Date: 27/7/2016 19:21
0

Beeman P17 reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

Things I liked: The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.

Things I would have changed: Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)

What others should know: Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Martin from USA on 2015-12-30 12:33:21

Things I liked: Size, weight and sights.

Things I would have changed: Too hard to cock - I mean to darn hard. Bought 3 thinking of returning 2 as after trying it out first these will not be comfortable for anyone of average strength to cock. And no I'm not the ? Lb. weakling. Any suggestions would be welcome. I based my purchase on the review in your brochure.

What others should know: Try something else. To hard to cock.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1314 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like: that the single pump cocking process exposes the chamber for loading. that the barrel is encased and protected within the upper frame. that the fiber optic sights are bright and easy to acquire. That the plastic used in the frame is tough, but not brittle, and is abrasion resistant.

    Things I would have changed: I would like the safety on the right-hand side. The fake slide lock and magazine release could be removed.

    What others should know: The P17 is easy to both cock and load. Yes, it takes a few repetitions to become proficient... I hold the pistol in my right hand, thumb back the hammer, open the top frame full swing, then, from a plastic film can (with a hole in the lid) taken from my left pocket with my left hand, I shake a pellet into my left hand and replace the film can into my left pocket, then maneuver the pellet between my left thumb and forefinger and rotate it's point into the chamber. I then take the upper frame into my left open palm, rotating it closed and, at the end, using my left fingers to pull the upper frame closed to lock. I'd like to have a carbine based on the P3/P17 single pump design. The barrel should be 12-14" with the upper and lower frames sized to make a good forend grip that would also accommodate a larger air cylinder requiring up to twice the cocking force of the P17. The lower frame should use the same pistol grip and trigger, and be extended to create a shortish shoulder stock.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vihren from USA on 2016-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate. Nice, easily adjustable fiber optic sights. Excellent crisp trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Initially it was hard to pump until getting used to it..

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Antonio from USA on 2016-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, Consistency, Price, Low Power, Trigger, Fun Factor

    Things I would have changed: Better finishing of plastic 11mm rail and grip seams. Rail can scrape hands when pumping the gun. I installed a 11mm to weaver adapter ($9 on amazon.) and a cheap scope. I also smoothed the seams on the front and rear of the grip with a razor blade for comfort. For the price these are not significant complaints.

    What others should know: This is the most airgunning fun you can have for $35. This gun is great for basement shooting at 7 to 12 yards. 10 shot string with Beeman Wadcutters Coated 7.7 grain pellets averaged 411 fps muzzle velocity (406 to 416 fps), std dev 2.8 fps. The gun shoots RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter accurately. I have not experienced any issue with operation of the gun. A few forums identify the ease of rebuild of the gun to address any issues you may experience over time.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2016-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate low cost plinker. Once you start shooting you will have a hard time putting this gun down.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Shoots RWS hobby pellets very well

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By efrain from USA on 2016-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The thing points great, shoots better. sights are small and fine, great for accuracy

    Things I would have changed: nothing yet

    What others should know: if you don't crank it all the way forward when pumping, it will still work but give you less power. This thing was dead on right out of the box. I'm a little concerned with how the fiber optics will hold up cause all the pressure of pumping is on them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price, the accuracy, how easy it is to tune!

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING!

    What others should know: This is bar far the best bargain in the airgun world! This is one of the most accurate airguns regardless of price! I have become an expert in tuning these. I flute and polish the barrel. The last two I purchased the main seal tube was perfect. In the past there has been small burrs on the intake air hole on the main piston tube and they had to be smoothed out on the inside or it was cause O-ring failure. It appears this has been corrected. I have also done several trigger jobs. I basically have turned these easily into match type target trigger which breaks at barely 1 lb with almost a zero 1st stage. At 30m I can put one pellet on top of the other (bag rested of course and I use a scope). If you want to mount optics you should use a dove-tail to picatinny converter. That way the mount makes contact with a large portion of the rail. The scope rail is made of plastic and I would not use individual scope rings as they can easily break the rail. The RWS SHP chrono'd at 410 fps.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2016-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Overall handling, authentic looks, feel, accuracy, and style. And the single pump power.

    Things I would have changed: The single load to a multiple load design.

    What others should know: None

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ray from USA on 2016-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I was pleasantly surprised at how accurate the gun is!! And the sights were EZ to adjust. I can hit MT dog cans on there sides at 25 yds.

    Things I would have changed: Some how make it a little ez'r to load.

    What others should know: For the money you can't go wrong with this gun.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Squirminator from USA on 2016-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The perfect 5 meter (16-ish feet) plinker. Super good feel, great trigger and very accurate. Incredible value. Until it breaks. Mine lasted 2 years and about one tin of pellets. Never dropped, never abused. Now it is a boat anchor... cock it and "whoosh". I know it was under $50 with shipping but that is still a lot of beer and pizza. Looking on line, this happens to a lot of people. It's a five star gun until it dies. Or, it is a five star disposable gun you have to replace after the warrantee runs out.

    Things I would have changed: Make so it don't break. I really loved it until the failure.

    What others should know: Pretty hard to cock... do-able but just don't be surprised.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By kevin from USA on 2016-05-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fantastic Value! Weight of pistol is perfect for sight aquisition for informal targeting and plinking. The trigger far surpasses expectations for this price. Fiber optic sights are not my first choice but they suit this pistol well. The grip is excellent. People can say it's "too slick" but it better IMO than many other polymer grips for other pistols of all styles. I also feel like this is an accurate expectation to gauge some the more expensive Beeman products. It is enough for me to consider one of their top tier products. VERY SMART on Beeman's part. Or you can just stay with this fantastic beginner model!

    Things I would have changed: Not much. This pistol is a perfect compromise for the features and price. The sight adjustment detents aren't as crisp as my German made airguns but they are perfectly functional! The ONLY concern with this pistol is all the problems with quality control I have heard about. I paid for the 10 for $10 and have only put about 200 shots through it.

    What others should know: Like I said above I paid to have the testing done. I feel it was worth it to have a gun this much fun! It was a small inconvenience at first but I haven't cared since I started shooting this pistol! I spent $60 on another pistol that has its virtues but the accuracy isn't even close. My groups are 3x small with my P17! If u want accuracy and to push the range of can popping this one is for you! I shot this with my brothers who can't stand shooting my German spring rifles and they were literally fighting over who go to shoot my new Beeman P17! We were popping cans at about 17 yards. After awhile it was hard to miss! My middle brother got in a rest position and from 10 yards hit a small army man plastic molded figure about 1 for 10. We have never shot pistols before this. The gun is a perfect teacher and rewards with accuracy! Read the blog to learn a few pointers about how to shoot a handgun it will pay off big! I only hope this gun holds up as it is my new favorite!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By joseph from USA on 2016-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feels good in the hand. Build quality is very good for this price point air pistol. Pretty good accuracy with no recoil. ( 3/4" c-c best so far at 10 yards) Most groups 1-1.5 c-c

    Things I would have changed: This is just an observation not a complaint.....pistols last couple inches of cocking stroke is pretty hard. It has smoothed out during break in. This pistol has an intregal 11 mm dovetail for optic but not sure how one would finish cocking stroke with one installed.

    What others should know: This pistol is a very good bargain at $35.00. Fun to shoot. I'm satisfied!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By micheljgaudet from USA on 2016-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: NO RECOIL - at ALL. Other than the BA NP pistol, this is my only other non-spring AIR ram (my term) type pistol. I am blown away by how QUIET and GENTLE this thing shoots. I can shoot this with a baby sleeping in the room with NO issues. And at the living-room distance shooting distance of about 15-feet, I am doing SMALLER than dime sized groups ... CONSISTENTLY! I have shot it at 10-meters, and the groups for ME are less than two inches most times.

    Things I would have changed: This is a knock-off of a much higher quality, and EXPENSIVE, pistol. It looks pretty much just like it and regarding the END RESULT, does a fantastic job of grouping shots at 10 meters. The power is around 360-380 FPS with Crosman flat-head. I really wish the Chinese manufacturer did a better job regarding the fit of the piston, and the bleed hole that the 'O' ring slides past is not finished as smoothly as it SHOULD be... there MIGHT be enough roughness on the inside edge to eventually cause the 'O' ring to leak. I can't get into 'remedies' here as PA would frown on it... RIGHT GUYS? However, it IS an easy 'fix'.

    What others should know: While this inexpensive pistol is GREAT for accuracy and quietness, and the POWER for a single stroke is really nice, expect issues to happen due to the sloppy construction. You MIGHT get one with a trigger that will sometimes not want to release if pulled too slow, as others are reporting. You have to put a TON of force into the cocking, which means you need not worry about a small kid playing with it. This brings to mind the fact you might want to wear a glove on the hand used to do the main cocking. The dovetail rail has a VERY SHARP top-edge that WILL slice your hand if you are not careful to pay attention. Despite all of my negativity, I really LOVE this thing, and NOW I am going to check out the German-made pistol this thing is copied after. I sure hope PA lets this go through after mentioning the OTHER gun. It's the Beeman P3, which PA also sells.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By anthony from USA on 2016-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: fits my hand well , although the grip is a bit slippery. Its fun to shoot and not that bad to cock as some others say. Its all in the technique . I put my right hand on the grip and left hand ,right below the palm, just below the sight and close the top , never putting any pressure on the rear sight.

    Things I would have changed: I would put some texture on the grip , silicone would be awesome but some pattern in the mold would be fine. put some baseball grip tape on the handle.also put some black tape on the scope rail as it is a but sharp when cocking.

    What others should know: I have 3 and one failed after lots of rounds , but i was able to repair it with a little lube. Get 2 and keep one ready to go at all times!! The dam thing has a nice trigger and is very accurate. Probably the best value in SSP air pistols

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2016-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: its fun easy at 5 yards you can cut paper on the same hole

    Things I would have changed: not a thing for the price

    What others should know: have fun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bartley from USA on 2016-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate! Easy to operate! Comfortable, fits in my hand well! Good weight! Nice sights!

    Things I would have changed: This morning the silver hammer that secures the cocking lever closed pop open when firing. Not sure exactly why but on closing it does not seem to be going forward completely into a secure position. So I start pushing it forward with my thumb. Do not do this every time. Maybe weak spring or pivot pin is wearing quickly and allowing miss alignment. I will have to investigate more to find cause. Will google to see if others have experienced this issue. Appears to be leaking some oil around compression seal, very minor so far, but maybe know issue of burr on hole.

    What others should know: It shoots great and is fun. A couple of issues having fired less than fifty rounds through the P17. Need to track those issues down. Don't think they will cause me to return the pistol but it may need repaired.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephanie from USA on 2016-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this gun is the best. the price is low, and its a dead on the shot. many people say its hard to cock but after 100 times it smooths out and loosens.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brewster from USA on 2016-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the feel of this pistol in my hand, very comfortable fit. There is absolutely zero recoil when trigger is squeezed. I am impressed with the consistent accuracy with pistol. At 10 yards with open sights a grouping within a 50 cent piece. Having it's own power supply on board makes this a truly amazing pistol. I would highly recommend it to anyone above the ages of 18 years old. Definitely not a toy.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Definitely not a toy. Shoots as good as other's costing 4 times as much. I highly recommend it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2016-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the price was good i just got the beeman P17 to shoot in the house to pass the time and with a little adjustment on the rear sight it was pretty accurate . i think this was a good investment

    Things I would have changed: the pellet is was hard to put in the barrel at first but ones you got the hang of it it was not bad

    What others should know: its a lot of fun to shoot

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2016-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What a fun gun to shoot! I was pleasantly surprised at the feel and balance, it can easily be dialed in for accurate shooting at 10 meters. Perfect for plinking.

    Things I would have changed: when cocking, be careful you don't disturb the sights. I also used 400 grit sandpaper to smooth out a few rough edges on the grip, but for the price it absolutely cannot be beat!

    What others should know: get the ten for ten.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2016-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything at this price!

    Things I would have changed: Rough edges at seams...used a file to smooth.

    What others should know: Great for basement 10 meter shooting. !!

  • 123 ... 1314 Next
Navigation