Date: 21/3/2019 0:39
0

Umarex Legends Cowboy. 2251817. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (61 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Mark from USA on 2018-09-08 12:11:39

Things I liked: I'm jumping the "gun" on this rifle, but for those of you who are collecting the Single Action Army HAND ENGRAVED AND LIMITED TO 100 pistols, please contact Pyramyd Air and ask them to make 100 of these in hand engraved to match those pistols and limit them to 100, as well. Talk about a nice wall hanger!!!

Things I would have changed: I was sure hoping Umarex would make these with a real wood stocks. Maybe if we request a limited edition of (100) with real wood stocks, they may consider doing 100 of them. I hear the plastic stocks may actually be polymer... which is much nicer than plastic. We will see when they are finally released.

What others should know: This is not an actual review of this rifle because they haven't been released yet. It is simply a request to try to get Pyramyd Air to do 100 engraved rifles. And... to see if we can get Umarex to make 100 with real wood. The five star rating I left is IN HOPES that I will love this gun when I get one.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Jonpaul from USA on 2019-02-15 13:09:55

Things I liked: The action and loading method is really realistic. The operating method is damn near identical to a side loading centerfire lever action. Trigger is decent. The CO2 holding method is 100% concealed in the butt stock.

Things I would have changed: If only the stock was actually wood rather than plastic. It's very well done plastic, but still, it's plastic. It's awesome that the CO2 is hidden, but it does make it challenging to recharge the rifle.

What others should know: It's a BB gun. Accuracy is BB gun like (basically you can regularly hit a beer can at 10 paces). It's not awful, but some of these reviews saying things like shooting dimes at 30 yards seems rather fanciful. The loading method, while very authentic, is fraught with the same issues as a real side loading lever action. Sometimes the ammo hangs up slightly when pushing the rounds in. The gate and the catch that grabs the ammo inside the gun like to try to bite your thumb. The lever action is really quite stiff. I own a Henry .22 and a Marlin .44 lever action. My friends own Henry rifles, Marlin .45/70's, Winchester .30/30's and other lever guns. Their actions are FAR easier to operate. The action does NOT chamber the round. The round is raised via an elevator and held against the back of the barrel and the CO2 port. Upon firing, the next round is popped straight up, ejecting the round above it. Two hundred dollars is not exactly a trivial amount, but it sure is fun.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2019-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Another awesome replica. I like that it uses the 12g CO2 cartridges. Really fun rifle to shoot with the spent bullets flying out the top as you lever a new one in place.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of a thing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Edgar from USA on 2019-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun was as described, it shoots great.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2019-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I own 3 Winchester lever action rifles in 45 colt, 410 ga and 22. The UMAREX is true to the originals in weight, looks and feel. It is very accurate at 50 feet. I can hit a 3" target all day. The co2 loading is not complicated an could easily be done in the field. I own a UMAREX 45 Peace Maker and the shells for that pistol work great in this rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the finish on the metal parts were blued like the original.

    What others should know: Cocking this rifle while in shooting position is rough on my hand. I just drop it down and cock it like a Red Ryder. This also ensures a complete stroke with no misload. I get about 60 shots per co2 loads (2 co2 cartridges).

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William G. from USA on 2019-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy and power.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chester on 2019-03-03
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Full size Very much like live rifles

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Get one

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James Country from USA on 2019-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The realistic feel and action of the riffle. The maker gave a lot attention to the details to make it look and feel like a Winchester. A friend and I were shooting and when I went to load CO2 cartridges in he was amazed that had a plastic stock. This after shooting it serval times.

    Things I would have changed: Not sure I would change anything.

    What others should know: This is not the air gun for a bench and percission shooting. It works great for keeping in practice in your basement waiting for Spring ant better weather. Trigger pull is what it should be for a Winchester.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2019-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: love the lever action and the shells fly, has a good real fell

    Things I would have changed: i cant think any thing that will make it any more fun to shoot

    What others should know: shells fly keep you grass short

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ken from USA on 2019-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: As a collector, I always look for realism in a replica. I must say that Umerex has done a great job on this replica. It's about as close as you can get to the "real steel" version. Nice weight and balance. Accuracy is very impressive with the iron sights, I own the Colt Peacemaker, and this rifle shares the same cartridges, and the rifle is the perfect companion.

    Things I would have changed: Replace the "plastic" stock and forend with real wood. Create a licensed version of the original old west 1892/1894 rifle or carbine. Correct any cartridge loading issues.

    What others should know: You will be impressed with the visual and mechanical beauty of this airgun along with the accuracy. Purchase additional cartridges

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By adam from USA on 2019-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent weight and feel, just like the real deal without the noise. Shot count per CO2 change is excellent, 55 or so good shots. This is my 5th Legends gun, their realistic weight and function always impress. I had read in alot of forums to try pellets in it, despite the smoothbore this makes for excellent accuracy, just be sure to seat the pellet flush in the grommet in back of the shell.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe an optional wood stock, and a rifled barrel.

    What others should know: You won't be disappointed. Despite the plastic stock the guns appearance and function make this another great addition to the Legends lineup.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2019-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: WONDERFULL replica.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: GREAT air gun

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2019-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Just received my rifle a week ago. Waited with anticipation. Already have a Colt Peace Maker pellet pistol. This is a super addition to my cowboy outfit. Rifle is everything I expected. The plastic stock is very realistic. The fact it is plastic does not take away from the quality of this rifle. Accuracy is fantastic. Been shooting at 50 feet at a swinging plastic Coke bottle hung from a tree and it is right on. Hits hard. Very pleased. Reloading the shells is not a bother for me because I'm used to it from shooting the Colt pistol. Haven't tried pellets yet but I'm sure it'll be fine. Waiting for Pigeon season to come back. The pistol does great and I expect the rifle will do better. Great fun. The action is superb.

    Things I would have changed: Love to see it with a rifled barrel. Love to see Umarex offer an upgrade to purchase a rifled barrel.

    What others should know: Buy more shells. That's the first ting I did when I bought my pistol.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2019-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful replica. Feels like the real thing.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Can't go wrong, with this.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jonpaul from USA on 2019-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The action and loading method is really realistic. The operating method is damn near identical to a side loading centerfire lever action. Trigger is decent. The CO2 holding method is 100% concealed in the butt stock.

    Things I would have changed: If only the stock was actually wood rather than plastic. It's very well done plastic, but still, it's plastic. It's awesome that the CO2 is hidden, but it does make it challenging to recharge the rifle.

    What others should know: It's a BB gun. Accuracy is BB gun like (basically you can regularly hit a beer can at 10 paces). It's not awful, but some of these reviews saying things like shooting dimes at 30 yards seems rather fanciful. The loading method, while very authentic, is fraught with the same issues as a real side loading lever action. Sometimes the ammo hangs up slightly when pushing the rounds in. The gate and the catch that grabs the ammo inside the gun like to try to bite your thumb. The lever action is really quite stiff. I own a Henry .22 and a Marlin .44 lever action. My friends own Henry rifles, Marlin .45/70's, Winchester .30/30's and other lever guns. Their actions are FAR easier to operate. The action does NOT chamber the round. The round is raised via an elevator and held against the back of the barrel and the CO2 port. Upon firing, the next round is popped straight up, ejecting the round above it. Two hundred dollars is not exactly a trivial amount, but it sure is fun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By steve from USA on 2019-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Authentic looks. Accuracy. Power. A dead ringer for functionality-it cant get anymore realistic than this. The only thing missing is the smell of gunpowder.

    Things I would have changed: While functionality is great, I still wish it loaded via a magazine. Picking up the "empty" cartridges off the ground and having to "reload" them with new ammo gets bothersome after awhile. A 15-20 round magazine would be nice where you could fire off that many rounds and not have to worry about the bothersome picking up the cases and reloading them. Just reload the magazine and have another go, if it had one. Also I wish the gun was scope-able.I havent had the gun outside for serious long range target work because of the Feb. temperatures (CO2, you know), but from the short ranges in my garage using pellets, Im sure its worthy of a scope at medium distances. I wonder how long those rubber inserts in the base of the cartridges will last? Can we buy more of those?

    What others should know: Im glad that Umarex upgraded the gun to shoot BBs at the higher velocity which means it will also shoot pellets faster. After all, 410 fps for a double cartridge CO2 rifle with a long barrel wasnt that impressive. Ive got the upgraded version. It means that it will shoot lead pellets that have more impact. BBs at 600 fps arent that accurate, even though they were giving me almost 1 (big) hole groups at 15'. Stretch that out to that many yards and the BBs start impacting all over the place. Stick with light or alloy pellets. If this gun holds up after a few thousand shots and doesnt develop a bunch of problems in the coming months, then its well worth the ratings Ive assigned it. Its a new model, so we'll see.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By STEVEN from USA on 2019-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: OVERALL I LIKE THE FEEL OF IT . SHOOTS A .25 AT 15 YARDS . USING JSB PELLETS . GREAT TARGET RIFLE AND FOR SMALL PESTS LIKE GOPHERS .

    What others should know: MAKE SURE TO LUBE CO2 CHAMBER EVERY SO OFTEN OR IT WILL LEAK CO2

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joel from USA on 2019-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Literally everything, first 4 shots out of box at 30 yds, inch and one half ,dead nuts. I was using 7 grain RWS wadcutters.This rifle is all its chalked up to be. I own 8 air guns, and as soon as I started shooting this one it became my favorite.

    Things I would have changed: Rifle the barrel, even though it shoots like it is rifled.

    What others should know: Several people have mentioned that sometimes only one capsule pierces, it happened to me. I learned a little trick with my mp-40 which has two capsules. Drop a dime on top of the second capsule, it gives an extra 40 thousands of an inch in tightening depth, problem fixed. The dime is the same size as capsule well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2019-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its fun to shoot

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ralph from USA on 2019-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: Gun functioned well and was very accurate at 11yds

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kelvin from USA on 2019-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: realistic feel and look of rifle

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: really nice air rifle for the money

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2019-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have a Henry 1893 style in 22 Mag and I swear I cannot tell them apart at a glance. Same goes for when you pick it up. Great feel and a very smooth operation right out of the box. Weather keeping me from breaking it in but I'm looking forward to it. Goes well with my Walther Pellet and my A&K Special Edition M1892 High Power Lever Action Airsoft Gas Sniper Rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I found the butt plate made out of fairly soft plastic difficult to get used to at first. The spring loaded circular plastic CO2 port cover should probably be hardened and possibly redesigned to make it a little more robust. At first I wasn't sure exactly how much pressure to apply to it to cause it to open and because of the slot molded into it I grabbed my trusty quarter to use as a screw driver. The soft plastic didn't take kindly to the coin and I actually dug into the soft plastic with very little effort. I later determined that all that was needed was a firm push in on the "button" with your thumb and a twist and the "button" comes out. This is not clearly spelled out in the Users Manual. Cheap fix would be making the butt plate, "button" and all with tougher nylon or something else. I can see requesting a replacement part at some point.

    What others should know: I bought quite a few spare cartridges since without them the gun doesn't operate. I predict this will be a classic and a must have for many years to come. I sat for nearly a year on the waiting list but it was well worth it. I like the emphasis on realistic operation and I can't wait to see what Umarex comes up with in their joint venture with Springfield Armory.

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation