Date: 30/7/2016 8:29
0

Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By espn1990 from USA on 2010-04-23 21:39:46

Things I liked: Powerful and quiet! Love the scope and the scope rail.

Things I would have changed: The trigger! It's horrible. I just installed a GRTIII, made an incredible difference! I have seen a lot of complaints about the trigger on all of the comments. You guys need to order this trigger from charliedatuna.com. $32, shipping included. Money well spent. Also, they need to offer a composite/synthetic stock in the XL series.

What others should know: Not for kids. This is a heavy gun that is hard to cock. I like the weight, seems to help me steady the shot.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Denny from USA on 2015-09-09 23:51:01

Things I liked: Its a very powerful gun for the money and appeared to be well built

Things I would have changed: Benjamin NEEDS to recall these as there is a KNOWN issue with the Scope mount coming UNSHEARED from the gun. I shot mine less than 5o times and the scope mount sheared off and fell to the cement below me.

What others should know: Pyramyd Air, being the best company to buy from took COMPLETE care of me, with a refund and also return postage. This review has NO BEARING on Pyramyd Air, but Crosman/Benjamin. The same thing happened to Paul Capello when he reviewed the rifle. People buy your rifles from Pyramyd Air.................They back it up.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1415 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stephen from USA on 2016-06-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have owned this model since it came out. most accurate gun i have 5 years and have never re adjusted the scope dead on from 50 yards with the 3 different rounds, i use crosman HP, gamo Ts-22, and RWS superdomes.

    Things I would have changed: nothing =)

    What others should know: for 3 years I hated on this rifles weight between my gamo's, then I bought a Crosman 1322 and made a few upgrades to it super light and compact even with a 24" barrel even more light weight than my gamo's BUT.. the weight is a good thing it helps hold the rifle against your own body movement. out of 5 guns i own this is the most consistent accurate and hard hitting. maybe it's because i have ADHD and shake a lil anyways but this always a kill shot.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rick dyer from USA on 2016-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate and easy to use.

    Things I would have changed: Way too heavy for me.

    What others should know: Would be great for target shooting but too heavy for shooting varmints.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2016-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: All metal parts wood stock

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Very well made gun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2016-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The stock feels good the thumb hole needs a little shaving, after cleaning the rifle fires really great and getting better , buy the sling it's a good investment for a secured hold .

    Things I would have changed: Again the thumb hole needs a little shaving / if it could have another 100 fps

    What others should know: I just put the scope on after cleaning and it was off to the left 6 inches, I didn't expect that at 30 meters

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By ed from USA on 2016-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Okay - This is after only 50 pellets so far. It's heavy, hard to cock, and pretty accurate. The last 5 pellets generated this shot string with HN Barracudas: Created: 03-18-2016 03:35:38 PM Description: .25 Notes 1: Notes 2: Distance to Chrono (FT): 1.00 Ballistic Coefficient: 1.000 Bullet Weight (gr): 31.020 Temp: 62 F BP: 30.00 inHG Shots # FPS FT-LBS PF 5 616 26.14 19.11 4 619 26.40 19.20 3 616 26.14 19.11 2 614 25.97 19.05 1 611 25.72 18.95 Average: 615.20 StdDev: 2.95 Min: 611 Max: 619 Spread: 8 True MV: 615.27 Shots/sec: 0.04 Group Size (IN): 0.00 So very consistent. I used a db meter app to get a sense of how loud it is. It's not calibrated so I'm not going to name a number. But the exact same test with my well used R7 was 1db less. The NP XL I thought was noticeably louder though. So I don't know what to make of that.

    Things I would have changed: I haven't run into anything other than the trigger. It's pretty bad. Not consistent. Will need a grt replacement.

    What others should know: This caught me by surprise: cocking effort also takes into account the lever you are using. My Hatsan pistol lists a 60 pound cocking force, but it's only a foot long. This has the same cocking force, but is 4 feet long. It's pretty difficult to cock, but I'm getting better.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from USA on 2016-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: . the rifle is very well made ,it shoots 2 inch at grps at 40 yrds 40 yrds

    Things I would have changed: the trigger needs to be change to a better one

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2015-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Rifle is solid and tight. Handles and shoulders well. Rifle is capable of respectable groups (SCOPE IS NOT).

    Things I would have changed: Build it here instead of China. Scope is JUNK... Mine is obviously defective and will not hold zero (groups 10" @ 25yds). Trigger pull is very long and "springy".

    What others should know: Rifle is assembled in USA but made in China. Still a good value even after dropping another $100 into it for a decent scope. Groups 1 1/2" @ 25yds with an aftermarket scope...probably a little better once I get used to the trigger.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2015-11-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I am a new air gun shooter, NOT AN EXPERT, but I think this rifle is terrific. The look of the wood and steel are great. I was a little unsure about the thumbhole stock, but I quickly grew.to like it. I can't think of a single thing to complain about. The scope works beautifully; , sharp, clear image and easy to adjust. Cocking is firm, but I expected that, this is a powerful gun. Many reviewers complain about the trigger, but it works great for me, I like the feel and control(remember I am a beginner). I like the weaver scope mount, it has been rock solid. This rifle is very quiet.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, this is an excellent, enjoyable gun.

    What others should know: This gun just works for me. I am very pleased with my purchase. I rated accuracy at four stars because I am not getting the close groups that others are claiming, but as my skill improves, I think I will get better results. I ordered this gun from Pyramid Air to replace another gun that was defective. Pyramid treated me great. Courteous, fast , and efficient!!! No Problems.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Denny from USA on 2015-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its a very powerful gun for the money and appeared to be well built

    Things I would have changed: Benjamin NEEDS to recall these as there is a KNOWN issue with the Scope mount coming UNSHEARED from the gun. I shot mine less than 5o times and the scope mount sheared off and fell to the cement below me.

    What others should know: Pyramyd Air, being the best company to buy from took COMPLETE care of me, with a refund and also return postage. This review has NO BEARING on Pyramyd Air, but Crosman/Benjamin. The same thing happened to Paul Capello when he reviewed the rifle. People buy your rifles from Pyramyd Air.................They back it up.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tim from USA on 2015-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So far, I have about 400 pellets through it in just a week or two of use. The power and accuracy are very good, and like any magnum springer type gun, it does take a lot of practice to get the best hold figured out and be consistent at it. Personally, I have not found the artillery hold to be the best with this gun. Mine shoots best held snug (but night tight like a magnum CFR)against the shoulder with a light and loose grip at the front screws. The gun requires a pretty good effort to cock as should be expected with a gun this powerful, but it is smooth as can be, and closes very easily and solidly. Mine has barely dieseled since new, and is extremely consistent across my Oehler 35P. The std deviation is normally less than 5 FPS with any pellet tried so far, and the velocity is extremely consistent as well, norm,ally staying within 6-8 fps total spread for 5 shot strings.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is way too heavy and long regardless of the adjustments you can make. For a $300 gun, it should be a lot better than this. A synthetic stock offering to shave a pound or two off the weight would be nice too. Are you listening Crosman?

    What others should know: It's fairly heavy for a pellet rifle. In fact it weighs more with the scope than my .458 Lott. It isn't for all day carrying while hunting (unless you have a sling, and even then I'd rather have a much lighter gun for a walking hunting rifle) or plinking, but it is very powerful for a springer type gun, and would make an excellent sit and watch squirrel gun. It has enough power for about any small game at distances out to around 40-50, and pests like raccoon or woodchucks to maybe 30 yards or a bit more depending on the pellet used and the shooters capabilities. Make sure to thoroughly clean the bore before your first shot!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the fact that this gun has a welded on weaver rail. This alone saves me mucho time checking 10-12 screws and loctiting them, and them later checking them again. Sound level after cleaning was acceptable.

    Things I would have changed: The sight is working ok, but a little better quality would be a nice touch. The rifle bore was very dirty. Took me at least 8 patches to get it clean.

    What others should know: I read the reviews on the NP Benjamin and they were not real flattering. I'm glad I got the XL as owners seem to be more pleased with this air gun. I know I am. Took me 30-45min to get it everything done and the rifle firing acceptable groups. As I practice, expect them to get tighter. This time I did not make a mistake and got the airgun I paid for.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ed from USA on 2015-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I received it from PA and cleaned the barrel,installed the scope & sling and was shooting 1" groups @ 20 yards--all within 48 hours from ordering it! Thank you PA! From reading reviews I expected the barrel to be filthy and for it to sound like a cannon when firing initially. Didn't happen. The barrel was hardly dirty at all & didn't have a lot of excess oil to clean out. It also was seemed pretty quiet to me. Not any louder than my Benji Limited Edition (NPS action & also .22).I also was concerned about being able to cock it and its weight. My 1st impression was heh, this ain't so bad. Keep in mind I'm an old fart that'll turn 70 very soon. I thought, must be a lotta girlie men out there in the air gun world. Well, after running the first 50 or so pellets through....DANG, this sucker IS kind of a b**ch to cock, LOL. That night my shoulder throbbed like I'd been wrasslin' a grizzly but this section is supposed to be what I liked. OK, it's dead nuts accurate out to just short of 50 yds.

    Things I would have changed: Ladies & Gentlemen, this IS a very heavy rifle. It's been a very long time but I'm sure it's heavier than the M-14 with full auto selector & 2 magazines taped together I carried in Nam. It does take some strength to cock but it is doable. I do wish it could be lighter but I knew all this going in and I'm still very happy with it. Everyone knows about the crappy trigger & that was resolved with a GRTIII.

    What others should know: Just know that it is a tough cocker and it ain't a light weight. No way I could fire it accurately offhand. What works great for me is firing it off my deck resting the barrel on my hand which is supported by a couple of towels folded up. If I'm gonna shoot for a while I cock it by putting the butt on the deck floor and grabbing the barrel with BOTH hands.Sounds silly but I can plink for a long time using this old man method. I've got about 500 rounds through it so far and the scope hasn't blown up yet. Happy with that as well...so far. Hope this helps out someone considering an XL1100. Just know its HEAVY and eat your Wheaties.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2015-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: tack driver after 150 rounds into the pond last night this morning i mounter scope and bore sighted it went to my 26 yard range and fired 5 gomo AP 6.8 gr rounds at 1/2 in bull expecting then to be all over a 12 buy 12 box side to my surprise 3/8 in hole in bull 1180 fps 21.03 ft # next tried gamo red furry in same hole only a little larger 1048 fps next jsb 7.87 1079 fps opened hole to 3/4 in have not tried heavy pellets yet ??? big surprise with this gun shots stronger then my rws 48 buy 150 fps and just as accurate.What a Chinese made gun .They are getting there shi@@ together over there to bad they didn't sell them here and buy pass crosman !!!! as all i can find out is that crosman passes them on ..

    Things I would have changed: trigger still need's the washer job but then you have a very good trigger !!!!!

    What others should know: takes a lot to cock it i am 68 and 150 rounds at one sitting is a lot for me with this gun will be 69 in august .. I wire brushed this when i got it with hoppe's #9 bore cleaner then patched till clean (8 patches ) shot it 100 times re cleaned and re tightened mounting screws and re lock tightened them also dropped 2 drops cylinder oil in chamber fired 50 more times repeated cleaning and lock tight and cyl oil and fired two rounds to distribute chamber oil and put up for night . next morning tack driver !!!! hope this helps in the brake in of this gun for others oh yes 50 yards 1 in low and 1 in 5 shot grope with gamo AP ? go figure none of my outer guns even like them at all Speed Kills

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harry from USA on 2015-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have owned the 25 caliber for over a year now and have shot over 1000 pellets. The rifle has maintained its overall quality and has improved its shooting ability. The nitro piston has settled in now and I get 736fps (chronograph) using H&N Field Target Trophy consistently. My standard deviation is only 11 fps. I have taken this rifle out to 75 yards in 10 mph winds and can still get consistent 1 1/2 inch groups. It still has enough terminal velocity to take most small game at that distance.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the trigger to be more sensitive. I had to personally rework the trigger to get it to 2 1/2 lbs (it had an 8 lb pull when I first got it). It now lets me know precisely when the first stage is set and the second breaks crisp.

    What others should know: At 75 yards the glass on the scope that comes with it starts to become blurry. I upgraded to better scope. Also I have found this gun is very sensitive to pellets and hold. My two favorite pellets that work for me are the H&N FTT which I use for target and normal small game hunting and the Predator Polymag which I use for heavier small to medium game depending on the distance. Through ballistic experimentation and distance shooting to be very comparable in my particular rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By israel from USA on 2015-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 6 group shots @ 20 yards with in 1/2 an inch using Beeman Kodiak Copper Plated .22 Cal, 21.12 Grains backyard friendly Trigger is ok Wood stock is good Scope is good great scope mount

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pull 5 pounds 4 oz / will be nice to be about 3 pounds

    What others should know: 10-for-$10 Test and 20-for-$20 Service I used the 20 for 20 service and I am 150% satisfied. This rifle shoots very consistent

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lucas from USA on 2015-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The build quality of the rifle is great. Solid construction all around. There is absolutely no rattling in this rifle. The barrel is solid and almost 100 percent aligned with the rest of the gun. The wooden stock is beautiful and very smooth. (They did a good job sanding the stock and making it splinter-free) This is probably one of the most if not THE most powerful .177 caliber nitro piston-powered break barrel rifles in the market today. The scope is also very good. I found it to be a very good match for this rifle. The cocking effort isn't that bad, but please be careful where you place your hand. The barrel pinched my hand and it cut me pretty bad. I can't emphasize how powerful this rifle is. With the crosman powershot penetrators (5.4 gr) it can penetrate 1.5 inches of pine. This would be a great gift to give to an adult.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is the main problem in my opinion. It didn't ruin the gun in terms of fun that I'm having, but it might cause problems when I'm shooting targets. The gun is also pretty heavy even without the scope but I guess that's what I get for purchasing a beast of a magnum air rifle. (Ultra magnum is actually more like it)

    What others should know: Make sure to buy a barrel cleaning kit. The gun's barrel is very lubed up and causes ton of dieseling. This could potentially hurt the rifle, so clean it up and also make sure to check all the screws and see if they are nice and tight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    By William from USA on 2015-03-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the power of this weapon.

    Things I would have changed: the trigger because the pull is a little long, as is the break in period.

    What others should know: This guns accuracy out of the box is bad, you need to put about 500 rounds through it before it starts to get real tight groups. Once you get to that point you are golden though. A little work and you have an AWESOME gun that will treat you right for the rest of your life probably. Break in is a NECESSITY.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very satisfied with this rifle and scope combination.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing for this price.

    What others should know: Producing about 24 ft. # of energy. Best pellet is Crossman Premiere H. P. with JSB Jumbo (18.1) close second. (20 consequtive shots in 2 inches - 18 of those in 1 1/2 inches at 50 yards - shoulder held (no bags) from bench.)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Abdullah from USA on 2015-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This riffle is a dream to shoot. it's extreamly accurate, it cooks easily, with the NP system, and the power is great.A lot of people talk about the trigger, but I found it to be crisp and exact, I loved every minute of it, have fun.

    Things I would have changed: nothing;;;

    What others should know: when you buy this riffle remember to get the 20/20 service, it will make all the difference in having a really good day shooting, to just an average day.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2015-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the the overall quality and feel of this air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I would have to agree with a lot of other reviews on this air gun that the trigger could use an upgrade but it would not be a deal breaker as you do get used to it.

    What others should know: I would advise potential buyers of this air gun that if you purchase this as a combo with the center point scope to be advised that if you are unable to achieve good consistent accuracy to try changing this scope out. I went nuts after sighting in and thinking I was all set only to come out to shoot the next day and be all over the place. I changed out scope & now have consistent groups. Glad I had a spare or would have had to shell out for another scope. Still need to see what Pyramyd is able to do for me on this.

  • 123 ... 1415 Next
Navigation