Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By scott from USA on 2014-09-20 14:54:04

    Things I liked:Accuracy was great. Trigger was fantastic for a $40 pellet pistol.
    Things I would have changed:Some of the components are the cheapest quality imaginable. I fired 4 shots fired before the compression chamber started leaking. It would lose gas on the compression stroke. At first I thought it was a seal, which would be real easy to replace, but I disassembled the gun and tested the chamber under water to find the seam at the rear of the chamber had failed. It is a pressed joint that has no business as part of a compression chamber. Unbelievable that it is built like this.
    What others should know:Waste of $40. Should have bought something else.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 1011 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Joe_Bob1999 from USA on 2014-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The trigger is very smooth. Auto safety feature is simple and effective. Accurate!
      Things I would have changed:Don't care for the sights, they are sharp and dig into your hand when cocking. Be careful you don't pinch your hand when you close the top. The "hammer" cocking latch shouldn't look like a hammer. Several times new shooters tried to cock it unlocking the catch. Back seam of the grip had a sharp edge that I had to shave down and smooth.
      What others should know:Outstanding for the price even with it's quirks. Solid 400+ fps with more than 200 rounds through it. Small fingers really help when loading pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Stuart from USA on 2014-12-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very accurate, fun to shoot
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:does take a good amount of pressure to pump gun
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Carl from USA on 2014-12-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Obviously, the price is a big plus. It shoots very accurately. The sites that come on the gun are adequate. The trigger pull is better than any other air gun I own.
      Things I would have changed:Having said the good things about the trigger, sometimes the gun would not fire when the trigger is pulled.
      What others should know:The gun is difficult to close when cocking. While it is a great gun for the money, there are issues that may cause you to doubt the wisdom of your purchase.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2014-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price! Trigger! Accuracy!
      Things I would have changed:Better fit/finish. Scrape the top rail - it's very sharp on the edges, and this is were you have to put a lot of press to cock the gun. Given the single pump style, why would you ever mount anything.
      What others should know:The seams are a little rough. Used my dremel with a fine grinding stone and went all over the gun. The feel now is excellent and you can really notice that it has been sanded. I also used the dremel to remove the edge off the dove tail rail.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2014-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price, Quality, adjustments available, trigger pull.
      Things I would have changed:Sharp edges on the plastic housing, will be sanded slightly. Not the easiest to load or pressure up.
      What others should know:Great starter gun for those who want to club shoot or just plinking.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2014-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the feel and the smoothness of the gun. strait out of the package bulls eye accurate I cant say enough about how accurate it is. the ballance of the gun is perfect tiny bit of recoil but shoots the same spot every time at 40 ft. so accurate no sights needed point and shoot amazeing.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the color to blue
      What others should know:for the price it is a steel cant go wrong. oh and from the reviews it takes a man to cock this 28 pnd gun lol
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2014-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This SSP has a great trigger and is very accurate. Since each shot is propelled by a consistent charge of air, the big limit is the skill of the shooter. The size of the pistol is also perfect.
      Things I would have changed:The pumping stroke requires considerable strength. It may not work well for smaller folks.
      What others should know:This pistol is a great value. Some folks have had trouble with quality issues, but mine was perfect from the start.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bob from USA on 2014-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality is great. Nice and heavy like real firearm.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:This is a great value for the money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By SeungY. from USA on 2014-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:yes it is accurate and good price.
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:you just need pellets and p17 and you can have lots of fun with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Barry from USA on 2014-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:As an air-gunning noob, I was looking to get into the sport without a lot of expense. After reading many of the reviews online I decided to take a chance on the P17 - most folks said it was a good value, but there were some concerns over build quality. So far I've put about 200 pellets through the gun and it's been a blast! Yes, it can take a little while to get used to the force needed to cock it, and yes, it is a little cumbersome at first to load pellets into the tight space, but these are things you grow accustomed to very quickly. Aside from some very minor comments on the coarseness of a couple of the seams/edges in the plastic, I really have no complaints. I can't believe this gun was only $40! As a newbie this was also my first purchase from Pyramyd Air. Great service, quick processing and shipping, easy to use website - I'm sure that I'm coming back to buy again.
      Things I would have changed:At this price, nothing.
      What others should know:I'd be fascinated to see what the difference is between this gun and the much more expensive German-made P3. My guess is at this point I'm too inexperienced to really be able to tell the m apart, so I'm looking forward to shooting quite a bit with the P17. Great weight, great balance, smooth trigger and I like the fiber optic sights.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeremiah from USA on 2014-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Engineered to be solid and simple to fix. 410fps may not sound like much but it is pretty impressive. I like to take old pharmacy prescription bottles and fill them with water. Then cap it with the thread side of cap to where this no air bubble. From 30ft with hollowpoints the bottles just explode, its fun. Also, I like to take the glue gun and put a bunch of army men all over my target area. It's pretty satisfying to pick 'em off at 30-35ft. Incredible accuracy, shot after shot. My O-rings went out at 2500 shots. When I took it apart I could tell that the o-rings weren't that great to start with. I'm the type of person who likes to take things apart and fix them, and I must say that even for me this was a very easy fix. But if you are new to the disassembly of this pistol, I believe there are Youtube videos. I took me about 10min to fix mine. For the price, this is an awesome pellet pistol. And I am very addicted to shooting mine.
      Things I would have changed:Easier loading with pellet pen. Better O-rings.
      What others should know:First of all, don't modify or tamper with your gun unless you are not planning to return it or the warranty has lapsed. One of the first issues were the elevation adjustment screw. It needs threadlock, and this should be done on a tray or worktable When removing screw please remember that the rear sight is spring loaded and you will lose it if not careful. Also the elevation adjustment screw threads into a nut on the underside. I had to secure the nut in its seat with a drop of super glue because sometimes when cocking my hand would press on the rear sight and push the nut out of its seat, and when you let up it doesn't always re-seat itself completely causing accuracy problems. I had the best results from CPHP. When I tried the standard pointed pellets (not premier pointed) I had way too many fliers. With the CPHP I can put pellets through the same hole at 35ft. Rarely do I get a flier. Its usually the ones that are a little larger at the skirt. Get something to seat pellet properly.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jerry from USA on 2014-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fun to shoot right out of the box
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing
      What others should know:Cocking the gun gets easer the more you shoot it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Harvey from USA on 2014-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price and accuracy are great. It shoots more accurate then I can shoot.
      Things I would have changed:Enlarge the barrel opening so you could more easy use a pellet pen.
      What others should know:I used Crosman oil on the breech o ring and lubed all the pivot points and trigger. put a coating of it around the piston. I have only had the gun about a week, but have shot several hundred rounds through it. As you use it, cocking effort becomes easier but using wad cutter pellets are a real chore to load. It is by far the most accurate air pistol I own and a lot of fun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Linda from USA on 2014-09-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love this air pistol! Lightweight, accurate and easy trigger pull. I have been using this around our 2 acres to eradicate our huge grasshopper problem. I can say this has been a great "grasshopper popper"!
      What others should know:I also use this for target practice, using Crossman pointed pellets for target and wadcutter pellets for grasshoppers. This is a very accurate air pistol and for the money I believe it is the best buy out there. You can't go wrong with this pistol.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By scott from USA on 2014-09-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy was great. Trigger was fantastic for a $40 pellet pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Some of the components are the cheapest quality imaginable. I fired 4 shots fired before the compression chamber started leaking. It would lose gas on the compression stroke. At first I thought it was a seal, which would be real easy to replace, but I disassembled the gun and tested the chamber under water to find the seam at the rear of the chamber had failed. It is a pressed joint that has no business as part of a compression chamber. Unbelievable that it is built like this.
      What others should know:Waste of $40. Should have bought something else.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeremiah from USA on 2014-09-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feels solid and hits hard. I can pick off army men from 35ft. I started out with Crossman .177 pointed pellets and there were a lot of fliers. Mainly because the pointed pellets fit too loose in the breech. I tried the CPHP and that was all it took for this gun to be incredibly accurate. So far I put about 1250 shots and it still works perfect. A buddy of mine got one with a trigger problem, but he told me to open the big spring some to create more tension when in place. Since then his has been shooting perfect, no more trigger problem.
      Things I would have changed: The breech loading is akward, but I've read some reviewers who took a dremel to fit pellet pen. If you don't want to dremel, a pellet pen can still be used to get the pellet in the breech but you still have to push pellet in with finger. The Crossman ammo pouch is a great alternative to the tin they come in.
      What others should know:Give the main piston some white lithium grease every couple hundred shots. Also put some thread lock on the screw for elevation adjustment. Before I did that the screw was loose enough to back itself out. Now it's perfect. If you have been considering purchasing this gun, buy it. It is worth every dollar. I usually don't write reviews but this gun is such a great shooter and a great deal, I had to.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2014-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, trigger and price. It is accurate out of the box and improved after a good cleaning of the barrel. I'm getting sub dime sized groups at 10m w/ open sights. The trigger is adjustable to get a fairly clean, light break. Mine is shooting some 8gr wadcutters at 410fps.
      Things I would have changed:QA control... mine came with a torn breech o-ring which was easily replaced by a visit to the hardware store. Otherwise the gun is fine.
      What others should know:For $40 this gun is a great deal! The cocking effort is fairly stiff, especially closing the action fully. My 11 year old son can't close it w/o resting the grip on the ground and pressing down on the upper (slide?). I took the piston out (easy, one set screw followed by pushing out a pin) cleaned it and lubed it with Krytox GPL 205 grease. I also deburred, polished sliding surfaces and moly greased the trigger & hammer mechanism. Its not very difficult to do & there are some good online tutorials. Now the cocking effort is smoother and easier and the trigger feel is further improved.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DANIEL from USA on 2014-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:cheap cheap cheap The best gun you can ever have for no money spent
      Things I would have changed:put it in a box like the P1 or P3. I shoot the P17 a lot more than I shoot the P3. I don't think i will be able to say that about a P1 if I can ever afford one.
      What others should know:this is a lot of gun for little money. Get as many as you can before Beeman wises up and charges more. I have received one defective gun out of five purchased but Pyramyd Air will give you a return label then fix it or give you a new one.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pcp4me from USA on 2014-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Price, accuracy, ease of use. This gun is VERY accurate. Very low priced, but prone to problems. If you are handy working on guns, this is a great buy!
      Things I would have changed:The seals! Mine started leaking and I had to replace every seal, which is no easy task. But once I replaced them with BETTER seals, the problems were gone permanently! I used durometer 90 viton seals, and expect this will last a lifetime. Beeman should do this as a must from the start and even if the gun costs $10 more, so what? It would STILL be a great gun at that price!
      What others should know:This gun is extremely accurate, and fun to shoot. BUT even after replacing all the seals, if you cock it and leave it over night, it leaks down. But to cock and shoot as you normally would, it works great and is WAY more accurate than I am!! From a solid bench rest, it shoots one hole groups just barely larger than the pellet for 10 shots at 25'! SO...if you are handy at working on guns, buy one, and when it starts leaking or malfunctioning, take it apart, replace all the seals with better ones and enjoy! Just don't ever expect it to hold air overnight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Arpad from USA on 2014-07-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The overall feel,fiber optic sights, automatic "safety-on", smooth trigger action and out-of-the-box accuracy. I'm no great shot, but my first round from 20 feet was within 3/4 in from target dead center. Not being tied to a co2 cartridge is great! Partially cocking the gun without loading a pellet and dry firing is great for learning trigger feel.
      Things I would have changed:As others have said, pellet loading and cocking effort can be hard. I solved the pellet loading problem using a section of soda straw, insert the pellet in the end, align with the breech and press home with a thin wooden dowel. The manufacturer could develop its idea further. The hard cocking turned out to be an advantage. Since I gas using it to teach my grandson range safety and marksmanship, the break in the action while I cocked it gave me extra time for "words of shooting wisdom".
      What others should know:To get such accuracy at this price is teriffic. If you look, there is enough good advice in cyberspace (pyramyd and youtube) to anticipate and overcome problems. The smile on my grandson's face the first time he came within a nickel of dead center was worth a million. This P17 is a super gun both for shooting instruction and my own plinking pleasure.
    • 123 ... 1011 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top