Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By espn1990 from USA on 2010-04-23 21:39:46

Things I liked: Powerful and quiet! Love the scope and the scope rail.

Things I would have changed: The trigger! It's horrible. I just installed a GRTIII, made an incredible difference! I have seen a lot of complaints about the trigger on all of the comments. You guys need to order this trigger from charliedatuna.com. $32, shipping included. Money well spent. Also, they need to offer a composite/synthetic stock in the XL series.

What others should know: Not for kids. This is a heavy gun that is hard to cock. I like the weight, seems to help me steady the shot.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By brian from USA on 2014-08-07 09:02:41

Things I liked: I bought rife 6 months ago, feels good to shot. The problem is up pellet move up and down, a good foot at times. Have called PA and tried shimming scope. that did not work. Took scope off and did the same thing. I will call to see if I can return.

Things I would have changed: right the rifle

What others should know: look for a better rifle

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1314 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tim from USA on 2015-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So far, I have about 400 pellets through it in just a week or two of use. The power and accuracy are very good, and like any magnum springer type gun, it does take a lot of practice to get the best hold figured out and be consistent at it. Personally, I have not found the artillery hold to be the best with this gun. Mine shoots best held snug (but night tight like a magnum CFR)against the shoulder with a light and loose grip at the front screws. The gun requires a pretty good effort to cock as should be expected with a gun this powerful, but it is smooth as can be, and closes very easily and solidly. Mine has barely dieseled since new, and is extremely consistent across my Oehler 35P. The std deviation is normally less than 5 FPS with any pellet tried so far, and the velocity is extremely consistent as well, norm,ally staying within 6-8 fps total spread for 5 shot strings.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is way too heavy and long regardless of the adjustments you can make. For a $300 gun, it should be a lot better than this. A synthetic stock offering to shave a pound or two off the weight would be nice too. Are you listening Crosman?

    What others should know: It's fairly heavy for a pellet rifle. In fact it weighs more with the scope than my .458 Lott. It isn't for all day carrying while hunting (unless you have a sling, and even then I'd rather have a much lighter gun for a walking hunting rifle) or plinking, but it is very powerful for a springer type gun, and would make an excellent sit and watch squirrel gun. It has enough power for about any small game at distances out to around 40-50, and pests like raccoon or woodchucks to maybe 30 yards or a bit more depending on the pellet used and the shooters capabilities. Make sure to thoroughly clean the bore before your first shot!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the fact that this gun has a welded on weaver rail. This alone saves me mucho time checking 10-12 screws and loctiting them, and them later checking them again. Sound level after cleaning was acceptable.

    Things I would have changed: The sight is working ok, but a little better quality would be a nice touch. The rifle bore was very dirty. Took me at least 8 patches to get it clean.

    What others should know: I read the reviews on the NP Benjamin and they were not real flattering. I'm glad I got the XL as owners seem to be more pleased with this air gun. I know I am. Took me 30-45min to get it everything done and the rifle firing acceptable groups. As I practice, expect them to get tighter. This time I did not make a mistake and got the airgun I paid for.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ed from USA on 2015-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I received it from PA and cleaned the barrel,installed the scope & sling and was shooting 1" groups @ 20 yards--all within 48 hours from ordering it! Thank you PA! From reading reviews I expected the barrel to be filthy and for it to sound like a cannon when firing initially. Didn't happen. The barrel was hardly dirty at all & didn't have a lot of excess oil to clean out. It also was seemed pretty quiet to me. Not any louder than my Benji Limited Edition (NPS action & also .22).I also was concerned about being able to cock it and its weight. My 1st impression was heh, this ain't so bad. Keep in mind I'm an old fart that'll turn 70 very soon. I thought, must be a lotta girlie men out there in the air gun world. Well, after running the first 50 or so pellets through....DANG, this sucker IS kind of a b**ch to cock, LOL. That night my shoulder throbbed like I'd been wrasslin' a grizzly but this section is supposed to be what I liked. OK, it's dead nuts accurate out to just short of 50 yds.

    Things I would have changed: Ladies & Gentlemen, this IS a very heavy rifle. It's been a very long time but I'm sure it's heavier than the M-14 with full auto selector & 2 magazines taped together I carried in Nam. It does take some strength to cock but it is doable. I do wish it could be lighter but I knew all this going in and I'm still very happy with it. Everyone knows about the crappy trigger & that was resolved with a GRTIII.

    What others should know: Just know that it is a tough cocker and it ain't a light weight. No way I could fire it accurately offhand. What works great for me is firing it off my deck resting the barrel on my hand which is supported by a couple of towels folded up. If I'm gonna shoot for a while I cock it by putting the butt on the deck floor and grabbing the barrel with BOTH hands.Sounds silly but I can plink for a long time using this old man method. I've got about 500 rounds through it so far and the scope hasn't blown up yet. Happy with that as well...so far. Hope this helps out someone considering an XL1100. Just know its HEAVY and eat your Wheaties.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2015-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: tack driver after 150 rounds into the pond last night this morning i mounter scope and bore sighted it went to my 26 yard range and fired 5 gomo AP 6.8 gr rounds at 1/2 in bull expecting then to be all over a 12 buy 12 box side to my surprise 3/8 in hole in bull 1180 fps 21.03 ft # next tried gamo red furry in same hole only a little larger 1048 fps next jsb 7.87 1079 fps opened hole to 3/4 in have not tried heavy pellets yet ??? big surprise with this gun shots stronger then my rws 48 buy 150 fps and just as accurate.What a Chinese made gun .They are getting there shi@@ together over there to bad they didn't sell them here and buy pass crosman !!!! as all i can find out is that crosman passes them on ..

    Things I would have changed: trigger still need's the washer job but then you have a very good trigger !!!!!

    What others should know: takes a lot to cock it i am 68 and 150 rounds at one sitting is a lot for me with this gun will be 69 in august .. I wire brushed this when i got it with hoppe's #9 bore cleaner then patched till clean (8 patches ) shot it 100 times re cleaned and re tightened mounting screws and re lock tightened them also dropped 2 drops cylinder oil in chamber fired 50 more times repeated cleaning and lock tight and cyl oil and fired two rounds to distribute chamber oil and put up for night . next morning tack driver !!!! hope this helps in the brake in of this gun for others oh yes 50 yards 1 in low and 1 in 5 shot grope with gamo AP ? go figure none of my outer guns even like them at all Speed Kills

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harry from USA on 2015-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have owned the 25 caliber for over a year now and have shot over 1000 pellets. The rifle has maintained its overall quality and has improved its shooting ability. The nitro piston has settled in now and I get 736fps (chronograph) using H&N Field Target Trophy consistently. My standard deviation is only 11 fps. I have taken this rifle out to 75 yards in 10 mph winds and can still get consistent 1 1/2 inch groups. It still has enough terminal velocity to take most small game at that distance.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the trigger to be more sensitive. I had to personally rework the trigger to get it to 2 1/2 lbs (it had an 8 lb pull when I first got it). It now lets me know precisely when the first stage is set and the second breaks crisp.

    What others should know: At 75 yards the glass on the scope that comes with it starts to become blurry. I upgraded to better scope. Also I have found this gun is very sensitive to pellets and hold. My two favorite pellets that work for me are the H&N FTT which I use for target and normal small game hunting and the Predator Polymag which I use for heavier small to medium game depending on the distance. Through ballistic experimentation and distance shooting to be very comparable in my particular rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By israel from USA on 2015-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 6 group shots @ 20 yards with in 1/2 an inch using Beeman Kodiak Copper Plated .22 Cal, 21.12 Grains backyard friendly Trigger is ok Wood stock is good Scope is good great scope mount

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pull 5 pounds 4 oz / will be nice to be about 3 pounds

    What others should know: 10-for-$10 Test and 20-for-$20 Service I used the 20 for 20 service and I am 150% satisfied. This rifle shoots very consistent

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lucas from USA on 2015-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The build quality of the rifle is great. Solid construction all around. There is absolutely no rattling in this rifle. The barrel is solid and almost 100 percent aligned with the rest of the gun. The wooden stock is beautiful and very smooth. (They did a good job sanding the stock and making it splinter-free) This is probably one of the most if not THE most powerful .177 caliber nitro piston-powered break barrel rifles in the market today. The scope is also very good. I found it to be a very good match for this rifle. The cocking effort isn't that bad, but please be careful where you place your hand. The barrel pinched my hand and it cut me pretty bad. I can't emphasize how powerful this rifle is. With the crosman powershot penetrators (5.4 gr) it can penetrate 1.5 inches of pine. This would be a great gift to give to an adult.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is the main problem in my opinion. It didn't ruin the gun in terms of fun that I'm having, but it might cause problems when I'm shooting targets. The gun is also pretty heavy even without the scope but I guess that's what I get for purchasing a beast of a magnum air rifle. (Ultra magnum is actually more like it)

    What others should know: Make sure to buy a barrel cleaning kit. The gun's barrel is very lubed up and causes ton of dieseling. This could potentially hurt the rifle, so clean it up and also make sure to check all the screws and see if they are nice and tight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    By William from USA on 2015-03-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the power of this weapon.

    Things I would have changed: the trigger because the pull is a little long, as is the break in period.

    What others should know: This guns accuracy out of the box is bad, you need to put about 500 rounds through it before it starts to get real tight groups. Once you get to that point you are golden though. A little work and you have an AWESOME gun that will treat you right for the rest of your life probably. Break in is a NECESSITY.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very satisfied with this rifle and scope combination.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing for this price.

    What others should know: Producing about 24 ft. # of energy. Best pellet is Crossman Premiere H. P. with JSB Jumbo (18.1) close second. (20 consequtive shots in 2 inches - 18 of those in 1 1/2 inches at 50 yards - shoulder held (no bags) from bench.)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Abdullah from USA on 2015-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This riffle is a dream to shoot. it's extreamly accurate, it cooks easily, with the NP system, and the power is great.A lot of people talk about the trigger, but I found it to be crisp and exact, I loved every minute of it, have fun.

    Things I would have changed: nothing;;;

    What others should know: when you buy this riffle remember to get the 20/20 service, it will make all the difference in having a really good day shooting, to just an average day.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2015-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the the overall quality and feel of this air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I would have to agree with a lot of other reviews on this air gun that the trigger could use an upgrade but it would not be a deal breaker as you do get used to it.

    What others should know: I would advise potential buyers of this air gun that if you purchase this as a combo with the center point scope to be advised that if you are unable to achieve good consistent accuracy to try changing this scope out. I went nuts after sighting in and thinking I was all set only to come out to shoot the next day and be all over the place. I changed out scope & now have consistent groups. Glad I had a spare or would have had to shell out for another scope. Still need to see what Pyramyd is able to do for me on this.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from USA on 2015-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything. Love this gun. I've had mine for a week and shooting dime size groupings

    Things I would have changed: I agree with you last post. Critics should stop trying to influence peoples choices.

    What others should know: Trigger is just fine. Stock is great. Really quiet. If you no how to shoot in the first place you don't have to change out the trigger. No need to spend more hard earned cash to buy and install a new trigger. Sillyness

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By matthew from USA on 2015-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Allowing all these so called critics to influence your purchases

    What others should know: I just purchased this gun two days ago and already grouping 3/4" at 70 yards with stock trigger all I did was the 20 for 20 service and made my first kill tree rat 35 yards one shot one kill

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By RICK from USA on 2015-01-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: THE APPEARANCE OF THE RIFLE IS NICE - I HAVEN'T HAD TIME TO SHOOT IT YET, HOPEIT SHOOTS AS WELL AS IT LOOKS.

    Things I would have changed: AGAIN, I HAVEN'T SHOT THE GUN ( BUT ) HEAR AND READ THAT THE TRIGGER IS NOT WHAT THE REST OF THE GUN APPEARS TO BE.

    What others should know: I WOULD SUGGEST USING A BETTER TRIGGER AND CHARGE THE DIFFERENCE OR GIVE THAT OPTION WHEN ORDERING.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2014-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a well-built full size rifle. The picatinny rail allows you to install a variety of full size scope mounts. I initially sighted my rifle in at 25 yds. I then tuned the trigger because of two reasons. There was too much travel in the first stage. Secondly, the trigger was at an 8 lb pull. There was also wobble and side to side play in the actual trigger stem. Next step was to set up on a 75 yd target. While shooting from a bench rest I was able to shoot 1.5 groups using Crosmans Premier Hollow Points (14.3 grain) at the 75 yd range. There was no wind on a 60 degree day. The factory scope has mil-dots that are a great help in hold over shots. Some suggest a GRT trigger if you're not able to do the trigger work yourself. Needless to say, it is up to you on how you would like your rifle to perform. I am still giving this rifle 5 stars because the stock trigger will work for the shooter with some practice. I hope this review helps.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger has a long pull and side to side play. Would strongly suggest upgrading the trigger.

    What others should know: Please clean your barrel thoroughly prior to shooting. This rifle is a little on the heavy side if you're not use to it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Zach from USA on 2014-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great gun, had it for about three weeks and it was stolen from me after someone broke into my truck so now back to the Diana before I can afford the marauder bundle

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Always keep an eye on your stuff because there's always someone who will take it

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marc from USA on 2014-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Surpassed my wildest dreams in accuracy after all the bad reviews I read. Easily does 1" 5 shot groups and the occasional dime size group with Crosman premier HP 14.3s @ 30 yards with factory trigger. I'm sure a better trigger would make this rifle a consistent dime sizer. Hefty and sturdy feels like my Remington 700 sendero. Positive safety though not automatic. Easy to cock as my ruger air hawk. Don't let the magnum moniker scare you. I'm 6ft 170lbs and I consistently can cock and shoot 50-75+ pellets a sitting. Much quieter and softer shooting than my ruger air hawk. No harsh vibes and twang in stock that stings cheek. Love the nitro piston. Can shoot this in the backyard and neighbors don't notice. Stock screws and shroud have not loosened as of yet.

    Things I would have changed: Terrible trigger has no discernible break is creepy and stacks. Needs work out of the box. More robust scope needed. Reticle broke loose and canted 30 degrees in tube just under 100 shots. Still shoots accurately but I hear rattling in scope now. Time to send it to centerpoint. Otherwise beautiful stock has horrible flat polyurethane finish. Kinda wish it had backup iron sights.

    What others should know: Barrel was filthy from factory. Shroud cap removal and cleaning is a must. Both had caked black grease in them. Spent atleast an hour cleaning it all out. Difficult rifle to shoot well. MUST use artillery hold. Terrified this gun is gonna eat another scope. Really temped to tear into this thing and replace the piston seal as I hear most of them are damaged from the factory and this bad seal reduces scope life due to rifle recoiling more violently. Still smokes and diesels occasionally and I'm between 200-300 pellets in now. Do not over torque your shroud! Finger tight plus quarter turn! Shroud uses 1/4" allen scope rings are metric. If your not willing to tinker pass this one by. If you're willing to show this thing some TLC you'll never look back.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Harry from USA on 2014-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Total feel and look of the gun. The power is outstanding as when using 19-21 grain pellets the velocity chrony'd falls within as advertised for lead pellets. The fpe is outstanding out to 70 yards with the 17 different pellets I tested and no doubt could take varmits with little effort. I have other 25 caliber springers so I purchased this gun for its nitro piston as I hunt in the field for long hours. As of this point I have only put through about 250 pellets so the gun is still breaking in. At this point the groups at 25 yards with nearly all pellets have been between 1-1 1/2 inch. However I have noticed the gun likes 3 pellets better than the rest. Another gun will show different results. This was the first rifle I purchased that the company actually took the time to put Loctite on the barrel screws. The scope is a decent scope given that few that come in a package have tactical turrets for quick moa adjustment like this one.

    Things I would have changed: To say the trigger is sub-par is to say the least. I tested my trigger when I got it and is showed 6.2 pounds not the 3.5 pounds as advertised. After adjusting the trigger is did reduce the pull weight to 6 pounds....really!!!!! This is a great gun, get with it Benjamin and adjust the triggers to the correct weight before they leave the factory.

    What others should know: I am making these comments given that this rifle is still new. WIth all that being said, I really like this rifle. However, once should be prepared to buy better scope rings, shim the scope, or perhaps a better scope. The MOA adjustments at 25 yards almost run out the evelation turret which might cause reticle drift in some scopes. The tactical turrets though great are somewhat difficult to reset to zero. If you enjoy armoring like I do this will be a fun gun to work on and bring up to its potential.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Travis from USA on 2014-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good power and nice scope combo.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pull is bad and pulls you off target. Only shot crossman premiers to get good groups. JSB don't group well with this gun.

    What others should know: My piston stuck after cocking it for the 20th shot. It went off randomly later that day so still waiting on pyramid air support to get back with me on a replacement gun. It's been about 2 weeks and still waiting for a response.

  • 2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By TheWeekendPlinker from USA on 2014-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power -- from the thump on your shoulder to the smack in your target. Delivers high energy down range. Solid placement from 30 yards. Cocking requires effort, but at 6'2'' 230 lbs...you should be able to manage the 45 lbs pull needed to arm the rifle. My arm got pretty tired after 65-80 rounds back-to-back. Use of a stake will certainly improve shot placement. Great for outdoor shooting because you can see the location of placed shots (i.e. kick up 2-3X more dirt than a 22. caliber air rifle). Impressive penetration power...be careful where you shoot... 25-28 lbs. take-down-power is deadly.

    Things I would have changed: Better factory welding of the weaver rail onto the rifle -- I placed no more than approximately 125 total hunks of lead (H&N Spitzkugel .25 Cal, 24.85 Grains, Pointed) into the rifle. Loved every squeeze. Then during my final shot, the weaver rail snapped cleanly off the back of the rifle. My girlfriend was shooting with me, and I immediately got embarrassed because I thought that I didn't tighten the scope mounts enough. Nope. The break was 100% clean and the scope did a perfect 720-degree snowboarding flip with the weaver rail and fell in the dirt -- indicating a bad wielding job. The bottom of the weaver rail and top of the rifle were smooth to the touch. Crossman seems to have had this issue in the past...from researching the issue, it seems like this was documented 2-3 years back. For this reason, I can only give three out of two stars because when it worked...it was five stars for the price, hands down. But, given this event...no more than two can be given.

    What others should know: This gun is not a joke, except for the weaver rail. I got the rifle shipped to me on Thursday, and this happened on Sunday...after shooting the rifle no more than two separate occasions -- again, 125 shots total and this happened. Believe that this gun is a beast, and I am very sure that based on a manufacturer's POV, I just got the lemon out of the batch. However, as said before, this has happened a couple years back. To me, I am not sure why this is still occurring because even though I am only spending just about $300 for a rifle, I would expect that it should last for a couple of years. I know Pyramid Air will be able to swap out my gun, but I have to still decided whether I will get a replacement or I will get my money back and put it towards another entry-level break barrel .25. Just a few thoughts from a work-from-home-shoot-on-the-weekends guy. Cheers!

  • 123 ... 1314 Next
Navigation