Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2014-06-17 14:47:33

    Things I liked:Looks and feel.
    Things I would have changed:Cocking effort is so great it takes all I have to accomplish it! Takes all the fun out of shooting. My son-in-law, much younger and stronger than I, also had a very hard time getting it cocked. I've noticed in the specifications that the cocking effort is not listed, now I know why! This actually could be quite dangerous if care is not applied during the process.
    What others should know:I can rate the gun on everything but the accuracy. By the time I finally got it ready to shoot I was too tired to hold it steady! I have a Beeman P17 w/kit for sale. Gun is like new, only fired twice!
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 ... 910 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By THOMAS from USA on 2014-03-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is extremely accurate. After adjusting the sights, another great attribute, I was placing shots in the same hole off-hand from 7 yards. The trigger breaks crisply after a long pull and the gun is quiet enough to shoot indoors without disturbing anyone. I have a short fingers and this gun fits my hand surprisingly well for it's large size. The gun is really fun to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:The rail on top of the poly frame is very sharp. Cocking the gun takes some pressure and, after some time, my hand was raw from gripping the frame. I'm looking for a makeshift cover for the rail rather than use a glove.
      What others should know:Follow some of the great videos on Youtube for maintenance. Be sure to break down the gun, clean off the old grease, and polish the little gas-hole as many recommend. You will notice the difference. The gun is tricky to load but, with a little practice, you'll get the hang of it. My goal was to get more trigger time and become a better shot with open-sighted pistols. To that end, you can't go wrong with this extremely accurate, reasonably priced pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jason from USA on 2014-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great accuracy , good trigger feel, fits the hand very well.this gun is tons of fun to shoot, with amazing accuracy for this price range.
      Things I would have changed:better quality control
      What others should know:like many others, my guns o rings failed at around 700 shots. I disassembled the gun cleaned and polished piston & cylinder, replaced o rings with Viton o rings. the gun shoots reliably now, and is well worth the price.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2014-03-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The P17 is a made in China clone of the German made P3 and I have shot them side by side. The P3 has a little better trigger but costs a whole lot more. I like the ergonomics of the handle and the adjustable rear sight. It's very comfortable in a medium sized hand. I've had the P3 about 15 years so we will see how the P17 holds up. I found the P17 to be very accurate in the 10-12 yd. range and have been using 8.8 grn. Beeman Crow Magnum HP pellets. I like the single stroke to charge it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Maybe a better trigger but it would probably drive the price up.
      What others should know:Great plinker, lots of fun. A little weak for pest control. Quiet and recoil-less. You could shoot this all day. Great value for the money. It has a narrow dovetail scope rail.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By johnny from USA on 2014-03-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great accuracy (1 inch groups off the bench @ 25 yards) and I haven't touched the trigger. everything smooths up after a tin of pellets. not too loud also makes it backyard friendly.
      Things I would have changed:nothing I can think of.
      What others should know:I chronied mine and it was a little down on power (350 fps) when you open the gun there is two small phillips screws holding the barrel. I loosened them and slid the barrel to the rear so it makes contact with the o-ring. now it chronies 400 fps.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By FishaddictJim from USA on 2014-02-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great value. Very accurate. Automatic safety. Great fiber optic sights and 11mm rail for a dot scope or laser. Nice balance, feel, and look.
      Things I would have changed:The stock breech and piston O-rings are cheap and prone to early failure. My breech o-ring and piston o-rings both failed within 400 shots. I replaced the O-rings(which was very easy after watching several Youtube videos). No more misfires or low pressure/leaking cylinder after replacing the 0-rings. BTW, the piston o-ring is a size #116, and the breech o-ring was #009. I bought the O-rings in an assortment pack of 180 Viton O-rings at Harbor Freight for $5.
      What others should know:Very good gun at a great price. Lots of fun, very accurate, feels nice and has a decent trigger. But the O-rings suck. Don't throw the gun away when it won't hold air or starts to misfire. For $5 for new O-rings, a tube of white lithium grease, and maybe 10 minutes, you can repair this gun and keep it shooting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Woody from USA on 2014-02-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heavy like real gun. Does not kick. Accurate
      Things I would have changed:Very hard to break barrel and cock. Maybe I am to old at 72.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By 4TFORCE7 from USA on 2014-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great pistol. More than 1500 shots, no problems.Very accurate with good power.Tons of FUN!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Easy to modify. I made a.22 cal barrel for it.{ Lathe cut a 1322 barrel to size} Didn't even have to re-sight! Awesome!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gregory from USA on 2014-01-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice weight and balance. It feels good in your hands, aims easily with the fiber optic sights. Very accurate, just about right on right out of the box. Wonderful trigger, best of all my guns. Nice power for a pistol. Mine chronied at 420 average, they advertised 410.
      Things I would have changed:It would be great to have a safety on the right side also to make it truly ambidex. Other than that, it's about a perfect target pistol.
      What others should know:I've never had the chance to shoot the P3, but it can't be that much better than the P17. I mean $39 vs $239, really? The only reason I didn't give it all 5's is because the first one I recieved had a air leak problem, but PA took care of it and had my replacement back faster than the original one. I got the 10 for 10 and it's been great !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By archangel from USA on 2014-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price. Purchased this pistol on a lark to see if reviews were right about value for the money. They were RIGHT!! For this price it is hard to beat. Accuracy is wonderful. I get dime size groups at 40 feet easily with the BSA Red Dot sight I mounted.
      Things I would have changed:nothing.
      What others should know:This is a great value for the price.It is hard to cock but after you develop a technique it becomes quite easy.Definately an all day shooter. BUY IT YOU WILL LOVE IT.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Melissa from USA on 2014-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is a hard air powered pistol to top not only for the $, but for its accuracy. I have owned adult airguns for the past 10 years. This is a good one.
      Things I would have changed:should have a rubberized grip
      What others should know:try it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2014-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: This gun is highly accurate and fun to shoot. I put a BSA red dot sight on mine, and am shooting 1.25" 10 shot groups at 20yds, using RWS diabolo basic pellets from a bench rest. I'm sure you can do better with match ammo.
      Things I would have changed: I didn't care for the stock sights. Although they are definitely useable, I mounted a red dot on the built in 11mm rail, for better accuracy.
      What others should know: Like others have said this gun is pretty hard to cock. I would not recommend this pistol to a person under 12yrs. old, or an older person with arthritic hands, just for this fact alone. Other than that BUY IT YOU'LL LIKE IT!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ralph from USA on 2013-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is very accurate for the power. Loads of fun to shoot. Glad I purchased two of them because the person standing behind you always wants to shoot it also (problem solved) Great Entertainment!! And pactice!! For the price!!
      Things I would have changed:Ambidextrous Safety would be nice for everyone.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By allen from USA on 2013-12-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:fast shipping
      Things I would have changed:the plastic package it comes in.
      What others should know:bought for a christmas present .son opened it a on the very first pump it broke an o-ring. didnt get to shoot it yet. very disappointed at this time.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bob from USA on 2013-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good groups, if I do my part, even with cheapo pellets. Feels good in the hands. One of the few pistols with ambi grips, so I can practice lefty. It's a good gun to get someone started with, if they aren't sure about air guns.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull on mine is long and creepy, even adjusted to the limit. Many reviews comment on the excellent trigger--mine sucks. The rear sight is a pathetic joke. The "muzzle brake" only serves to make it louder indoors.
      What others should know:Lots of recommendations to check for burrs in the air cylinder. For the money, I don't expect it to last forever, and it won't. I'm tempted to send it back due to the lousy trigger, but will probably keep it for basic training.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Crosman Shooter from USA on 2013-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The version of this pistol has fiber optic sights in the same style as the P3 it emulates. The earlier version of this has target style sights. I bought the later version but I prefer the target style as they can be more precise. This pistol is very accurate with with either style of sights.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, the P17 is a bargain. The durability of the two I own has been proven with over 3000 shots.
      What others should know:I use 7 gr. rws basic with very good results. Crosman 7.4 gr. wad cutters are nearly as accurate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jessica from USA on 2013-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:for the price you cant beat this for plinking.it has a great trigger function and is very accurate. I have bought one for me and also my best friend. he has never shot a handgun and this is helping him learn all the ins and outs of handling a handgun.also have 3 kids under 10 that will learn with this gun.
      Things I would have changed:nothing its a good little gun
      What others should know:a fun all day shooter would recomend
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By airgunanimal from USA on 2013-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun shoots very well. Better than my regular pistols. Not too light has a real feel can be shot inside or out. Has almost no recoil. A great gun to get people to start shooting. I love the 1 pump cocking function instead of the multi pump.Has some punch but I would not hunt with this gun. I purchased this to keep me shooting inside when the weather is bad. For $39.95 you really can't bet this gun. Some say the cocking is hard, what do you expect if you want the gun too have some power. Very accurate. 1.5" groups at 20' off hand. If I had better vision it would be even better. The gun will make it happen if you can do your part. Went to my friends and we were hitting 3" blocks of wood at 40' in his basement.
      Things I would have changed:One thing; if you are shooting, wear a glove on your non-shooting hand or the hand that you put on top to cock the gun. There is a rail/dove tail and it is alittle rough after 20 or so shots.
      What others should know:Yes! This looks to me like an exact copy of the Beeman P3. I don't know this for sure but the gun looks, and the specs are the same. The P3 is $200+ dollars and the P17 is $39.95. I do not know what the difference could be other than price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jack Cotter from USA on 2013-11-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:price. accuracy. power is a good value. feels good in my hand to shoot. I have a routine soup can i plink. measured 40.3 feet away, i can and do tag it with authority and score 70 to 80 percent of the time, when i'm taking my time. that is, since i zeroed in at the bench with windage and elevation adjustments.
      Things I would have changed:rear sight elevation setting sometimes sicks in down position, causing the shot to be off... check that it it is pulled up to the screw before you pull the trigger. i may put a heavier spring under the rear sight to help it stay up and accurate.
      What others should know:this is my first air pistol and i couldn't expect to be more pleased. i LOVE the accuracy with different pellets. match grade RWS pellets seem just as accurate as points or hollows at this distance. a most fun pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Will from USA on 2013-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a good-looking pistol that has very nice accuracy, especially when using the inexpensive RWS basic wadcutters. The trigger has a good feel and breaks consistently for good accuracy. It is fun to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:The notch in the rear sight seems wide and allows for a lot of lateral slop when shooting 25 ft and farther.
      What others should know:For me, the Crosman (or other) dot sight is a big improvement over the open sights, but I get terrific accuracy with the Center Point laser pointer (sight). I'm having a lot of bursting frost-damaged cherry tomatoes from the garden at 25 ft using a hand rest.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By PA Old Man from USA on 2013-11-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Price, Accuracy, Excellent velocity, Nice triger, price oh yeah!!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:When I received my P17 the piston was dry and cocking was rough. I applied a small amount of white lithium to the piston and put a drop of pell gun oil in the chamber that was a year ago. My P17 is the older version with iron sights not the fiber optic. It is as accurate as the 6 inch barrel Walther CP88 I own for 1/5th the cost. Velocity with Crosman Premier Super Match 7.9 gr wadcutter my P17 is just about 400fps very close to what the Walther shoots the same pellets. The P17 is quiet enough to shoot in my basement with no hearing protection so this is a great foul weather/winter gun. I highly recomend the Beeman P17
    • « Previous 123 ... 910 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top