Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2014-06-17 14:47:33

    Things I liked:Looks and feel.
    Things I would have changed:Cocking effort is so great it takes all I have to accomplish it! Takes all the fun out of shooting. My son-in-law, much younger and stronger than I, also had a very hard time getting it cocked. I've noticed in the specifications that the cocking effort is not listed, now I know why! This actually could be quite dangerous if care is not applied during the process.
    What others should know:I can rate the gun on everything but the accuracy. By the time I finally got it ready to shoot I was too tired to hold it steady! I have a Beeman P17 w/kit for sale. Gun is like new, only fired twice!
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 910 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Linda from USA on 2014-09-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love this air pistol! Lightweight, accurate and easy trigger pull. I have been using this around our 2 acres to eradicate our huge grasshopper problem. I can say this has been a great "grasshopper popper"!
      What others should know:I also use this for target practice, using Crossman pointed pellets for target and wadcutter pellets for grasshoppers. This is a very accurate air pistol and for the money I believe it is the best buy out there. You can't go wrong with this pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeremiah from USA on 2014-09-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feels solid and hits hard. I can pick off army men from 35ft. I started out with Crossman .177 pointed pellets and there were a lot of fliers. Mainly because the pointed pellets fit too loose in the breech. I tried the CPHP and that was all it took for this gun to be incredibly accurate. So far I put about 1250 shots and it still works perfect. A buddy of mine got one with a trigger problem, but he told me to open the big spring some to create more tension when in place. Since then his has been shooting perfect, no more trigger problem.
      Things I would have changed: The breech loading is akward, but I've read some reviewers who took a dremel to fit pellet pen. If you don't want to dremel, a pellet pen can still be used to get the pellet in the breech but you still have to push pellet in with finger. The Crossman ammo pouch is a great alternative to the tin they come in.
      What others should know:Give the main piston some white lithium grease every couple hundred shots. Also put some thread lock on the screw for elevation adjustment. Before I did that the screw was loose enough to back itself out. Now it's perfect. If you have been considering purchasing this gun, buy it. It is worth every dollar. I usually don't write reviews but this gun is such a great shooter and a great deal, I had to.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2014-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, trigger and price. It is accurate out of the box and improved after a good cleaning of the barrel. I'm getting sub dime sized groups at 10m w/ open sights. The trigger is adjustable to get a fairly clean, light break. Mine is shooting some 8gr wadcutters at 410fps.
      Things I would have changed:QA control... mine came with a torn breech o-ring which was easily replaced by a visit to the hardware store. Otherwise the gun is fine.
      What others should know:For $40 this gun is a great deal! The cocking effort is fairly stiff, especially closing the action fully. My 11 year old son can't close it w/o resting the grip on the ground and pressing down on the upper (slide?). I took the piston out (easy, one set screw followed by pushing out a pin) cleaned it and lubed it with Krytox GPL 205 grease. I also deburred, polished sliding surfaces and moly greased the trigger & hammer mechanism. Its not very difficult to do & there are some good online tutorials. Now the cocking effort is smoother and easier and the trigger feel is further improved.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DANIEL from USA on 2014-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:cheap cheap cheap The best gun you can ever have for no money spent
      Things I would have changed:put it in a box like the P1 or P3. I shoot the P17 a lot more than I shoot the P3. I don't think i will be able to say that about a P1 if I can ever afford one.
      What others should know:this is a lot of gun for little money. Get as many as you can before Beeman wises up and charges more. I have received one defective gun out of five purchased but Pyramyd Air will give you a return label then fix it or give you a new one.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pcp4me from USA on 2014-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Price, accuracy, ease of use. This gun is VERY accurate. Very low priced, but prone to problems. If you are handy working on guns, this is a great buy!
      Things I would have changed:The seals! Mine started leaking and I had to replace every seal, which is no easy task. But once I replaced them with BETTER seals, the problems were gone permanently! I used durometer 90 viton seals, and expect this will last a lifetime. Beeman should do this as a must from the start and even if the gun costs $10 more, so what? It would STILL be a great gun at that price!
      What others should know:This gun is extremely accurate, and fun to shoot. BUT even after replacing all the seals, if you cock it and leave it over night, it leaks down. But to cock and shoot as you normally would, it works great and is WAY more accurate than I am!! From a solid bench rest, it shoots one hole groups just barely larger than the pellet for 10 shots at 25'! SO...if you are handy at working on guns, buy one, and when it starts leaking or malfunctioning, take it apart, replace all the seals with better ones and enjoy! Just don't ever expect it to hold air overnight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Arpad from USA on 2014-07-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The overall feel,fiber optic sights, automatic "safety-on", smooth trigger action and out-of-the-box accuracy. I'm no great shot, but my first round from 20 feet was within 3/4 in from target dead center. Not being tied to a co2 cartridge is great! Partially cocking the gun without loading a pellet and dry firing is great for learning trigger feel.
      Things I would have changed:As others have said, pellet loading and cocking effort can be hard. I solved the pellet loading problem using a section of soda straw, insert the pellet in the end, align with the breech and press home with a thin wooden dowel. The manufacturer could develop its idea further. The hard cocking turned out to be an advantage. Since I gas using it to teach my grandson range safety and marksmanship, the break in the action while I cocked it gave me extra time for "words of shooting wisdom".
      What others should know:To get such accuracy at this price is teriffic. If you look, there is enough good advice in cyberspace (pyramyd and youtube) to anticipate and overcome problems. The smile on my grandson's face the first time he came within a nickel of dead center was worth a million. This P17 is a super gun both for shooting instruction and my own plinking pleasure.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2014-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light, Comfortable, and accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, Perfect the way it is.
      What others should know:Great gun for the price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Superb value for the money. Very accurate. Light trigger pull. Good sights.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Karl from USA on 2014-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, accuracy, trigger, weight, fit in hand
      Things I would have changed:Rear sight adjustment changes.
      What others should know:Based on what I read, I was expecting maybe an O-ring problem but I had a trigger problem after 60-70 shots. Inside, the sear had a burr which caused the internal hammer to hang every 20-30 shots. I used a file to remove it, no problems after that. The sight elevation screw moves clockwise a bit with every shot, I will need to loctite it. Left bicep was hurting after doing 30 - 40 shots a day for several days to see if the gun would fail. The joint between the upper and lower parts is a little uneven. I imagine the P3 and HW40 versions maybe nicer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mark from USA on 2014-06-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the price, this pistol can't be beat. No recoil, low noise, fine trigger, good ergonomics all help make this an accurate pistol. Hasn't been finicky about pellets whether they be rifle or pistol match, or even the less precise alternatives. Sights are fine for hitting cans, rotten fruit or even the wife's Beenie Baby collection. Nice to have the built in scope rails.
      Things I would have changed:Make the hole where the fake hammer sits bigger so you can load the barrel with a pellet pen-straight shot, instead of the somewhat awkward way of loading it. Took a Dremel tool and in 2 min. made one of the easiest mods. to make this pistol a dream to load.
      What others should know:The trigger, except on much higher priced guns, is just about perfect. You can adjust out most of the fist stage or leave it long. The second stage is as crisp as a Diana pistol. For 40 bucks it's a fine, fine trigger. I have 2 of these pistols both with Aimpoint red dots and they're a hoot. The red dots also make it easier to close during the compression stroke. No more pinched finger fat or wrestling the pump closed while having the web slide up the rear sight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By steve from USA on 2014-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good power and accuracy. Best value in a precision airgun. Looks like a real firearm.
      Things I would have changed:Don't like Tru-Glo sights on an air pistol. 3 fuzzy dots are not conducive to accuracy. Hard to load the pellets. Rear sight interfers with charging.
      What others should know:Similar to the Gamo AF-10, but the larger P-17 has more power and is single-shot only. This model is known for pump seal issues. Would make an excellent first airgun, but charging effort may be too high for women or kids. Make sure the pellets are seated completely, or you may damage the breech seal.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Wayne from USA on 2014-06-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks and feel.
      Things I would have changed:Cocking effort is so great it takes all I have to accomplish it! Takes all the fun out of shooting. My son-in-law, much younger and stronger than I, also had a very hard time getting it cocked. I've noticed in the specifications that the cocking effort is not listed, now I know why! This actually could be quite dangerous if care is not applied during the process.
      What others should know:I can rate the gun on everything but the accuracy. By the time I finally got it ready to shoot I was too tired to hold it steady! I have a Beeman P17 w/kit for sale. Gun is like new, only fired twice!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By EJ from USA on 2014-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I ordered two P17's-sent one back after about twenty five shots even though I had done the 10 for $10 that PA offers. lost compression-seal I imagine. Had no experience at the time. PA did the usual quick turn around-no hassle-good service. I wanted to be able to fix if necessary so I found some online info and bought some 0rings. After a few hundred pellets, the ring where the barrel closes had a cut in it-probably my fault- so I changed piston ring and that seal ring before it failed. I use that P17 all the time and have about 4000 pellets thru it-still LOVE it! other P17 only has 200-300 rounds thru it.
      What others should know:When I shot in a league (with the P17) last winter, I let one of the bullseye shooters try it. He irritated me, after two site-in shots he put it in the 10 ring! It shoots better than I can! It may cock a little hard for some folks, but my fifteen year old granddaughter managed just fine. I'm of slight build and 71, but I love this gun! Just watch the finger and shirt pinches--and ladies tilt it away from your front! and use the open hand to close it! You may have to locktite your rear sight adjustment, and check once in a while, the hinge pins can work out a little.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Frank from USA on 2014-06-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate, solid, decent trigger, nice weight and balance. I actually sold my HW pistols and bought a second P17 after shooting both side by side for a while. Put a red dot on one and it is great for outdoor plinking.
      Things I would have changed:Grips are small for my XXL hands. I would gladly pay more for better quality control and also better maintenance and repair instructions (include some spare o-rings). Also I would pay more for better quality interchangeable grips. They should do a $100 target version but I could see it cannibalizing the German Beeman/HW sales.
      What others should know:Compared to my HW75, the trigger creeps a bit and the cocking is more difficult by half. And the plastic build isn't as nice, the in-place grips are better than plastic Crosman grips but that ain't saying much. But overall it is a tremendous value! I was scared of the repairs and quality control stories but I have bought two from PA now and both have been fine out of the box.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By leo from USA on 2014-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:one of the best values out there for 40 bucks.i love this gun. has a great feel to it, it shoots great and is quite accurate, what more could you want?
      Things I would have changed:not a thing!
      What others should know:I bought this gun to have something to shoot without always having to go out and buy co2, boy what a pleasant surprise,i hope they keep making this model gun for a long time to come, because I'm the kind of guy that would like to see bunches of other shooters get the enjoyment I get out of shooting such a great fun gun!!!CAN"T go wrong here!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2014-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price! Accuracy. Balance. Price! My brother has the German P3 version of this China made gun. I almost didn't buy this, because my experience with Chinese made stuff has been terrible. I thought for $39 it was worth the risk. I have now put over 4,000 rounds of just about every type of pellet through it, and it works well with all of them. It is acceptably accurate. I can "walk around" a 6 X 6 target of 1" squares at 7 yards, with only the occasional "flyer." I would like to blame the gun, but . . . .
      Things I would have changed:I have read about people not liking the sights, or the trigger, but come on, its a $39 pistol and is a great value. Spend $239 on the P3 and earn the right to complain about something.
      What others should know:Needs better quality control. I feel lucky with the one I got. My son-in-law ordered 10 of them as groomsmen gifts, and 5 of them were either DOA, or failed within a few shots. To the best of my knowledge they were replaced quickly, but still.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lee from USA on 2014-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The size, the feel, the price, the trigger and the way it shoots. The gun will out-perform me, and is a pleasure to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:nothing.
      What others should know:I ordered this gun while waiting for a P3 to become available. I was worried because of negative reviews, but decided I couldn't go too wrong for $40. If it broke, I wouldn't be afraid to work on it. After about 800 shots, the P3 arrived and I have shot them both to compare. The P3 is a better gun and I am more consistent with it, but it cost 6 times as much. Love both pistols, and plan to leave them both to my grandson. Don't think I will live long enough to wear ether one out.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Stan from USA on 2014-05-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything is good,trigger, accuracy, weight & looks. for the price awesome
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:when cocking watch for fingers & t shirts lol
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Frank from USA on 2014-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Boy you can't beat the price, worth it to do the $10 test for ten offer to make sure you get a working one out of the box. Mine is surprisingly good brand new, knock on wood, after reading the internet I was scared!
      Things I would have changed:They should do higher quality control level and charge fairly for it - and include a few spare O-rings. Some interchangeable grips would be nice. It is hard to cock but that's the nature of the beast. I don't find it that hard to load even with wadcutters but I have used other overlevers.
      What others should know:The fiber optic sights are nice for beginners but not so accurate after you settle down... but for this level pistol they're fine. I have this as a good second so that friends can shoot with me and they like them.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Ogre8472 from USA on 2014-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This looks just like a modern firearm. It has a good balance in the hand and points easily. The sights are easy to use at short range.
      Things I would have changed:Make the safety ambidextrous! I can reach it but I have large hands. Someone with smaller hands would have a little trouble to release it.
      What others should know:Make sure you open the top all the way slowly. I found that if you don't it will not give you all shes got. Flat palm when closing this pistol too or it will give you a nasty pinch!
    • 123 ... 910 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top