bump it down. The safety is a little too weak, but not a big deal (could possibly be improved at home). The grip screw "bushings" are not bushings and if you're clever you may be able to make 1911 grips work, but not without modification. So things that would be cool. I think it would be nice to see some kind of system for easily changing the sights - an entire line with a variety of modular sights that fit the entire line. A system to feed pellets from a magazine like this would be awesome, if it's even possible.

    What others should know: Bottom line is I think guns like this offer more than just plinking from a gun that happens to look cool. All the controls work and with accurate magazine dimensions you also get reloads that feel like the firearm counterpart. With other guns you may even get holster and mag carrier compatibility. You get the same feel, draw stroke, safety, align the sights, trigger pull, slide lock, reload, realign sights. You also get a lot more freedom with where and when you use the gun. It's got everything you need for an IDPA or IPSC style game and offers more than many other airguns for defensive handgun training.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Shane from USA on 2013-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy is better than most blowback pistols I have used Solid feeling blowback Working grip safety as well as thumb safety Accurate 1911 function (for the most part) Take-down pin allows you to field strip (bushing comes out AFTER slide comes off) GREAT training aide for 1911 practice

    Things I would have changed: The design on the side is certainly something I could do without. Blowback uses a LOT of Co2 Feels solid but still "plastic-like" (something about it still feels cheap) Thumb safety does not go ALL the way up.. (that one is merely aesthetics, it still works very well) the grips (personal preference) Painted barrel already wearing off at the "ejection port". Only 16 mags through so far. Magazine does not "spring" out of the well, but will drop out when the button is pressed. Magazine is not the easiest to reload (at all)

    What others should know: for the money, this is a spot-on deal. Good 1911 replica, with a real feel, strong blowback (with a fresh Co2), and enough accuracy to give me quarter sized groupings from ten meters in the standing position (I can't do that with .45 yet, so I was impressed). All-in-all a good 1911 for plinking, cheap draw-and-fire practice gun, great training aide for beginners, and it's just REALLY FUN to shoot!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2013-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Smart looking design! If you have the Tanfoglio Witness 1911, this is a great complimentary gun. If you don't have either gun, get one!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Adjustable sights and tactical rail.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2013-07-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Completely Awesome gun. Total fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

     
  • Previous 12
Navigation