Date: 12/2/2016 12:35

Beeman P17 reviews - page 1

Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

Things I liked: The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.

Things I would have changed: Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)

What others should know: Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Martin from USA on 2015-12-30 12:33:21

Things I liked: Size, weight and sights.

Things I would have changed: Too hard to cock - I mean to darn hard. Bought 3 thinking of returning 2 as after trying it out first these will not be comfortable for anyone of average strength to cock. And no I'm not the ? Lb. weakling. Any suggestions would be welcome. I based my purchase on the review in your brochure.

What others should know: Try something else. To hard to cock.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1213 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2016-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the price was good i just got the beeman P17 to shoot in the house to pass the time and with a little adjustment on the rear sight it was pretty accurate . i think this was a good investment

    Things I would have changed: the pellet is was hard to put in the barrel at first but ones you got the hang of it it was not bad

    What others should know: its a lot of fun to shoot

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2016-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What a fun gun to shoot! I was pleasantly surprised at the feel and balance, it can easily be dialed in for accurate shooting at 10 meters. Perfect for plinking.

    Things I would have changed: when cocking, be careful you don't disturb the sights. I also used 400 grit sandpaper to smooth out a few rough edges on the grip, but for the price it absolutely cannot be beat!

    What others should know: get the ten for ten.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2016-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything at this price!

    Things I would have changed: Rough edges at seams...used a file to smooth.

    What others should know: Great for basement 10 meter shooting. !!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Alfred from USA on 2016-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simple to use.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Trigger mechanism stuck after about 25 shots. Weapon was cocked but the trigger would not fire the weapon. Fixed weapon by removing the grip and reseated the trigger spring. Weapon functioned fine and have fired about 100 shots since the malfunction.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregory from Canada on 2016-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything everyone says about this pistol is true as far as iam concerned. I own two p-17's and my recent one I bought here along with "10 for $10" test and that air pistol shot at velocities as high as 468!!! It's awesome when an air pistol out does its own spec's!

    Things I would have changed: I would love a spring piston version in .22 caliber of this pistol.

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Martin from USA on 2015-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Size, weight and sights.

    Things I would have changed: Too hard to cock - I mean to darn hard. Bought 3 thinking of returning 2 as after trying it out first these will not be comfortable for anyone of average strength to cock. And no I'm not the ? Lb. weakling. Any suggestions would be welcome. I based my purchase on the review in your brochure.

    What others should know: Try something else. To hard to cock.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2015-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I liked the price of this gun. This gun is extremely accurate compared to other high priced guns that I own. It is a well built gun and the rear adjustable sight is very nice.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Don't let the price fool you, this is a nice pistol. I own 10 other air pistols that cost over a hundred dollars and I personally like this one the best.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very nice workmanship, nice sights, very accurate, I'm getting 1/2 inch groups at 10 yards with cheap Daisy Max Wad-cutters. Trigger is also very nice.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of anything that hasn't been said. Yes, loading pellets is a little tough and it requires some strength to cock, but both gets easier with practice.

    What others should know: If you should have a problem with the seals or anything else it's easy and cheap to fix, check out YouTube and the forums. I've shot over 200 pellets and so far no problems. I've put a reflex sight on mine cause my old eyes don't work well with iron sights and it doesn't get in the way of cocking and allows me to shoot tight groups. This gun is way more accurate than my ability and therefore will never get old to shoot. It's hard to put it down. I don't think you could buy a better barrel for $35 and as a nice bonus Beeman throws in the rest of the gun for FREE! I can't imagine any reason to buy a P3! If don't think the Chinese can build a good gun, try one of these.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Donald from USA on 2015-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the weight and balance are fine. Sights are good. Accurate out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Would not change a thing. Have been pleased.

    What others should know: Check You Tube about past quality issues. Check for burr on intake hole of air compression chamber and take necessary steps to remove. Use a glove to ease the cocking process.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2015-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great price. Great Accuracy!! Good Quality.

    Things I would have changed: Would like an adjustable trigger. A little trigger creep but it's not bad.

    What others should know: I am VERY surprised with the accuracy. Especially for a $35 gun. The trigger has a little creep, But predictable. I mounted a 2x pistol scope on it and now it shoots a ragged ( 1/4"ctc 5 shot group ) hole at 10 yds with the Beeman 7.2gr. hollowpoint coated pellets. They actually out shot the JSB's and the Crosman brown box pellets in my gun. Shooting the Beeman 7.2 hollowpoint .. my gun chronyed 10 shots at an avg of 410fps. the std.dev. of 2.33fps and an extreme spread of only 7 fps. A great gun...I'm about to get a couple more of these before the price goes up, and a couple thousand rounds of the beeman pellets too.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill Kahle from USA on 2015-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Just ordered 5 more for Christmas presents. These pistols are very accurate. I can shoot them almost as well as my IZH 46M. Best bang for the buck. A little difficult to load with fat fingers and cocking is hard at first but both become easy in a short time. And PyramydAir IS the place to purchase. Good selection. good prices and very good customer service.

    Things I would have changed: Not much. Maybe target type sights. And I wish they were made in the USA.

    What others should know: Triggers are very good out of the box, Takeup can be adjusted by allen screw in the trigger and the sear can be cleaned up/polished a bit. Don't buy with the red dot sight, junk.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2015-11-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the feel and the weight. It is fun to shoot and very accurate right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I read a lot of the reviews and there was talk about how hard it is to cock this gun. I'm over 70 and have had no trouble. It's fun, give it a try.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ratgetter from USA on 2015-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: weight, size, grip, trigger pull, and it hits the target !! Dead on! Every time!

    Things I would have changed: Everything works great and does not need changing. The only problem I have had is the safety over time I have to hold it forward after pushing it in the "off" position. Not sure what is doing it but it doen't go to "off" and still has a 1/16 of an inch to go before it is off. I am going to take care of that some day. Make the scope rail a little deeper. I used a Drimel tool and made it so my 2X red dot sight holds very secure. Doesn't need much and it may be that my scope was a little fatter than most. Shoots dead on with the 2X red dot....like I said EVERY TIME!...

    What others should know: For the price you can't....and I mean CAN"T beat this pistol. At first it is hard to load. I use a stick loader and it makes it MUCH easier. You just have to be sure to set it in with your finger after inserting the pellet. Shoots heavier lead pellets and light pellets just fine. Just be sure to keep the piston lubed. If it is properly lubed you will feel that it is harder to push it down. That's good. Means you are going to get consistant shots. Buy this pistol and have fun. NO CO2 to deal with and you still get a 410fps shot...or more. I have got up to 443fps with non-lead high volocity pellets. It WiILL get better as it gets broken in. Had mine for over 5 years and still going great!!!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2015-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solidly built; looks and feels like a Walther P99. For such a relatively inexpensive gun it is very well made. Pretty high quality for a Chinese-made version of the German original. Fantastic trigger; possibly the best trigger of all my current air guns. Light recoil prevents spoiling aim. Not really pellet fussy at all; did well with nearly every pellet I tried. Fiber optic sights work well; don't feel the need for any kind of special optic.

    Things I would have changed: I would say power, but I knew when I bought this it wasn't going to be a powerhouse, so it's not really an issue. Although, against an unripe tomato at 5 and 15 yards the pellet (a Gamo Rocket) sliced all the way through! Loading a pellet can be a little bit of a chore but not a deal-breaker by any stretch.

    What others should know: I have several air rifles but only one other air pistol; a Crosman 1377. So that's what I'll use for comparison. Except for ease of loading and power, this P17 has every advantage over the 1377. It's smaller and handles better. Feels more solid, and the trigger is much better. At this price, you really can't go wrong.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the weight, balance and look of the gun. Also the sights work Great even in low lighting. I also like the accuracy from this Pistol I don't think it can be beat for the price !!

    Things I would have changed: I don't know if I would change anything ? Pistol is great as is !!!

    What others should know: This is my first single pump Gun and I am very impressed !! Every shot seems so dead on once sighted in, I can shoot the Bullseye every shot. I can only shoot in my basement from 20 ft. The only thing is you have to get used to loading this Pistol and it takes practice. IMO I don't think there is another gun for this price and be so accurate ?? If anyone finds one let us all know. I thought the pumping may get to me because I am disabled and didn't know if I could handle it, But to my surprise I can shot this with no problem. I love it !! It's very accurate and is a very nice gun. I wanted a Pistol I can shoot with out c02 and this is a great deal for the money, one pump and your ready to shoot. This will be great for the Winter Months and that's also what I wanted, I love P.A. I always get great deals on air gun's, ammo and airgun need's, they are very helpful plus fast shipping !!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Louis from USA on 2015-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Extremely accurate pistol for the price. I have not had any problems with failure that others may have raised and this is my "go to" pistol for plinking.

    Things I would have changed: While the pellet loading becomes second nature after a while, the cocking effort required of this gun is its only real weakness. Not sure if it would be possible to change without altering the entire pistol.

    What others should know: While loading a pellet can be difficult, your do get used to it and it becomes much easier. The only weakness of this pistol is the cocking effort. It does take some effort to cock and by all means do it with an open palm; getting the skin of your thumb or palm caught during the cocking process is no joke. This pistol is not for anyone without strong arms.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By kurt from USA on 2015-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Like the price and accuracy and the way it shoots ...my favorite pistol . I like the soft noise it makes, lack of recoil. It is reliable so far and easy to aim. I like the fact you need no Co2 also. Biggest thing is accuracy. No recoil.

    Things I would have changed: Make it easier to load a pellet.

    What others should know: I bought this gun to see if it would work after a few hundred shots, it seems to work well still after years...of sitting and hundreds of shots. It is very easy to aim and is quiet. I like the lack of recoil, too. It has differences from the German gun that are easy to see on the outside...and I would like to buy the German version of these..this is a great design. The German guns use solid pins, this has rolled steel pins on the handle. This is a great gun for the money, as I own about 15 pistols and this would be one of the first I use..I have a sight on it too! I find the gun to be just perfect..

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2015-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The size and weight of the gun are perfect. I love not having to pump multiple times or use CO2. With CO2, the velocity is all over the place. The sights are outstanding, and really shame standard sights. There's really no competition for the P17 anywhere close to its price range. All the other single-pump pistols are either incredibly hard to cock (check out the Vortex Piston Hatsan-an excellent air pistol, but very hard to cock and very difficult to shoot one-handed), severely unbalanced, funny looking, or very heavy (or incredibly expensive). I really wish there were more like this to choose from.

    Things I would have changed: Not sure how these could be changed, but I'd like a gas piston version, and a way to make it so accidentally pinching oneself wasn't so easy when cocking, and I'm also afraid I'm going to mess up the rear sights when cocking. Oh, and loading the pellet is a bit awkward.

    What others should know: This is by far the most fun air pistol I've come across. Easy to cock, very well-balanced, awesome sights. I would say this is a very cheap 'must have' for everyone's collection. I've probably put about 1000 rounds through mine, and the only change, aside from it seeming to get easier to cock, is the 'hammer' doesn't latch all the way. I mean, it's secure, but I always push it closed(?) the rest of the way.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregory from Canada on 2015-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like not relying on co2. Pneumatic air guns are excellent for all year round shooting while co2 is only good during the warmer part of the year. I like the lower sound levels compared to co2 pistol's like my Crosman 2240's and various Gamo, S&W and Crosmanco2 "action" pistols. I love the reliablilty of a consistent muzzle velocity and this Beeman p-17 provides that :) I like how the p-17 is a large sized air pistol that kind of reminds me of a magnum research desert eagle...and I really like the built in open sights on this pistol! Plus, the dovetail is a nice touch although pumping this pistol can't be easy with a sight or scope mounted, even still, it's nice of Beeman to include a dovetail.

    Things I would have changed: Rubber grips would make holding and shooting this pistol even better than it is! A rubber grip on the top for better grip while pumping might be useful.

    What others should know: Follow all airgun maintainence and lubrication instructions if u want this pistol to continue working perfectly for years to come.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roger from USA on 2015-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I really like the sights. The contrast between the luminous red and green dots really seem to stand out in the environment in which I shoot. The punch behind the pellets is also not bad considering that it uses only one stroke and doesn't require an extra lever for an adult male to have enough force to cock it.

    Things I would have changed: Not much, but it would be nicer if it were a little easier to load. After you get used to it, it is okay as well.

    What others should know: This gun require more grip than kids and some women are able to generate when at the last portion of the travel during cocking. I generally grip around the portion of the cocking level and the barrel simultaneously and just to the inside of the rear sight so that I can squeeze it together without catching any skin between the lever and the rest of the gun.

  • 123 ... 1213 Next
Navigation