Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2014-06-17 14:47:33

    Things I liked:Looks and feel.
    Things I would have changed:Cocking effort is so great it takes all I have to accomplish it! Takes all the fun out of shooting. My son-in-law, much younger and stronger than I, also had a very hard time getting it cocked. I've noticed in the specifications that the cocking effort is not listed, now I know why! This actually could be quite dangerous if care is not applied during the process.
    What others should know:I can rate the gun on everything but the accuracy. By the time I finally got it ready to shoot I was too tired to hold it steady! I have a Beeman P17 w/kit for sale. Gun is like new, only fired twice!
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 910 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Superb value for the money. Very accurate. Light trigger pull. Good sights.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Karl from USA on 2014-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, accuracy, trigger, weight, fit in hand
      Things I would have changed:Rear sight adjustment changes.
      What others should know:Based on what I read, I was expecting maybe an O-ring problem but I had a trigger problem after 60-70 shots. Inside, the sear had a burr which caused the internal hammer to hang every 20-30 shots. I used a file to remove it, no problems after that. The sight elevation screw moves clockwise a bit with every shot, I will need to loctite it. Left bicep was hurting after doing 30 - 40 shots a day for several days to see if the gun would fail. The joint between the upper and lower parts is a little uneven. I imagine the P3 and HW40 versions maybe nicer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mark from USA on 2014-06-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the price, this pistol can't be beat. No recoil, low noise, fine trigger, good ergonomics all help make this an accurate pistol. Hasn't been finicky about pellets whether they be rifle or pistol match, or even the less precise alternatives. Sights are fine for hitting cans, rotten fruit or even the wife's Beenie Baby collection. Nice to have the built in scope rails.
      Things I would have changed:Make the hole where the fake hammer sits bigger so you can load the barrel with a pellet pen-straight shot, instead of the somewhat awkward way of loading it. Took a Dremel tool and in 2 min. made one of the easiest mods. to make this pistol a dream to load.
      What others should know:The trigger, except on much higher priced guns, is just about perfect. You can adjust out most of the fist stage or leave it long. The second stage is as crisp as a Diana pistol. For 40 bucks it's a fine, fine trigger. I have 2 of these pistols both with Aimpoint red dots and they're a hoot. The red dots also make it easier to close during the compression stroke. No more pinched finger fat or wrestling the pump closed while having the web slide up the rear sight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By steve from USA on 2014-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good power and accuracy. Best value in a precision airgun. Looks like a real firearm.
      Things I would have changed:Don't like Tru-Glo sights on an air pistol. 3 fuzzy dots are not conducive to accuracy. Hard to load the pellets. Rear sight interfers with charging.
      What others should know:Similar to the Gamo AF-10, but the larger P-17 has more power and is single-shot only. This model is known for pump seal issues. Would make an excellent first airgun, but charging effort may be too high for women or kids. Make sure the pellets are seated completely, or you may damage the breech seal.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Wayne from USA on 2014-06-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks and feel.
      Things I would have changed:Cocking effort is so great it takes all I have to accomplish it! Takes all the fun out of shooting. My son-in-law, much younger and stronger than I, also had a very hard time getting it cocked. I've noticed in the specifications that the cocking effort is not listed, now I know why! This actually could be quite dangerous if care is not applied during the process.
      What others should know:I can rate the gun on everything but the accuracy. By the time I finally got it ready to shoot I was too tired to hold it steady! I have a Beeman P17 w/kit for sale. Gun is like new, only fired twice!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By EJ from USA on 2014-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I ordered two P17's-sent one back after about twenty five shots even though I had done the 10 for $10 that PA offers. lost compression-seal I imagine. Had no experience at the time. PA did the usual quick turn around-no hassle-good service. I wanted to be able to fix if necessary so I found some online info and bought some 0rings. After a few hundred pellets, the ring where the barrel closes had a cut in it-probably my fault- so I changed piston ring and that seal ring before it failed. I use that P17 all the time and have about 4000 pellets thru it-still LOVE it! other P17 only has 200-300 rounds thru it.
      What others should know:When I shot in a league (with the P17) last winter, I let one of the bullseye shooters try it. He irritated me, after two site-in shots he put it in the 10 ring! It shoots better than I can! It may cock a little hard for some folks, but my fifteen year old granddaughter managed just fine. I'm of slight build and 71, but I love this gun! Just watch the finger and shirt pinches--and ladies tilt it away from your front! and use the open hand to close it! You may have to locktite your rear sight adjustment, and check once in a while, the hinge pins can work out a little.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Frank from USA on 2014-06-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate, solid, decent trigger, nice weight and balance. I actually sold my HW pistols and bought a second P17 after shooting both side by side for a while. Put a red dot on one and it is great for outdoor plinking.
      Things I would have changed:Grips are small for my XXL hands. I would gladly pay more for better quality control and also better maintenance and repair instructions (include some spare o-rings). Also I would pay more for better quality interchangeable grips. They should do a $100 target version but I could see it cannibalizing the German Beeman/HW sales.
      What others should know:Compared to my HW75, the trigger creeps a bit and the cocking is more difficult by half. And the plastic build isn't as nice, the in-place grips are better than plastic Crosman grips but that ain't saying much. But overall it is a tremendous value! I was scared of the repairs and quality control stories but I have bought two from PA now and both have been fine out of the box.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By leo from USA on 2014-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:one of the best values out there for 40 bucks.i love this gun. has a great feel to it, it shoots great and is quite accurate, what more could you want?
      Things I would have changed:not a thing!
      What others should know:I bought this gun to have something to shoot without always having to go out and buy co2, boy what a pleasant surprise,i hope they keep making this model gun for a long time to come, because I'm the kind of guy that would like to see bunches of other shooters get the enjoyment I get out of shooting such a great fun gun!!!CAN"T go wrong here!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2014-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price! Accuracy. Balance. Price! My brother has the German P3 version of this China made gun. I almost didn't buy this, because my experience with Chinese made stuff has been terrible. I thought for $39 it was worth the risk. I have now put over 4,000 rounds of just about every type of pellet through it, and it works well with all of them. It is acceptably accurate. I can "walk around" a 6 X 6 target of 1" squares at 7 yards, with only the occasional "flyer." I would like to blame the gun, but . . . .
      Things I would have changed:I have read about people not liking the sights, or the trigger, but come on, its a $39 pistol and is a great value. Spend $239 on the P3 and earn the right to complain about something.
      What others should know:Needs better quality control. I feel lucky with the one I got. My son-in-law ordered 10 of them as groomsmen gifts, and 5 of them were either DOA, or failed within a few shots. To the best of my knowledge they were replaced quickly, but still.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lee from USA on 2014-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The size, the feel, the price, the trigger and the way it shoots. The gun will out-perform me, and is a pleasure to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:nothing.
      What others should know:I ordered this gun while waiting for a P3 to become available. I was worried because of negative reviews, but decided I couldn't go too wrong for $40. If it broke, I wouldn't be afraid to work on it. After about 800 shots, the P3 arrived and I have shot them both to compare. The P3 is a better gun and I am more consistent with it, but it cost 6 times as much. Love both pistols, and plan to leave them both to my grandson. Don't think I will live long enough to wear ether one out.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Stan from USA on 2014-05-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything is good,trigger, accuracy, weight & looks. for the price awesome
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:when cocking watch for fingers & t shirts lol
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Frank from USA on 2014-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Boy you can't beat the price, worth it to do the $10 test for ten offer to make sure you get a working one out of the box. Mine is surprisingly good brand new, knock on wood, after reading the internet I was scared!
      Things I would have changed:They should do higher quality control level and charge fairly for it - and include a few spare O-rings. Some interchangeable grips would be nice. It is hard to cock but that's the nature of the beast. I don't find it that hard to load even with wadcutters but I have used other overlevers.
      What others should know:The fiber optic sights are nice for beginners but not so accurate after you settle down... but for this level pistol they're fine. I have this as a good second so that friends can shoot with me and they like them.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Ogre8472 from USA on 2014-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This looks just like a modern firearm. It has a good balance in the hand and points easily. The sights are easy to use at short range.
      Things I would have changed:Make the safety ambidextrous! I can reach it but I have large hands. Someone with smaller hands would have a little trouble to release it.
      What others should know:Make sure you open the top all the way slowly. I found that if you don't it will not give you all shes got. Flat palm when closing this pistol too or it will give you a nasty pinch!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate for the price. Came with fiber optic sights.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:This gun is perfect for backyard plinking.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ivan from USA on 2014-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate with great trigger pull. The trigger pull is very smooth and light allowing for a very precise break. The barrel is also very flush with the underside of the slide which makes it be close to the sights so not much drop off from 3yrds to 10yrds.
      Things I would have changed:The gun is right for the price. I wish they had a better version with decent poly frame (not cheap plastic). The loading of pellets is a bit cumbersome since the barrel is flush with the "slide"
      What others should know:I'm not that great a shot but with this gun I can hit 7/10 times a quarter size target from 10yrds with GAMO match wad cutters. Definitely a great buy for fun and training the kids.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By THOMAS from USA on 2014-03-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is extremely accurate. After adjusting the sights, another great attribute, I was placing shots in the same hole off-hand from 7 yards. The trigger breaks crisply after a long pull and the gun is quiet enough to shoot indoors without disturbing anyone. I have a short fingers and this gun fits my hand surprisingly well for it's large size. The gun is really fun to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:The rail on top of the poly frame is very sharp. Cocking the gun takes some pressure and, after some time, my hand was raw from gripping the frame. I'm looking for a makeshift cover for the rail rather than use a glove.
      What others should know:Follow some of the great videos on Youtube for maintenance. Be sure to break down the gun, clean off the old grease, and polish the little gas-hole as many recommend. You will notice the difference. The gun is tricky to load but, with a little practice, you'll get the hang of it. My goal was to get more trigger time and become a better shot with open-sighted pistols. To that end, you can't go wrong with this extremely accurate, reasonably priced pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jason from USA on 2014-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great accuracy , good trigger feel, fits the hand very well.this gun is tons of fun to shoot, with amazing accuracy for this price range.
      Things I would have changed:better quality control
      What others should know:like many others, my guns o rings failed at around 700 shots. I disassembled the gun cleaned and polished piston & cylinder, replaced o rings with Viton o rings. the gun shoots reliably now, and is well worth the price.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2014-03-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The P17 is a made in China clone of the German made P3 and I have shot them side by side. The P3 has a little better trigger but costs a whole lot more. I like the ergonomics of the handle and the adjustable rear sight. It's very comfortable in a medium sized hand. I've had the P3 about 15 years so we will see how the P17 holds up. I found the P17 to be very accurate in the 10-12 yd. range and have been using 8.8 grn. Beeman Crow Magnum HP pellets. I like the single stroke to charge it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Maybe a better trigger but it would probably drive the price up.
      What others should know:Great plinker, lots of fun. A little weak for pest control. Quiet and recoil-less. You could shoot this all day. Great value for the money. It has a narrow dovetail scope rail.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By johnny from USA on 2014-03-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great accuracy (1 inch groups off the bench @ 25 yards) and I haven't touched the trigger. everything smooths up after a tin of pellets. not too loud also makes it backyard friendly.
      Things I would have changed:nothing I can think of.
      What others should know:I chronied mine and it was a little down on power (350 fps) when you open the gun there is two small phillips screws holding the barrel. I loosened them and slid the barrel to the rear so it makes contact with the o-ring. now it chronies 400 fps.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By FishaddictJim from USA on 2014-02-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great value. Very accurate. Automatic safety. Great fiber optic sights and 11mm rail for a dot scope or laser. Nice balance, feel, and look.
      Things I would have changed:The stock breech and piston O-rings are cheap and prone to early failure. My breech o-ring and piston o-rings both failed within 400 shots. I replaced the O-rings(which was very easy after watching several Youtube videos). No more misfires or low pressure/leaking cylinder after replacing the 0-rings. BTW, the piston o-ring is a size #116, and the breech o-ring was #009. I bought the O-rings in an assortment pack of 180 Viton O-rings at Harbor Freight for $5.
      What others should know:Very good gun at a great price. Lots of fun, very accurate, feels nice and has a decent trigger. But the O-rings suck. Don't throw the gun away when it won't hold air or starts to misfire. For $5 for new O-rings, a tube of white lithium grease, and maybe 10 minutes, you can repair this gun and keep it shooting.
    • 123 ... 910 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top