Date: 24/6/2017 6:54
0

Beeman P17 reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

Things I liked: The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.

Things I would have changed: Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)

What others should know: Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Gary from USA on 2017-05-06 14:48:17

Things I liked: This feels like the real thing and has decent accuracy @ 36 feet.

Things I would have changed: The seals are HORRIBLE and after 1000-2000 rounds I have to change the seals every 50-100 rounds at best.I have used white lithium grease for lube to no avail and 3 in 1 oil with the same results. This pistol is not worth the price of shipping let alone the price of $35. I truly got just what I paid for, a learning experience to never try to cheap out on an air gun again.

What others should know: If you make this investment purchase a case of seals and what ever lube you choose you WILL need it all.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1314 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This feels like the real thing and has decent accuracy @ 36 feet.

    Things I would have changed: The seals are HORRIBLE and after 1000-2000 rounds I have to change the seals every 50-100 rounds at best.I have used white lithium grease for lube to no avail and 3 in 1 oil with the same results. This pistol is not worth the price of shipping let alone the price of $35. I truly got just what I paid for, a learning experience to never try to cheap out on an air gun again.

    What others should know: If you make this investment purchase a case of seals and what ever lube you choose you WILL need it all.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Cheap feels similar to a real pistol semi easy to cock load and shoot.

    Things I would have changed: I wish I would have saved my money and put it towards a real air pistol. Shot a couple thousand rounds thru it and had to change the seals. Now have to reseal it after 50-60 rounds. What a piece of junk. I have put new seals in it 4 times in 1 week I am done with this paper weight.

    What others should know: DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PIECE OF CRAP.BTW..Not a problem with Pyramid Air though. They are a great company I will buy from them again. Like 1 of their techs told me in a chat one day you get what you pay for and he is absolutely right.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2017-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The value for the dollar is unlike most of what you encounter today. The gun I got is by far more value for the dollar than any of the over 100 airguns I have acquired. Velocity is really consistent. There is no leakage at all in this one. I can let it sit and fire it and it is the same as shooting immediately after cocking. I have measured the velocities of 26 pellets ranging in weight from 7.0 gr. to 8.2 gr. All of the 7.0 to 7.5 gr. pellets exceed 430 fps with the highest velocity coming from the RWS R-10 Match 7.0 gr at 445 fps. Several other of the 7.0 to 7.3 gr. pellets push the 440 fps threshold. Pellets in the 7.9 gr class deliver around 420 fps with the JSB Match Express 7.87 gr. pellet going 427 fps average. It is the highest velocity of pellets in this weight range. All three of the various 8.2 gr. pellets gave nearly identical velocity averages of 411 to 412 fps. I was pleased and impressed at the consistency which indicates stability in the power plant. Accuracy is good.

    Things I would have changed: Take some of the sharpness from the edges of the top rail to reduce the tendency to produce small cuts to the palm of the hand when closing the action. I usually also prefer standard sights and not fiber optic ones but these are very uniform and I like them. The adjustments are precise and the gun was zeroed with the sights having plenty of adjustment left if needed. Most of the 26 different pellet offerings tested landed in the same place on the target but there were some slight differences noted with a couple shooting slightly right of the zero of most. Group size did vary from pellet to pellet but most did group well and three were outstanding: H&N Match Pistol 7.4 gr. WC; RWS Meisterkugeln Heavy 8.2 gr. WC; RWS R-10 Match Heavy 8.2 gr. WC. I will add specific group size information later in the comments section after this aspect of testing is completed.

    What others should know: I have read a lot of the reviews posted here and there is such a wide range of what is experienced from this product, I am an airgun professional and I find that is the case with most Chinese production. Quality control simply can not exist in any practical manner from what I have encountered. At times there is a hint of excellence in one specimen, other times there is a total absence of quality in another. So beware, you will not be able to count on what I experienced. I had in mind to tear my gun down from the start and correct the things that are described in many reviews but instead I proceeded to try it out from the box as it came. After more than 300 shots, I believe I have one of the better examples. Smooth, consistent operation and performance without a hint of fault or pending failure. Most 10 shot strings fired over the Chronograph have an extreme spread of about 5 fps which produces consistent performance and high accuracy potential. I am very glad I put aside my doubts.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2017-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The accuracy is great for the price,

    Things I would have changed: Cocking pressure is high, sight rail has sharp edges and construction quality.

    What others should know: The rear sight nut came loose very early. It was glued in place and a drop of lock tite added to keep it from loosening. The rear light tube had to be glued in as well as the elevation pivot pin. With that said I have now put over 4000 pellets through this little gun. Along with the above work the tube and seal have some white grease added occasionally. On a good day 5 shots are still under and inch. I don't why it keeps shooting this good but I just ordered another 2500 pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Reinhard from USA on 2017-02-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Wonderful feel and weight. Sits naturally in the hand. Trigger is surprisingly good for a pistol at this price!

    Things I would have changed: I prefer a manual crossbolt safety, but the auto safety is just something one has to get used to.

    What others should know: Years ago I had a Beeman P1 pistol and sold it. I regretted having done that, but the P17 has the same satisfaction level. Quite amazing considering the price differential.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-02-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price! It has a good trigger and it is pretty accurate at 10 meters. I like the sights.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: It does take some effort to cock and loading the pellet takes some practice, not much room for your finger. Overall a great deal for the money for a back yard accurate pistol

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matt from USA on 2017-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made, trigger is pretty darn good, shoots fairly hard for a single pump 445 fps with 7.8g pellet and very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: 35 bucks, gota love it.

    What others should know: Pretty hard cocker and so be careful about pinch points.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Manfred from USA on 2016-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Velocity measured 416 fps with 7.0 gr. Meisterkugeln.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Mounting a 2.5X pistol scope will greatly improve your accuracy.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got this gun in a very timely manner and was exactly what the online tech said it was. Great pistol especially for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Possibly soften the ribs at the top of the gun so it isn't so taxing on the palms of the hand when closing it after cocking.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By TheShooter71 from USA on 2016-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I was just looking for an air pistol to plink some targets in my backyard. When I received it I took 10 shots, made small adjustment to the rear sights and was hitting dead center. This a great pistol for having some fun target shooting.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking the gun takes some strength to close it after loading.

    What others should know: Just remember this is still a firearm, use extreme safety.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jack from USA on 2016-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: I've run over a thousand pellets through this pistol without an issue. The older version had problems with sealing, but they fixed this issue. Great value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: The fiber optic sights could be more durable, although repair is easy with a lighter. The dovetail rails are plastic, so don't put too much pressure on it while cocking with an red dot/scope on.

    What others should know: Oil your gun after a tin of pellets.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By john a. from USA on 2016-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: great gun

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: can't go wrong at this price

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is very accurate! It's very quiet!!!

    Things I would have changed: It's a little hard to load.

    What others should know: You can't get a better gun for this kind of money.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Michael J from USA on 2016-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This air pistol delivers everything a sub-$50, WalMart class, air pistol promises. It doesn't really pretend to be an Weirauch HW75 which uses a similar, but superior powerplant.

    Things I would have changed: My impulsiveness to have purchased one in the first place.

    What others should know: Remember the old adage, "You get what you pay for". If less than $50 is all you have money for and you REALLY want an air pistol at this price point, go for it. It will put holes in a target with reasonable accuracy. Otherwise, if you can wait, save your money for something a little more refined.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BRYANT from USA on 2016-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fantastic price ! excellent power for a one pump. I give this a excellent rating

    Things I would have changed: I would like a lower velocity model that would be easier to cock and I wish that it would be a little easier to insert the pellet.

    What others should know: You should realize that it takes considerable effort to cock this pistol.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: great value. endless fun.

    What others should know: This gun is worth every penny you will pay for it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like: that the single pump cocking process exposes the chamber for loading. that the barrel is encased and protected within the upper frame. that the fiber optic sights are bright and easy to acquire. That the plastic used in the frame is tough, but not brittle, and is abrasion resistant.

    Things I would have changed: I would like the safety on the right-hand side. The fake slide lock and magazine release could be removed.

    What others should know: The P17 is easy to both cock and load. Yes, it takes a few repetitions to become proficient... I hold the pistol in my right hand, thumb back the hammer, open the top frame full swing, then, from a plastic film can (with a hole in the lid) taken from my left pocket with my left hand, I shake a pellet into my left hand and replace the film can into my left pocket, then maneuver the pellet between my left thumb and forefinger and rotate it's point into the chamber. I then take the upper frame into my left open palm, rotating it closed and, at the end, using my left fingers to pull the upper frame closed to lock. I'd like to have a carbine based on the P3/P17 single pump design. The barrel should be 12-14" with the upper and lower frames sized to make a good forend grip that would also accommodate a larger air cylinder requiring up to twice the cocking force of the P17. The lower frame should use the same pistol grip and trigger, and be extended to create a shortish shoulder stock.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vihren from USA on 2016-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate. Nice, easily adjustable fiber optic sights. Excellent crisp trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Initially it was hard to pump until getting used to it..

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Antonio from USA on 2016-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, Consistency, Price, Low Power, Trigger, Fun Factor

    Things I would have changed: Better finishing of plastic 11mm rail and grip seams. Rail can scrape hands when pumping the gun. I installed a 11mm to weaver adapter ($9 on amazon.) and a cheap scope. I also smoothed the seams on the front and rear of the grip with a razor blade for comfort. For the price these are not significant complaints.

    What others should know: This is the most airgunning fun you can have for $35. This gun is great for basement shooting at 7 to 12 yards. 10 shot string with Beeman Wadcutters Coated 7.7 grain pellets averaged 411 fps muzzle velocity (406 to 416 fps), std dev 2.8 fps. The gun shoots RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter accurately. I have not experienced any issue with operation of the gun. A few forums identify the ease of rebuild of the gun to address any issues you may experience over time.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2016-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate low cost plinker. Once you start shooting you will have a hard time putting this gun down.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Shoots RWS hobby pellets very well

  • 123 ... 1314 Next
Navigation