Date: 21/10/2018 11:44
0

H&N Silver Point .177 Cal, 11.57 Grains, Pointed, 500ct reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (15 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:4.0

By Craig from USA on 2011-05-28 12:27:28

Things I liked: Out of all 11 pellets I've now tested (bought through Pyramyd Air), from 4.0gr - 15.8gr, these are my absolute top favorite pellet! I use them for shooting birds from the size of house sparrows to pigeons. They outpenetrate any other pellet I've ever tested. That includes the 10.2gr Baracuda, 10.65gr Baracuda Match, 13.0gr Predator Heavy-Weight, and the 15.8gr Predator Big Boy. The 13.0gr Predator Heavy-Weight penetrate 2nd best to these, with the 10.2gr Baracuda and 10.65gr Baracuda Match and 15.8gr Predator Big Boy, all tieing for 3rd place in penetration depth.

Things I would have changed: Find a way to damage less skirts. I've never had a tin of pellet with more damaged skirts in it than I have with these. As many as were damaged, they had to have come that way from the factory where they were made. The really strange part about the damaged skirts, is that even when they're badly damaged, they still generally shoot to the same point of aim as the ones with perfect skirts. I think it's because of the extra heavy head design of the pellet, which also appears to have an extra wide bearing surphase contacting the bore of the gun. Good or bad skirt doesn't seem to matter much with these.

What others should know: The only airgun I own is a Daisy 880 Powerline. According to my CED M2 Chronograph they average 525 fps at 10 pumps. 10 shot groups from an honest 15 yards were consistently 1/2" or less, with 3/8" groups quite common when being careful to discard the ones with bad skirts. Shooting 5 shot groups gives 1/4" groups quite often. And again, they outpenetrate any other pellet I've ever tested. You can click to view all my reviews to see all 11 pellets I've tested and the velocity from my Daisy 880 Powerline at 10 pumps.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:1.0

By Nils from USA on 2012-12-17 20:49:25

Things I liked: Not much of anything. Poor quality, bad skirts, high cost for what you get. If I wanted a shoot gun these would be the pellets I would use. Shot these through my Gamo Whisper, Air Arms Mk III, Benjamin Marauder all in .177 Cal. The Gamo did the best of the three only because I did not expect it to do very good. Shooting these through the Air Arms and Marauder did nothing but waste my time: Group of 2-4" at 30 yards on a sand bag.

Things I would have changed: Overall quality control.

What others should know: If these work in your gun go ahead and use them. If you know someone who has some try theirs before you spend your money on a full can.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Not sure why these are so expensive but hey, I won't lie. That's why I bought them. What stood out, other than the price was the pellet weight at 11 or so grains. I wanted to see how my Benjamin Trail pistol would handle the difference. Not so well it seems. Way more ricochets than usual. Oh well, just one more reason to get that 1400 FPS rifle I guess. :)

    Things I would have changed: Make em pointier.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice tin.

    Things I would have changed: A little tight in the chamber of both my guns. Takes a hard push to seat them, and I find a pellet seater is a minor pain.

    What others should know: I have an Air Arms TX200 and Gamo BIg Cat 1200. The Big Cat is very picky about pellets, only shooting JSB Exact Diabolo 8.44gr and H&N Barracuda Match 10.65gr well. I'm not at all suprised the Big Cat will not shoot this pellet. I am surprised my AA TX200 won't shoot it either. It will shoot close to dime sized groups at 20yd with several brands and weights of pellets, but it this one gets quarter sized groups at best. Your gun may differ, but I would try other pellets first.

  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2015-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have shot them out of my modded 1377's and they hit there mark no prob dusted many a starling with them .I don't own a crony so I don't know what the fps is but I know I can kill rabbits with my 1377 with hese I have bagged on at about 10yards.I have not tested them in my break barrels yet.

    Things I would have changed: drop the price.

    What others should know: Ya won't know what your gun like to shoot til ya try them, so try them.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ivan from USA on 2015-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The fact it is an H&N pellet, screw top lid, quality of and appearance of pellet

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: These were very poor in accuracy with my Benjamin Regal, but may do well in your sir rifle..

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: These are extremely accurate from my .177 Gamo Silent Stalker Whisper IGT Air Rifle with enough weight for the whisper to really work.

    Things I would have changed: Please, leave them alone.

    What others should know: I use a Air Venturi loader so I don't have issues with skirt deformation. With this pellet the whisper function brings the sound down to what my Beeman/Webley .177 Tempest sounds like when using the Gamo Platinums. Way backyard friendly.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2014-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Heavy weight

    What others should know: Most accurate pellet I have found for my smoothbore M35 at 30 ft range. More accurate than BBs in my gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2014-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Hits chipmunks and red squirrels hard!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Had these in a H&N pellet sampler and after trying many .177 pellets in my brothers early 90's Benjamin pump 397, these H&N Silver Points shoot AMAZING! Other pellets shot well but these were stacking on top of each other at 15 and 20 yards. It should be noted the 397 was rebuilt and steroided by Mac 1 air guns. For testing we only pumped the gun the normal 8 pumps. More than one red squirrel and chipmunk has fallen to the 397 now!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Edwin from USA on 2014-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: shape of pellet itself

    Things I would have changed: i dont know

    What others should know: again pellets seem to be in good shape, so far with H&N pellets i found very few defective pellets, 25 yards 8 in circle pretty much a streight line down in springer, will use in my pcp.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stealdynamix from USA on 2012-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: the shape when i bought these i was kind of not expecting what i expected i thought they would be like the rabbit magnums but they arnt these are really really accurate

    Things I would have changed: nothing at all

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Nils from USA on 2012-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Not much of anything. Poor quality, bad skirts, high cost for what you get. If I wanted a shoot gun these would be the pellets I would use. Shot these through my Gamo Whisper, Air Arms Mk III, Benjamin Marauder all in .177 Cal. The Gamo did the best of the three only because I did not expect it to do very good. Shooting these through the Air Arms and Marauder did nothing but waste my time: Group of 2-4" at 30 yards on a sand bag.

    Things I would have changed: Overall quality control.

    What others should know: If these work in your gun go ahead and use them. If you know someone who has some try theirs before you spend your money on a full can.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Graison from USA on 2012-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Using these out of a Gamo Bone Collector 177 i had excellent consistency and accuracy, with quarter sized groups at 25 yards. A good overall weight for a air gun such as the bone collector or anything with some velocity behind it. I have a pan set up in my back yard, and these seem to smack it pretty good, sounds like someone hitting a baseball out of the park.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, decent pellets overall.

    What others should know: Straight forward 4/5 pellet. Excellent for hunting medium sized critters like a ground hog/porcupine/rabbit/skunk anything with a tougher mass and bone structure than a squirrel or bird.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tayler from USA on 2012-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice quality, no damaged skirts.

    Things I would have changed: They would simply not fit in my airgun, maybe I got a bad batch or something but they did not fit in my RWS 34.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By earl from USA on 2011-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: these pellets are great out of my gamo cfx. ten shots at 30 yards in a dime size hole. wish they shot this way out of all my springers.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: they remind me of the beeman silver jets which were great out of my fwb124.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Craig from USA on 2011-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Out of all 11 pellets I've now tested (bought through Pyramyd Air), from 4.0gr - 15.8gr, these are my absolute top favorite pellet! I use them for shooting birds from the size of house sparrows to pigeons. They outpenetrate any other pellet I've ever tested. That includes the 10.2gr Baracuda, 10.65gr Baracuda Match, 13.0gr Predator Heavy-Weight, and the 15.8gr Predator Big Boy. The 13.0gr Predator Heavy-Weight penetrate 2nd best to these, with the 10.2gr Baracuda and 10.65gr Baracuda Match and 15.8gr Predator Big Boy, all tieing for 3rd place in penetration depth.

    Things I would have changed: Find a way to damage less skirts. I've never had a tin of pellet with more damaged skirts in it than I have with these. As many as were damaged, they had to have come that way from the factory where they were made. The really strange part about the damaged skirts, is that even when they're badly damaged, they still generally shoot to the same point of aim as the ones with perfect skirts. I think it's because of the extra heavy head design of the pellet, which also appears to have an extra wide bearing surphase contacting the bore of the gun. Good or bad skirt doesn't seem to matter much with these.

    What others should know: The only airgun I own is a Daisy 880 Powerline. According to my CED M2 Chronograph they average 525 fps at 10 pumps. 10 shot groups from an honest 15 yards were consistently 1/2" or less, with 3/8" groups quite common when being careful to discard the ones with bad skirts. Shooting 5 shot groups gives 1/4" groups quite often. And again, they outpenetrate any other pellet I've ever tested. You can click to view all my reviews to see all 11 pellets I've tested and the velocity from my Daisy 880 Powerline at 10 pumps.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alan from USA on 2010-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nicely formed pellets. Good shocking power.

    Things I would have changed: The price. But I had to try them.

    What others should know: There are a good number of competitor's pellets that are almost a third of the price that will out perform in penetration and accuracy, at least in my guns (10).

     
Navigation