Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Henry from USA on 2009-02-11 12:29:56

    Things I liked:I have an retired friend (and amateur gunsmith) who persuaded me to go shooting last summer. He mounted a scope on a vintage Springfield .22 I own, and we had great fun. Cold weather brought an end to our outdoor shooting, so I dragged out my OLD Daisy 888 muli-pump pneumatic and set up a 10m range in the basement. Soon found myself wanting a more accurate rifle, and after a lot of research, settled on the Daisy 953. After a backorder delay, it arrived several days ago and I've put about 200 rounds through. The steel barrel with its 1:15 twist allowed me to get five rounds within 1/4" center-to-center. I'm confident that after getting accustomed to the 953 and making the requisite trigger mods, I'll be getting one-hole groups consistently on the 10m range. The composite stock has a solid feel, something like the Ruger 10/22 my friend has. The 3/8 dovetail rail is solid and provides a good base for whatever sighting system you want to use. The five-shot magazine and one-pump action make it easy to shoot-and-return to the target. Thruthfully, I hadn't given Daisy much thought during my research (I've always thought of Daisy as a maker of low-end BB and pellet rifles), but I'm glad I kept researching. Daisy has a real winner in the 953!
    Things I would have changed:The sights were the first to go. After shooting two pellets. With my old eyes, the fiber optic sights were useless. I removed the rear sights and mounted a Busnell 3-9x40 scope on the 3/8 rail, and 953 quickly settled in to shoot a really tight group. The trigger is a bit stiff and a L-O-N-G pull from what I'm used to, so I will make the mods you can readily find on the Internet. The muzzle break on the front is more ornamental than functional, in my opinion.
    What others should know:1. As with all new weapons, clean it well before you use it. There was a bit of grease or whatever left over from manufacturing. 2. Lube the little pellet magazines and they work well. Make SURE you buy extras when you purchase the gun. They only send one with the rifle. You will certainly want more. 3. When you pump the gun, wait until you hear the slight wheeze at the top of the stoke. I read this somewhere else but it needs repeating. If you hurry the "pump" the 953 will not suck enough air into the cylinder to make full power. 4. I haven't shot a large variety of pellets through the 953, but it seems to like the Gamo Match Diablos really well. 5. The 953's low velocity will not lend itself to an effective or humane varmint erradicator. 6. If you are looking for a basement or outdoor plinker with superb accuracy at a modest price, this is THE rifle of choice!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Billy from USA on 2014-05-09 07:56:22

    Things I liked:I bought this for my 13 year old daughter. It was just the right size for her and had plenty of power.
    Things I would have changed:Quality control.
    What others should know:The one we received was defective. The bolt was impossible for a 12 year old to operate even after lubricating it and working it back and forth several hundred times for her. When I mounted a scope on it, I found out the barrel was way out of alignment with the receiver. The accuracy wasn’t that great either.
    Sort by:
    • 12345 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pcp4me from USA on 2014-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything about this gun! It feels right to me when shouldered. It is very very accurate with a scope, and even with the iron sights I can often shoot one hole 5 shot groups at 25' in my basement offhand.
      Things I would have changed:Not much. Maybe the trigger. After around 1000 rounds it is light enough on the pull, but does have a lot of creep. Still, this is a very usable trigger for me, and I have not done a thing to it! It gets very boring very quick hitting target after target after target. To make things more challenging in interactive targets I only aim at the feet, ears, tail or any other very small (1/4") appendage on the target. Aiming at center of mass is way too easy!
      What others should know:Just buy it. You will like and use it probably more than any other gun if you have an indoor place to shoot. It only needs pellets, and shoots very well with cheap pellets. There is no recoil, the noise is low, and it is accurate. Not a lot of power, but for paper punching and interactive targets, it is very inexpensive to buy and use! Highly recommended!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Earl from USA on 2014-07-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The 953 is very accurate. Shooting at 18 yards inside, with 20x scope and sandbags, 29 of 30 shots can be covered with a quarter which is 0.75" c-c using RWS R10 7.0 gr pellets. This is the most impressive group out of about 15 groups with different types of pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The 5 shot clip works good, order extras. The 953 takes a strong arm to cock but I can can cock it OK at 70 years old. I cleaned the barrel and that improved the accuracy. The stock is nice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2014-06-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Highly accurate, I zeroed mine at 10 meters with RWS Diabolo Basic 7.0 gr wadcutters and ended up with a .250" group. I am also able to shoot .75-1" groups, standing unsupported at 10 meters. The pistol grip angle and thickness really help with trigger control. I like the single stroke, it beats multi pumping in between shots, at least at 10 meters anyway. I also like how the clip advances while cocking. Very good weight and balance also.
      Things I would have changed:For the price, I think this rifle is very well engineered.
      What others should know:The trigger pull is a little on the heavy side (compared to springers & multi pumps) at about 6 lbs., but it is very smooth and without alot of takeup, which I personaly like.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Billy from USA on 2014-05-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this for my 13 year old daughter. It was just the right size for her and had plenty of power.
      Things I would have changed:Quality control.
      What others should know:The one we received was defective. The bolt was impossible for a 12 year old to operate even after lubricating it and working it back and forth several hundred times for her. When I mounted a scope on it, I found out the barrel was way out of alignment with the receiver. The accuracy wasn’t that great either.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Steve from USA on 2014-05-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the second one I purchased, so I've reviewed it before. It represents a good value for the money, and is pretty accurate, particularly if you upgrade the sights with the Daisy El-Gamos.
      Things I would have changed:Sling mounts are about the only thing I would add at this price point.
      What others should know:Well-suited to target shooting only, Hunters--get a rifle with more "oomph."
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Junichiro from USA on 2014-04-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love its accuracy&price. This is the value for money target air rifle. I put Daisy 5899 peep sight on my 953. The sight really works and I strongly recommend it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The original fiber optic sight is not good due to the rifle's accuracy. When you put Daisy 5899 or rifle scope on 953 you can practice target shooting.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Steve from USA on 2014-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price/performance ratio of this air rifle is superb. For field shooting, the fiber optic sights that come with the rifle are very nice. But slap some target sights on her (Daisy Aperture Rear and Globe Front in our case), and you can ring the bell every time.
      Things I would have changed:For the price, nothing. But if they could put the Daisy 887 target sights on from the factory for less than $35, it would be nice.
      What others should know:My daughters' target scores went up significantly after using this rifle for a week.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate
      Things I would have changed:I don't like how the magazine at times won't advance to exactly the right spot. When you wiggle it to get the pellet to load into the barrel it will damage the face of the pellet.
      What others should know:Be prepared for this to most possibly be your most favorite rifle to shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Philip from USA on 2014-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great solid target rifle overall, I got this one specifically to shoot indoors with as much accuracy and realistic rifle feel as possible. It's not too loud and the power isn't too dangerous for indoors. Very accurate. Its nice to preload 5-10 magazines and just shoot without touching pellets for a while. Within 2 weeks I've put about 500 beeman coated wadcutters through it and its been solid. Does not have adequate power to hunt anything besides maybe a mouse or small bird.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is the limiting factor on how well you will shoot with this rifle. Its pretty stiff and gritty but there are fixes if you are willing to take it apart, I'm not. I'm just dealing with it right now and seeing how it breaks in naturally. There is some slight flex/wiggle when cocking the gun but overall feels very solid.
      What others should know:I was worried about the pellets falling out of the magazines (never happens) and the quality of the bolt action. The bolt action isn't amazing but its solid and works pretty well, occasionally it does not feed properly and I have to take the magazine out and re-align it but its not a big issue. I have lubed up the mags with silicone oil and they feed smoother. Pump mechanism is smooth and the rifle has a great feel and is lightweight enough to shoot for hours especially with the easy pump effort. I added an offset scope mount and a $40 leapers scope (the non-AO version thats fixed at 35yds). I like this setup but will be getting an AO scope for close up shooting because the parallax error causes the crosshair to become blurry, but still very usable. With the scope on and dialed in this rifle can be ridiculously accurate. Very fun gun to shoot, I never want to put it down.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By david from USA on 2014-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely accurate. Clips work flawlessly. Not a powerhouse but it is a great plinker. Very happy with the purchase.
      Things I would have changed:We all want more power but with SSP guns this is about the max.
      What others should know:Lightly oil the clips. Keep track of your shots, believe it or not it's easy to forget to pump the gun and if you do you need to remove the clip so you don't have a jam. After you play with the gun for awhile you will understand what I'm talking about. If you do everything right the gun will perform flawlessly. Seat the pellets in the clip with a small screwdriver or a ballpoint pen and you will have no problems with pellets falling out. I recommend you buy several extra clips. I have many air guns but this one is rapidly becoming my favorite.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matthew from USA on 2014-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:ACCURACY ACCURACY ACCURACY. ease of use. the fact that the mags can hold 5 pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe make the rifle more powerful, but for $100, with the quality of this rifle, its definitely worth the price!
      What others should know:At about 20-25 yards I was shooting at a piece of paper I had nailed to a tree. I had forgot to draw a target on it (yea I know I'm cheap). So without any sort of target I aimed at the nail that was holding it (which for reference, was a small picture hanging nail nothing too large). Unfortunately this cut my shooting that day short as I "nailed" the nail and the paper fell down, and the nail was nowhere to be found. And mind you, I have not adjusted the sights at all since I received the rifle!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2013-12-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The 953 is quiet, has no recoil, and is very, very accurate. I can shoot one inch groups at 40 feet with the fiber optic sights. I thought about adding a scope but am enjoying the challenge of open sights. The fiber optic sights look cool and are easy to get on target.
      Things I would have changed:Add a little more power, barely dents a soup can at 40 feet.
      What others should know:Initially I was had some difficulty getting pellets to stay in the magazine and not fall out or jam when advancing. I switched to RWS pellets and made sure the skirt was flush with the magazine and it is working fine now. I am enjoying plinking and target shooting and going through pellets faster than ever before. I see no reason to spend 3X the money for the 853. I also own a Gamo Hornet and Crosman 2240 with shoulder stock. Both are scoped. I like shooting the 953 the best.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2013-11-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this rifle after reading many reviews on the accuracy and ease of use. This rifle is very straight forward and a dream to shoot. First impressions, there is no recoil at all, big change from a spring gun. I put a cheap Beeman 4x32 scope on it off another rifle. Shot 3" to the right, adjusted, shot again and was 1". Adjusted and BINGO! Dead on at 15 yrds. The clips work great, as others have said lube them a little before inserting. For the money, I don't think you will find a more accurate rifle.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see just a little more power (fps). First shot out of it I thought it didn't fire the pellet (very quiet, no recoil). The trigger isn't bad at all, very predictable.
      What others should know:This is a target rifle, with low velocity. This is not a hunting rifle. The length of pull is very short, it was built for juniors and a very accurate entry level air rifle. I had no problems with the clips after lubing them a little. Loading the pellets is easy if you take a minute to push the pellets in with a little pressure. I used a pencil to ensure they were seated. Buy more pellets, you will go through them fast with the repeater!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ThePizzel from USA on 2013-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Vary nice trigger pull, smooth and clean. No noticeable recoil. Vary easy cocking weight and action.
      Things I would have changed:Better out of the box sights.
      What others should know:This air gun is a blast for shooting with your kids or trick shooting with friends and family. I had no problems shooting through a CD hole and hitting a Q-tip stem ( only took 3 shoots free standing and never hit the CD @ ten meters.) My kids and I really enjoy shooting together (two girls and one boy) trying hard to think of ways to out shoot each other. Best air gun I ever bought for the money and fun we'er having with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ralland from USA on 2013-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've been shooting the Daisy 953 for over a year and I'm still impressed by its accuracy. The 953 shoots any pellet of reasonable quality well. I had originally intended to use the front and rear aperture sights I had purchased for the rifle, but since my off-hand shooting with a scope needed vast improvement I decided to mount the scope that came with my Crosman 1000X. I had fitted the Crosman with a Williams aperture because the scope would not hold zero on that rifle, but mounted on the 953, a pneumatic, the scope works perfectly. The 953 is not sensitive to hold and if you follow through you will see the pellet go down range. I find no difference in accuracy firing the air gun as a single shot or a repeater.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle is not without faults. It is a tad too light for good off-hand shooting, its length of pull, about 12.25”, is too short for an average size adult, the trigger pull is long and spongy, and it needs something better than fiber optic sights to take full advantage of its inherent accuracy.
      What others should know:Fortunately the 953's faults are easily corrected. The mounting holes for the butt plate are spaced the same as the holes used on recoil pads for shotguns and center rifles. Rather than buy a recoil pad I lengthened the stock using a scrap piece of black walnut, matching the stock's contours, to bring the length of pull to 13.25”. I improved the trigger using a modification documented on a number of web sites; bear in mind this will void the rifle's warranty. Be aware that you can set the trigger so light that it will release the sear when the bolt is closed. Be safe, a little bit of trigger slack won't hurt your shooting. Wanting a heavier rifle I purchased two additional barrel weights (the sleeve on which the front sight is mounted) from Daisy. I removed the tapered section from them and shortened the original for a total weighted section, eight inches long, that butts snugly against the fore-end of the stock. I sprayed the weights with flat black Krylon and mounted them with the dove-tails on the top of the barrel so I can switch from scope to apertures with minimal effort. I can find no difference in accuracy firing the air gun as a single shot or a repeater. The Daisy 953 is a fun gun and, with the barrel weights, scope and the walnut stock extension, it's very attractive air rifle. Don't discount it because it's inexpensive and slow. Its accuracy is not quite at a par with my vintage Walther LVG Special, but it's a close second.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2013-09-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am so much more impressed with this rifle than I had expected to be. I bought it as an inexpensive alternative to the Avanti versions of this rifle. My first impression was of the heft of this gun. I have recently handled the impressive RWS Model 34 and this gun instantly reminded me of that air rifle. The single pump mechanism is smooth and requires not much effort. Trigger is smooth for a $100 gun. Accuracy is superb for this price level. I personally like the fiber optic sights, but they are far from perfect. however, they are fun to shoot and add some challenge. I highly recommend this gun for 25' - 10m target shooting.
      Things I would have changed:I think that the only thing that could improve this rifle out of the box would be a better rear sight, it is hard to gauge the level of your shot. I like the sights for the money but I might add $50 -$60 or more worth of diopter sights to make this a very competitive entry-level target gun.
      What others should know:If you want a really fun and accurate rifle that feels like a powder-cartridge rifle, you'll be hard pressed to beat this. I think it is a toss up between this gun and the Baikal IZH 60/61 for most fun air rifle I have ever owned.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By M from USA on 2013-07-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Superb accuracy, 5-shot clip, needed no cleaning out of the box. This is a very impressive air gun, especially for the money.
      Things I would have changed:Smoother trigger. Given some time, it might get better. If not, it's not to hard to remove trigger group for honing. Would be nice if Daisy would do this at the factory.
      What others should know:I just received my 953 yesterday. I already had the scope with rings (Simmons Blazer 4X, Leupold Rifleman rimfire see-through rings). After initial laser bore sighting, took about 4 shots to sight in the scope. At 25 ft indoors, every shot is going through the same hole with Crosman Competition 7.4gr. Trigger pull gauge measures 4-1/2 lbs. Trigger is better than expected after all the bad reports, it drags a lot but breaks crisply.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ted from USA on 2013-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, ergonomics, crispy trigger, and price.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:This is a fun rifle that doesn't feel like toy. I had it 10-for-10, and it chronied in the high 490's w/ beeman lasers. I've run over 1000 shots with a variety of pellets: H&N FTT 8.64, crosman premiers 7.4, crosman hollow point 7.9 and ultra magnum 10.5 and premier super match and super point. The rifle loved them all except for the super match pellets. If you want a rifle for the backyard that won't disturb the neighbors (too much) or blow holes through the fence, this is your rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2013-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I've had this rifle for six weeks and put close to 1500 rounds through it. Everything is 5 stars about the rifle accept the cheap sights that are installed. I put a NcSTAR 4x30 Compact Rifle Scope on a Leapers Airgun/.22 1" Bi-directional Offset Optimum Profile Mount and I'm hitting everything I aim at. The five shot clip works great and the one pump lever is the icing on the cake. Short gun that would be good for kids or any backyard plinking.
      Things I would have changed:The sights are worthless. Can't understand why they have such a good rifle with terrible sights. The only way to be accurate with this weapon is to put on new sites or mount a scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2013-01-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's unbelievably accurate. The synthetic stock is solid and well formed. And it is quiet enough for indoor and backyard shooting. At this price, it is an incredible value.
      Things I would have changed:I wish that there were inserts for the stock, to increase the length of pull.
      What others should know:It's very easy to shoot. You should clean the barrel for best accuracy. Cleaning pellets work great.
    • 12345 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top