Date: 24/7/2016 7:30
0

Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Henry from USA on 2009-02-11 12:29:56

Things I liked: I have an retired friend (and amateur gunsmith) who persuaded me to go shooting last summer. He mounted a scope on a vintage Springfield .22 I own, and we had great fun. Cold weather brought an end to our outdoor shooting, so I dragged out my OLD Daisy 888 muli-pump pneumatic and set up a 10m range in the basement. Soon found myself wanting a more accurate rifle, and after a lot of research, settled on the Daisy 953. After a backorder delay, it arrived several days ago and I've put about 200 rounds through. The steel barrel with its 1:15 twist allowed me to get five rounds within 1/4" center-to-center. I'm confident that after getting accustomed to the 953 and making the requisite trigger mods, I'll be getting one-hole groups consistently on the 10m range. The composite stock has a solid feel, something like the Ruger 10/22 my friend has. The 3/8 dovetail rail is solid and provides a good base for whatever sighting system you want to use. The five-shot magazine and one-pump action make it easy to shoot-and-return to the target. Thruthfully, I hadn't given Daisy much thought during my research (I've always thought of Daisy as a maker of low-end BB and pellet rifles), but I'm glad I kept researching. Daisy has a real winner in the 953!

Things I would have changed: The sights were the first to go. After shooting two pellets. With my old eyes, the fiber optic sights were useless. I removed the rear sights and mounted a Busnell 3-9x40 scope on the 3/8 rail, and 953 quickly settled in to shoot a really tight group. The trigger is a bit stiff and a L-O-N-G pull from what I'm used to, so I will make the mods you can readily find on the Internet. The muzzle break on the front is more ornamental than functional, in my opinion.

What others should know: 1. As with all new weapons, clean it well before you use it. There was a bit of grease or whatever left over from manufacturing. 2. Lube the little pellet magazines and they work well. Make SURE you buy extras when you purchase the gun. They only send one with the rifle. You will certainly want more. 3. When you pump the gun, wait until you hear the slight wheeze at the top of the stoke. I read this somewhere else but it needs repeating. If you hurry the "pump" the 953 will not suck enough air into the cylinder to make full power. 4. I haven't shot a large variety of pellets through the 953, but it seems to like the Gamo Match Diablos really well. 5. The 953's low velocity will not lend itself to an effective or humane varmint erradicator. 6. If you are looking for a basement or outdoor plinker with superb accuracy at a modest price, this is THE rifle of choice!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Billy from USA on 2015-06-01 01:53:57

Things I liked: This review is for my second Daisy 953. I received it as a replacement for the first one that was defective. PA customer service exchanged it and shipped out the replacement right away!

Things I would have changed: #2 died after about 250 rounds. Accuracy went way down hill. I called Daisy, they told me to ship it to them and they would take a looked at it and repair it. They sent a new replacement instead (#3).

What others should know: While it worked, at 10 yards off a bench with a 4x scope all the pellets where in 1 ragged hole using Daisy Precision Max 7.8 grain Wadcutters.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 56 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like only having to pump gun one time to shoot it, it seems well built and sturdy. This Daisy Rifle is mostly medal besides the Stock, but I like it a lot and it seems to be a good buy. I've only shot it a couple times before this review but it shoots very good you just may have to sight it in, I did mine and its a great shooter.

    Things I would have changed: This is my first single pump Rifle so I would not have much to change with it, maybe include a Scope package ??

    What others should know: This Daisy 953 is a great shooter, they say its a youth gun but i'm having a lot of fun with it, I'm 52 and disabled. To tell you the truth I did'nt know anything about these single pump gun's and I wanted a gun I can shoot without c02. But I must say I am very pleased with my purchase,some people say they have problems with the sights but I don't have any issue what so ever. I love having the same power level through out my shooting session and this Rifle gives me that. I also love the Bolt Action seats the pellet in the barrel and I get very accurate shots. The 5 round mags are a big plus and they seem to be rubber so I don't know how long they will last ? I load mine upside down ( NOT BACKWARDS ) and seat the pellet in the mags, if you don't put them in the mag good chances are some may fall out during pumping or cocking gun. All in all I would say this is a good buy and you can mount a scope if you want to !!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2015-10-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy, one-pump action for youth. When pumped, magazine moves along to enable more consistent shooting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2015-10-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate!

    Things I would have changed: Sights are nothing special.

    What others should know: I removed the rear sight and installed a scope. Extremely good combination!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2015-09-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate shooters, very easy to work on. The clips feed smoothly, makes a lot of shooting very easy. This is my second one, first one was used and had been chronied by previous owner at about 515FPS. This one is shooting good and hard (for a target rifle), it will put a pellet all the way through a 1 gallon milk jug full of water at 12 meters. It seems to me that these shoot better than advertised, they hit harder and shoot more precisely than what the reviewers lead you to believe.

    Things I would have changed: At the price nothing. I do change what I think should be different, not recommended for the novice. Would be nice if a version was made with a longer pump tube and matching changes to the pump arm, linkage, and piston, to give it just a little bit of a higher Muzzle Energy (ME).

    What others should know: If you begin to have trouble with a clip it is likely from to much wear. I have had two wear out to the point of giving trouble, that is only the clip nothing to do with the rifle, they cost little to replace and last a long time. You may get tired of always hitting what you aim at, especially if you use better than stock sights. It can be boring at times. In my experience it does seem to shoot best with heavier pellets (9 to 14 grain range), as long as it likes the pellet, especially out past 15 meters.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2015-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Surprisingly accurate for $100. Magazines work great (buy extra). Love the low velocity... sounds strange but it's perfect for shooting indoors.

    Things I would have changed: Stock, trigger, and iron sights all need woork. Daisy dropped the ball here. This is not a great gun, rather it is a great project for tinkering.

    What others should know: Stock is far too small for an adult. If you shoot at targets smaller than a soda can then throw away the iron sights as soon as you open the box. Out of the box the gun is swimming in oil so clean before you shoot. The trigger is aweful. It can not be truely fixed. But it becomes almost better after many shots. Don't work on the trigger until it's fully broken in. You can tell it broke in when you stop swearing after each shot off hand. 888 trigger parts might help a little but not much. Yet it's 100 dollars new... so who cares. For $100 this is great fun but you need to enjoy fixing things.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Billy from USA on 2015-06-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Style and ergonomics.This review is for my third Daisy 953. I received it as a replacement for the first two that where defective.

    Things I would have changed: This one is not as accurate as the last one. I have tried over 20 different pellets in it and the Beeman 7.2 grain Hollow Points, seemed to work the best. It can do 1/4 inch groups at 10 yards off a bench using a 4x Bug Buster. It has a horrible trigger, about a 6-8 lbs. pull, the worst of all my pellet guns (even the Crosmans) which I’m sure doesn’t help with the accuracy.

    What others should know: I bought a $50 Umarex NXG APX for my son that will put this $100 Daisy to shame. More accurate, more power and much better trigger.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Billy from USA on 2015-06-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This review is for my second Daisy 953. I received it as a replacement for the first one that was defective. PA customer service exchanged it and shipped out the replacement right away!

    Things I would have changed: #2 died after about 250 rounds. Accuracy went way down hill. I called Daisy, they told me to ship it to them and they would take a looked at it and repair it. They sent a new replacement instead (#3).

    What others should know: While it worked, at 10 yards off a bench with a 4x scope all the pellets where in 1 ragged hole using Daisy Precision Max 7.8 grain Wadcutters.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Caracara from USA on 2015-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Solid Synthetic stock. Indexed magazines work very well with the right pellets. Single pump makes for a fast five shot string once you get the rhythm going. Very accurate at 12 Meters. 5 shots under a penny. Great for teaching youth marksmanship at summer camp.

    Things I would have changed: The original sights aren't good. The front post is okay but a little wide, while the rear fiber green dots are spaced far to far apart to give you any accuracy. You can get a new $129 package with auxiliary peep sights you install yourself. I recommend that. They install on the front and rear dovetail rails. Since I got mine used with the junky sights I removed them and put an old 3-9X32 Tasco scope that works pretty well.

    What others should know: My regular go to pellets for my break barrels do not work in this gun. I found some .177 8.0 gr. Ruger hollow points that I can't find anywhere now, but they are the best pellets that I have tried. They look the same as H & N 7.1 gr. Hollow Points.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DavidS from USA on 2015-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The 953 is an extremely accurate plinker. A true tack driver out to 20 yards with just about any pellet. Mine was shooting standard Crosman Premier Domed 7.9 grain pellets at 510FPS out of box. It shoots just about any pellet with extremely good accuracy. I am actually impressed with the fiber optic sights that come with the 953, I expected to have to replace them, though they are quite good (the only better OPEN SIGHTS on any AirRifle I have are on the Crosman 101).

    Things I would have changed: Longer barrel to allow more of the air to expand behind the pellet. Include the sling, instead of having to order separately. Otherwise it is a perfect design.

    What others should know: As long as you keep the clips rubbed lightly with oil they work great. Sometimes WadCutters will catch when using the clip, though I rarely use wadcutters. It can get boring hiting everything you aim at :), and that can become an issue with this rifle, so have a less accurate AirRifle on hand to break the tedium :).

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ed from USA on 2015-02-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Dead accurate. I like the feel, the stock. As my son said, "This gun is just SO SOLID."

    Things I would have changed: I changed the sights to a Daisy peep sight and front sight. Other than that, this is a great rifle for the price.

    What others should know: The first of these that was shipped to me couldn't be zeroed in. At max adjustment, it was still shooting an inch low at 10 meters. Pyramid Air paid for shipping it back to them and promptly sent a replacement which works perfectly.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kelly from USA on 2014-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price point is great! I like the Fixed barrel, single pump, that the magazine advances when the bolt is pulled back, the weight, an all alloy dovetail scope mount, and did I mention the price. In my opinion its the most accurate target riffle for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Not too much. I realize that it has a low price point and one will not get all the options for that price. It would be nice to have an adjustable trigger. The trigger could also be smoother, maybe it will break in better (I have about 1000 shots through it). The bolt mechanism is works okay but my 8 year old has a tough time cycling it, it's a little sticky. He can also pump it with little struggle.

    What others should know: I have been able to hold tight groups with it. So far my best group of 5 shoots at 30 feet from a bench rest is 0.26" center to center of the farthest apart. I have been very impressed with this air riffle. I have a 4X32 scope on it mounted with the "Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings" (http://www.pyramydair.com/s/a/Leapers_Accushot_1_Pc_Mount_w_1_Rings_High_11mm_Dovetail/636). Some times I think it would be nice to have a higher power scope but it works fine. So far I have had the best results with the "RWS Diabolo Basic .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter" pellets (http://www.pyramydair.com/s/p/RWS_Diabolo_Basic_177_Cal_7_0_Grains_Wadcutter_500ct/234). I can not recomend "hollow points", I had several jams while trying to push the bolt forward. This is a great air gun. I highly recomend it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By ed from USA on 2014-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 6.4lb weight. 37.75 overall length easy to carry in bush with Gamo Gun Buddy Sling. 12 1/4" stock pull. Texture of stock. Made sturdy for outdoors. Pneumatic action for cold weather and target shooting. Weighted front barrel. 5 shot clip. Overall feel and a steady, quickish pull to target. Fast sight acquisition to target with a wide rear aperture. Fiber optics are good in changing light. Safety placement. Colour. Versatility. Price. Accuracy. Well thought out.

    Things I would have changed: The lever catches some peoples fingers when snapping shut. The rear site aperture and fiber optic is a bit wide, being good for quick sight acquisition, but to large for 10 meter shooting. Make the rear aperture slightly more narrow and either drop the fiber optics or decrease their diameter. Make the single load gate easier to drop a pellet into.

    What others should know: We use this rifle for plinking, informal 10 meter shot and classic Biathlon. Using classic stride on cross country skis. The entire family does this for fun, we shoot at cans maybe 47 feet out, very roughly a conversion of the standing 160' feet 4.5 inch target in Olympic biathlon. Of course when multiple competitors are shooting at the can it jumps around, making quite the sparring match. 5 shot clip is a must. The Gamo slings work well for blasting over fields, through brushy trails and woods. We are not to worried about the gun when wiping out, it's tough. It is easy making trail circuits because pellet guns are much safer than 22 rimfire. The short stock works nice if bundled in heavier clothing and the gun works below 0. Lots of laughing, family and friends are addicted, quasi competitive about 30X a season.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pcp4me from USA on 2014-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything about this gun! It feels right to me when shouldered. It is very very accurate with a scope, and even with the iron sights I can often shoot one hole 5 shot groups at 25' in my basement offhand.

    Things I would have changed: Not much. Maybe the trigger. After around 1000 rounds it is light enough on the pull, but does have a lot of creep. Still, this is a very usable trigger for me, and I have not done a thing to it! It gets very boring very quick hitting target after target after target. To make things more challenging in interactive targets I only aim at the feet, ears, tail or any other very small (1/4") appendage on the target. Aiming at center of mass is way too easy!

    What others should know: Just buy it. You will like and use it probably more than any other gun if you have an indoor place to shoot. It only needs pellets, and shoots very well with cheap pellets. There is no recoil, the noise is low, and it is accurate. Not a lot of power, but for paper punching and interactive targets, it is very inexpensive to buy and use! Highly recommended!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Earl from USA on 2014-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The 953 is very accurate. Shooting at 18 yards inside, with 20x scope and sandbags, 29 of 30 shots can be covered with a quarter which is 0.75" c-c using RWS R10 7.0 gr pellets. This is the most impressive group out of about 15 groups with different types of pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The 5 shot clip works good, order extras. The 953 takes a strong arm to cock but I can can cock it OK at 70 years old. I cleaned the barrel and that improved the accuracy. The stock is nice.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2014-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Highly accurate, I zeroed mine at 10 meters with RWS Diabolo Basic 7.0 gr wadcutters and ended up with a .250" group. I am also able to shoot .75-1" groups, standing unsupported at 10 meters. The pistol grip angle and thickness really help with trigger control. I like the single stroke, it beats multi pumping in between shots, at least at 10 meters anyway. I also like how the clip advances while cocking. Very good weight and balance also.

    Things I would have changed: For the price, I think this rifle is very well engineered.

    What others should know: The trigger pull is a little on the heavy side (compared to springers & multi pumps) at about 6 lbs., but it is very smooth and without alot of takeup, which I personaly like.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Billy from USA on 2014-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this for my 13 year old daughter. It was just the right size for her and had plenty of power.

    Things I would have changed: Quality control.

    What others should know: The one we received was defective. The bolt was impossible for a 12 year old to operate even after lubricating it and working it back and forth several hundred times for her. When I mounted a scope on it, I found out the barrel was way out of alignment with the receiver. The accuracy wasn’t that great either.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steve from USA on 2014-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the second one I purchased, so I've reviewed it before. It represents a good value for the money, and is pretty accurate, particularly if you upgrade the sights with the Daisy El-Gamos.

    Things I would have changed: Sling mounts are about the only thing I would add at this price point.

    What others should know: Well-suited to target shooting only, Hunters--get a rifle with more "oomph."

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Junichiro from USA on 2014-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love its accuracy&price. This is the value for money target air rifle. I put Daisy 5899 peep sight on my 953. The sight really works and I strongly recommend it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The original fiber optic sight is not good due to the rifle's accuracy. When you put Daisy 5899 or rifle scope on 953 you can practice target shooting.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steve from USA on 2014-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price/performance ratio of this air rifle is superb. For field shooting, the fiber optic sights that come with the rifle are very nice. But slap some target sights on her (Daisy Aperture Rear and Globe Front in our case), and you can ring the bell every time.

    Things I would have changed: For the price, nothing. But if they could put the Daisy 887 target sights on from the factory for less than $35, it would be nice.

    What others should know: My daughters' target scores went up significantly after using this rifle for a week.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2014-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate

    Things I would have changed: I don't like how the magazine at times won't advance to exactly the right spot. When you wiggle it to get the pellet to load into the barrel it will damage the face of the pellet.

    What others should know: Be prepared for this to most possibly be your most favorite rifle to shoot.

  • 123 ... 56 Next
Navigation