Date: 24/5/2019 12:12
0

Colt 1911 A1. 225-4000. Customer Reviews - page 2

Average Customer Review

4.5 (43 reviews)
Add to Cart

Only 3 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By mike from Canada on 2018-01-19 12:44:41

Things I liked: Beautiful gun, feels like the real thing. Umarex high end guns are all high quality and built to last. A lot of fun to shoot and very accurate.

Things I would have changed: Not a thing. The dual safety takes a bit of getting used to but its a characteristic of the original 1911 and makes the gun authentic. A must for collectors of famous hand guns!

What others should know: I love Umarex high end guns and am working on owning them all. Pyramid has been an excellent company to deal with. Had some issues with web site ordering (user error).. Ruth helped me place order and was great to deal with. I ordered two guns with one order and only one shipped. I was nervous about Pyramids response but called Ruth again and it was shipped no questions asked. Great customer service!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Randal from USA on 2010-07-10 18:17:25

Things I liked: Look and feel. I use a 45 ACP 1911 and purchased this pistol because it feel simalar

Things I would have changed: Include sight adjustment for elevation as the pellets strike about an inch high at 20 yards.

What others should know: The grip safety transmitted a very gritty feeling when depressing it. My pistol failed to fire any more after a total of approximately 80 shots. The pistol was sent to Umarex for repair and when it was returned it still would not fire a pellet. I am preparing to return it for repair again and will reserve judgment until I get it back. Howver, at this time I am not at all satisfied either with the quality of the pistol or the quality of Umarex repairs.

Sort by:
  • Previous 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2013-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Metal construction. Pretty good feel compared to the real thing. Accuracy is pretty good, given the shorter barrel.

    Things I would have changed: personally, I'd give it a 6" slide and contoured rubber grips to match my real thing, but that's just me.

    What others should know: Stock plenty of pellets and clips, because you're gonna go through them at an alarming rate.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By P.Smith from USA on 2013-09-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Handles great, same size and weight as a Colt, inexpensive way to keep in practice.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is so-so. It works fine for single action, but is way too stiff for double action to have any kind of accuracy. I would rate 5 stars if the trigger was smoother.

    What others should know: If you want a replica of a Colt 1911 high-quality .177 caliber pellet pistol to practice with, it's worth the money. This is not a cheap plastic air soft pistol, but a full metal replica of an original Colt.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles M from USA on 2013-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: WOW! This Umarex Colt Government 1911 A1 is an incredible airgun replica! Except for the white labeling, it looks very much like the actual firearm. Everything on this gun is metal with the exception being the grips which feel like rubber. The weight feels good when the gun is held, not too heavy, not too light. All of the mechanical parts work very well. Total shot count on the first Umarex CO2 was 118, but after several CO2 cartridges, the average total shot count has settled in at 88 using either Umarex or Crosman CO2. This gun's best feature is its accuracy. The accuracy is exceptional! Once I adjusted the rear sight for windage and compensated my aim for elevation, I was consistently hitting the center of two inch shot spots from a bench rested position 18 feet away. The single action bench rested groupings ranged from 1/2 x 1/2 inch (H&N Match Pistol) to 1 1/2 x 1 inch (Crosman Premier Super Point). The double action bench rested groupings ranged from 1/2 x 3/8 inch (H&N Baracuda) to 1 1/4 x 3/4 inch (RWS Super Point).

    Things I would have changed: I would give this gun a rear sight fully adjustable for windage and elevation. Right now the rear sight is adjustable only for windage. My gun shoots about 1 inch high so I aim about 1 inch low. I would like to see a blowback version of this gun that retains all of the current mechanical functions and uses the same stick magazine that is used in the Beretta PX4 Storm.

    What others should know: The double action trigger is long, but smooth and not too heavy. The single action trigger is really short and easy. The thumb safety works by disengaging the trigger from the hammer mechanism. The grip safety works by preventing the hammer from striking the gas valve pin. The grip safety does this by operating a metal flange. When the grip safety is engaged (not pressed in), the flange is positioned just below the gas valve pin. When the hammer falls, it strikes the flange but not the gas valve pin. When the grip safety is disengaged (pressed in), the flange moves up against the end of the gas valve pin. When the hammer falls, it strikes the flange which in turn activates the gas valve pin and fires the gun. I tested this gun with these pellets: Crosman Premier Super Match wadcutter, Crosman Premier Super Point, Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum domed, RWS Superdome, RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol, RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle, RWS R10 Match, RWS Hobby, RWS Superpoint Extra, RWS Supermag, H&N Sport, H&N Baracuda, H&N Field Target Trophy, H&N Match Pistol, H&N Spitzkugel, H&N Finale Match Pistol, JSB Match Diabolo wadcutter, and JSB Exact Diabolo domed. All of these pellets fit well in the magazines and were shot well without any jams. Over the last week I have fired several hundred shots from this gun and everything has worked well from the very first shot to the last one just an hour ago. I strongly recommend this gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2013-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like that this gun look and feels like my "real" 1911s. The build quality is very good and it is accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The slide release scratches the finish and the finish in general scuffs easily.

    What others should know: This is a fun gun to own, especially now that its very hard to get .22 ammo and .45 is so expensive. Good practice gun!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mark from Canada on 2012-11-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Almost all medal and looks very realistic.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the way the mag is.

    What others should know: Fun gun for plinking

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By James from USA on 2012-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Great looking pistol. Heavy and exudes quality.

    Things I would have changed: Correct problem with the relieable functioning of this pistol. I bought one several years ago and right out of the box it did not shoot at all. I bought another one recently thinking that by now Umarex would have resolved the problem. Not the case! I had to send this one back and I orderd a differant model of the 1911 by Tanfoglio.

    What others should know: Pryamyd Air is a great company to do bussiness with. They exchanged it right away with no problem. I STRONGLY recommend Purchesing (Pyramyd Airs $10.00 for Ten Shots) option on this pistol before purchasing. Good luck.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Frederick from USA on 2012-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun makes a good replica of the M1911A1

    Things I would have changed: I would change the way you put the co2 in. I find it hard. I also would make a magazine that held both ammo and co2 in the handle. Also to much writting on right side of pistil

    What others should know: If you are looking for a M1911A1 to hang on your wall, this could be the one for you. Very realistic looking.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Mark from USA on 2012-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: weight and ergos of the real thing. I use mine as a training aid for beginning shooters and with IDPA courses of fire in my attic.

    Things I would have changed: refine the mechanics to be a bit smoother, and either make the sights adjustable for elevation, or manufacture a gun that doesn't need elevation adjustment out to ~25 yards; mine shoots ~2 inches high at 15 yards.

    What others should know: Crosman Premier 7.9gn hollow points have worked well for me in this gun's cylinder magazine.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Clayton from USA on 2012-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very comparable to a .45 1911 in weight, feel, and operation. I think practice will transfer (exc. mag handling and double action). Very accurate in single action. I'm happy with the rounds per CO2 cartridge.

    Things I would have changed: The spring device that retains the thumb safety comes loose easily and is plastic/fragile.

    What others should know: Beware of trying to use grip scales from a Government 45. It looks like they will fit, but they don't work unless you want to do pretty extensive modifications. If you want wood grips, buy the model that has them -- there's a reason it's more expensive.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By David from USA on 2012-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Look and feel of the gun. Install of the CO2 is very good, same as the CP88.

    Things I would have changed: Rear sight is not adjustable for height. The gun consistently shoots high and Umarex should send every buyer an upgraded sight. Also the trigger has a very long pull in single-action, which is the most accurate action. Grip safety and trigger need to be smoothed out.

    What others should know: Somebody was right. There should be developed a clip feed for these automatics. Needs to be better trigger and grip safety to improve accuracy and overall performance. A lot of sticking in the mechanism. A $200 gun should shoot like one.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2011-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Weighs and looks like the real thing. Fairly accurate. Comes with a padded case.

    Things I would have changed: Pellets get jammed in the magazine. I use the recommended wadcutters but it still jams on occasion. I have other pistols that I paid much less for and never jam. Very frustrating, considering I paid a decent amount of cash on this baby.

    What others should know: When changing the magazine, you need to keep the gun perpendicular to the ground otherwise it will fall out and roll away.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2011-08-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: I found the pistol which I said I didn't have and made a point to check it out this afternoon. we were like two old friends getting to gather again. Fired it about 50 times at about 21 feet, everything was o-k. The more I shoot it , the better it got.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger could be a little smoother if the design would let, otherwise suits me. The pistol isn't a model 70 Nation Match, but however designed this pistol did a fine job.

    What others should know: Watch out for those magazines when you open the pistol, they like to fall out and roll like hell. If you got one and know how to shoot, then you got it made like the rest of us that have one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ray from USA on 2011-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: All metal except the grips. Great CO2 lever piercing system. Single and double action. 8 round clips. Good pellet velocity. Very accurate and an accurate replica of the real firearm. Fun to shoot!

    Things I would have changed: Give it adjustable rear sights like the Colt 1911 Gold Cup target model which is a great firearm.

    What others should know: A .22 caliber version would be nice although it appears that clip capacity would suffer. Probably only room for 6-7 rounds at .22 cal. A tough trade-off.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carl from USA on 2010-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The smoothness of the trigger. Compared to the Berreta 92FS it is 100% better.

    What others should know: The way you have to hold the butt tight in order to release the hammer at first takes awhile to get use to but, this actually helps to grip the gun the way you should.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jay from USA on 2010-09-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made, feels like the real thing. I truly enoyed shooting mine

    Things I would have changed: I tuned my trigger a bit for double action, that helped alot

    What others should know: These will go up in value and as it is they hold their value very well. I made the mistake of selling mine a few days ago and I miss it already. I sold it used after many rounds in my shop for $130.00 and I shouldint have.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By mellan600 from USA on 2010-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Real like feeling - sturdy metal contruction. Changing the round "magazine" is easy. Sighting picture is nice and clear.

    Things I would have changed: As others have told this gun fires little high on normal air pistol ranges - elevation adjustment in rear sight would be useful. Removable grip plate has quite flimsy looking fixtures. Grip safety needs attenton - if it is not properly pressed when cocking, tje magazine would not rotate - you end up shooting empty CO2-shots..

    What others should know: Use only standart pellets which are little over sized in diameter. Loose and long pellets easily jams the magazine - better buy first just one tin of pellets and test before ordering any wholesale lots.. Grip safety needs attention - if it is not properly pressed when cocking, the magazine would not rotate - you end up shooting empty CO2-shots..this is actually a eight-shot revolver!

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Randal from USA on 2010-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Look and feel. I use a 45 ACP 1911 and purchased this pistol because it feel simalar

    Things I would have changed: Include sight adjustment for elevation as the pellets strike about an inch high at 20 yards.

    What others should know: The grip safety transmitted a very gritty feeling when depressing it. My pistol failed to fire any more after a total of approximately 80 shots. The pistol was sent to Umarex for repair and when it was returned it still would not fire a pellet. I am preparing to return it for repair again and will reserve judgment until I get it back. Howver, at this time I am not at all satisfied either with the quality of the pistol or the quality of Umarex repairs.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By kenoshaki from USA on 2010-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a great shootable trainer or practice pistol for those that use the "real" 1911. Overall easy to operate. Loads easy. I like the 8 round feature. Hammer is actually used instead of a fake. The double action feature is handy for rapid shots and the single action is great for accuracy. Accuracy! This pistol has it!! Although my pistol shoots high, with everyday cheapie wadcutters I get a 1 inch group with a two hand hold at 10 meters!!! Excellent pistol. I could not jam this pistol no matter how fast I pulled the trigger. Excellent fit and finish. Realistic weight and feel. Thumb safety like the original too.

    Things I would have changed: I'd like to see a blow back version. C02 cartidges in my pistol are very hard to pierce. It maybe a fluke. I'm waiting to hear back from Umarex. I'd like to see an inexpensive (under $25) adjustable rear sight available for the fixed sight version. Or variable height front sight replacement blades. My gun shoots quite high at 10 meters. I'd like to see inexpensive wood grips (under $20) or even wood colored plastic. The black grips make the gun look "cheap". I'd like a little lighter spring on the grip safety. You have to grip the gun quite tight to disable it and causes your shots to string if your not careful. I'd like to see more fps. I'm getting 420-430 fps but I'd like 450 plus. I'd take less shots per C02 cartridge for more power and flatter shooting.

    What others should know: If you already own a real 1911 and want inexpensive practice or always wanted a 45 but can't afford one this pellet pistol will fill the bill and your holster. A great addition to your collection.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2010-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a very well built pellet gun and is as realistic as they come. Love the single and double action. Gives realistic practice on a budget

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight could use more adjustment for windage and elevation.

    What others should know: This pistol is so realistic you may find a after market rear sight that will work great.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gunner from USA on 2008-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: This colt is made completely of metal which makes it feel like the real deal classic colt. It's amazing accuracy and power make for a gun that you'll be glad you bought. I love this gun!

    Things I would have changed: Only the safety on the butt of the gun because you have to grasp the handle pretty firmly.

    What others should know: Don't have too much fun!

     
  • Previous 123 Next
Navigation