Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Customer from USA on 2010-04-23 21:39:46

    Things I liked:Powerful and quiet! Love the scope and the scope rail.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger! It's horrible. I just installed a GRTIII, made an incredible difference! I have seen a lot of complaints about the trigger on all of the comments. You guys need to order this trigger from charliedatuna.com. $32, shipping included. Money well spent. Also, they need to offer a composite/synthetic stock in the XL series.
    What others should know:Not for kids. This is a heavy gun that is hard to cock. I like the weight, seems to help me steady the shot.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By brian from USA on 2014-08-07 09:02:41

    Things I liked:I bought rife 6 months ago, feels good to shot. The problem is up pellet move up and down, a good foot at times. Have called PA and tried shimming scope. that did not work. Took scope off and did the same thing. I will call to see if I can return.
    Things I would have changed:right the rifle
    What others should know:look for a better rifle
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 1213 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By eric from USA on 2014-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:owned mine a few years in .22, like the wood thumbhole stock, after breaking it in, it shoots a consistant 910 fps with Crossman hollowpoint pellets. at 20 yards, the groups are one ragged hole, took a tin of pellets to break in.
      Things I would have changed:better finish on stock, I ened up painting mine camo
      What others should know:the gun has to break in, make sure you clean the barrel properly when you get it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By RandS. from USA on 2014-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice looking stock and metal. Very quiet, not as loud as my Vantage NP or Gamo BigCat. Lots of power plus. Accuracy is improving with use. It likes JSB 18.13 Exact Domes the best, 1/2"@ 30 yds. and then Crosman H/P's at about 3/4 to 1" @ 30yds.
      Things I would have changed:Quality control needs to be improved. Better trigger would be a big improvement. If the owner has to clean and scrub the barrel for an hour before it can be shot then why doesn't Crosman provide a cleaning kit or clean the filthy barrel before they ship it? If the gun requires 500 pellets shot through it to get broken in to be any where near accurate then why doesn't Crosman include 500 pellets or shoot it 500 times before they sell it. This air rifle and all others in its price range need to be more user ready out of the box!
      What others should know:I gave this gun 5 stars only because its a nice looking rifle and is getting more accurate the more I shoot and tinker with it but not without some issues. I've never had and air rifle that shot good right out of the box, this gun included, and it needs a lot of attention to get it to shoot accurately and is very hold sensitive. The 3-9 C/P scope that was included(lemon) didn't last 100 shots and it was replaced by Crosman. Then after firing the rifle(another lemon) about 800-900 times the scope rail and scope fell off and Crosman sent me a new rifle. Accuracy with the first rifle was horrible, it never improved with any pellet. The replacement rifle is not as nice looking as the first one but it is becoming very accurate now after about 600 shots and that's all that matters. A gun isn't worth spit if it isn't accurate! Crosman and PyramydAir are good companies to deal with and I am happy (NOW) with my XL 1100, a real monster of a gun like my old M1 Garand.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By brian from USA on 2014-08-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought rife 6 months ago, feels good to shot. The problem is up pellet move up and down, a good foot at times. Have called PA and tried shimming scope. that did not work. Took scope off and did the same thing. I will call to see if I can return.
      Things I would have changed:right the rifle
      What others should know:look for a better rifle
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2014-07-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful and accurate!
      Things I would have changed:Trigger pull
      What others should know:Great gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Terry Terry from USA on 2014-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It has power, it's accurate and it's reliable. Well made. I got this one in .22. Probably the best choice all-around. I also have it in .177, which is nice (flat shooting with 8-10 g pellets). I'm using JSBs 18.1 g and Polymags for my .22. I put a REDFIELD Revenge scope on for quick acquisition, also since the pellets I use have a difference of 2 grains.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing but keep the model and up the power. Maybe make a carbine model or a scout model for marauding and discretely dispatching pests. This gun separates the boys from the men.
      What others should know:This probably would take down a wolverine (gulo-gulo) confidently, but nothing I would want to contest to. THERE's SO MANY REVIEWS, NUMBERS SO MUCH INCREASED. Love the baffle. This is a hunting (sniper's) rifle with practicality. Take down power in the .22. My .177 just doesn't drop as much. Both awesome calibers, but my new .22 you can't go wrong in they caliber for air rifles.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Taylan from USA on 2014-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The rifle is great! Hits hard and is accurate with a little bit of practice! I'm on to about 250 shots and i can see it is shaping up nicely. About quarter sized groups at 30yd and I'mm not past the 500 pellet break in point yet.
      Things I would have changed:The scope!!! The scope that came with this is garbage!! Maybe I got a fluke and mine is bad but the scope worked perfect until about 100 shots and then the cross hairs started to rotate clockwise after every shot.
      What others should know:The scope is fine if you are lucky enough to get one that works. Mine was a hunk of junk.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Walter from USA on 2014-06-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks, balance, accuracy, quiet, back yard friendly, (so long as it is a big back yard),will knock over a big ground hog or other large pest with one well placed shot
      Things I would have changed:It is heavy, cocking is tough but managable,trigger pull is firm but easy to get used to.
      What others should know:This is a serious weapon. not a toy. easily penatrates (and keeps going) a 3/4 inch hard, dry pine board at 30 feet.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Graeme from USA on 2014-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smooth Cocking, adjustable trigger, nicely made for the money. In the recommended pellets - skip the Crosman Premier Hollow Points - except for something to break the rifle in with. The Polymags are VERY good in the gun giving me 21ft/lb at an average speed of 770ft/sec. But those Polymags are not ALL as well made as they might be. Lot of zingers going adrift at wild sppeds. My favored Beeman Kodiak 21.14 grain was giving me 24.7ft/lb at an average of 726ft/sec. I'll probably shoot the Kodiak as my standard pellet for game with this.
      Things I would have changed:No autosafety on cock? Or mine doesn't.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jim from USA on 2014-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy and power amazing. I have this gun In .22 and I am incredibly happy with it. It is my first .22 and I will not be going back to my .177 for small game or larger again. This gun will drop anything form rabbit to fox.
      Things I would have changed:There not much I would have changed. The gun feals really nice when holding and shoulders great
      What others should know:It is fairly heavy but that's good because that means you will have more control or it. Get it in .22!.177 may shoot faster but you will be affected by wind if there is any. .22 will give you way less movement from wind. You MUST decided if your going to be shooting form bench or free hand. Barracuda match grade 21.14 work best for bench and free hand and predator poly mags we just behind it. Thoughts are you top 2 pellets in this gun. Jsb 18.13 were ok the grouped preaty good but not like the others and barracuda hunter extreams did just about the same. All of these pellets will be devistaing and I can't stress it enough get the .22 cal. There is very little pellet drop and you get much grater knockdown power the .177 is still extramly powerful at 24 foot pounds but the .22 delivers 27 to 31 depending on what pellet you use Polly mags gave me the best foot power . Fps doesn't matter as much as foot pounds do and this is one of the top fps for 22 cals at 1100 with alloy and around 1000 with lead. So your getting a top of the line .22 the matches many pcps. You will not be dissapointed in it and you will like the thumbhole stock. Lastly get a better scope. The one it comes with is OK but the crosshairs and really thick. Get a hawke 3-9×50 objective zoom or a good leapers this will be you new favorite pellet gun for small to midium sized game in .22.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Antonio from USA on 2014-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful, within 30 yards groups under one inch. And it's just a nice looking rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Thumbnail grip is a little tight on my hands, but didn't bother me too much. My np 22 all weather feels better. Other than that for the price it's a beast.
      What others should know:Break in took me over 500 shots, be patient. Benjamin 27 grain pellets work just fine in mine. Use a strong backstop can punch through 3/4 plywood with ease.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Terry Terry from USA on 2014-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I honesty like the weight, because it feels like it has a kick to it. It definitely shocks and rocks my Iscope Iphone recordings. This is what air rifles should be: accurate, dependable and powerful. Mine is the 1500 model, which is the .177.
      Things I would have changed:More power, less noise. More power so I can shoot those heavier pellets closer to the max subsonic velocity.
      What others should know:This thing seems to shoot past the speed of sound shooting standard grain pellets. My NP XL 1500, as of now, seems to shoot the H&N Baracuda Hunter (10.34 grain) best, which is nice. Very accurate, and well, you know it has power. This is a long range delight.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2014-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this rifle in .22 cal a few months ago after previously purchasing a Benjamin Trail NP .22cal synthetic stock. I had to return the first NP XL 1100 right after I received it because of the poor machining fit between the barrel and the compression tube assembly (the barrel had a severely noticeable droop that was so bad the scope ran out of adjustment before it would zero). Pyramyd was great about sending me a replacement in a few days. I have been quite pleased with the replacement.I do wish that Benjamin (Crosman) would also offer the Trail NP XL series rifles in synthetic stock. The wood stock does have some imperfections, but over all it is o.k. I did give it a good application of wax to bring out the finish. You will have to spend some time cleaning the barrel before you shoot it (both rifle bores were filthy upon arrival), but I would clean any rifle before shooting it. The trigger on the Trail NP XL wasn't as bad as the Trail NP, but after shooting it for a while I went ahead and replaced it with a Charlie DaTuna trigger. It was worth the investment on both rifles. Both are sensitive to what pellets you shoot. I have found H&N Baracuda Green alloy pellets work the best in both rifles. I am able to hold a 1/2" to 3/4" grouping at 20 yards. I would also recommend using a VERY light application of gun grease to portions of the bear trap lever, and trigger assembly (you will find that this definitely makes a difference with trigger performance.
      Things I would have changed:The factory triggers are the only problem that I see with either of my rifles. This seems to be the biggest complaint from people who own these rifles. I don't know why Crosman doesn't improve the trigger performance--the only guess I have as to why they don't would be for insurance reasons, as increasing the sensitivity could possibly lead to an inexperienced shooter having an accident. To truly enjoy this rifle go ahead and purchase the aftermarket trigger I promise you that you won't regret it. My only other complaint is that these rifles are made in China. The machining and wood quality isn't as good as they could be, and I would gladly pay another $50 if it was made in the U.S.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Paul from USA on 2014-03-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is a beast,love the way it feels.it is a bit heavy but very comfortable.this gun is not a toy.And I was very pleased at the noise level of this gun,not at all loud...
      Things I would have changed:Nothing...This is a great shooting rifle.After the break in I am sure the group well shrink,not that they were bad.
      What others should know:I shot 2 kinds of Crossman pellets the gun really likes 1 better then the other.I ordered some more today.I have no negative feed back as of yet..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2014-03-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy, after some work, is outstanding for a springer gun. Yes I consider this a springer. Gas piston, spring, the principle is exactly the same. I am getting 1.25" at 50 yards using Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum 10.5 gr .177 pellets. Noise level, again with some work, is very quiet.
      Things I would have changed:I would gladly pay $100 more for the barrel to be polished and the barrel shroud to be clean on the inside of oils. Installing a CharlieDaTuna trigger was also a huge improvement. These three issues were the problems I had to work through to get to where I'm at now.
      What others should know:Outa the box, it's a good looking gun. A bit heavy, but all magnum springer's are heavy. The cocking action was smooth, but not for the faint of heart. It takes some serious arm strength for an extended shooting secession. Accuracy was horrible. I read several blogs, emailed Benjamin and the consensus was I needed to put 200 to 300 pellets through the gun for the accuracy to settle in and the dieseling to subside. Well they are all wrong. Here's what it takes. 1st, but a good quality non embedding barrel polish. I used a bronze brush, dipped into the polishing paste and proceeded to do 20 strokes from the breech to the muzzle. When done, completely cleaned the barrel. I repeated this from the muzzle to the breach and thoroughly cleaned the bore again. Afterwards I disassembled the barrel shroud and cleaned the tube and the muzzle end with acetone. Take care not to get acetone on the o-rings. It will swell them and render them unusable. Acetone leaves NO residue, therefor no dieseling... Next I installed a CharlieDaTuna, GRT III trigger. This is a truly awesome trigger and is what this gun should come with from Benjamin. I have less than 75 pellets down range and haven't even done accuracy testing with the sample packs I purchased from Pyramyd Air. I can't wait to see what that reveals. Over all Very satisfied with the gun now. That's why it got 5's. If I had done this a month ago, it would have gotten 1's and been returned... Moral of the story, stick with it if it's not what
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gilbert from USA on 2014-02-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate & quiet rifle using Predator Polymag pellets. Groupings at 20 yards half the size of a dime. Very happy with the accuracy of the pellet rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger system needs to be fine tuned for a smoother trigger pull. Rifle is also heavy, but may contribute to it's accuracy.
      What others should know:Between my Gamo Bone Collector Bull Whisper and my Benjamin for hunting accuracy, Benjamin all the way!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By eric from USA on 2014-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.3333301544189453 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very hard hitting, use for small game hunting
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:mine shoots a consistant 910fps with Crossman hollowpoints
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I have had this rifle for about a week now and have taken 4 squirrels all 1 shot kills from about 40 yards. This is a great gun. Very good accuracy after the break in and scope really isnt bad. I would deffinatly buy again.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The craftsmanship and quality of this rifle are remarkable. It is very powerful and accurate. The scope is a terrific addition, but necessary because there are no iron sights. It is fairly accurate straight out of the box. I was "on paper" at 50 yards with the first rounds.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger takes some getting used to. There is quite a bit of uptake, then even more pull before the break to fire. I'd like a better trigger, but maybe after break-in that will be better. It feels like a 7-9lb pull after a long uptake, but I haven't actually measured it. That's just a "felt" comparison to my 4 lb AR triggers and my competition 2 lb Glock trigger.
      What others should know:Buy from these guys! Seriously. I meant to order a .22cal and ordered a .177 online by mistake. These people acted like it was no big deal, gave me an RMA and sent me the new .22cal - and they paid shipping. Great company! I'll be a repeat customer!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By tracy from USA on 2014-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:well just received my 1100 xl. overall nice no scratches or blemishes, the stain could be a bit darker but that's easy fix. not near the junk in the barrel that people have had but still cleaned itbefore shooting. I put 10 pellets through before mounting scope. it has a bit of ecoil but not what I was expecting from the other reviews. its heavy but I like the stability. not as loud as I thought again from reviews. put scope on tightened it up and first shot was left (at 45 feet) 2 small adjustments and 2 shots later the thing is dead nuts on at 45 feet. im not after a true zero yet but impressive for only having 60 shots through it. the last 20 all I did was lean on a towel on the hood of my truck and shot at and old piece of wood trim, and 19 of 20 could be covered by a quarter. blew a hole clean through. and this is with a 250 count 4.99 tin of Crossman domes for break in. cant wait to get it broken in and se what it can do. The penetration is outstanding, pests beware. ok now for the negative the trigger SUCKS big feels like a 6 inch pull need to get da tuna trigger. but for what it is the accuracy and power are excellent. the trigger is only reason for a 4 overall. once changed will go to 5 star.
      Things I would have changed:right now not much but we will see as I proceed with the break in period.
      What others should know:It is heavy,but as I said I like the stability. not as loud as people make it sound. it may be difficult for some to cock, not to bad but im 6 1 200. if you uase good technique its not bad.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By eldon from USA on 2014-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great looking gun, for me it shoots very accurate considering I'm not the best shooter. Pyramyd is great to do business with also.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
    • 123 ... 1213 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top