Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By scott from USA on 2014-09-20 14:54:04

    Things I liked:Accuracy was great. Trigger was fantastic for a $40 pellet pistol.
    Things I would have changed:Some of the components are the cheapest quality imaginable. I fired 4 shots fired before the compression chamber started leaking. It would lose gas on the compression stroke. At first I thought it was a seal, which would be real easy to replace, but I disassembled the gun and tested the chamber under water to find the seam at the rear of the chamber had failed. It is a pressed joint that has no business as part of a compression chamber. Unbelievable that it is built like this.
    What others should know:Waste of $40. Should have bought something else.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 1011 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Keith from USA on 2015-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Liked the general feel and heft. The trigger was very good. Cannot comment on the accuracy as I am new to air gunning and have not shot a lot in general for fifty years. Discovered that my eyes don't work as well as they once did. Having said that I think it might be pretty accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Loading, both the cocking and the insertion of the pellet.
      What others should know:Probably would have kept it but I happened upon an old Daisy 717 that suited me much better so I returned the P17 within the 30 days. Thanks Pyramyd. I'll be back.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Armando from USA on 2015-03-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight and feel of the gun is fantastic....more like a gun twice the price. It looks great and the sights are easy to line up and the accuracy is right on.
      Things I would have changed:I can't think of anything that I would change.
      What others should know:I, like many others have mentioned, thought I was going to break my hand trying to cock this gun the first time. However, once I watched an on-line video of a guy reviewing the gun, where he showed how to use the palm of your left hand up near the rear sight, pushing down and getting maximum leverage, I find it no problem to cock. Yes, initial reactions aren't always correct. I can't stop wanting to shoot this gun.....and it's so nice to not have to keep loading CO2 capsules. I enjoy it almost as much as my Umarex Colt Commander.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Charlotte from USA on 2015-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I can't believe I can buy this quality of a pistol at this price. OK, so it isn't the end all, but for the price it offers a lot of fun. The weight and feel of it, the sights, rifled barrel, etc., it is a hoot! Nothing else to buy but pellets!
      Things I would have changed:I wish it was easier to cock/pump, but then that would mean a reduction in velocity. Btw, I put this gun through my chronograph and it shot a very tight spread in the 496-504 range with Crosman 7.9 pointed. It is a little tricky loading, but not really a problem.
      What others should know:When I first got this gun I pumped it and was thinking that it took so much effort that I probably wouldn't shoot it much. Wrong! Once you start shooting, you just keep going like the Everready bunny. I wear a glove on my left hand making it less punishing to pump during an extended shooting session. It is hard to pump and it is single shot but it is still fun and has a trigger that I like a lot and I'm actually pretty spoiled on triggers. It feels good in the hand, it is a full sized pistol and it points well and I love being able to see the pellet in flight when the light is just right. It is so inexpensive, and so good it is hard to argue against owning one.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Steve from USA on 2015-02-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great looking gun. It has good weight and balance. It has good power, equal to 7 pumps of my Crosman 1377, so in the low 400s.The sights are simple, although no information was included about the sights, and are quite accurate. The automatic safety setting is probably a good idea. The trigger pressure is the best. It makes my other guns seem very clumsy. I'm sure the light trigger pressure is one of the main reasons the gun is as accurate as it is. The barrel length is fairly long and the sound really is quite muted, both good things.
      Things I would have changed:The manufacturer claims the cocking pressure is 28 lbs, but I'm not a sissy and I have difficulty cocking it without out bracing it on my leg. There is no cocking assist like on some other guns probably because of the way the guns is set up. Along that same complaint is, in order to get the best grip on it to cock you have to touch the rear sight. I have harmed it yet, but it is a distinct possibility. The other thing is the loading of the pellet. It is hard to fit the pellet in because there is no guide. You have to get it just right in order for it to fit in the barrel.
      What others should know:Take advantage of Pyramid Air's sales promotions. They are worth waiting for!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2015-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:With a 6.5" barrel it's the most accurate pistol that I own. The best value for the $$$$.
      Things I would have changed:----
      What others should know:Following cocking which maybe hard the first few dozen times, the pistol self locks on safety, which to me is a nice feature.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2015-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy for the price paid.
      Things I would have changed:The cocking effort for this old body is hard
      What others should know:First gun only lasted 2 shots. PyramydAir promptly replaced it. Second gun has over 200 shots through it and still going strong.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Scott from USA on 2015-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price and ease of use.
      Things I would have changed:Fiber optic sights are useless for precision. Also I purchased the one with a red dot sight. The sight is barely usable. Dot is to big and bright and elevation adjustment does not stay put.
      What others should know:I have shot over 500 pellets through this pistol and is working great. Accuracy is well above average.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Oleksii from Canada on 2015-01-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, appearance
      Things I would have changed:quite loud
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By CB from USA on 2014-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pistol is very accurate
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at this price
      What others should know:I purchased 1 to try out. I liked it well enough to purchase 2 more as gifts for my friends. Follow directions & do not try to pump more than once. Gun works good when directions are followed. When closing top keep Palm of hand flat being sure you don't get hand pinched as this will hurt very bad.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Joe_Bob1999 from USA on 2014-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The trigger is very smooth. Auto safety feature is simple and effective. Accurate!
      Things I would have changed:Don't care for the sights, they are sharp and dig into your hand when cocking. Be careful you don't pinch your hand when you close the top. The "hammer" cocking latch shouldn't look like a hammer. Several times new shooters tried to cock it unlocking the catch. Back seam of the grip had a sharp edge that I had to shave down and smooth.
      What others should know:Outstanding for the price even with it's quirks. Solid 400+ fps with more than 200 rounds through it. Small fingers really help when loading pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Stuart from USA on 2014-12-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very accurate, fun to shoot
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:does take a good amount of pressure to pump gun
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Carl from USA on 2014-12-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Obviously, the price is a big plus. It shoots very accurately. The sites that come on the gun are adequate. The trigger pull is better than any other air gun I own.
      Things I would have changed:Having said the good things about the trigger, sometimes the gun would not fire when the trigger is pulled.
      What others should know:The gun is difficult to close when cocking. While it is a great gun for the money, there are issues that may cause you to doubt the wisdom of your purchase.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2014-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price! Trigger! Accuracy!
      Things I would have changed:Better fit/finish. Scrape the top rail - it's very sharp on the edges, and this is were you have to put a lot of press to cock the gun. Given the single pump style, why would you ever mount anything.
      What others should know:The seams are a little rough. Used my dremel with a fine grinding stone and went all over the gun. The feel now is excellent and you can really notice that it has been sanded. I also used the dremel to remove the edge off the dove tail rail.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2014-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price, Quality, adjustments available, trigger pull.
      Things I would have changed:Sharp edges on the plastic housing, will be sanded slightly. Not the easiest to load or pressure up.
      What others should know:Great starter gun for those who want to club shoot or just plinking.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2014-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the feel and the smoothness of the gun. strait out of the package bulls eye accurate I cant say enough about how accurate it is. the ballance of the gun is perfect tiny bit of recoil but shoots the same spot every time at 40 ft. so accurate no sights needed point and shoot amazeing.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the color to blue
      What others should know:for the price it is a steel cant go wrong. oh and from the reviews it takes a man to cock this 28 pnd gun lol
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2014-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This SSP has a great trigger and is very accurate. Since each shot is propelled by a consistent charge of air, the big limit is the skill of the shooter. The size of the pistol is also perfect.
      Things I would have changed:The pumping stroke requires considerable strength. It may not work well for smaller folks.
      What others should know:This pistol is a great value. Some folks have had trouble with quality issues, but mine was perfect from the start.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bob from USA on 2014-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality is great. Nice and heavy like real firearm.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:This is a great value for the money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By SeungY. from USA on 2014-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:yes it is accurate and good price.
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:you just need pellets and p17 and you can have lots of fun with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Barry from USA on 2014-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:As an air-gunning noob, I was looking to get into the sport without a lot of expense. After reading many of the reviews online I decided to take a chance on the P17 - most folks said it was a good value, but there were some concerns over build quality. So far I've put about 200 pellets through the gun and it's been a blast! Yes, it can take a little while to get used to the force needed to cock it, and yes, it is a little cumbersome at first to load pellets into the tight space, but these are things you grow accustomed to very quickly. Aside from some very minor comments on the coarseness of a couple of the seams/edges in the plastic, I really have no complaints. I can't believe this gun was only $40! As a newbie this was also my first purchase from Pyramyd Air. Great service, quick processing and shipping, easy to use website - I'm sure that I'm coming back to buy again.
      Things I would have changed:At this price, nothing.
      What others should know:I'd be fascinated to see what the difference is between this gun and the much more expensive German-made P3. My guess is at this point I'm too inexperienced to really be able to tell the m apart, so I'm looking forward to shooting quite a bit with the P17. Great weight, great balance, smooth trigger and I like the fiber optic sights.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeremiah from USA on 2014-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Engineered to be solid and simple to fix. 410fps may not sound like much but it is pretty impressive. I like to take old pharmacy prescription bottles and fill them with water. Then cap it with the thread side of cap to where this no air bubble. From 30ft with hollowpoints the bottles just explode, its fun. Also, I like to take the glue gun and put a bunch of army men all over my target area. It's pretty satisfying to pick 'em off at 30-35ft. Incredible accuracy, shot after shot. My O-rings went out at 2500 shots. When I took it apart I could tell that the o-rings weren't that great to start with. I'm the type of person who likes to take things apart and fix them, and I must say that even for me this was a very easy fix. But if you are new to the disassembly of this pistol, I believe there are Youtube videos. I took me about 10min to fix mine. For the price, this is an awesome pellet pistol. And I am very addicted to shooting mine.
      Things I would have changed:Easier loading with pellet pen. Better O-rings.
      What others should know:First of all, don't modify or tamper with your gun unless you are not planning to return it or the warranty has lapsed. One of the first issues were the elevation adjustment screw. It needs threadlock, and this should be done on a tray or worktable When removing screw please remember that the rear sight is spring loaded and you will lose it if not careful. Also the elevation adjustment screw threads into a nut on the underside. I had to secure the nut in its seat with a drop of super glue because sometimes when cocking my hand would press on the rear sight and push the nut out of its seat, and when you let up it doesn't always re-seat itself completely causing accuracy problems. I had the best results from CPHP. When I tried the standard pointed pellets (not premier pointed) I had way too many fliers. With the CPHP I can put pellets through the same hole at 35ft. Rarely do I get a flier. Its usually the ones that are a little larger at the skirt. Get something to seat pellet properly.
    • 123 ... 1011 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top